Vehicle scrap policy scrapped… for now

MITI has gone back on its decision to implement a Vehicle End-of-Life Policy for now. An intention to implement such a policy had been announced when the ministry released its NAP Review 2009 earlier this month. The Ministry of Transport was to come up with a road map of the policy’s implementation, but the first step was to introduce a mandatory vehicle inspection for your road tax to be renewed annually.

So we don’t have to worry about them taking away our old vehicles after a certain amount of years, or being hassled with an inspection every year. Personally I feel that we are not ready financially for a scrap policy, but vehicle inspection could have been a good idea, if implemented with spaced out intervals such as every 3 years instead of every year. It’s good news but not all good news, as the ban on used part imports from June 2011 still stays.

Annual vehicle inspection for road tax renewal implementation start date not set for now
NAP Review: 15-year old car annual inspection precursor to full vehicle end-of-life policy
Import of used parts to end June 2011
NAP Review’s hybrid car incentives
Full NAP Review text released by MITI
National Automotive Policy 2009 Review Results

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• And you can expect more dangerous cars on the road LOL. Malaysia boleh

• Head Hunter on Nov 07, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Come on! scrap it all together! I need my recond parts for my old pajero!!!

• Littlefire on Nov 07, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Yup, is another half-bake move by the G…

They knew that a lot of old cars still depend on those imported spare parts. Even they are allowed to move on the roads, but due to no more cheap spare parts & some even cannot be found. A lot will still have no choice but to scrap it…

Those spare part shop owner n workers how they survive? Change to selling scrap metal.. LOL~! I might think that some of them may declare their spare part as scrap metal to bring in… Kastam can eat more money and cheap spare part also will bring price up… Later a lot of old cars will be stolen to be another person spare part… Haiz…

• Tracks (Member) on Nov 07, 2009 at 9:36 pm

I agree that we are not ready for to the scrapping yet. However, sooner or later this matter would still take place. Anyhow, they should start first maybe with 20yrs old vehicle first. As for antique or classic cars, they should be classified into other categories as this vehicles are usually well maintained to attained that status.

Anyhow, I see many two years old vehicles on the road with botak tyres and this poses a real issue on safety. This problem should be look into as well.

• Ralph on Nov 07, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Why does I feel that the G is like an adult where they take away toys from kids, then the kids cry and then give the toy back to the kid…

• scanzew on Nov 07, 2009 at 9:47 pm

haha finally gomen realized this policy is unpopular….it can further decrease gomen popularity huh…..

• Roll royalechi on Nov 07, 2009 at 10:01 pm

G sometimes talk like an idiot…. just talk then got people feedback, they feel good when make people feel bad about G. Our neighborhood been seen a lot of new vehicle with a good price and we live with our scrap…..

• malaysian government's trademark: now you see now you don't

• chanel on Nov 07, 2009 at 10:16 pm

how about if we scrap the barang naik gov

• Donovan Chin on Nov 07, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Sadly, I think that the ban on used part imports will not be scrapped. The government's protectionalism of Proton will definitely see this being maintained.

• zidane on Nov 07, 2009 at 10:33 pm

If you ask me, the scrap policy is a good idea.

But what should be started first is to eliminate those cars which have been involved in bad accidents (total loss). I believe this is the first step. However, the insurance companies here will not let this happen. They're willing to give money to repair those wrecked cars instead.

After that, a review of the effects of the scrap policy.

• taboogen on Nov 07, 2009 at 10:34 pm

i think i can say about malaysian overall is they did not ambrasse changes, same goes when your are working in the office, when u find a sweet spot you are reluctant to move, how malaysia want to be a develope nation when the people stood still all the time

See the bright side,malysian can create their own parts, if Taiwan can makes aftermarket parts for malaysian cars why not ourself.

malu lah

• mufasa on Nov 07, 2009 at 10:51 pm

gov should not scrap this policy,,,but should study more,,and put some target…liek,,,next 3 years to study and come out with good policy …

scrap kedai potong? if gov give 5 year for all those kedai to tapau then ok aa,,if only give them 1 year,,that bad…

welll..we know our gov right?

• droll on Nov 07, 2009 at 11:07 pm

don't be fooled – it might've been a ploy afterall to garner votes! introduce something unpopular then cancel it and say, "It's because we love you, rakyat!" hahahaha.

ok but seriously, i recall a minister once saying something like you want first world infrastructure but you want to pay third world prices? HOW CAN? basically telling us we should pay more for better goods. i think the issue isn't really that. the issue is people just cannot afford to pay for better goods (blame whoever you want on this, m'sia's GDP is really low). and there you have the root cause of the problem!

the government is slowly trying to reduce subsidies but they don't realize that it needs to go in tandem with increasing our spending power or the purchasing power of the ringgit, even though i am oversimplifying this.

i agree with paultan's view.

