Next generation R36 GT-R to arrive by 2013

Nissan GT-R Spec V
The current model R35 GT-R

This comes as quite a surprise to me but it looks like the GT-R will receive a typical Japanese lifecycle of 5 years, to mirror Porsche’s lifecycle for the 911. Nissan’s global product planning VP has unveiled that an “R36” Nissan GT-R will be coming by 2013.

The next generation R36 Nissan GT-R will use an evolution of the current Premium Midship platform with the engine mounted up front and a transaxle twin clutch gearbox mounted at the rear. The engine is expected to remain a force inducted V6 engine.

GALLERY: R35 Nissan GT-R

[zenphotopress number=99 album=61]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ranger78 on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:46 pm

Awsome!!!!

• cadphobia (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Wow……….mamamia………

• keyboard rosak on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:16 pm

2013? Why it takes so long?

• akupunya on Oct 06, 2009 at 4:37 pm

cun siot!!!!….meleleh air liur gua..

kalau letak amoi sebelah ini r36 gtr, pilih salah satu..

gua ambik ini keta maa…

i lap u GTR!!!

• justice (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:11 pm

somehow the news of this new R36 doesn't seemed exciting anymore. then again, a GTR is GTR. synonymous with the word legend when it comes to Skylines.

guys, given the choices to choose from, which of the following would you choose? every Skyline lovers must have a particular model in preferences. Explain for your choice. Pls don't state because its brand new or latest reason if you choose R35.

GTR32, GTR33, GTR34, GTR34 Nismo, GTR35

• skyLine4ever on Oct 19, 2010 at 3:35 pm

GTR34…..
      for me, it’s body design is more stylish…..

• Tiadaid on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:22 pm

justice said,

October 6, 2009 @ 9:11 am

somehow the news of this new R36 doesn’t seemed exciting anymore. then again, a GTR is GTR. synonymous with the word legend when it comes to Skylines.

guys, given the choices to choose from, which of the following would you choose? every Skyline lovers must have a particular model in preferences. Explain for your choice. Pls don’t state because its brand new or latest reason if you choose R35.

——————————————–

GTR35 for me because it's more gadget laden, their data display in the car was developed by the guys who made Gran Turismo games, and the fact that it looks more muscular than the old GTRs

• keyboard rosak on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:34 pm

akupunya said,

October 6, 2009 @ 8:37 am

gua ambik ini keta maa…

i lap u GTR!!

——————————————————

Kalu gua, gua pilih amoi..haha

• theanswer on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:38 pm

the old use to compete with evo,impreza or even nsx. now the new gtr already compete with porsche. i'd choose GTR 34. it's still the godzilla.

• drooling….

• farghmee on Oct 06, 2009 at 5:46 pm

so r36 will have similar look as r35?

r33, r34, r35 have dissilmilar looks..

• bmpower on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:33 pm

keyboard rosak said,

October 6, 2009 @ 9:34 am

akupunya said,

October 6, 2009 @ 8:37 am

gua ambik ini keta maa…

i lap u GTR!!

——————————————————

Kalu gua, gua pilih amoi..haha

+++++

Rugi la U.

You should choose the car.

With the car, you can get more and more amois haha.

• korean on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:36 pm

V6 sounds lame like Perdana or Cefiro, should put a V10.

• mitlanevo on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:48 pm

that means more top speed, and faster 0-100kmh time???

thats scary…!!!

• DukeKTM on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Despite rapid changes and became more better years after years in GTR developement…I still likes the GTR32 the most…its power is adequate and the looks during its time is awesome…where can I find 1 in Malaysia….?

• Vijay on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:31 pm

A V6 does not sound lame, have you heard a volkswagen r32? it sounds awesome.. and besides the nissan gtr35 is already brilliant, so they are wise to just make subtle improvements.

• Raixa on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:04 pm

i don't know whether they have the idea but it is not japanease that i kow to make something legendary so why they make GT-R so subtle change.

