Japanese market Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X receives minor changes

Mitsubishi has announced some changes for the 2010 model year of the Lancer Evolution X. At the moment these changes only affect the Evolution X sold in Japan and it is unclear if the updated Evolution X will reach our shores.

Exterior wise, the ‘Evo’ has received thicker side skirts while the plastic parts up front (around the front bumper) are now collectively lighter by 1.5 kg. This should improve power to weight ratio but Mitsubishi did not reveal performance figures for the 2010 model. On the inside, the trim has been tweaked and there is a new colour LCD screen that is nestled between the speedometer and tachometer. The screen features better readability and offers more functions. Under the hood, the only update is the engine cover that is now made of resin, although the auto maker did not reveal the benefits offered by the material – perhaps weight reduction (like the bumpers, etc)?

mivec-turbo-engine-cover

Other updates includes a windshield with noise reduction properties, an improved cruise control function, “welcome lights” and “coming home lights” features that turn on headlights when entering and leaving the car at night as well as a one-touch window washer function with improved water atomization. Chrome rings have also been added to the air conditioning control knobs.

The 5-speed manual for the range-topping GSR Premium Edition model has been dropped. Instead, it only comes with a 6-speed dual clutch SST transmission. The 5-speed manual is now only offered with GSR and RS trim levels.

Pricing in Japan starts from 3,150,000 yen (about RM 116,000) for the RS and tops out at 5,071,500 yen (about RM 186,000) for the GSR Premium Edition.

Look for more images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=589]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• drgn86 on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:51 am

it's a pity those prices won't be applicable here….. such injustice…..

• Jessen on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:52 am

If Japan is selling over RM100k, Malaysia going to selling it at RM200k. :(

• redfueler on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:55 am

coolllllllllllllllllllllllllll!!!!

• Shaun on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:15 am

No, not RM200k but RM300+k

• kl-ite on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:36 am

200k is nowhere near lah…definitely around 300s

the beautiful car is spoilt by the 'helang' i see on the road IMO

• Ariff on Oct 26, 2009 at 1:47 pm

only one variant of the Evo X is available here.abt rm300k.well,if u wanna cheap price,then go to Japan n stay for 3 years la.that's to avoid full taxation.not fully avoid taxation.

• azrai on Oct 26, 2009 at 3:43 pm

We still waiting for Proton Malysian made Waja Lancer.

• Car News on Oct 26, 2009 at 4:09 pm

how about fuel consumption, economy or not ?

• cantik.. no need to modified, the engine good technology and if the price rm150k to 160k memang laku laa…

• Bah.

Riceboy car. The Evo X sounds like an RC car on hotlaps… compared to the gasoline powered gatling guns below:

Real man's full sized supercharged V8:
    http://www.themotorreport.com.au/44022/2010-hsv-e…

Or at the very least, a lil cheaper but with similar lap times to the EVO X:
    http://www.caradvice.com.au/29081/2010-camaro-ss/
    422hp V8.

The low pitched rumble of these cars are awesome..stock from the factory.

• 'only one variant of the Evo X is available here.abt rm300k.well,if u wanna cheap price,then go to Japan n stay for 3 years la.that’s to avoid full taxation.not fully avoid taxation'

forget it…just migrat to Japan…hahaha!

• Meter Panel macam Proton jer, hehehe

• mitlanevo on Oct 26, 2009 at 6:15 pm

WTFFFFFFFFFFFFFF!!!!!!!!

selling so cheap in Japan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• rocku on Oct 26, 2009 at 6:21 pm

jz over RM100K.. i can afford this car, really… (if the price same as Japanese)

• apa-apa aje lah on Oct 26, 2009 at 6:34 pm

sampai malaysia terus jd 300k :)

gila mahal…

• kentank91 on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:40 pm

bila r aku bleh pakai kereta ney…(nada sedih)

bila tukar gover kot…(nada Mengharap)

huhuhuhu

• sr20det on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:59 pm

best ker? macam biasa je…

polis pun pakai EVO.

