Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Lotus Exige Scura: 35 unit limited edition with matte black paint goes 0-100km/h in 4.1s

Advertisement

Lotus Scura

A new limited edition Lotus Exige has just been announced – the new Lotus Exige Scura. Scura means ‘dark’ in Italian and the pillar of the whole ‘indulge your dark side’ theme used as the launch theme is a soft-feel matte black paint finish with contrasting high-gloss Phantom Black triple stripes that run the length of the car. A carbon fibre front splitter, oil cooler intakes, side airscoops and a rear spoiler complete the looks.

scura-interior

The ‘Scura’ theme continues on the inside, with vast use of carbon fiber to both complement the exterior theme as well as reduce weight. The seats and center console are also made from carbon fiber and finished in high-gloss clear lacquer. The handbrake and gearknob have a special anodized treatment which leaves the metal with an anthracite colour finish.

scura-side

The engine makes 260 PS at 8,000rpm from its supercharged intercooled 1.8 liter Toyota VVTL-i engine and thanks to its light weight of 925kg it takes the car from 0 to 100km/h in a blazing 4.1 seconds. The engine is sourced from the Exige Cup 260 and makes use of the Cup’s lightweight flywheel and lightweight supercharger piping. The dampers are Ohlins 2-way dampers mated to Eibach variable height springs. The wheels are matte black lgihtweight forged wheels wrapped with Yokohama A048 LTS tyres. The car also has variable slip traction control.

scura-front

Only 35 units of the new Lotus Exige Scura are available. It is offered in Europe, South Korea, Australia, South Africa, Thailand, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, New Zealand, Indonesia and Malaysia. It will also be made available in Japan but the car will be called the Lotus Exige Stealth instead. It will be sold in the UK for £45,000 with an additional £950 to be charged for OTR costs such as delivery, PDI, first service, number plates, first registration fee, valet, 12 months Road Fund Licence and a full tank of fuel.

Look after the jump for a full photo gallery of the Scura.

Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Detail_4
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_High_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Detail_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Interior_Detail_4
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_High_4
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Side_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_3qtrs_3
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Detail_6
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Rear_3qtrs_2
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Detail_2
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Interior_Detail_3
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_3qtrs_21
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_3qtrs_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Rear_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_High_3
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Interior_Detail_2
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_3qtrs_2
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Interior_Detail_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Rear_3qtrs_1
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Front_High_2
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Rear_3qtrs_3
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Detail_5
Lotus_Exige_Scura_Studio_Detail_3

67 Comments »

1. KS said,

October 19, 2009 @ 9:37 pm

Pic pls!

2. csv said,

October 19, 2009 @ 9:54 pm

the beauty of lightweight chassis.

small engine but can beat cars twice its power output. good for road tax, good for fuel savings too.

3. Paul Tan said,

October 19, 2009 @ 10:02 pm

sorry am having some trouble with photos… coming

4. palik said,

October 19, 2009 @ 10:19 pm

badass car!! nice in color..huhu

5. freeze said,

October 19, 2009 @ 10:22 pm

My saga even lighter, 920KG only, and no carbon fibre also… Put the engine in my car, sure can do 100 in 4.0secs

6. celicazz said,

October 19, 2009 @ 10:40 pm

0-death in 4 secs, that would be rite…

7. infinity said,

October 19, 2009 @ 10:41 pm

got some batman’s batmobile feel…hahha

8. Ariff said,

October 19, 2009 @ 10:42 pm

whoa!!how much selling in Msia??will touch the RM400k border or not??

9. ahmad norman said,

October 19, 2009 @ 10:47 pm

is matte black paint legal in malaysia?

10. rasd. said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:05 pm

whao;;;;;SAMRT STYLING

11. metalheads said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:07 pm

sick.. love the colour

12. LotusLover said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:13 pm

i want one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

13. Ariff said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:31 pm

ahmad norman said,
    October 19, 2009 @ 10:47 pm

is matte black paint legal in malaysia?

“““““““““““““““““`

y is it not legal??i saw a few matte 3-series n murano otr ady..

14. Josh said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:44 pm

AWESOME!

15. Gajen said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:48 pm

aweosme man….wonder how many units are available in msia

16. Annihilated said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:53 pm

Nice one.. wonder if Lotus could do a mini Reventon with more sharp edges next. ;)

Btw, has anyone read abt Lotus return to red (-£14mil after tax loss)? It is the opposite of £2mil profit of last year. But I assume that is justified by their investment in Evora and Esprit replacement (fingers cross) which could pave a smoother road for Lotus in future. Evora has already create a lot of buzz in the autoworld.

17. nabill said,

October 19, 2009 @ 11:55 pm

ya oso saw one satria neo and vios in matte black….all wanna be la…bt i mus say the color lookz very batman-ish!

18. M3 said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:24 am

matte black is like flat black is it?

