A Mitsubishi i-MiEV garbage truck? Not yet.

mitsubishi-electric-garbage-truck

I’m sure all of us here have seen a garbage collector truck going about doing it stuff around our neighbourhoods before. Once in a while they would stop and the engine would begin revving high while stationary. The engine is actually powering the garbage compactor. This of course causes both environmental and noise pollution.

Kyokuto Kaihatsu Kogyo Co., Ltd. has worked with Mitsubishi to install the i-MiEV’s electric drive into the garbage truck. Of course, the tiny system designed for a compact car isn’t powerful enough to move the whole truck on electric power. Instead, only the garbage compactor runs on the i-MiEV system.

According to them, the results are decent. They managed a 75% cut in truck CO2 emissions during use by utilizing battery power for the trash compactor instead of the engine. And of course if you just shut off the engine while you’re compacting the trash this can be reduced to zero in terms of both noise and CO2 emissions. There is even a benefit cost-wise as the electricity cost to run the trash compactor is significantly less than diesel fuel usually used in normal trash compactors.

With almost no noise and no gas emissions during compactor use, the new truck is optimal for trash collection from within buildings, during early morning or late at night. Of course here in Malaysia there is no such consideration for noise pollution – everyone just does whatever they want without thought for others.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• YetAnotherAnon on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:10 pm

First.

"Of course here in Malaysia there is no such consideration for noise pollution – everyone just does whatever they want without thought for others."

Is this a thinly veiled refernece to your noisy neighbours last nite? Haha

• henry on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:35 pm

in Alor Setar, no noise at all from the garbage trucks, nearly 10-13 trucks breakdown for months..

• mig29 on Oct 02, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Most town in Malaysia more worse pollution by Garbage Truck itself.

• serambi (Member) on Oct 02, 2009 at 11:11 pm

At this moment and till full privatization of solid waste being formalize somewhere in 2010, Malaysian will have to bear with it. After 2 to 3 years of privatization, we will have better equipments and facilities and of course at extra cost from our pocket and tighter enforcement by PPSPN.

• kemosabe on Oct 02, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Not to mention the trail of rubbish juice that the garbage truck leaves when they move around the neighborhood. Collect your rubbish but leave an even worser problem behind.

Solution : dry out your garbage or separate them. Wet refuse in one bag and dry ones in another(more suitable for apt dwellers)

Or bury the organic refuse(considering they are not toxic) in the yard. Makes good fertilizer for your plants.

• supernan9 on Oct 02, 2009 at 11:50 pm

agreed with henry.but no need to introduce to Alor Setar City Council.They don't even have money to repaire their lorries.

• Casey Liew on Oct 03, 2009 at 12:14 am

These will never work here… a lil too complicated for our market!

• mystvearn on Oct 03, 2009 at 12:41 am

WIll not work because too expansive to buy in the first place. Also, Malaysians are still not the "green" lot. You still see people throwing rubbish out of the car window.

• Mufasa on Oct 03, 2009 at 4:16 am

wow, this country aaa? the way their engineer/product team thinking is amazing aa. solute

• yeah, too expensive they wont bother buying. just continue with the nvm attitude and anyhow collect and throw la. got earn money can liao la.

• Cyrus Low on Oct 03, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Dear Everyone,

If you are not aware, Mitsubishi Group has a separate business unit in Commercial Vehicles name – Mitsubishi FUSO Truck & Bus Corporation, 15% of shares are held by various Mitsubishi group companies, and 85% owned by Daimler AG.

Mitsubishi FUSO is one of the active Commercial Vehicle brand in the World and its Hybrid Trucks (yes, everyone, it is Hybrid Trucks!) are selling in Japan.

If anyone wish to know more, you can log on to:

http://www.mitsubishi-fuso.com.my/fuel.html

Cheers!

• nevermind on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:02 am

Garbage truck causes noise pollution? I'll bet you a million ringgit they can never hope to match the noise seen, or rather, heard here:

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=car+a…

Some of them have decibels that matches that of thunder.