Annual vehicle inspection for road tax renewal implementation start date not set yet for now

MITI has posted a statement on its new MITI blog clarifying a few points in the NAP Review, specifically the end-of-life policy and the annual inspection for road tax renewal. Hopefully this will clear some of your doubts on the exact timelines of certain things to be implemented.

Firstly, I think the most feared part of the review for all of us is the announcement of an impending vehicle end-of-life policy. There have been plenty of comments from readers on how this policy will negatively affect them and their qualify of life. I particularly like this story about the old atuk who drives a Pajero diesel to his surau.

MITI has revealed that the government has not set a Vehicle End-of-Life Policy in stone yet. It has merely announced intentions to develop one, and they (Ministry of Transport who are in charge of developing the policy) claim they will take into consideration views of all parties through consultations with consumer associations and NGOs. There is no mention which associations and NGOs these are, but I sure hope they fight for us. I hope we end up with a reasonable end of life policy with the option of extending your vehicle lifespan at a cost, similiar to the act of buying a new COE for your car in Singapore.

Though the NAP review document seemed to lead us to believe 2010 is the start point of our yearly Puspakom nightmares, MITI has clarified that a start date for the annual vehicle inspection for road tax renewal has not been fixed yet, so it will not be 1st January 2010. An effective date will be announced later.

In the statement, MITI Secretary General Tan Sri Abdul Rahman Mamat said the whole idea of the annual inspection was to ensure vehicles over 15 years of age are safe and roadworthy. He compared the inspection to the current rule where commercial vehicles have to go for an inspection every time their road tax is due for renewal. Commercial vans, pick-ups, 4X4s and etc are currently charged between RM50 to RM70 for inspections, and RM25 for reinspections.

So all in all, the NAP has given no allowance for a drop in car prices except at the higher end of the market, and that is only if the manufacturers decide to take up the carrots offered, but that looks a little unlikely at this point of time. Even the premium boys have set up shop in Thailand – did you know some CBU BMWs come from BMW’s Thailand plant in Rayong?

We will now lose the option to use good condition used parts for our cars, have to spend extra cash on annual car inspections, and finally the big bang is face the possibility of a reduced fuel subsidy once the Mykad subsidy system is implemented, together with high car prices. That wraps up what the NAP Review 2009 and Budget 2010 is all about for the common motorist.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bmpower on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:12 am

FLIP FLOP FLIP FLOP….

how do they did the job?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:16 am

Ah we should have expected this all along, since some mr M set up proton, our rights in purchasing vehicles at market rate is gone. Anyway we have ourselfs to blame for this as well. These are the FOOLS that we trusted and put into position, hoping they can help us, in the end they are the ultimate traitors who bites back at the people who supported them.

• jopop on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:33 am

pual sound like you also can't take anymore,look like we(Malaysian) have a tough year to get through.Thing getting excessive first vehicles over 15 years of age confront inspection.Now come something overstate G tries impending vehicle end-of-life policy.Currently recession economical is suffering civilian, i guess G tries to kill us.(sigh)

• 20v_ke35 on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:46 am

15 years…….

You buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement…….

• squawk on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:49 am

I wouldn't mind if the implemented these policies if they're fair to the people and not unjustly burdensome. If car prices here were proportionately similar to that in e.g. UK, relative to per capita imcome, I'm sure there won't be so much resistance.

However, implementing such policies as end-of-life, no used spare parts etc when car prices are so obscenely high (let's see it as % of our income, not converted to GBP, EU or USD) doesn't do anything for the common taxpayer except make life harder.

• Better not take away on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:52 am

I hope those clowns in MITI will wake up to reality when no one laughed at their stupid joke. Fuel price increase can tahan, tax on cars increase can tahan, just do not force all of us to give up our beloved cars was bought and maintained using our own hard earned money! It is a double slap to all of us who bought ourselves a national car. Last time we support P1 by buying the Wira, now they want to rob us of our car? Might as well buy a motor or 2nd hand NON-P1P2 car then. Or better still, do not buy a car at all so that NOT A SINGLE CENT GOES TO P1,P2. My parents gave up their 130Y Sunny for the Wira, if they had known of your lousy joke 15 years ago, might as well keep the Sunny till now!

Wake up MITI!! You are not doing our Prime minister A FAVOR!! Go ahead and tell all the PM's supporters to get rid of their old faithfuls in the interior, kampung and or even in his home town of Pekan and I can guarantee you he will lose all the votes he need in 2013!

• Kevin Lee on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:59 am

you'd be a slave to the bank for indefinite time. by then, your children and grandchilden would cease to exist. no thanks to the half past 6 govt

• freeze on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:59 am

Paul, does this vehicle policy thing include motorcycles, buses and lorries?

All school buses I've seen are pretty old even from 1970s still on the road.

