Toyota Estima Hybrid now available from Naza

Toyota Estima Hybrid

There are currently only two car companies offering hybrid models officially here in Malaysia – Toyota and Honda. Despite the sensitive question of whether Malaysian technicians can maintain a complicated hybrid vehicle, the grey importers have started bringing them in without manufacturer support.

Naza is easily the biggest grey import player in Malaysia, thanks to them holding the largest chunk of Open APs in Malaysia. This 2008 model Toyota Estima Hybrid is currently going for RM 268,000 including a 1 year warranty and the one you see here in these photos has already been sold.

Toyota Estima Hybrid

This is the second generation Estima Hybrid featuring Toyota’s THS-II system. It’s based on a 2.4 litre gasoline engine mated to electric motors which reminds you of the Lexus HS250h and the Camry Hybrid but the implementation here is different – other than the usual front axle motor, there is a motor on the rear axle as well, effectively turning this into an all-wheel drive vehicle, hence the E-Four badge on the rear.

Much like the Camry Hybrid, the 2.4 litre engine is an Atkinson cycle variant, quite different from the one you can find in a normal Camry 2.4. The gasoline engine itself puts out 150 PS and 190Nm of torque. The front electric motor produces 105 PS and 270Nm of torque and goes through a 2.478 reduction gear. The rear motor is of a less powerful variant – 50 PS and 130Nm.

All systems can work together to produce a peak power of 190 PS. It’s not blistering as the vehicle is large. 0 to 100km/h takes 10.8 seconds. Under the 10-15 Japanese test cycle, the Estima Hybrid can achieve 20km per litre.

There is even an exhaust heat recovery system to recover thermal energy from the exhaust and use it to heat engine coolant. This helps reduce engine warm-up time, which enables the engine to shut off earlier when idling (for EV or auto start-stop functions).

Toyota Estima Hybrid

We got to drive the Estima Hybrid around abit, though you could hardly call it a test drive that could produce any kind of evaluation as it was only around the Naza Automall carpark next to the Federal highway. All I can say is I love those Alcantara combination seats that this particular model has!

Like the Prius, the Estima Hybrid has a zero-emissions EV mode so you can drive around your neighbourhood, in a jam, or in a parking lot solely on the motor and NiMH batteries with the engine turned off. The Estima Hybrid was not as quiet in EV mode as the Prius. This is because with such a large interior and the many air conditioning vents required to cool it down, you constantly hear the air conditioner working. It didn’t help that it was such a hot day – I could not touch my E30’s steering for a short period of time once I got into my car to leave the place.

Various new meter indicators attempt to explain to you what’s going on but it’s all in Japanese so I didn’t understand at first, but after driving around a little you can pretty much guess which one tells you the battery level and etc.

Look after the jump for a few photos I snapped of the Estima Hybrid.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=516]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gajen on Sep 28, 2009 at 11:49 am

awesome!

• mystvearn on Sep 28, 2009 at 1:07 pm

expansive and unhnecessary. you will never recoup your investment…

• Littlefire on Sep 28, 2009 at 2:03 pm

Yup, At my place there.. A whole half-cut (front & back) of a second-hand 07/08' new model Estima only cost around RM28k!

The boss even tell me at Japan, those second hand cars cost like scrap metals and are not valuable at all! But why after some AP importers bring it to Malaysia and they cost almost 10X the money…

You can ask those people which came back from Japan and they can tell you those secondhand cars in Japan are so cheap, even student working part-time can own a used sport car…

Anyway i tot AP is going to end by 2010?!? Are there still delaying it?!?

• Ariff on Sep 28, 2009 at 2:07 pm

Estima gonna have a 3rd gen by 2011,rite??

• azrai on Sep 28, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Is it hybrid like prius? Anyway, NAZA after sales is good.