• If being the Malaysian Government is a job, i'd bet its the worst job in the world.

Personally, i feel that, yeah this back and forth is really not a good sign. Make one decision and stand firm on it. The scrapping policy, IMHO, is a very good policy but must be complemented by lowering overall prices of new cars. Which in turn will increase demand, lowering people's need for second hand cars, thus making this policy feasible.

The kedai potongs, well some stuff has to go. I find Paul being a tad biased on this matter, justified by his recent post about an interview with a chop shop owner. The article had a lot of emotions, and being a very revered figure in the local automotive scene, maybe Paul could have been more objective towards it. The problem as i see it, there is a lack of standard guidelines, standard operating procedures in chop shops around the country. I have had some dealings with a chop shop where my brother's souped up Kancil was converting to a L2S engine, we had to change the gearbox 5 times! The quality of these chop shops products varies, in too big a scale.

But, to ask all of them to cease operation by 2011, is not properly planned.

There should be a bigger timeframe, to ensure the impact on these wonderful guys are minimal.

And coming to the government critics, try to keep a level head. I loath the way they make their decisions too, but providing feedback is way better than complaining in some guy's blog.

I also noticed im kinda repeating what these people have said previously (mufasa, and some other guys) but just to reiterate the fact that those are actually good ideas.

Just my two cents.

• tokan on Nov 07, 2009 at 11:58 pm

FZ, i totally agree with u.

• aliBaPa on Nov 07, 2009 at 11:59 pm

f**k you govt, flip-flop all the time

maybe they want to pass this shit to Pakatan Rakyat

• kujik on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:06 am

so how about others, like lorry, bus.. this policy should cater

all transport

• Paul Tan on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:14 am

lorry and bus (commercial vehicles, taxi, etc) already currently require an annual inspection for road tax renewal.

• kimi_ on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:28 am

FZ said,

Which in turn will increase demand, lowering people’s need for second hand cars, thus making this policy feasible.

——————————-

Hey dude, please considering all those doing business in the second-hand car and chop shop owners…..many of them doing this for decades and suddenly no more income source….WTF

Does everyone afford brand new car nowadays….expenssive new parts!!!!! for a new graduate at work sure need second hand car…

with standard of living so high now….an individual earning Rm3000+ cant and struggle even support his/her living in KL….dont say their family

• Better not take away on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:29 am

Thank goodness they decide to do the U-turn on the scrap policy. I can still keep my old faithful and perhaps can give it a make-over now that the gov would not want to take it away from me?

FZ, I agree with you. If our car price is not as expensive as it is now, or the type of cars offered by P1P2 are up to par with the latest countries and not stripped of all the JDM accessories like P2 cars, quality on par with overseas make, fuel efficient new engine, with ABS, airbag, electronic brake distribution as standard, we won't complain about this scrap policy. As it is, what is offered is not any advance from the cars of yesteryear and still overpriced! It does not help T and H cars are lite versions of their JDM and overseas counterparts and cost ALOT more! Even the Prius we get is underspec and overpriced!

As for 2nd hand spare parts, I personally thing this unpopular policy have to go. My brother (not of voting age yet) who has a Myvi will be disappointed if he cannot get Passo spoiler, Passo dash, Passo lights etc in the future, let alone those with old faithfuls.

Paul, as it is, inspection at Puspakom is a big no-no due to how inefficient it is and the low numbers of inspection centers. Let Puspakom deal with those commercial vehicles, they are bigger and pose a bigger threat compared to a few old old faithfuls on the road.

• kimi_ on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:32 am

FZ said,

—————————-

I DONT THINK ANY OTHER WILL agree ON THIS POLICY…

you support this policy shows that you are one of the FXXking UXXO cronies or

one work with G that earn hefty amount of salary without work and just sleep and enjoy lifE !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Red car on Nov 08, 2009 at 12:52 am

problem of possibility of unavailable low price (imported) spare parts will haunt the old car owners…where to get all spare parts cheaply…?

• klguy on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:27 am

when the buying stops, so does the selling…hopefully. say TAKNAK to Proton. Dear Malaysians, lets do this for the sake of our future generations.

• bodai on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:30 am

don't mix up chop shop parts with recond parts.

all chop shoppers know that when they buy parts from chop shop there is no guarantee that it will work well.

It is funny to read ppl complain about the quality of used parts.

The part was bought as it is, guarantee is minimal, if the half cut engine can start, that's it. The internal parts you will never know, that's why those who know always overhaul the engine or gb first.

