Camry down-under: Toyota Aurion facelifted too!

Toyota Aurion Facelift

For fans of the new facelifted Toyota Camry, here are some new shots of the car from its Australian launch where it is called the Toyota Aurion. I don’t think any of the previous photos I’ve published so far had a shot of the car with its LED tail lamps lit up so for those who haven’t seen the new facelifted Camry in real life at night yet, here’s how it looks like.

Toyota Aurion Facelift

The Australian Toyota Aurion also has a sporty version with a completely different aggressively-styled bumper and grille. This is different from the aerokit we can purchase with the Camry here in Malaysia. Younger Camry buyers will probably want to hunt for this or find out how to import the original bumper in.

Look after the jump for the full gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=509]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• russiaguy (Member) on Sep 23, 2009 at 1:10 am

Nice LED light!

• russiaguy (Member) on Sep 23, 2009 at 1:26 am

Frankly speaking, their Aurion with black interior looks sporty & more youthful than ours here.

• Jeffery Chew on Sep 23, 2009 at 1:28 am

I saw they have the rear lights like the ASEAN version too…

• George on Sep 23, 2009 at 2:02 am

The front reminds me of Proton Saga.

• ambush on Sep 23, 2009 at 2:06 am

the black one looks like an oversized saga blm from the front

• libralcl on Sep 23, 2009 at 2:15 am

Photoshop Saga haha..just kidding.

• Georgie on Sep 23, 2009 at 2:46 am

schweeeet……… if only i could afford this in the first place

• You're Slimebal on Sep 23, 2009 at 3:11 am

ambush said,

the black one looks like an oversized saga blm from the front

————————

You mean the picture of the black car appears to show an over-sized saga. The black Camry definitely does not resemble the saga in another angle [the other photo with 5 cars]

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2009 at 3:12 am

haha sweet. dont forget they got Aurion TRD supercahrged there..one of the powerful front wheel drive car.

• willpower on Sep 23, 2009 at 4:52 am

UMW Toyota Malaysia may consider market these type of car here.

Definitely will have massive response.

• how come the front looks like proton saga

• yea.. agree what you have said… look like real P R O T O N – S A G A! the out look is really no good…. seem this round the copy cat doesn’t copy others that well.. so the out look much like ugly wolf…. hahahahahaa….. ops!

• kinda looks like the audi a6's led taillamp. the new one.

• DirkTooth on Sep 23, 2009 at 5:25 am

the white one looks nice..

• Gajen on Sep 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

omg…i wish the aurion was here…aurion TRD is even better…

• koozold on Sep 23, 2009 at 6:32 am

de black front really look like saga blm…

• mycar on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:20 am

Nissan Teana already has the similar LED tail lamps, I feel sad that Camry is copying others..

• arian on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:27 am

Agree!! guys, this one looks lijke a proton saga…haha..btw, even got LED light, this car still BORING!!!~ make me wanna make a yawn~~~ pls giv me a hammer, cause i wanna hit this things like Jeremy Clarkson do on Kelisa…!

• albagmane on Sep 23, 2009 at 8:08 am

the black one has a bumper which looks kinda similar to the current Merc C63 AMG one… does fit well with the Camry… so its nice!

• Boring. The Japs one even nicer.

• White Jack on Sep 23, 2009 at 4:48 pm

Ya, agree with you guys, our Camry here should have option for BLACK interior la. Looks so much better :)

Front grille must be chrome only nice for this type of car. Our Camry here is better for that point.

• tikus on Sep 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Front damn Protong Saga lar…what happen to u Toyota?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 23, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Mazda6 and Accord rules….

• The black one just look exactly like the Proton Saga.

• Alvin Toffler on Sep 23, 2009 at 6:13 pm

its way better than the new fugly accord.. although maybe lacking esthetically than the mazda6. nonetheless, i still prefer my beamer.

• shoryuken on Sep 23, 2009 at 6:32 pm

FYI, Camry is selling around A$30+K. Neighbor of my relative bought a C-Class with A$58K, A$3K rebate by the G to encourage people spending, and also if registered for business, totally depreciate in 5 years.

• Squawk on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Chinese copy Japanese, Japanese copy Malaysian? LMAO!!!

• MBX Boy on Sep 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm

Its a 3.5L V6 in Aussie. Here we get just 2.0 and 2.4L engines to fit into this Aurion car. I reckon their Aussie Camry should be sold in Malaysia since it looks more sporty. For those who have not seen the Aussie Camry, you should check out on their website.

