Prices for Volkswagen Passat CC and Scirocco officially unveiled; both cars in showrooms

my-scirocco

Two new Volkswagen cars have been added to the Volkswagen Malaysia range – the Passat CC and the Scirocco. The Passat CC is available at the showroom today, while the Scirocco is said to be at all showrooms next week onwards.

The following are the launch prices:

• Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI – RM243,888
  • Volkswagen Passat CC – RM239,888

my-passat-cc

The Passat CC’s price is a bump up from the Passat’s RM228,888.00 pricetag. The Passat CC has a 200 PS 2.0 litre TSI engine with turbocharging and direct injection but it does not use a DSG gearbox. Instead like the Tiguan it is mated to a 6-speed Tiptronic slushbox automatic. It is based on the Passat platform but with a sportier roofline (think of MB E-Class versus CLS-Class), and is 50mm lower to the ground and 30mm longer. If you need a little more in terms of looks, you can get an Abt kit.

Features are generous – 6 airbags, ABS, traction control, stability control, ISOFIX seat points, and adaptive chassis control which adjusts the suspension damping and power steering assistance characteristics to suit the driving pattern.

Look after the jump for e-brochures for both cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SavvyTron on Oct 31, 2009 at 2:49 am

Nice.

• tamaki on Oct 31, 2009 at 2:59 am

price like i expect, another astronomical figure for me but this vehicle deserve it,hopefully some affordable ppl drive off this babies on street.

• EchoTango23 on Oct 31, 2009 at 3:05 am

The Passat looks like the current Camry pre-facelift model…

Hmm…I wonder who copy who? ;)

• wattt?? on Oct 31, 2009 at 3:13 am

Wow beautiful, but out of normal ppl's reach :( Jeezzzzz

• yeah, too high price for cc. proton should ckd it and sell 155k according to new NAP

• Master Mind on Oct 31, 2009 at 3:18 am

watch only ma….mybe next times…buying it after become profesional and succesfull businessman..hahah

• Ariff on Oct 31, 2009 at 3:21 am

I want the Scirocco!!huhu..

• ppl who are studying…study hard…tan maybe who knows…luck on u..can go buy

• Show me the GTI!!

• cmc80 on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:01 am

Just my opinion…

If have to make a choice between BMW 1 series and VW Scirocco,

I choose 120i

Between 3 series, C Class and Passat CC, I choose 3 Series… :)

• theanswer on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:12 am

cmc80,

no need to elaborate. just say u'r a big bmw fan. we understand ok.

i think 120i not as hot as rocco or even gti.

• 308fans on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:26 am

cmc80 said,

October 30, 2009 @ 8:01 pm

Just my opinion…

I choose 120i

Between 3 series, C Class and Passat CC, I choose 3 Series…

hello~~ go get ur beemer , dun spoilt the mood here okk?????????

• 308fans on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:27 am

cmc80…

come on.. u drive your 120i, let the scirocco smoke you instantly!! :)

• mitlanevo on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:39 am

plain and dull 1-series vs the awesome looking Scirocco ???

wow, biggest joke of the day…

• cmc80,

the beemer will get smoked all the time. wakakakakkakak!

• 1series not just plain ugly, looks bulky and looks heavy as well, 120 not as powerful as scirocco as well

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:47 am

disappointed with the price of the scirocco

• azrai on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:48 am

These 2 models will surely CKDed at Tg Malim plant if NAP is follow through. More than 1.8l engine and price exceed RM150k.

• Need opinion here…

is it too 'weird' for a forty plus people to be driving the rocco?

• the price is the issue that i hate this goverment for…..the actual price is just 99000 to 125000 only but becouse of the bull shit policies we have to suffer with low quality cars and die in them to….grow up

• oh yeah, price just like we expected.

i envy the guys who will get to drive these beautiful rides man. damn!

• mitlanevo on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:30 am

40+ y/o ppl drive scirocco?

i dont see anything wrong with that…

• FAReast on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:30 am

cool wheels!

• yay!! finally out….roll one out of the showroom by mid year…..XDD

• comarezzi on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:45 am

luv d scirocco…. need 100k fast 4 downpymt…. droollllll….but golf is the more sensible choice for me…maybe

• nabill on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:47 am

u should see the CC in real life…looks great and very imposing…but reading VW service centers in other forums….it makes proton SC like luxury !

