More details on the 1Malaysia F1 company

litespeed-f3
Litespeed’s F3 race car

Finally some details from the horses mouth – the 1Malaysia name apparently shares nothing more in common with Najib’s 1Malaysia administration other than the similiar name, as a tribute most likely.

• The government announced yesterday that it has no equity directly or indirectly in the 1Malaysia F1 Team.
  • Proton will license its Lotus brand to 1Malaysia F1 Team.
  • The team will be called Team Lotus.
  • It’s actually run and funded by Litespeed, Naza, and the Tune Group.
  • The team has a start-up capital of RM168 million and a baseline annual budget of an estimated RM308 million.
  • The scope of Proton’s involvement will hopefully go beyond licensing the brand and will include technology transfer, marketing rights and employment opportunities.
  • Petronas (so far) will come in through its Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS, which will collaborate with the team together with UTM to help develop future Malaysian engineers, etc.
  • Composites Technology Research Malaysia (CTRM) will somehow be involved. CTRM is a composites manufacturer with clients like Airbus. It is owned 92% by the government’s Ministry of Finance and 8% by Petronas. They make the composite body shell for Lotus Europa S, and are the official repairer for the teams participating in the Formula BMW Pacific.

So far no concrete mention of Proton or government money being used so far. It doesn’t even look like Lotus will be running the team, instead expertise will come from Litespeed, which is a team participating in F3 founded by ex-Lotus employees Nino Judge and Steve Kenchington. In fact we’ve already readabout this team since June.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Littlefire on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:17 am

I tot Petronas also G funded, does that mean is not our money?

Besides that, does that mean all the manufacturer name inside are just ADVERT! So what Lotus have to do with F1? Lotus tune suspension & riding for F1?

Proton can transfer technology from F1? I tot Petronas already have it, why the trouble? At first should have join with Petronas Sauber even better, save the hussle, time & money…

• How does Naza make its money? Are the people behind Tune proxies for someone else? Does the government think we are all fools?

Directly, the government does not have any interest in the 1Malaysia team but indirectly, every Malaysian contributes.

• asahiyakuza on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:44 am

Our money… Our money…. Enough already lahh. You're not paying that much… Aihhhh…. Paul already mentioned nothing concrete yet about the involvement. So, just wait and see.. and NOO.. PETRONAS money is not our money… they paid for their research, resevoir discovering and oil mining using THEIR own money and none of yours.. You DO NOT OWN any part of the Malaysian sea isn't it? Please.. just enjoy the sports. I'm hopeful that this team do very well to make all these narrow minded people shut the f*ck up… Aihh.. really hate these political d*mb*sses… GO F1 TEAM Malaysia!!!! and thank you Paul for the coverage…

• Berbelit-belit.

• singh on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:02 am

well, i m confuse. Things said today will change tomorrow. What's happening now? Team principal also will change soon. Expect lots of changes until the team really run in 2010. Who's d chasis maker?? Lotus?? I'm confuse now, hehe. BTW, how did Naza got all this money to run 1Malaysia F1? What benefit Naza got from F1?

• Ferruccio on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:07 am

Thanks for the report Paul. OK that sounds better for the nation. I am all for the points listed. The mission sounds good but it's not going to be at all easy to execute. Organisations like Proton are so mired in bureaucracy, it takes forever to get anything substantial like tech transfer, done effectively. We have to also remember that there is very little technology relevance in F1 for roadcars.

For commercial benefit, I think Lotus is in a position to leverage and promote their sports cars in the market, provided the team is competitive. The Proton brand should stay out of it as they're not in a position to capitalize on the exposure.

The involvement of UTP in training future engineers sounds more promising.

CTRM has the manufacturing capability to build top grade F1 chassis tub and other composite parts but they are also mired in bureaucracy like other Khazanah controlled companies (like Proton)

Naturally it is the Litespeed people that will lead the technical operation of the team. Neither Lotus Group nor Proton have the know how. Their companies are not geared for this.

I just hope that Nino Judge, Kenchington, Gascoyne have what it takes. Their reputations aren't exactly first class. 'Just good enough' ain't going to cut it. because they are racing the Lotus brand, expectaions are high and they need to show something exceptional. Some glimmer of competitiveness is a must.

I think it is the commercial operation side that most Malaysian personnel can play a strong role. For technical side there are only a handful of Malaysians with sufficient experience. The best are with A1 Team Mal.They rest will need time to gain experience and the team will not sacrifice performance to just to train Malaysians

• Harvinder Singh Sidh on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:22 am

Biasa la, Malaysia…

• klguy on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:24 am

aik!!! wher is airasia?

• Maybe it is NAZA's way to please the goverment for its new plans or i should i say takeover targets…

BTW so now that means the 200 Malaysians said to be needed will come only from Petronas, UTM and UTP; or will the pool of malaysians tech people from automotive (proton/lotus/perodua) and racing (A1/FBMW/Porsche Cup/MSS/MME) can join the team?

• Ferruccio on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:27 am

Their reports also announced that the team will have a start up capital of RM168M and annual 'baseline' budget of RM308M. Baseline must mean 'about minimum' as RM308M is very small and will likely need to be exceeded even when the F1 budget cap comes into play

• Diablo on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:31 am

AirAsia was NEVER in the equation. Official reports from weeks ago had clearly said from that this was a Tony Fernandes led project. Did not involve his airline AirAsia which has existing deal with Williams.

• intelligent basher.. on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:33 am

our money>9000

x habis2 nk complain bende yg same.adoiyaiii

• Najibest on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:39 am

now that's a complete u turn from earlier statements….earlier they're saying it's a malaysian team, should be based on malaysia, would spend money to develop cars in malaysia, build wind tunnel etc2….sudden turns out we're involved only in licensing the team name and provide some sponsorship money….wonder which big name sponsor would be backing this team though as the budget as being said by Feruccio is definitely going to be circa 50 million pound (~rm400 million per year excluding drivers fee)

• nabil on Sep 26, 2009 at 11:02 am

i have a bad feeling this will not last more than a season…we need to get as many sponsers as possible….

• cannonball on Sep 26, 2009 at 11:05 am

After all the hoo-haa now looks like we are doomed

to be backmarkers. Funds by the 3 co's are skepticle

esp Tune Group. Highly likely that its payback is for the

govt to give more landing rights for AirAsia.

This CTRM is basically another crony vendor co.

So at the end of the day all crony's will get a piece of the pie.

Naza =More AP's

Airasia=More routes/landing fee of 100 mil still owed to Malaysian Airports

-waived/given 50% discount (just like our PDRM summons)

• mystvearn on Sep 26, 2009 at 11:08 am

Better things to do than sponsor F1 team. Honda quit, and they are making good cars. Hyundai, Kia are not even in it, and they are milese better than proton.

• arian on Sep 26, 2009 at 11:49 am

I more prefer to see Audi, Porsche, Peugeot…those big name join the F1 & make the top class formula sports more exciting…but since Honda, Jaguar, Ford, BMW quit….seems like start getting bored year by year…y? I love f1…but i dun feel right now…sometime i almost fall asleep in front of tv…

• tonton on Sep 26, 2009 at 12:17 pm

@littlefire

celah bile plak petronas G funded. pet funding g adelah. gune otak aa bagi komen.

huhuhu

and for petronas having the F1 technology, the technolgy that petronas is just a little portion from what F1 really about. what about the KERS, aerodynamics, traction control, carbon fibre monocoque body, do all petronas, oil company have all these?

this is advance technology, an opportunity to strengthen our own technology, our own expertise, and yet you still babbling about your money and your crap little proton car.

honda quits F1, yes they quit. after they have gains so many knowledge, so many experiences, so much experiences, but we? our team even not start on the grid yet and yet so many idiots and narrow thinking bashing the government because of F1

it is very lucky for utpians to have this opportunity and i'm quite sure, this investment is not a waste. utp will produce top notch persons, well developed, high knowledge, high cooperating skill, and so many positive value that can squeeze out from this sports. i'm very proud of utp, if they manage to send one, because of the bright future that they will provide, and because being the ex-utpians

• is a good news…why you people to many complain about money…the important thing for our country name is involve in this high tech…sport…and good for our automotive industries… you all must proud. i did not understand…

don't think negative….