Tuner kena pakai impreza la. Baru best..

p/s: Impreza kecik sikit, senang nak parking. EVO tak best, sama macam PDRM pakai…

• theanswer on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:29 pm

kalau tuner kne la appreciate evo sbb rival impreza. baru la tuner sejati..kne hormat rival. so knapa dgn polis pakai evo? polis kt itali pon pakai lambo..x bes la lamborghini..mcm tuh?

p/s- myvi lagi sng nak parking dari subaru or evo. lamborghini x best, sbb polis itali pakai. LOL~

• budin on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:53 pm

why EVO X in Malaysia dont have a full spec likes Japanese market 1?

we lack of projector headlamps and hid spec, as we can see at PDRM helang one..

harga mahal tapi tak bagi hid and projector headlamp..

• pontiax on Oct 26, 2009 at 9:11 pm

fuck GOV. sell it for 100+ la..shit them

• hehe..get a wira or waja then convert lor..do it the msian way..haha!

• sr20det on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:22 pm

theanswer said,

polis itali dengan polis melaysia same ker???

memang satu itali la bro nie!!!

• Al buffoni on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:26 pm

kentank91 said,

October 26, 2009 @ 11:40 am

bila r aku bleh pakai kereta ney…(nada sedih)

bila tukar gover kot…(nada Mengharap)

huhuhuhu

————————————-

a malay bimbo!

u can have the brother called waja lancer soon

• sr20det on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:28 pm

err silap.. tanya la..

itali dengan malaysia ada sama KA Bro theanswer?

• barca on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:40 pm

one of the better japanese makes with better designs and engines.

thank goodness proton collaborated with mitsubishi rather than T/H/N. why? my old silver proton saga 1.5 auto still in excellent running condition after 19 years.

i shudder to think if proton chose T/H/N, as we might be driving the same, god-knows-how-many-limited-editions-or-facelifts a model has to endure, without upgrading the engines and other specs.

looking forward to 'wajalancer'.

• farghmee on Oct 26, 2009 at 10:43 pm

if performance is ur main concern, buy this evo :)

else, wait la for waja replacement model :)

• i wish on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:49 pm

i'll wait for the wa 'lancer' ja…

• flopsy on Oct 27, 2009 at 12:10 am

FHP said

forget it…just migrat to Japan…hahaha!

————————————————–

it's not easy to live in japan…they just look at u just like we look to our neighbor country…u know what i mean… i study here and wish i could just study in Malaysia…it is very hard

• anyone can share the latest news/development on the new Waja?

• famexia on Oct 27, 2009 at 12:25 am

tax in malaysia ni mengarut sgt..cian org malaysia xleh sng2 nk pkai kete kool cmni..huhu

• ezra said,

October 26, 2009 @ 9:34 am

Bah.

Riceboy car. The Evo X sounds like an RC car on hotlaps… compared to the gasoline powered gatling guns below:

Real man’s full sized supercharged V8:

422hp V8.

— — — — —

you are comparing sound from a 4 cylinder engine with a V8 engine. seriously??

• 3 000 000 yen actually not that 'cheap' quite pricey here even to japanese … … even the car is 'cheap' , cost of maintance here more that you could think .. at least you need to pay around RM2k at least to go for binually check-up before the JPJ here release a road-tax stamp for you … still thinking the car is 'cheapo' … lu pikir la sendiri

• babyboy on Oct 27, 2009 at 1:25 am

(about RM 116,000) for the RS and tops out at 5,071,500 yen (about RM 186,000) for the GSR Premium Edition.

whatsss up..

• takeo1070 on Oct 27, 2009 at 1:58 am

guys here talk about cheap evo in japan..yes the car there is cheap…but what about the rest…your food neh….house, hospitalisation, education…..damn they are explosive high. so be grateful living in malaysia. By earning 10k amonth you can drive 2 cars(100k above) and living in 400K house…just to say a few…..can you have that even in our neighbouring country???i know what its like living in Japan.

• been around & still think Malaysia is better… no where is perfect!

looking forward to the new Proton Waja (Lancer)

• just to say a few…..can you have that even in our neighbouring country???i know what its like living in Japan.

