552hp Lexus LFA launched: full details!

We all know that this year’s Tokyo Motor Show will mostly feature Japanese models apart from cars by just three European manufacturers. Nevertheless, the show that kicks off this week will have at least two major highlights including the Toyota FT-86 Concept and an all new supercar by Lexus. Yes as the title suggests we are talking about the V10 LFA.

The 2-seater LFA is motivated by a mid-front mounted 1LR-GSE 4.8 litre DOHC V10 that cranks out 552hp at 8,700 rpm and 480Nm of torque that is achieved at 6,800 rpm (90% of which is available from 3,700 rpm).

Lexus LFA Individual Throttle Body

The engine that screams at a red line of 9,000 revs features Dual VVT-i technology, equal length exhaust manifolds and high-volume, a total of 40 valves, 12-hole fuel injectors, 12:1 compression ratio and is Euro 5 compliant. The powerplant was co-developed with Yamaha and features a total of ten individual throttle bodies – one for each cylinder! Titanium valves, ultra–light weight rocker arms with a diamond–like coating and a fully integrated lower crankcase reduces pumping losses at high RPMs.

Mated to a rear-mounted 6-speed Automated Sequential Gearbox (operated by steering-mounted paddle shifters) that drives the rear wheels via a limited slip differential, the engine enables the supercar to hit 100 km/h in just 3.7 seconds and reach a top speed of 325 km/h. The drivetrain has four driving modes that is made up by Auto, Sport, Normal and Wet modes. Each mode has a specific gearshift program as well as engine and brake control logic systems to let the driver tailor the car’s performance to suit different driving conditions.

Stopping power is provided by carbon ceramic 390 mm front discs and 306 mm rear discs. The front setup has 6-piston aluminium calipers while the rear features 4 pistons. The LFA has a track-tuned suspension that according to Lexus, gives “the best possible balance between control and comfort”. It has a bespoke front wishbone and rear multilink design configuration that is mostly made of aluminium alloy. It also has aluminium monotube dampers that were also featured in the LFA race car that took part in the Nurburgring 24-hour event. The rack and pinion setup in the LFA features an Electric Power Steering System.

The 1,480kg car sits on 20-inch aluminium BBS wheels that are shod with Bridgestone-sourced 265/35ZR20 tires for the front and 305/20ZR20 tires for the rear. Along with a drag coefficient of 0.31, it has a carbon fibre rear diffuser and flat underbody that help generate significant downforce. There is also an active rear wing.

The hand-built interior is treated to seats upholstered in fine leather and Alcantara. The trim details are finished in brushed metal while the floor-hinged brake and throttle pedals are made of forged aluminium. The hooded instrument panel combines an LCD display panel with a colour Thin Film Transistor (TFT) and a motor-drive movable ring. It features a single circular dial with a central tachometer with an LCD needle.

When engine speed exceeds 9,000 rpm, the display area turns red to prime the driver for an up-shift. It can also be programmed to turn yellow or green when the revs reach a user-selected range. The dial also houses a digital speedometer and gear indicator, transmission mode, vehicle control data and trip information displays.

At 4,505mm by 1,895mm by 1,220mm with a 2,605mm wheelbase, the car is slightly smaller than a Ferrari 458 Italia. Production will be limited to 500 units and pricing in the US starts from approximately US$375,000. Lexus revealed that the LFA will be hand-assembled at the Motomachi plant in Toyota City and each V10 engine will be assembled by a single engineer. Continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=567]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• This is much more expensive than Ferrari 599.

• Baron on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:36 pm

nice car…..and nice price..

• The price range is in Carrera GT category.

• Ariff on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:37 pm

doesn't it looks too much like FT-86?but who cares!!!damn hot!!!woot,woot!!!i want one!!!is this considered a contender for GT-R,911 and such??I want this!!

• macspeed on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:38 pm

awesome…. but priced at £336,000 onwards…it sounds very very pricey…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:45 pm

The overall shape of the LFA really reminds me of the Toyota Supra,very decent looking car…

BTW, Paul, are you saying that the LFA only has a limited production of 500 units? Or is it 500 units a month? Please don't tell me this is another "one-off" car like the Lamborghini Reventon…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 21, 2009 at 11:57 pm

horrible. anyone who buys this obviously haven't heard of the nissan gt-r

• But the price…..better stick with humble baby ferrari or baby lambo or baby aston

• Ariff said,

October 21, 2009 @ 3:37 pm

"doesn’t it looks too much like FT-86?but who cares!!!damn hot!!!woot,woot!!!i want one!!!is this considered a contender for GT-R,911 and such??I want this!!"