• Commenter on Sep 26, 2009 at 12:37 pm

Man, what have Opposition Leaders create? Retarded supporter. Just know how to complaint. What I can see what opposition leaders created are these negative mindset of people. Talk without fact. But when people give facts, they still say it is a cover up. Stop with you complaint, your money go nowhere. You didn't pay enough tax to cover what Gov did or will do. All you tax money been used to subsidize your petrol and food. People like you are from low to mid class didn't contribute a lot to the country except giving bad image to your own country. Go pack your stuff and get lost. I can't take it anymore, I've been patient for years. Every things in Malaysia are belong to Malaysia, not individual Malaysian or a group of Malaysian like you. The true owner of the land are the Kings and the Sultans. Without their signature till today our country cannot be an Independent Country. But they don't complaint as much as you do. Plus, you people keep complaint why we need the Kings and said they waste your tax money bla bla bla. It's you who wasting the property of Malaysia that given by the King to form this country. The minerals, oils, soils and etc., that belong to the country had been wasted to fund the education and food for people like you. What Malaysia get in return? A zillion of complaints, never appreciate what the country had done for them. Still saying that if got opportunity want to live in OZ, USA, or SG because Malaysia is not good enough for you. People like you should pack your stuff and get lost to hell.

• khairil on Sep 26, 2009 at 12:46 pm

BMW quit? hehehe.. they don't have the fund lah bro… see now.. merayu to FIA want to be the 14th & the last team. since qadbak funded them.

hyundai joining F1? they have many larger business.. shipping etc.. imho, they don't bother to R&D the engine,frame & aerodynamics & design from scratch.. would they use other manufacturer engine? maybe if they tak malu.. hehhee..

yeah, its true… much knowledge could be gained from this sport.

• azrai on Sep 26, 2009 at 2:32 pm

Wow.Proton do its best. Rebadged F1 cars this time. Only use lotus badge while the cars is actually others.

• old timers on Sep 26, 2009 at 4:02 pm

asahiyakuza,

we're not paying much ker…then, could i escape paying tax, since its not that much, dont forget to exclude my car from tax as well, including rice, food, gadgets & clothing line as well…bodo punya olang…

petronas is gov owned, so its gov money that will go down the drain…evetually its people who will pay for this thing…

wahai kerajaan 'flip-flop', tak boleh kah cari mana2 org kaya suruh melabur guna duit sendiri…baru rakyat puas hati…not many people enjoy 'our money' used for rich man toys…

• Y LOTUS….Y NOT PROTON……

• hahaha…cannot make comments since our gov still not sure what to do.

• RazerX on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:06 pm

its about research and developments. better than nothing. proud with engineer capabilities and UTM always produces good engineers!

• Jumbsuck on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:11 pm

tonton:

and for petronas having the F1 technology, the technolgy that petronas is just a little portion from what F1 really about. what about the KERS, aerodynamics, traction control, carbon fibre monocoque body, do all petronas, oil company have all these?

Shell also may not have all that stuffs but just let Ferrari do all that and continue F1 business on regular winning basis all these years. Other than winning and being associated with winning image, it's totally nonsensical to waste money on team that regularly produce silly crashings, not even qualify for grid…like last time what, Minardie?

tonton:

this is advance technology, an opportunity to strengthen our own technology, our own expertise, and yet you still babbling about your money and your crap little proton car.

At least you did put the word 'crap' and 'proton' there. Quite easy to relate though.

tonton:

honda quits F1, yes they quit. after they have gains so many knowledge, so many experiences, so much experiences, but we? our team even not start on the grid yet and yet so many idiots and narrow thinking bashing the government because of F1

Do you need F1 to improve Proton? Would any narrow thinking idiots believe such potentially RM billions of wastage please stand up.

tonton:

it is very lucky for utpians to have this opportunity and i’m quite sure, this investment is not a waste.

Other than not burning your own money, surely it's fun and lucky to screw and waste other people's money.

tonton:

utp will produce top notch persons, well developed, high knowledge, high cooperating skill, and so many positive value that can squeeze out from this sports. i’m very proud of utp, if they manage to send one, because of the bright future that they will provide, and because being the ex-utpians

Perhaps there are so many ways to define just one thing: Crash Test Dummies.

• peroempat on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:12 pm

Finally, 1Malaysia = G + Proton + Lotus = Our Money

• bobdbilder on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:17 pm

I could understand why Airasia would put money in this endeavour. But I don't know about the rest.

With this clarification, I am relieved that there is less exposure to the risks in racing. Yet I balk at how the whole PR thing was handled. I guess it's the present leadership style to piggy back anything that would smell popular. Now that they know it would not go down well, they would keep the whole issue at arms' length.

Current regulation on F1 is V8, 2.4l, redline 19000 rpm. No variable valve timing, 95kg engine. CO2 release? Don't even ask. Fuel consumption? Very funny. So how is any development in an F1 engine is going to trickle to road cars? Neither Renault nor Ferrari have this kind of engine in their own production cars. Nobody goes into F1 for real product development. Its a huge marketing circus. Its about image. Its a branding thing which the Government was trying to hitch a ride on.

Plus, its a typical English lad's plan; suck up to the government's intentions in the hopes of getting funding for their own expansion. Fill the need. Honestly I only knew Litespeed as the bicycle manufacturer and not some guys who left Lotus, to use its name. I now know why Mike Kimberly left. He loved Lotus too much to see it come to this. I never fell for the official 'personal health issues' reason. But this did concern his heart.

• katak on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:21 pm

F1 is proton short cut to get to the top and with the rakyat cost so who cares,

a ) tukar tayar kat pit stop pun tak tau mau masuk F1

b ) experience driver also dont have

c ) event you have mat saleh to drive you dont event have the engine

d ) event you buy the engine from others you dont have the team to manage it

e ) event you have the team to run the F1 and still you come in last

so why waste money like that why not do something for your people rather to promote money wasting ideas

you never know the cost of the F1 so you never learn at the end your team lost and turn out last

think and use your brain

• katak on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Please do not brand F1 for satu malaysia for your excuses, when you have mat salleh to drive and manage by mat salleh so all the money will give to mat salleh.

Do something for the people like north south highway toll free tht is what i call 1 malaysia,

Remember rakyat hard earn money is for malaysia only

• 1MaLaysIsa on Sep 26, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Katak: you are just too narrow minded…if they are not sure in what they are doing, they won't even waste their time and money in this tean.. they are going to use Lotus technology in the F1..read your history before you comment anything. Even we lost, at least Malaysia have a F1 team. This is something not all country can do. As paul already mention nothing is comfirm yet, so why do you have to bother so much about it? Everything can be train, one of the successful person is our Malaysian A1 driver…so what makes you think that they cannot make it? Use your brain too! Don't have any foriengers to help in this team? i guess you really do not read alot in all of this things DUDE!

• bobdbilder on Sep 26, 2009 at 6:27 pm

If this is supposed to be a Branding thing, why don't they check with a Brand/Marketing Consultant first instead of listening to some Caucasians in a suit? Coz every single press release on this issue look like Litespeed's blurb on their website.

http://www.litespeedf3.com/sponsorship.html

With due respect to local Corporate leaders who toe the line, you guys really suck at innovation. You guys really need to listen more.

• Micheal on Sep 26, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Naza, is a big company. they have billions of ringgit. dont worry, open naza.com.my,

count how many subsidary companies under Naza, FYI, TTDI, Naza is one of thew biggest developer there. THey make billions of ringgit a year. Dont worry.

————————————————————-

peroempat said,

September 26, 2009 @ 9:12 am

Finally, 1Malaysia = G + Proton + Lotus = Our Money

tak reti baca ka?

