More Daihatsu K-Car Concepts for Tokyo 2009

daihatsu-basket-450

Want a cheap “landaulet”? Get a Daihatsu Basket Concept when it goes into production. Right now it’s just a concept little lifestyle “K-truck” with a removable soft top over the rear seats. There’s even a little boot deck behind the rear seats for tools and stuff in case the Basket is used to carry stuff, like another tool commonly used by people with the same name, the common basket.

tokyo-daihatsu-decadeca

And then we also have this fridge on wheels that’s called the Daihatsu DecaDeca. There is no B-pillar and both the front and rear doors swing outwards towards the front and rear of the van respectively. And like most K-vehicles in Japan, it is powered by a 660cc engine. And it’s nice that both the DecaDeca and the Basket do have a certain family resemblance about them.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bmpower on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:32 am

one word.

fugly

• tokan on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:38 am

maybe kenari replacement?haha

• claxxion on Oct 14, 2009 at 9:41 am

I dont care what other people says about these cars, but i think that theyre cool and funky.

• Vezeroth on Oct 14, 2009 at 10:11 am

Hahaha… Fridge on wheels! Paul your funny!

• Gajen on Oct 14, 2009 at 10:54 am

nice design….very interesting…

• andrew on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:13 pm

perodua semi-panel.

• azrai on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Perodua Arena.

• azrai on Oct 14, 2009 at 3:44 pm

660 and no people complain about under powered..Hehe..Siapa makan cili dia terasa pedas.

• limbo on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:09 pm

something subjective to comment. sometimes we must think about practicality, durabality, more then just a satisfaction. But i will think more then twice to have it. What for anyway. i already got one fridge at home. ahaha

• RunnerUp on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:14 pm

Kiutness. Suitable for girls and women.

• mariappan on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Basket? Actually its does look like a basket with an carry handle in the midle.

• daniel on Oct 14, 2009 at 4:54 pm

if this is proton… everybody will have negative comment, luckly this is japanese brand.

• which one you choose?

green or blue

for me the green one, this green one drives forever, looks ok in 2010 2011 2020,

but the blue will look dated after one year.

why aaaa?

• which one you choose?

green or blue

for me the green one, this green one drives forever, looks ok in 2010 2011 2020,

but the blue will look dated after one year.

why ?

• JULIAN_LEE on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Better than crap Kenari and MeeVai. Sure is their replacement

• sr20det on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:17 pm

kan betul, nippon suka kereta kotak..

• initial R on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:22 pm

Don't worry guys. If this not sell well in japan, Produa will rebadge & sell it in malaysia. Malaysian ppl love rebadge technology. I no need other 4 door fridge coz i already have 4 door fridge in my kitchen. Hehehehe…..

• akupung on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:30 pm

cute car

• 112bz on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:44 pm

wow with sliding rear door or could be like rx8 door?? ha ha..

• RunnerUp on Oct 14, 2009 at 5:54 pm

daniel said,

if this is proton… everybody will have negative comment, luckly this is japanese brand.

If Proton came up with something like those (and they did), of course they will be bashed (and they have been), because the demand is too small for such design in our market.

But in Japan, the demand is there in their market. So, good for them lah.

Now that Proton knew more (hopefully) about our market in Malaysia, Juara-ish design will not resurface again. Not from them, at least.

• farghmee on Oct 14, 2009 at 6:34 pm

exterior wise, i like both, for in urban only la..

the basket looks cool, but here in malaysia..later hujan kelam kabut nk pasang kanvas :P

cute, LEGO-ish car :)

• i bet this car looks awesome when you put in the black tint and vip rim (17inch i guest emmmm…)… and also put some wild body kit.. heheheheh.. i think it doesn't looked ugly anymore… like the yakuza style.. hahahaha

• darjahn on Oct 14, 2009 at 7:01 pm

A matchbox on 4 wheels.

• I think is simple and practical shape. For sure you wont drive fast in a vehicle like this, more like lifestyle commute in city. In Japan sure is economical lifestyle, if it is here, it 'll became non mainstream expensive Japanese import.

Try check out the Mitsuoka Cute at Jalan 222, I bet that the fitting is better than any of the Perodua and Proton. And the only reason that it's sell higher is because of AP. Back in Japan is selling almost the same price as Persona. and the fitting is better than Waja. Open your eyes Daniel, and see the real thing, touch it , feel it, don't just take whatever information the people here or high up there fed you.

Proton is a great fun car to drive with, I love to drive modern proton to be honest. but it just have this little thing here and there that frustrate you over time. Sometimes you just can't tolerate a model girlfriend, despite she looks great and shag-alicios.

• RunnerUp on Oct 14, 2009 at 8:14 pm

NA said,

… Sometimes you just can’t tolerate a model girlfriend, despite she looks great and shag-alicios.

Well said. Haha.

• hadi1975 on Oct 14, 2009 at 8:15 pm

a real basketcase…..hehehehe… practical in japan only in malaysia, only for city driving… would be nice to see a few on the road other than then usual cars.

• stupid rubbish japanese car. Then bile tak laku, campak kat malaysia. Pastu org msia bli pasal keta jepun, tak kisah, janji keta jepun. Tah le.

• awg1031 on Oct 14, 2009 at 11:19 pm

quick perodua, rebadge this!!!!!! hahaha..

not suitable for malaysia highway.even for city driving..bus and lorry driver drives like mad here.heck, the tail gating turbo and non-turbo wannabe also..

• Please don't bring this into our country! Noooooo…..

• acerman on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:21 am

Guys, i got links to the spyshot of the Perodua upcoming MPV, but I cannot load it today, cause to much work to do…maybe tomorrow

ke chow!

• antu kete on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:08 am

igot name PERODUA MPV from insider.. THE NAME IS PERODUA ALFA.. SOUND LIKE THAT..

• you BASKET!

• fazron80 on Oct 15, 2009 at 7:22 am

These are so ugly I'm getting mc tomorrow because I'm getting sick just by seeing it.

• lowprofile on Oct 15, 2009 at 11:13 pm

they sure like boxes as boxes are the most efficient shapes

• osh_kosh on Oct 16, 2009 at 12:36 am

daniel said,

October 14, 2009 @ 8:54 am

—————–

& whose mistake is that? Proton itself… Daa… giving itself a bad images for more than 2 decades

• danial1 (Member) on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:14 am

If you name this car Proton Deca sure people will bash it like h.e.l.l .

Peoples will say: So ugly !no taste! stupid design! Build to sell! No passion! Lame designer! Proton Engineer and designer got nothing interesting to design ah?!! Potong Junk! Junk design! Crappy car!

Proton Juara a.k.a Mitsubishi Town Box, was design and produced by Mitsubishi Motor Corporation in Japan, also got the bad reputation just because Proton rebadged it as Juara.

The juara engine was Mitsubishi 4A31 with1100c.c powerplant.

HA! HA! HA! tipical Malaysian mind!!!

• danial1 (Member) on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:35 am

Here is another picture of Mitsubishi Town a.k.a Proton Juara in its native places in Japan

[img ]http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/2/29/Mitsubishi_Townboxwide.JPG[/img]

• not in malaysia pleaseeeeee,,,,

• putra_rider on Oct 16, 2009 at 6:05 pm

most malaysian wont buy this..

no aero maaa…the kindergarden kids can draw better curve…

• fique luv nice (chea on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:48 am

nice fridge err… car..