Four new BMW EfficientDynamics turbodiesel models now here in Malaysia!

BMW EfficientDynamicsBMW have launched four new diesel models here in Malaysia, complementing the existing X5 xDrive30d model. The four are the BMW 320d Sports, the BMW 520d Sports Edition, the BMW X3 xDrive20d Executive Edition and finally the flagship BMW 730Ld, which also so happens to be the cheapest F02 7-Series available in Malaysia.

bmw-320d-sports-1

The BMW 320d Sports is only RM7,000 more expensive than the BMW 320i. It’s also the 3-Series Sedan with the most torque, save for the 335i Individual and the M3 Sedan. With 177hp and 350Nm, the 320d outshines the 320i’s 156hp and 200Nm of torque. Thanks to that 0 to 100km/h acceleration time is down from the 320i’s 9.8 seconds to 8 seconds in the 320d Sports. Nearly 2 seconds is a big difference in acceleration feel.

bmw-320d-sports-2

The Sports suffix means that it has the full M-Sport kit – bodykit, seats, aluminium interior trim, 320i Sports wheels, and the M-Sport suspension bits. But it doesn’t have iDrive though, so for that you’ll have to go for the 323i and above variants. The 320d Sports consumes just 6.0 litres of diesel per 100km on an average driving cycle and if you’re on long distance trips it should be even better.

bmw-520d-1

The BMW 520d Sports Edition has the same engine as the 320d Sports – a 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine with 177 horsepower and 350Nm of torque. 0 to 100km/h takes a little more time at 8.4 seconds because it is a larger car.

bmw-520d-2

The term Sports Edition means it’s sort of in between a regular 5 and a 5 M-Sport. You have the M-Sport bodykit, M-Sport wheels, M-Sport steering, but no M-Sport seats and M-Sport suspension. So it’s going to be more of a comfort cruiser with the aesthetic go-fast bits tacked on. Like all 5-Series save for the non-SE 523i, you get the latest version of iDrive with the internal hard drive storage and etc.

bmw-diesel-tailpipes

Both the 320d Sports and 520d Sports have exhaust tips that points downwards. All the non-M-Sport E39 5-Series used to have this exhaust but the difference is it was hidden behind the bumper, out of sight. But with the M-Sport kits on both the 3 and 5 of this current generation, the bumpers show off the exhaust tailpipe in full glory.

The reason for this is due to the rules set by the German HQ. We get Euro 3 versions of these engines due to our diesel quality which is only just Euro 2M and not the Euro 4/5 capable diesel available in Europe, and amongst the various differences is the fact that the DPF (Diesel Particulate Filter) has been removed because of the Euro 2M sulphur levels.

For cars without DPF filters, the instruction is to have the tailpipe facing the road, so that the particulates are channeled towards the ground instead of straight out. For owners, if you don’t like the look you can probably get that fixed at JFA in Sunway or something or something. Other than that, BMW says they’ve done adequate testing and the engine should run fine on our Euro 2M fuel, at least within the warranty period.

730d-1

The flagship is of course the 730d long wheelbase with the new aluminium crankcase 6-cylinder diesel engine. This is a new generation diesel engine that I had the opportunity to try out matched with a manual gearbox when it was installed in a 330d in Germany. In Malaysia installed in the F02 7-Series, its mated to a ZF 6-speed automatic.

730d-3

It’s got 245 horsepower and 540Nm of torque, but consumes 6.9 litres per 100km. The engine felt really amazing in the 330d – unlike other diesel engines its powerband did not taper off at the higher ends of the rev range, which shows somehow with this new generation BMW has managed to control the auto-ignition combustion quite well at high revs. The 7-Series is the only car in Malaysia with this new engine, but the X5 xDrive30d will probably be getting this engine too when its time for it to be facelifted.

730d-idrive

Looking at the 730d at the launch also gave us a sneak peek at changes to the 7-Series offerings when it comes to the 2010 model year here in Malaysia. The rear passengers of all 7-Series variants will now get a proper full-fledged iDrive controller, including this new 730d. Previously, rear passenger iDrive was only available on the 750i. The 740i had the dual rear screens but you had to control it with a remote control, and the user interface was a little limited on features. Now with full rear iDrive on all models, the ceiling air conditioning vents have been removed as part of the spec adjustment, presumably so the same price can be offered.

730d-2

Removing the ceiling air conditioning vents is probably good as the option adds a little box in the boot that intrudes into the bootspace which I initially thought was a subwoofer of some kind, but is in fact the aircond compressor. This means 2010 model cars will have more boot space. I don’t think people will miss the ceiling aircond much as there is still the B-pillar and center console air conditioning.