All car enthusiast and 'modders' will protest n' fight this policy to the end

no new car can replace the old car that we admire and love.

• p1basher on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:32 am

why scrap our car, scrap kao gov la..

cb, my mother got no choice but to book a proton and scrap her car after they announced that policy. Now they said no need?! CBCBCBCBCBCBCBCBCB……

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:34 am

See, no problem. Even the pakcik and chop shop got future in front of them. Gov make U turn more times than people do at road test :P

• bodai on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:40 am

someone mentioned " there is a lack of standard guidelines, standard operating procedures in chop shops around the country "

hey what do u expect? ?

chop shop to test all the halfcuts and parts they are selling? then u won't be able to get it at this price. the cost will go up..

as for those rare, or performance engine and parts, if u are fussy, there are ton's of ppl out there from the USA, europe etc who is eager/fighting to buy it and rebuild it themselves, and make it work like a gem.

• shawal.ali on Nov 08, 2009 at 1:59 am

can we sms the no. plates of vehicles that should be inspected?

haahahaahahaha

scrappage….whutever happened to "sentimental value"

• sadbuttrue on Nov 08, 2009 at 2:19 am

getting rid of chop shops are a bad idea… look at other countries, they have chop shop and dont burden the ppl… and to be honest if ppl have problems with a chop shop then they need to go to a different one. if you have to change a gearbox 5 times i dont think it's the quality of the part, more likely the quality of the mechanic (experience in getting good quality 2nd hand parts is a trade on it's own)…

anyway, ppl wont buy "original" parts that cost an arm and a leg, instead they'll go and get the cheap stuff, that has dodgy quality or the recond parts that's been recond-ed several times over! rm30 for a set of wira brake pads anyone (fyi: the cost? maybe rm5-8)

actually govt gets what they want anyway, bcos when you cant get cheap parts for your 20 year old pajero, you'll be force to buy a cheap alternate vehicle, which is a Proton or a Perodua. so the government dont have to spend millions on wrecking your old car (which mostly likely they'll have to compensate us for- again saving money) but you're still force to get a new car and while your old one sits and rots away.

now putting a humanistic face on the issue is important! why? bcos WE ARE HUMANS! good for paul for showing the compassionate side of the story bcos i dont think any other media outlet is doing it. where's majalah 3 when you need them?

simple fact of life. why is the government doing this? are chop shops hurting the economy and burdening the ppl? free market works bcos it's a choice. a choice we vote with our wallets. the m'sian government is taking away this choice for no good reasons and i for one cant see any good reason to allow this to happen. IMHO, of course.

• initial R on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:04 am

we ask G do like S'pore G do but in other hand we also tide our G hand & force not to do thing… Mainly porpose just to "menangkan hati sebahagian rakyat yang tak tahu bersyukur, berterima kasih & beradab". Ohh…. my, Malaysianku…..

• wuttaheck on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:26 am

kimi_ said,

November 7, 2009 @ 4:28 pm

FZ said,

Which in turn will increase demand, lowering people’s need for second hand cars, thus making this policy feasible.

——————————-

Hey dude, please considering all those doing business in the second-hand car and chop shop owners…..many of them doing this for decades and suddenly no more income source….WTF

——————-

aiyaa….cheaper car oso don wan aaa?

it's very hard to satisfy some peeps if the only thing in their worth living life is just to bash others!

everything has a domino effect, so just hve to live with it and make the most out of it.

gila ini olang…keleta mulah pn talak mau…funny clown lol!

• End of life policy and annual inspection is scrapped for now… because the gov't really didn't think it all through. For me this is what the gov't need to have in place before having the end of life and annual inspection policy:

1) Overhaul, streamline and update the JPJ. Right now the JPJ is in a mess. Regulation interpretation varies from state to state and person to person. The gov't need to update the road transport regulation as most of it is very vague and outdated (for example exhaust noise is stated as "excessible" and no dB numbers is given or for motorcycle helmets the riders face have to be visible from brows to chin, which means fullfaces are actually illegal). Gov't need to get someone from RTD's of developed countries, such as UK, to help to update and change our road transport regulation. Need to have the same interpretation of the law in every state. I have been summoned in another state for something that is ok in my state. And please JPJ, uphold the law that the rakyat is innocent until proven guilty, not what JPJ does right now which is we are guilty until we can prove that we are innocent (usually when we are summoned, we have to go through the law book and show to the JPJ while getting a runaround in the JPJ office of course, to prove that we are innocent, not the JPJ officer citing the law to prove that we are guilty at the time of the summon). Sometimes we pity the JPJ officers that are followed around by TONTO's but in a way they are actually the same, bullying and taunting the poor innocent rakyats.