• why is it that some people on this forum commented that the Aurion looks like Saga and even accused them copying Saga's front? The Aurion was released some time in 2006 or 2007 which is about 1 or 2 years before the new Proton Saga was revealed to the public. It always amuses me to see some moronic posters posting childish baseless claims on the Internet. Guess not everyone was born and raised equal.

• You're Slimebal on Sep 24, 2009 at 1:10 am

@ Simo

Because Saga is more common? Its like a product long established in a continent, but when it is exported to another country of another continent, people in that country are going to think that the product is created later compared to another similar product.

On another note, I'm pretty sure its just the angle! If people are saying that the black one looks like Saga [or the other way round], then why aren't there people saying that the WHITE one looks like a WHITE Saga, too? Are they of different design? Surely not? Use your brains people ….I expected something interesting when I was reading the comments, but half of what everyone posted is about it resembling the Saga =[

• kimi_ on Sep 24, 2009 at 1:12 am

In all honesty, the black one REALLY looks like the SAGA front,,,, :)

• arian on Sep 24, 2009 at 4:52 am

no need argue la guys…eventually this is a boring car bcoz it born without a SOUL, just for marketing demand, do u guys agree? 4 speed ?! 2 airbag?!…hmmm…think abt it, wat point buying this car?? Toyota just fool u guys with this kind of cars, sorry but i hav to say that i really hate this car!!!

• MazdAstina on Sep 24, 2009 at 6:29 am

the black 1 looks like a damn saga blm. It must b the angle and the new bumper.

• Farhat on Sep 24, 2009 at 7:02 am

PROTON SAGA BLM! lol The australians will mistake the upcomming Proton S14 for an Aurion (which may be good, but not so good the other way round)

• cekni_toyota dealer on Sep 24, 2009 at 8:06 am

it's look like new toyota camry but the aerokit n sport rim are diffrent….

• @You’re Slimeball:

How is Saga more common? Oh that's right this is a Malaysian based forum and everyone drives Saga over there. Still, isnt the rebadged Aurion as Camry been around in Singapore and Malaysia for a while. Surely there are quite a few on the road by now.

@arian:

Are you referring to a 2003 Toyota Echo? or the current Proton Saga? I thought this article is about the v6 facelifted Aurion? what are you on about??

• You're Slimebal on Sep 24, 2009 at 9:06 pm

@ Simo

How many articles about Aurion/Camry have you seen so far in this website? Or how many Camry advertisements in the newspaper? In my opinion there are more Saga's than Camry's in Malaysia. As in the whole country, not just Kuala Lumpur. I bet those kampung folks have more Saga's than Camry's.

I don't know, maybe you live near a Toyota assembling plant, that probably explains why you see more Camry's than Saga's.

Do you live in Shah Alam by any chance? Assembly Services Sdn Bhd assembles Toyota, Hino and Daihatsu vehicles in Malaysia.

ASSEMBLY SERVICES SDN BHD

Persiaran Selangor

40000 Shah Alam

Selangor Darul Ehsan

• @You’re Slimeball:

Well you got a good point there. The ratio for Saga to Camry is probably 100 to 1 over there. Sorry I dont live in Malaysia.

You would have thought of most readers who frequent this site are car enthusiasts or know a thing or two about cars so they should and would have seen the current Camry/Aurion related articles entries at other motoring site or car magazine. Camry isnt exactly some kind of obscure car that nobody buys and since the car has been out for so long the readers would have at least seen it or read about it.

You can't assume that just because there aren't much camry advertisements in Malaysia then people won't know anything about it. We are living in the Internet age and not the 80s. Unless those readers happen to be Proton centric they only pay attention to all things Proton and ignore everything else.

• Seymour on Sep 24, 2009 at 9:51 pm

@Simo

I dont think we really accuse Toyota copied Saga.Is just that the black car really looks like Proton Saga BLM.Whats wrong by saying that this car copied or looks like Saga BLM? Afterall, this blog is for commenting and to see what we think about the car not to scold other peoples comment. zzzz

• @Seymour:

apparently one poster did (or almost did).It is common practice for article commenter to comment on another comment poster if he/she made unintelligent or provocative post without any kind of fact to back the post up.