730d-interior

The following are the prices for the new diesel models:

BMW 320d Sports – RM 255,800.00
BMW 520d Sports Edition – RM 379,800.00
BMW X3 xDrive20d Executive Edition – RM 333,800.00
BMW 730Ld – RM 698,800.00

They include BMW Service Inclusive + Repair for 3 years or 60,000km. Look after the jump for hi-res photos of the three sedans. I kind of missed the X3 that was on display.

GALLERY: BMW 320d Sports Malaysian Launch

[zenphotopress number=99 album=524]

GALLERY: BMW 520d Sports Edition Malaysian Launch

[zenphotopress number=99 album=525]

GALLERY: BMW 730d Malaysian Launch

[zenphotopress number=99 album=526]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MADBOY on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:33 pm

will the euro 2 diesel in Malaysia provide the intended performance or to get that kind of figure the car need the latest euro 5 diesel?

• Adam Radin on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:36 pm

You're right paul, it’s kind of weird to have exhaust tip that points downwards like that. :(

• Casey Liew on Oct 01, 2009 at 10:42 pm

Dude, I want one of those! But where is the 123d???

• Motorist on Oct 01, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Nothing wrong with the tip pointing downwards. Its suppose to deflect the soot down & not onto the car behind.

Every feature of a German car has a reason behind it.

• Already mentioned this engine is designed for Euro 3 and I suppose Euro 2 will run just fine…and there is really nothing wrong with the exhaust tip pointing downwards as we can see quite a number of cars having the same things too..as motorist mentioned, its to deflect the soot down.

• Tiadaid on Oct 01, 2009 at 11:39 pm

MADBOY said,

October 1, 2009 @ 2:33 pm

will the euro 2 diesel in Malaysia provide the intended performance or to get that kind of figure the car need the latest euro 5 diesel?

——————————————–

They wouldn't release it here if it couldn't meet the performance.

• MADBOY on Oct 01, 2009 at 11:49 pm

Motorist said,

October 1, 2009 @ 3:09 pm

Nothing wrong with the tip pointing downwards. Its suppose to deflect the soot down & not onto the car behind.

Every feature of a German car has a reason behind it.

———————————————————

Another banefit – it will not collect rain water. lol

• mitlanevo on Oct 01, 2009 at 11:52 pm

this brilliant engine match with our "super brilliant" diesel?

i dare not try it…

• Squawk on Oct 02, 2009 at 12:18 am

As Paul mentioned, it should be fine. Within the warranty period. :) If you can't afford to fix it, don't buy it.

• more_MiLEAGE_pls on Oct 02, 2009 at 12:26 am

nice cars

• Mpower on Oct 02, 2009 at 12:33 am

and Mpower saves the day…:)

• I am impressed that we will be able to buy this car here real soon. The 3 Series with this engine would make it the best premium car of it's class, and I am a big fan of the Audi A4. I hope Audi will respond to this and bring in their A4 TDI 2.0 too. The more diesels we get,the merrier!

• Scottloeb on Oct 02, 2009 at 12:35 am

borrowing Jeremy Clarkson, 'Will it sound like a tractor?"

• mitlanevo said,

October 1, 2009 @ 3:52 pm

this brilliant engine match with our “super brilliant” diesel?

i dare not try it…

The engine: Yes

But not the particulate filter, that's why it's removed as Paul writes.

In Europe Diesels don't belch black smoke like the lorries here btw. Together with low consumption and high torque this is one reason why they are so popular there…

• ayamxxx on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:18 am

not brave to buy BMW cars! It service cost can cost a bomb especially after the warranty is expired. Need to change a few items in da engine is kind of normal problem of this car.

• lchan on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:29 am

haha…freaking awesome of BMW to remove the particulate filter. less one item to maintain in the long run since its will be clogged in no time with our shitty diesel. Also one less restrictive item!

• Shiang on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:36 am

Seems impressive!

• Nice but the reliability is yet to be on par with Japanese Car

• keluangman on Oct 02, 2009 at 1:48 am

thumbs up to BMW Malaysia for having the balls to bring in these diesel cars.

However the question that still lurks in my mind are…. will it be as reliable as its petrol counterparts. I have read, heard and seen many horror cases of advanced diesel engine cars(mostly contis) coupled with low quality Bolehland diesel. Will it have injector problems? Turbo damaged? Also good thing that BMW removed the DPF as I bet BMW DPF are the thermal type(non-cleanable, must replace) which can cost thousands to replace. One less worry there….

I am still waiting for the 335d though…..

