McRae replaces Wilks in IRC Neo S2000

Proton Satria Neo Super 2000

Apparently Karamjit Singh is not the only one who has parted ways with the Satria Neo Super 2000. Up north in the Intercontinental Rally Challenge, the MEM Proton team will be fielding the familiar Alister McRae in next month’s Rally of Scotland. McRae also replaced Karamjit for Rally Indonesia in the APRC, but due to some technical difficulties he and co-driver Bill Hayes did not manage to finish.

“We have decided to go our separate ways. Guy had his ideas on the way the car was working and they were not necessarily the same as our own. The matter is closed now, we’re moving on and looking forward to Scotland,” said MEM’s Chris Mellors.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MADBOY on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:36 pm

ahak..ahak..ahak.

• frossonice on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:44 pm

I just realise something. The side-mirror placing is in the middle of the door!

• bobdbilder on Oct 12, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Why do you need a side mirror in a rally car? Except maybe to see which tree you hit.

• gangully on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:05 pm

maybe Guy Wilkes is a really tall fella and sits further behind in the car. Side mirror is used to see if there is a car coming and catching up from behind. You don't see it often, but if a car is trying to limp its way to the end so that it is eligible to start the next SS, then there will be cars overtaking you. And rear view mirrors in a rally car does nto help, coz more often than not the rear window is covered in dust.

• mr_3m on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:28 pm

rally cars need to be road legal because they need to be driven from one rally stage to another on public roads… hence why they need to be road-registered (noticed they got small registration number (usually stickered on)… and to put them on public roads, you will need the side mirrors, signal light indicators (notice that cars racing on track don't have these) etc etc

• mr_3m on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:34 pm

so in theory, u can buy a 'works' rally car and still drive them to work if you want to…. bear in mind a 'works' WRC car in the old days like the Focus WRC cost around EURO 250k-300k…

even a small JWRC car like the Suzuki Swift Super1600 still cost around EURO 120k …

source:
    http://www.suzukisport-europe.com/sales/index.htm…

• kimi_ on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Where is the Malaysia Boleh spirit….LOL

Some times we need experience driver in a newly developed team…

Just like for Lotus F1 need experience driver to help develop the car and

should not choose a rookie like Fairuz…a wrong move

• bmpower on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm

There's open vacant for this car.

no drivers contracted yet.

I do believe, all the drivers are 'guest' drivers.

It's all need to improve the data.

Different driver, different style, different in everything.

It's all about to get ready by 2010.

All the best S2000

• bmpower on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:17 pm

a – the car need reg number, because they also use normal road. (and might be insured too!).

b – THAT side mirror wasn't used by the driver, it's used by the co pilot. No wonder it was placed there.

• superman on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:20 pm

the NEO S2000 is Left Hand Drive, so the side mirror IS used by the Driver.

• bmpower on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:31 pm

superman said,

October 12, 2009 @ 2:20 pm

the NEO S2000 is Left Hand Drive, so the side mirror IS used by the Driver.

+++

yeah.. you are right.

I think it might be easier that way instead of the normal one.

and, they dont have to open the window always for paying tol like us.

so just leave it there :D

• Raixa on Oct 12, 2009 at 10:35 pm

No matter what the MEM and Proton guys said. I just hope for the homologation of satria neo s 2000. now!!!!

• Everyone is trying to fit in the car before they wish to sign up contract for next year.

Basically is like car waiting for driver.

Rally or any type of track/ race cars, can not drive on Malaysian road, they are hazard to other road users, especially in case of accident. And JPJ (RTD) wont issue you road tax certificate either. The local practice is more or less like converting a road car to rally car and still carry on with their regular passenger car documentation.

Fairuz is fast, just the matter whether he can cope with it.

• fliedlice on Oct 13, 2009 at 1:03 am

I think the side mirror is so facr back because they tend to place the driver and co-driver further back in the car than in the standard version. This is done for better weight distribution.

• mr_3m on Oct 13, 2009 at 1:05 am

NA said,

October 12, 2009 @ 3:27 pm

"Rally or any type of track/ race cars, can not drive on Malaysian road, they are hazard to other road users, especially in case of accident. And JPJ (RTD) wont issue you road tax certificate either. The local practice is more or less like converting a road car to rally car and still carry on with their regular passenger car documentation."

—————————————————————

Each country will differ on their "road-legal" requirements….

hence why it is IN THEORY only, once you have a registration number on your rally car, you should be able to drive it on the road…. in the UK at least…

anyway, if in doubt always check with your local RTD before you buy a rally car for road use!!! ;-)

anyhow, as for Malaysia, i do agree with NA… as we have so many 'rigid' rules yet easily bypass by one means or another….

back to the original topic, it looks as though the Neo S2000 have potential but if we keep changing drivers as if they are driving a taxi, then how are we going to maintain some sort of continuity to the development of the car… just because you have different ideas, does that mean you have to part ways so soon?