2) Abolish the monopoly of puspakom. let the inspections able to be conducted by service centres with the right equipment. It is silly to expect rural people hundreds of kilometres away from major towns to drive so far in their old cars for inspection. Another reoccuring theme is the vagueness of the regulation. Different centres means different intrepertation of the law. And they must stop this distructive testing of cars to find illegal weld points.

3) The rakyat's ability to get loans for used cars must also be think about. I can predict that if the annual inspection policy happens, the ability to get loans for cars over 10 years old will simply dry up. There must be a mechanism to give loans to low income people with big familys that cannot afford new cars to still get loan to buy used cars after this.

4) No need to ban used parts. Most used parts are OEM parts from japan, which is to me can be more trusted than new but immitation parts. The gov't need to clamp down on the immitation parts, which is sold as original and can be very dangerous, not the used parts. After the annual inspection policy is in place, vehicles can be checked for roadworthiness, and that can be a mechanism to check the vehicle is safe, even if using used parts.

5) With the annual inspection in place, the car scrapping will occur naturally. No need to implement a forced scrapping law. As the car gets harder and harder to maintain, naturally the car value drops and will be scrapped. This gives a choice to people who still want to use old cars (such as vehicle collectors or vintage car enthusiasts) to still own old cars as the car has to be tiptop in order to pass inspection. So i disagree if a rigid law forcing mandatory scrapping is placed.

To the gov’t people that drafts the NAP and other policy’s…

please remember it is not:

– proton didahulukan

– perodua didahulukan

– vendor automotif didahulukan

– AP holders didahulukan

but

RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN!

• wuttaheck on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:33 am

i totally agreed with paul…mandatory puspakom inspection is a good idea if spaced out in a specific interval i.e: 3 yrs etc…be it old or new.too many people these days just know how to rev the gas without even know when to replace used up parts i.e: tires, brake pads etc2…

• azhar167 on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:41 am

The ease at which MITI dropped the vehicle inspection requirement after taking so long to draft the NAP smells fishy. I think it was just a red herring left there to divert the people's attention from the fact that the NAP is actually nothing, tong kosong.

Actually most things are status quo, car prices remains high, the AP kings continue to reign, fuel prices are set to increase come 2010, proton continue to be protected after 25 years of protection, there is nothing at all offered to the 1Rakyat. Everything for the cronies and the suppliers of proton as usual.

So now, MITI has succeeded in reducing the focus on the continued failure of our automobile industry and the suffering of the 1Rakyat who have the privilage of paying the highest prices for the lowest specs, lowest safety equipped cars in the world. On top of that, our cost of maintenance will be increased with the revised insurance policy that strongly favours the insurance companies, ever rising price of parts, plus the high taxes being levied for the importation of crucial parts and spares needed to maintain our existing cars in a safe & woring condition.

• Sexyitaliannnn on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:46 am

I have a 17 year old Alfa Romeo 155. Changed the engine recently. had to endure the Tint test (No tint but their Gadget say otherwise) Damn!. Then i had the inside roof trimmings 'Koyak' because.. well they KOYAK it! Damn! Then the brakes, apparently the Brake gauging whattheycall it thingy is calibrated for non-continental car, so i had to endure the handbrake test till my brake pads actually fades and 'Gagal' the test. Damn! In the end a runner was the only solution. What to do? I need my car and i can't afford a new car which cost the same as a house and depreciates by the first day you BOUGHT it! Damn!

Anyway here's a vote for the current government cause today they listen to our plight and scrapped the whole idea. GOOD!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:49 am

POWER TO THE PEOPLE!

• orido on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:25 am

Sepatutnya vehicle scrap program ni diteruskan! Kereta buruk korang yang berbelas tahun tu lah yang akan menyusahkan orang bila kereta korang mati tengah jalan. Bangga sangat dengan JDM Spec konon. Orang Jepun tak kisah pasal JDM ke tak JDM. Kita je yang jakun melampau-lampau. Barang "rare" konon… Pigi dahh!!

Aku setuju sangat Govt kekalkan ban on imported used parts. Yelah, tokei-tokei kedai potong ni selama ni bermaharajalela dengan barang-barang sampah yang diorang beli dari luar tu. Beli kereta potong ikut timbang, pastu cerai satu persatu jual dengan harga tak masuk akal. Adoiii!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Many APs Holder on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:34 am

If the 15 years scrap is not taken away, how am i going to clear all my un register car which his mainly year 2002-2005. About half of the 15year period is gone and I have no way to sell those 2002 CLK, Fairlady. Those people bought from my gota scratch it right after their loan is done (assume 5-7 years)

Thanks for the G to let me dispose those car first and later the buyers take the problem instead of we AP holders.