• Elvis on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:03 am

There are two very sensitive sector that G need to be very carefully before making any announcements, property and automotive sector. Providing affordable property and vehicle must be given consideration as 80% malaysians are medium low income earners. Some commentators bullshit about if you want more money you do business. I know few politicians who like to put they ugly faces in newspapers telling unemployed graduates to take business. You think so easy meh? Already most unemployed graduates burden with study loans, take loan again to do business, finally business bust…end up hutang with ah longs. Okay, coming back to property and automotive sectors, if G want P1 and P2 to provide affordable small vehicle, i think we wont be that angry, provided we get affordable and quality vehicle. And property price at very competitive level. G can do this by going back to just governance and nil corruptions. But then again, i am a dreamer…knowing the huge appetite of our leaders, this will remain beggars dream…

• kelvin on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:05 am

This is Malaysia, no matter how much we voice out, complain, scold and whine here, it's not gonna change anything, nobody from the Prime Minister's office or MITI is gonna give a shit!

• In the UK cars have to get MOT (inspection) after 3 years. That is why price of second hand cars (more than 3 years) are cheap there.

• The Reader on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:28 am

Again as expected, somebody is going to make some dirty money out of this new policy. And it will discovered by another somebody after few years.

• milanRed (Member) on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:29 am

there aren't many junker on our roads nowadays compared to 10 years ago, most cars now are roadworthy…people now are more aware about their car well being… should worry more about old lorries and old buses plying our highways and byways, how many accidents have been caused by these group.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:34 am

rubbish…

• rodimus on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:34 am

Who said Kelvin, we all can use our vote to tell our G what we all want. Wait n c G.

• Al buffoni on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:41 am

15 years…….

You buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement, you have to gain some money for your next car within 5 years, then buy a brand new car with full loan for 10 years. After full settlement…….

—————————-

hey sounds familiar. Its Singapore. Maybe because PAP has the idea and DAP implements it because the PM is Lim Guan Eng not Najib.

• Haihhhhhh, tragic! Can't wait for the next elections

• in any case, we should all be prepared to have our asses raped in the coming year and years to follow.

even we as common citizens cannot do much about it because the "HIGHER POWER" above dictate whatever we do. our inputs fall on deaf years.

let's wish there's a tinker of hope in other news. any news.

• SKYTECH on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:06 am

ya, hope all the nation come out to vote , give the G know what the real power of our rakyat . Hope those kampung people dont be cheated for just a few bucks .

• bobdbilder on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:19 am

Third Party verification of driving vehicles should be lauded as it has the ability to reduce road accidents, therefore increasing the safety level of our roads and reduce harmful emissions. It must be done by the book with clear understanding what makes a good roadworthy car. If one maintains a car properly, one should not worry about passing this test. However, before the Puspakom becomes judge, jury and eventually the executioner, there must be verification of their capabilities and testing equipment. The public must understand their rights and the methods and standards to which these tests are based upon. If the standards are based on globally or regionally accepted norms and execution of these standards and norms are verified by an independent body, the people cannot argue against its implementation.

Contrary to common belief, the depreciation value of cars in Malaysia is NOT due to market forces. It is at the whims and fancies of the Financial services such as banks and insurance companies. It is dictated by the lender's and insurer's risk exposure. The higher the value, the higher the premiums the more money they make. It is not in their best interest to see values of cars going south. Especially now with the lending rate as low as it is and a lot of liquidity in the market. In some countries this manipulation of prices is deemed as unfair, misleading and opportunistic.

• mr_3m on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:36 am

the irony of the moment is that I really doubt those high ranking MITI officials and its ministers & deputies (including Mahathir's son) really have to spend their time inside a Proton or Perodua for that matter… they are cocooned in their Porsche Cayennes, Mercs, BMWs etc etc and so on… so for them, who give a sh*t if the people suffer… they are the ones issuing APs among themselves all these years anyway… MITI is like a cash cow, the people inside (not all, mind you!!) are milking it till the last drop… so don't tell me we were not being warned about this all these years… we all get what we voted for, for the last 50+years (or for those who chose not to vote and/or remain silent)…. well, too bad then… *sigh*

• the main point is the G can charge us in many other way other than freakin tax

• Some authorities out there please voice it out for us! If our earning power is as good as Singaporean (don't even wanna mention Japan), then for sure we have no problem to scrap our old cars for a new one. But come'on! This is Malaysia. Do you expect us to practice that kinda eden-idea when we are all struggling to pay our car loans?

SOMEBODY DO SOMETHING!

• bobdbilder on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:11 am

The depreciation values of cars must go in hand with the implementation of the End of Life policy implementation. Otherwise too much financial risk is transferred to buyers of 2nd hand cars. The market would then do its own correction as market size of 2nd hand cars reduce, forcing sellers to reduce their prices. Bear in mind that all used car financing have a higher lending rate than new cars. When the market for used cars reduce, so too will be the profitability of banks and insurers as the volume shrinks.