• Naim Bujang on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:57 pm

No 6, JIn Pandan Jaya,
      Tmn Pandan Jaya,
      75250 Melaka

06-3344567

• SL Miaw on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Bullshit….Naza after sales is BAD. Do you own a Naza car first before you said he is good> I owned a Naza Ria and I sold it because the sale service is badddddddddddddddd. Damn bad…..!! all parts mark-up damn high. You buy the same parts from outside shop, also genuine parts and the price is nearly 40% difference….gosh…..

• grow up already! on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:03 pm

malaysian always taken for a ride but u know wat they dont seem to care$^^%&^(^(…..funny

• littleboy on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:06 pm

few months ago i already saw i unit in SARAWAK….black in color….very quite driving too….

• NAZA sucks on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:06 pm

Naza is the biggest robber.

• rDley on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:35 pm

price???

• Go to http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_estima_hybrid… and select Total Calculation and see the price. From Japan to Msia Port, total cost is USD44640. Assuming we convert at a rate of 1USD-RM3.47, total cost in RM154900.80. See the price Naza is selling RM268000. Compare and see how much difference we are paying in terms of those AP and other sickening taxes in this country.

This is another link mentioning our Government mulling to change their ride to Merc or BMW http://www.malaysiainsider.com/index.php/malaysia…. If proton is not that good, why still protect it? Why must the rakyats money be used just to ensure its survival? If the government want to buy Merc or BMW, then remove all the AP system and the sickening taxes. Open the market so that everyone is entitled to buy a good quality car at competitive market prices.

Protection policies are for those retards that cannot compete fairly with others thus resorting to underhand method for survival.

• bmpower on Sep 28, 2009 at 4:46 pm

it's old platform already.

that Estima was a 2005/2006 model, then facelifted it this year.

and now they build the hybrid version to expand it lifetime another 3 years?

what a bloodsucker Toyota.

• naza after sales? is there any sort of this shit? their services is damn suck, overpriced and underperform.

• kimi_ on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Many people prefer wish or alphard because most ESTIMA used as funeral

service even this second generation.

NOW the white ESTIMA has become symbol of funeral service…

• power on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:25 pm

NAza after sales is horrible

• Littlefire, i second that.

Seems like reckons cars are sold at a quarter million here? only in Malaysia.

• Saiyen on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Do they provide service for Hybrid? As they are not by Toyota service center, event that not all Toyota Service Center can service Hybrid !!

• KenLCK on Sep 28, 2009 at 6:48 pm

if prius is 180k.. this Estima is cheap in comparison…

for corporate "green" usage

• Luis Ng on Sep 28, 2009 at 7:05 pm

new estimate hybrid already in singapore. My friend bought it's and cost him only RM240K after convert from Sin dollar.

• Only in M'sia will ppl pay close to a quarter million or USD70,000 for a recon car.

• nice design n acceptable even model 2005/06. malaysian maa… biar papa asal bergaya…

• lampaberger on Sep 28, 2009 at 8:54 pm

do u buy RM200,000> to save fuel .

lol

• nabill on Sep 28, 2009 at 9:13 pm

good luck claiming any warenty from naza….sooo expensive….and really pointless

• kimi_ on Sep 28, 2009 at 9:23 pm

This is way too expensive…

NAZA reallty treat us like FOOL ….

• kimi_ on Sep 28, 2009 at 9:24 pm

who will buy this RM200K++ "FUNERAL CAR"

• that price… yet having cheap looking plastic covering whole interior…

• afkar on Sep 28, 2009 at 9:34 pm

is umw toyota unable to bring us this?

• kentank91 on Sep 28, 2009 at 9:56 pm

we must protect proton

• Naza selling Estima Hybrid for

¥4.78 mil (RM186,340.93) @ RM268,000 after all taxes (44% above list price at Japan)

UMW Toyota selling Lousy base model Prius

¥2.45mil (this is higher spec than Malaysia model)(RM95493) @ RM175K after all taxes (83.25% above list price in Japan)

Not to mention the Estima taxes bracket was higher than Prius.