• Colin on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:48 am

In term of engine? is there any difference compared with the golf? As i saw it on vw website, the scirocco torque come at 1,700 rpm n golf at 1,800 rpm.

• Anonymous on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:53 am

Its disappointing that VW Malaysia does not bring in the 1.4 TSI block for the Golf (Golf GT -without the i) & Scirocco.

• coolguru on Oct 31, 2009 at 6:01 am

What about ppl saying about VW after-sales service? Paying to buy is not an issue – albeit for those we look for BMW, Merc range – but many points will be deducted when come to learn TOO MANY issues with the so-called engineers in the VW service ctr / workshop.

Poor attitude, lousy skills – big bills!

• nice cars but prices are way too high for me…gotta hit that jackpot !

• IM NOT RICH ENOUGH TO OWN A SCIROCCO.

• nice car but if u compare with c class, 3 series n A4…would u buy passat???

• iskett on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:03 am

40 + guy driving scirocco..

depends if he is 'young' looking or not!

my friend is 40+ looks like 30+ so ok if he drives the scirocco..

my uncle is 56 and drives his son's red lancer – damn pelik, a big no no..

so get a test dive and see if the vw people say you look good in it! lol

• de Passat CC is very tempting indeed..240k isnt really too much for tat car..in fact i'll go for tis instead IS250, which has een my favourite all these time..

• Untouchable on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:11 am

I am conducting a donation of RM 10 per person.

My target is to collect the RM 10/- from 25,000 people.

Please feel free to email me of how this donation conducted.

Thanks….

• No, the price is not 243,888 for Sirocco and 239,888 for Passat. It should be 130,800 and 124,800 respectively.

• mingyuyu on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:19 am

Love the CC but sad for the price.

• fredo on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:22 am

Quarter of a million for a hatchback, now that is crazy.

• My 40 plus friend drives a Lotus Exige, so rocco is ok at that age.

The CC at that price range, i don't think they will sell many for this 4 seater.It is a niche market car for the few that can afford it.

• hmm i think the pricing is just crazy. 250k for just a 2 door coupe? its not like you are getting the fastest nor the most powerful car in the market?

For that price you can get the Subaru Imprezza WRX STI. I think still a much more exiting car. well but i havent even seen one subaru on the road

• viper on Oct 31, 2009 at 9:08 am

i've seen scirocco in the full glory real life. the shape and the lines of the car are orgasmic. one of the most beautiful hatchback i've encounter. definitely better looking than bmw 120, ford focus, golf gti and mazda 3. it can smoke a lot of cars out there.

• Amaze that people here can comment on the car without testing it. The car sell higher than it should be, would be great if they sell at realistic price than current price. It priced cheaper than Golf GTi in Europe.

Passat looks better than A4 and cheaper than A4, dont see why it cant sell. Especially for those that intend to buy bland entry model beemer and merc.

• Agreed with NA; Scirocco is cheaper then GTI elsewhere. VW (Malaysia) being greedy and short sighted. Lets wait another year for Audi to come to boleh land.

• scottloeb on Oct 31, 2009 at 9:38 am

I like to be rocco stifreddi (minus the rear entry).

At the same time I love the scirocco as well.

Heheh.

• VWFan on Oct 31, 2009 at 9:51 am

The most beautiful hatchback ever built. Even it's a hatchback, but it's huge. I'm getting one for sure :)

• JeAnNiE on Oct 31, 2009 at 10:22 am

TOYO said,

October 30, 2009 @ 10:32 pm

nice car but if u compare with c class, 3 series n A4…would u buy passat???

======================================

Are you kidding me? They don't even belong in the same league….

:D

Passat is like a big sedan man… I read in magazines a few months ago, the testers all said that this car is great!

======================================

EchoTango23 said,

October 30, 2009 @ 7:05 pm

The Passat looks like the current Camry pre-facelift model…

Hmm…I wonder who copy who?

=====================================

Looks can be subjective. to my eyes, the camry doesn't share much similarity with the passat in terms of looks. The design of the monochrome grille originated from Audi + VW. all in all, i see this new model as an evolution to the outgoing model.