Adding to this maelstorm is the prohibition of imported used parts, and you will get a high depreciation value for cars. Most affected models shall be the grey imported cars and cars not manufactured in the AFTA region.

The new policies does help the local and AFTA auto industry at the expense of the market. So most of Chris Yap's and your Christmas wish was granted. The Government did follow local industry player's recommendations. You will not find any of them complaining about these two aspects; EOL and Authorised Parts only. These two will increase new car sales and after sales revenue for the local representatives. It will make more players come here to do business.

Next time be careful of what you wished for. It might come true.

• hutang on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:48 am

20v_ke35,

You are absolutely right. Sampai mati pun belum habis bayar hutang kereta.

This is damned farking govt.

• Sir AA (Member) on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:01 am

Why dont G make a schedule for us to go to 'their' Puspakom? ie. 15, 20, 23, 25, 27, 29,,,

This is more better.

• Lost hope wif the G… Now just hoping there is no news everyday… If there is news, it is always bad news for the automotive sector… It has been like this for past few years… Nothing changed, except we see more mansions, esp the one at Shah Alam that one…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:55 am

rodimus said,

November 3, 2009 @ 9:34 pm

Who said Kelvin, we all can use our vote to tell our G what we all want. Wait n c G.

—————————

we need an obama

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:26 am

So chop shop have no fears then?

It looks like what the NAP is saying:

"This is what we intend to do, but then if public outcry, we can still modify it until everyone happy"

• Bagus la tu Rakyat didahulukan..

lepas ni Pemimpin ini didahulukan pulak..haha!!

• Probiotics on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:16 am

Changing the flow of the cash from the hardworking ones to the lazy ones that have the ruling power…

Ynot they just transfer all the hardworking ones to Sabah n Sarawak (distinct separation by the sea)…give them the land and let them form their own country?

N the lazy ones can own the whole semenanjung n own brethrens to toy with..

Put all kinda crap of policy tht u wan…hardworking wan dun bother…u punya pasal ur own brethrens seksa….

Agree?

• Mantot on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:23 am

Hi,

Can anyone confirm if motorbike is also included in all this "rubbish policy".It is scary imagining not having any sparepart for bikes as most of the sparepart comes from overseas and scrapping a Yamaha TZM (most are over 15 years old already)

Maybe we can help and support Modenas by buying Modenas so that they can produce more scooters.

• knight_templar on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:14 pm

Guys screaming, whining and hinting at exercising voter rights for the next GE is venting feelings not really finding a solution.

Firstly I also picture the MITI guys and frens rubbing their hands in glee with a reaper like grin on the faces trying to send us all to the guillotine. But im also wondering what would drive MITI to formulate such policies knowing well about political and social aspects at stake. What is the logic behind MITI's actions if there are any? Or perhaps its an action signifying defiance to accepting the fact that Thailand and Indonesia are well positioned to overtake us in the automotive sector?

• Hi Paul,

There is 1 news on the new NAP that is implementation of Euro 4 Diesel,but one thing not clear is why they need to call it as Euro 2M or 4M.What does the M mean? Does it mean the diesel will only be meeting Malaysia standard and not the worldwide standard of diesel? Can you help to clarify it

Thanks

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Barisan Nasional is a communist

• kete kite on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:31 pm

"tong sampah" grade.

• keith on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:36 pm

Just a simple question to the G, if mandatory inspections must be required for 'old-age' vehicles, why is it no possible to do these inspections at competent workshops? Have something like what other western countries do, e.g., licensed RWC testers.

The sole monopoly by Puspakom suggest that this is a more a revenue exercise for G-friendly people rather than a genuine effort to keep all road vehicles roadworthy.

• Decipher on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:42 pm

Image that idiots…

I went to renew road tax and insurance for my 20+ years old car at the post office…

They said sorry cannot renew. Please go get puspakom inspection letter stating the car is road worthy and also buy from MMIP coz no one else wanna sell 3rd party insurance.

So i went to puspakom at 7am n waited. As usual all came at 8:30am. It was a saturday but website said 7:00am to 3:00pm ( i was the idiot)

The inspection took 15minutes (coz to wait for the person to come and see what is necessary, etc) and then paid RM25.

Then it was hunting time for insurance company as I heard only P&O or Oriental still sell 3rd party insurance. But was futile.

Then went to one insurance agent and he said why need to go all those puspakom nonsense. He went only, typed all he needed to and got me the new premium insurance thinggy (by MMIP i think)

So in total i paid RM309.80 for the insurance premium and RM57 (RM2 for post office cost) to get my car on the road.

ASSHOLES OF A GOVERMENT WE HAVE.. SATU ASSHOLE.. SATU GOMEN..