Even Sebastien Loeb, Petter Solberg may have different ideas to their teams, should they leave also? Something is NOT quite right in the set-up of this team… money wasted somewhere?… i'm so so sceptic here…

• rally-fan on Oct 13, 2009 at 1:10 am

the main questions is :

what happen to karamjit and y is he terminated ?

so far no answer to this mystery. Anyone ? Paul ?

• bmpower on Oct 13, 2009 at 1:12 am

you dont have to be sceptic that much.

Rally is differents from F1.

scoetloeb himself already drove not only proton, but renault, skoda and many more this year. That's apply to many drivers too.

Even karamjit sigh just drove a Mitsubishi few week/month ago. ;)

• mr_3m on Oct 13, 2009 at 1:58 am

bmpower said,

October 12, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

"Rally is differents from F1."

———————————————

of course… it's not a 'glamour' sport like F1. F1 in fact could at any some point be worse than a circus.

Anyhow, the rally drivers tend to be more 'publicity' shy.. (not that they don't want to be known!).. but also seem to be more down-to-earth and more focused on their driving (& avoid those bad crashes) compared to F1drivers…

Trivia question, who is better (assuming they are given the same car to drive):

1) S.Loeb or Lewis Hamilton?

2) M.Schumacher or Tommy Makinen?

3) Carlos Sainz or Mika Hakkinen? (this could be tough, somehow Finland always seem to produce great drivers whether in F1, Rally etc for such a small country… I wonder what is in their food over there?

4) Karamjit Singh or Alex Yoong? ;-)

• MADBOY on Oct 13, 2009 at 2:24 am

Trivia question, who is better (assuming they are given the same car to drive):

1) S.Loeb or Lewis Hamilton?

2) M.Schumacher or Tommy Makinen?

3) Carlos Sainz or Mika Hakkinen? (this could be tough, somehow Finland always seem to produce great drivers whether in F1, Rally etc for such a small country… I wonder what is in their food over there?

4) Karamjit Singh or Alex Yoong?

—————————————————————

I think this is an unfair question as F1 & rally is totally different motorsport. Driving F1 car require difference skill from driving a rally car. Each sport require the driver to master a diff driving technique which is unique to that particular sport only. While the basic skill if similar, but to really master the car, this is diff level all together. To master the tecnique take years.

A F1 driver may be competative in rally and vice versa but to be a champion, if most unlikely. A F1 champion will beat a rally champian in F1 car and in a rally car, he will be beaten.

However in the case of Karamjit Singh or Alex Yoong, KS will beat AY in both sport. LOL

• seancorr on Oct 13, 2009 at 2:32 am

Hahaur right dude…KS is a better driver than AY

• singh on Oct 13, 2009 at 3:24 am

Malaysia pull out of season opener of A1 GP next week . Reason given is no driver available to drive. How come we never plan for A1?? Miss 1 round is like losing some valuables points. Aiyoyo, how to be overall champion if like this??

• Ferruccio on Oct 13, 2009 at 5:37 am

singh said,

October 12, 2009 @ 7:24 pm

Malaysia pull out of season opener of A1 GP next week . Reason given is no driver available to drive. How come we never plan for A1?? Miss 1 round is like losing some valuables points. Aiyoyo, how to be overall champion if like this??

—————————————————————-

How did we even finish top 10 in A1GP regularly when we don't even have a sizeable pool of drivers to choose from all this years? Only 3 Malaysians hold the required race license, only 2 are experienced to drive at that level. One has retired, the other is doing Renault World Series the same weekend. The realities on the lack of drivers is setting in. Malaysia consider it self very lucky all this while in A1GP.

• mr_3m said,

October 12, 2009 @ 1:34 pm

"so in theory, u can buy a ‘works’ rally car and still drive them to work if you want to…."

Hm, a friend of mine had 25 yrs ago a Ford Escort 2000 RS Group 5 with 270hp, an ex factory racing car.

Of course the car was extremely fast, but also:

Extremely loud inside (no carpet, simple uncovered metal sheet surfaces everywhere), a two seater (backseats were removed to fit the roll cage and the 5-point racing seatbelts), switching the gears was difficult (unsynchronized racing gearbox with spur-toothed gears) and the consumption was 25l/100km. Not to mention that you had to rev at minimum 5000rpm, even in town…

And most of all it was a extremely impractical car. After opening the door, you first had to swing away a massive tube of the roll cage too. And closing the 5-Point belts took nearly 5 minutes. For a short trip around the kampung on a friday afternoon the car was perfect. But for everydays use ? To drive to work ? Not too much fun…

• Jarum on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:04 am

MADBOY said,

However in the case of Karamjit Singh or Alex Yoong, KS will beat AY in both sport. LOL

=============================================

This was answered some years ago in the Merdeka Endurance Race. AY is definitely much quicker than KS on the track. But I am sure that KS will be quicker in rallying.

• Jarum on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:07 am

bobdbilder said,

Why do you need a side mirror in a rally car? Except maybe to see which tree you hit.

===============================================

One obvious reason is that rally car do use public roads when travelling from one stage to another. Therefore, the use of the side mirror come in handy during transport stages.