• JeAnNiE on Oct 31, 2009 at 10:24 am

LOL your 120 can do 0-100 in JUST 10 seconds, and if I am driving an scirrocco i'd probably smoke you in a drag race…. will get to the 3-figure in just 7 secs.

• JeAnNiE on Oct 31, 2009 at 10:28 am

haze said,

October 31, 2009 @ 12:58 am

hmm i think the pricing is just crazy. 250k for just a 2 door coupe? its not like you are getting the fastest nor the most powerful car in the market?

For that price you can get the Subaru Imprezza WRX STI. I think still a much more exiting car. well but i havent even seen one subaru on the road

========================================

Does RM 2+ million for a ferrari sound crazy to you? For many rich men, it doesn't. Hehe it's not like all we want in a car are speed and power right?

There's much to the equation… and to me the most important one would be the "feel good factor"…. lolz this car will definitely make me look hot and young!

So go get your subaru, beat me in a drag race, but i get all the attention and cheers. how's that sound?

Ah hem, subaru is just a subaru, no brand appeal at all. that's why they don't do well in getting their cars sold.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 31, 2009 at 10:29 am

Kim said,

October 30, 2009 @ 8:50 pm

Need opinion here…

is it too ‘weird’ for a forty plus people to be driving the rocco?

—————————–

only they can afford the car, anybody younger who can drive the cars, must have either struck a lottery, have rich parents, is a mistress for a rich man or a plaything for a rich old woman

• asahiyakuza on Oct 31, 2009 at 12:07 pm

just wondering Paul.. this 2 car.. is it Front wheel drive? Rear wheel drive or even better All wheel drive… i think Golf GTi got the AWD version… dunno about these 2 cars… spoilt the mood if it is Front wheel drive…

• Wantedcarz on Oct 31, 2009 at 12:32 pm

I think the Scirocco and the Passat CC are very successful models of VW and they are worth.

• mousey on Oct 31, 2009 at 12:34 pm

AWD is the R version.. normal Scirocco is FWD, just like the current golf gti… build quality is always better then japs and on par with bmw/merc. 240k for a Passat.. they deserve it!!

• milanRed (Member) on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:27 pm

The Scirocco that they brought in is the GT, it is a higher trim version and it is fr their Setubal, Portugal plant.

where else the coming Golf GTI mk6 is from Wolfsburg plant.

so…we can expect the pricing of the coming GTI mk6 would be signficantly higher then the current GTI mk5.

vw after sales service is rather good at wearnes auto compared to the other dealers.

and if you're 40 or over, and want to get the rocc, please avoid the Viper green colour…hehehe

in my opinion, they should have brought in the scirocco 1.4tsi as well. just sharing.

• ericfoong81exe on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:49 pm

The Passat CC front grill look like Camry.

• ericfoong81exe said,

October 31, 2009 @ 8:49 am

The Passat CC front grill look like Camry.

—————————————–

Hi Mate,

Please do not compare a german design against a jappy design

its totally difference….

• unknown on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:16 pm

HOW about the GOLF GTI

• cmc80 said,

October 30, 2009 @ 8:01 pm

Just my opinion…

I choose 120i

Between 3 series, C Class and Passat CC, I choose 3 Series…

————————————————————–

before u make ur opinion,have u test drive both cars or at least compare the specs on paper?

LOL!

• Thank you for all who give their opinion on the 40+ ppl driving

the rocco…

During my life i own no less than a dozen car, the most expensive

is just shy of a million RM… but this is the 1ST TIME i ever consider

a two door hatchback… that's how much of my opinion of this beauty!

But why no red color for Malaysian market?

• AminBotak on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Checkout possibilities of the next P1 Perdana Replacement. Enjoy.

http://www.noticiasautomotivas.com.br/proton-tem-…

• car fan on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:56 pm

any vw owner would like to share their experience on vw after sales service? Good, average, bad?

• zaff1984 on Oct 31, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Kim, you want it just get it… dont think other ppl.at the end, it your money, you can do it what ever you want.

I saw Golf GTi MKVI yesterday at putrajaya with no plate number yet. it white. very nice. I think i want one. I think GTi will be RM210k?

Scirocco is nice but not my type…

• theanswer on Oct 31, 2009 at 6:15 pm

i love jap turbo car such as evo and subaru. both even in my dream cars list. but if i'm looking for style and driveability, golf gti would be the best choice.