• Micheal on Sep 26, 2009 at 6:41 pm

singh said,

September 26, 2009 @ 2:02 am

well, i m confuse. Things said today will change tomorrow. What’s happening now? Team principal also will change soon. Expect lots of changes until the team really run in 2010. Who’s d chasis maker?? Lotus?? I’m confuse now, hehe. BTW, how did Naza got all this money to run 1Malaysia F1? What benefit Naza got from F1?

—————————————————————-

Singh,

FYI, Naza makes billions of ringgit every year, yes, indeed Tan Sri Nasimuddin wasnt listed in any millionaire or billionaire lists. Because he just keep it low, and it doesnt mean he did not have the money. Its the story of late Tan Sri Nasimuddin. Now, Naza have billions of ringgit, THe have, Naza Subsidaries that pump in their account billions a year. If Brabus trust them to be sole exporter of brabus in SEA, KIA invest in them. Why cant we trust them?

• Our Money on Sep 26, 2009 at 6:59 pm

asahiyakuza said,

September 26, 2009 @ 1:44 am

Our money… Our money…. Enough already lahh. You’re not paying that much… Aihhhh…. Paul already mentioned nothing concrete yet about the involvement. So, just wait and see.. and NOO.. PETRONAS money is not our money… they paid for their research, resevoir discovering and oil mining using THEIR own money and none of yours.. You DO NOT OWN any part of the Malaysian sea isn’t it? Please.. just enjoy the sports. I’m hopeful that this team do very well to make all these narrow minded people shut the f*ck up… Aihh.. really hate these political d*mb*sses… GO F1 TEAM Malaysia!!!! and thank you Paul for the coverage…

agreed… funny malaysian… why the hell they thinks that all things going around Malaysia involving "OUR MONEY".

• fadzly on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Take that u all who blame g to spend 'rakyat' money.. Fuk off. this ppl only know how to blame and talk bullshit. How about giving a good benefit opinion to them rather than keep blaming them. They dont even started their race, thousand of comment bashing on them already. Most Malaysian internet users now seems to have a trademark of always blame and talk cock but the fact so dumb and dont know anything.

• Hazri on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Agreed 100% !!!

• informalaysia on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:38 pm

no concrete proof of proton using govt money in the development of the Lotus Team… that's good.. i wasn't really keen on supporting this project that splurges money in times of crisis, but now knowing that our govt might not be involved, i think it should be fine.. but the only thing is this – whatever happened to the all malaysian developed, produced, trained, driver, engine, this and that thing?

well now at least proton can get some extra money by licensing the lotus brand to litespeed.. as for cosworth engines, it could be a start.. cosworth F1 engine used to be really popular in mid-70's and not now, but like i said – it's a good start at least…

one more thing – if any of you think that petronas is funded by the govt then i think u have to go to primary school again… petronas is actually the one that funds at least 40% of govt revenue last year… please dont comment on things that you don't know because you'll only look stupid if you do so…

• fadzly on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Commenter said,

September 26, 2009 @ 4:37 am

Man, what have Opposition Leaders create? Retarded supporter. Just know how to complaint. What I can see what opposition leaders created are these negative mindset of people. Talk without fact. But when people give facts, they still say it is a cover up. Stop with you complaint, your money go nowhere. You didn’t pay enough tax to cover what Gov did or will do. All you tax money been used to subsidize your petrol and food. People like you are from low to mid class didn’t contribute a lot to the country except giving bad image to your own country. Go pack your stuff and get lost. I can’t take it anymore, I’ve been patient for years. Every things in Malaysia are belong to Malaysia, not individual Malaysian or a group of Malaysian like you. The true owner of the land are the Kings and the Sultans. Without their signature till today our country cannot be an Independent Country. But they don’t complaint as much as you do. Plus, you people keep complaint why we need the Kings and said they waste your tax money bla bla bla. It’s you who wasting the property of Malaysia that given by the King to form this country. The minerals, oils, soils and etc., that belong to the country had been wasted to fund the education and food for people like you. What Malaysia get in return? A zillion of complaints, never appreciate what the country had done for them. Still saying that if got opportunity want to live in OZ, USA, or SG because Malaysia is not good enough for you. People like you should pack your stuff and get lost to hell.

———————-

thumbs up!

• Seriously, what's with this "our money" garbage.

Do you seriously need to feel "your money" is in the F1 race to feel important in this lifetime?

The money involved is from the bloody SPONSORS.

GRRRRRRRR.

For arguement sake let's say a trickle of "YOUR MONEY" actually got in this race.

People paying truckloads of tax don't care about this, why do you anyway?

Rest assured the malaysians paying by the truckload will make sounds.

And why the bloody hell is everything a conspiracy to your guys?

Naza will get more ap, Asia who is not involved will get more LZ.

If you don't like the way the malaysian budget is being spent then vote for a change of govt.

If you don't like both sides of the government, get elected yourself for apparently you can do a much better job.

• old timers on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:41 pm

hundreds of people giving their facts in this website and others…how blind najis's balls suckers still can't see….even najis now 'flip-flop' after realizing people angry with them…

• old timers on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:44 pm

fadzly,

again, fark off.

• roti naan1 on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Go race la, let their standing in the race decide. If they get the LAST place everytime, I think all the drivers and technician will wear their helmet all the time becoz damn malu…..

• P/S, Directed at the – Jacked up by their dumb family, illiterate, ignorant, who thinks everything is a conspiracy retards.

• old timers on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:48 pm

commenter,

u can get lost if u wanted, this is my country…nobody care if Malaysian loses a loser like u… Everybody entitles to their opinions…

• old timers on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:53 pm

Wen said,

P/S, Directed at the – Jacked up by their dumb family, illiterate, ignorant, who thinks everything is a conspiracy retards.

—————————————————————-

i know, its your mother

• informalaysia on Sep 26, 2009 at 7:55 pm

fadzly,

i was one of the ppl who didnt agree on this project in the first place, because why? terang2 they told us that govt money will be channeled thru proton.. haiyo, you still want to support such a project if they use govt money ke? tell me what good this will bring to govt? to proton maybe ade la jugak kan sbb proton is an automotive industry player… using proton money is ok but using govt money to me is strictly a no-no…

since the media told us govt money will be used then we bash lah.. susah2 save money change to RON 95, cost-cutting here and there then suddenly want to get involved in this project while BMW and Honda pun decided to quit – isn't that a stupid decision in such hard times? but now they tell us not involved then ok la we support je… bukan nak bash on everything pun, there are still a lot of logical-thinking malaysians out there lah, not just you like you claimed (but sometimes it's true some reader comments here in PT also are getting more stupid than ever la).. but man, honestly, if want to tegur orang lain pun you want to watch your language kan..

what im trying to say is this – people reacted not blindly, but based on what the govt told us.. if it's stupid then we bangkang but if its good we sokong.. i agree the govt has done a lot of good for us and theyre trying, but if its stupid then you have to admit that its stupid and not sokong everything also, right?

p/s: ntah2 the govt changed their mind on not supporting the team based on the comments that they got when they first announced the news? who knows, right? whatever it is, now i'm glad at least the G might not be involved + the team name is Team Lotus and not 1Malaysia…

• Old timer

So what retarded? U trust ur own retarded delusional fact? The fact that u dont realized where u live in? The fact that u think u are the only one that is true? Come on. Paul has mention about F11Malaysia article LONG time ago and seems nobody follow it. I even gave a comment on that article before. Thus to me, u all just bullshit talking nonsense try to search every single loophole just to blame gov. It just so unfair to them.

Everybody entitle of their opinion, but do stupid bullshit bluffing comment get their place here? Fark off again.

In the end what can u said? U said we blind, but u never proof us wrong. U never gives us real facts. Thus who are the one blind? i know u retarded. That why the only thing u can said is we are a najis’s balls suckers and still blind?