• ericfoong81exe on Nov 04, 2009 at 4:44 pm

Rules number one-There is no rules in Malaysia, what ever the GOV like to tell…..that's the rules, take it or leave it. To the bloody hell GOV : Pls upgrade the stupid Puspakom and it's dump workers in the first place before creating this new policy. Else major of us might suffer the same as those lorry and taxi owner.

• rexis on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:24 pm

Date not yet fixed?

So it could be 2nd of January, or 1st of December.

FLIP FLOP FLIP FLOP FLIP FLOP

"It is in line with the long term objective of the Government to prohibit the importation of used automotive products which are sub-standard and unsafe."

STATISTIC PLEASE MINISTER! Please prove that used part is more dangerous and cause accidents than brand new parts.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:28 pm

This is MALAYSIA afterall. The one country with TOO MANY ministers, too many this and that, who suffers ? THE RAKYAT ALSO!!!! But I guess with me complaining here, they wont even get to see it because they are too busy chasing wealth, not in the right way of course. Damn bastards ! Good for nothings.

• old timers on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:33 pm

hehe, round one, people think they won….

wait lah, there will be sudden change, like the 3rd party insurance for old cars this year…without a hint, the premium went sky rocketed…. and MITI will come out full of excuses…

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 04, 2009 at 5:35 pm

bobdbilder

Third Party verification of driving vehicles should be lauded as it has the ability to reduce road accidents, therefore increasing the safety level of our roads and reduce harmful emissions. It must be done by the book with clear understanding what makes a good roadworthy car. If one maintains a car properly, one should not worry about passing this test. However, before the Puspakom becomes judge, jury and eventually the executioner, there must be verification of their capabilities and testing equipment. The public must understand their rights and the methods and standards to which these tests are based upon. If the standards are based on globally or regionally accepted norms and execution of these standards and norms are verified by an independent body, the people cannot argue against its implementation.

Contrary to common belief, the depreciation value of cars in Malaysia is NOT due to market forces. It is at the whims and fancies of the Financial services such as banks and insurance companies. It is dictated by the lender’s and insurer’s risk exposure. The higher the value, the higher the premiums the more money they make. It is not in their best interest to see values of cars going south. Especially now with the lending rate as low as it is and a lot of liquidity in the market. In some countries this manipulation of prices is deemed as unfair, misleading and opportunistic.

————————–

While I agree on most of your statements, this unfortunately have to be taken in context with the earning potential and purchasing parity of Malaysians.

Market forces do play a part on valuation of vehicles. If demand of a certain item diminishes, the price drop and the corresponding depreciation rate increases. This will be a massive market adjustment for the consumers to absorb. For someone that is paying 30% or more of his/her salary on a hire purchase agreement, this really stings. Fortunately, I've always been an advocate of buying used and in cash after depreciation has already taken its biggest bite.

Financial services will care less what your vehicle is worth now. They only care what it was worth when it was new.

The othe problem lies with Puspakom. We have all heard horror stories. The government has failed to maintain the integrity of the Judiciary and Police(fuck….its not even supposed to be linked in the first place), what gives public any confidence that they can fix Puspakom?

• The power is in the consumer hand. I think if consumer can act together let say by not buying any car for the whole year.. things might be different..

Malaysian consumer never use their power like other country. There are lots of Malaysian consumer don't care…..

For me again "Consumer is the power to all this" so act together and just don't talk… Walk the talk please

• Jumbsuck on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:11 pm

Car spare parts, batteries, tyres etc must be made controlled items – fair price, lifetime warranty, SIRIM certified etc all be standardised.

Govt also must compel by law all car brands to produce retrospectively previous car models' spare parts from 1950 onwards. Then there'll be no reason for insurance company to reject insurance for old cars anymore. Puspakom test will not be a burden but serious safety concern for all. Good conditioned car all-round (after Puspakom tests) also should be rewarded like free road tax to encourage more car owners about safety.

These are the least govt should consider: availability of controlled-price spare parts and insurance issues.

N A P – Never Against Proton!

• Jumbsuck on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Also, car scrap rebates must be extended (and increase up to RM10K each) to other non-national brands not just Proton and Perodua. Why so scared?

N A P – Never Against Proton?

• Altiveq on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Wow Paul, I love the closing statement, I think what you are saying there is the feelings of at least 90% of the Malaysian population on the NEP and 2010 budget. I think the present government is not really keeping its "Rakyat Didahulukan" slogan. I'm specially feeling this a me and few friends who love our Mercedes W124's most of which are more than 15 years will be hassled when the policy's outlined comes into effect. If you noticed the W124 is still a very common sight on Malaysian roads today, and because of this so called NEP many of us might have to retire our fine family transport if we can't bear the hassle of puspakom inspection. So unfair.

• hey, let have another policy that require any politician with over 15 years of service would require them to "end-of-life" so that they would not cause mismanagement of public funds, sellective memory loss, etc….

