Porsche Panamera range launched in Malaysia

Porsche Panamera

The Porsche Panamera is now available from Auto Eurokars with a 2+2 year extended warranty. You can get either a Panamera S with a 6-speed manual, or the Panamera 4S and Panamera Turbo with 7-speed twin clutch PDK gearboxes.

• Porsche Panamera S – RM998,000.00
  • Porsche Panamera 4S – RM1,118,000.00
  • Porsche Panamera Turbo – RM1,398,000.00

All the cars use a 4,806cc V8 engine but naturally the difference is that the Turbo has twin turbochargers. In normally aspirated form, the engine makes 400 PS at 6,500rpm and 500Nm of torque between 3,500rpm to 5,000rpm. When twin-blown, this goes up to 500 PS at 6,000rpm and 700Nm of torque between 2,250-4,500rpm.

Other than the differentiation in terms of 4WD and the turbo for the Turbo, the 4S and the Turbo also comes with auto start-stop, which the S does without. The 4S and Turbo also has a larger fuel tank of 100 litres compared to the S’s 80 litres.

Other than that, most other specs are the same except the Turbo gets a better 14 speaker BOSE sound system compared to the “standard” 10 speaker system. For more details on specs differentiation if you’re really in the market for one its best to check out the Porsche dealership for a personalised buying experience.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=54]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chain on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:32 am

how good if i can own 1…buy 1 of these babies in malaysia is just equal to give 1-2 free cars due to the 200% taxes..haiz

• abrahman on Jan 22, 2011 at 5:31 pm

True and this coming april 2011, somebody in Kuala Lumpur wull get this car for FREE ….

• manual stick? great!… if i could afford one

• kimi_ on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:39 pm

RIDICULOUS, $1 million for this thing, better invest in property….

• audio on Oct 04, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Finally its here! great car! gonna get one!

• kerl_z on Oct 04, 2009 at 5:41 pm

fuyyoh..awesome!!

• nice….

• Maserati on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Not the nicest Porsche you can get but still an awesome car!

• P2_permanent_basher on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:16 pm

1 million ringgit for the basic model. I feel dizzy, thanks G for this headache. damn idots

• Shiang on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:34 pm

998k for the base model?

Well that's 'cheap'

• BeemerFreak on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Hoho, now maserati has a contender for the quattroporte. However yeah P@_permanent_baser said it right. Our rights as consumers has yet and again been taken advantage of by idiots who builds cars that they think is what the people want.

• Georgie on Oct 04, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Why people keep on whining these kind of things so much? These taxes (on luxury items) are for those rich bastards who earn so much but don't care to contribute to the county. Now what's wrong with that? In the US we can see that the the income from the taxation does not even justify the ratios of rich bastards living there which keep on devising new methods to evade paying their taxes. Then, you got the whole country going into a deficit. You like that to become to your country?

Plus, you don't see normal businessmen in europe drive this car because they cant afford it too. Now does that makes you guys, the average joe, the common man, the underachiever, able to afford these kind of cars too? Geez…

• Golden on May 01, 2012 at 1:18 pm

I already own a RC Porsche Panamera Turbo in my garage, that;’s meant i’m bastard?

• To dear Georgie,

Why must rich=bastard? Can i say poor=lazy/stupid? Ofcos not right? People work hard to get to where they are. So watch your mouth. And people in the US can't afford to drive 1 of these expensive large cc cars because their fuel price is like crazy high, even without converting to Ringgit it is still very high.

• KS fyi they used to enjoy very decent gas price before this, in the States. So, ok for them to deal with

• Ariff on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:46 pm

aiyer!!the main thing is,if u hav the money,buy la.no one will marah u.if u dun,jz shut up la.

• bmpower on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:49 pm

Georgie..

well.. you know.. many rich people in Malaysia are greedy btw.

but most of them are 'pretender' rich guy.

• korean on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:57 pm

I refuse to accept the price!!

• jolly_idiot on Oct 04, 2009 at 7:59 pm

Do this thing worth 1mil?

• zaff1984 on Oct 04, 2009 at 8:34 pm

Radipe vs Panamera, which one will you choose?

• i love it…but sorry only super rich can afford it

• pennstater on Oct 04, 2009 at 10:45 pm

yay those importers are thinking "holiday on the moon" as they are getting 100% profit for each car.

• Not only malaysia has this sky high taxes. This amount of tax is also implied in the scandivian countries. Norway for example.

So quit whining about this taxes. Although sometimes me myself feel that it is unfair. lol

• Anonymous on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:27 pm

Beware owners, driving in Bolehland, surely you can get free body scratch.

Owh, including loose shock absorbers.

My friend work in Japan, damn he buy Skyline R34 for just RM40k. Second hand car are no value there, even Merc. But in Bolehland…

• akupunya on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:41 pm

nak pakai kat mesia?

buang karan dan buang duit..

kena langgar…jenuh la sapa nk bayar..

membazir ja beli keta macam ni..

lainla kalau buat kosmetik..paring atas bumbung..pastu suruh orang bayar tiket untuk showroom..

tadak makna beli keta mahal2 cam ni nk pakai kat area KL..