Chnage it to be more radical than now.

• BeRrY on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Ckap byk pon xguna kalo xde duit hahaha~~~

aku mau!!!!!

• Black Dog on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:30 pm

A bit distant future to talk about next model.

By 2013, everything might have changed, including our G!

• i like the new GTR , but at the same time i adore the old skylineGTR , the R34 which is one of the best and classical muscle looked japanese super car.

it is the same way that i like the new mercedes S-klasse, but at the same time, i love to see W126 more.

• neo_dax (Member) on Oct 06, 2009 at 8:45 pm

Damn..wonder when can i get my hand on these…japs supercars are level with euros make nowadays

• more_MiLEAGE_pls on Oct 06, 2009 at 9:36 pm

more amoi la with this car dude…take the car laa….hahahaha

• live it on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:23 pm

if the price is the case I'll go for continental car..or even Italian…haha

• Ariff on Oct 06, 2009 at 10:23 pm

does that mean by 2013 ,recond GTR35 will only cost abt the way R34 cost now??abt RM250k??where's my tabung!!i need to start saving!!aaaaaaahh!!R34 became a legend when R35 arrived..so will R35 when R36 arrive!!!!damn it!!!can't stop getting excited!!!

• lambov12 on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:10 pm

how come r36 looks 90% similiar to the R35 ??

• Ariff on Oct 06, 2009 at 11:26 pm

lambov12,the picture is GTR35 la..GTR36 in 2013.not revealed yet.

• I frickin screamed when i saw this post.

Disappointed to look at the R35 pictures tho.

Frickin legendary car.

• P1_P2_Are_Shit (Member) on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:12 am

Can any flagship car that Proton will ever produce beat this car? Not the Perdana V6 of course.

Something to really think about…

• Alan Tan on May 25, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Our Proton is a good idea. Due to lack of economics of scale & management skills, they end up relying on the government’s support. If they were to focus on creating decent sports car, they may survive.

• mr_3m on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:14 am

Dear Paul,

May be next time you shouldn't put pictures of R35 together in the postings if the news is about the next gen R36. Unless it is the spyshots or design sketches etc that can go with it…

Some commenters here got confused already. May be a 'related' link post to the R35 Spec V or R35 etc should be sufficient

Cheers

• mystvearn on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:34 am

Maybe its just an engine upgrade? And use of lighter parts. Please don't let it be like porche. Same shape car 40 years only minor changes here and there…

• MonkeyBrainz on Oct 07, 2009 at 12:48 am

The pictures posted are actually pictures of the upcoming Gtr V-spec.. It's just a minor upgraded version of the regular gtr.. A bit of carbon fibre here and new rims there and BOOM !! Double the price of the 'normal' gtr. =D

• Automotive Jury on Oct 07, 2009 at 1:57 am

i more likely to choose NISSAN SKYLINE GTR R33, for me this is the true Godzilla..anyway, hey..choose car la..why amoi?..aiyoo..haha..

• GTRio on Oct 07, 2009 at 2:08 am

Amoi la better…

better for human production instantly… hahaha

nbtw, nice ride yo….

too bad I'm not in the high class career :(

• tonton on Oct 07, 2009 at 2:16 am

carbon fibre body

carbon fibre seat

ceramic brakes

high gear boost controller

titanium exhaust

20 inch wheels

60kg weight reduction

this is not minor mind u

• WTF! 5 YEAR LIFE CYCLE!?

I have another 3 years then :(

• Alan Tan on May 25, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Azri, a sportscar is meant for racing. As long it’s powerful enough to your rival with a better car, that’s ok.

• Paul Tan on Oct 07, 2009 at 2:47 am

azri, u can afford to upgrade when the time comes lah ;)

• MonkeyBrainZ on Oct 07, 2009 at 2:51 am

My bad, i didnt know they changed so many things..Lol.. those rims are AWESOME btw.

• Danial on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:40 am

Means current GTR will drop after 3 years. .. if less RM300k is good enough..