• SavvyTron on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:40 pm

Undi Rakyat didahulukan, Pecapaian Kroni Diutamakan…

• CiViC_7900 on Nov 04, 2009 at 6:51 pm

HELL.MORE RUBBISH

• ttjguy on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:03 pm

boikot to buy a car for 1 year only…then see what happen

• Hondas on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Yes, indeed sad to hear all these 15years & no imported secondhand parts & credit card tax. It's just burden us further. Next year fuel will go up & car insurance might go up too. Really cannot imagine.

We would be broke b4 the next election come.

• Driver on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:39 pm

The government policy changes all the time. When all the stimulus package drains up country's saving, the money-sucking policy will comes out.

People who affort to by 1995 Mercedes Masterpiece is forced to by a new proton saga as a result of stop importing used part (for sure all the old car has to be scrap due to no spare part).

• GolfMK2 on Nov 04, 2009 at 7:53 pm

dear dato'.

please la, do turun padang la once a while.

i think you've been sitting on that fluffy chair of yours fer too long edi.

"rakyat diutamakan".. HAH!

• confirm that i'm going to use my right on next GE if this issue being implemented…

NEXTmalaysia, Rakyat diketepikan, Kroni diutamakan…

• STOP BUY PROTON on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Its simple. Stop buy Proton, Perodua from now on.

I see all 2nd car import price will drop also, since those 2003/2004 unreg car is half way done, and with 5-7 years loan, the 15 years date is at your sight since you pay off the loan.

We Malaysia is so pity. The minister NEVER think for the public. NEVER!

• SavvyTron on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Undi rakyat didahulukan, Pencapaian Peribadi Diutamakan..

• mr_3m on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:25 pm

4G63tDSM said,

November 4, 2009 @ 9:35 am

While I agree on most of your statements, bobdbilder, this unfortunately have to be taken in context with the earning potential and purchasing parity of Malaysians.

Market forces do play a part on valuation of vehicles. If demand of a certain item diminishes, the price drop and the corresponding depreciation rate increases. This will be a massive market adjustment for the consumers to absorb. For someone that is paying 30% or more of his/her salary on a hire purchase agreement, this really stings. Fortunately, I’ve always been an advocate of buying used and in cash after depreciation has already taken its biggest bite.

Financial services will care less what your vehicle is worth now. They only care what it was worth when it was new.

The othe problem lies with Puspakom. We have all heard horror stories. The government has failed to maintain the integrity of the Judiciary and Police(fuck….its not even supposed to be linked in the first place), what gives public any confidence that they can fix Puspakom?

———————————————————–

Well said, 4G63tDSM…… i fully agree with you on the above.

Also, what we have here, in other words is that when each Ministry comes out with their policies, it seems as though it is not linked or thought out as a whole… it is bits and pieces of everything, or 'cut and paste' from something taken from, they say "developed countries". But our whole system is not even that developed yet. I wont get into other matters here, its just too long.

Anyhow, the only time these people work or think in the same direction is when they want to cover something (or their a55es) up (eg. judiciary working together with police, police with MACC etc etc). just as you pointed out…

• shit….should've bought a bicycle instead of a JDM monster :P

• Mufasa on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:45 pm

all about local cerita in paultanorg will end up to local politic story….

dont by a car like me laa..use EX5

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 04, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Given the number of leakages in the system. The person that is printing the forms that Puspakom officers write on will also be laughing to the bank.

• hello on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:14 pm

The problem with all these rules and reg. are that there are always ways around the system. Look at the SJ buses and Metro buses on the roads. You cant tell me that they all past the inspections. If they did, the standards must be super ultra low….

• droll on Nov 04, 2009 at 9:24 pm

doesn't matter if we're broke or the govt is screwing us, people will still vote for them and they will continue to remain in power!

anyway, if it weren't for this MITI information, everyone would assume what was announced was final. in fact, i think the regular m'sian would think so too.

• redyoyo on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:19 pm

I am willing to have my car inspected BUT government MUST open the automobile market.

I rather do without fuel subsidy BUT government MUST open the automobile market.

I can also live without 2nd hand parts BUT government MUST open the automobile market.

It is a win win situation. MITI can't you see?

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:26 pm

Mufasa said,

November 4, 2009 @ 12:45 pm

all about local cerita in paultanorg will end up to local politic story….

dont by a car like me laa..use EX5

Lets see how long you can EX5 when you need to go longer distances, and lets see how you manage to bring all your 5 children on it.

• kete kite on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:30 pm

I dont think PM think about Rakyat.. Dont know what to say about that.. What I can say..

This all Tong Sampah…. Never think about us… Wargh.

• The govt is leaking money to all the cronies and their band of thieves and their stupid management of their system.

