Want a job with the Lotus F1 Team?

Litespeed F3 Team

The Lotus F1 Team put out a press ad in the sports section of The Star yesterday listing various positions to be filled in the team. The list is quite extensive and all you have to do is email your CV and cover letter to [email protected].

A quick glimpse at lotusf1team.com shows it doesn’t really have much content yet. The domain lists ex-Lotus employee and Litespeed co-founder Nino Singh Judge as the admin and technical contact.

• Aerodynamics – Project Leader Aerodynamics, Junior Aerodynamicist, Head of CFD, CFD Engineer.
  • Composites Design – Head of Composite Design, Senior / Junior Composite Designer, Composite Engineer.
  • Composite – Head of Composite Layup Shop, Senior / Junior Layup Technician, Head of Composite Trim Shop, Senior / Junior Trim Shop Technician
  • Electronics – Head of Electronics, Senior / Junior Electronics Engineer, Senior Control Engineer, Control Software Engineer
  • Factory – Factory Manager, Senior / Junior Maintenance
  • Gearbox Design – Head of Gearbox Design, Senior / Junior Gearbox Design
  • Gearbox Assembly – Head of Gearbox Shop, Race Gearbox Technician
  • Hydraulics – Head of Hydraulics Shop, Race Hydraulics Technician, Test Hydraulics Technician
  • Mechanical Production – Head of Mechanical Production, Senior / Junior Machinist, Fabricator
  • Mechanical Design – Head of Mechanical Design, Senior Mechanical Design Engineer, Senior Mechanical Designer
  • Pattern Shop – Head of Pattern Shop, Senior / Junior Pattern Maker
  • Production, Production Control and Purchasing – Head of Production, Senior Production Engineer, Mechanical Buyer, Composite Buyer, General Buyer, Aerodynamics Buyer
  • Quality Control & Inspection – Head of Inspection, Senior / Junior Inspection Technician
  • Design Office – Drawing Office Manager
  • R&D – Head of R&D, Senior R&D Engineer, Senior R&D Technician
  • Race Engineering – Test Engineer, Race Data Engineer, Test Data Engineer, Aero Support Engineer
  • Race & Test – Logistic Manager, Race & Test Travel Secretary, Clothing & Team Gear
  • Race Team – Race Chief Mechanic, Race Parts Mechanic
  • Stress Analysis – Senior / Junior FEA Engineer
  • Sub Assembly – Head of Sub Assembly, Sub Assembly Technician
  • Test Team – Test Chief Mechanic, Test Part Mechanic, Test Team Truckie, Test Team Mechanic
  • Vehicle Science – Head of Vehicle Dynamics, Vehicle Dynamics Engineer, Senior / Junior Software Engineer
  • Marketing & PR – Head of Marketing, Marketing Manager, Tri-lingual Website Designers, Graphic Designers, Executive Assistant, Business Development Manager, Sponsorship Manager, Sponsor Account Manager, Head of PR / Tri-Lingual PR Officer, Press Officer, Hospitality Coordinator
  • Finance – Financial Controller, Finance Manager, Finance Executive
  • Legal – Head of Legal, Legal Manager, Legal Executive
  • HR – Head of HR, HR Manager, HR Executive
  • IT – Head of Information Technology, CAD Manager, Senior IT Engineer, Race IT Engineer, Test IT Engineer, IT Technician

It’s not really clear at the moment whether all jobs are available immediately. I have a feeling alot of the positions would probably already be filled by Litespeed F3 engineers. The Aerodynamics and Gearbox department will probably have to deal with FondTech and Xtrac respectively as when the team was announced, they were mentioned as suppliers to the team. Cosworth will be supplying the engine. I think what Malaysian can immediately look out for are the Marketing & PR, Finance, HR and Legal departments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Got vacancy for the driver ?

Can apply for that post?

• If not real life crash test dummy also can.

I am qualify for that.

• mystvearn on Sep 29, 2009 at 1:55 pm

I wanna be that lollipop guy.:D

• what does litespeed do ? never heard oso

• littleboy on Sep 29, 2009 at 3:33 pm

don be too ambicious!!!wasting rakyat $ with some unprofitable event!

• how much the salary going to be? Benefits?

• Shaif on Sep 29, 2009 at 4:01 pm

Good to see some Malaysian in the F1n and the grads from UTM and UTP should fill in, perhaps the experience one trained by Sauber in Hinwill, Swiss should apply.

• katak on Sep 29, 2009 at 4:24 pm

this job is for show only later they will get mat salleh to work and will pay USD. Only 10 % will fill in by local the rest is EXpat lah ok.

• Wish I can be selected into the team….

• What is the compensation for the employee if the team have to withdraw within the race season? hehe

• hopefully we may get something out of this..think positive

• cool girl on Sep 29, 2009 at 5:09 pm

i wanna be their groupies!!!

• initial R on Sep 29, 2009 at 5:22 pm

To much -tive comment yet already 600k++ application have been recived after job vacancy open for apply. Sport is sport, don't mix with politic. If u all said wasting rakyat monye, think again about the student go study overseas with G loan but never come back to malaysia & pay the debts also not to mention the local x student not paid PTPTL. That i call 1 of wasting. Road demonstration also wasting G money. Repair the road after bad crash wasting the money. Steal Water & electricity also waste G money. Those are thing that G have to spend for unnessesary thing for eternity. Twin tower have said wasting money but how many ppl get job in there not to mention the serounding place also bloom (Bangla & indon keje kat sana tak boleh kira sebab ramai rakyat malaysia pemalas & memilih kerja walau SPM tak pas tapi nak kerja jadi Manager, tu pun bleh kata membazir gak).

• well.. why?..

• farghmee on Sep 29, 2009 at 5:47 pm

huhu..most of the advertised posts are heavily auto-related.

hopefully some1 with passion&exposure in these fields can give their valuable input to this team.

