Nissan Navara 6-speed manual now in Malaysia!

Nissan Navara Manual Gearknob

400Nm of torque and a 6-speed manual transmission. I could be referring to the new BMW M3. Or the new manual Nissan Navara which has just been introduced in Malaysia, joining its 5-speed auto ‘Mother Trucker’ sibling which was launched first. The new cars are CBU imports from Nissan in Thailand.

Two versions of the 6-speeder is on sale. One is the basic Navara 2.5L 6M/T and another is the Navara 2.5L 6M/T SE. Nissan’s press release refers to the SE as the Safety Edition (what, is the non-SE unsafe? heh just kidding).

This new “Safety Edition” also gets the necessary airbag software updates that resolves the bad crash test results in early 2008. The base 6M/T does not have the dual SRS front airbags, ABS brakes and EBD and the 6M/T SE model has.

The engine is the same powerful YD25DDTi 2.5 litre engine producing 174 PS and 403Nm of torque to be exact. So that’s actually 3Nm of rated peak torque more than the M3. Of course you can’t expect the same kind of shove as the powerband is narrow in a diesel and super wide in a high revving petrol BMW V8. The Navara M/T also gets the Shift-on-the-Fly 4WD system as the 5A/T, which allows 2WD/4WD shifting using a dial under 100km/h.

The list of equipment is a downgrade from the 5A/T LE. The xenon headlamps are replaced by halogens, the seats are fabric, the rearview mirrors lose their auto-dimming function, the CD changer is replaced with a single-CD, and the 6 speaker system has been downgraded to 4 speakers (they probably removed the 2 tweeters).

Some plastic bits in the interior which used to have a silver finish have been replaced by the same beige interior colour. On the outside, the door mirrors have their chrome finish replaced by body colour.

Nissan Navara 2.5L 6M/T – RM89,800.00
Nissan Navara 2.5L 6M/T SE – RM94,800.00
Nissan Navara 2.5L 5A/T LE – RM105,800.00

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Decent attempt by Nissan to attract Sabah Sarawak and those prefer stick for their offroader. By the way, such a big ute without ABS, EBD really huge compromise of pricing. Perhaps, Nissan will offer "slightly weaker" engine but come with more features.

Having said that, ETCM did very well job to make the SUT appeal to broader audiences.

• maybe now it will see more mass market appeal.

good job anyway, catering to different needs and wants.

now i like to see them direct efforts to the passenger car segment also.

• xenonchrist on Nov 08, 2009 at 10:14 am

god this is the cheapest 6 speed in malaysia ,

lol this is the closest thing n cheapest thing to sports car.

• SUV lover on Nov 08, 2009 at 11:18 am

ETCM pls bring in the Pathfinder with this 2.5L engine to replace the X-trail.

this navara maybe the best pick-up in msia right now… am i correct?

• Head Hunter on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:15 pm

why beige?

Can't they come up with a black interior like the ones in Europe?

The outside looks the business, inside just dull and boring!

I don't care if have a zillion horspeower in this car, this car on the inside needs a black interior.

• jasper on Nov 08, 2009 at 3:37 pm

Ladder frame chassis is low-tech and the body / chassis integrity is the main issue in a crash. Sure, more air-bags plus updated software MAY prevent serious head / chest injuries but your feet / legs will be completely crushed! I have seen the Euro NCAP crash test of the 2008 Ford Ranger and it was horrifying! I reckon car companies should stop promoting these trucks as "lifestyle vehicles" to families.

• old man on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:19 pm

I have driven a Toyota Corolla 6speed manual…just smooth.

• Red car on Nov 08, 2009 at 4:36 pm

shud have sack the marketing people who gave name of "safety edition"…. really stupid idea.

• wajarays on Nov 08, 2009 at 5:04 pm

suv lover said,

ETCM pls bring in the Pathfinder with this 2.5L engine to replace the X-trail.

this navara maybe the best pick-up in msia right now… am i correct?

xtrail and pathfinder both are in diffrent category and segmentlah dude…..

• The Loner on Nov 08, 2009 at 5:40 pm

First of all, please remind that in US truck catagorization, Nissan Navara is considered as mid-size 4WD pickup (just looking the body) whereas others are still considered as compact-size.

Nissan already pull the trigger in quest to gain pickup market share. So keep up the work and consistently give pressure to those underpower, bad ride, less fuel efficient and overpriced pickups.

• jughead on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:20 pm

tried looking for 0-100 times online but can't seem to find, would it run along… say a civic 1.8 on the highway?

