Italdesign-Giugiaro hired for Persona Replacement

ProtonProton MD Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin has revealed in an interview with Business Times that the Italian design company contracted to develop Proton’s next C-segment sedan is in fact Italdesign-Giugiaro SpA.

Giugiaro (founded 1968) has designed a lot of vehicles in the past, including the Mk1 Volkswagen Scirocco (not the modern one that’s just launched in Malaysia). It even had a big part in the development of the R56 MINI. Here are some of Giugiaro’s recent work:

giugiaro-work
Ssangyong C200 Concept and Suzuki SX4

The Business Times report revealed that a clay model of the car already exists at the design house’s headquarters in Turin, Italy. It definitely has to be, considering the new Persona replacement car was previously mentioned to be out by 2012, after the Waja replacement in 2010 and the Perdana replacement in 2011.

The car will be engineered to meet tougher European and North American standards. Proton’s North American entry is still a hazy area at the moment but there was talk earlier this year that Detroit Electric would be helping with getting the cars registered with whatever authorities there are there. Not sure what happened with that whole project.

The Exora introduced new technologies in Protons that were not used before – more sensors for the airbag system and a Body Control Module. Datuk Syed Zainal says the new C-segment Persona replacement will implement these new features and add even more features to bring the new Proton up to international standards. Proton is currently in talks with various vendors on what can be implemented.

It is also in exploratory talks with some parties including a Chinese company (Europestar, SAIC-Roewe?) on collaborating on an SUV, and in talks via Lotus with a South Korean battery company and an electric motor supplier regarding EVs (what happened to Detroit Electric?).

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kevenloo (Member) on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:33 pm

at last…

• Ndmervin on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:50 pm

The man is God-sent! :D

• redwings on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:51 pm

When the brand goes bad… it need alot of efforts to fix it…

Keep on improve it and keep the price low or it will never success…

I was driving a P1 as my 1st car, but never want a P1 again. Hope it will get it right this time…

• msian on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:55 pm

sounds very very promising…!!!

all the best Proton!

• jopop on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:58 pm

look forward waja replacement in 2010 ,cause I'm eager to switch a new car ,a car that a affordable and reliable,and sweet looking.i wish also add more safety feature and Jap-tech to it.

• initial R on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:01 pm

The new age of proton reborn….

• Jeffery Chew on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:04 pm

that's make sense, M'sia car not means have to 100% of involvement by Malaysian, a good step for Proton to make it globalization.

• initial R on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:13 pm

Looks like Proton redirect to Conti rather than Japs… I like it… :)

• Rudeboi on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:14 pm

Italdesign, Bertone or Pinninfarina are big design companies with legendary work to their name. But they are not a company of one person – there are many employees in those offices. And so, it may be that one employee is a new grad of the design institute in Turin and he is engaged to a project with Proton and may not design a good-looking or practical car. And to cite an example, look at the Hyundai Matrix – its got aPinninfarina badge on the side of the car much like one you'd find on a Ferrari – but does it look like a Ferrari? Proton should instead employ European furniture and textile designers to beautify its cars. Wrong way to spend money I think

• Littlefire on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:16 pm

Talk is good, but we need action. Dont be another NATO, just like the current G…

• DSZA the man.. I really admire this guy after all he has done to Proton.. Clap2!!

• obertan on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:18 pm

When will Exora turbo will rolled out ???

Is it at the end of 2010 and does it come with cvt or 6mt gearbox??

Before i read from an insider info that tell us P1 will outsource its gearbox from German company…

Any insider can confirm this??

• initial R on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:20 pm

It make sense to go global involve, get tech transfer, new inovation & idea. Maybe one day we can see P1 same level as VW… who's know….

Detroit Electric i think still move on but maybe P1 helping DE to get manufacture to produce motor in big skill with less cost…

• mr_h8 on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:37 pm

i believe we are talking about different ev project..remember the saga ev,green propulsion energy(cant remember the exact name)

the detroit electric more into p1 provide persona n gen2 chassis for detroit electric use rather than p1 development project

• barca on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:44 pm

hope that proton designers would learn something from this design exercise and further improve themselves. imo, many commentors like myself and owners themselves would probably see proton cars as a mode of transportation and not a sensory experience.

what do i mean by sensory experience?