• i dont wanna be the loolipop guy. I wanna the fuel man. support man from behind also can.

• lchan on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Can confirm the car will never come close to being competitive with other constructors.

• Well, car looooks way better than the rainbow paint job. by the way, are they looking for Waterboy?

• koozold on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:14 pm

no requirement needed??everyone can apply???

• henry on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:30 pm

if they need male cheerleader, i'm available..hahaha.

btw, you're totally right (initial R).. those went abroad for studies with tax money but never come back are real culprits. plus those with demo.

• Mostly are highly qualified, highly specialized job. The jobs are not really normal mechanics could do.

Does the govt really so naive and thinks they can source ppl thru job adverts so easily?

I think the advert just a "show" only.

• rDley on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:34 pm

bro initial R.. not PTPTL.. (itu nama kolej..) PTPTN… hehehehehe

• henry said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:30 am

if they need male cheerleader, i’m available..hahaha.

btw, you’re totally right (initial R).. those went abroad for studies with tax money but never come back are real culprits. plus those with demo.

——————————————————————-

What is worst, is that those ppl who taken study loan are now profesionals. They oso refuse to pay. kononnya change address. (yah, if your restaurant moved, are you gonna be starved?) Blardy hell these ppl. Waste of money. Is this what educated ppl would do? Belajar banyak-banyak, otak macam l*mbu.

• rDley on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Ichan…. this car is not proton or perodua.. this Lotus.. (which was a winner before….).. so, do you think they (people make 1MF1T..) stupid??? BTW, they have money… as mentioned, all money come from personal investment….

cheersss!!!!

**why there are always -ve comments when its good thing???

• Ealanor on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:39 pm

HAI YA just formality only, those jobs are all spoken for already.

• Tiadaid on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:40 pm

zain said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:38 am

What is worst, is that those ppl who taken study loan are now profesionals. They oso refuse to pay. kononnya change address. (yah, if your restaurant moved, are you gonna be starved?) Blardy hell these ppl. Waste of money. Is this what educated ppl would do? Belajar banyak-banyak, otak macam l*mbu.

——————————————-

And I'm willing to bet, most of them are the ones complaining about expensive cars and the like…

• Tiadaid on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:44 pm

initial R said,

September 29, 2009 @ 9:22 am

To much -tive comment yet already 600k++ application have been recived after job vacancy open for apply.

—————————————

600K? Aiyoo…was thinking of applying a position in Mkting, but as fresh graduate the chances of getting a job are slim..nevermindlah, just go apply.

• nighttrain on Sep 29, 2009 at 6:57 pm

I want that Publicist position. Really gonna have some fun explaining why our driver stopped at crash site in the middle of the track to take down nombor ekor… Top ten reasons Team Lotus cannot perform like Brawn GP. Anyone? We need some answers on standby already. As the new Publicist, we need your help here. Anyway, selamat Hari Raya to all. Terkasar bahasa minta maaf ye. I just like to instigate debates.

Offtopic: To those who have yet to settle their study loans but already making enough to go clubbing and purchase Civics, please do so. We need the money to plan new seemingly 'white elephants' that sometimes turn out the opposite.

• Tiadaid on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:03 pm

nighttrain said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:57 am

Offtopic: To those who have yet to settle their study loans but already making enough to go clubbing and purchase Civics, please do so. We need the money to plan new seemingly ‘white elephants’ that sometimes turn out the opposite.

———————————————-

How about letting students who apply for PTPTN who managed to graduate 1st class turn their loans into scholarships. You can't do that now, but before this it's possible.

• xavier lert on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm

hey nightrain terase ni terase….. :p

• scottloeb on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Damn! Jason mailbox is full and I cannot send it! The mail bounce like hell. Try again later (can ask for pay in GBP kah? Whatever it is stupid la sapa tak mau. This is the pinnacle of auto industry, kalah menang belum tau lagi, but the experience is precious!)

• oricon666 on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:11 pm

@ mystvearn

hahaha…. usually the "lollipop guy" is the Chief Engineer or Project Leader or someone high up, who multitasking at the race… (some engineer even become the race truck driver)

Need high qualification to hold that lollipop though…..

Good luck trying man..!!

• Edw7n on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Mailed the resume to the give address but in bounced with below reply

———————————————————————————

The message you sent to tuneservice.com/jason was rejected because it would exceed the quota for the mailbox.

• scottloeb on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Alo bro nighttrain,

The PTPTN money is not for white elephant. Its for your future children lah bijak! The grant given by gomen is for PTPTN to invest and pusing the duit, much like your Public Mutual but with gomen backing and tax exemption. I got children, the Etiqa return is minimal, MAAKL hari ni naik esok hilang, Prudential nak duit banyak tetiap bulan so SSPN quite reasonable. I hate to say this but kalau thinking macam ni nothing good will ever materialise here in Malaysia. Kalau gomen buat taik screw them lah, but give credit where its due bro. Tadak tabung haji sampai mati org tak pergi haji, mak bapak asyik simpan duit bawah bantal, tadak return and kena kebas ngan anak2 nak buat bayar down payment kereta, agent maid dan beli rumah. Kalau tak pon Pak man telo, cepat kaya or swiss cash kebas.

• arch808 on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:17 pm

as usual, our society are full of pessimistics. The optimistic ones are rare these days.

BTW, the number of applicants so far are 6,000 nos only and not 600k nos. but the number may go up once the advertisement reaches Spore & Jakarta

• common sensor on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

Suitable for professional racing fanatics, but all these are short one-year term job; i don't think the team will last for long. Biasale orang Malaysia "hangat-hangat tahi ayam …"

• Tiadaid on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:35 pm

common sensor said,

September 29, 2009 @ 11:28 am

Suitable for professional racing fanatics, but all these are short one-year term job; i don’t think the team will last for long. Biasale orang Malaysia “hangat-hangat tahi ayam …”

——————————–

If it doesn't last long, then you can jump to other motorsport teams, probably even stay in F1 with other teams. Look at the bright side.

