Four-door Bugatti Bordeaux now called the Bugatti 16C Galibier Concept

Bugatti 16C Galibier Concept

If you think the Veyron was exclusive enough, apparently this new Bugatti 16C Galibier Concept (previously teaser to us as the “Bordeaux”) is so exclusive that us mere plebians won’t get a chance to view it at the Frankfurt show coming up in the next few days. Instead, it will get a ‘private unveiling’ at an event in France. The is pretty much the embodiment of the word excessive, but I am really glad that they’ve come up with this and not yet another boring Veyron special edition with a different paint job.

The body of the new 16C Galibier Concept has a two-tone colour scheme that reminds me of the last special edition Veyron – the Grand Sport Sang Bleu. Like the Sang Bleu, most of the car is decked out in a special carbon fiber weave that’s painted dark blue, while the doors and wings are made out of polished aluminium. The Veyron styling has been translated to a larger more stately 4-door form quite well though I must say.

Under the hood mounted up front is a 8.0 litre W16 engine. I don’t see any mention of quad turbos here – instead Bugatti says it uses “two-stage supercharging”, and is flex-fuel capable, which means you can feed it ethanol.

Power is sent to all four wheels via an all-wheel drive system, but although most people are quoting an output of 800 horses and above, we’re not exactly sure how much power we’re talking about as the official press release was more interested in telling us about how this new concept brings back cues from Bugatti’s past glory.

As for the name – it is named after the Col du Galibier, which is the name of a mountain pass in the Swiss Alps. Of course that’s yet another homage to an old Bugatti. They say this is a homage to the old Bugatti Type 57 Atlantic. The Atlantic was just one of the few bodystyles that the 57 had, another one was called the Galibier. This car remains a concept for now and should go into production only by end-2012 or early 2013, giving the millionaires who desire this some time and inspiration to become multi-millionaires.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=488]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• afhstingray on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:41 am

wonder what the backseat interior looks like.

could potentially be nice as a car that is fun to drive but also comfy to be chauffered in

• ago87 on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:46 am

The side profile reminds me Porsche Panamera..

• Paul Tan on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:51 am

Knowing Volkswagen I can't help but wonder if this is based on the Panamera with a much more massive engine.

• like silver surfer.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 15, 2009 at 8:15 am

awful car with a nice interior…

• ignas on Sep 15, 2009 at 8:47 am

the polished aluminum is going to blind everyone on the street once the sun is up, will be traffic accidents everywhere…

• Hadi1975 on Sep 15, 2009 at 8:57 am

Maybe they're using panamera chassis… Nice side profile but the front part looks kinda weird….

• Maverick on Sep 15, 2009 at 9:44 am

Meh… now its just a fast saloon car, like the Panamera, XFR, M5, C63 AMG, all good, but too many… I thought Bugatti was going for the REALLY niche market… This is kinda mainstream… If they price it right, and when I say right, I mean Bentley, RR price, they might sell some… some being optimistic…

• iskett on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:08 pm

from the side,

panamera + bmw 7 series

• azrai on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:36 pm

The veyron still look the best.

• knight_templar on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:39 pm

bugatti 16c ——> saga s16…….. any connection?? :)

• mystvearn on Sep 15, 2009 at 3:48 pm

So you can feed the car cheap booze and get away with it? Looks like it is not as fast as the 2 door veyron. Maybe fastest 4 door?

• soo nice on the side door.

i like this design….

good.

• xavier lert on Sep 15, 2009 at 4:46 pm

papa…mama…baby1…baby2………welcome to the future…..

• unique design with a soul…..i juz lovin it!

• farid on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:28 pm

Wow!..special something this one…love the two tone..however, i think its not suitable for our climate…that brilliant silver finishing paint can be a very huge mirror on the highway..arghh silau weh…sakit mataku!! That fin line from the bonnet all the way to the roof and rear is very special and beautiful and ugly…just like the old vintage Bugatti…Interior, is super posh, modern, quiet, lazy, lonely…Panamera chasis? I dont care, to my eyes this is a Bugatti.

• Han!h on Sep 15, 2009 at 7:33 pm

w0w..that car l0ok scary,haha..

• They dropped the name 'Bordeaux' because it sounds so 'bodo', haha…

• pulge on Sep 15, 2009 at 8:52 pm

Love the interior.. Retro futurism. ^^

• mingyuyu on Sep 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm

front is from BMW new Z4??

• lambov12 on Sep 15, 2009 at 11:07 pm

a 8 litre W12 panamera ..

• meteoranaic on Sep 16, 2009 at 12:02 am

a rebadged and riced up panamera indeed ..

• Crasher on Sep 16, 2009 at 12:52 am

I hate to say it, but I prefer the ugly Panamera over this… No offences

• abdul halim on Sep 16, 2009 at 3:43 am

this car is beyond any of us here to comment,,seriously

• dingdong on Sep 16, 2009 at 4:11 am

Waaa…looks just like the 90s Honda Argentovivo concept car, only with 4 doors.

• the polished aluminium reminds me of the audi a4 silver version, an entire a4 made out of silver, not painted silver.

• azharif on Sep 18, 2009 at 4:38 am

Such an expensive looking car and they forgot to put in air conditioning…

• the new bugati 16c very beautiful but too expensive

• Hmmm…if given the cost to built one of these, can we "local manufacturer" build one ourselves in our own turf? Given the assumption that our brand name already establish in the world global market.

• Namhla.M on Apr 08, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Damn….Oh my gosh. I thought that I was in love with the Veyron but oh my gosh. This Bugatti is my soulmate it just doesn’t know it yet. If only I had billions of Rands and a drivers license.