—————————————————————

not bad mah in neighbour contry – SGP, i stay here, earn merely SS6k can affort apartment and EVO9, still not tat bad. FYI, EVO X here seling only S$166,988, the truth is, u have 5k here can spend like u have 20k, but in boleh land, u have 5k better act like only have 500, WHY? CRIMINAL rate too high!! my car ever forgotten to LOCK, but nothing happen aft weekend……

• not bad mah in neighbour contry – SGP, i stay here, earn merely SS6k can affort apartment and EVO9, still not tat bad. FYI, EVO X here seling only S$166,988, the truth is, u have 5k here can spend like u have 20k, but in boleh land, u have 5k better act like only have 500, WHY? CRIMINAL rate too high!! my car ever forgotten to LOCK, but nothing happen aft weekend……

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I agree with 2718, boleh land all drive the tin can potong better, not so attracting to robbers, drive EVOX must transform to PDRM look, else may attract robber gang..

• not bad mah in neighbour contry – SGP, i stay here, earn merely SS6k can affort apartment and EVO9, still not tat bad. FYI, EVO X here seling only S$166,988, the truth is, u have 5k here can spend like u have 20k, but in boleh land, u have 5k better act like only have 500, WHY? CRIMINAL rate too high!! my car ever forgotten to LOCK, but nothing happen aft weekend……

• Georgie on Oct 28, 2009 at 12:31 am

2718 said,

October 27, 2009 @ 12:11 am

not bad mah in neighbour contry – SGP, i stay here, earn merely SS6k can affort apartment and EVO9, still not tat bad. FYI, EVO X here seling only S$166,988, the truth is, u have 5k here can spend like u have 20k, but in boleh land, u have 5k better act like only have 500, WHY? CRIMINAL rate too high!! my car ever forgotten to LOCK, but nothing happen aft weekend……

=============================================

Then just stay there. Be their citizen and don't come back. No one needs ungrateful citizens. And don't come here boasting around your salary. Have you heard of foreign exchange? Do you even know why "have RM5k better act like only have RM500?" What kind of retard statement is that?

Show us the pictures of your apartment and your Evo9. The fact that we own your so called tin-can potong cars doesn't mean we have a terrible life. Me? I just prefer to enjoy my evening on my 1-acre backyard of my double storey detached house doing nothing.

• waklu on Oct 28, 2009 at 1:19 am

Don't worry, his Evo9 runs on underground tracks..

• if i can afford without thinking the resale value..will buy Lancer GT..

• shaif on Oct 30, 2009 at 4:38 pm

Why there is no news about the upcoming Waja-Lancer, is it true or just a lie to spark interest on Proton….If not I'm gonna take other car, perhaps Kia Forte.

• ezra said,

October 26, 2009 @ 9:34 am

Bah.

Real man’s full sized supercharged V8:

422hp V8.

— — — — —

nick said,

October 26, 2009 @ 5:11 pm

you are comparing sound from a 4 cylinder engine with a V8 engine. seriously??

– – – – – –

A moron's comment, and history (if he reads) had proven that a 'puny' 6-inline can do 1,000bhp from the land of rising sun without blowing up the engine like they always do…and had to cast the Godzilla off Le Mans just to save their faces! Haha…

• apit the hustler on Nov 26, 2009 at 4:59 am

papehalpun….. evo9 nie jepun punye… malaysia da ade satria neo…

neo pun best ape…

malaysian national supercar!!!!!!!!

akan ku beli nanti.sabao jele

MENUNJUKKAN TAHAP TEKNOLOGI KITA NGAN DIORANG..

langit ngan bumi..

tapi wa tetap sokong kereta Malaysia.

HIDOP SATRIA NEO!!!!!

• no money Buy don tack Proton Car Vs Mishibishi pls…..

• poker on Mar 26, 2010 at 6:59 pm

mcm sial je kereta nie kete aq lagi lawa tau

LAMBORGHINIIIIIIII Laaaaaaaa weyh

• Amin GmbH on May 01, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Supercar fr Japan is far natural in term of speeding compared to European, though European cars are far seamless. You can only get Supercars fr Japan that is CBU without outsourced parts.