Fancy a compact BMW wagon with a V10?

BMW M3 Estate

BMW has no competitor for the RS4 Avant as yet. I know there are customers out there that would definitely like an M3 Touring but I guess it’s just not enough for BMW. If you pick up copies of BMW Magazine or Performance BMW from the newstands you can sometimes see E46 Tourings turned into makeshift M3s. Each of the other 3-Series bodies have already received its M3 – the E90, E92, and the E93, but at least the E91 has a 335i, which can be chipped into an M3 contender.

m3-v10

Another option would be to get one of these babies – an “M3 Estate” custom-built from an E91 by Manhart Racing. It’s not exactly an M3 with a touring tail – the engine and transmission package in the engine bay is completely different as well and comes from the ‘older’ E60 M5. This means a big 5.0 litre high-revving V10 putting out 550 PS and BMW’s 7-speed single clutch SMG transmission. It’s already been pre-tuned with various bits and pieces from factory – a stainless steel quad-pipe exhaust, 200-cell racing catalysts, 6-pot front/4-pot rear Stoptech brakes, Bilstein PSS10 coilover suspension, etc.

BMW M3 Estate

The rear end of the car is typical E91 wagon (in these photos it is the pre-facelift version) but at the front, the whole unappealing pre-facelift E90 front-end has been replaced by the E92 coupe look, which is the same thing that BMW did with the E90 M3 Sedan anyway. You can buy one for €120,000, and of course converting your existing E91 is cheaper. But at the same time, an M5 Touring only costs under €100,000.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=551]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anonymous on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:36 pm

Now mom can pick up her son from school in style!

• not only in style, but in record time

• alpha0201 on Oct 14, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Now the whole family including pets can join the bone-crushing g-force & spleen mushing puke fest to the supermarket.

• <3 HATCHBACKSSSS

• Kevin Lee on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:00 pm

its a pretty good looking wagon, everything compliments and body designs flow perfectly. too bad they dont have this in malaysia

• exedy on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:39 pm

wow very nice wagon…

now can make race for wagon segment….forester,airtrak,e91..fuh

• initial R on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:53 pm

Hehe…. The good reason i can exchange my accord with this Wagon. Change my car family member after i have my Manual Exora. Wohooo…….

• A racing experience for the whole family.

• theanswer on Oct 15, 2009 at 1:59 am

forester(or at least compact crossover) and airtrek is suv..not wagon. thnx.

• lchan on Oct 15, 2009 at 1:59 am

why is there an alert of ciao.ws malware detected on your site?

• shawal.ali on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:37 am

your website got hacked

• frossonice on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:52 am

Paul, Lotus F1 team website have two pictures of scale model of their F1 cars.

• what the………………………………….

nice btw.

I want that rims for my sorento! heheh

• hkgkg on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:58 am

BMW is one of the car that need much more money to keep it in best conditions(im talking about standard BMW)..thats why many company prefers mercedez as their official car(cheap to maintain)

as for korean cars,

i had saw with my bare eyes countless of not-soo old kia carnival/naza citra which had dep-shit troublesome engine which resulting in full-overhauled…i couldnt see the same trend for our Proton

personally,

KIA are much nonsense to buy than proton…u guys owning naza citra?? u will surprised each spark-plug costs u rm150(v6 engine which need rm900 each time to replace spark-plug))

• i think i prefer the audi rs6, that really is ass kicking in an estate.

• fique luv nice (chea on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:52 am

these car meant 2 be collected like stamps n bragged… not 2 be use daily to wet market…

i'll pass (as if i can own one hehe ). anyway… nice wheels..

• kimi_ on Oct 15, 2009 at 7:27 am

Yes, that day i opened this web site and then my Kaspersky alert display got

threat….

• Paul Tan on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:52 am

Guys, I've tracked and removed the virus code that was inserted by hackers, are you guys still getting any attacks?

• CocoBear on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:33 am

I din get any sort of hacking from this website, maybe it was blocked by my firefox browser.

• the stik on Oct 15, 2009 at 3:20 pm

wahhh kereta mayat..!

• JULIAN_LEE on Oct 15, 2009 at 3:54 pm

It is BMW

• azrai on Oct 15, 2009 at 3:55 pm

When they have money, they spend it on this.

• scgtimk1 on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:59 pm

A chipped 850 T5 wagon cost much less money and can give this BMW a run for its money.

• RH PumpkinKing on Oct 15, 2009 at 7:09 pm

The tail looks a bit weird for the whole car. C63 AMG and RS4 looks more "1 piece".

• unknown on Oct 15, 2009 at 10:15 pm

nice touch from bmw.but why its look like 'kereta mayat'.bukan nak kutuk tapi try to see clearly on the car

• subhero on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:06 am

dont care lah waht ever mayat car.. meleleh bro..

rim saje dah tak tahan tgk dah.

• bga jd ank m`sia! on Oct 17, 2009 at 6:58 am

perh! mencanak!

• hauliancar on Oct 17, 2009 at 7:52 am

everything looks sleek except the tail lamps…

• FAReast on Oct 18, 2009 at 1:31 am

csv said,

October 14, 2009 @ 9:19 pm

i think i prefer the audi rs6, that really is ass kicking in an estate.

——————————————————

agreed.. Audi RS6 is the pioneer and the best in this segment.

this bmw looks ugly…