• mystvearn on Oct 04, 2009 at 11:46 pm

I think its not a problem if they drive it in very limited places.

• I think at that price is way too expensive for this one! Better get a Maserati Q'port GTS or a Bentley Continental Flying Spur

• pokiboys on Oct 05, 2009 at 12:34 am

with the tax double .

gtfo to porsche msia.

• nighttrain on Oct 05, 2009 at 12:38 am

I tought the price will start at 7 figures. Well there's one under a mil. So happy. But given a choice, I'll take Rapide any day based on looks alone.

• I like it a lot! A family-sized Porsche… Why not?

• Want to add: the price is definitely not a good thing, but no point whinning about it and arguing… It's there, and there's not much we can do…

And BTW, Paul, love the iPhone compatible website… So convinient…

• techboy_88 on Oct 05, 2009 at 12:48 am

toys for the rich, famous & scandalous.

• nighttrain on Oct 05, 2009 at 12:49 am

If you convert Malaysian RM to USD, the price will be USD25k more expensive than the retail price in the US. Howzat? Now you know why Malaysians whine a lot when it comes to car prices. Some say it's a level playing field. And we're a developing with like another 20 years to achieve developed nation status. See?

• this car got 100 liters of petrol tank capacity… so huge…

• ommph on Oct 05, 2009 at 2:38 am

i love the car!!

• mingyuyu on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:13 am

Lol… Ugliest Porsche in Malaysia cost RM1 million for the base model? What a idiots pricing…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:16 am

you have to be really really stupid to buy this car

• adrianclw on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:30 am

Cool one.

Hope can see OTR soon.

• boleh! on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:46 am

you guys, the average joe, the common man, the underachiever

————————————————————

wow…..some loser who masterbatte in front of pc, and critics in forum, calling the average joe…the underachiever….

wow….he must be driving a ferrari in his 20s……

• Fuyiopo on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:51 am

Porche has the laziest desginer…….

• mr smart on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:01 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

October 4, 2009 @ 9:16 pm

——————————————

you're wrong! you have to be really really rich to buy this car

dream on … in the meantime…

• P2_permanent_basher on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:38 am

Ariff, u org BN?

The main reason why this car and ever other sport car costs "arms and limbs" is bcos our G STILL PROTECTING OUR so called "ASSET" in the automotive sector. Also , in another note, why on hell are they DELAYING and DELAYING and DELAYING the AFTA (or whatever it is) which is supposed to abolish the double tax on imported cars??? It doesn't take a scientist to understand the reasons behind the delay… GEEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!!!!

• Better off going with the Aston Rapide or Maser Quattroporte….much better looking plus worth the price tag…got me thinking..would anyone buy a stretched version of a glorified VW Beetle lookalike?

• paul, where's the "comment quote" system?

the one we can use to quote others comment

• tokmoh on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:03 am

P2_permanent_basher: Hoi bodoh!! Hang ingat kalo G buang tax aje, terus seluruh negara beli keter ni ke?!?! Apa, ko ingat buang tax aje, terus Porsche ni harga sama ngan saga base-line?!?!

Bodoh gila nak mampus, marah tak tentu pasal. Aku tengah holiday kat London ni pun nmpk sikit gile Porsche… majoriti keter kat UK ni Vauxhall, Ford, Peugout, Citroen, n Renault. Dah la banyak orang mengemis kat sini, ni London tau yang ak tengah sebut ni, LONDON, capital of UNITED KINGDOM, negara keempat terkaya kat dunia… meh la datang kerja sini, sini kan tak de tax gila2 macam kerajaan Msia, bukan tu je, currency pound sterling ni jauh lagi tinggi dari ringgit malaysia. Home minister officers kat sini jamin diorg akan bagi ko 'warm welcome' kerana hang ni orang bijaksana boleh tau macamana nak jadi pemimpin negara yang terbaik.

meh la kalo hang ni jantan benar. Memekak macam mak nyah je kat blog ni… cilaka betul…

• AH said,

October 4, 2009 @ 11:18 pm

'Better off going with the Aston Rapide or Maser Quattroporte….much better looking plus worth the price tag…got me thinking..would anyone buy a stretched version of a glorified VW Beetle lookalike?'

I also like the Aston Martin. But buying one ? I wouldn't be sure if the company still exists tomorrow, now as the Kuwaiti sovereign wealth fund is struggling:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2009/sep/27/au…

Thanks god, I don't have think over that, I stay with my Persona… ;)

• kemosabe on Oct 05, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Hmmm….Porsche makes good vehicles and they are not really that expensive in the real world. Its just here that we live in an artificial automotive bubble.

Its a matter of time this bubble explodes and it will explode with a loud bang.

I would predict the ridiculous taxes impose on non-national cars would come in sometime 2012 or 2011 earliest.

You would also see a mass migration of politicians too at that time.