• ahmad norman on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:37 pm

tak nak jadi lolipop man lah nanti driver langgar baru tau hahahaha

• i doubt there will be more than 10% is malaysian, majority will be EXPAT.

• initial R on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:48 pm

rDley said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:34 am

———————————————

Hehehe…. sorry, Wrong typo….

• osh_kosh on Sep 29, 2009 at 7:52 pm

mystvearn said,

September 29, 2009 @ 5:55 am

I wanna be that lollipop guy.:D

———————

the lollipop guy is no lame ass know nothing guy u know…he's the leader there & that's not his 'real' job in the team… he's a very qualified person & rank higher than what most of u guys think… :P

• the real life test dummy & male cheerleader comments are very funny… cheers guys! :))

• lizanrazu on Sep 29, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Paul,

Any idea how Litespeed can cooperate with our malaysian company? I thought at first the team comprise of all Malaysian only.

I didn't seem any benefit to our motor industry. Neither to Proton nor Naza. The body supply by CTRM, the engine supply by cosworth, the team just use prestigous lotus name as their brand. Such a shame.

Thanx.

• nighttrain on Sep 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm

scottloeb,

I'm with you, homey. LOL u musta got up on the wrong side of bed today. PTPTN is a good thing. Dem folks not paying up are the ones turning it into a white elephant. Well not yet. End of offtopic.

Anyway, I'll gladly accept the position of 'that-guy-in-the-corporate-box-smoking-cigar'.

xavier lert, that wasn't too hot I hope, cukup rasa je ahaks.

• osh_kosh on Sep 29, 2009 at 8:17 pm

same with some guys here, i also think this team wouldn't last longer than a couple of season… why should i quit my job & apply for something that has high chances to 'gulong tikar'? not to look down on them but reality is they'll be at the end of the grid along with those new teams next year… then, when Tony Fernandes decide to pull the plug & pack, what should i do with 1 year plus experience? apply for job in other team? I don't think my resume is that great with very min experience & shitty team… but as other said, can also apply for other class of race car racing… i'm in doubt, hmmm….

• Ambil je designer dari lotus engineering malaysia 100% local ke diorg tak tau kewujudan LEM kat bukit jalil tu.

• osh_kosh on Sep 29, 2009 at 8:40 pm

no.. diorang tahu… IMO, all this is like 'Program Mencari Angkasawan Pertama Malaysia' back then… all people can apply, educated or not, doesn't matter about their background… do u honestly believe some 40 y.o fisherman have the 'real' chance to be our 1st 'Bolehnout'? childish…

• keyboard rosak on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:19 pm

pick me..pick me..

i dont think malaysian people will fill up the technical positions..

tell me, which organization in malaysia is doing the technical things such as aerodynamics, gearbox design, composites design n etc?..

Proton? Maybe some of it..

Perodua? Naza? i dont think so..only know how to copy and paste hehe

• Ferruccio on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Doesn't anyone find it a little disconcerting that we're now almost into October and they haven't got the R&D team in place yet? Seems like the most ill prepared new team compared to USF1, Campos and Manor.

Perhaps the recruitment drive is in preparation for their second season where the plan to have proper technical facilities in place at Sepang, or at least after the season starts to integrate in new personnel to help develop the car during the seasson.

Otherwise it looks way too late for the team to gel together in time for testing in Feb and start of season.

In addition to R&D personnel normally the pit crew mechanics need to have been formed and give some input while the car is being designed and built. It looks as though they're building the car (contract out) and then expect everyone to familiarize with it after it is built.

A new pit crew would need time to learn to work together and bond. There isn't much time at all. I'm beginning to think that this team looks like the worst among the other 3 newcomer teams. Everything is resting on Gascoyne who is the only technical person in the team who knows the game. Crazy.

Then again Tony Fernandes is a crazy man and we all love him for it! I hope this is not going to make Colin Chapman turn in his grave. This is not how he ran his F1 team.

• AskarWataniah on Sep 29, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Aisey kerja guard pun tak dak kosong ka ..susah la macam nie

• aiya guys!!!! come on!!! always take the good side la…don't always blame others if u dont have the motivation to change….our dearest PM is ambitious…like me oso…

it's time to take govt money what!!! so..just apply all the vacancies…this will profit you in the future…you can buy big house…big car…but somehow u have tp pay back the govt lorr….

• 1Malaysia on Sep 29, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Only 6 mths to go for F1 2010, how can 1M'siaF1 can challger another team.

Sponsor form Petronas, that means the money come form governement because Petronas is GLC.

• Malaysians in A1 team can apply, they have expeience. A1 team now can look for new blood or apprentise… ha I see a chain reaction.

• 1Malaysia on Sep 29, 2009 at 10:25 pm

A1GP is totally diffrent with F1. Even Alex get some point in A1 but totally nothing when he become 1st M'sian F1 driver for Minardi Team

• 1Malaysia no 1 Fan on Sep 29, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Probably..most proton engineers and designer will apply the position.. BIG MONEY mah!!

Paul… how about u? Marketing & PR is the best for u to promote the 1Malaysia F1 team =) Sure they hire u lorr…

• 1Malaysia on Sep 29, 2009 at 10:39 pm

If all proton engineer & designer joint 1M'siaF1. How Proton can improve their car?

• amarjie on Sep 29, 2009 at 10:49 pm

To those who really a f^$ed up mind of being too negative minded…

Please la weii…

At least, for once, try la to be optimistic sikit…

Belum apa2 dah half season race la, can't do this la, can't do that la…

• 1Malaysia on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Toyota use more than 1 year before join the race & 1MF1T just use less than 6 mths, how can no worry about this burnig money business & sponsor from Petronas means money come from people.

