F10 BMW 5-Series spyshot snapped conveniently next to a 5-Series GT for comparison

BMW-5-SERIES-F10-SPYSHOT
Click for enlarged high resolution image

The latest installment in the 5-Series sedan range must be very very near to launch as the test units that have been going around European roads are slowly losing their camo, perhaps in a way to tease the public about its impending launch.

The new 5-Series Gran Turismo that had already been launched can probably give us a preview of the design language that the new 5 will carry, but we can see here that there are some obvious differences between the GT model and the regular sedan.

f10-comparison

The bumper looks completely different with the air intake area that’s designed to look more level in terms of height as it spans from the left to right of the bumper. The kidney grilles also have a slightly different shape, and so do the headlamps which are wider and do not point upwards at the edges like the 5-Series GT’s headlamps, helping the car look wider.

5-series-f10-rear

There is more camoflage on the rear though, but we can sort of judge that the rear looks like an evolution of the outgoing E60 model, with new tail lamp designs with the cool organic lightbars that the F01/F02 7-Series have.

Look after the jump for a gallery of 5 spyshots snapped on European roads.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=574]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gajen on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:04 am

i dont see much of an improvement over the current 5 series…anyway still early to say…i like the current one a lot…wonder hows this one…

• Thomas on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:07 am

I love the styling of the car…. It's much better than the current 1.

• racerx111 on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:25 am

For a sec there, looks as tho auto bavaria's staking a claim on batik too.

• transformer (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:51 am

still prefer the pre-facelift 5 series, the eagle eyes nicer than the bubbly face-lifted version…

• wah, even their camo also nice one ah.

• iskett on Oct 23, 2009 at 6:09 am

It seems like they are rationalizing the design with the 7 series..

For now, i think the design is quite ugly, with the cover and all..

But the design may 'suddenly' look good when they fully unveil it,

Mercedes Gull wing anyone??

• Hahahah… i agree with you, Paul… "conveniently" indeed :D

• The exhaust muffler still at one side kaa, how hard to put the muffler at both left and right side

• tat senyum bumper, i dun tink i like tat

• xenonchrist on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:10 am

look no different from previous

• senyum mean nice..hehehehe nice to see nice to hold, oce broken consider sold..hehehehhe

• normal_user on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:19 am

I believed the current 5-series will be an instant classic once it is phased out. Everyone's favorite eagle eyes & tail lights are gone..

This one looks too tame and boring. Or maybe it would look better in full disclosure. Just have to wait n see.

• narrowband on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:34 am

i can almost imagine its rear being very similar to the latest 7-series' rear. The taillights will be similar.

• ambush on Oct 23, 2009 at 2:16 pm

wow the next gen 5-er is almost here! next M5 is gonna be a killer and the new benchmark for others to follow!

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:09 pm

I like this new styling better. Never liked the current 5 series.

• ambush on Oct 23, 2009 at 3:19 pm

the next gen 5-er is slightly wider, lower and larger than the ongoing model,,should equal superior handling dynamics..cant wait for this one!

• Can't wait to see this new 5 series.Should be always look tough and astounding.Sweet..

• I don't want to say anything now…it's so early to say….But,it looks more prestigious than the previous version

• waklu on Oct 23, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Lol..no more ugly black tape camouflage, instead they use monochrome psycadelic pattern that make your head dizzy looking at it..

• LP560-4 on Oct 23, 2009 at 6:18 pm

I wonder how the M Sport version gonna look like…

• M5power on Oct 23, 2009 at 7:17 pm

nevertheless another great invention by the bavarians

• Motorist on Oct 23, 2009 at 8:47 pm

The psychedelic pattern is a very smart way to confuse your visual perception. You cant make out the lines & hence cant see the true shape or angle.

Look at the rear & you cant make out where the rear lights start & finish.

Personally, am not jumping over the moon over these new BMW's. They've kow tow to the taste of US market.

• this looks like a really handsome car… very bmw-ish in an sublime way… but somehow i just don't think they can go one better than the current design because for me, the current 5 is a thing of beauty with its unorthodox styling… then again, it is that kinda styling that got everyone's opinion split between yes n no… this has a proper bmw charm…

• Paul Tan on Oct 24, 2009 at 3:16 am

Not only the US market taste, but the US market bumper size laws etc… the american market Honda Jazz looks completely different compared to ours bcos of the larger bumpers.

• michael on Oct 24, 2009 at 5:24 am

I feel that the new Mercedes E-Class W212 are much nicer!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 25, 2009 at 11:16 pm

nice car

• i dont know why it make me feels like a 3 series. LOL

• however, its is a nice BMW! rock and roll