• gegerl on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:44 am

the price drop wayy to much for 2nd hand GTR. the car performance couldn't get any better without perfect petrol for it, as malaysia only have SHELL V POWER to provide. therefore getting the current GTR35 is such a waste when u can get the Honda Civic TYPE R! the 2nd hand price is not that bad unlike the r35 i reckon?

• gegerl on Oct 07, 2009 at 3:46 am

better get the NEW HONDA CIVIC TYPE R for 200k rather than get the R35 2ND HAND. its a sports car, for sure after some years it wouldnt be as good as a new 1.

example: will u marry a 2nd hand girl or 1st hand girl? (just joking)

• hmm, abit strange to see them announcing replacement for gtr35 in 2013. kinda fast i think, i tot it would last slightly longer around 8 years.

just hope its even more killer than the porsches coming out soon.

• Paul, I got a new mid pipe btw ;)

• They're gona have to seriously struggle to come up with something better looking than this. =P

• nighttrain on Oct 07, 2009 at 5:32 pm

Note to self: start saving for R35 once R36 comes out in 2013. Nice of Nissan to introduce new version every five years. If not, we'd have to wait too long for the previous version to drop the secondhand price..

• shumi on Oct 08, 2009 at 1:30 am

want ever it is,it still a japanese plastic….not a supercar material…

• how dare you say japanese plastic?! Its perfection! (minus the transmission and odd sounds here and there)

Drive : 10/10

Comfort : 8/10 (runflats are bumpy)

Accel: 10/10 (3.5 secs.. what else do you want?)

Top Speed: 9/10 (300km/h sure can!)

Practicality: 10/10 (4 seat + tons of luggage space)

Maintenance: 10/10 (cheap compared to lambos)

Head Turning: 10/10(in 2008) , now its a 6/10

• Ariff on Oct 08, 2009 at 5:06 am

wat the!!Azri,that's an insult to a legend!!6/10 for head turning??even if got R34 ppl will still rush to see it.R35 is still a 10/10 for head turning for me.hehe.and the practicality is really good.yeah,the rear seats only for children.but who cares.boy,I wish i own one.

• Han!h on Oct 08, 2009 at 10:06 pm

justice said,

October 6, 2009 @ 9:11 am

somehow the news of this new R36 doesn’t seemed exciting anymore. then again, a GTR is GTR. synonymous with the word legend when it comes to Skylines.

guys, given the choices to choose from, which of the following would you choose? every Skyline lovers must have a particular model in preferences. Explain for your choice. Pls don’t state because its brand new or latest reason if you choose R35.

i'll pick the R35..it rivals against more supercars…

• paparazi (Member) on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:41 am

Wow! Great!! awesome car!!! i really want to own this mobile Semi-D la.

• selekohboi on Oct 09, 2009 at 10:08 am

this V-spec is suppose to challenge the previous lap record, which will be another pa*n in the "u know where" for Porsche.

• skyline lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:57 am

i like this : black :-)

• skyline lover on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:58 am

:-)

• Are You Joking Geger on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:15 am

gegerl really??!!! A econobox civic compared to a supercar???? Am I missing something? Maybe I'll just get myself an Se-R Sentra since were talking Civics here. lol And your question about getting a 2nd hand girl than a first hand girl? Well I'm going to get the 2nd hand "Super" girl over any 1st hand "regular" girl anytime bro. lol. Just like getting married to a supermodel, not to a girl next door muse or something. haha. Not equal me friend.

• andii on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:41 am

yeah good car

• skyLine4ever on Oct 20, 2010 at 9:24 am

gegerl….
    u sure have some sense of humour….
    comparing Skyline with Civic Type-R….
    even R33 is far better than civic type-R….
    everyone will go for 2nd hand Skyline rather than 1st hand civic if they can afford it….

• ni kiro jadikla ni?

• Khairul on Jul 27, 2015 at 8:41 am

2015 already T.T