• nizamjhr on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:17 pm

come on guys… don't come to conclusion to early… like amarjie said..

"try to be optimistic" … blum apa lg dah hentam 1MF1T…

BTW… who said Petronas money come from the people.. as i know it from oil and gas… I never paid any tax to Petronas…

• a_hope on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:24 pm

do they need ppl to cuci their F1 car? I want to job. :)

• nizamjhr (Member) on Sep 29, 2009 at 11:51 pm

Come on guys… to many -ve comment… like amarjie said "try la to be optimistic sikit"… this is the time to show the world what "Malaysia Boleh" means… belum apa lg dah hentam 1MF1T…

Let's wait when the team unveil the car in Feb and do the testing… let see their lap time… is it competitive enough to challenge the big teams…

BTW… who said Petronas money come from the people… what I know is that Petronas revenue come from oil and gas… i never paid any tax to them.. only to the gov…

• ala…u dont worry about it la…if u have the credibility to join the team…go head…dont complaint2 only maa

• hmm how long they will respond ya? i already sent my applications

• osh_kosh on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:04 am

1Malaysia said,

September 29, 2009 @ 2:39 pm

If all proton engineer & designer joint 1M’siaF1. How Proton can improve their car?

————–

hahahahhaha… (i don't know why i laugh.. really)

• xavier lert on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:20 am

1Malaysia said,

September 29, 2009 @ 3:03 pm

Toyota use more than 1 year before join the race & 1MF1T just use less than 6 mths, how can no worry about this burnig money business & sponsor from Petronas means money come from people.

——————————————————————————————

theres always "recond" machine in the market……

• 1Malaysia on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:30 am

Why not learn from Hyundai to use the money to improve the car quality engine performance to increase oversea market share.

• hakunamatata on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:52 am

I'm glad to see that malaysia is into F1 and it is very pathetic to hear when people keep saying that "they" use our money to organise a F1 team to race.. but think of the bright way.. at least we can still see where our hard earn money has use at(MOTORSPORT) and they are racing with Malaysia flag, company and malaysian. It is way better than spending and corrupting our money which we dun even know where they spent at..

Beside, it can boost our economy and especially the engineering field by giving young local grads engineer a great chance to show their talent..

If we won, people will say malaysia has very professional and talented engineer.

If we lost, peple will still say malaysia has capable engineers do do their job.

Trust me, the image of malaysian engineer is not that good in overseas. Perhaps, this can be change.

• Tiadaid on Sep 30, 2009 at 1:08 am

1Malaysia said,

September 29, 2009 @ 2:25 pm

A1GP is totally diffrent with F1. Even Alex get some point in A1 but totally nothing when he become 1st M’sian F1 driver for Minardi Team

————————————————

For Minardi, scoring points is like a win. When Alex was driving, the managed to score a fluke point in Australia when less then 10 cars finished!

• if proton wants to learn, they have learned that long time oredi. But they didn't.

if proton collaborate/join venture…perhaps their cars sold can be labelled like

"Made by F1 company", just like the Maclaren F1.

Fuh! Sure selling like hot cakes(except the cake taste yuckky)

• nighttrain on Sep 30, 2009 at 1:59 am

haha.. recond F1 car. AP by NAZA. So, recond ferrari ke mercedes. Semestinya Cosworth recond. Go lollipop man!

• Ferruccio on Sep 30, 2009 at 3:03 am

1Malaysia said,

—————————————————————-

Toyota used Le Mans racing to prepare for F1 and they were very good before they pushed into F1. They built the team and infrastructure first via Le Mans. They made sure they were good at that first before going into F1.

They has serious money and they felt that the best way was to base the team in Europe, not Japan.

Our Lotus F1 team are jumping straight into it from NOTHING. We want to base the team at Sepang, while the F1 industry infrastructure is clearly in the UK. Whatever they are smoking, I want some of it too :)

Talking about budgets. The money they announced in the perspective of Malaysians is a lot of money yet in F1 industry perspective, it is not enough! The reason for the disparity is because Malaysia is not ready for F1.

Makes you wonder don't you think?

• phoebe on Sep 30, 2009 at 3:46 am

filled in by local grads eg. UTM, UTP?!?

come on, local grads are not up to standard nowadays. there's no way they can compete with the foreigners when all they do is to protest. Even their lecturers plagiarise to obtain PhD. The public university medical grads are not up to standard as well…they can't converse in proper english for crying out loud.

if at all the government wants this to be a success, please spare the local grads…by involving them, u're gonna put more shame to the country.

p/s: i'm as well a public uni grad & i still have long way more to catch up with others. my alma mater did not prepare me well for the real world

• Adam Radin on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:10 am

Can I be the director?

Since malaysian people don't want the gov to spend the rakyat money for it, then let me be the one who invest my own money and hold the biggest share please…

Some people don't see the opportunity, but some people do.

• boleh! on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:19 am

To much -tive comment yet already 600k++ application have been recived after job vacancy open for apply. Sport is sport, don’t mix with politic. If u all said wasting rakyat monye, think again about the student go study overseas with G loan but never come back to malaysia & pay the debts also not to

————————————————————

600k++ application?? are we hiring MPSJ pakcik cleaner? when we building twin tower, we din get that much application for builder also…..

• i think most comment here from kid 10yrs to below 25 that y many comment here so childish, negative n unreasonable….u know la kid nowadays full of crap comment like pro but not do much research n reading

• boleh! on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:30 am

I’m glad to see that malaysia is into F1 and it is very pathetic to hear when people keep saying that “they” use our money to organise a F1 team to race..

If we won, people will say malaysia has very professional and talented engineer.

If we lost, peple will still say malaysia has capable engineers do do their job.