A contender for the GT-R at £336,000 onwards ? That's MYR 1,856,347.53 WITHOUT the tax !

I guess it should be a contender to the Porsche Carrera GT:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porsche_Carrera_GT

BTW: The Porsche Carrera GT was 400,000 Ringgit cheaper and had 60hp more… ;)

• sweeettttt…..this is not a take on gtr…priced way beyond gtr..

• cmc80 on Oct 22, 2009 at 12:10 am

It's rear looks like F458…

• paul,, theres a official ad by lexus for lfa…u shld put it here..the music the car makes…its worth every dime…

• mystvearn on Oct 22, 2009 at 12:29 am

That is one expansive toyota. I wanna see how fast it goes, not some concept in NFS Shift

• Day deSIANG on Oct 22, 2009 at 12:49 am

seriously… the new AE86 makes more sense than this! not the car but the price… :) it looks like baby lambo… lolz

• double helices on Oct 22, 2009 at 12:49 am

Gives the GTR a run for its money!

• mitlanevo on Oct 22, 2009 at 12:51 am

500 units + 336k pounds?

must be joking… this a nice car, but i rather stick with Gallardo or 599…

• woww..superbb…

• flopsy on Oct 22, 2009 at 1:10 am

very cool

• farghmee on Oct 22, 2009 at 1:10 am

i love the tacho/speedometer! :)

super supra!

• Diablo on Oct 22, 2009 at 1:17 am

336k pounds for a Toyota? It doesn't even have enough 'soul'. GTR still the better bet. Probably more tuner friendly too

• yippi33 on Oct 22, 2009 at 1:20 am

great design and techs..but it is somehow missing something..maybe theres no toyota DNA design in it..it doesnt look like a toyota..

• ericfoong81exe on Oct 22, 2009 at 1:30 am

Pretty much impressive, better and futuristic outlook than GTR, more advance electronic gadget…….good 0-100 timing……but very poor in terms of pricing, hope the actual performance really worth for the price.

• Charger on Oct 22, 2009 at 1:37 am

Is that a DI engine?

• that sounds like a little bit too much. Remember the Maybach crisis ? Maybach is selling lesser than what they can produce and Rolls Royce's demand is double than expectation. the problem here is that people buy lambo or porsche is becasue of the heritage of it, not becasue of speed.

that is a very strong move which to me is just a little too much.

• rexis on Oct 22, 2009 at 2:06 am

I mistakenly read as "3.7 seconds to reach a top speed of 325 km/h".

• Alvin Toffler on Oct 22, 2009 at 2:09 am

looks reminds me of the celica… but with abso-f*****g-lute power. this is how cars should be made.

• bmpower on Oct 22, 2009 at 2:47 am

powerfull? hahaha.. what a blatant , blinded by the badge!

enter nurburging? to beat who? beat tata nano?

remember, non of toyota are champion or driver car.

they (selfclaimed) only for comfort and quality. (yeah, their lexus brand just damaged by their latest problem – gas pedal stuck while running! and causing accident! – PAUL! why didn't you publish that story here? oh come on!)

Just give me an exige (not scura), even it sourced by the T engine itself… it'll beat this overpriced and 'sportcar wannabe' flat out.

£336K vs £45K exige scura? we already got clear winner right? oh.. even with GTR..£56K. i doubted…

for the toyota fan, either blind or any… just buy it!.. because it's none of my business. haha

however… Congrats toyota.

This one is not boring as usual. at least you now a sportcar maker wannabe. prttthhhh.. :p

BUT if you smarter…. take this! :

V8 4.5-litre – 562hp (that's higher that this lexus).. and it's :

Ferrari 458 Italia . priced estimated ONLY £149K ! (yes! this overpriced toyolta is double!). Ferrari anytime!

• RunnerUp on Oct 22, 2009 at 3:11 am

yippi33 said,

great design and techs..but it is somehow missing something..maybe theres no toyota DNA design in it..it doesnt look like a toyota..

Hmm. Shouldn't that be a good thing?

• can't wait to see GTR and this LFA whack it out on a track…

• torquemonster (Member) on Oct 22, 2009 at 3:28 am

king, i know that u will be coming to bash again.. i advise u pls stop all this nonsense and stop behaving like a child, thank you. back to the car, first ever supercar built by a lexus! its a lexus, i believe it will be far more reliable than any ferrari, lamborghini, porsche etc etc. and it a have better built quailty too.

hope lexus built more exotic supercars in the future. (",)

• wth!!

• mu_77 on Oct 22, 2009 at 3:36 am

WoW……Finally toyota/lexus is back!!! The back resembles lamborghini rear to me…

• jolly_idiot on Oct 22, 2009 at 3:37 am

Gila car with gila price and only gila driver will buy for a gila ride.