• 4x4xmaniac on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:43 am

Thnk god for that! I have a 14yrs old Suzi offroad ready which i've spent10k on. I was worried it'll go to offroad heaven!

• white on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:50 am

Ralph said,

November 7, 2009 @ 1:43 pm

Why does I feel that the G is like an adult where they take away toys from kids, then the kids cry and then give the toy back to the kid…

—————————————————————-

Do you know how trouble is when vehicle inspection for your road tax every year, than when not pass there are more corruption, and you need to pay for RM 50 come on, this make life trouble. DUMMY.

• white on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:50 am

Only PUSSY will do such things without thinking it and simply apply this apply that.

• white on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:55 am

… said,

RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN!

—————————————————————-

OMG, pls RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN why there still protect PROTON and PRODUA, why there are still have AP, Why need to pay 10k for it, RAKYAT DIDAHULUKAN, my ass, They only care WANG DIDAHULUKAN, UMXO, MXA,MXC, INdependant and even opposition all only suck your money, my ass SHIT to MR SHIT.

• haaa..very odd. bolehland people..wan to implement bash scrap pun kene bash. personally i think the policy good just the timing is very bad…for scraping policy G force proton to give half price for proton/perodua car and bank with low interest for old cars owner more than 15yrs (include import) to be scrap that more convenience for low income people..eg saga price to rm20500 pesona for rm28000…myvi for rm26000. who doesnt wan..i think most people here will agree…still proper study must be done if not disaster…

• white said,

November 7, 2009 @ 8:50 pm

Ralph said,

November 7, 2009 @ 1:43 pm

—————————————————————-

Do you know how trouble is when vehicle inspection for your road tax every year, than when not pass there are more corruption, and you need to pay for RM 50 come on, this make life trouble. DUMMY.

———————————————————-

y sort bribery…then blame to G high corruption…against bribery but do bribery that abit weird rite???? take car your car so when inspection clear easily..y resort to corruption??

• squawk on Nov 08, 2009 at 5:49 am

I don't agree with the point that working in the G is the worst job. It is the best job. You can say something then take it back the next day and say something else. You don't need any integrity or dignity.

I agree in principle with auto inspection every few years. What I'm concerned with is the unavailability of used parts. Not so much on performance engine, 'box etc as I'm not a modder. I'm talking about normal parts like windows, door handles, window regulators, etc etc which for some models is very difficult to find. And there aren't any suitable local parts to replace them.

My old car is still in great running condition and probably safer than most new models in the showrooms. I'm not in the wrong frame of mind to downgrade to a less safe car and pay through my nose for it.

• erm.. xder hal kalo nak buat ELV nih, Cuma satu je.. Kasi Murah la harga keta tuh.. nih x cukai berlipat ganda,cukai itu la,cukai ini la,.. cukai motosikal pun sama.. contoh VIVA elit 1000cc harga dia lebih kurang sama mcm harga BLM.. Betul2 mentedarah Duit RAKYAT nama aje Kereta Nasional, Perasaan x berapa harga Persona B-Line 45499 dengan Saga se AT 45500

harga mcm xmunasabah betul.. byk betul utung.. tpi dengar proton rugi la memanjang je… kalo harga tuh tinggi2 ade air bag ke.. ABS ke, keselamatan kereta tuh mcm VOLVO ke berbaloi jgk nak beli, teringat dulu time saga kebal dijual harga smpi 26999 dasyat betul boleh dpt full spec cume xde spot rim je.. aku rase Proton n Produa nih mmg betul cekik darah.. walaupn aku guna keta saga kebal utang ade 20ribu tpi harga keta tuh 16ribu, utang keta lagi 4 tahun (loan 7tahun) pakai je la smpi dia reput, janji xde kena hujan, boleh hantar anak2 pergi sekolah, boleh balik kg cukup la.. janji ade keta dari xde keta, alhamdulila.. Syukur ddk kat Malaysia nih.. iTu la Realiti Malaysia

• another blunder.. which shows what is obvious

whoever involved in making the policy either majored in sewerage engineering, or continue with Bolehland's government tradition of bowing to "special interest group".

Performance now, for the cronies first?!

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:43 am

Hi!

FLIP FLOP… you could almost hear it. Looks like same old thingy. It's happening again.

Proton, NAP and AP are one way road to doomsday. There's no turning back. Somebody mooted good idea on not to buy Proton, but bear in mind, the government will always find ways to even furthermore 'cekik darah' us.

