Toyota officially announces F1 departure

tf109

It’s finally done – after persistent and intense rumours over the past few days Toyota has officially released a statement saying they would be withdrawing from F1 at the end of the 2009 season, which is basically right now with immediate effect.

The following is their press statement:

UPDATE: Here’s Akio Toyoda’s speech:

It would be nice if Lotus F1 Racing picks up Kobayashi.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pumpkin on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:47 am

"… … …"

• Ralph on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:48 am

Kobayashi finally had a chance… but the team is leaving. Bad luck for him

Hopefully some team will sign him in.

• Engdau on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:54 am

Well..well… As mentioned by Paul, Kobayashi has to go back to work in sushi bar. Yr 2010 is no longer exciting F1 race event. Almost all of famous teams have "run away"….., except for 1 Malaysia F1. Kinda weird…

• Boring on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:54 am

This is a good decision. F1 is getting dull…..

• barca on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:58 am

agree with boring that the race IS getting boring.

again and again we're fed with tech transfer, souped-up engines, new tires and stupid (but pretty) race queens and loud decibels all around…what else is new, huh?

it's time for a new cash-making machine and ways to amuse ourselves.

• old man on Nov 05, 2009 at 12:58 am

So now our Government still believe F1 will generate more results?

Who will pay for all such high tv rights to see this 2nd-tier car racing?

Consumer/tv audience in other countries will pay to watch Tata vs Proton to race in F1?

Get Real Malaysia. Spend the money to build a public transport for the public please.

• if F1 givin good invstmnt return, Honda will stay,BMW will stay,Toyota will stay, wonder wether our gov think tank are better from those Japanese and German?

• torque (Member) on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:08 am

old man said,

November 4, 2009 @ 4:58 pm

Of course it'll generate results la dear friend!! You want to know what the result is? Easy…every minister and cronies could round the world for free using tax payer's money…kekeke!! All the big player sudah ciao, kita mau masuk lg ka?

• common sensor on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:16 am

Yahoo … Opportunity for F1 1Malaysia !!

• blasting on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:18 am

sauber have a chance to be on grid la next year…….hahaha…yes..kobayashi was talented but he run out his money to be on grid..so he continue his sushi's business with his father….so qadbak sauber ferrari…here we go!!hehehe….

• Jaybond on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:20 am

Another bad news for F1. But if you look back the F1 racing in late 1970s, there are not many big budget manufacturer teams around, the grid is made up mostly out of privateer teams, powered by the ubiquitous Cosworth DVF V8. The other engine suppliers were Alfa Romeo, Matra, and of course works Ferrari and Renault cars.But the grid was huge at that time. And one of the glory years of F1.

Next year we'll have Ferrari, Mercedes, Renault, Cosworth (only 4 engine suppliers!!). If only the budget can be lowered, maybe it can attract newcomers like VW…

• honda quit.. and now toyota…hmmm

• Tiadaid on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:31 am

F1started without manufacturer backing, they would survive manufacturer backing. I don't think F1 would lose a lot, since Toyota is at best a midfield runner. If it was McLaren or Ferrari that's pulling out, the shock of that news would be crushing for F1. Besides, Toyota's doing it to sell cars anyway, not because of they are passionate about F1. They're already the biggest car manufacturer in the world and people know who they are, so they don't need F1 to show off their skills. In fact, being in F1 could hurt them more!

• old timers on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:40 am

so Potong in to show how stupid malaysian are… voting this gov who use taxpayer money for rich man toys… BS

• Ferruccio on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:42 am

Yup. It's a just a another phase that F1 goes through from time to time. The manufacturers will be back. Even if they don't, F1 will continue to trudge along. Most of us Malaysians are only familiar with the modern F1 circus post millenium which is just smoke and mirrors.

• good job on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:48 am

F1 has been around before you guys were even born. maybe the popularity has drop this year but that's normal. last season was pretty exciting when massa and hamilton were fighting for it till the last race. so all that they need is a competitive lineup of teams gunning for the drivers and constructors chmpionship. And scrap some of the shitty rules please.