• Georgie on Oct 31, 2009 at 6:23 pm

Nice.. I was about to get the miTo soon but hey scirocco was wayyy up my fav hatchback list.. VW cars are really great.. I tried driving my partner's Touareg and the acceleration is mindblowing for a heavy SUV. Smoked an X5 and a Harrier on a straight line without breaking a sweat. Well looks like i have to wait for my annual income soon to bag this car :))

• Tats the price close to 325 3 series… Looked like Wagons for the Folks are no longer as it should. Some more, comes to maintenance later, headache.

• narrowband on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:03 pm

erm… stick to my love of life… the golf gti… hehe

• old man on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Yeah! What a nice price to follow the NAP! Go Go Go Malaysia!

• I would call these cars VW Reserved – the so called People's Car for the discerning few rich "water fish" only.

• do they have manual trans for the car?

• craving on Oct 31, 2009 at 8:24 pm

no manual, just the DSG version (which is the reason why VW is so great nowadays)

By the way the audi TT which shares the same engine and transmission is around 300k +. Looks like the scirocco is still the cheaper choice relatively.

Still 240k is alot of money for a hatch

• visit the VW golf club Msia for more info on service quality and to get to know the VW brand better……XDD
    http://www.vwgolfclubmalaysia.com

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 31, 2009 at 9:01 pm

AminBotak said,

October 31, 2009 @ 9:30 am

——————————————-

another of these pro-proton retards posting irrelevant comments in other makes topics

• Gajen on Oct 31, 2009 at 9:06 pm

both cars are so beautiful….got to agree with EchoTango23 tho, the passat cc is a bit like the camry pre facelift…and cls…however i still adore the passat cc..

im speechless over the scirocco

i want the scirocco!!

• The Passat looks like the current Camry pre-facelift model…

Hmm…I wonder who copy who?

I'm sick with all these comment ' this copy that, copy here and there' whenever a new car reviewed….

If you are so great, why don't you design one…!

• VW will lose out in terms of brand for such pricing. If it's around 180 – 200K, it will sell like hot cake. It's still a VW no matter how good it is. How to compete with luxury brands?? What happened to Phaeton?

• Passat CC more cheaper than Scirocco. Don't make any sense.

• Phaeton phased out already, they couldnt sell because of the badge, one of the best car ever made the Phaeton, Dr Mahathir has one given to him by Proton as a gift…..but he returned it…XDD……top gear has a review on the Phaeton go check it out

• tokmoh on Oct 31, 2009 at 11:06 pm

KATS : IIANM, BMW 325i is around RM300k++, unless u're talking about a 2nd hand. Maintenance… I don't know abt VW's, but I know BMW = banyak masuk workshop = banyak makan wang. Paul Tan can testify that. Kan, Paul, kan?

• mu_77 on Oct 31, 2009 at 11:26 pm

Actually the scirocco and passat cc pricing is not too bad considering :

1) fully imported

2) We in Bolehland!!!

3) Good built quality, looks, specs and german!!!

– Who booked the scirocco?? Can pinjam for test drive?? Hehe.. I tak mampu la…

• mitlanevo on Oct 31, 2009 at 11:35 pm

wow, i thought the one who compared scirocco with 1-series is the most silly, but now got ppl compare scirocco with impreza, this is even more ridiculous…

its like "hey dude, my satria neo also 1600cc, why u drive a mini cooper?"

and why so many ppl here talking abt maintenance?

if u can afford a 200k+ ride, i'm pretty sure u got extra cash for servicing and parts replacement…

• Craving on Oct 31, 2009 at 11:48 pm

From what i am seeing here, i think the new GTI is going to be around 220k

• Helmie.RnD on Nov 01, 2009 at 12:19 am

@ Mr Kim

I tot u already owned a 6 series? Isn't 6 series a coupe/2 doors?

Btw if u planning to buy the scirocco, for for white… then repaint

it to silver with sparking sun gold metalic hint.

Plus if your new silver color calar, u already have a white base

so that it wont look ovious.

• Helmie.RnD on Nov 01, 2009 at 12:24 am

* go for white…

• Maserati on Nov 01, 2009 at 12:28 am

Wow,the Scirocco is gorgeous!!! Just by looking at the pictures,i am salivating!!!