• Ferruccio on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:16 pm

Very nice interior.I was at the launch. The wealthy potential buyers that are targeted by Porsche, as usual will buy this, as they have always done so when it comes to such RM 1M cars. So lets not worry about it and take good care of your 'broke-mobile' that is sitting outside :)

• Malaysian citizen on Oct 05, 2009 at 6:33 pm

P2_permanent_basher: ei bodo g duduk la tempat lain…entah2 ko nak pakai keta pun x leh lah…sengal…rakyat yang x penah bersyukor ko nih….ko x penah duduk negara lain mcm nih la perangai….kalau ko pandai nape ko x jd menteri?

• mitlanevo on Oct 05, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Quattroporte rules!!!

• mel (Member) on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:17 pm

To mainly P2_permanent_basher, i support the G to protect these so called assets like P1 but i disagree wih d G protecting the people inside there ruining P1. Volkswagen & Opel are very much protected by their own G until today with even stronger pressure from EU, same as the Koreans. i used to live in the UK and wallaawei unlike msia everything is being taxed!!!! just name it…..VAT 15%, income tax up to 40% ish, council tax of my flat up to 1500 pounds, if u r in london u have congestion charges of 10 pounds per day…..even the fuel is being taxed with recent hike of 2 pence…stop complaining and blaming entirely on G….

i would question umw toyota on prius selling price in Langkawi and Labuan RM 128k ish …..these two places are tax free zone whats with the price? they are selling this car at the same price as in UK….is UK closer to Malaysia?

taaa

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 05, 2009 at 9:44 pm

1,000,000 times better than any flagship car Proton will ever make.

Go Germans!

You have the greatest auto engineers on the planet. You don't have to send 70 engineers to UK to build a 1.6L turbocharged engine unlike some carmakers did.

• mitlanevo on Oct 05, 2009 at 10:52 pm

wow, i thought JULIAN LEE is the only loser here, but seems that i was wrong after all….

• Casey Liew on Oct 05, 2009 at 11:55 pm

Simply amazing, Hail the Germans!!! Bring us more of your engineering marvel! Still stuck with my Little Pony. :)

• wow…1 million Ringgit for a "basic" one…*gulp* If only i am one of those rich bastard that Georgie mentioned ! haha…there is nothing wrong with rich ppl btw ppl work hard to get where they are for all you know Georgie dont be jeolous…la bro.

• Late me become a Gov on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:31 am

buy in ,malaysia is not wort it is like give money for charity to malaysia gov. my be wait till can have bright very then can effort one of it.

gov are idiot only burden own malaysian…

• tokmoh on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:21 am

bkk: unless the 'rich' people are like those Western bank CEOs whose company goes bankrupt, then gets bailout by govt, then uses the taxpayer's money to give multi-million bonuses to their fellow board of directors. They're not rich. They're robbers.

• lowprofile on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:44 pm

gosh, why does almost every bit of news becomes a proton or the 'gov' discussion. i think we are losing focus. the story here is about the panamera and not proton. maybe we could steer back to porsche, the panamera and also the competitors? perhaps the rapide, the estoque (if it gets the green light), the quattroporte?

• china sucks on Oct 06, 2009 at 9:40 pm

mr smart said,

October 4, 2009 @ 10:01 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

October 4, 2009 @ 9:16 pm

——————————————

you’re wrong! you have to be really really rich to buy this car

dream on … in the meantime…

——————————–

yes, you must be rich and stupid. the rich and smart people will buy a Maserati Quattroporte

——————————-

mitlanevo said,

October 5, 2009 @ 2:52 pm

wow, i thought JULIAN LEE is the only loser here, but seems that i was wrong after all….

————————-

you are the real loser here

• khax19a on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:06 pm

wow this is one nice car…

too bad tax make the car price 2 one million

i wonder where the tax goes other than paying the gov servant,

upgrade the facility for msian citizens…

• erm, dont be too obvious but i guess the taxes most probably will be going to their own save box in the bank.. lol..

• narrowband on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:50 pm

I'd buy this car if I had the money. Astons are not as practical. Small. Oh the Maserati Quattroporte also I dig. Hehe. Then again, can buy two 5-series already…

• cep cep cep…

no tax oso nomal ppl cannot buy one lah

stupid people who always complain bout the tax!

go get urself out of msia n u'll know how charitable the G are… in other aspects of ur life.

• Lean Sigma on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:39 am

buy in ,malaysia is not wort it is like give money for charity to malaysia gov. my be wait till can have bright very then can effort one of it.

gov are idiot only burden own malaysian

• Alpha on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:02 am

Lean Sigma–>yeah,a lot of us agreed the gov is a bunch of idiots.but can u please learn proper English first before telling others they're idiots??no offense~

• well. gov are idoits by imposing such high taxes.. well, they alrdy have alots side incomes if u noe wat i mean.. but it seems insufficient to them.

• hei guys, well due to our pointless taxes of 200% for the government? but here is the not so good news. the panamera has alrdy added two more new variants in the catagories. 2 v6 engine start at rm 760000.

• Mohana Sundram Balakrishnan on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:06 pm

I fall in love with Porsche Panamera Turbo, it’s really an awesome car.
    Im getting it on Jan2011… Hoooray gona drive the model car that really inspired me.
    Waiting for Jan2011, can see me driving in klang valley… :-)