• good job on Nov 05, 2009 at 1:56 am

In some major european countries F1 shown live for free on national tv etc. F1 has a large hardcore fans in europe and other developed countries. it wont be that easy for F1 to become irrelevant.

• ray said,

November 4, 2009 @ 5:25 pm

honda quit.. and now toyota…hmmm

—————————————————————

BMW also quit….

How about a proper world touring championship wt full manufacture backing (current WTCC one just not gud enough) ….would be more interesting and full of overtaking action wt real worl car instead of this airplane wt wheels (cannot relate wt real car)…Toyota camry vs Honda accord vs BMW M5 vs Merc C-class vs pug 407 …

Race on Sunday…Sell on Monday!

• kimi_ on Nov 05, 2009 at 2:00 am

Hope Lotus F1 will not embrassed Malaysian by DNF every race……LOL

If Sauber remain…it will be interesting to see IF PETRONAS will sponsor them……

• kimi_ on Nov 05, 2009 at 2:13 am

Look like a surprise Exits each year… From Honda few months ago…

Perhaps in 2011 Lotus F1 EXITS as well ….CHEEEEEEEEEEEEERS :)

• kimi_ on Nov 05, 2009 at 2:15 am

I wonder G and Proton have too much money THAT they pour it to DRAIN by

entering F1 instead of helping RAKYAT…

• orque said,

November 4, 2009 @ 5:08 pm

old man said,

November 4, 2009 @ 4:58 pm

Of course it’ll generate results la dear friend!! You want to know what the result is? Easy…every minister and cronies could round the world for free using tax payer’s money…kekeke!! All the big player sudah ciao, kita mau masuk lg ka?

Torque,

you are probably right. Cronies and ball-carriers can travel around the world during F1 season. FOC and can see umbrella grils….Better than "lawatan-sambil-belajar"

• dont be silly on Nov 05, 2009 at 2:47 am

dont be silly people

malaysia f1 team is NOT funded by the government!

its collb8rtn between tony geng-naza-litespeed racing

proton is only there bcos of LOTUS brand licensing

get ur facts straight

i bet my a$$ u bashers dont even watch f1

shame!!!

• old man on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:02 am

"Don't be silly" – You got the point! People don't even care to watch F1 now!

The tv rights are the most money generating when people wanted to watch.

Who in the world wants to watch Lotus aka Proton race? when BMW, Toyo, Honda all moved out. Like you ever care those Red Bull cars or teams didn't even able to start when Ferarri, BMW, and Merc is fighting for the podium. Those days are gone!

The next big thing is when either Ferarri and Merc move out too! I am waiting for that. Since it clearly not wise to spend money in F1 now.

• car fever on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:22 am

"dont be silly" – That’s the right word for you, no offence. Does more research before you comment. There is something called proxy in this world. We all know who the one behind all these names is. We didn’t watch f1 doesn’t mean we didn’t know how our government works.

BTW, your ass is worthless. No offence ya.

• RedLine on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:31 am

old man….what exactly are you angry about? The Government is NOT funding the Lotus F1 team. This already came out in the Parliment. Didn't you read newspaper or watch the news? So I don't see what the big deal is about.

• Qayyum on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:44 am

toyota pergi.. lotus mali.. aiyooo

• Tiadaid on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:53 am

old man said,

November 4, 2009 @ 7:02 pm

The next big thing is when either Ferarri and Merc move out too! I am waiting for that. Since it clearly not wise to spend money in F1 now

——————–

Ferrari leaving F1? They've been in F1 ever since the first race back in 1950. Ferrari stuck in F1 through thick and thin, when they were the midfielders in the late 80s and early 90s, when Williams and McLaren was numero uno. They were born to race so I doubt they'll be leaving. Besides, economic crises come and go, if Toyota's leaving, there are others willing to take their place. Like I said before, F1 started without manufacturer backing, they've raced without manufacturer backing and they will survive without manufacturer backing.