SEE

1. imagine yourself looking at your preferred conti and selected japanese makes.

2. before you even enter the car, you would examine how good it looks and brings a smile to your face.

HEAR and SMELL

3. as you unlock the car and make yourself comfortable in the cabin, you start revving the engine and hearing the sound.

4. you wouldn't want to go just yet. you take in your surroundings and then start the drive.

TOUCH AND TASTE

5. you notice a speed bump coming and slowly reduce your speed, feeling a slight bump as you go over it. you like that feeling.

6. when chance permits, you'd press the pedal and brake judiciously, with times that your face almost reaches the steering wheel. you can't help but smile at your car's sharp responses.

for sure, T/H/N cars has deliberately sanitized your five senses. proton should go euro, that's the ONLY way!

• dzulx on Nov 09, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Proton, you might want to think of putting more women in your interior designer team.

There are a lot of successful stories about women team designing a very practical interior (not sporty though.. hahaha)..

If your target market is family man your car, you have to realize that the wife indeed have a lot of influence in the decision making. After all their smile and satisfaction is priceless.

Now …. where is my 200hp turbo powered twin clutch Persona… hahaha

• I'm glad to hear this…

• although its pininfarina, doesnt mean its look good,

heife lobo, hunday matrix, some chinese cars.

so proton should closely supervise its design.

• MBX Boy on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:17 pm

As much as I hate Proton (cause they are the root cause for expensive cars in M'sia), I know we can't get rid of Proton. So, I somehow do hope that Proton will succeed and follow the steps of Hyundai/Kia.

• kancilrider on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Kudos to DSZ..

Make sure vendors r the real ones.. Since proton cars problems r by batch, ie compromised quality in some parts supplied by (?) vendors.

• lazyf on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:27 pm

good effort from DSZ…

btw, i still prefer current design of Persona…

simple but elegant…

• the need of using ital-giugiaro is good as one of the way to promote proton.

it doesnt mean that the design must be better than proton, but in terms of naming, global market do put more attention when it involves such expertise.

imagine, Lotus Tuned Suspension & Chassis with Italian-Giugiaro styled as the marketing strategy.

at the same time, the local boys in designing could be spending their time doing some not so global market car design.

don't take pininfarina styled hyundai matrix, they even styled the odd fiat multipla. pinanfarina is italian but it isn't the same as giugiaro. Examples of giugiaro success should be the Alfa Romeo Brera , Lexus GS , Ford Mustang Concept etc . all are very successful design.

• raixa on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:33 pm

just kick out those useless vendor and just pick the best from the best.

No car manufacture should sacrifice their costumer satisfaction for the sake of vendor happiness.

Get the design right, make more curve inside it, make the cabin feel more cocooned and more tech from conti rather japs.

• unknown on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:40 pm

hahaha.well come italia.hope the best for proton's future car.some day our car can be a ferrari too.

• All i hope is that they can build better quality cars than audi. I dont mind the conti looks and feel but i hope it will be realiable like a toyota or a nissan.

• yippi33 on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Gudluck proton..keep them comin..

make sure the quality of the plastics are good..malaysians dont care whether the car chassis is strong or not (remember myvi vs savvy?)..the plastic will save them when they crashed..

• Black Dog on Nov 09, 2009 at 11:18 pm

I still think P1 is having too many cars in the same category. Take Waja & Persona (not to mention Satria). Both in the same 1.5L/1.6L category. Instead of having replacement models for both, why not spend the resources and time to create a completely new model, (Exora is a good move) maybe an EV, Jazz-type, Matrix-type, SUV etc etc. etc

They must be more innovative instead of just having traditional sedans which are very competitive outside of Bolehland!

Getting outside design help is a long long overdue move.

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 09, 2009 at 11:28 pm

Try browse in the net that Pininfarina design for Hyundai Matrix was reserved to Fiat Idea..Fiat Idea got cute shape and bring the MPV spirit..Better looking than Hyundai Matrix..

And i agree some of the italian design doesnt met our taste..Fiat 500 is terrible enough but European love it much.

