BMW Heads-Up Display now in full color

bmw-new-full-colour-hud

BMW has upgraded its heads-up display technology to have full-colour images instead of a simple red, orange, yellow and green system before this. This especially enhances the use of the HUD for GPS navigation purposes. Not something you’d probably care about but BMW claims the latest version of their display now only requires less than 10 LEDs to function, when older models of the system required over 100 of them. LEDs are energy efficient to begin with but this is one of BMW’s obsession with reducing power consumption (from 13 to 7 watt) in action, or is it to save cost on buying LEDs?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• common sensor on Oct 13, 2009 at 5:58 pm

B=Banyak .. M=Makan .. W=Wang .. still relevant?

• Annihilated on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:06 pm

Paul,

I believe most of the readers are getting "This website is reported unsafe" message. Please do something on your main page. Thanks!

• the fighter on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:06 pm

B=Banyak .. M=Makan .. W=Wang .. still relevant?

—————————————————–

still…if u have enough money

• Paul Tan on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:09 pm

yes i am working on that. dunno why also :(

• Neo.S on Oct 13, 2009 at 6:10 pm

in English , BMW = Burn My Wallet

• theanswer on Oct 13, 2009 at 7:12 pm

burn my wallet, byk makan wang..only happens in malaysia automotive industry.

• Korean on Oct 13, 2009 at 7:28 pm

When you are poor it is burn my wallet or byk makan wang, but if you are rich it is 'Best Man Win'.

• Anonymous on Oct 13, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Waah, so advance. Maybe another 5 years u can play Need For Speed on the windscreen?

BMW transforming to fighter jet.

• rexis on Oct 13, 2009 at 7:40 pm

something to block my view?

• nazri on Oct 13, 2009 at 7:50 pm

how much repair cost if windscreen broken?

• Paul Tan on Oct 13, 2009 at 8:03 pm

the windscreen is the same. the heads up display is projected onto the windscreen.

• paul, the HUD is not part of the windscreen? Then the Windscreen will be cheaper. If the HUD is part of the windscreen, think the cost would be more than RM10K, with all the other gizmos. Heard the Peugeot windscreen with the auto wipers, speed sensitive wipers, etc cost RM6K.

• Paul Tan on Oct 13, 2009 at 8:20 pm

The HUD is basically a small LCD at the top of the dashboard that projects its reflection onto the windscreen – the result is the HUD image.

• ahmad norman on Oct 13, 2009 at 9:10 pm

BMW – bring me women

• mystvearn on Oct 13, 2009 at 9:20 pm

I think its got more to do that less parts are easier to maintain compared to more parts, in this case LED;s. But LED's last like forever unless you go and break them.

• Better can use it to watch movie…LOL

• GermanCarLover on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:10 pm

@Nazri

You donno how it works ma?

Something like the Batman lights project to the sky..

Got it? LOL

• azrai on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Slowly all the airspace technology become norm in our daily life. After composite panel and aluminum chasiss, now this display.

• pycazu (Member) on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:44 pm

Hi Paul, I give some assumption here about the LED technology, I do not know the actual HUD design of this however.

The latest design implementing fewer LED but with richer colours output maybe through the colour mixing techniques. Basically, mixing RGB colour with certain ratio through proper calculation could give you million colours output, but for certain this HUD does not required something close true colour. Such technique required more complex circuit with microcontroller control. Still, the most expensive part will be those LED. By doing this, maker save the cost, customer get more funky display, good for both!

While the previous design probably just simply projecting those LED colours on the windscreen and that's it.

• initial R on Oct 13, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Next, it will have new fetures like fuel eco, tyre info, weather info, google, iTune & so & so……. maybe in future u can make video call by using this tech.

• LP560-4 on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:10 am

BMW is stand for Banyak Makan Wang? Or Burn My Wallet? I think my wallet is becoming thicker since I drive my BMW. ;)

• BMW…beer, money, women

• B M W = Bloody Mahal Wheels!!

• babyboy on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:17 am

sibuk tgk kat screen tu.. eksiden pulak..

• better than you turn your head to look at GPS monitor.. ehehe

• Mpower on Oct 14, 2009 at 2:37 am

the bavarians are really working their brains out.. thumbs up!

• nice, should be easier to see now.

BMW= Brings Me Women.

• zafedz on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:40 am

Any plan to install this GPS into yer restore 320i paul?

• Simon on Oct 14, 2009 at 7:10 am

THIS WEBSITE GOT TROJAN!!! DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!!!

• Fuyiopo on Oct 14, 2009 at 8:04 am

The technology of electronics are just getting better and better…Lastime only fighter jets have HUDs. Today? Cars have them also….. Maybe for another decade, cars will be able to move by themselves…… Oh wait….car who move by themselves were invented ages ago…they're called "taxi"….

• Fuyiopo on Oct 14, 2009 at 8:09 am

The technology of the electronics is getting better and better. Last time only fighter jets have them…now even cars have them too..Maybe for another decade cars will be able to move by themselves….Oh wait…car who move by themselves were invented ages ago…they're called "taxi"

• Buyck on Oct 14, 2009 at 8:17 am

Splendid evolution !!! BMW is top of the bill in new technology's like speek recognition and so on!

• adlanb20 on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:00 pm

Yeah, i agree its a splendid evolution. I wonder how long such tech will take to be common in most cars…

btw, on the positive, BMWs are owned by people who are 'Bijak Mengurus Wang'…

• digital on Oct 14, 2009 at 6:27 pm

initial R said,

October 13, 2009 @ 3:54 pm

Next, it will have new fetures like fuel eco, tyre info, weather info, google, iTune & so & so……. maybe in future u can make video call by using this tech

Initial R, Don't look any further most of the features are

already incorperated in the present iDrive.

Well that's the price you have to pay

if you want the best in technology and motoring.

HUD is used to complement its sophsticated iDrive system. As the

driver now need not get distracted or having to look at the Navi

at the iDrive display.

• Adam lee on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:38 pm

BMW = Bavarian Motor Works

• Adam lee on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:44 pm

We might enhance this tech to project the image 10meter further to alert turtle speed driver in-front "Ai yo yo A-Chi Cepat lah" to drive faster. Wat do u guys think?

• shawal.ali on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:42 am

I tot they make planes first

• fique on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:21 am

azrai said,

October 13, 2009 @ 2:21 pm

Slowly all the airspace technology become norm in our daily life. After composite panel and aluminum chasiss, now this display.

next maybe ejection seat hehehe… just kiddin'

• tgk HUD langga org wahha sibuk tgk peta lah ape lah adoi adoi gizmo only nothig to proude kedai abg pun ader kot tak pun letak lcd projector kat kete sama gak ehehhehe jgn marah nanti kene jual

• basir on Oct 19, 2009 at 10:01 am

bmw=banyak mantap wa