• open minded on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:11 am

all the bashers seem thinking that the tax's money… is likely came out of their pocket…. get the facts right…. it is already stated … has got nothing to do with it….. why be such a silly…. Lotus F1 does not perform yet….. you all already look down to them….. give them time to build up their team… such a typical Malaysia…. if that so… how about if we just urge the gov to cut all budget for sport purposes….. even better huh…. jimat wang Maa….. itu Honda n Toyota… eventhough they are retiring… doesnt mean we committing a damn big mistake…. FYI …. they are not THE GOD …. .doesnt mean we have necessarily follow their action… we are mALAYSIAN …. we do our way…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:15 am

good toyota should have quitted a long time ago

• alansmithz (Member) on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:38 am

Lotus F1 still need to find deep pocket sponsor to pay for all these huge costs for running an F1 team. In this poor economy condition, which international corp will be foolish enough to invest??? At the end of the day, Lotus F1 will be sponsored by:

1) Petronas

2) Tourism Malaysia (remember they have RM899.99 million budget for 2009/2010!!! Cheer^^)

3) Proton

4) MAS (AirAsia boss will not be so naive to put his egg in this basket)

Yes, in that order:)

• LotusLover on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:33 am

sure la! invest so much but u see the result.. fast fast balik kampung lah TOYOTA! Toyota doesn't mean the best ( this words for my ex bosses who always say "Toyota Is The Best Car In The World" .. NAH!!!)

• Najibest on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:35 am

the Lotus Litespeed 1Malaysia whatever team might not be funded directly by the govt, but obviously GLC is going to be lined up to sponsor them. i mean you hear already all statements by Tony Fernandes are hinting on this. anyway, it's been stated that we're going to build a state of the art F1 facilities here in Sepang circuit, that 1 would definitely be funded by the taxpayer as the government would use up the excuse of "we're building capabilities for Malaysian people" to fund it :)

• Better not take away on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:49 am

I got an idea; now is the best time to buy the Toyota F1 team!! Remember when Honda left and Brawn took over? Now UMW and P2 can take over this team and challenge big brother Proton at the grid! P1 versus P2 on the race track!

• Why it soooooooo hard for some people in here to understand the pull-out of Honda & Toyota… It is because these two T & H company are already established companies… not winning race in F1 HURT/COMPROMISED their corporate image more!

These two conglomerates combined worth 1.7 trillions dollar… THAT’S TRILLION! Do you think they care for yearly budget of 200 millions to participate in F1… but NOT WINNING??

I know not all in here are coming from business background, but please, if you have sooooooo much time to comment here, meaning you’re spending time on the internet… why dont along the way you go & learn something over the internet so that your comments don’t sound like tin kosong.

/rant over.

• shawal.ali on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:58 am

sumore , in 2011 F1 wont have any tyres anymore…..(Bridgestone is quitting)

F1 is about pushing the limit of racing and cars, but we've reached the limit , so many rules banning this… banning that, the sport can't evolve for the better (it didnt , v10 to v8 unfortunately…) , and its too expensive for poorer teams to compete if they were no rules , it sounds like a dying sport. Because, no matter how superior a supercar on the road can get by benefiting F1 tech , it has to be driven responsibly. Alot of teams quit, b'cuz they don't see the point in doing it anymore… the f1 cars this season looks damn ugly..i wonder how they'll look like next year….

How to make it exciting?

• old man on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:03 am

Even a car company needs Gov $$ for 25 years and still cant survive by standing itself to face the outside world.

What makes the chance for a F1 team survive? but purely spending money without generate return.

The biggest problem is we believe keep spending behind the name of nation is "productive", but where is the return? and that is the reason why we got so many non contributors to object the spending since it is very obvious who is the beneficial.

Those are the people who never know how to fish, but waiting for the fish to be served.

• bmpower on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:08 am

VERY GOOD NEWS INDEED!..

now we got less 2 SLOW car on the grid.

(well, they got nothing in involvement. like i said so :

NONE OF TOYOTA CAR ARE CHAMPION! NONE! they are NOT FAST) .

take it!

