Volvo C30 hatchback receives facelift

Volvo C30

The C30 hatchback has been updated to feature Volvo’s new front-end look, as per the convertible C70 recently. Most of the changes are aesthetic and also include new colour choices for the exterior and interior – total configurations thanks to the various options results in 2,561,328 possible combinations.

Other than the looks, the other most significant change to me is the new ‘sports chassis’ option which basically means stiffer bushes, a 10% lower steering ratio, and suspension parts (these include new monotube stiffer dampers, stiffer springs and stiffer roll stabilizers) that are stiffer by 30%.

Volvo C30

The star engines of the range are the T5 and D5 models. The petrol T5 puts out 230 horses and 320Nm of torque from its 2.5 litre inline-5 while the D5’s 2.4 litre turbodiesel makes 180hp and 400Nm of torque, yet consumes only 6.2 litres per 100km.

Look after the jump for photos and videos of the C30.

VIDEO: Volvo C30 – Part 1 of 4

VIDEO: Volvo C30 – Part 2 of 4

VIDEO: Volvo C30 – Part 3 of 4

VIDEO: Volvo C30 – Part 4 of 4

[zenphotopress number=99 album=476]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• droll on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:06 am

wow, that red looks really yummy! when will this arrive in m'sia?

• Paul Tan on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:08 am

Should not take very long as the C30 is CBU here.

• maxtek on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:19 am

This is sooo much a better facelift than what they did to the C70.. Bravo..

• KitKat on Sep 09, 2009 at 11:57 am

Guess that Edward Cullen must have another new babe…

• barca on Sep 09, 2009 at 4:46 pm

very nice indeed.

i never thought i see the day that volvo takes the direction to produce better looking cars.

looks sturdy (expected) and cool (unexpected) from the front to the back…looks really sick all around!

• meteoranaic on Sep 09, 2009 at 5:08 pm

side and front profile looks absolutely brilliant .. but somehow the back design doesn't make any sense to me …

each to their own i guess

• MycarMylife on Sep 09, 2009 at 5:11 pm

What did i say earlier, Honda was quick to copy with their crossover or was it a secret collaboration between the design boys .

• lchan on Sep 09, 2009 at 5:26 pm

still i think the backside needs a major facelift!

• AutoAlert on Sep 09, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Bravo Volvo, but I like my 'premium' car to be larger though. :)

• its an expensive hot hatch in our mkt here

unless, 1.6 liter is being introduce

• paul, good to know the c30 will be here soon as u said it is in CBU. i am wondering why CBU price is not much expensive than CKD? example, mazda 3 & 6 is about same price as Honda & Toyota which is in CKD?

• longjaafar on Sep 09, 2009 at 7:16 pm

So they knew about it's not so good handling and have somewhat fixed it. Good for them. But the price…..ahhhh!

• Elvis on Sep 09, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Wow, a beauty from Volvo! Never imagine this type coming from Volvo and 6 litters for 100km? Superfuel efficient!

• l3ryan on Sep 09, 2009 at 7:41 pm

it's a much better sorted front end. looks miles better than that girly-styled pre-facelift look

• Han!h on Sep 09, 2009 at 7:57 pm

i think this facelifted c30 is more desirable than the 0ld 0ne..

• pulge on Sep 09, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Long ago Volvo was a boxy looking car. I like the dash design, nice and simple.

• buy 1 free 1 on Sep 09, 2009 at 9:31 pm

try to get Scirocco & MK6

now change my mind to C30

save more money to get this little fella

any ideas this 3 babes can use ron95??

if not..than i guess i'm using public transport

• hhmmmm…..6.2l/100km, is it for T5 or D5?

• 4G63tDSM on Sep 09, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Even overseas, comsumers end up gravitating to Audi and VW for premium hatchbacks. Even BMW tried and failed miserably.

Don't see a lot of them in Europe.

I'n fact, oddly enough i've seen more old Volvo 480 ES' before than this C30.

Google P1800 ES and 480 ES and you'd understand why the back looks the way it is.

• munky on Sep 10, 2009 at 1:18 am

wow, nobody is bashing the government for the high taxes on foreign cars. Yet. lol

• peter on Sep 10, 2009 at 2:34 am

I'm gonna buy one of these for god sake..

not new but second hand..

hahahaha..

Volvo price will be very low for their second hand cars..

• ToyCar on Sep 10, 2009 at 4:04 am

for years the tail lamp design is holding me off to like volvo!

• CocoBear on Sep 10, 2009 at 8:39 am

I will grab Scirocco over this hatchback because of the aftermarket potential. I found Volvo parts to be overpriced than other marques. But i still dig for Volvo's interior design. It looks clean and Scandinavian.

• roti naan1 on Sep 10, 2009 at 12:00 pm

how much is the car?

• milanRed (Member) on Sep 10, 2009 at 5:42 pm

three door c30 sells for RM215,500 (wo insurance) and its cbu… and still no one commented on the price nor the taxes or anyhthing else that's related to RM… Volvo cars must've have a different set of followers (mature)… its a joy just to browse thru the post this morning..hehehe…

• Arcane on Sep 10, 2009 at 6:32 pm

Never have I read intelligent comments on Paultan.org more than this post. I admit that I hated volvo's boxy designs before, but the C30 made me fell in love with it. But the headlamp makes it look a bit..Japanese, doesn't it? The rest of the car is superb – reminds me of the stools at Ikea. I dunno why =P

• Zidane on Sep 11, 2009 at 1:48 am

I kinda like the design / looks. But for the price, there are much better cars that can be bought. MAzda 3, 6, Honda Civic,

• altimi on Sep 11, 2009 at 1:57 am

I thought the rear tailgate is opened……….LOL

• A bit off topic but Paul, do know when or if they will ever bring in XC70 here? I watched the review Fifth Gear did a few days ago and it's quite a cool wagon.

• Malaysia Tak Boleh on Feb 24, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Volvo needs a hatchback version of the S40 for Europe because there is very low population of the sedans, so they decided to make C30 hatchback.