• old timers on Sep 26, 2009 at 8:27 pm

fadz,

datang dengan nama lain plak…hehe

nobody want to bash blindly, its come with reasons…i dont have to prove u r blind…cermin diri sendiri lah bro..

aku curse bile org lain start cursing, and i specifically done to see if they can take the heat…apparently, no….haha

• Najibest on Sep 26, 2009 at 8:32 pm

i would be worried about the team until they can name me the full list of sponsors….naza and tune group are definitely not corporate giants that can spend RM40-50 million per year for sponsorship….even petronas which contribute 60% of the malaysian govt income sponsors up to RM80 million per year only….

• im using different comp. so what? i forgot to change my name. is that a problem? It still my name, and paul know i'm using same email, same IP address. So what?

Bro, u are using the wrong blog to heat up the scene. go other forum if u want to talk about politics and blame us blind and najis balls suckers

• carneo (Member) on Sep 26, 2009 at 8:43 pm

What means "no government money being used so far" THIS IS BULLSHIT. govt. give money and you put it on your left pocket, then you transfer the money from left pocket to right pocket and add some privious remainig money, then you take the money from right pocket to sponsor F1. This is kindergarten method of spend money.

• no dirty words please…

• sigh,

another pathetic comment..

• VoiceOfPeople on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:06 pm

fadz

Just answer me few questions down here:

Provided if u were the PM

1) How rich is Malaysia at the moment? (i.e. still afford another space passenger project?another twin tower?bought over all the highways?)

2) If the 1MalaysiaF1 is budgeted about 500m per annual (wat a cheap cost in F1) and is more likely funded by Government directly or indirectly(through government owned company) would u take tis 500m spend in F1 sport or would u – fund those bumi's like Penan, Kadazan etc in east malaysia so that they could hav a home bcos they hav been forced to move from they village due to new dam building projects?

– fund ppl in kotakinabalu bcos they r suffering higher living cost but lower income than KL (u may b not believe in tis bcos may b u never visited/stay there before)

– improve the medical systems like helicopter clinics to those bumi's living far inside the jungle in east m'sia.

– bought over all the highways for rakyat's good sake

– build proper highways in east m'sia bcos there do not hav any highways or railways (i think u dono cos u may b typical semenanjung ppl who never visited east m'sia). Ppl there has forced to afford air tickets to move from even just kuching to miri (i think u never understand bcos u jz pay few ringgits for the toll to travel along semenanjung malaysia!!). or spend more than one day with car!!

Answer me then u`ll know where the money should better spend for a better purpose!!

If talking 1 malaysia…some other thing should get the priority instead of just getting some names internationally (which don't even know good or bad 1)

• Elvis on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Oklah….news keep changing…flip flop…coz if government DIRECTLY involved you know who will have field days…. Like thislah…if this project goes on, please make an audited financial report….WHERE THE MONEY COME FROM….WHERE IT GOES…no need for us do downgrade each other here calling you or me stupid, dumbass, asshxxx or what. No point for us to get so emotional, coz at the end of the day, we may ask, did this project bring ANY POSITIVE RESULTS? Now i want to ask you guys, is sending a Malaysian to ISS worthing? Is sending a Proton car to North Pole and bunch of guys parachute there worthing? Is sending climbers to the highest mountain in the world worthing? And lastly i was to ask you guys, is it worthing to send the best brain among us to study in best university and come back to be our lecturers? The last question of course no one argue but the rest of the question, i let it to you….

• tonton on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:30 pm

@jumbsuck

i stand up with that particular stupid idea costing billions of cash

i dont understand the logics of your thinking, full with negative excuse

F1 is not the only way to improve hopeless proton, but it is one of the opportunity to strengthen up their image, and their technology.

motorsports and automotive industry cannot be separated. F1, rally cars, grand prix, super GT, BTC grand prix, almost every single automaker in this world will not miss the opportunity to join. To prove to the world, that their wheels, and their people have guts, and balls, to join the battle between man and machines.

the most important thing in sports is not winning,if u just thinking to join a sport just to win the first place eventhough u are newb, then u better off gardening. The most important things is what people can learn from their mistake, their experiences and advance through it.

damn i hate stupid negative thinking malaysian.

• sparkoeng on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Stop wasting our money. If the tagline "Rakyat Didahulukan, Pencapaian diutamakan" reduce the fuel price first. Give back to the tax payer. Do treat the people money macam bapak sendiri punya duit!

• Ferruccio on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Thanks for the report Paul. OK that sounds better for the nation. I am all for the points listed. The mission sounds good but it’s not going to be at all easy to execute. Organisations like Proton are so mired in bureaucracy, it takes forever to get anything substantial like tech transfer, done effectively. We have to also remember that there is very little technology relevance in F1 for roadcars.

For commercial benefit, I think Lotus is in a position to leverage and promote their sports cars in the market, provided the team is competitive. The Proton brand should stay out of it as they’re not in a position to capitalize on the exposure.

The involvement of UTP in training future engineers sounds more promising.

CTRM has the manufacturing capability to build top grade F1 chassis tub and other composite parts but they are also mired in bureaucracy like other Khazanah controlled companies (like Proton)

Naturally it is the Litespeed people that will lead the technical operation of the team. Neither Lotus Group nor Proton have the know how. Their companies are not geared for this.

I just hope that Nino Judge, Kenchington, Gascoyne have what it takes. Their reputations aren’t exactly first class. ‘Just good enough’ ain’t going to cut it. because they are racing the Lotus brand, expectaions are high and they need to show something exceptional. Some glimmer of competitiveness is a must.

I think it is the commercial operation side that most Malaysian personnel can play a strong role. For technical side there are only a handful of Malaysians with sufficient experience. The best are with A1 Team Mal.They rest will need time to gain experience and the team will not sacrifice performance to just to train Malaysians

• carneo (Member) on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:45 pm

Ok Fadz …then 1Malaysia F1 team should do more better to shut our mouth …this is due to the past involvement of F1 doesn't bring any good result… I am not anti Govt. but I can't take the fake statement since we are 1Malaysia we are in one, not only unite the race but, govt. have to be honest to nation, we should know more detail and the thruth don't make storie to cover it. why keep saying “no government money being used so far”? ONLY HONESTY CAN UNITE THE NATION that's only we call "1 MALAYSIA".

• Squawk on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Firstly, this land rightfully belongs to the indigenous people who resided here long before the ancestors of any King or ruler arrived. But that's just my opinion.

That aside, the 1st report on this new team and this latest one seem to contradict. Has the arrangement been tweaked due to public feedback?

Why name it Team Lotus if it's just a licensing agreement, or will there be technical contribution from Lotus? If not, it's like Ferrari naming a team "Ferrari F1" but not doing any R&D themselves. And how does the name 1Malaysia fit in?

So far I only know of Ferrari & McLaren developing cars from F1 technology. But these are far from mass market cars. How will this help Proton?

• anwar on Sep 26, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Aiseyyyy …. my plans to provoke Malaysians to hate BN for this F1 team just started. But now how??? The news said no money from government.

Lucky, there are still stu*id Malaysians to believe everything I said. Hopefully, I can become PM in the next election through this stu*id people. Continue supporting me you id*ots!!!!!

• ceazetoamaze on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm

Ok, this is slightly better than before…u turn or not. Wait, i tot Petronas owned by the G? So indirectly still rakyat money. Who is this Tune group? Anyway interesting how this turns out…

• Elvis on Sep 26, 2009 at 10:56 pm

In the first place PM should just keep quite or say that this is privates undertaking and stop commenting there. Starting a project like this in times of uncertainties can do more harm than good. We all know we are in technical recession, if Malaysia is enjoying multiple quarterly growth, then let it be…even the building of Twin Towers or Putrajaya didnt hurt people support for the government? In times of 'RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN, PENCAPAIAN DIUTAMAKAN', it should not remain a SLOGAN alone. In fact nowadays, everything also flipflop decisions. Education system going backward, where's the PENCAPAIAN? 1MALAYSIA but where's the real unity here? US oledi elected a black president, i dont think we ever see the day where chinese can be a PM. Okay coming back to F1…..why are those selected companies so eager to be sponsors? And why so many 'positive comments' here? And sad also that those voicing out their opinions KANA BASH FOR NOTHING…like so how got G public relations officers here…

• rally_fan on Sep 26, 2009 at 11:01 pm

"azrai said,

September 26, 2009 @ 6:32 am

Wow.Proton do its best. Rebadged F1 cars this time. Only use lotus badge while the cars is actually others."

please wake up dude.. practically all f1 cars are rebadged la. you think mercedes actually makes their own f1 cars? likewise bmw.. they have mclaren and sauber to do so..