• blaze on Oct 02, 2009 at 2:19 am

+1 keluangman… BMW Malaysia got balls…. and yeah, any plans for the twin turbo version of the 2.0 and 3.0?

For those who never try driving a new or modern diesel engine before, please have a go.. and recently JC loves the XF diesel…

• Thumbs up. About time someone wake us Malaysian up. Welcome killer torque. Mercedes… how do you respond?

• BTW, are they CBU or CKD?

• Paul Tan on Oct 02, 2009 at 2:53 am

The 320d is CKD, the rest are CBU.

• Thanks Paul. GTi Golf better watch that 320d coming from your 6.

• kimi_ on Oct 02, 2009 at 3:57 am

For me, i will not buy the BMW because

1)pay monthly ansuran like hell ….summore the bank interest

2)lost 5-10% of original value annually…

3)the spare part and service cost like hell…

4)afraid of getting stolen….

• kimi_ on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:01 am

CONT

For the yearly depreciation….its like for a myvi about RM4500 yearly….

BUT the BMW will depreciate RM 20,000 and more every year……

• i have my eyes set on the 520id……. was thinking of a 525i-ms but since i am a fan of diesel cars…..gonna try it out in auto bavaria in the weekend……. guys,give comments about it…..btw…i'm from the east m'sia,

• fthis on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:26 am

i thought the efficient dynamics models are supposed to include;

1. Auto start stop function and,

2. Brake energy regeneration

which would in turn give even better MPG ratings as well as CO2 emissions.

those models seem to be the plain old diesel models.

apologize if i am mistaken tho

• not only BMW produced great diesel engine in tis world….

there are many great diesel engine today

• kelvin on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:42 am

Cheaper roadtax too!

I think most of potential Malaysian buyers will hold back and wait for a while to see the reliability and whether the so-called 2M diesel can run perfectly on these vehicles.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:57 am

kimi_ said,

October 1, 2009 @ 7:57 pm

—————————-

you do know that BMW has one of the best immobilisers in the world right…

• Georgie on Oct 02, 2009 at 4:59 am

Damn… i'm trading in my 7 series bimmers and my alphard for one of these babies… just without the ugly 'efficient dynamics' sticker

• not-quite-the-auto-j on Oct 02, 2009 at 5:54 am

amazing…. launched the entire core model range in a single event (3,5,7)

is bmwm warranty 60.000km or 3 years (similar to the free service duration?)?

i remember the '05 530d had it tips pointed downwards too…. not that bad la.

the 730d has amazing price!! undercuts the 740Li by a huge rm150k!

thats enough for few months of servicing after your warranty is busted :P

are our diesel nozzles still heavy and dirty like the old days?? tried filling a pick-up before, the nozzle is greasy and heavy… plus the floor/concrete pavement has alot of spilled diesel…. yucks…

• Tomkurus on Oct 02, 2009 at 6:28 am

thumbs up to bmw..for those who support diesel cars, like me, will definately say yes for such development of powerful diesel engine in sedan cars..

at least it has been tuned-up/ u may say tuned-down for the euro2m diesel to eliminates the common problems encountered in higher end diesel engine like the previous 5 series on the road..

i would buy 1 if affordable for it..

• mayb the downward exhaust pipes r to prevent flood waters from entering…juz guessing though

• bmw spearheading the diesel industry car here ah.

soon other automakers will also bring in their diesel cars which means all the more better for us!

i believe we've been brainwashed by our lousy euro 1 diesel for too long so many people associate diesel cars with noisy dirty exhausts.

truth is, the diesel kicks petrol engine's ass. well, almost anyway.

• azrai on Oct 02, 2009 at 3:41 pm

Last night I thougt it was a hybrid, instead it is not. Wow. 1000km in a single tank. How big is the tank really.

• csv said,

October 2, 2009 @ 1:22 am

bmw spearheading the diesel industry car here ah.

soon other automakers will also bring in their diesel cars which means all the more better for us!

i believe we’ve been brainwashed by our lousy euro 1 diesel for too long so many people associate diesel cars with noisy dirty exhausts.

truth is, the diesel kicks petrol engine’s ass. well, almost anyway.

You're right. My boss in Germany had a Audi A8 4.0 TDI. When his car was for service, he got an A8 W12 6.0 with 446hp for that time.

You know what he said ? I want back my TDI…

While the 6.0 petrolhead has 580Nm of torque at 4700rpm, the much cheaper TDI has 650Nm at 1800rpm…

• You’re right. My boss in Germany had a Audi A8 4.0 TDI. When his car was for service, he got an A8 W12 6.0 with 446hp for that time.