If NAP to be scrapped as well (how I wish), imagine the current owner of cars (all of us) will suffer losses of biblical proportions. It's like another recipe for "car-value economic" recession. The band on second hand import spare parts is actually government's "preemptive" strike before NAP to be scrapped on 2015. I wouldn't hope for import car price to drop significantly on 2015. They've been arguing on AFTA like for many years; Proton still say they are not ready bla bla and bla.

I'm quite surprised to see many Malaysians doesn't know about NAP (I manage to asked few people on NAP), they thought that NAP is something like tax and duty that's all. Little did they realize that NAP (and AP as well) are created to protect Proton (and you know the rest).

Looks like only people in the motoring Forum (such as Paul.Tan) are well informed on the latest issues on our Malaysian roads. Kudos to all of you! Knowledge is power indeed.

As for for Proton, NAP and AP there's no need to sent our complaints to the government. You'll know how ignorant and arrogant those people are. Let's wait for the next election!

• SY0H said,

November 7, 2009 @ 10:43 pm

Hi!

FLIP FLOP… you could almost hear it. Looks like same old thingy. It’s happening again.

Proton, NAP and AP are one way road to doomsday. There’s no turning back. Somebody mooted good idea on not to buy Proton, but bear in mind, the government will always find ways to even furthermore ‘cekik darah’ us.

If NAP to be scrapped as well (how I wish), imagine the current owner of cars (all of us) will suffer losses of biblical proportions. It’s like another recipe for “car-value economic” recession. The band on second hand import spare parts is actually government’s “preemptive” strike before NAP to be scrapped on 2015. I wouldn’t hope for import car price to drop significantly on 2015. They’ve been arguing on AFTA like for many years; Proton still say they are not ready bla bla and bla.

I’m quite surprised to see many Malaysians doesn’t know about NAP (I manage to asked few people on NAP), they thought that NAP is something like tax and duty that’s all. Little did they realize that NAP (and AP as well) are created to protect Proton (and you know the rest).

Looks like only people in the motoring Forum (such as Paul.Tan) are well informed on the latest issues on our Malaysian roads. Kudos to all of you! Knowledge is power indeed.

As for for Proton, NAP and AP there’s no need to sent our complaints to the government. You’ll know how ignorant and arrogant those people are. Let’s wait for the next election!

————————————————————

and u think bcoz that people change G.. wat bout other policy which G help people does it mean dont vote opposition..a big no….the whole system included that when we change G not just car policy…that too shallow rite..if that change happen then we called it Car G or G Car bcoz they in power due to car policy

• IT STILL DOESNT CHANGE OUR MIND AND VOTE IN NEXT GENERAL ELECTION, WE WILL STILL WANT TO SCRAP THE GOVERNMENT

• now they should scrap the auto parts isue.

• factsforlife on Nov 08, 2009 at 7:51 am

all scrapp a** G's n Cr**ies

• bobdbilder on Nov 08, 2009 at 8:12 am

Why don't we just be thankful they postponed the idea? Someday they'll do it. When the economy gets better. When our income is better to afford new cars. They are listening aren't they? Its a good thing. Let's encourage listening, so they can listen more. By now they would learn to hear both sides. By now the Rakyat would have learned that what could be good for the industry is not necessarily good for consumers.

What has been terribly missing in the rollout of this and many more policies/direction was good Public Relations. When policies are unclear and information was lacking to back the policies, the Rakyat jumps on the gun in a knee jerk fashion. Where have all those Political Secretaries gone too? Where have the press statements gone to after the rollout? All we got was a copy of the speech on websites. That's not the way to handle change. Where have all those PTD guys went to? There is something more core related in this whole mishap. The system of check and balance and consultancy has just faded. That is more worrying than any thing else, scrap or no scrap.

• just info..i just like to search info..no one can argue as the fact is there

singapore
    http://www.expatsingapore.com/content/view/1152

Be warned: it is very expensive to own and drive a car in Singapore. Wary of the fact that uncontrolled growth in the number of vehicles will result in traffic jams in land and road scarce Singapore, the government has implemented a range of measures to manage car ownership and usage. These include the Certificate of Entitlement (COE), Vehicle Quota System (VQS), road taxes and Electronic Road Pricing (ERP). All motor vehicles must be registered with the Land Transport Authority (LTA).

indonesia
    http://www.expat.or.id/info/buyingacar.html

In Indonesia, according to the regulations, the engine size of a car may not exceed 3,000 CCs. Cars exceeding this engine size are occasionally imported under special conditions (i.e., on request of a diplomat or for special government functions), however the legal documents of these cars are not necessarily complete after they have been released from the original importers possession. Smuggling of luxury cars also occurs. Needless to say, the documents for these smuggled vehicles are not complete. Therefore, be aware that if you purchase a 3,000 CC car, it may be difficult to resell and may in fact be confiscated by the authorities.