Anyway, gudluck to Proton.

• paparazi (Member) on Nov 09, 2009 at 11:33 pm

P1, pls don't simply hire & feed those who cant work but talk a lot people la

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 09, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Good luck to proton.

I don't particularly think the Persona/Gen2 needs help in the design area. They are fairly good looking cars.

When proton learns to build good cars, price and quality of all cars will improve. The PITA is that they haven't been trying too hard (or not at all for a long time)….perhaps this stops now.

I agree that women nowadays do play a big part in car purchasing. For example my wife basically bans me from buying a Proton after that POS Proton sold her in 2001…….besides, most households have 2 cars, which means the wife will have her own car.

• Programmer on Nov 10, 2009 at 12:10 am

Yeah right… reborn of lousy/shits car

• mystvearn on Nov 10, 2009 at 12:32 am

Don't forget that Ssangyong cars were design by an Italian too right? Aside from the original rexton, the rest just look weird.

• alpha0201 on Nov 10, 2009 at 12:33 am

I just hope they don't choose the cheapest design in Giugiaro's Automotive Design Catalogue. I'll bet that's what Hyundai did with the Matrix.

• Hopefully not just hot air…finally they admit proton have to "bring the new Proton up to international standards" ! Wow…took them long enough to realised it !

• shaycoat on Nov 10, 2009 at 12:51 am

What I have been told from (tuuuut), Detroit Electric is for another market. I dont actually know what it is. But EV project is undergoing

• Ruslan on Nov 10, 2009 at 1:04 am

Ndmervin said,
    November 9, 2009 @ 12:50 pm

The man is God-sent!

////////////////////////////////////////////

Talk and ambitions a plenty but how does it translate
    to a successful business plan… and also does Proton
    have the staying power esp "advertising" budget to go
    global. (same as what Kia/Hyundai has and is doing)
    What happened to our so called local potential? All ditched?
    More sensors for the airbags ? Common?

• scottloeb on Nov 10, 2009 at 1:15 am

I think the importance of engaging Giogaro, Italdesign or Pinifarina is on the way they do the work, not the design itself. Trust me, the aesthetic values is always there at Proton Design team, but its the functionality that is hard to find. Take a look into G2 interior. Its nice but where is the functionality? minimal correction can only be done to Persona because of major investment. The engineer sometimes dont really talk to the designer (it seems) and the products speaks for itself. Look at Hyundai Getz interior. I find it nicely done and the grain of the surface is not outstanding but please to both eyes and fingers. Look at Toyota Vios dugong interior functionality. Aside form the centre meter, I think everything is well placed. Honda City interior is just great and serve the purpose too. Livina/Latio is another great product as well. And Exora is not that bad, much better than Avanza and G2.

And I agree wholeheartedly with the commentator on lady designer.

• chuakz on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:17 am

I dunno…all these italian design houses that help Korean manufacturers and other asian car makers design their cars….somehow the cars turn out be be rather asian in design….for example the hyundai matrix….there is nothing nice about it's design…but I'll remain positive….at least proton has done a decent job in the exora….

• mitlanevo on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:19 am

sounds good, hopefully also good in reality…..

• *&^*( 3 MPS on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:26 am

Ahhh… good candidate for replacement for my Stupid Jap car.. hopefully

• yeahaa on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:32 am

"Eventually, Proton will produce a sport utility vehicle (SUV). Syed Zainal Abidin has said that the company intends to have a full range of products for its customers."

• Automotive_Critics on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:35 am

Global model..sounds good..can compete with civic, cruze etc etc.

• redfueler on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:39 am

i`m really exciting to heard news from p1…

seriously, p1 become better n better today..

p1 still young..20an years old..

stil junior than others…

gud luck p1!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:42 am

uhuh…more bullshit

• Tiadaid on Nov 10, 2009 at 3:03 am

Black Dog said,

November 9, 2009 @ 3:18 pm

I still think P1 is having too many cars in the same category. Take Waja & Persona (not to mention Satria). Both in the same 1.5L/1.6L category.