You know what he said ? I want back my TDI…

While the 6.0 petrolhead has 580Nm of torque at 4700rpm, the much cheaper TDI has 650Nm at 1800rpm…

—————————————————————-

SPOT ON!…torque is for real world usage…i dun see anyone would like to rev to almost 5k rpm the whole day

Plus diesel frugal nature is a big plus

• adlanb20 on Oct 02, 2009 at 8:17 pm

And the new gen of diesel engines don't sound like tractors anymore, just sikit2 only la heheh…. but truthfully, diesels have come a long-long way…

• bmrules on Oct 02, 2009 at 9:33 pm

Kimi,

This shows that u cannot afford a BMW.

(better get cheap2x savvy/saga)

It's the Ultimate Driving Machine u talking about.

And its only for the priviledged !!

• korean on Oct 02, 2009 at 9:37 pm

320d with 350Nm of torque!!!!

Oh, that's the way, uh-huh uh-huh, I like it, uh-huh, uh-huh.

• korean on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:31 pm

bmrules said,

October 2, 2009 @ 1:33 pm

Kimi,

This shows that u cannot afford a BMW.

(better get cheap2x savvy/saga)

It’s the Ultimate Driving Machine u talking about.

And its only for the priviledged !!

————————————-

You are right, this dude compares BMW with Myvi some more!!! What a nincompoop.

• gangully on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Kimi,

You say depreciation for savvy/myvi is RM4500 a year, and depreciation for BMW is RM20k a year. Do you even realise what you are saying?

typical, only look at ultimate numbers, have you tried considering those figures as a percentage of the actual value of the car?

another thing… u know that BMW Credit/Leasing has some fandangled interest rates offered? right? u did do some thinking before you decided typing right? oh wait… looking at some of the comments here… i don't think so…

• mr_3m on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:50 pm

finally, the diesel cars are here… i hope they keep the ball rolling…

Audi/VW should bring theirs soon and not let BMW have the 'niche' market all by themselves…

• Fuyiopo on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:19 am

-Kimi

BMW is a rich man's car. If one can afford the car, the depreciation is nothing. Plus, not only BMW face the depreciation problem, the same goes to mercedes, volvo, jaguar etc… No money? Cant stant the maintainace cost? Go for the higher tier brands. And i want to correct a incorret fact of yours, toyota and honda are likely to be stolen compared to bmw and merc.

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Ultimate driving Crap!!!!

This diesel car can used in malaysia? the diesel gred???

Because all the merz 270 cdi all koyak because of the diesel….

Fuyiopo said: Its not rich man car…now is executive kampung car….semua or mlm je pakai…rich people using maserati!!!!

• Fuyiopo on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:47 am

-Malaysian citizen

Maserati is not a rich mans car..it is a millionares car(because it cost millions)….If BMW is a kampung car….i wonder what class with honda and toyota be in…..pengemis car? Proton is scrap car then?(no offense guys, i just conclude from what this idiot says)

Anyway malaysian citizen, look through what paul said before posting any comment on whether the car could or could not work. People like you need to be educated seriously.

• korean on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:10 pm

100% agree with Fuyiopo. That guy need to overhaul his brain.

• I test drove the 320d just yesterday, and maybe I was expecting too much but the power was a little underwhelming. There is a decent shove but it just does not feel like 400Nm. I remember driving the C270CDI a couple years back and I was expecting the performance to surpass that. I do not know if it is a fair comparison but the VW/Audi TFSI engines seem more responsive and with just as much torque. I know number can't lie but this is my experience so it kind of puzzles me why the 320d just does not have that kick.

• Zaffar on Oct 20, 2009 at 7:12 am

Cool it guys.. We are all here because of the same reason, our interest in car.. So, please mind our words and dont insult anybodys feeling.. Also please arm ourself with knowledge before make any statement.. We all can be friend no matter what vehicle we are owning/driving.. Next time think deeply before making any comments.. I'm sure paul agree with this..

• Gareth on Dec 07, 2009 at 9:00 am

Does the 520d come with Active Steering?

• eddiefiola on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:14 am

all u guys flaming about this n that car, show that u guys are not matured enough. this is a free country. your money, you decide. if u like, u buy. if u do not like, do not buy. nobody forces u to buy bmw.

the same goes to other things, u like nokia, u buy. otherwise, buy other brands.

all cars have pros and cons. nothing is perfect in this world but we can minimize the imperfection.

the main issue i think about this car is about compatibility of msia diesel in this car. as what paul tan has written "BMW says they’ve done adequate testing and the engine should run fine on our Euro 2M fuel, at least within the warranty period".

what will happen after the warranty period? i do not have the answer…… again, your money, u decide……..