• dEVILmAYCry2 on Sep 25, 2009 at 7:14 am

u guys surely are clowns…

camry and saga? aiyak….

the war still continue to going further in this forum…sigh ("-_-)

rubbish rubbish and rubbish

• dEVILmAYCry2 on Sep 25, 2009 at 7:15 am

btw….love this new camry…

• kevin> on Sep 25, 2009 at 6:08 pm

what happen to toyota????they copy our beloved Proton Saga???haha ,,THUMBS UP PROTON..exited 4 da new Proton Waja…

• NATOs on Sep 25, 2009 at 6:11 pm

LOVE PROTON ,.,.,.,,.,.,,.,,.,

• dafi`s on Sep 25, 2009 at 6:13 pm

yup2 love proton,,

• Proton on Sep 25, 2009 at 10:51 pm

NOPE..

LOVE TOYOTA…

hahaha

• firefox on Sep 26, 2009 at 1:36 am

no more toyota car, bad after sales services

• Proton on Sep 26, 2009 at 6:23 am

Proof it…

• arian on Sep 26, 2009 at 6:25 am

@ Simo

Don't made me laugh la u, u think u so intelligent than others izzit?

it already show how unintelligent u r when u keep shooting ppl like this.

everyone got his own opinion in different way on same things, and everyone can voice out their words accordingly.

I don understand y u like to act like this, wanna show off?

Let's stop the war here la, u better think abt wat i m said juz now.

• Afezi on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:52 am

wish Aurion is here..

• Tezza on Sep 26, 2009 at 8:02 pm

@Simo

Simo is jz a crap clown thinking that he is superior than others..lmho.. every one here hv their own speedom of speech to comment wats on their mind for certain thing..n 1 vital thing's they weren't simply bashing arnd..indeed the black aurios at upfront really looks like da proton saga blm frm the picture that giving..n da launching time of aurios earlier than our proton saga blm can't simpy deny the fact that they both look alike to each other..okay?? It has nth to do with da time matter..wat a no-brainer…

• Squawk on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:13 pm

I don't think we'll ever get Aurions here and my reasoning is that it doesn't look "uncle" enough, as only "uncles" will be able to comfortably afford cars at this price range. This is how our market is and it's also safe for UMW.

• woot woot looks like I just stepped on some country bumpkin's toe. Someone sure is getting all pissy when someone corrected their incoherent post. Say what's the "da" you meant "the", no?

• poor arian is getting all pissy and defensive. I wasn't shooting anyone, well not literally anyway. Is this about my respond to your 4 speed 2 airbags comment on the Aurion? But I must say I admire your "intelligent" and borderline Toyota bashing comment. These days not many people have the gut to show their total ignorance on a public internet forum. I salute you my brave Arian.

• Stupid f**K Simo, why not you shut you mouth off!!!

• arion on Sep 27, 2009 at 4:38 am

@Simo

i so so pity u la Simo….u still don get wat i m trying to say….haizz….i dun wan to argue with a guys like u, wasting my time nia…It is difficult dealing with those having no manners …eventually i wan to say is there is nothing wrong with different ppl got different opinion, there is no true or false from different opinions, & plz…plz…la respect others guys la, otherwise ppl will considers as no manners! cheers~brave to say!

• lfisism on Sep 28, 2009 at 2:33 am

Hmmmm, the new bumper layout is pretty much of Toyota Mark X Vertiga body kit which has the same profile.

Saga and Camry eh ? If you notice the Saga bumper design, you might want to look at Volkswagen EOS….. Volkswagen EOS bumper + Camry lights = Proton Saga perhaps ? lol….

Rearwise, you might want to think it is an Audi at the back.

Talking about soul, this car is not meant for passionate driving or exhilirating drive. It's good for drivers (so that they won't have a chance to thrash your beloved half to one million dollar car), so big bosses seat at the back (Toyota shud consider a stretched version of Camry ? ) Why have a chauffeur when u have a Merc S class/ Audi A8 / 7series, since he is going to enjoy the drive, not you. Good marketing strategy I'd say… Save your S-class,Bentley, BMW, Audi,Rolls Royce…. be driven in a Camry =)

• hafizzul on Sep 28, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Lampu belakang macam AUDI Q5!

• LOVE TOYOTA TOOOOO MUCH

• SEND THE PRIZE OF CAMRY IN INDIA

• hope i can buy toyota camry, nice design….

• toyota quality drop…… got quantity but no quality…….. aiyooooooo!