———————

If it was up to me, Persona should be 1.6, Waja 1.8 & Satria 2.0 Turbo 4WD. But that's me

• Elvis on Nov 10, 2009 at 3:13 am

Really? Wait for the ACTUALLY car too rolloutlah. All talk come out Savvy pulak. Typical hype up marketing style of Proton.

• The Unicons (Member) on Nov 10, 2009 at 3:29 am

Really hope the design is good. Any idea whether the 2012 Persona comes with Lotus Ride and Handling? 5 Star crash rating with more airbags as standard and of course yes to Body Control Module and new technologies and equipment.

I'll buy… if all this implemented to the car.

HELL YES!!!!

• JULIAN_LEE on Nov 10, 2009 at 3:34 am

Mazda 3 MPS- get crash!

Elvis- get back to your Maliland!

• peYno on Nov 10, 2009 at 3:55 am

kudos to DSZ..

5 years ago i was proton basher hardcore

but after this fella took over proton my perseption toward proton has changed..

2010 will be a buzy time for proton

persona enhancement

exora turbo

and

Waja replacement ( Mitsu lancer 1.8l cvt)

yaaaa go japanese wanabe,.. u want jepun base car??? here i give u

prrrtfhhh

paultan mentioned perdana replacement in 2011??? it could be the car been spyshot in China of could be Mitsu lancer 2.0l???

• tolan on Nov 10, 2009 at 4:05 am

yeah baby! way to go proton! 2012.. rite on the time to replace my 15 years old wira..

• kimi_ on Nov 10, 2009 at 4:30 am

This should be the way LONG LONG time ago………..

Finally good news from Proton and nice move !!!

( Pobably this is first time i praise P1……HEHE :))

• First, a german quality control expert who is supposed to do his job (which I haven't seen the fruits yet) and now, an italian car designer…makes one wonder. And with almost two decades in auto manufacturing and tons and tons of staffs, you can't find two M'sians to fill the two posts mentioned, what a pity. I think most Malaysians are sincere and creative enough if given the fair chance to execute their talents.

• waimak on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:36 am

Great news Paul! I have a lot to say but I'll try to simplify it..

1. I think Proton got it right this time, congrats. But it doesn't stop here.. Like old proverb, try to shoot for the star, in all aspects, and the rest gets right, mostly if not all..

2. The design is one thing, the actual car is another. Can Proton produce a much better car this time? I dont want a guigaro-designed car to have a faded logo on the hood or having a car mat like the one in current persona, or a door that needed to be slammed to shut it rather than ergonmically and mechanically smooth to shut. (hope I'm using the right terms)

3. So far, my observation says Proton hit it right in terms of design and ride & handling. In other areas, Proton loose badly to other marques such as realibility, durability or practicality-at least in the medium run.

4. Proton MUST by then push its products to be more upmarket. Use much better parts/ material/ quality PLEASE. No more so called cheap car..

All the best..

• transformer (Member) on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:59 am

" they can have brilliant product design…

but the end product lack of quality… "

sounds familiar… from one of TG host…

really hopes P1 vendor supply good part

P1 assembly line quality are also good

then rakyat can enjoy a true car… rather than milo tin with easily breakage door handle and power windows(my 14yrs old Pajero still never-ever need any repair, 14years already! not even a tiny squirt of WD40 needed to lube)

• transformer (Member) on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:02 am

so so design + bad part + lousy workmanship + lousy QA = Y2009 P1

great design + good part + ok workmanship + ok QA = ok P1( future? )

• GeramHati on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:39 am

the local stupid designer cannot work? sampai saga also design by korean?

• GeramHati on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:41 am

p1 young?! only satu enjin, hong kong oledi electric car!

• dexa101 (Member) on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:48 am

Finally proton has come to its senses that in order to sell cars in ultra-competitive car markets outside well protected malaysia, it needs competent cars that can fight off competitors.

One of proton problem is its engine…..campro is the achilles tendon. Hopefully the new campro will prove the critics wrong.

Next problem would be the implementation and execution of a good design, this is one of the weakest link in proton.

I hope proton will succeed, so that i will be one of the first customers of this ital-design proton.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 10, 2009 at 8:22 am

ital-design? lol remember the morris ital? that was shit.