Trust me, the image of malaysian engineer is not that good in overseas. Perhaps, this can be change.

——————————————–

the flag means nothing in the real world, what do you think? world war 2?

malaysian engineer is good enough, thats why so many electronics factories in msia.

SO you telling me ITALY have great engineers because Ferrari wins? there are US,France,UK,German,Japan, but, no ,not italy,spain.

Hell, India has Jaguar now, so suddenly india is a great country~!!! they are making the cheapest car in the world for the sake of their ppl, thats a good country. Not like P1/P2 that is ripping us off.

One F1 Team involve how many Engineer? 20? 40? 100? after they left the F1 team, they will work in proton factory and make Proton Enzo? Or Proton GTI?

Even toyota cannot justify the ROI of this sport.

DO you see US team? CHina team? Australia team? Canada team? so, they are poor? or they are already famous enough? If you wanna be famous, you go through tourism. You go through the mouth of the citizen ( but, every sane and rich citizen are leaving this country). Go around and ask those who can speak in english, they can tell you how bad /suck this country or how inefficient, corrupt, how the police cannot help, how the housing estate need to hire guard.

This is how you improve image of a country. The damn F1 team is nothing. NOTHING. MALAYSIA BOLEH~~~!!!!!

• phoebe said,

September 29, 2009 @ 7:46 pm

come on, local grads are not up to standard nowadays. there’s no way they can compete with the foreigners when all they do is to protest. Even their lecturers plagiarise to obtain PhD. The public university medical grads are not up to standard as well…they can’t converse in proper english for crying out loud.

if at all the government wants this to be a success, please spare the local grads…by involving them, u’re gonna put more shame to the country.

p/s: i’m as well a public uni grad & i still have long way more to catch up with others. my alma mater did not prepare me well for the real world

—————————————————————-

that might be you..so dont make like many malysian grad as bad as you are ok…im public uni grad..but im strife to be successful though me result that gud not like u.complaining all time that y u sxxk..u just make me angry girl

ps : were will u get xperience if u hav that think

• Salamander on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:51 am

1Malaysia said,

——————————————————————

Care to elaborate that Petronas Money means come from people?

• second care to eloborate petronas money come from people

• Tarmiziali on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:56 am

I am an avid fan of F1 and been following the sports since the days of Aryton Senna and Alain Prost. I am familiar with some of the histories of the successful F1 teams such as Ferrari, Mclaren, Williams and also Lotus. Before anyone accuse me being negative or unpatriotic, I suggest use wikipedia on those teams and find out what it takes for them to be successful. Hence the expression Rome was not built in a day. And if anyone here reads Malcolm Gladwell's book "Outliers", there is a thing call the 10000 hours rule whereby 10000 hours is the minimum requirement for a person to become an expert to which the hours of what he/she spent doing.

So back to F1. Dont get me wrong I would love to see more Malaysian in F1 much more our own team. But if you gone through the histories of F1, the successful are the ones that can match passion with ingenuity together with brilliant organization skill. Just to name a few; Ron Dennis, Frank Williams, Ross Brawn, Flavio Briatore. Also classic names like Colin Chapman, Bruce Mclaren and Alfred Neubauer. Read their profile and then judge our chances.

Of course we may be inspired by Brawn GP. But this year's rule undergoes heavy alteration that made the cars ugly. If the rules were maintain like 2008, would you see Brawn GP dominating? Also if the economic crisis havent occur and Honda is still in F1, would Brawn GP even exist and be able to use Mercedes engine? Also Ross Brawn was the technical director in Benetton and Ferrari when they were winning.

Experience shows that country-centric teams is much harder to succeed. Take for example prost team. You dont see Force India wants everything to be in India. Luca Montezemolo change Scuderia ferrari from an Italian team to a multinational operation and it works. Just like football you need to get the best players playing the game.

Why do I see this is going to fail? We dont have the best engines. It has been a long time since any team wins with Cosworth. If we have gone Mercedes(wishful thinking), Ferrari or even Renault we might have a tiny chance. We dont have an experience team. Lotus is in name only. If the actual Lotus team is entering it then it would be better. And to top if off, this advert in Lotus F1 team?? Some of the team are already start developing prototypes and we havent set up a team yet? and we want to have Malaysian at the helm when our talent pool is significantly tiny?This is a multibillion USD sport. If we gonna do it lets do it right. Mike Gascoyne? Has anyone read his profile? Does it inspire confidence? He has many clashes with several teams he's been in. I would prefer Adrian Newey or even Peter Sauber. And to have an RnD facilities based in Sepang? As someone pointed out that most of the resources are in UK and Europe which is why Honda F1 and Toyota F1 are based in Europe. Every new entry in F1 usually bought falling teams which they can have their facilities rather than start from scratch.

If we wanted to go in F1, here is what we should have done. BUY THE SAUBER TEAM!

If we could see the logic. If we buy the Sauber team and maybe calling it 1Malaysia or Lotus or whatever, we could have:

-A well established strong team(based on previous achivements)

-An advanced wind tunnel and super computer Albert 2

-We could have Peter Sauber as principal temporary and find suitable candidate later.

-Ferrari engines and who knows maybe even Mercedes

-Petronas can continue to sponsor

It seems to make more sense that way and it is the way that is usually done. So there is my first ever comment at Paultan.