• sweet, i can c another new toy on the road of sabah. beating up with hilux & triton. however, i think most of the time b4 gearing into 6th gear already brake on 5..haha. But on the other hand it might driving in 4th gear up to 90KM/H on the mountain road?? cool..while leaving the rest behind at 3rd or 2nd gear especially national cars…no wonder u need "SE" for the 6 speed "Mother Trucker"….Damn !~ haha…

• yeah plastick, plasticcky look,

but sometime late korean plastic looks up market. and for proton persona plastic for example looks good in black (except the manual gear knob).

• heman on Nov 08, 2009 at 8:51 pm

this truck is have heavy turbo lag…even with vgt turbo..

• Naz@Ford on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:18 pm

for the truck, i liked it.. but for the price, no way!!

• Kamel on Aug 08, 2011 at 6:07 am

It’s the best performance truck, value for money. Nissan Navara is my fifth pick-up. Purchased 5 mth ago. My first pick-up was Ford Courrier( very bad performance)..Followed by Ford Ranger, Isuzu & Hilux. Nissan Navara is much much more better than Ford, Hilux, D-Max & Triton.

• Littlefire on Nov 08, 2009 at 9:37 pm

Is not turbo lag, is the vehicle heavy. Look at it's size.. It's huge man.. compare to Ranger & even Hilux..

• Elvis on Nov 08, 2009 at 11:41 pm

I heard from my friend in Sabah that this type of vehicle is very popular due to the road condition which is the worst in Malaysia or like my friend put it the worst road in South East Asian.

• taboogen on Nov 08, 2009 at 11:55 pm

manual… hermm… most of the us i think will opt for auto.. me also regret buying manual… kaki kiri sudah jadi besar sebelah… hahaha

nice

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 09, 2009 at 12:55 am

6 speed wow! I love manuals!

• mystvearn on Nov 09, 2009 at 1:11 am

Do you really need 6-speed manual on this thing/ Not sure you want to race it

• BrakeFader on Nov 09, 2009 at 1:40 am

That one ugly stick. Looks like from a cheap china car. But kudos to tcm for bringing this in. Not just first for most powerful engine, but first for 6speed manual.

• put the engine in a black hatchback.

then i'll get it.

6 speed. over-kill.

• neutral on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:22 am

my father sometimes forget to shift up from gear 4 :)

• clone on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:25 am

@Elvis said,

November 8, 2009 @ 3:41 pm

I heard from my friend in Sabah that this type of vehicle is very popular due to the road condition which is the worst in Malaysia or like my friend put it the worst road in South East Asian.

yup…its really true…

• clone on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:28 am

@yoyo said,

November 8, 2009 @ 12:15 pm

sweet, i can c another new toy on the road of sabah. beating up with hilux & triton. however, i think most of the time b4 gearing into 6th gear already brake on 5..haha. But on the other hand it might driving in 4th gear up to 90KM/H on the mountain road?? cool..while leaving the rest behind at 3rd or 2nd gear especially national cars…no wonder u need “SE” for the 6 speed “Mother Trucker”….Damn !~ haha…

couldn't agree more with you, another toy for Sabahan…this types of vehicle are having huge demand here in Sabah even for city use.

• Honda Civic Type R on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:28 am

My Triton still beats the Navara looks-wise, by a mile at least. However, the Navara beats all other pick-ups power-wise, by 2 miles at least. Heck, even this 2.5 Navara beats the 3.2 Triton. Heck, must support Navara!

• squawk on Nov 09, 2009 at 3:58 am

Is beige TCM's feng shui color? It's unattractive and impractical, especially in family vehicles.

• agree…. ugly colour……

i tested the manual……its good,but i guess i'll stick with auto…… 6th gear is really kinda on hi rpm side….. but at least they have it to prove that u don need a saloon or sports car to have it….

improve mileage?…

• 6speed? i dont know what Nissan trying to do with this model? they focus on 4wd truck or "drag truck"? in Sabah, 6speed is not necessary..becouse we dont have road like "autobahn". Navara engine is powerfull because the hp tune up to 174, but dont 4get the cc is 2.5!!

• Nice try Navara….but D-max still the best!!

• MT usually appeal those in the construction sector and beige interior will become gray in less than 2 months.

Should have stick with grey just like Frontier.

I know because I have both Frontier and Triton for business use. Even my Triton dark gray interior is now almost black due to dust and dirt from job sites.

If FC can be better than Triton, it is worth it. I'm using getting 600km @ RM 100 on my Triton 2.5 (stock, no mods).