• initial R on Nov 10, 2009 at 8:48 am

JULIAN_LEE said,
    November 9, 2009 @ 7:34 pm

Mazda 3 MPS- get crash!

Elvis- get back to your Maliland!
    ————————————————————
    Way you go bro… Bravo….
    First time JULIAN_LEE comment with 2 phase.

• chianti on Nov 10, 2009 at 10:49 am

waimak said,
    November 9, 2009 @ 10:36 pm

Great news Paul! I have a lot to say but I’ll try to simplify it..

1. I think Proton got it right this time, congrats. But it doesn’t stop here.. Like old proverb, try to shoot for the star, in all aspects, and the rest gets right, mostly if not all..

————————————————————

Don't jump the gun !! All still at drawing board stages.
    Secondly this all translate to cost. At the end of the day
    are we prepared to pay more for it?
    What kinda proverb is this? It displays the short sightedness and
    with no contingency plans. The "rest gets right", is like saying god willing/keep your fingers crossed/touch wood -all will be ok.

• anoneemus on Nov 10, 2009 at 10:56 am

good step for proton, marketing works, even if you've got shit engines. But that being said, i am not a basher, because i drive a satria neo myself. but i believe the CEO finally gets it after how much media coverage the proton satria neo (s2000) has gotten. and i believe its all about the design and handling, taking giugiaro who if i'm not mistaken did a remake of the mustang as well, would be a super excellent step forward, just gotta improve on the engines and fuel efficiency first.

• peYno on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:06 pm

Good job DSZ
    this is what we call head of truly malaysian car maker .. leading a company and u can make your own decision on company direction, mission and vision.
    this is what he couldn't do when he was in p2..

in p2.. their mission.. just send engineers to Japan to setup assembly line in Malaysia… discuss with big bro DMC about which Daihatsu model to be rebadged in future.. discuss about royalty and negotiate with Big Bro about Japanese exchange rate …then finally waiting for Japan side to provide all the stuffs.. and they can start "design" new bumper, headlamp and change plate no. position…
    no passion

no wonder current p2 MD doesnt want to renew his contract

• azrai on Nov 10, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Hope the hiring will be 'berbaloi' if not we all gonna 'potong' it. This is one great news actually. So Persona only get 5 years life. I hope the new persona will be priced the same as now.

• tokmoh on Nov 10, 2009 at 5:11 pm

anoneemus : Err… aren't u contradicting urself? U don't like campro, but afterwards u said "it's all about design n handling"?

I hope the new Persona will be something sexy like the Alfa Romeo 159, yeahhh……

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 10, 2009 at 5:25 pm

Good bye la DSZ,

Again the dilemma. Profitability VS Originality !!!!

Malaysia Boleh spirit will be questioned again………why not use local talent…….

kah kah kah…….

• while the italian works on their design, i hope malaysian team works with their design too.. who know local design can beat the italian one. i always skeptical with italian design, exterior design always not really suit the asian taste .. or rather my taste.

• the design must be good… malaysian will buy weird looking imported products, no question asked, but if local one tried to be different, prepared to be bashed and cursed and ……

• adr.teo on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:08 pm

It all depends on how much freedom Proton is willing to give Italdesign. I remember when I visited Metalcrafters in Orange County some 9 years ago and was surprised to see a few Wiras in their yard. Proton contracted them to work on their cars but nothing much came out of that, other than the purple Satria convertible seen at some auto show.

• Anak Malaysia on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:16 pm

To DSZ,

All comment show that deep in malaysian heart there is still proton inside it. To proton please dont let the things gone forever.

• Jumbsuck on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:19 pm

Replace the crony vendor faulty car parts suppliers, then Proton can talk big whatever.

• opaque on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:26 pm

Hameed Koyakuti said,

November 10, 2009 @ 9:25 am

Good bye la DSZ,

Again the dilemma. Profitability VS Originality !!!!

Malaysia Boleh spirit will be questioned again………why not use local talent…….

kah kah kah…….