Now with the govt coffer almost empty and the blood sucking politician wants more untung, the govt desperately resort to milking the rakyat's money from these ridiculous policy…

Satu Malaysia?? What a pathetic joke…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:42 pm

1malaysia, najib didahulukan

• abb200 (Member) on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:07 am

double middle finger. i drive a 1980 datsun 120y and 1984 corolla LE…spent half day at puspakom 2 months ago to get it tested to renew insurance for the 120y. the service in puspakom kuching was good but the queue was long. they didnt spoil my car but instead they even fixed my spoilt hazard signal lights which only blinked on 1 side. ntg was failed except the speedo reading cos i mod my rims to larger ones. no undertable money involved. i dont mind sending my cars to puspakom cos both are in mint condition.

but end of life car policy…im not clear with it. and it sounds scary. does it mean i have to give up both my mint condition over 25 year old cars?

• abb200 (Member) on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:10 am

and about the stop of used car parts…how am i suppose to find parts for both of my old faithful by then? pathetic

• squawk on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:11 am

abb200, that's the whole point. You're not supposed to be able to find any.

I wonder if G will "listen to rakyat's voice" and do 180 on this. And then, like setting up Puspa-con, they will also appoint 1Krony to bring in used spares. The used spares will all have to undergo stringent testing and those which pass will have hi-tech holographic stickers. And since all this costs $$$, they will be given a 30yr concession and free to charge whatever they like for the parts.

• Kimmy on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:37 am

Aiya…all are there for you to see.. BMW distributed by Autobavaria..autobavaria is owned by Sime Darby group. Now do you know that Sime Darby group got big Automotive group subsidiary under them like Alfa Romeo, Ford, Suzuki, Audi and more car brand under different company..that the reason why, car must go for inspection after 15 yr and no more 2nd spare part shop..they know lots of car owners seldom come back to the brand franchises for parts as it too expensive..

• Ok.i get you drift…Sime Darby is Goverment owned company or GLC..no wonder la…

• used spare parts imported will be given the famous LULUS sticker. just like proton cars. Sure QC tip tip, best in the world. hahahah..

• hutang on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:02 am

squawk,

your comment above is absolutely correct. Jackpot.

• bobdbilder on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:16 am

I have honestly stopped hoping of getting a 2nd hand Lotus Elise and have found a new calling. I am close to getting one after several years of saving the money. But I could buy a Carbon Race bike next year and pay it in full.

Come join us at Putrajaya Critical Mass.

http://www.putrajayacriticalmass.blogspot.com/

Better yet, wherever you are, gather likely friends and do your own Critical Mass wherever you are. You know its right.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:17 am

even 2nd hand car prices here are mad. 70% retained value, 20 year old proton saga rm 10k? wtf

• mat ju on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:37 am

next erection (election), think twice which G will you vote

• wattt?? on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:43 am

This is tooally bullshit. Thanks to all the idots who voted BN, we as rakyat will now suffer.

If the G, would have done the right thing, there wont be any complain…

Thanks Najib, u just make our lives worst! Will never ever vote for BN for the rest of my life!

THERE ISNT A WORD TO DESCRIBE HOW ANGRY AND DISAPPOINTED I AM WITH THIS SHIZZZZZZ POLICY!

• bmpower on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:08 am

power to the people.

• Better not take away on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:40 am

Here's a scenario when the 15 year rule is implemented:-

1) Nobody will repair their car coz at 15 years need to buang- workshop close shop

2) Nobody will repair the bodywork or paintjob of their car coz no point respray or ketuk balik when you are to throw it away anyway – kedai ketuk and respraying shop close shop

3) Nobody will mod their cars as after 15 years no matter how many parts your car have or still can jalan better than a new car, have to throw away – kedai accessory close shop

4) Nobody will buy foreign cars or premium local cars coz after 15 years no matter the condition have to throw away – all showrooms close shop, cannot achieve profit margin on premium cars, foreign makes cabut to Thailand

5) Nobody want to pump V-power or Euro 4 diesel coz no point buying fuel efficient/ sports car car which you need to buang after 15 years- Petrol station close shop coz cannot sell expensive petrol

6) Nobody will cash or keep clean their cars coz need to buang anyway – car wash outlet close shop, car salon close shop

7) Nobody will buy even the cheapest car coz after 15 years need to buang – P1, P2 dies, showroom close shop.

It will just kill an entire ecosystem and so many ppl will lose their jobs and the whole country will be populated by motorcycles coz really no point buying a car.

Congrates MITI! Even the most anti-vehicle supporter can't think of a better way to destroy the automotive industry! Hidup MITI!!

• Better not take away my 94 Blue Wira,

15 years is a long time.

people will still repair cars. people will still repair bodywork, people will still clean their cars. i dont think that just because we put in mandatory testing that cars suddenly become worthless. guys, come on, where's the logical element of argument here???

no wonder this country is not a major economic power. with brains like this i can only blame the education system.