• phoebe on Sep 30, 2009 at 6:37 am

??? said,

September 29, 2009 @ 8:39 pm

phoebe said,

come on, local grads are not up to standard nowadays. there’s no way they can compete with the foreigners when all they do is to protest. Even their lecturers plagiarise to obtain PhD. The public university medical grads are not up to standard as well…they can’t converse in proper english for crying out loud.

if at all the government wants this to be a success, please spare the local grads…by involving them, u’re gonna put more shame to the country.

p/s: i’m as well a public uni grad & i still have long way more to catch up with others. my alma mater did not prepare me well for the real world

—————————————————————-

that might be you..so dont make like many malysian grad as bad as you are ok…im public uni grad..but im strife to be successful though me result that gud not like u.complaining all time that y u sxxk..u just make me angry girl

ps : were will u get xperience if u hav that think

————————————

LOL. guess i proved my point real well judging from the quality of english ??? produced. needless to say much.

p/s: ???, whoever u are, please, i beg u to improve your quality of "engrish" before posting a reply here. thank u

• Jarama on Sep 30, 2009 at 6:56 am

??? said,

September 29, 2009 @ 9:11 pm

second care to eloborate petronas money come from people

—————————————————–

Petronas is a govt owned entity, profiting for the most part, on the natural resource of our country, under our feet. It is run by the govt and the govt belongs to the people – which is the reason why we vote in elections and pay all kinds of taxes.

Contrast to that, the rakyat doesn't care how a non-GLC like say Air Asia, spend their profits.

• e-tique on Sep 30, 2009 at 7:02 am

joke of the year…hehehe

lotus got nothing to do with this team, merely just an exploit of the brand name, neither technology nor DNA in it.

if no job for 2nd year, can transfer to airasia lah, recond their plane…whatta prospect!

• Too bad i can't apply for this yet, still studying.

• drgn86 on Sep 30, 2009 at 7:27 am

A big hoax to con Malaysians, this is 1Malaysia and its slogans (F1 Team included). All to 'cho sui nia'…..

• oricon666 on Sep 30, 2009 at 7:45 am

@ phoebe

Hahaha… u r cute….

i almost laugh my lungs out….

i'm a local grad too… truly… our grad are not to standard…

not saying we are stupid…. but the educational system treat us like kids…

and never up-to-date…

but "my alma mater did not prepare me well for the real world", to be fair, we cannot reply on alma mater (they failed by a failed system). we only have ourselves..

• Automotive Jury on Sep 30, 2009 at 7:45 am

hire me..hire me!!..lollipop guy cannot ha?..as isi minyak guy leh ka? :D

• cricket on Sep 30, 2009 at 7:52 am

phoebe said,

—————————————————————-

LOL, u said that local grads cannot compete with oversea grads just because they always protesting and then u said ur previous uni did not prepare u well for real world.

well,it seems that u already proved the facts u are one of them.

• bobdbilder on Sep 30, 2009 at 8:58 am

College doesn't teach you what to do in working life. It trains you how to THINK. That Fast Fourier Transforms never put meal on my table. Teamwork did.

Life is as good as YOU make it. It all depends on YOU, not what school you come from. Not who your leader is. YOU drive your journey. Its not what you drive, its how YOU drive.

Local grads are good enough, WHATEVER skin they were born with. NEVER let anyone tell you less. Its racist people who says otherwise so they can pay their kind a better salary than your average local grad.

• Fitri on Sep 30, 2009 at 9:14 am

Is there any chance to apply for the 1 Malaysia F1 Team pit crew (changing tire,refueling, etc.) if yes, could you send any notification via email. Love to hear from you. Thank You.

• Fitri on Sep 30, 2009 at 9:15 am

pitlane crew* something like that :)

• scottloeb on Sep 30, 2009 at 12:22 pm

Our engineer are good enough. Do not underestimate the local graduates. Some speak better english than their Taiwan graduate. Ask major MNC around Malaysia, they have no qualms whatsoever on local graduates, especially the technical ones. The japanese in Honda, Toyota, Perodua, says they're good enough to lead some section of the company, check with Halliburton, Schlumberger, Talisman, Weatherford they've busload of local graduates serving the rigs all around southeast asia and Asia Pac region. How many graduates do Shell hire directly after graduating? Don't compare sasterawan or budayawan fighting in job market with technical graduates. At most local technical graduates need 1-3 months to get a job, the rest will take longer.

• phoebe on Sep 30, 2009 at 3:34 pm

oricon666 said,

September 29, 2009 @ 11:45 pm

@ phoebe

Hahaha… u r cute….

i’m a local grad too… truly… our grad are not to standard…

and never up-to-date…

but “my alma mater did not prepare me well for the real world”, to be fair, we cannot reply on alma mater (they failed by a failed system). we only have ourselves..

—————————————

I have no personal agenda here & i am not pointing my fingers to all the local grads. My points are directed towards the grads from PUBLIC universities. I have colleagues from private universities that adopted foreign educational system fair better compared to those from PUBLIC uni.

Indeed, the system failed and we only have ourselves. A lot to be unlearnt and the whole process have to be relearnt again. It's ironic cos' u're actually graduated.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:16 pm

Email inbox also bounces, how to enter F1……..come on la get real……..

Does anyone study the past 3 years financial statement of Tune/Airasia??? wink wink……

• Local grads are just as good. That is why Malaysia is more developed than other developing countries.

• nemo66 on Sep 30, 2009 at 4:59 pm

not education system but us..we demand frm our lec to give A+ n just study for exam…

• phoebe said,

September 30, 2009 @ 7:34 am

oricon666 said,

September 29, 2009 @ 11:45 pm

@ phoebe

Hahaha… u r cute….

and never up-to-date…

but “my alma mater did not prepare me well for the real world”, to be fair, we cannot reply on alma mater (they failed by a failed system). we only have ourselves..

—————————————

I have no personal agenda here & i am not pointing my fingers to all the local grads. My points are directed towards the grads from PUBLIC universities. I have colleagues from private universities that adopted foreign educational system fair better compared to those from PUBLIC uni.

Indeed, the system failed and we only have ourselves. A lot to be unlearnt and the whole process have to be relearnt again. It’s ironic cos’ u’re actually graduated.