So, is your call my fellow wise smart Malaysians whether you should or should not buy Prius?

• helmi on Sep 28, 2009 at 10:11 pm

My experience with Naza… unreliable, horrible, bad after sales service, once they have sold the car and get the money they dont care about you anymore, unprofessional salesman, lack of technical knowledge about the car they sell, only thing of profit and overprice. This is no joke. My advice better get another AP dealer. As long as Kia and Peugeot under Naza, better dont buy unless you will experience the same.

• SL Miaw on Mar 07, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Yes, i totally agreed with you. Naza, after sale service is damn FCUK BAD. I am from Sabah, Naza under Fook Loi…..damn lousy service after sale. I sold my Naza Ria due to poor service, car quality is also bad, after driving for nearly 4 years….all kinds of problem started surfacing, started changing….worst!!!!!

• MENG TAT on Sep 28, 2009 at 10:15 pm

Try living in the states n make 8k p.a n get a tax of 10perc.

Cmon la.live in reality.Semua mau condemn.petrol per liter in the uk is at least 1.4 pounds per liter.paa lagi mau.sume mau condemn.

work yr ass la kerja kuat.mau angan angan pakai kereta mahal tp kerja x mau kuat.

• chaos on Sep 28, 2009 at 11:36 pm

JQ said,

September 28, 2009 @ 8:41 am

"Go to http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_estima_hybrid… and select Total Calculation and see the price. From Japan to Msia Port, total cost is USD44640. Assuming we convert at a rate of 1USD-RM3.47, total cost in RM154900.80. See the price Naza is selling RM268000. Compare and see how much difference we are paying in terms of those AP and other sickening taxes in this country.

This is another link mentioning our Government mulling to change their ride to Merc or BMW http://www.malaysiainsider.com/index.php/malaysia…. If proton is not that good, why still protect it? Why must the rakyats money be used just to ensure its survival? If the government want to buy Merc or BMW, then remove all the AP system and the sickening taxes. Open the market so that everyone is entitled to buy a good quality car at competitive market prices.

Protection policies are for those retards that cannot compete fairly with others thus resorting to underhand method for survival."

I SECOND YOUR OPINION JQ. WE FOLLOW THIS FORUM BCOZ WE ALL LOVE CARS. WE ALL WISH FOR BETTER RIDES WITHOUT BURNING A BIG HOLE IN OUR POCKET. IT IS ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS THAT THE NATIONAL AUTOMOTIVE POLICY PROTECT PROTON WHEN EVEN PROTON ARENT HELPING THEMSELVES (UNTIL LATELY…HOPEFULLY THE RESURGENCE LAST AND IMPROVE FURTHER) WHEN EVEN THE GOVT AND THOSE IN OUR PARLIMENT THEMSELVES PREFER TO BUY USE NON NATIONAL CARS. WE KNOW FOR A FACT THAT GOVT ARE ENTITLED TO TAX FREE CARS…AND WE ALSO KNOW THAT SOME GOVT ARE USING THOSE CARS FOR PERSONAL USE. WE ARE NOT HOPING FOR A COMPLETE REMOVAL OF AP AND TAXES BUT PLEASE REDUCE IT SIGNIFICANTLY. IT WILL DEFINITELY IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF LIVING IN MALAYSIA. IT MAY ALSO CAUSE A REDUCTION OF HIGHWAY FATALITY BECAUSE OF BETTER AND SAFER RIDES. I WISH FOR AN IMPROVED NATIONAL AUTOMOTIVE POLICY LATER BUT I DOUBT IT WILL HAPPEN ANY TIME SOONER. I SORT OF LOST HOPE THIS GOVT.

• andrew on Sep 29, 2009 at 12:09 am

then where the maintenance will be done anyway??? dont think naza will do it for us lo… imported without manufacturer support doesn't sound nice at all…

• ayamxxx on Sep 29, 2009 at 12:29 am

what a pity for those who buy this car, because it is from japan, u can't get the radio frequency for our Bolehland. For Japan Recond, its frequency is from 78-90Mhz only. What a miss!