I think its quite reasonably priced at RM 240k ++

THe interior quality is astounding! Just look at the detail on the dashboard!

I would definately take this Scirocco over the BMW 1 series like someone said before..

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 01, 2009 at 12:42 am

Sirocco really looks that good if not better in real life.

The only near rival which is on par if not better/worse depending on tase is the new Megane coupe. I personally like the Megane coupe with its wacky lights, but it does look really sporty compared to the Sirocco.

Buy in white and not in any other colour.

• klakaseram on Nov 01, 2009 at 1:00 am

now bring rocco 1.4TSI

even if they sell @ 150k, I'll take one

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 01, 2009 at 1:01 am

tokmoh said,

October 31, 2009 @ 3:06 pm

KATS : IIANM, BMW 325i is around RM300k++, unless u’re talking about a 2nd hand. Maintenance… I don’t know abt VW’s, but I know BMW = banyak masuk workshop = banyak makan wang. Paul Tan can testify that. Kan, Paul, kan?

————————————-

i disagree, i think proton's use up more money

• elww78 on Nov 01, 2009 at 2:36 am

Saw the Scirocco just now while driving in Brunei.

• mousey on Nov 01, 2009 at 2:50 am

Way to go VDub!!!

• Shafiq on Nov 01, 2009 at 3:48 am

Just asking,

How much is the first-party insurance price for a secondhand BMW 320i?

What about the after-sales cost? Does it take much per year? Can anyone give me some numbers here? Latest version tho….

• bigVWfan on Nov 01, 2009 at 4:19 am

I WANT BOTH!!!

i need both….one for wife…one for mistress!:)

• tonton on Nov 01, 2009 at 4:55 am

mousey said,

October 31, 2009 @ 4:34 am

AWD is the R version.. normal Scirocco is FWD, just like the current golf gti… build quality is always better then japs and on par with bmw/merc. 240k for a Passat.. they deserve it!!

——————————————————–

the R version is still FWD. it is not AWD. that is the difference between this R with golf R

• lchan on Nov 01, 2009 at 6:09 am

RM30k+ extra for the scirocco. Thats the biggest f**king ripoff i have ever seen!!!!!!!

• keluangman on Nov 01, 2009 at 8:11 am

passat cc is nice unfortunately too overpriced for a 4 seater coupe. Even more so when you consider the absurd amount of tax imposed on it!

• @ Helmie…

the said 6 series is my daughter's.

btw i have no idea what type of paint u just mentioned.

plus isn't it going to void the warranty if we repaint the car (too soon)?

• narrowband on Nov 01, 2009 at 9:18 am

@Kim

Your daughter drives a 6-series? Nicee

• @ Narrow…

Nice..? trust me it's not… back then when she bought it she justified

that a single lady businesswoman would be ideal driving the 6… but

now she's regretting it.

Long story, short… young people are very stubborn to take advice,

so i just let her (or any young ppl for that matter) to learn it the hard way.

• PAS forever on Nov 01, 2009 at 10:52 am

nice car,,,,,,

• Sexy hatchback, nice interior and sexier exterior, BUT!

Crappy CC and BHP for that price.

It's all looks, no muscle.

Kinda sad.

No comment on passat. not hot at all.

• muharifz on Nov 01, 2009 at 6:15 pm

The Mk6 GTi's interior has improved a lot. Saw it in Hong Kong and I can say it was cool!

• Craving on Nov 01, 2009 at 6:34 pm

@Kim

I dont mind learning the hard way if its a 6 series

• Tiadaid on Nov 01, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

October 31, 2009 @ 1:01 pm

AminBotak said,

October 31, 2009 @ 9:30 am

——————————————-

another of these pro-proton retards posting irrelevant comments in other makes topics

————————-

That aside, why does news about Proton are of any interest to a Brazilian website?

• the scirocco…not so fast…not worth it to buy…just finished watch top gear ep7….very interseting show…

• Kim said,

October 30, 2009 @ 8:50 pm

Need opinion here…

You will look younger !

• The Scirocco bloodline continue……. it takes a very special interest to appreciate one. Look back the history of Scirocco, it is like a black horse, stand the test of a lifetime.