korea
    http://www.korea4expats.com/article-buying-and-re…

"Since foreign models are generally extremely expensive in Korea, a domestic model may be your most affordable option. When deciding what kind of car to get, you might want to take a look at how people park and how often they misjudge distance both in parking and sometimes even, driving. (Note: as Koreans gain more driving experience, this problem is gradually decreasing)"

china
    http://factsanddetails.com/china.php?itemid=409&a…

A cheap Chinese-made car takes up 140 percent of the buyers’ annual income, compared with 30 to 40 percent in the United States. Imported cars are beyond the reach of even the upper middle class. Taxes and tariffs add about 50 percent to the value of Mercedes and BMWs. Hummers cost about $200,000 in China.

Japan
    http://www.supermelf.com/japan/ajetdrivingbook/ch…
    japan car is cheap but….

Owning a car is an expensive prospect in Japan, mainly because of inspection fees. The mandatory insurance covers the other party, but it is strongly recommended that you get the optional Comprehensive Vehicle Insurance (ninni hoken) which covers third party expenses beyond the compulsory and which also covers you and your passengers. Unlimited compensation insurance is highly recommended.

• the magic googleword

cost of owning car in (………..)

try la search sometime doesnt hurt at all..open your mind dont be frog under kuali

• even in germany BMW car more expensive compare to the US…and we thought only proton do that…emmm wonder why

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:00 am

dont get happy too fast. we still ain't gonna get parts for our cars

• what a flip flop govt……"sigh" All half bake idea, etc.

The govt people, please wake up. Don't just think of naik gaji and tak buat kerja.

• US is closer to Malaysia despite of the latter size incline towards Germany rather than the US. In US people like Malaysia really need private transport as transportation relatively less comprehensive in Malaysia relative to the most European and most Asian countries.

I bet if Proton never born, we'll get better public transport as well as cheaper cars like pre-1985.

We can't do much as IF government reduce the car prices tremendously, our economy will be worse than US after their credit crash due to excessive overvalue of their property, no thanks to the country Fannie Mae and Freddi Mac.

In Malaysia the scenario happen in auto industry. If the government follow the schedule proposed by AFTA to reduce the taxes gradually, maybe the impact is predictable and little more manageable. I can't comprehend why the government CEASE the action taken by most car distributors since 2007 (post NAP 2006)- reduced their car prices like 8th Generation Civic more expensive in 2006 than compared to 2007. If the trend followed, the Civic price should be lower if not same (as Yen appreciated against lower RM).

Because of the consequence ignored+relatively bad public transport we're very vulnerable if suddenly the car price drop tremendously in 2010. Your amount owed to the bank (outstanding of the loan) much much bigger than your vehicle value. In this bad consequence, people rather forgo their car and let the car loan become BAD LOAN; bank can't recoup their money and money circulated reduced and unemployment…..bank closed as money far from adequate.

Having said that, we as 3rd world take home salary with 1st world cost and one of the world most expensive place for cars can't always pretend that we can handle this situation forever ( while our salary stagnant or hike a bit our cost of living increase like nobody business; toll-rice-goods-fuel-utilities- all increase at pretty rapid rate than increase in salary).

Policymakers need to sort out their policies before our economy become worse and FDI not at satisfactory level that country could expect. If government depend too heavily on tax, people life will be suffer more and more as our disposable income poorer than yesterday.

Anything that not perfect should be study before introduced and implemented. Without legal importation of foreign cars parts, we'll depressed with black market price and we're more susceptible to illegal, irregularities, bribe, criminal and so on if older cars need spare-parts relatively scarce (or made impression as scarce).

I'm highly believe we had all the aparatus/machinery/government agencies that able to think for the sake of our economy. Otherwise, we'll have no more better option to live with.

• zain said,

November 8, 2009 @ 1:32 am

what a flip flop govt……”sigh” All half bake idea, etc.

The govt people, please wake up. Don’t just think of naik gaji and tak buat kerja.

———————————————————-

da u all complain…they cancel la idea tu. so u wan they proceed with the policy. if u said no u the one flipflop rite..the flipflop era are gone man

• white on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:43 pm

let jusy countdown for new gov to rise, you can't say anything hwen the power is still in their hand,PR rise BN FALL!

• old man on Nov 08, 2009 at 5:09 pm

I will rather suck up the lost of the $$ of current car purchased that owe the money than forever going through this NAP craps for the next generation. Once and for all.

• bundi on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:16 pm

rather scrapped the scrap policy,more prefer if the new car price being cut down,lower interest rate and cheaper petrol..then x kesah le nk kne scrap kete burukku itu..huhu..