If p1 uses local talent, criticise. Want them to use dsg…whatever. Do you think malaysian prepare to pay more for these tech. I think it's a good direction. Maybe can attract more overseas people just like the s2000. Hameed K. You should give them chance to explore new area. Wait for 3 to 5 years. Chiow

• p1basher on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:27 pm

actually i like proton design. if there is only one thing i like in p1 is its design. somehow it will be italy in the future.

good marketing strategy though. lotus engineered mixed with italy designed sounds good huh.

• nighttrain on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:34 pm

To design a bread and butter car is not the same as designing a sportscar. Ask a regular joe and he'll tell you he doesn't like a sedan that looks like a sports car. Most uncle and aunty (this is a big chunk of the market) would want a sedate looking car that can carry 100 durian in the boot. Too sporty looking and you'll lose this market segment.

BUT, and this is a big BUT, since the small sedan market is TOTALLY NOT controlled by market forces, then go ahead, inject the passion and beauty of the Italian touch. It's a beautiful day for motorheads. A Proton designed by Italians. Pride gives way to passion. But will have to wait for the secret pics of the clay model first to say whether it's a step in the direction that I like…

• madimat on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:37 pm

err,.. I think, the one who really, badly need to hire some 'designers' now is P2. Seriously. We all already know that P1 local designers are well established, professional and executed their tasks well. Exora and new Saga are some examples. P1 even have some ladies working in their styling department. So no question of not having the female inputs on their car interior and exterior. For bashers who still believe that the new Saga was DESIGNED by the Koreans, go check Mr Azlano's weblog. Please don't just come here and spread cerita basi.

And again, to P2, please spend some money on R&D and create your own design / styling team. Malu la asik pinjam baju 'abang-abang Nippon' you aje, umur dah lebih 15 tahun. Be original. Be a grown-up. Then we wont question you again on where you spend our tax exemption.

TQ

• R0NaLD0 on Nov 10, 2009 at 6:59 pm

They can have all the best designer in the world at their expense but it will come to no use if the car is built and assemble locally. Coz they will be still using those cronies suppliers with bad quality product. Still the same Shit come out.. same power window problem, door handle break….. rear wheel masuk air etc……….zzz

• dzulx on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Dear Madimat,

"P1 even have some ladies working in their styling department. So no question of not having the female inputs on their car interior and exterior."

No question they have some ladies.. But its better to have more esp for family oriented model..in fact i do believe its better for them to take the lead esp for mini car (savvy replacement perhaps?)

Agreed with some commentator.. I do think Proton exterior's design is ok except for the small tiny wheel… (well perhaps not savvy and saga.. but that was a compromise).

However interior wise… I do think proton is not up to standard yet…maybe thats where they should concentrate more..

• shaifz1 on Nov 10, 2009 at 8:56 pm

I think for Savvy replacement, it is better looks good, not so weird..benchmark Jazz, Hyundai i10….simple yet elegant and practical. No point having a sporty flavor but lack of practicality.. I believe proton designer can do it.

• anoneemus on Nov 10, 2009 at 9:48 pm

tokmoh said,
    November 10, 2009 @ 9:11 am

anoneemus : Err… aren’t u contradicting urself? U don’t like campro, but afterwards u said “it’s all about design n handling”?

I hope the new Persona will be something sexy like the Alfa Romeo 159, yeahhh……

sorry how am i contradicting myself? design and handling has nothing to do with engines….(?) the campro for that matter

• Elvis on Nov 10, 2009 at 10:25 pm

Well, first of all, how many percent Proton selling to foreign countries? 1% to Australia? 0.5% to Britain? 0% to China? You all are so over the top over nothing. If not for us keep buying crap, and making foreign cars so expensive, and making 1% VVIP laughing all the way to the bank. Trylah this Proton make GLOBAL CAR designed by Italiankah, Chinaiankah, Americankah…if foreign countries not buying so what! A kampung brand that remain kampung brand for so long and hype up for marketing purpose only. Ya, what happen to Detroit Electric? No news oledi….typical 'lupa dan tidak ingat'…

• old man on Nov 11, 2009 at 12:16 am

http://autos.yahoo.com/articles/autos_content_lan…

Look how is the Korean successfully penetrate into the US market. Event the Accent! It is about the action plan.

Check out the price also, and you are wondering what we are paying for Proton.