———————–

the failure is not only the system, u also might contribute to the failure eg. such cheating in a test, doesn't come to class, late, plagiarism..believe me i only cheat once and only once..from that day whether fail or not i will not cheat..hell i repeat one paper…..the system might be fail but y must we fail bcoz of system rite guys..better English doesn't one good in quality, better xperience, thinking n judgement qualify better quality

• Tiadaid on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Jarama said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:56 pm

??? said,

—————————————————–

Petronas is a govt owned entity, profiting for the most part, on the natural resource of our country, under our feet. It is run by the govt and the govt belongs to the people – which is the reason why we vote in elections and pay all kinds of taxes.

Contrast to that, the rakyat doesn’t care how a non-GLC like say Air Asia, spend their profits.

—————————————-

Some of Petronas profits are used to subsidize fuel, even if Malaysians use Shell or Esso. So "our" money already in the pockets of foreigners.

• R0NaLD0 on Sep 30, 2009 at 5:53 pm

haha .. wat a joke. i think u guys all Not Qualified la. Stop dreaming pls. Even a cleaner need a master degree in enviroment.. A tea lady must to be a nutrionist…

i think despatch boy suitable for malaysian……

• alpha999 on Sep 30, 2009 at 6:11 pm

@ phoebe

Hahaha… u r cute….

and never up-to-date…

—————————————

Indeed, the system failed and we only have ourselves. A lot to be unlearnt and the whole process have to be relearnt again. It’s ironic cos’ u’re actually graduated.

———————-

@ phoebe, Which private univeristy you mean ? Surely you dont mean all of the local grads sux. Even those who grads from fairly well-known unversities from overseas speak 'engrish' as if they have never been overseas. It all depends on the person. Some locals in public universities are doing so much well than locals who have studied overseas in fairly well-known universities.

Cannot stereotype all local grads will perform less well or speak much worst english than those who stuided in private uni with foreign education system

• 1Malaysia on Sep 30, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Toyota announced their plans to participate in F1 in 1999, and after extensive testing with their TF101 initial car, the team made their debut in 2002. After 7 years, Toyota F1 have not yet won a grand prix, their best finish so far being 2nd place in 2005.

Even Force India without a point after 29 races. Force India won their first Formula One world championship points and podium place when Giancarlo Fisichella finished second in the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix.

So how can 1MF1T can get point for their first year debut & just only with half planning from zero?

• Hazman on Sep 30, 2009 at 8:01 pm

i'm 28 yo & i'm working with GLC MNC involved in oil&gas sector..

my company dealings with overseas client & most of the time i've to work together with them…

they satisfied enough with my work performance & i've been recommended to join them as part of their team…( i reject because i've to be relocated to their HQ in Canada)

i graduate from local uni & i came from small little kampung in Ulu Pahang…i did not have proper english education background but i've tried to improve a lot so far!

thus, who says local grads do not have quality ? in fact , many of us far far away better than those expats & foreigners!!!! believe it!

• iadaid said,

September 30, 2009 @ 9:35 am

Jarama said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:56 pm

??? said,

—————————————————–

Contrast to that, the rakyat doesn’t care how a non-GLC like say Air Asia, spend their profits.

—————————————-

Some of Petronas profits are used to subsidize fuel, even if Malaysians use Shell or Esso. So “our” money already in the pockets of foreigners.

——————————

second that

• Jarama on Sep 30, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Tiadaid said,

September 30, 2009 @ 9:35 am

Some of Petronas profits are used to subsidize fuel, even if Malaysians use Shell or Esso. So “our” money already in the pockets of foreigners.

To be fair, the base stock petrol regardless of Esso, Caltex etc come from one common Petronas depot,(or whatever you call it). The petrol is then blended with additives by the different fuel companies according to their own formulas and then sold at malaysian pumps

• Tiadaid on Sep 30, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Hazman said,

September 30, 2009 @ 12:01 pm

i’m 28 yo & i’m working with GLC MNC involved in oil&gas sector..

my company dealings with overseas client & most of the time i’ve to work together with them…

they satisfied enough with my work performance & i’ve been recommended to join them as part of their team…( i reject because i’ve to be relocated to their HQ in Canada)

i graduate from local uni & i came from small little kampung in Ulu Pahang…i did not have proper english education background but i’ve tried to improve a lot so far!

thus, who says local grads do not have quality ? in fact , many of us far far away better than those expats & foreigners!!!! believe it!

——————————

I agree! It's not a question of local grads being mediocre, it's a matter of the effort you put into it. Even if you graduate from MIT, if you're a lazy bum, you're going to be a lazy bum! Don't generalize by saying that all local grads are lacking quality.

• tokmoh on Oct 01, 2009 at 1:03 pm

If I may, regarding local/foreign education matter, I wish to only comment on my concern for English standard among Malaysia students. I have friends who speak good English studying in local public uni, I also know people who go study in UK but so narrow-minded and hardly interact with non-Malaysians.

That brings me in agreement with bobdbuilder. You can be in the top 200, or even in top 10 universities in the world, but what's the point if your English sucks n you don't bother to improve it at all?

• i support 1mf1t 101%…walla weyy…

o btw..malaysia is a develop country if not mistaken…so why not if najib do 1mf1t….betul tak guys? we have to become future minded..not the what aaa? ketinggalan zaman?

• Tarmiziali on Oct 02, 2009 at 3:59 am

Future minded yes….but its have to be done with the right strategy. Its not about our capability is the issue but the way this whole thing is done. THIS WILL FAIL!!!!!!!!!!

• Tiadaid said,

September 30, 2009 @ 2:19 pm

Hazman said,

my company dealings with overseas client & most of the time i’ve to work together with them…

they satisfied enough with my work performance & i’ve been recommended to join them as part of their team…( i reject because i’ve to be relocated to their HQ in Canada)

i graduate from local uni & i came from small little kampung in Ulu Pahang…i did not have proper english education background but i’ve tried to improve a lot so far!

