New Lotus Evora Type 124 Endurance Racecar will race at the MME in Sepang next year

Lotus Evora

I think for Malaysians at least, Lotus and endurance races seem to go together, thanks to the Lotus cars run by Proton and Empire Motorsports in the MME endurance race. Maybe Proton will be running this new baby next year – the new Lotus Evora Type 124 Endurance Racecar. In fact, Lotus has already said that the car is scheduled to race in a few races and the MME is listed as one of them.

Based on the standard Evora road car, the Evora Type 124 (pronounced One Twenty-four) will make its 24 hour racing debut at the ADAC Nurburgring 24 hours race. According to Lotus, the Evora was designed for racing from the start and this made it very easy for the team to convert the Evora into a racecar, thanks to the mid-engine layout, stiff bonded aluminium chassis and lightweight forced aluminium wishbones for the suspension.

Lotus Evora

The Evora gets a race-tuned version of the Toyota V6 mated to a 6-speed sequential paddle shift racing gearbox, and it now produces over 400 PS which is well over the 100 PS per litre ratio. I wish they’d listed out more specifications as to the specs of the engine – I dig this kind of stuff. In stock form, the Evora makes 280 horsepower from its 3.5 litre V6 engine, but even for the road car its said that a supercharged version could come later putting out over 400 horses.

Lotus Evora

Loads of goodies are added to the car – AP Racing 6 pot brakes on both front and back, a race-tuned Bosch ABS system, 4-way adjustable dampers, adjustable anti-roll bars, 18 inch wheels (nice and wide 9.5 from and 11 at the rear) with Pirelli slicks, a full FIA rollcage, an FIA 120 litre ATL fuel system, FIA fire extinguisher, yet weight is cut down from the production car to under 1200kg depending on race regulations. This is thanks to the use of carbon fiber extensively in the rear wing, diffuser, font splitter, and body panels.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=484]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Awesome… Why lotus still so expensive in Malaysia. T.T

• nebula87 on Sep 13, 2009 at 10:39 pm

actually Proton is nt owning de whole Lotus Company, its jus Proton owning a part of the share in Lotus..So, it doesn't mean that Proton can do what Proton wishes to do, its still required agreement from Lotus too…So, This is y Lotus still Exp in our malaysia market..Sad Case..

• @nebula87,

please check your fact, your statement is not right, Proton owns 100% of lotus' share.

http://www.proton.com/about_proton/corp_governanc…

I think, the reason it is expensive is bcoz, the car was made outside malaysia–>import… so, it is subjected to tax.

and, one more thing, it is considered as exotic car… so, it is not priced in the same league as general cars.

• litespeed on Sep 14, 2009 at 1:47 am

I've driven the std Evora, at Hethel to boot! Amazing!

• fastcx on Sep 14, 2009 at 2:33 am

OMG its so cute :P look at the face! big wide mouth like screaming while the eyes r big n cute, with 2 air vent on the hood looks like eye brows :P

• lambov12 on Sep 14, 2009 at 3:18 am

it looks like GTR ..

• on paperlah……but in real life the JV lotus product is very very expensive!!!!!! like WAJA n Gen 2 spare parts

• edwindudley2003 on Sep 14, 2009 at 4:25 am

Lightning McQueen gota nice paint job…. =)

• BeRrY on Sep 14, 2009 at 4:41 am

who cares?? at least we can be proud(even little bit) about lotus rite? 100% proton shares inside it~~~~

• rally_fan on Sep 14, 2009 at 5:53 am

"nebula87 said,

September 13, 2009 @ 2:39 pm

actually Proton is nt owning de whole Lotus Company"

proton owns lotus 100%. the reason the cars cost so much is because it is still imported, and is also niche, practically handmade, hi-tech lightly disguised racing car for the road. the evora on paper is supposed to compete in the same market as the porsche cayman.