• Toyota quit because it just can't win. Being world no 1 car manufacturer, it just can't afford to settle in the middle. They've been trying very hard but still cannot stand out as prominent f1 team. This will hurt their image in the eyes of their hardcore fans. Please check back their planned milestone when they entered f1 10 years back with Ralf shumacer as driver. At that time they just quit WRC after winning so much races to enter f1.

It doesn't show anything, toyota quit f1. Even before their entrance, michael shumacer has been glorifying the ferrari and f1 races, toyota joined just to taste some piece of popularity. Hey, they even hire Michael's brother as their driver.

• Next question is .. where kobayashi will be going?? herm..

• @ bibo…

Good observant… kudos.

• Tiadaid on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:14 am

bibo said,

November 4, 2009 @ 10:31 pm

Toyota quit because it just can’t win. Being world no 1 car manufacturer, it just can’t afford to settle in the middle. They’ve been trying very hard but still cannot stand out as prominent f1 team. This will hurt their image in the eyes of their hardcore fans. Please check back their planned milestone when they entered f1 10 years back with Ralf shumacer as driver. At that time they just quit WRC after winning so much races to enter f1.

It doesn’t show anything, toyota quit f1. Even before their entrance, michael shumacer has been glorifying the ferrari and f1 races, toyota joined just to taste some piece of popularity. Hey, they even hire Michael’s brother as their driver.

———————

Ralf Schumacher didn't drive for Toyota from the start, it's actually Mika Salo. Toyota should have stuck to rallying, they were very successful there in the Nineties, before Tommi Makkinen's 4 successive championship in the Evo. Before the Evo there was the Celica.

• Naz@Ford on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:20 am

what???!!! another famous team goin out from F1 again?? xsiok la cmni F1 thn dpn..

• its been stated in Parliament that the govt isnt going to spend money.

typical, i feel sorry for the govt. I dont agree with some of their policies but it doesnt mean i bash them all the time.

GLCs will probably be advertising on the cars. so what, theyre probably gonna spend that amount on money on advertising anyway, so might as well just put it there. its not as if they dont have money.

yeah, of course i would prefer if they put up a good public transportation system and all, but then again, baseless comments would only say that the public transport projects will go to cronies, etc, etc.

so how?

• To think of it, venturing into F1 is of waste of money. Most of the comments were right. Rather use that $$$ to improve our public transport which are falling far behind from the Thai's and Sing's.

F1 used a lot of Mother Nature's resources: petroleum. UAE is really into F1, first Bahrain and now Yas Marina, what's next? Can't blame them cuz they got more oil than water. Haha.

Korean GP starts next year. So is their Hyundai/Kia/Daewoo venturing into F1? Hmm….I don't think so. Btw, F1 competition involves teams from car maker companies while A1 is a competition among countries. So why 1Malaysia Team in F1?

Haihz cant wait for 2012 but got mixed feelings;

(1) Hope for change in Gov on the G.Election (bb Najis)

(2) End of the world according to the Mayan calender

• ahmad norman on Nov 05, 2009 at 10:01 am

cerita kobayashi seakan-akan cerita initial d la pulak….

• singh on Nov 05, 2009 at 10:27 am

find Lotus Curry House to be 1MF1 sponsor la. hehe. Both also Lotus. Can promote Malaysian food to the world. :)

• bahnstormer#2 on Nov 05, 2009 at 10:43 am

uhm just wanna state my humble insignificant opinion….yah i feel f1 is boring …like really boring. wish they broadcasted more super gt sigh…

• toyo_the_stupid on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:10 pm

Indeed to me is a very very very GOOD NEWS!!!