• Toyota try to cover it's loss

• jolly_idiot on Oct 22, 2009 at 3:41 am

With that price for a Euro Jappy? Rather take the Italian tho it's more glamour. Italian… Always have the taste.

• zaff1984 on Oct 22, 2009 at 3:43 am

i dont like the front view la… look plain compare to it price… the rear especially the black thing one is R8-ish… i like the interior.

but if I got money, i'll go for F458…

• tamaki on Oct 22, 2009 at 3:50 am

I don’t know how they could build a car like this that fast, but they did. A worthy successor to the Supra at last, Toyota. Good work.

• RB NETT on Oct 22, 2009 at 4:16 am

THIS should be the next supra…..

• ambush on Oct 22, 2009 at 4:20 am

the design is kinda al-cheapo for a car that cost more than a Ferrari..typical front end looks like a celica….and that 3.7 sec century spin,,should at least get to 100km/h in 3.4 sec for an overpriced V10

• Vezeroth on Oct 22, 2009 at 4:34 am

i think its supposed to be a luxury sports car… its not supposed to compete with the gtr…

• It doesnt looks like 300k pound piece. It looks like an expensive toyota which is lexus. It shud resembles toyota GT 2000

• shawal on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:02 am

After all bread & butter cars putting Toyota into the top spot, they're pulling their pants down and having sum phun. They poured all that cash into that engine and let it burn. However,

Can they REALLY2 justify the price.., the back end looks menacing, the front..

looks like an aftermarket front bumper, like the cheapest 1 in NFS underground, no LED ? the concept looks menacing, like a million dollars

http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/lf-a-racer-bur…

i guess its function over form like all japanese cars.For that price they've shouldve gone a bit more CRAZY with the front looks, like a reventon crazy or an aston 1-77 ,Best RIM design i've seen is with a V10 audi R8, SADLY IT LOOKS LIKE A STOCK TUNER CAR….i think with the right parts you could make any 2 door japanese coupe look like it,

Not Good toyota , A Ferrari 458 will make you feel special just by looking at it, A GT-R, cuz of the price , history and what it can do…, this? mmm…

• p1basher on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:06 am

the butt ha ha ha

• lambov12 on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:15 am

too expensive … lambo gallardo better ..

• follower to supra.

is this the first v10 by a japanese manufacturer?

• Amir Mokhtar on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:50 am

This should be in the niche market segment. Still sceptical about Lexus' brand positioning in Europe. Wonders how this will perform.

• happiesdog (Member) on Oct 22, 2009 at 7:22 am

crazy price..but when i saw this 305/20ZR20 tires for the rear tyre..i guess it only usable in track.. imagine using this tyre saiz at malaysia's road..

• iskett on Oct 22, 2009 at 7:37 am

Very nice car!

But out of my range a bit..

Well, back to buying a GTR (i wish)!!

• Mysticmind on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm

lambo and ferrari is a better deal.

Toyota overpriced as always!

Price like supercar, look not like supercar.

but poor me, can't afford any supercar for the time being.. hahaha

• ZaidGSR on Oct 22, 2009 at 5:18 pm

damn!! the price…. its still a Lexus man

• blitzkreig on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:01 pm

I believe what was written above is not 360k pounds but 360k USD. That would price it in the range of 458 Italia and Mclaren MP4/12C

• Alifz on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:28 pm

I agree with you Mysticmind.. T nowdays is alwas like that..over-rated..

• libralcl on Oct 22, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Nissan GTR R35 anytime.

• guys….. u must agree not a bad effort from Lexus. I know u love your Ferrari and Lambo and they have heritage & good brand value. But lexus I feel will offer something more than….that …..something new…….. lets wait for top automotive magazine's to review…..

• Gajen on Oct 22, 2009 at 9:03 pm

mitlanevo said,

October 21, 2009 @ 4:51 pm

500 units + 336k pounds?

must be joking… this a nice car, but i rather stick with Gallardo or 599…

Diablo said,

October 21, 2009 @ 5:17 pm

336k pounds for a Toyota? It doesn’t even have enough ’soul’. GTR still the better bet. Probably more tuner friendly too

Guys its 375k USD…lol

• Gajen on Oct 22, 2009 at 9:06 pm

nice car…ill take this anytime to a GTR…this has the supercar looks…the gtr looks like a big japanese sports coupe thats it…

however i dont like the front….i prefer the concept front…the rear is spot on tho…mid engine v10…focused interior…3 exhaust in triangular manner…THATS WHAT I CALL A SUPERCAR

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2009 at 9:39 pm

First of all, I don't see this LFA as a GTR contender (but it's hard not to)…as I see that the Toyota top exec are trying to level this model with the Ferrari 458 Italia…which I think it's just crazy. I mean if any of us got money to burn, surely we all MIGHT end up with the Ferrari or the Carrera GT for it sheer race proven heritage.