• Just answer me few questions down here:

Provided if u were the PM

#hey! this is not a politics blog! Don't ever change the topic

1) How rich is Malaysia at the moment? (i.e. still afford another space passenger project?another twin tower?bought over all the highways?)

#Malaysia is not rich, so? Y make another twin tower when we already have one? maybe in the near future we can built one at johor? using solely petronas money, not tax or 'rakyat money'

2) If the 1MalaysiaF1 is budgeted about 500m per annual (wat a cheap cost in F1) and is more likely funded by Government directly or indirectly(through government owned company) would u take tis 500m spend in F1 sport or would u – fund those bumi’s like Penan, Kadazan etc in east malaysia so that they could hav a home bcos they hav been forced to move from they village due to new dam building projects?

– fund ppl in kotakinabalu bcos they r suffering higher living cost but lower income than KL (u may b not believe in tis bcos may b u never visited/stay there before)

– improve the medical systems like helicopter clinics to those bumi’s living far inside the jungle in east m’sia.

– bought over all the highways for rakyat’s good sake

– build proper highways in east m’sia bcos there do not hav any highways or railways (i think u dono cos u may b typical semenanjung ppl who never visited east m’sia). Ppl there has forced to afford air tickets to move from even just kuching to miri (i think u never understand bcos u jz pay few ringgits for the toll to travel along semenanjung malaysia!!). or spend more than one day with car!!

Answer me then u`ll know where the money should better spend for a better purpose!!

#Wow.. I get wat u mean. U're saying gov dont spend rakyat money for sabah and sarawak izzit? Sabah and sarawak, they have their own project, money. Dont u read? U can google it. How much do u think Gov give to Sabah alone solely for RMK9 – Its RM15.65 billion all just wanna to do MORE than what u have said above! thats not including the oil royalty.

In sarawak RM124 million was given only just to built new roads, and upgrade some road which length up to 824KM. If u want proof just visit this website
    http://ctmserver.kkr.gov.my/projek_english/peranc…

Of coz u will said later, in reality there is no change? of coz u cant see major change there, U cant simply make drastic change without a concrete master plan, not like PR doing it's free water for selangor. But if u watch carefully around u, theres alot of things G has done for Borneo. And of coz, Gov dont stop just giving 10 billions just like that, they even pump extra money after that.

Najib just recently announced that the next RMK10 they will be focusing more to sabah and sarawak. And definitely, u will see later, alot of different in the next couple of years.

So do u think that Gov dont think all those think u mention above? Do u think gov so stupid only know how to spend their big money on the race track? Do u think Gov so stupid, they even dont realise that becoz of Rakyat in Borneo, they still in power?

So do they care of spending RM500million (eventhough the money is nothing to do with TAX money) after spending BILLIONS for what have u said above?

If talking 1 malaysia…some other thing should get the priority instead of just getting some names internationally (which don’t even know good or bad 1)

#1Malaysia, that not mean 1 agenda bro. Open ur mind brother. To achieve 1Malaysia is not all about what Gov should do best to rakyat. It also about WE should do best to our Gov.

• Jumbsuck on Sep 26, 2009 at 11:33 pm

Ferruccio:

For commercial benefit, I think Lotus is in a position to leverage and promote their sports cars in the market, provided the team is competitive.The Proton brand should stay out of it as they’re not in a position to capitalize on the exposure.

Correct(3x) sir! Like the tagline Proton Savvy "My first Lotus"…it's just doesn't work at all. Talk about bad aura.

tonton:

i stand up with that particular stupid idea costing billions of cash

So just stand up right there will ya!

tonton:

F1 is not the only way to improve hopeless proton, but it is one of the opportunity to strengthen up their image, and their technology.

So far, F1 car don't have any door handle or power window for Proton to improve the quality and reliability though.

tonton:

To prove to the world, that their wheels, and their people have guts, and balls, to join the battle between man and machines.

Not to mention the entertainment value of silly crashings and qualifying blunders like Minar-die too!

tonton:

the most important thing in sports is not winning,if u just thinking to join a sport just to win the first place eventhough u are newb, then u better off gardening. The most important things is what people can learn from their mistake, their experiences and advance through it.

Not sure if Minar-die got any sponsor from gardening, hardware tools brand like DeWalt but at least their corp. colour quite similar Yellow, Black also like Magnum4D…but one thing for sure: silly crashings, last gridlines or no at all is enough to tell you it is a just, costly failure for any F1 team to tempt the fate against all odds. Much like betting 4d, eh?

tonton:

damn i hate stupid negative thinking malaysian.

Can't help it but remember Proton Waja was unveiled hopefully as Asia's answer to 3-series? Damn!

• FITRI ZAIN on Sep 27, 2009 at 12:00 am

It's just a cunning way for Litespeed to grap a grid place for next year (and future) F1 races. They submitted their application using the Lotus Racing name (banking on Lotus rich racing history as FIA can't just accept any team to compete, but FIA turned it down, Lotus Co protested too). Hence probably a spin doctor came out with a 'grand' idea of getting Lotus permission through its owner, Proton. What better way to cook up the whole thing by associating it 1Malaysia? As it turned out, public responses have been mixed (rightly so), hence the spin doctor decided to play down the whole thing before it gets out of hand, hence subsequent explanations by various parties since the first news broke out….

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/26/more-details-on-the…

• Squawk on Sep 27, 2009 at 12:45 am

With all due respect, Mercedes is a partner to and equity holder of Team McLaren, likewise with BMW of Sauber. They also develop and supply engines to the teams. They're not just placing their names there as a result of a licensing agreement.

Will Proton/Lotus supply the engines/components to Team Lotus 1Malaysia F1?

• Oh man…no need to fight in here..everbody have the right to give their comment…the project its still on…we just have to wait and see…If it's go down sure najib go down with them too….hihihihihi…One malaysia suckkkk…

• PoloMint on Sep 27, 2009 at 1:27 am

What kinda engine Lotus talking.

Common we don't even hv a engine and we talking big.

Lotus also a loss making co and now being headed by a Swiss

who doesn't wanna admit he's a Turk crook. Mention his name

to all the top co's and you'll hear abt his shabby MBA stories.

Tony F..talk is cheap but where is the substance.

to equipt a wind tunnel alone would cost us something in the region

of abt RM500mil/US$150mil (just for a supercomputer)

.,,we were the laughing stock of all F1 co's. when he boasted that

we were gonna hv them all at Sepang and testing by Litespeed in UK?

• Elvis on Sep 27, 2009 at 1:49 am

"To achieve 1Malaysia is not all about what Gov should do best to rakyat. It also about WE should do best to our Gov"

Aiyoh…i farted after reading this comment…..like we are all kids and those in government are HONEST, NO CORRUPTIONS, NO CRONYISM, WORKING FOR RAKYAT. We ordinary malaysians oledi doing our partlah bro…G doesnt need to tell us how to mingle with other races…aiyoh after 50 years still stuck with racial issue? Those leaders in UMNO, MIC and MCA are fighting and in parliment also alter words like BODOH, BOCOR, MONYET…and you are telling us to do best of to our G? LU PIKIR SENDIRI BRO….

• kelisapadi on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:03 am

Hmmm…I laughed while reading some of the comments about F1. Seriously, some doesn't know about F1 and yet they still give silly comments.

Take Force India F1 as an example, run by Vijay Mallya and Michiel Mol, who took over Spyker F1, their cars are not powered by TATA. Yet they still market India throughout the world.