• I think we are ok if the food and houses are extremely expensive even we cannot afford it, but if the car prices is too high we cannot survive.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Ian,

You are correct to say the education system here is suspect. But I wont exactly put them down…yet. Blue wira is exaggerating to push his point across.

15 years may be a long time, but we are still talking about a large percentage of vehicles past this age. Remove these vehicles from the road via scrapping legislature and you will see a corresponding drop in demand in the support industry (repair, service, parts). By making 10-15 year old car unappealing to consumers, most people will run thier cars to the ground anyway. For example I'm not going to bother doing any minor or major repairs to my car if I know I will probably have to scrap it in a few months.

I believe we are not only talking about just the mandatory testing but also the possible eventual scrapping policy. Afterall you know the government as well as all of us, anything can change overnight…usually for the worst.

I can see the point you are trying to make. Likewise, I can say that despite the mandatory scrapping of cars in Japan and Singapore, people still modify and repair thier cars. But then again, cars (and its maintenance) are no where as expensive to them than to malaysians.

Malaysia isn't a major economic power because the powers to be have absolutely no clue how to run the country. Mark the less than stellar education system to thier (dis)credit as well.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:52 pm

I think in conclusion, whatever the government does will have a cascading effect to the mind set of consumers, in this case negatively.

Increase the cost of ownership of one good (shorten the lifespan of one, increase the ave cost of ownership), there will be a corresponding drop in demand for other goods, all things being equal. When demand drops in one industry, revenue and demand in other industries drops in its wake. One can't even begin to calculate what the cost to the country will be even with a simple change in transporation legislation.

If you subcribe to Friedmans' Permanent income hypothesis in Economics, any increase in income (in this case, the increased cost) will affect the consumers' propensity to spend, Somehow, this increase in cost has not been balanced by an "expected" increase in income (with inflation and economic slowdown, everyone expects reduction in net income), leading to lower overall demand and lower ultimate GDP.

I wont buy that big screen TV, renovate my house, buy that new computer and go out to eat less knowing that in a year or two I will have to buy a new car to have the previlage not have to deal with Puspakom. This is how bad it can be.

Mandatory inspections are a good thing, so is mandatory scrapping. Unfortunately, the TIMING of this and it's INTENTIONS are mis-placed.

Malaysia is not ready for this.

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:03 pm

what about the sultan's rolls royce, need to scrap?

• No Point in Whining, The G is not listening to us… all the money lost in spending RM80K on 2 notebooks and RM2.08 million software which is not needed must be made back.. so hence the yearly fee, credit card tax.. etc etc… unscrupulous people in power hurt the Rakyat….. all this is not new folks. wake up and do the right thing..be a man….

• Better not take away on Nov 06, 2009 at 3:17 am

Looks like someone doubt my education level… anyway,

To Ian,

I came up with my previous post coz recently I had to spend some money to keep it up and running. Only last week spend about RM 250 to change oil and repair my central locking mechanism for my passenger side door. The central locking itself already cost RM 75. Last 3-4 months ago have to change my front 2 tires coz getting botak, so another RM 300 with balancing. Also my car have this part kena ketuk balik coz some @#@ lorry reverse into my car in the middle of the night and cabut. I wonder how much will that cost. Not to mention have to buy another rear combination lamp to replace as the current one is cracked thanks to the lorry, and it is the old wira type rear lamp somemore!

I am planning to respray it like what Paul did to his E39 as the paint of my car has worn out terribly. My brother is bugging me, my parents is bugging me. Didn't do it yet coz saving the dough to do it.

So let's say the gov is planning to take away my car next year. Will I bother to restore my car back to pristine condition? Respraying and ketuk balik is not cheap mind you. So imagine if I had known what the gov will do to my car early part of the year?

I will not change my soon to be botak tires (15 years old already, so kena buang)

I will not bother to service

I will not bother to ketuk balik and respray

So tire shop, workshop, kedai ketuk and paintshop all loose my business coz I will need to throw it away.

• Dear Malaysians , do not despair…. we can and will use our VOTES to tell the present government that we do not need such a inconsiderate party as our government……REMEMBER, use your votes .

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 06, 2009 at 6:56 am

vote for the opposition

• Before you test your car, you have to repair so that it is fit to be on the road. Who says you don't have to repair. Malaysians have no problem with their cars as they always keep their cars in tip top condition (it is in fact their first wife), even if it is 15, 16 or 17 years of age…except if you are a contractor. Second hand cars would be more cheaper just like in the UK.

• scubadude (Member) on Nov 06, 2009 at 9:55 pm

I hope you guys who are whining now can still remember and put some effort in doing something about it when the time comes to VOTE… not giving excuses of "forget to register lah", "dunno where to register la", "raining la cannot go", "so leceh to go la", "my car cannot start la" … etc ..etc.. etc… well if you all don't do the right thing and remember THIS …may your balls falls off while you are sleeping !!! Make the VOTE count .. do the right thing !!! Down with all corruptions !!!!!