Even if most of us are JDM hardcore fan (no badge nonsense hardcore)…I still think most of us is clever enough to know what's value for money mean. Example, a GTR35 with a 3.8 V6 engine (yes! its a twin turbo) is faster from 0-100km which it takes only 3.5 sec (some even claim 3.3 sec with launch control) as to this LFA 4.8 V10. Yes, power to weight ratio is also need to consider here as the LFA V10 engine is surely heavier than a V6. Also need to remember that the GTR is an AWD compare to this LFA which only a RWD…so traction, GTR wins again. In terms of pricing, well…Toyota/Lexus do claimed that this is a limited production of 500 units compared to the all out production of the GTR. Then again, it's not that hard to choose between this two…as the GTR is STILL a SUPERCAR with less price!!!

Anyway, this LFA is seriously a piece of engineering…if we are a car enthusiast we should know this car is a work of art. I'm not that fond of its front fascia design but the rear is (to me) gorgeous especially the triple stack exhaust. The interior may not contain as much gadgets as the GTR or plain driver focus like the Ferrari but it still one of the best interior I've ever seen. Loved the way they mould the center console shape and the meter cluster is great, simple, compact and not as busy as the GTR. So, thumbs up Toyota/Lexus for a job well done or should I said well built!!

My last comment is…in the end of the day this car IS a LEXUS LFA and NOT a Toyota Supra replacement model as a Supra is a production performance cars that cater all range of drivers…even the legendary Hulk Hogan has a Supra (had 2 actually but one got wrecked by his son), Supra for all!! This car ain't…

• waklu on Oct 22, 2009 at 10:26 pm

It does make Nissan GTR35 looks like a value for money sport car..

• torque (Member) on Oct 22, 2009 at 10:30 pm

waklu said,

October 22, 2009 @ 2:26 pm

It does make Nissan GTR35 looks like a value for money sport car..

Correction bro…the Nissan GTR35 fall on category of supercar these days…

• nizam80 (Member) on Oct 22, 2009 at 11:59 pm

The engine specs are definitely colossal. However, IF I have that amount of money, definitely would not be buying this. Would rather go for Gallardo or Spec V.

• Beruk MakYeh on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:01 am

ala~~~ org yang ckap kat cni komplen mcm2~~~ tp duit tarak~~~ neo CPS 57000 pon komplen mahal~~~

• slimershine on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:34 am

boring…….

• takeo1070 on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:56 am

how i wish honda could resume the NSX project….the true GTR contender

• Tezza on Oct 23, 2009 at 4:15 am

The interior is undeniably far better than da gtr-35..extremely plush n high tech.design..worth to every each penny..great job,lexus!!

• Victor on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:37 am

With that much of money… I can mod a R35 for much more HORSIE… 700 or 900hp. is easy with that much of money.. lol

• Looking Around on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:27 am

really?..almost 400k?..i prefer buying the old car like ae86, ae111, honda ek/eg series, mit asti, cyborg zr, evo 1-6.5 and sell all this car in Malaysia with profitable price..hehe..making money lor..hehe

• torque (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:18 pm

Beruk MakYeh said,

October 22, 2009 @ 7:01 pm

ala~~~ org yang ckap kat cni komplen mcm2~~~ tp duit tarak~~~ neo CPS 57000 pon komplen mahal~~~

Another IDIOT who bring PROTON into this issue…then again, he's name FITS him just righhhhttttt…..

• 308fans on Oct 24, 2009 at 3:15 am

what the ………..

Lexus so worthy ?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 25, 2009 at 11:19 pm

i wonder when will this appear in the fast and the furious…oh well some american idiot is bound to buy this lexus while the smart japanese people drive ferraris

• Anonymous on Oct 30, 2009 at 3:42 am

I like this car!

• i kinda like this car for its features.but the look is like it's meant just to be a celica replacement.doesnt justify the pricetag

• hksp (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 9:39 am

great piece

but still 458 for me

• La Vecchia Signora on Jan 26, 2010 at 12:06 am

There r sports cars

And then there r Ferraris

Nothing comes close to a Ferrari.Period

• noobie on Jan 26, 2010 at 5:44 am

hmm cool but very expensive but could it be cause by the way it was build? but the front design could be better bac seems a little like R8