• Me, my dad and sister have been a fan of F1 since it was brought to Malaysia. Thanks Malaysia and proud to finally have a team of our own …. way to Malaysia.

• makan makan on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:16 am

Fadzli/fadz..

Just leave old timers and the gang alone..just not worth any cent to argue with them..

budak-budak..you knowlah..later diam lah tu…lagi layan.lagilah menjadi

• apih78 on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:17 am

x kira la korang nak gaduh2 ke nak condemn2 antara satu sama lain…yg penting bnyk lagi menda yg boleh di buat dr taja f1…as a goverment,,mesti dengar hasrat rakyat sebab no goverment without rakyat…goverment firstly mesti selesaikan masalh yang membelenggu rakyat mlaysia tidak kira melayu,cina,india…selesaikan isu perkauman yg membelanggu rakyat dulu…baru boleh buat team f1…ferrari,bmw.mercedes dll dah maju bukan setakat buat enjin je…diorang x mntak tolong org…r&d diorng maju,bukan mulut cakap tapi betul2 maju…proton boleh maju tapi perlukan 20-30 tahun lagi untuk matang,,tu x maju lagi…jgn la gado2…think the best for our nation…

• I can bet you those who are against a Malaysian F1 team don't even stay up and watch these races like I do. They probably watch English Premier League, support one of these teams, sponsor them by buying their jerseys and stickers. I support the F1 Malaysian team.

• old timers on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:57 am

fadzli@fadz aka najis' ball suckers (u admit, not me),

now i understood ur thinking, Petronas money is not people money huh?..hehe, no wonder gov can con us for billions in petronas money.. and i like ur statement below in particular:

"But if u watch carefully around u, theres alot of things G has done for Borneo."

Haha, it makes my day….

• Nakal on Sep 27, 2009 at 2:57 am

Most of people here , talking:

1) Without basis

2) Without automotive-business know how

3) Without automotive-engineering knowledge (basic should be enough)

4) Excited with rumors

5) Without 'adab sopan'

thats why you all keeps debating – hentam keromo!!

Boring…

• apih78 on Sep 27, 2009 at 3:05 am

nakal….then u must be a very boring person to make friend with,,

• drgn86 on Sep 27, 2009 at 3:08 am

1Malaysia F1 Team, just to make up the numbers and fool malaysians… Another project to boost the image of Malaysia… I am so very very proud and impressed! :-P

• Nakal on Sep 27, 2009 at 3:08 am

Haha… nice advice. But im not like that.

Btw, not to late to wish to all.. Selamat hari Raya. Maaf Zahir & Batin.

• jimbet on Sep 27, 2009 at 3:15 am

people like fadz only knows how to have fun

• apih78 on Sep 27, 2009 at 3:18 am

The Malaysian government will hold no equity in the 1Malaysia F1 Team project, local media has reported.

FORMULA 1 Lotus car from Autosport – 0

More Stories

* Latest F1 news

Instead, private investors will put in 110-165 million ringgit (£19.8-£29.8m) a year to the team that will race Lotus cars, while sponsorship is also expected to contribute a significant sum, according to team principal Tony Fernandes.

The newest F1 team will have start-up capital of 168m ringgit (£30.3m) while its baseline annual budget is estimated at 308m ringgit (£55.5m).

Fernandes described the team as a lifetime achievement for all Malaysians.

"Other countries have been bidding hard for this spot but Malaysia, through our concerted effort and strength in the true spirit of 1Malaysia, managed to pull it through," he said.

"This will be an excellent opportunity for Malaysian corporates to share this dream that has finally come through.

"Having been involved in Formula One, we are very excited at Malaysia owning a Formula One team and the amazing benefits it will bring the country."

The 1Malaysian F1 Team is a collaboration between the government and three entrepreneurs including Fernandes.

Reuters

• Elvis on Sep 27, 2009 at 3:19 am

Here in Sarawak, the road are quite good compare to Sabah. I have been to Sabah and wonder why the cost of living is SUPER HIGH, the price of property at unreasonable price..imagine you can buy three double storey house in Selangor compare to only one in Sabah. I really petty Sabah people…and some comments here are very true that the road in Sabah are terrible. The rest of us are lucky not living in Sabah. You guys should visit Sabah and see the third world road condition there..

• Just_Once on Sep 27, 2009 at 5:17 am

I will vote for "Go for it!"

I will vote for "Go like a man!"

I will vote for "Go for gamble!"

I will vote for "Go for cross the boundary!"

I will vote for "Go for F1!"

We are Malaysian, world must know us!!!

• Najibest on Sep 27, 2009 at 5:23 am

the story is getting more and more weird by the day…they have announced that the annual budget is around RM308 million per year and the private investors (tune group, naza etc) would provide up to RM100 million…

that leaves around RM200 million per year for sponsors to top up….and i wonder if the sponsors would actually let us have all the say while they're forking more than half of the money….

• anwarberahi on Sep 27, 2009 at 5:50 am

wahahaha …ramai orang b*doh yang nak cakap pasal F1 dalam nih. Sudahlah, tak payah nak tunjuk pandai. Pergi layan aku lagi baik. Jangan lupa sokong aku sampai mati. I want to be PM!!!

• VoiceOfPeople on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:00 am

To dear Fadz:

Thanks for really search for the info regarding what i`ve mention.

Btw, u still never get what I really mean. U r jz a person who can`t think deep and underneath. I wonder y u still able to ask ppl open up mind. Pls visit those places which i`ve mentioned then only comment bcos u dono how serious the situations there. The recent budget wil never suffice the development to chase the level in semenanjung. Wat i jz wan to mean is the money come from ppl then go for ppl. Under the good sake of 1 m`sia, every1 should be fairly treated especially for those who really need it. U jz don`t understand wat ppl actually mean it. I apologize if i`m over estimated ur comprehension power. Reading ur words makes me feeling u r so pity, i pray if 1 day u`ll still able to "open ur mind" / "open ur eyes"

Besides, talk about F1, i was the fan, but no longer after last 2 yrs. If m`sia is able to build a good local team which own engine, suspensions, designs. y not? I`m proud of it too. But the matter is jz joining F1 now is jz like skip learning walk before it can run!! Get bc to proton and make it reliable, reputable & bcome the real proud of malaysian is the first mission they should do!!

• Squawk on Sep 27, 2009 at 6:35 am

I've been a fan of F1 since Senna, Berger, Mansell and gang were racing. And I'll support any genuine effort to competitively race but not some shiok sendiri project.

With the information available, I'm not yet convinced. Will have to wait for more details.

• TheKHAI on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:06 am

Propagandic instant mee project… using our money. After Najib get thrown away, what will happen to this pathetic team? Getting dumped just like Islam Hadhari maybe?

Am I living in Malaysia or USSR?

• TheKHAI on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:11 am

By the way, the car's color scheme reminded me of kuih Lapis. Maybe they should rename it as Kuih Lapis F1 team, or Boria F1 team? The color scheme… quite a joke.

• TheKHAI on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:28 am

NNAAJJIIBB SSSSSSSUUUUUCCCCCCKKKKKKKSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• TheKHAI on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:33 am

FADZ SSSSUUUUCCCCCKKSSSSSS TTTTOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

ASSHOLE!

GIMME V-POWER BACK!!!!

RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN PENCAPAIAN DIUTAMAKAN?

TELL THAT SISSY BALDY AND HIS GENDUT SWINE OF A BINI TO GO RELEARN PROPER GRAMMAR AT PRIMARY SCHOOL FIRST! SERIOUSLY, WHICH ONE DO THEY WANT TO PRIORITISE 1ST?

• hey! TheKHAI ,old timers, apih78, Elvis, Jumbsuck, fadz, etc…can u guy give money to me tak…don malu2 its our money maa not your money only….your money mine also rite…

• henry on Sep 27, 2009 at 7:52 am

CTRM going to provide parts/body perhaps.. typical Malaysian, simply hentam.