——————————

I agree! It’s not a question of local grads being mediocre, it’s a matter of the effort you put into it. Even if you graduate from MIT, if you’re a lazy bum, you’re going to be a lazy bum! Don’t generalize by saying that all local grads are lacking quality.

——————————

agree also

• sad no position as chemist…im chemist grad 2006

• m.fairulrazi md.fadz on Oct 02, 2009 at 6:55 pm

From the internet website i read that 1Malaysia and Lotus are launching a new era in F1 history, I have what you got what it takes to join you guys esp. in:

1. Electronics

2. Computer and IT Design

3. IT

4. Computer & Electronics Design

5. R&D

6. Hydraulics

7. Mechanical Production

8. Mechanical Design

9. Pattern Shop

10. Production, Production Control & Purchasing

11. Quality Control & Inspection

12. Design Office

13. R&D

14. and those etc.

My especiality in Computer & Computer Engineering because I graduated in that course in UPM in 2007.

If there are any comments or needs further more plese do give any news or reply to my e-mail asap.

Thank You.

• rally_fan on Oct 02, 2009 at 8:12 pm

"lchan said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:02 am

Can confirm the car will never come close to being competitive with other constructors."

err… how do you do that??? they havent built the car yet.

• osh_kosh on Oct 02, 2009 at 8:52 pm

rally_fan said,

October 2, 2009 @ 12:12 pm

“lchan said,

September 29, 2009 @ 10:02 am

Can confirm the car will never come close to being competitive with other constructors.”

err… how do you do that??? they havent built the car yet.

————————–

coz they haven't built the car yet-loh… if they already start building it earlier this year then they'll have higher chance to be up front in the grid… remember BrawnGP? they said they've dump the development of the 2008 car & concentrate on 2009 racer early in 2008 (when it was still Honda).. that's why their car pretty good at the start of this season… while McLaren & Ferrari started late coz need to concentrate on the development of their 2008 racers & they was way behind when the 2009 season started… but given the resources at Ferrari & Mclaren (plus a few others), they were right back on track after 5-6 races has begun.. but that's already too late.. now Ferrari already stop developing their 2009 racer & switch to their 2010 car.. u think 1MF1 Team have good chance? new team with limited resources? be rialisticlah bro… even BrawnGP was a Honda Team (last year), that mean it was not truly a new team, basicly just a new owner with old team but with not as good as last year resources..

• ??? said,

October 1, 2009 @ 9:07 pm

Tiadaid said,

September 30, 2009 @ 2:19 pm

Hazman said,

——————————

I agree! It’s not a question of local grads being mediocre, it’s a matter of the effort you put into it. Even if you graduate from MIT, if you’re a lazy bum, you’re going to be a lazy bum! Don’t generalize by saying that all local grads are lacking quality.

——————————

agree also

—————————————

thats y many malaysian enggineer hv been snatch n even curi by middle eastern company coz they r gud

• I have a friend who is very good in English, but he can't even have a proper job, it turns out that he the kind who like to play around and lazing out in pub. Hm… good English does not necessarily make good grad of employee, he does very good in talking with "mat salleh" ladies in pub though…

• no vacancies for f1 queen pos?they must wear baju kurung,cheongsam and saree

• F1 is too euro eccentric., Many people fall asleep while watching the race. F1 should be run by Hollywood where it's more entertaining to watch !!

• hahaha.. any position for tukar tayar kereta f1??? im expert in that… ahahhaha

• UTPGrad on Oct 11, 2009 at 7:13 am

yesterday i'm going back to my uni (utp) saw some guys with lotus shirts preparing race car body work already..made from advance carbon fiber(local made i believe)..i saw few FIA "mat saleh" n European TV crew too. This project actually has been initiated long before we being told..

• anyone who the link to the star adverbtisment regarding the lotus f1 job application. thanks

• Mike Gasgoyne has stated that most of the Jobs at the Norfolk UK headquarters will go locally. So I can't see how many Malaysians will have much opportunity until the factory is built in Sepang. Until then I would bet they will want F1 or motor sport experience minimum and be able to start right away. There are a lot of people very experienced in motor sport without jobs at the moment so it will be very difficult for anyone without expereince to get a job.

F1 is tough and anyone thinking they can walk in to this without any prior experience working in motor racing is dreaming. Try getting a job in a smaller racing series like GP2 or F3 Euroseries and you'll see how hard it is to get into motor racing!

• Expertice on Dec 05, 2009 at 12:20 am

Common Malaysian!!! this time is our time to support F1, and for those who have the qualification try apply based on the email above. Don't think too heavy, if you're the one, yess you'll be selected, prove you're the best! Don't wait, just do it.

• Aman Singh on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:56 am

I cannot believe that I have only found this now. Ever since they announced that they will be coming back to the support with the backing of Malaysian owners I wanted to work for the team. Thank you for the information it is much appreciated.

• davey on Jul 22, 2010 at 12:43 am

Yea, nice stack of jobs ;-). Maybe the drivers seat is available now… ;-)

Didnt see any of these on f1jobs.com, so thanks for posting!

• does any body knows how to submit a f1 body design? pls contact me if you do, thks.

• Gangaieswaran Arumunadan on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:13 am

hi……..i would like to join in the lotus F1 team…u teach i learn….i m very interested in this..

• sushanth on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:21 am

i want to become a driver in f1 race…will you pls tell hoe to apply..

• sushanth on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:14 am

hi,am a good racer…..can u give me a chance to drive in the lap racing …..

• sushanth on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:18 am

hi…i want to become a f1 driver …..how to apply……i can win it….

• memories…bye F1 lotus, caterham F1 team,

• The email address does not work. It keeps returning my email saying delivery failure

• Logeswaran on Sep 15, 2017 at 10:58 am

Hello here got vacancy for drive f1 car