• US, S.Korea, Jpn encourage ppl to use more green environ. cars by giving subsidies to ppl. In Bolehland, this is not a reality yet. If we were to buy these environment-friendly cars, we wud end up spending more according to the estimation of figures of these cars prices seen by some of the comments.

Agreed with most of the comments which mentioned that Naza's after sales sux! Trully, it gives you the 'Driving Difference' experience. As mentioned by Helmi to get other AP dealer, alternative AP dealer would be Mofaz?

After reading the links from JQ, in a nutshell, PR proposed to use Camrys in Perak, they object, but BN/gov/judiciary themselves proposed to use Merc, they go with the decision.

• there's a device come into action where we called fm booster! haha

• albagmane on Sep 29, 2009 at 2:34 am

the windows are tinted… will the pulis catch this type of ride?

• boleh!supporter on Sep 29, 2009 at 2:42 am

Only way to change the current grey AP importer, and our childrens' future. Stop buying cars from any cronies. Period.

• no need 2 buy from badge-robbers/ company cepat kaye like NAZA…

anyway, national car-maker is also trying to make hybrid(but, then cancel the project) and is now looking 4 EV…

come on, do ur job faster…don't be a lag mesian!!

• iskett on Sep 29, 2009 at 3:23 am

Thanks JQ, excellent link for the Japanese cars!

• malaysia boleh!!!those got connection can earn more money

we only a slavery

• mycar on Sep 29, 2009 at 5:31 am

3.3km/L? wow!

• 268k for a recond car? no thanks, no warranty support in long term either. too risky.

• anonymous on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:49 am

people always say that the government's automotive policy is mostly aimed at protecting Proton or Perodua or whatever. but have we looked into the possibility maybe the government is doing this 'protectionist' automotive policy to safeguard the rich and powerful own sense of pride and maintaining their ego by not having us normal citizens the privilege of driving a better car than them who probably have influence higher up the government. as it is today, the many beemers, mercs, audis, lexus's even honda, volkswagen cars are priced so that we the bread and butter citizens are not able to afford one whereas the prices of similar makes in other developing nations are far more competitive. another interesting idea to the price of this Estima which could probably go to the person noted above.the rich and powerful..

• Remember RM268K is for RE-cond car!!!! Really a blood sucker! Sold 1 unit at least can tahan 1 month office expenses i think.

[quote]

MENG TAT said,

September 28, 2009 @ 2:15 pm

Cmon la.live in reality.Semua mau condemn.petrol per liter in the uk is at least 1.4 pounds per liter.paa lagi mau.sume mau condemn.

work yr ass la kerja kuat.mau angan angan pakai kereta mahal tp kerja x mau kuat. [/quote]

How much the english earn per month? Are they in RM / UK pound?

Please compare their public transport with ours. U will know where's their tax gone.

• PAS forever on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:23 am

bn suck..

• Tiadaid on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:57 am

JQ said,

September 28, 2009 @ 8:41 am

Go to http://www.batfa.com/new_car_toyota_estima_hybrid… and select Total Calculation and see the price. From Japan to Msia Port, total cost is USD44640. Assuming we convert at a rate of 1USD-RM3.47, total cost in RM154900.80. See the price Naza is selling RM268000. Compare and see how much difference we are paying in terms of those AP and other sickening taxes in this country.

———————————————-

Eh, how come delivery cost so damn cheap? Only 900 dollars = roughly RM 3000+. Is it correct? Anyways I'd like to know the breakdown of the extra RM 113K, see how much is the profit margin.

• keluangman on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:59 am

RM268k for used recond Jap spec hybrid MPV with ONLY 1 year after sales support? What if the hybrid battery/system kong after 1 year? Die lar like that….