• Rulered on Nov 02, 2009 at 12:19 am

Need opinion here…

answer: No, everybody knows that one would usually reach about 40 years old before they can afford the good stuffs…well unless you have parents with deep pockets, but then again ppl will say your dad buy the car if you are only 20 or 30 plus who can afford expensive things… So, who cares what other ppl think.

• OMG said,

October 31, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

"VW will lose out in terms of brand for such pricing. If it’s around 180 – 200K, it will sell like hot cake. It’s still a VW no matter how good it is. How to compete with luxury brands?? What happened to Phaeton?"

You're right. That's why the Scirocco is RM127.195 in Germany (incl. 19%Tax): http://www.autoprice.de/DE/volkswagen/scirocco/

The Passat CC is RM152.525, including 19%Tax: http://www.autoprice.de/DE/volkswagen/passat/

Over there, it sells like hot cake (the Scirocco, not the Passat CC) and the market share of Toyota in Germany is 3% (all models)…

• paparazi (Member) on Nov 02, 2009 at 5:16 am

haha

• tokmoh on Nov 02, 2009 at 5:27 am

Mazda 3 MPS : Hoi mangkuk, orang tanya maintenance VW vs BMW, ko bawa masuk Proton pula. If you think you're joking, it's not funny. At all. If ever, I think you're a retard whose sole purpose in life is to bash proton. Pity your existence. Get a life already FFS.

Speaking of which, rumors of Passat CC to be priced at RM300k++ have been proven wrong. At just under RM240k, it can really give BMW 3-series, Merc C-class, n Audi A4 a run for their money. Although, I wonder if it's gonna be of any success.

I mean, Passat has been around. It's cheaper, but somehow, it just doesn't sell like 3ers, C-classes, n A4s. hmm……

• mitlanevo on Nov 02, 2009 at 5:38 am

doesn't sell bcoz of typical mentality of malaysians, even audi also don't sell well…

u see, good cars like volvo, audi, alfa romeo, saab and vw, their sales here are a lot worse than merc and bmw…

many ppl buying those 2 brands, so this leads to high maintenance and low 2nd hand value of the others…

• Aimran on Nov 02, 2009 at 6:16 am

The new scirocco looks too much like a golf gti…just a 2 door version

Long live the Volkswagen Corrado!

• bobdbilder on Nov 02, 2009 at 8:02 am

If you look at the top 50 list available at Motor Trader, data taken from MAA, no single VW model is in the top 50 in terms of volume. At no. 50 is the Hyundai Starex with total of 401 units sold in the last 9 months. In total, from Jan to Sept VW sold 620 units. Pugs are sold more with 926 in the same period. The French must be laughing at this.

What are they thinking? They had better do something about upholding their brand name, otherwise, its going to stick there with the exotics. Now if they were happy where they are, then you would know their perceived value to price ratio is low. Basically, you like it but not to willing to part with that sort of money. Move on.

• like this car. if i can afford one!

• JeAnNiE said,

October 31, 2009 @ 2:28 am

Does RM 2+ million for a ferrari sound crazy to you?

========================================

Yes, if the car is only worth RM750k and the rest pays for someone else's Ferrari.

• BMW or Volkswagen, none of them is within my reach…. for now!

• tokmoh on Nov 03, 2009 at 5:30 am

mitlanevo : I think Audi is selling better now bcuz of the new A4 with LED.

VW's best-seller so far is the Golf GTi which faces a very stiff competition with Mini. I've also always considered the Passat a killer model too, it's basically a 5-series with 3-series pricetag (or E-class with C-class pricetag, or A6 with A4 pricetag), it puzzled me why the Passat never sold.

I guess bcuz execs (the majority of BMW n Merc target market) hv always associated the VW brand with Beetle, which is a bit… not executive-ish…

In that respect, it's very difficult for VW to break away from its stigma. It doesn't have acceptance from where their target market is concentrated.

• proton basher on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:18 pm

tokmoh said,

November 1, 2009 @ 9:27 pm

Mazda 3 MPS : Hoi mangkuk, orang tanya maintenance VW vs BMW, ko bawa masuk Proton pula. If you think you’re joking, it’s not funny. At all. If ever, I think you’re a retard whose sole purpose in life is to bash proton. Pity your existence. Get a life already FFS.