19. haziq said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:48 am

the centre aircond and the gage cover reminds me of our very own satria neo. ;p

20. Neo.S said,

October 20, 2009 @ 1:35 am

oh my ……..must get one !!!!

21. Keliwontron said,

October 20, 2009 @ 2:09 am

Saw one BMW 5 series at Alamanda today in awesome matte black colour …. are there many paintshops able to do matte colour job ?

22. bobdbilder said,

October 20, 2009 @ 2:09 am

This one’s for Emos and Goths.

Its amazing what they can do to this car. Its a moving canvas. Those lines are exquisite. But I still prefer the British Racing Green and Yellow. Rather than go with an Italian sounding scheme, they should have gone with a German sounding one.

I knew some German friends who really understand and appreciate what is the embodiment of Chapman’s living ethos.

23. Neo.S said,

October 20, 2009 @ 2:25 am

hmm when can see a sequential gear from Lotus ? if that were installed that would be perfect !!!

24. litespeed said,

October 20, 2009 @ 7:03 am

never liked the limited slip diffs in the Exiges, it really spoils the handling IMHO.

but still this is a car that is too track focused. imagine taking your girlfriend out to the mamak in one of these. she’d embarass herself just trying to get out of the car.

25. Minardi Magnum said,

October 20, 2009 @ 7:13 am

I want to buy the steering only..can it suit Proton car’s? anyone?

26. Micheal said,

October 20, 2009 @ 8:12 am

woah!!! this is pure street killa… heee!!!!

27. azrai said,

October 20, 2009 @ 8:19 am

Can we wait for Exora Scura? Flat black exora with bigger rim and 1.8l engine from Toyota just like lotus.

28. Micheal said,

October 20, 2009 @ 8:31 am

Minardi Magnum said,

October 20, 2009 @ 7:13 am

I want to buy the steering only..can it suit Proton car’s? anyone?

——————————————————–

i think steering wheels can fit any car… i want to buy the seats… for my bimmer…hee… lets buy it… then disasemble it… u take what u want… then i take what i want… hahahha

29. Tracks said,

October 20, 2009 @ 8:39 am

Great looking car. Light weight with performance to match. Ideal for road and track.

IMHO, matte black colour should be legal in Malaysia as I don’t see a reason to disallow it. However, just because we see a few example of cars on the road with matte black paint it doesn’t automatically make it legal.

Similarly, just take a look at all the vehicles with excessive dark windows tinting. They are illegal but they still get away with it. What is alwys lacking is enforcement.

30. Lotus Fan said,

October 20, 2009 @ 8:47 am

I bet HRH The Sultan of Brunei is gonna get one, as Lotus will be offering him..

31. rally_fan said,

October 20, 2009 @ 9:09 am

“celicazz said,

0-death in 4 secs, that would be rite…”

Only if you’re totally clueless with a steering wheel..

32. Mysticmind said,

October 20, 2009 @ 9:49 am

demmmm fast

33. shaif said,

October 20, 2009 @ 10:02 am

This only suit with MIB organization or Yakuza….bad car for bad people…not left out…Batman…ho..ho.
    So is there analysis on how much percentage of Lotus DNA goes to Proton car, except the handling only. Perhaps a special car that looks Proton but feel Lotus inside.

34. lmst said,

October 20, 2009 @ 10:17 am

yes…my LMST look like this car if compare at dashboard…ok la…mY saga also feel like Lotus..good job proton for bring Lotus feel in their rakyat car…thumb up!!!!!

35. mkrafz said,

October 20, 2009 @ 10:22 am

nice one..
    doesn;t need all the fancy stuff..
    just pure driving pleasure..
    with power in a small engine displacement..

36. Mohamad Iqbal said,

October 20, 2009 @ 10:29 am

Is there any evora matte planning latter :)

37. metalheads said,

October 20, 2009 @ 10:54 am

Thanks for the update paul =)

38. Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK Spec said,

October 20, 2009 @ 11:10 am

How much it costs in malaysia huh? below 200k ??

39. KATS said,

October 20, 2009 @ 11:26 am

Engine put in 920kg Saga?
    Sure engine and front tyre go first, body left behind…. just joking.

40. tokmoh said,

October 20, 2009 @ 11:36 am

Looks brilliant!! Feels like a very suitable car for Batman n Darth Vader!!

41. torque said,

October 20, 2009 @ 11:48 am

celicazz said,

0-death in 4 secs, that would be rite…

Hahaha…that’s a good one!! :-)

42. torque said,

October 20, 2009 @ 11:53 am

Anyway, glad to know that Celica’s 7th generation engine is still good and reliable all this year. Hmmm…if my Celica is a joy to drive to the moment of it’s Lift range, this car should knock u out (grin from ear to ear)…light weight, got Lift and supercharged…perfect combo!!

43. Mohamad Iqbal said,

October 20, 2009 @ 11:55 am

loves the rear spoiler, perfect with waja and persona..