• antnagir on Nov 06, 2009 at 10:11 pm

Each time the government talk about our safety as the reason for anything, I take it with a large pinch of salt. No, make it a large sackful of salt.

• abb200 (Member) on Nov 06, 2009 at 11:12 pm

i just resprayed my corolla LE 2k white few months ago. spend almost 4-5k restoring it. now its better condition n features than some cheap new national cars

i believe they wont take our cars away so easily la. im in the ae80 forum and there are thousands of other malaysian LE members there…i dont think there are any members whom happy with this policy. combine with other older car clubs..there will be tens of thousands of owners. dare take our cars away? maybe we unseat them from their office first la.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 06, 2009 at 11:28 pm

drive old car safer than drive proton saga

• rageaccel2 on Nov 07, 2009 at 1:59 am

never vote BN.

• rageaccel2 on Nov 07, 2009 at 2:02 am

yeah, agreed. most 70s & 80s cars are safer than brand new tin susu built waja, wira etc

• abb200 (Member) on Nov 07, 2009 at 6:53 am

latest news…the G decided to withdraw this crap policy….lol!

• Azizan Khalili on Nov 07, 2009 at 7:40 am

Good Governence = Save Money for the Govt

Effective/Efficient Enforcement = Make Money for the Govt

Zero Corruption = Make hellava lot of Money for both the Govt & Rakyat

• sempoi on Nov 07, 2009 at 7:47 am

Good news guy.!

I must say thanks to Paul (ovation!!) his write-ups, comments,

and personal views. The govt has shelved its plans to scrap old cars.
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/mala…
    Hopefully we could pressure them to look into the import of

used parts too.

Once again keep up the good work Paul. :)

• Just out that the gov't (MITI) has reversed the annual inspection requirement. So no annual inspection for old cars. Now we need to pressure them to drop the used parts ban too.

I dont understand how can the person in charge of the NAP policy can come out with such a bad policy (not to mention the person who approves it). They only care about the impact of the NAP on proton,perodua, automotive vendors, AP holders while totally did not take into account the NAP impact on the most important group, the RAKYAT!

To the gov't people that drafts the NAP and other policy's…

please remember it is not

X proton didahulukan

X perodua didahulukan

X vendor automotif didahulukan

X AP holders didahulukan

but

RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN!

• old man on Nov 07, 2009 at 3:29 pm

VICTORY! G pull back the 15 years old scrap car policies!

I bet NON of the current minister EVER look into the rural people when making any decisions. Crazy!

• autojoke on Nov 07, 2009 at 4:17 pm

Pencapaian di utama kan! Now MITI should not get an increament nor promotion. How come they make such big declaration and call it back?

• autojoke on Nov 07, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Pencapaian di utama kan! Now MITI should not get an increament nor promotion. How come they make such big declaration and call it back and it due to rakyat diutamakan ??????????

• scubadude (Member) on Nov 07, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Maklum-balas: Dasar Tempoh Jangka Hayat Kenderaan (ELV)

Kementerian Perdagangan Antarabangsa dan Industri (MITI), pada 28 Oktober 2009, telah mengumumkan Dasar Automotif Nasional (NAP) termasuk Dasar Tempoh Jangka Hayat Kenderaan yang memperkenalkan pemeriksaan mandatori tahunan sebagai keperluan pembaharuan cukai jalan untuk kenderaan berusia 15 tahun dan ke atas. Ini merupakan langkah permulaan ke arah pelaksanaan Dasar Tempoh Jangka Hayat Kenderaan.

2. Sejak langkah ini diumumkan, Kerajaan telah menerima banyak aduan daripada orang ramai yang rata-rata tidak bersetuju dengan langkah pemeriksaan mandatori tahunan ini.

3. Mengambil kira pandangan ini dan selaras dengan konsep rakyat didahulukan, Jemaah Menteri telah bersetuju supaya pengenalan Dasar Tempoh Jangka Hayat Kenderaan ini ditarik balik.

KEMENTERIAN PERDAGANGAN ANTARABANGSA DAN INDUSTRI

KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA

6 NOVEMBER 2009

F*** them !!…. eventhough they take back this policy, the damage had been done…. we do not have confident in these flip flop ministers who only wants to benefit themselfs or their own honchos… , if the goverment are serious that "after taking into account the people’s views and feedback", abolished AP , abolished chop shop policy, no more selective prosecution ..i.e. PKFZ, The toyol mansion etc… thats a lot crap going on for this goverment… down with them on the next election !!!!!

• zaihan on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:05 pm

Why our malaysian cepat melatah. The moment G announce that policy, myself confidence that will not happen. nah…now its cancelled

• Better not take away my 94 Blue Wira,

Many apologies. I did not have a smoke for two days and was understandably edgy. Did not intend for personal attack.

I apologise for my words. I shall be smoking more.