F1 should not exist in the first place!!! they are only damaging the earth and polluting the atmosphere.. so letting it die (H and T and B has foreseen it) is appropriate

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 05, 2009 at 3:45 pm

jk said,

November 5, 2009 @ 1:19 am

To think of it, venturing into F1 is of waste of money. Most of the comments were right. Rather use that $$$ to improve our public transport which are falling far behind from the Thai’s and Sing’s

———————–

Bro, the only you need to remember in Malaysia is if you need everything from this BN G, you must open your own branch of ***O or **A or **C or to get those things. As far as KL or any major is cities is concerned, the MP is not from BN allies that's why you won't get those things. Even an area nearby Putrajaya which reach enough residential quota is ignored their rights to have school there just due to no branch of ***O. what the hell is that!

• azrai on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:01 pm

Big global company (BMW, Honda, Toyota) departing F1, then came 1MF1 team out of nowhere. So think the rational? Will it be profitable? i bet not even break even. Just hope Prasarana don't have to buy the team after a year. :-)

• REALLY WEIRDoooo…..1 malaysia F1 really profitable?

Wonder one day F1 will become "sukan tradisional Malaysia"

Cause only MAlaysian's goverment support it!

MAluu maaa…

• MyCarMyLife on Nov 05, 2009 at 4:44 pm

Yawn ,ahh zzzzzzzzzzzzz

• justice (Member) on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:27 pm

and Malaysia sekarang baru nak main F1. F1 consumes such hefty sum of money, why waste on something that world care less now? Its really silly when I think of it. I mean, what does Malaysia has to prove to the world? That our country has the capability to play a rich man's game? Why not just spend the money on our country's development and not only develop KL's Platinum City. To start off, how about developing the communication means in other states?

why Malaysia? WHY???? I wonder what Malaysia is thinking right now? There's just no sense of pride and dignity.

Rakyat first lah, Malaysia. Mau muka pun boleh, tapi jgn di sebalik muka tu, rupa-rupanya buruk! Build the true foundation of the country first. Start from the wage rate of Malaysian 'slave workers'. Yg kaya makin kaya, yg miskin makin miskin. Sudahlah fooling around with taxes, ni zaman modern dah, bukan zaman perdagangan rempah-ratus lah…and for pete's sake, don't disturb the price of the crap fuel lah. Even Lambo Gallardo's engine pun rosak pakai RON97. Ada Degree atau Master pun tarak guna.

• Angie on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Stupid goverment, please use our money wiseless. Repair all the pot-holes in all the road!, build more highways, repair all nessesary instead spending on a non-result sport like football in our country – one word -> useless. Spend more on badminton, squash, bowling that we really strong off, not because our malaysian love soccer and sponsor them because they want to. WAKE UP GOVERNMENT!

• autojoke on Nov 05, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Now I got reason to terminate ASTRO!

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Naza f1 team to win haha they now paying everybody to quit f1, using our money

• Altezzar on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:27 pm

For a normal man on the street all this discussion about F1 and being champion is irrelevant. What is important is getting value for your money. Meaning reliability and durability is the basic requirement of any cars today.

If you pay more expect more…..Reliability, Durability and Quality.

Unfortunately there are people who live in denial who like pay more for less…… Because of Heritage, something called "Soul", Brand image etc….

Anyway it is about time Toyota came out of F1. F1 is dying…….

They can now spend the vast resources on other form of motorsport which resembles to something they sell. WTCC, WRC etc….

• kimi_ on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:37 pm

bmpower said,

VERY GOOD NEWS INDEED!..

now we got less 2 SLOW car on the grid.

(well, they got nothing in involvement. like i said so :

NONE OF TOYOTA CAR ARE CHAMPION! NONE! they are NOT FAST) .

————————————————

dude, Toyota are well known for its RELIABILITY….not fast

• kimi_ on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Malaysia entering F1 because want a malaysian driver to involve in…..to show 'MALAYSIA BOLEH'…Like the ANGKASAWAN flied to space but know NOTHING!!!!!!!!!

So, you like it or not…Fairuz will be in the seat without considering its capability

In Malaysia, everything BOLEH( corruption, useless G, stupid policy )

• kimi_ on Nov 05, 2009 at 6:50 pm

Today the F1-live.com critics the LOTUS F1 team hardly more than the name(refer to Aryton Senna and its past famous drivers)….