• Fridz (Member) on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:24 am

Just for grab attention that Malaysia is Boleh in everything.

• fadzly on Sep 27, 2009 at 8:48 am

Bro 'voiceofppl'

As i said earlier, F1 and giving charity is not the same.They are totally different They have their own entity. They have their own agenda. They have been managed by 2 different leaders and different group. They move parallel.

Doesnt mean if we spend in F1, the gov lost his focus on rakyat.

Dont mislead what u have led. The topic u've given earlier is totally different. Then again, u were stating question which i already answered before. Cant u read?

If u cant satisfied for what i've stated above, just give a comment at PM blog. Hopefully he can reply u with a better answer.

p/s Dont u think that F1 Lotus 1Malaysia is really following the Motto of "rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan'? The driver one of them is Rakyat Malaysia, the team principal might be a malaysian, and the team will be mostly malaysian citizen!

and TheKHAI, u're more suckers than the one u accused. Stop being pathetic and a stupid useless citizen.

Cheers

• Annihilated on Sep 27, 2009 at 9:03 am

Lately, the game has changed. It's becoming less interesting.

But regardless of those unrelated politics mumbles and other matter bashes, I suggest you read the official source from formula1.com first, watch F1 from qualifying to chequered flag, understand the rules, regulations and the business.

Then, as an avid F1 follower, I say.. "Who wants to co-found the M'sian Chapter of Lotus F1 fans say AYE?" ;)

• singh on Sep 27, 2009 at 10:08 am

Lotus banana leaf restaurant will wanna be sponsor. They wana promote banana leaf rice as Malaysian food. Yummy yummy.Then Old Town as official drink. Promote white coffee… Lately there's debate bout local food and its originality. So its time we show the world what we Malaysian have. If Nescafe sponsor Mclaren, we got Old Town on 1MF1. Malaysia Boleh.

• rageaccel2 on Sep 27, 2009 at 10:59 am

katak said:

so why waste money like that why not do something for your people rather to promote money wasting ideas

you never know the cost of the F1 so you never learn at the end your team lost and turn out last

think and use your brain

———————————————

aiya, so farking stoopid this fella. u go to school or not bro?

• SMALLRACER on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:17 am

rageaccel2 said,

September 27, 2009 @ 2:59 am

katak said:

think and use your brain

———————————————

aiya, so farking stoopid this fella. u go to school or not bro?

————————-

that fella is living under coconut shell.. hahaha..

• apih78 on Sep 27, 2009 at 4:00 pm

lastly,,you all akan jasi saksi dan tgk sendiri ape akan jadi ngan team f1"kita" ni..kalo org cakap ade yang "buta hati"..sekarang kita x payah bising2,then tgk la ape yang jadi..ok..kita mesti jadi citizen yang pemurah sekali lagi..sebab banyak benda yang akan mengaburi mata kita if "buta hati",semua itu common in our country,,look back to the our country "unfinished agenda",halal kan jiwa dan masa kita untuk negara yang tercinta…if u want to see the truth,see it with your heart,not eye…dont fussy2,just wait n see…to ???,how much u need?give me ur account number and i'll deposit it later…kesian and sekian

• A lot of money have poured into Sabah but there are simply too many corruptions going around. Don't blame on the budgets but blame the people who have been trusted to implement it.

• VoiceOfPeople on Sep 27, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Dear Fadzly,

Again, ur words makes me feel u r so lost. If rakyat diutamakan, why don`t let rakyat hav better proton with better price&specs compare to oversea? Rakyat paying more for less than foreigner!! Don`t try tp tell me again this is a marketing strategy bcos all other automobile manufacturers never do so!!

For 50+yrs over, we understand our BN government very well but u r still lost. If we can focus on 1 thg better, i.e. accelerate the development progress from 5 yrs to 2 yrs why we still need to diversify in other activity which is not VITAL and also not so promising? Currently we are told not to even hav a local driver bcos Tony is goin to look for som1 better from Singapore. Time passes and the interest of the situation is dampening. End up it may jz bcome a 2 cronis company investing in F1 and it is not related to M`sia at all but jz the 1 M`sia F1 name!!

For me if we want a real development, the money is better to go for growing local talents i.e. provide more scholarships for good scorers from any ethnic. Even use the money to attract more m`sian talents come back to serve the country would be good. In the long run, we wil never afraid couldn`t find any good local engineers, drivers, managers etc later.

• boleh! on Sep 27, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Malaysia boleh~!!!!!!!!!!!

Angkasawan, boleh~!!

F1 Driver, Boleh~!!!

Rally Driver, Boleh~!!!

Drifter, boleh~!!!

Highway Kurang harga, TAK boleh~!!!

Kereta murah sikit, TAK boleh~!!!

• boleh! on Sep 28, 2009 at 12:03 am

Lotus can sell cheaper in malaysia ar? THe damn stupid lotus is selling more expensive than Mitsubishi Evo X wor……and my country own this lotus, can give discount?

• GeramHati on Sep 28, 2009 at 12:08 am

Crime Up

Universiti 200+

Bola sepak 150+

Public trsnport sucks!

Last time spend money to asstranut ? industry space kita dapat apa?

hantar roti canai? cakap sample result tak jadi , bazir duit!

use the money here lah , ong kao kao!

or use the money to develope more nice car lah proton! tunngu saja bila jual RM1 the lotus!

• GeramHati on Sep 28, 2009 at 12:10 am

bash bash bash , lu org semua kena cuci kepala otak ! tengok lah sendiri.

Bolehland 1Malaysia?! Hapus kan rasuah , sikap malas dan tidak apa apa baru lah cakap!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Sep 28, 2009 at 12:23 am

a waste of money

• anwarberahi on Sep 28, 2009 at 1:18 am

Oitttt apa bising-bising. Sokong aku jadi PM la. Moto aku ialah JEJAKA TAMPAN DIDAHULUKAN. Yang buruk-buruk rupa sila ketepi. Lu orang hanya jadik perusuh je.

• Squawk on Sep 28, 2009 at 2:24 am

There's still something about the arrangements I don't get. If Proton is just involved due to the licensing of the name "Lotus", how will that give it access to the tech transfer? Wouldn't Naza as team stakeholder have first right of ownership to the tech?

I would think that Naza will want to use whatever available tech/resources to incorporate into cars they can potentially co-develop with their current partners or by themselves rather than give it to Proton. Or they could even sell the info to PSA or Kia. It just won't make sense for Proton to get free tech with just the use of their brand name. Unless N will eventually own P, then I rest my case.

• linear_system on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:58 am

aiseh…always say this team use your money…but u always use your money to buy 4D number but never win…do u think its better than use it for F1 malaysian team? :D

• noname on Sep 28, 2009 at 5:12 am

Elvis,

US electing black people as the president? Is Obama muslim, no? So thats why. This is Islamic country.. Nothing to do with race. All race are equal..

• kamal on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:31 pm

sort of deja vu. when Malaysia wants to organise F1 race in late 90s, many against the idea. now, there are many nations offer themselves to host the event.

bahrain, china and singpore built new circuit, and last few days, canada and south korea added in the list…. i doubt they are into it if it is not viable….

• Najibest on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:33 pm

the new litespeed/lotus/proton whatever team would be using a standard engine from cosworth, standard gear box and transmission for at least 3 years due to the entry requirement put out by the FIA…therefore, aside from building chasis, we won't gain much for the 3 years using cosworth.

no we would not get engine tech from cosworth as this is not a tech sharing partnership like PETRONAS had with ferrari for the Sauber PETRONAS team before this (they went to the extent of forming Sauber PETRONAS engineering to build their own f1 engine) and the cosworth deal would be purely a customer engine supply..just like how red bull is having renault engine right now….renault engineers are attached with the red bull team to oversee anything engine related…

ok, after 3 years what's next? i don't think proton or even lotus (lotus never have their own engines FYI) can develop a 2.4 V8 unit that's fit for f1…hey proton doesn't even have engines bigger than the 1.6 campro…..meaning that they would need to get an engine from someone….staying under a low budget means they would need to get a discounted engine supply (with strings attached of course like williams having to accept nakajima to source toyota engines) or stay with cosworth….again i don't see us transferring any engines tech to proton or lotus…obviously to get a manufacturer to share engine tech with the team would require big spending like in the sauber petronas days…then again petronas management view RM1 billion as a relatively small amount compared to proton….

so yeah, besides their announcement on how the venture would be great for the nation for tech transfer etc….i seriously don't see how we can actually gain much from the venture except if we're willing to do much more being the title sponsor of a major team with tech transfer clause as a requirement..

the 2 products that PETRONAS gained from F1 would be the PETRONAS FP1 superbike (extremely limited edition) and the PETRONAS EO1 engines…then again, i haven't seen any of of the 2 benefit the Malaysian people by any means so far…..