• Maverick on Sep 14, 2009 at 6:15 am

It does look kinda cute, some kind of Japanese cartoon character comes to mind when I see that weirdly charming smiling "mouth".. But seriously, maybe someday Proton will start building Lotus locally? Hehe.. We can always dream…

• w_lighter (Member) on Sep 14, 2009 at 6:33 am

Holly crap… thats one of the most beautiful racecar i ever seens

• rageaccel2 on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:40 am

100% owned by proton? including the R&D dept.? i don't think so lah. lotus accumulated its legacy from decades. the technology, the famous handling.

at least i think so…

• fazzurri on Mar 31, 2011 at 8:32 pm

haiya.. U think wrong.. please study or search the info then u can think.. Proton own Lotus Car Limited 100% since 1996 and Lotus Car Limited own 100% Lotus Engineering la.. Only Team Lotus have terlepas to other people.

• EYESORE on Sep 14, 2009 at 5:29 pm

Maverick, proton did assemble elise in shah alam last time… but some malaysian worried about the build quality so it was cancelled. nowadays all lotus in malaysia are CBU import… that's why they r quite expensive… tho actually it is cheaper than it should be if proton does not own lotus :)

• EYESORE on Sep 14, 2009 at 5:31 pm

rageaccel2… yes 100% of Lotus… the whole company… so if it has a r&d department… it is own by proton too…

• mastermind on Sep 14, 2009 at 5:40 pm

yes it true, proton own 100% of lotus, why ? because it busines la.. wonder how to sell malaysian sport car? who want to buy? that why proton own lotus but manage by british people and some malaysian in the company.

it the same thing with land rover and jaguar that own by tata

• Diablo on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Some (if not all) of the current Lotus models sold in Malaysia are already enjoying some excise tax exemption for local buyers. But of course these are unique sportscars so don't expect Proton Waja pricing.

FYI the bodyshell for the Europa S is actually made in Melaka at CTRM, who also make aircraft parts for Boeing. Though body shell made locally I think it is exported to Lotus factory in UK for assembly, then distributed worldwide including Malaysia

• Jumbsuck on Sep 14, 2009 at 10:32 pm

124? Wait, 4 in Chinese means 'die'. In other words,that 124 is Want(1) To(2) Die(4) or wanna die?

• Yes Lotus 100% own by Proton. That is why my present Proton cars in my stable have European ride and Handling unlike my old Wira and Iswara.

• proton does own lotus , but for some gentlemen agreement between companies, it is always better not to interfere the intelligent property or the exquisite stuff of each other side.

for some reason, we hope proton can adopt the lotus engineering into production, but the lotus engineer will not be happy with such a transitions, proton only owns lotus, they do not own the expertise of the people working there. To ensure lotus keeps on movin, proton have the responsibility to push them further without taking much away from them.

no body wants Tata to build Jaguar at India, and even-though BMW is a good brand and they owns Rolls Royce, they still build the Rolls at UK.

• emphbone on Sep 15, 2009 at 9:36 am

i want one.. hehe..

err how much ar the price?

• harlo brothers..

The Owner is By Proton Company la…

but then Lotus still still handling the company…just sell their share finish to Proton… And Actually i dont think Lotus is Exp at all…If u wan to compare with other cars in same league.

Ps. I think the previous Boss from Lotus sure go Genting Highland alot and Lend Ah long Money From Proton..

• Ford_GT on Sep 16, 2009 at 8:02 am

Wicked !

• trackjunkie on Sep 17, 2009 at 8:20 am

Aiseh, you all…

The S1 Elise has been sold in Malaysia from 1999, it was only RM195k, with almost all of them still on the road thanks to the aluminium chassis and fibreglass body. Yes, the Malaysian units were built here.

More recently, the new S2 models, the Elise S, Exige S and Europa S have started reaching our shores in CBU form since Apr 2008 and they are still coming. Price range from RM240k-RM340k.

Call Oh Kah Beng GM of Lotus Cars Malaysia 012 277 1770 to find out more. There are ready stock available.

• AIMAN MALAYA DESIGN on Sep 19, 2009 at 9:31 pm

cmment my waja replacement model on my blog=AIMAN MALAYA DESIGN

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Mar 30, 2010 at 9:55 pm

enough lotus-proton share…let it be discussed by themself..

now..i want more horsie onto this evora..

maybe 500 with torquey bottom rev range would be superb for endurance than screamer engine…

• Kaizer on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:35 am

Nice… I saw a ‘normal’ Evora in USJ recently, a very sleek looking car. I thought it looked like a mini Enzo from the back.