SEE…look how shame and embrassed all MALAYSIAN are now……The silly G

thought they are smart and proud of the team…….WTF

• trav_da_man on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:11 pm

It seems Japanese are now rather quiting on something they cant win and always blame the weak economy as their main reason. It looks kinda lame but seeing they spent billions on F1 and get nothing, i believe it is reasonable to quit F1.

As many motorsports, i believe the era of factory teams has come into the end and this begins the era of privateer teams. That explains more and more privater teams entering F1, and that including a privater team, Brawn F1, emerged as F1 Constructors champion this year. Perhaps Toyota should reenter WRC or WTCC as it is relevant to their production cars.

• old timers on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:19 pm

trav-da-man,

Business man quit F1 if loss money…that's responsible…

mesia joined f1 using taxpayer money…and losing money, that's called 'hobby'

• no eye see on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:30 pm

So long BMW and Toyota, what a waste!!! but good luck to 1Malaysia/Lotus-litespeed team. With all the good car withdrawing, I hope it will not be the last in the list.

Whatever it is, our govt has spent so much on an astronaut, why dont it just continue with space research facilty or something? Since the space vacation is the next hot topic. 3 mil euro for a 3 days trip.

• Hondas on Nov 05, 2009 at 7:53 pm

For those who still believe gov does not have to sponsor any $ for running this 1malaysia F1 team? Dun be naive, 1st year & 2nd year maybe, they can ask sponsor from GLC & local company to sponsor as advertising. after few years, after losing few seasons, eventually those company will stop the sponsors. GLC will ask gov to chip in $ to sustain it and force to take back the project.

Time will tell, let's see.

• trav_da_man on Nov 05, 2009 at 8:10 pm

oldtimer:

There is no indication they using our tax payers money as others mention here. So u rather want our tax payers money to built more public toilets than this opportunity? sheeesh.

I rather see how the team perform in 2010 before i made my judgement.

• kimi_ on Nov 05, 2009 at 8:16 pm

trav_da_man said,

——————————-

Wheter directly or indirectly Gov will spend the money include the new

facility and future wind tunnel in SEPANG for 1MalaysiaF1 team….

• MSIA = MONEY on Nov 05, 2009 at 8:23 pm

BECAUSE WE HAVE A STUPID KERAJAAN RIGHT NOW AND FUTURE….

• ktas09 on Nov 05, 2009 at 8:48 pm

Honda OUT. Toyota OUT. 1MalaysiaF1 team is IN. It shows that Malaysian company AIRASIA and PROTON are 'better' than TOYOTA. Is it???? Or Malaysia is only good in SHOW OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just wait and see for how long this stupid F1 team can sustain in F1 calendar. MALAYSIA BOLEH #%$@%!!!!!!!!!

• torque (Member) on Nov 05, 2009 at 9:41 pm

For those who supported the Malaysia joinning F1, pls think first and PLEASE read all the SINCERE words from most our local journalist ok!!! Most these journalist stated that joining the F1 will do them (including me) proud BUT this is not the RIGHT time!! Not in this current economy and our nation condition! Care to explain the issue regarding the laptop priced over than RM40k, the wasted money on crappy project Eye on Malaysia, the sale of MV Agusta to Gevi Spa. for one Euro and the mystery on who are the people behind Gevi Spa. while the Government offered no explanation for the sale of the acquired prize asset, the RM4.6 billion PKFZ scandal when the originally project forecast cost was just RM1.1 billion, the AP systems which now backfired them…do you need me to list more of our beloved gov mishap?!! Do you want this move in F1 to be one of them? I'm not saying its WRONG but its just not the RIGHT time!!!