Speaking of which, rumors of Passat CC to be priced at RM300k++ have been proven wrong. At just under RM240k, it can really give BMW 3-series, Merc C-class, n Audi A4 a run for their money. Although, I wonder if it’s gonna be of any success.

I mean, Passat has been around. It’s cheaper, but somehow, it just doesn’t sell like 3ers, C-classes, n A4s. hmm……

——————————–

FFS, you shut up if you do not own a volkswagen. I'm just justifying the maintainence costs of a proton is much higher compared to both bmw or volkswagen. if you love your proton so much and cannot accept the truth that it is a lousy car, go to the proton forum where u can say things like "MY PROTON IS FASTER THAN HAMMOND'S PORSCHE 911". go and drive your stupid proton loser.

• i drive a golf GTi MKv now ABT VS4 Specs… i blindly will take scirocco for my second ride.. cause its just superb i waiting for the ABT pricelist.. the vw is all about the DSG…

• proton basher on Nov 03, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Aj said,

November 3, 2009 @ 10:35 am

i drive a golf GTi MKv now ABT VS4 Specs… i blindly will take scirocco for my second ride.. cause its just superb i waiting for the ABT pricelist.. the vw is all about the DSG…

————————————

it's a great car. lol, interested in selling your golf?

• nighttrain on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:24 pm

I'm an idiot when it comes to hatches. Is Brera in the same category as Sirocco? How does Sirocco fare against Brera?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 03, 2009 at 11:44 pm

nighttrain said,

November 3, 2009 @ 3:24 pm

I’m an idiot when it comes to hatches. Is Brera in the same category as Sirocco? How does Sirocco fare against Brera?

————————–

yes, i'm not exactly sure if you would call a Brera a hatchback(nobody knows actually, the Brera is just too special) , but it is a direct competitor with it along the Audi TT, Mazda RX-8

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:08 am

Oh, come to think of it, maybe you're right. So Brera is in the mid priced sportscar category.. And Sirocco is high end hatch. Well Mr Kim, maybe you can check out the Brera as well, just to give you option. Thanks Mazda 3 MPS.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:19 am

nighttrain said,

November 3, 2009 @ 4:08 pm

Oh, come to think of it, maybe you’re right. So Brera is in the mid priced sportscar category.. And Sirocco is high end hatch. Well Mr Kim, maybe you can check out the Brera as well, just to give you option. Thanks Mazda 3 MPS.

———————

and also btw, check out this Top Gear article http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/golf-scirocco-… , they refer the Golf R as a hatch, and the scirocco R as a coupe…hmmmm

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2009 at 12:21 am

white folks are weird..

• Ledzeman on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:59 am

Love both of them …. can afford either one also but got one big problem:

both are 4-seater and I have three kids.

Guess I would have to settle with GTi.

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:27 pm

the car i would have is the Opel Astra OPC

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 06, 2009 at 6:59 am

I prefer Seat Leon Cupra R or of course….Mazda 3 MPS

• 308fans on Nov 29, 2009 at 9:52 pm

ANOTHER GREAT CAR in my list~

I've got my 308T as a 'small' car, now gonna bring in this Passat CC as medium car in my garage~ Next is the X6

so S,M,L to choose from, fit the different purpose of driving pleasure i guess~

agree??

:)

• elzalyff on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:07 am

I have test driven the scirocco today!. The ride was fantastic!!!!! I wished i have the money to buy 1. From my 2 cents view, this is the best coupe i ever driven. Comparing to other european coupes, i think this is 1 of the cheapest. For those who buying it, i envy you bro ! HAPPY NEW YEAR.

• griffen on Jan 08, 2010 at 2:08 am

Tested both Gti and Scirocco,both are great car.Had book 1 scirocco hope everthing goes smooth. Is hard to judge the car by picture,just go showroom and have a look then u will know it :) . The price of Gti is cheaper in Malaysia is because…..18 chrome rims become 17 alloy,sunroof gone,touch screen ICE gone too,and u can get all of them in Scirocco + Cruise control but no panaromic roof :'(

• likehondanotsomuch on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:47 am

saw a white passat today,,,looks better in real life,,,especially in white colour,,then there is the price issue,,handbrake for now

• kalimuthu on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:12 pm

2010 Passat cc comes with the dsg gearbox instead of the tiptronic.