• damm.. cheaper than the Grand livina 1.8

• subhero on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:09 am

big 4×4. huge than hilux,triton.

i think myb short gear ratio?

anyway its a nice 4 wheel car.

• tcm pretty weird with beige color interior as the color will easily get dirt even still in showroom and impractical for a workhorse.

By this mammoth you need AT but MT can draw the crowd to pay a visit to the showrooms and later think that AT is more practical to live with.

How about FC for SE? Better than overhyped Hilux Vigo?

• dejavu on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:15 pm

Nice for TCM to bring in a 6 speed manual. Most of u r not aware of the advantage of tis due to its diesel, torque and gear ratio characteristics when tis mother trucker is taken for highway spins.

Lv d interior space but let down by d beige interior. Makes it look 'gay' wit tat macho outlook.

• brutus on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:23 pm

imagine this engine can be lumped inside the X-Trail and make it Mother SUV! even the 2.5L petrol version of X-Trail will need to smell its smoke!

• Red car on Nov 09, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Why lately they offer 6 speedo only on trucks…first actyon, now navara…

if perodua offer 6 speedo on viva elite exclusive edition, i'm sure take it…must be fuel super saver…

• now that the double cabs in m'sia proves the fuel consumption is so good, maybe small SUV like x-trail can offer the 2.2 DIESEL TURBO????? like wat LAND ROVER FREELANDER n FREELANDER2 is doing…….maybe RM100 can do 1000km…hahahaha….

coz of Power to Weight ratio…… n diesel very torquey so the head starts from 1-3 gear is like KACANG for diesel Turbo engines…..might be a bit noisy, but we can up our volume of our fav Radio station

• alpha0201 on Nov 10, 2009 at 12:42 am

Well Sabahan are generally slow driver & I barely able to shift 5th gear for few seconds due to traffic & uneven roads. 6 speed MT useful for highway but here in Sabah is quite useless.

• Have not test driven this Navara yet but D-Max.. boleh bungkus lah! your 2.5 is not even 4WD, and the engine is from the stone age. Am I correct, jY?

• The Loner on Nov 10, 2009 at 9:21 pm

First thing first. I already mentioned that Navara is a mid-size pickup. So don't compare the size & weight between competitors, which is classified as compact pickup.

Me as a Sabahan, I can't agree more on the road condition there, bumpy and potholes. However, Navara still can reach 6th gear on the road by cruising at 90km/h. Unless there're people who are driving 60~70km/h.

I heard someone suggested Navara engine to be put into X-Trail. Well, forget it. Japan's X-Trail has gone full model change and has new diesel engine co-developed with Renault. It's 2.0L VG turbo diesel engine but output is same as Navara's 2.5L engine. Think about it again.

• Blacked Out State on Nov 11, 2009 at 3:16 am

try 5th gear at 120KM/H on the way to Tambunan – Keningau road…u r leaving frontier behind, followed by Hilux, Dmax, triton and more..but i know the last one is Kembara :-) 6th gear will lead u to heaven. XD double cab comparison. Big SUV /4WD also rocks…Ninja King Kong, King (got queen?), Prado, Harrier…O shit, how can u drive without a 4WD in Sabah?…Sabahan Rockz !~

• WOw 6speeds manual drive!!

• Zaffar on Nov 15, 2009 at 5:08 pm

Thanks so much TCM.. Now i've got reasons to dispose off my '02 Ranger.. Any taker?..

• zulhan on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:57 am

I have been waiting for this MT navara for years. The time finally has come. The problem is where should i put my frontier as the loan still can't cover the its value. Oh God, please help me!

• abd rahman on Nov 22, 2009 at 11:15 pm

i already test drive both manual and auto,,,,and both a superb fast!!! do anyone know any negatives issue from this mother trucker??,,,navara owner?

• MJnavara on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:27 am

i m also fall in love with this powerfull 4wd.

• So much buzz about Navara..but I see more Vigo than Navara on the road. I guess Vigo is more popular due to its reliability, durablity, resale value, of course the supreme look.

Can anybody differentiate these two and prove that Navara is better than Vigo, technically speaking?

• EURO NCAP 2008 1 star (adult)/ 3star (child)

Modified version 2008 3 / 4

–>Why poor rating? Which one brought into Msia?

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:17 am

manufactured in 2010 will be available in march,,darn

• wan2 buy Navara on Aug 20, 2010 at 11:58 pm

How about the fuel.is saving or not?how many KM can used if in full tank?how much if full tank!anybody know?

• i’m waiting for new born such as NAVARA but little bit more powerful and more space for pax at the back…