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:24 pm

old man said,

November 8, 2009 @ 9:09 am

I will rather suck up the lost of the $$ of current car purchased that owe the money than forever going through this NAP craps for the next generation. Once and for all.

___________________________________________________________-

You've said it! Agree 100%

• jong84 (Member) on Nov 08, 2009 at 11:01 pm

I deserve my car all the time.. Drive 10 years for normal with original parts.. then mod it in style for the rest of the year.. Old skool do need better look ma, like American style one. Still the old timer had harder body than future plastic vehicle. Why we scrap this type of vehicle? It save people life?!

• Elvis on Nov 09, 2009 at 12:23 am

Personally, i think all those chop chop shop owners should gather and make one day no sell stake to show how this industry can affect automotive sector in Malaysia. For decades car owners are quite content with ability to buy car parts are cheaper price and ability for car owners to own second hand cars at afforable prices. G should have propose to upgrade these used parts dealers to enquire knowledge so this particular industry will complement our already quality questioable industry. Second hand car industry will collapse, so do Proton(come on, Proton produce cars that are inferior quality and features). In the end, the G will loss credibility and trust. Like the Russia saying, you dont fix it if not broken. The system in this sector is working fine, until you start these 'end of life' and 'no used parts' in the system….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:28 am

In russia, the people are driving Bentley's for goodness sake. and those communists china have more ferraris than us.

• I would see the MY government is childish. Lots of our neighbours are laughing at us! Why dropped when want to implement? Why there is no firm decision on the policy?

• azrai on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:09 pm

Flip flop policy again by the G. We can see the kuasa rakyat already. But beware, i think MITI will 'pakat' with insurance company to make it compulsory PUSPAKOM inspection to renew the insurance policy, so the G will cuci tangan and we hit again by the inspection. I'm right, absolutely right on this.

• illumiricon on Nov 09, 2009 at 7:06 pm

when the G changing its decisions because of rakyat…rakyat will say that the G is being flip flop…

I sometimes doing plans for my shoppings and etc..n sumtimes my wife will get angry and told me dont belanja2 too much, i imight get out of budget before the month ends…although i did plan my spendings…and when i recalculate those spendings n i thought that my wife was right…then i'll change the plans…the idea was the same as the above, right? so is it me being flip flop????

i dont know how these people will get satisfied…maybe if only everything is free….but that is a very BIG MAYBE….

• sir s on Nov 09, 2009 at 7:20 pm

Although the gov has pulled back the policy, I hope all car owner still inspect their cars for the sake of safety, if someone can afford it… Especially your family's safety…

Agree with Paul saying that the vehicles should be inspect in every three years, compare to every year… To all commentators, please don't be too emotional in debating about the rules & regulations. Try to contribute more constructive comments, critics or idea especially for those who experts in this kind of thing. Give solution instead of maki hamun or all that… Peace! :)

• R0NaLD0 on Nov 09, 2009 at 7:36 pm

droll said,

don’t be fooled – it might’ve been a ploy afterall to garner votes! introduce something unpopular then cancel it and say, “It’s because we love you, rakyat!” hahahaha.

yeah all this is political gimmick…. make some bad move then change it and go around telling rakyat that Gomen is perihatin lah, champion of people lah, people first. lah.. pooorah………

• barca on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:19 pm

yep…it's all political B*llS**t….poooodah!

• Very angry on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:33 pm

There was once a wise man who said "if you put a frog in pot with water and slowly heat it up to boiling point, the frog does realise it is cooked. However if you put the frog into a boiling water, the frog will jump and scream out of the water"

How aptly said. If the policy for annual inspection is introduced for 25 years above next year, 24years year after next , 23years so on,,, the rakyat will not complain. After 10 years, the 15 years will be introduced without realising this was the cause of all the HOHA HOHA.

A simple planning goes a long way, MR GOMEN.

Thanks anyway for the FLIP FLOP. You are an EINSTEIN.

• hanssen on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:52 pm

Car's price must be cheap first, then u dont have to scrap cars, they will scrap by themselves. I will make mine tukun in Sg Pahang.

• Paul, I got confirmation from Proton & EON sales person today that poton has temporarily suspended the Exchange Program from Nov 7th onwards. No specific reason given although in the earlier notification it will be ended by Dec 31st. May be all the quotas have been taken up or the gomen got no money anymore to buy those tukuns.

I've missed the boat due to no official notifications from the media.

Dear Gomen, please put some more money to buy our junks until Dec 31st 2009 as earlier mentioned. No wonder now no more stranded old cars parked in front of the playground at my housing. The owner has purchased the new saga.

• rakyat didahulukan..hahaahhaa