Same thing as why does a rally car need registration/number plates!

• Jarum on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:14 am

fliedlice said,

I think the side mirror is so facr back because they tend to place the driver and co-driver further back in the car than in the standard version. This is done for better weight distribution.

Not necessarily. Some drivers, such as Tommi Makinen and Sebastian Loeb still pretty close to the steering wheel.

The side view mirrors are place in the middle of the door so as to allow the driver to have a clearer view of the corners (e.g. while clipping the corners). At the end of the day, having the calls from the co-driver is not enough, driver's visual plays the most important factor of driving in a rally competition.

• Rocast on Oct 13, 2009 at 4:32 pm

Good comment Mohd!

At lasttttt.. someone that does know what the hell he is talking about unlike some of the earlier comments that make me crying

• rejabali on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Dont know the purpose of enter rally…same as F1..just a racing. It doesnt reflect the brand. If there was A RALLY OF STD PRODUCTION CAR (no modification) yes it good to enter which will help the car manufactuer to improve all aspects.

• Squawk on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Finland is a place where everyone's expected to drive well due to their terrain and weather, and where you get to drive a car way before your voice starts cracking.

• MADBOY on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:20 pm

rejabali said,

October 13, 2009 @ 10:35 am

Dont know the purpose of enter rally…same as F1..just a racing. It doesnt reflect the brand. If there was A RALLY OF STD PRODUCTION CAR (no modification) yes it good to enter which will help the car manufactuer to improve all aspects.

————————————————————-

Then again, a standard production car will not survive the race unless you drive like kura-kura.

• Subaru and Mitsu are well known because of rally.

• rally_fan on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:13 pm

The mirrors are placed further back, as the drivers seat, including the steering wheel, and the pedal box are placed all the way back into the middle of the car(the co-drivers seat is just as far back, but set even lower for the same purpose) . this is to help improve weight distribution. The seat position is fixed, with only the height being adjustable. to adjust for a driver who is shorter or taller, the steering column and pedal box are moxed forward or backwards to compensate.

track cars also need mirrors, as its just as important to look forward as well as back, just in case someones trying to sneak into the corner behind you on the inside(or outside). remember, f1 cars also have side mirrors.

i think theres no harm for proton having so many drivers test the car.. they need all the feedback they can get since they only have a few cars driving in competition today.

In comparison, peuqeot has over 60 cars being driven by different drivers and teams in all conditions, and this in itself is generating tons of feedback for the manufacturer to improve the car. i'm also very sure that peuqeot has a budget several times larger than protons.

• Tiadaid on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:50 pm

MADBOY said,

October 13, 2009 @ 3:20 pm

rejabali said,

October 13, 2009 @ 10:35 am

————————————————————-

Then again, a standard production car will not survive the race unless you drive like kura-kura.

———————————–

Doesn't Group N rally cars are standard production cars with little modifications?

• awg1031 on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:36 pm

Jarum said,

October 13, 2009 @ 3:04 am

This was answered some years ago in the Merdeka Endurance Race. AY is definitely much quicker than KS on the track. But I am sure that KS will be quicker in rallying.

i thought KS beats the hell of AY in MME last few years..hmm

• Ferruccio on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:23 am

MME, or any endurance racing is a bad example for comparing drivers. It is not a drivers race. It is a team race and more about the machine and the team. There are 3 drivers per car. You can have Michael Schumacher in a car and he will not drive the car to 100% of his abilities. He is a poor driver for endurance racing if he did that. The pace is dictated by their team manager/ race engineer whose concern is to preserve the equipment and win through strategy, not lapping as fast as possible. The car itself is set up to make it as easy to drive as possible for all 3 drivers for the endurance period and to preserve tyres and fuel within reasonable pace. They don't use the most aggressive set up for outright pace. They may do that for quali but not for the race.

Physically speaking KS will not last long in a single seater as his body is not trained for the high physical demands.

AY will actually have no problems coping with the physical demands of a rally car but he will not be as fast as KS due to the lack of experience.

For track racing AY is by a far margin better than KS. He IS among the top 2 best track drivers in Malaysia. For rallying KS is by far the better driver. He is the best rally driver in the country. There is no debate on this.

• aksMs on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:22 am

Wah, Ferruccio…you are really in love with AY aren't ya? Heheh…

• Ferruccio on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:00 am

I also said that for rallying KS is by far the better driver so I should be in love with KS too ;)

• rally_fan on Oct 16, 2009 at 4:53 am

alex might have had a terrible time in F1, but people forget(or are ignorant) he is by far, still the most successful asian driver in A1GP. beating even the japanese.. that to me is a great achievement for a driver who didnt have en early backgrd in karting unlike the other single seater drivers. also, i remember watching him race in macau in a porsche for the first time. a notoriously difficult race, and he won it first time.

• Man said,

October 13, 2009 @ 7:47 pm

Subaru and Mitsu are well known because of rally.

………………………………………………………………………

betol3