EV-N Concept: Honda’s retro-styled electric car

honda-ev-n-concept-1

Honda N360The Honda EV-N Concept is surprisingly retro-styled in a sea of very futuristic Honda concepts being released in the past 2 to 3 years. Like you can probably expect from its name, the EV-N Concept is an electric car, though for the moment Honda has not released any details on its motor and battery specifications. It’s probably got a pretty short range though, designed to be used for short commutes in cities like Tokyo.

After you reach your destination and park but you’re feeling a little lazy, you can take out one of the U3-X Segway-like unicycles which is smartly strapped to the passenger door. At first I thought it was some really big and hardcore speaker system or something.

honda-ev-n-concept-2

The EV-N Concept is part of a larger display called the “HELLO!” (Honda Electric mobility Loop) display, where Honda will be showcasing a total “ecosystem” of mobility products. You have products that supply electricity, vehicles that run on electricity and products with innovative electronic technologies.

There will be solar panels that supply electricity and battery electric vehicles that emit zero emissions in use. The HELLO showcase is pretty much a preview of the potential of a low-carbon society of the future of course centered around Honda products. In addition, each HELLO! vehicle features communication technologies that showcase fun ways in which mobility devices can interact with people and society.

Look after the jump more shots of the Honda EV-N Concept.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=522]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• osh_kosh on Oct 01, 2009 at 1:37 am

here in Malaysia, u can' t park your car & leave that U3-X unicyle as it is… when u come back, that thing already being 'kebas' by mat gian… ceh…

• Hahahah… Paul, i'm also was tricked into thinking the unicycle as a speaker!

• LP560-4 on Oct 01, 2009 at 1:44 am

It's weird why honda always came out with the ugly design… Thanks God it's honda. If it got P1 logo on it, sure kena kutuk kao-kao!

• @ LP560-4…

Beauty is in the eyes of beholder. It's VERY SUBJECTIVE. Honda, a multi-billions company, won't bother to design something like this… if there's no demographic for it.

p/s – btw im a fan of Lambo too.

• pulge on Oct 01, 2009 at 1:56 am

Nice! Looks like a mini-er Mini.. ^^

• albagmane on Oct 01, 2009 at 2:18 am

its a nice concept… remind me of my dad's first gen Honda Civic hatchback… ^^

• raja azhar on Oct 01, 2009 at 2:53 am

Kim is right, anyway this is a very nice car you can see where its origins come from ,,/(^_^),,/

• lol…since this is a honda, many people will say good,nice,etc..if this is made by proton people will say why dont proton hire better designers?another copycat by proton, ugly,etc..

• shiv1228 (Member) on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:18 am

Yups… the civic it's based on is indeed one reliable car. My uncle used to own one & we had lots of fun zipping around KL….

• painsama on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:06 am

Beautiful. Simple lines. Somehow I like this car.

• Jiman on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:09 am

If Honda or Toyota comes with 'unique' design..surely malaysian will say.. ohhh.. good… ahhhh.. love it.. so impressive….

• mingyuyu on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:09 am

Agree with LP560-4

If this car is produced by Proton, sure all people will start to scold and crictics about the ugly and boy design.BUT, if it is produced by Honda and Toyota, sure everyone will say don't care about the looks and saying the good things about it.

• chyan on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:23 am

It looks more like an autobianchi. Haha

But I like it. looks dorky and kawaii. lol

http://www.motorbase.com/pictures/contributions/0…

• knight_templar on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:28 am

Paul, why is there a pic of the first gen Honda Civic in this post? I think this design harks back to an even older car, the Honda N360 which is a smaller car. It looks very similar to this concept car and in fact even the concept is called EV-N. A homage I guess.

• lambov12 on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:27 am

interior does look similar to Fiat 500 ..

prefer 500 somehow ..

• This is a retro new model of the original Honda Life ( http://i36.tinypic.com/qrak51.jpg ). It was quite numerous in Penang at one time, there's always one unit that was parked at Loh Boon Siew's house.

• Hunter on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:54 am

cool…simple and nice

• helmi on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:32 am

no offence.. but, the design look like 'babi', in cute-like styling. haha!

in my view la.

• nesca on Oct 01, 2009 at 4:14 pm

haha comel

• initial R on Oct 01, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Sooooo…. cute…. practical in city driving but suffer back injury for long distance. Next Golfcart with door & lamp…… :)

• looks like the old honda life. my old classmate's mum had one; smoked a lot and made so much noise you could hear it from a mile away! this new one looks real cool. i admit having a liking for retro styuled stuff though :)

by the way to digress a little bit, i like the modern interpretation of the trabant too.

• ford_ton on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Agreed with bolo and knight_templar. Design is based on Honda Life. The first ever Honda car to be produced.Remember travelling in one during the 70's. Gear lever is jutting out from the dashboard.Quite a memorable one that car. I bet Honda will be a rival to Mini, Fiat 500 and Beetle in retro cars. Heard that Trabant from the bygone communist era will also soon be available in EV form.

• Chris Chong on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:28 pm

Do many people in Japan know how to ride unicycles…?

I can picture a bunch of Japanese salarymen in neatly pressed suits falling off their one-wheeled Segways…

• WALASiZO on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:38 pm

cutenyeee….

• NARUdaDRIVeR on Oct 01, 2009 at 6:47 pm

i am sorry but this design is just…. ugly. Cant bare to take another look

• mitlanevo on Oct 01, 2009 at 7:05 pm

makes me smile!!!

adorable….

• Kevin Lee on Oct 01, 2009 at 8:02 pm

ive seen a honda n360 in vietnam, same as red one pictured above.

i guess everyones going back to the oldschool days

much like the honda s2000 which has roots on the earlier s500,s600 and s800 cars

• 1st – very KAWAII!!!!!……

2nd – Retro is back again….from bettle, mini, 500

3rd – wonder how big it is, like a viva?

4th – i still like the suzuki concept car i saw 3 yrs ago in singapore… wonder wat happen to it……

• pulge on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:09 pm

Still, if someone slam the back of the car, then the rear passenger will have no chance of survival. Its very flat. ^^;

• knight_templar on Oct 01, 2009 at 11:08 pm

Kevin Lee said,

October 1, 2009 @ 12:02 pm

ive seen a honda n360 in vietnam, same as red one pictured above.

i guess everyones going back to the oldschool days

much like the honda s2000 which has roots on the earlier s500,s600 and s800 cars

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/30/ev-n-concept-hondas…
    —————————————————————-

The red car above is NOT a Honda N360, its the first gen Civic with CVCC engine.

• Squawk on Oct 02, 2009 at 12:26 am

If P1 designed this I'd go "Why did they copy an ancient Honda?". The front kinda reminds me of Wall-E.

Sadly these vehicles won't work here until we have batteries that can last a JB-Alor Setar trip.

• MR.anderson on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:28 am

dosent matter it look ugly or not ev just awsome… bile lah proton nak buat gitu gak erkk

• one of the beautiful car i seen ever…..hehe

• waa cute!^^ i wan it!hee

• Halfclutch on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:31 pm

So you fold down the rear seats to carry 3 coloured eggs..

• nemo66 on Oct 03, 2009 at 12:11 am

yark…damm bugly..

• Is it a toy car?

• Looks like Mini, without the chrome bumper and shorter wheelbase.

• wan2911 on Oct 07, 2009 at 10:00 am

wow…this car so cute :)

i want 1 to keep as a pet