• gaijin on Sep 29, 2009 at 8:32 am

work yr ass la kerja kuat.mau angan angan pakai kereta mahal tp kerja x mau kuat. [/quote]

How much the english earn per month? Are they in RM / UK pound?

Please compare their public transport with ours. U will know where’s their tax gone.

CAN'T BE DENIED ANYMORE

• How on earth you think regular Malaysian can achieve their dream? not many will dream for career excellence, not all aim to become tycoon one day, not all wish to be super rich….they are a lot that prefer to have simple life, have a terrace house and drive a decent car that they wish and chane it every 3-4 years. but on this land that exist before you, one got to be a businessman, owner of big time earning company or even as a pirated copy manufacturer. otherwise there will be not shortcut for a regular guys on street to drive something that they wish. I have Japanese friends that work as clarical staff in Japan and they can afford to have a dream car as toy. But of course, it's never need for Japanese working class to have their own transport with their wide coverage and complete public transports networks.

2020 just another 10 years away, are we there yet? or it is still a far far away land?

• I been living in uk for 4 years and i found that u can get second hand honda civic 2000 for only 1000 pounds about RM6k, here in malaysia the car sell for about RM40k.

The change the petrol price every day according to market trade, and normal average cleaner can have decent house nice car, and money to travel overseas. Even those who does not work get benefit hence government pay them money.

• arian on Sep 29, 2009 at 5:53 pm

go buy proton juara la if wan a funeral car..

go buy viva la if wan buy a fuel saved car..

go buy savvy la if wan more safety (i see in their advertisement..can tahan very heavy bang one)..

& go buy this shit la if u got lot of cash & wanna act like a Fool~

Really sad la…& i so pity our-self malaysian …haiz…

tats y lot of road user die in accident every year….. coz lot of this kind of suck cars!!!

• [quote]2020 just another 10 years away, are we there yet? or it is still a far far away land?[/quote]

YES! IF and only IF …we have a very OPEN MINDED leader AND happen many years ago.

• Radzian on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Nice write-up. My thought about the not too silent engine.

It is good that the hybrid is not too silent, safety wise it may help pedestrian or cyclist to be aware about a vehicle coming near them and take pre-cautionary measure.

Actually, issue of silent vehicle is being discussed in Japan and the proposal is not to make all hybrid vehicle to be not too silent. Maybe because Japan has many cyclist and based on my experience, ,most accidents occurs at traffic light junction, involving a cyclist and a vehicle.

• Biggbro on Sep 30, 2009 at 9:26 pm

This Estima design getting a bit tired..never like it before also.Plus I will not splash that much RM for a RECOND!!regardless of the tech,that much money is obscene to spend on on this car.

• akupunya on Oct 01, 2009 at 12:31 am

kan best kalau proton exora design ini macam..adoiiii..

• stupid overpriced coffin car!

• jonnuy on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:29 am

x puas hati jangan duduk malaysialah .pg balik negeri asal…

• leechichau on Oct 21, 2009 at 9:38 pm

now go stock or not!??

• jerry goh on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:40 am

toyota estima hybrid got places to repair in sarawak ?

• Londeh on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:10 am

stupid overpriced….. naza make to much money…….

• wish we can change the auto and AP policy after next GE..Be End..

• jengo on Feb 24, 2011 at 6:03 pm

hiya…recond cannot buy, rebadge cannot buy, proton & perodua also cannot buy…what left le. sendiri bikin… tidak pandai. hiya…itu sendiri bikin pandai…saiya cakap itu bikin keleta ma

• zack9319 on Mar 05, 2011 at 12:23 am

wonder what is –TOYOTA Malaysia doing??????????????
    what the Fuck is NAZA to do with Estima????????????????

Toyota should locally assemble or bring in new estima in from thailand, just like what they have done wt wish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How much longer do we need to wait, i hate recond car?????????????? all the dirty AP holder should go to hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• cik man on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:10 pm

wait n see..how far Naza will go…??