Do you think the Malaysia gov publicly wanted to announce that they are going to use the tax payer's money directly to fund this ridiculous move? For god sake, they'll end up losing the next GE man!! They are not DUMB, they just CORRUPT! Yes, it is a collaboration between Naza, Tony Fernandes and of course Proton la…even the so-called brand licensing. It's just plain word playing, word twisting aka BS. Of course they'll use the name LotusF1 lah! What idiot want to enter F1 and use ProtonF1 name when our national car company is not even a no. 1 car in top ranking sales in other country? Hyundai for example already bypass both Ford and Honda in the world rank…why? Simply b'coz they get their act straight!! And the Chinese Geely are now trying to raise fund up to USD250 million wanted to take over Volvo! For crying out loud, didn't it struck all of you that the money pouring into the F1 scene is much better at acquiring Volvo's renown safety features and technology?

All I got to say is…fix the damages not making more of it!! Cheers…

• formulaone on Nov 05, 2009 at 10:04 pm

no more place for kamui kobayashi next year.. he will do a sushi n sell it with AE86.. heheh..just like initial-D did.. =P

• no eye see on Nov 06, 2009 at 12:50 am

LATEST NEWS…

Cosworth return to the sport in 2010 after a three-year absence, and will also supply engines for the four new teams – US F1, Campos, "Lotus" and Manor. Not forgetting Williams also using this engine in 2010.

Meaning Malaysia's Lotus Team is going to use COSWORTH engine.

more @ http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsport/formul…

• albagmane on Nov 06, 2009 at 2:31 am

i think the malaysian based f1 team would rather pick an ANG MO (mat salleh) rather than a Japanese eh…

• Ferruccio on Nov 06, 2009 at 7:41 am

no eye see said,

November 5, 2009 @ 4:50 pm

LATEST NEWS…

Cosworth return to the sport in 2010 after a three-year absence, and will also supply engines for the four new teams – US F1, Campos, “Lotus” and Manor. Not forgetting Williams also using this engine in 2010.

Meaning Malaysia’s Lotus Team is going to use COSWORTH engine.

—————————————————————

LotusF1 using Cosworth is old news actually. What else can they afford for now?

In addition, Fondtech, Italy (subsidiary of Fondmetal) is doing aero design for them. gearbox by Xtrac. They say actual car will be built at the RTN facility in Hingham, Norfolk, where their current technical base is. They will of course try to involve Lotus Cars facilities in the process, located not far from there, more for PR than anything.

• toyota biggest car maker in the world.. how about proton and lotus?

are they VERY sure to join F1.. wasting malaysian money le..

• intermilan on Nov 06, 2009 at 6:17 pm

At last, all the mediocre japanese cabut lari from F1. bridgestone included.

This show they are not there for the sport, but purely there to create commercial gains.

once it is deemed not generating enough value, cabut!

but its not exclusively japanese, so does bmw, ahak!

Sad la to all vios owners, now there is no reason to watch F1 anymore. Beloved toyota ain't there anymore. Uhuu..

1Malaysia F1 team is a waste. Not right now anyway! Everyone feel the same.

Why ain't these pusher understand and get what people feel about it?

The country is in grave danger of slipping even further (economically), and you guys come up with this expensive, money wasting, for sure back of the grid ' wayang kulit show'?

Syok sendiri lagi la Malaysia ni…

but now people are not easy to tipu anymore….

Its might be called a noble idea by some, but at a worse time like this? This is = to ?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 06, 2009 at 11:27 pm

1malaysia f1 team should quit

• hack3line on Nov 07, 2009 at 4:35 pm

baru nak masuk dah nak suruh quit.. ini la budaya typical orang Malaysia

dulu Brabham masuk F1 jadi juara lagi, pastu dia quit, sekarang dah nak masuk balik

• muammarhafiz on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:39 pm

bagus la malaysia ada F1 team,im very proud of it.

dunno why u guys dont feel the same..maybe im just too patriotic or lack of general knwledge..

patriotic sgt pun i still xpuas ati how proton make my saga 1.3 BLM campro engine with many too many problem IAFM lah,valve lah itu lah ini lah..

BUT APA2 pun i still support proton because im just being patriotic.

and love my country so much..

talk about F1 history….TOYOTA pn newcomer..they join F1 pun mcm xda effect altho they are the riches car manufacturer..hahaha..

maybe lotus boleh make different to this sport?

LOL..i love malaysia.haha