44. daniel said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:02 pm

will be very hot in the afternoon….

but very nice car…

45. Automotive_Critics said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:14 pm

Good job. I hope the gear knob paint would not faded like domestic Proton. It should be texture and not painted to cut cost.

46. joe said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:21 pm

guys why the dashboard somehow looks like saga lmst??

47. Automotive_Critics said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:22 pm

lmst said,
    October 20, 2009 @ 10:17 am

yes…my LMST look like this car if compare at dashboard…ok la…mY saga also feel like Lotus..good job proton for bring Lotus feel in their rakyat car…thumb up!!!!!
    ——————————-
    Some might not agree as Lotus interior design sacrifice the ergonomics and cause stiff long run drive. Lotus interior design should remain in Lotus car only but the chassis is yes to Proton cars. it’s superb and safe.

48. fazron80 said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:43 pm

The interior dashboard, steering, gearknob and even handbrakes looks very Proton-like. It must be true that Lotus does design the interior of Proton cars. I think Proton should take this interior and put it in their cars.

49. madimat said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:45 pm

wow! a Lotus for Batman ! +))

50. Wen said,

October 20, 2009 @ 12:49 pm

IDK where did i read this must be ages ago.
    I recalled Lotus cars having less or no CIF tax, because being proton’s subsidiary, tax was removed for it to be more competitive?
    It would be heavenly if this car is 240k +-
    Can anyone confirm?

51. Anonymous said,

October 20, 2009 @ 1:26 pm

Wonder if the car get scratches, can use polishing wax?

52. MADBOY said,

October 20, 2009 @ 1:32 pm

fazron80 said,
    October 20, 2009 @ 12:43 pm

The interior dashboard, steering, gearknob and even handbrakes looks very Proton-like. It must be true that Lotus does design the interior of Proton cars. I think Proton should take this interior and put it in their cars.
    ————————
    They did. Look at the 1st generation Gen2, big mistake.

53. Automotive_Critics said,

October 20, 2009 @ 1:44 pm

Anonymous said,
    October 20, 2009 @ 1:26 pm

Wonder if the car get scratches, can use polishing wax?
    —————————
    Use sand paper first then polish. It should be OK.

54. nmh said,

October 20, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

Oh man…son of Darth Vader’s car. I really want one

55. Fridz said,

October 20, 2009 @ 3:55 pm

There are a number of car such Gen2 colored with matte black i’ve seen in JB..that one looks great..does it need to be polished?

56. mystvearn said,

October 20, 2009 @ 4:55 pm

Looks nice. Like Lotus doing a Reventon exige

57. skullfire said,

October 20, 2009 @ 5:35 pm

damn this car looks super awesome! i love the batmobile-like feel it gives you

58. MADBOY said,

October 20, 2009 @ 5:40 pm

nmh said,
    October 20, 2009 @ 1:48 pm

Oh man…son of Darth Vader’s car. I really want one
    ——————————————–
    Luke Skywalker’s car?

59. BeRrY said,

October 20, 2009 @ 6:55 pm

wonder if they do the same on exora oppss i mean evora~~~~
    =b

60. Annihilated said,

October 20, 2009 @ 7:47 pm

litespeed said,
    October 20, 2009 @ 7:03 am

never liked the limited slip diffs in the Exiges, it really spoils the handling IMHO.

but still this is a car that is too track focused. imagine taking your girlfriend out to the mamak in one of these. she’d embarass herself just trying to get out of the car.
    ————————

Hahaha.. she has to wear pants not skirt. Can’t imagine. hahaha…

61. mitlanevo said,

October 20, 2009 @ 8:38 pm

brilliant car, but starting to get bored already, elise and exige dont have any new body design…

62. ecah said,

October 20, 2009 @ 10:19 pm

ermmm .. nakkomen ke tak erkk .. mcm style lama jerk tu lah color tu memang mengancam gile …. ape pun susah nak nak beli lah mahei kalau kaya pun tak kan ku beli kete nih… kalau lah .. nice color only else quite similar to other product…

63. luq said,

October 20, 2009 @ 11:14 pm

won’t the matte finish paint just add drag to the car as opposed to glossy paint finish? bet the car could do better than 4.1 sec with glossy finish..am I right?

64. kodok said,

October 21, 2009 @ 10:21 am

kaler sama cam spek oakley wa…matte black monster dog!..wakakaka

65. Y said,

October 21, 2009 @ 10:37 am

Batman crashed his batmobile in ‘The Dark Knight’. Maybe in the next movie he will drive this.

66. v6 said,

October 21, 2009 @ 11:00 am

wow fast….is it safe? the looks also damn ugly..

67. nmh said,

October 21, 2009 @ 4:22 pm

BAtman too big to drive tis…perhaps its 4 robin

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: New Toyota Mark X: official details and photos
next post: Former Ford engineer charged with selling vital information to Chinese auto companies