• Perodua Hater on Sep 28, 2009 at 9:08 pm

boleh! said,

September 27, 2009 @ 4:03 pm

Lotus can sell cheaper in malaysia ar? THe damn stupid lotus is selling more expensive than Mitsubishi Evo X wor……and my country own this lotus, can give discount?

OI brother! do you know anything or not? everything want to be cheaper! like that you better use KAPCAI la! HAhaha! o go indon! better! everthing is Cheaper! I don't get you brother! you dont even know anything and you just compare things like that. you are just a joker man!

• I was a student from engineering faculty of UTM.

Believe me, their expertise SUXX. Even degree level research are crap.

now they are gonna work on F1??

OMG…..

• osh_kosh on Sep 29, 2009 at 12:20 am

@zain,

just wondering…who r u now? an engineer? thanks to UTM that give u the 'foundation'… or is it your degree have none what so ever value that u end up working as a 'tukang sapu'? or u had been 'kicked' by them halfway & can't complete your degree? why so angry then?

• Wonder how much money Proton gets from licensing the Lotus name ? So without involvement Proton is getting paid ! What a good deal !

• boleh!supporter on Sep 29, 2009 at 2:38 am

Boleh! I support you man! You are my man!

but when Proton selling in Msia more expensive than overseas, we are destinay to be doom. For the new NAP going to release soon, expect the car price to jump, since I dont think any GLCs knows how to compete in business globally, so need the Governemnt policies to limit the consumer's choice, and controll the price.

• boleh! on Sep 29, 2009 at 3:19 am

hey fren, me not gay.

• daniel on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:38 am

Our goverment simply do know know what is their clear objective!

What type off technology they hope to get from involving F1? don tell me improve enjin performance and bla bla bla….. this is not clearly define!

Is the knowledge get from this involvement can be commercialised? If yes, what is the time frame? is this the cheapest and fastest way to get this knowledge?

can the goverment confirm that this team can sustain at least 5years of more in order for their "technology" to be matured and can be commercialised? What happen if after 1 or 2 years then this project is abandoned? U will get notting with this got head no tail mindset!

Talk about proton, I am proton user, I use proton because it is economy (ONLY IN MALAYSIA). Majority of proton users in malaysia buy proton because proton is cheap compare with others (ONLY IN MALAYSIA). Proton is cheap not because they are good in controlling their cost but is forcing other car to sell at higher price!

The T brand supporters are convinced by their quality and reliability. For H brand supporters are convinced by thier styling and spec. Both of them have their strong points (still depent on individual) but for proton users, most of the buy because of cheap compare with others (ANY ONLY IN MALAYSIA).

If proton can buid a F1 car, but can not able a quality car, what is the purpose here? As a rakyat biasa, we need a economy and reliable car and not a F1 technology car! is this call RAKYAT DI UTAMAKAN?

Spend more money does not mean u get more from your investment! we must calculate ROI! Look at Singapore, Do they need to find a new piece of land to buid a circuit? With some new idea and miminum investment, u can c how nice the Singapore circuit! By the way, the singapore F1 circuits idea is also contribute by malaysian. Look at how they attract "top brain" to work for them!

As a rakyat, we want malaysia to suscess! we hope to achive so call wawasan 2020, but this is not only talk! we need to plan, we need to work hard!

• paxter on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:04 am

LOL petronas is gov funded? lol PETRONAS is the national fuckup banker… ANY other GLC or G dept need money go to petronas at one point petronas former chairman was also the boss of MAS cause of the mess up they did in their management… at one time petronas was the top 5 companies in the world. If they did not have to give so much money to donkeys wonder where petronas is now…. please la give some credit to that company….

Personally if petronas sponsors this team that is from pressure from the G not their own doing… they rather stay with sauber version 3.0

btw spore circuit is the most boring race around… also they are at a massive lost…

• tokmoh on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:19 am

Petronas where got top 5 in the world la. Go google Fortune Global 500, if I'm nt mistaken, this yr have been their best ranking, and it's at 80th. Among oil n gas companies, it's the 17th largest.

http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/global500/…

• proton user on Sep 29, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Daniel, if the G thought for the public to reduce cost of living for everyone, it wont happen until 20+ years, proton still produce car that the power windows failed so often, and becoming a laugh stock. Can u imagine supplying lousy quality power windows for 20+ years without improvement can survive?

Built a F1 car…it is a money spending project where goes back to the party, just another PKFZ case for sure.

• a_hope on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:15 pm

Sadly and worrying me more is the consequences, gov/petronas over deficit of this unessacessy event end up cutting patrol sponsor, petrol price up, food price up, everying also up. We rakyat r the one who suffer.

• Philip J. Fry on Sep 30, 2009 at 1:23 am

Is the team name really "Team Lotus", not "Lotus F1 Team"?
    http://www.formula1.com/news/headlines/2009/9/993…

• GeramHati on Sep 30, 2009 at 6:40 am

Daniel,

Good point,

Others,

sudah bangun atau masih tidur lagi?

• TheKHAI on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:17 am

???, I can give you money. REALLY can. But first you must give me your money, cause your money is my money, just like my money is yours. What do people call this? Its Perkongsian Pintar. Hehehehe

• TheKHAI on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:32 am

Dey Fadzly kichi! I can understand if you desperately intent on becoming that shiny-headed-baldy or the gendut-swine's sexslave (mentally and physically). Don't worry, your suckiness will remains with you cause youre are already heavily doctrined by them. Youre sure a bi. Hehehehe! By the way, wake up lah budus. open your eyes. Try to view things from different perspective. Don't just stay under their ketiak for eternity. Where are you living? KL? How about you come to Sabah / Sarawak for example and see what kind of development exist there. no? 2 negeri tu punya la besar, tp keadaannya? Even ketua menteri yg antik tu pun dah jadi kaya raya.

Actually, I dont quite know what to write here, cause I'm quite sleepy. Just writing to make you angry, and if better, cause you to have high blood pressure, and then KO. Anyway, just as I said,

YOU'RE SSSSSUUUUUCCCKKKSSSS, FFFFAAAAADDDDZZZZLLLLYYYYY.

Come on, get a hi blood pressure / heart attack already, will ya?

Blasted KATAK BAWAH TEMPURUNG. Double shit on a stick for ya!

Cheers!

• TheKHAI on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:46 am

FADZ THE SUCKER, why don't you open your eyes (if you need a spectacle ask me, I will 1Malaysialy give you my old one!) and see the others' critics in this post. Just don't become an odd-one-out, okay. Do you understand me, oddball? Do you got any ball?

Nah, you dont have any, right? Chicken.

• TheKHAI on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:52 am

To Old Timers, YOU'RE MY HERO!

Sadly, najis doesn't have eyes cause they are najis. That why they are unable to see from different perspectives. They're just the coneless, buttly ass-cream of their master.

So sad….

• GrigreeBonBew on Feb 28, 2010 at 3:24 am

All that lunacy is temporary. Her turn would come next. Dont be afraid for me. Why does that disturb you? Its your railroad thats building that new branch, isnt it? No principles have ever had any effect on society. I wouldnt think youd find them hard to deduce. Id like to tell you just one story.