• squawk on Nov 11, 2009 at 12:28 am

When the different depts (e.g. Marketing, Engineering etc) don't see eye to eye or won't listen to feedback, that's when a car will go wrong no matter how good the specs are.

• Eyesore on Nov 11, 2009 at 1:35 am

Elvis… Italian from Itali, American from America and Chinese from China… Chinaian… idk where the come from mebbe a country from ur @#$hole imagination…

Proton cars are selling in Australia, UK, Iran, Thailand, China etc… yes the number are not that great… maybe it's because the design does not meet their taste because previous cars was design based on Malaysian weird taste / requirements… That's why Proton is going for global specification cars… so it would meet other countries requirement and taste with hope it will improve their sales in foreign country…

BTW stop blaming Proton for the high prices of foreign cars… i dun see you blame Perodua or Naza as well.. those two are protected by the NAP as well… if you really understand what is the actual reason of the new policy… (which i doubt u actually read it…) you will see how the policy actually benefit Malaysia & helping towards achieving Developed Country status by 2020…

And btw.. in case u forgot to read what other ppl have said (or simply choose to ignore them, since u think u r the only one that is right in ur @#$hole imaginary world) here I say it again…. The DE project is still going on.. Proton does not really invovle in the EV dev. by DE. They r just supplying the chassis/body for the EV. Proton have their own EV project, hence the talk with the south korean company….

adios…

• Black Dog said,

November 9, 2009 @ 3:18 pm

I still think P1 is having too many cars in the same category…

BRO; please understand CATEGORY- segment and engine not always correlated. Look at BMW130i-BMW 330i-BMW530i-BW730i. Do you suggested they're same category?

Learn before type your comment, please. Persona C-segment, Saga B-segment. Civic C-segment, S-class F-segment, E-klasse and 5er, same segment.

• autojohndoe on Nov 11, 2009 at 2:14 am

Elvis, you are so desperate to buy a Japan car at lower price eh?

Hoho… keep bashing bro… Proton will still be there…

• Elvis on Nov 11, 2009 at 3:47 am

Hahahaha…wah, some of you piss off oh….by the way, in Australian, only Proton Jumbuck sell well coz it's the only piece of crap that so cheap to carry goods around. In Australia they have Holden brand, but unlike Malaysia, automotive sector is very liberal. You should see Holden Commodore which is very popular among Australian, like BMW only much cheaper. If Australia allow Proton to seel there, why Malaysia dont allow Holden to be sold here? Takut Proton bankrupt maybe. By the way, have you notice Britain,Iran, Turkey, Indonesia, China etc, Proton very quiet about the sells figure? And less you guys forget, NAP was developed when Proton almost when bankrupt in 2005.

• Elvis said,

November 10, 2009 @ 7:47 pm

Hahahaha…wah, some of you piss off oh….by the way, in Australian, only Proton Jumbuck sell well coz it’s the only piece of crap that so cheap to carry goods around. In Australia they have Holden brand, but unlike Malaysia, automotive sector is very liberal. You should see Holden Commodore which is very popular among Australian, like BMW only much cheaper. If Australia allow Proton to seel there, why Malaysia dont allow Holden to be sold here? Takut Proton bankrupt maybe. By the way, have you notice Britain,Iran, Turkey, Indonesia, China etc, Proton very quiet about the sells figure? And less you guys forget, NAP was developed when Proton almost when bankrupt in 2005.

———————————————————–

r u serious bro dont show ur stupidity here…NAP exist long before that..do more research for info and fact correctly…dont just typing with kepala lutut malu maa

• old man said,

November 10, 2009 @ 4:16 pm

http://autos.yahoo.com/articles/autos_content_lan…

Look how is the Korean successfully penetrate into the US market. Event the Accent! It is about the action plan.

Check out the price also, and you are wondering what we are paying for Proton

—————————————————————

same for korean also…they also hav to pay high price for their car n even higher for foreign cars..and it took korean car bout 23yrs(1986) before succes in america..we barely 25yrs in auto industry

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Motor_Compan…

• i hav interesting new when browsing wiki

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Genesis

South Korea

A full production version went on sale on January 8, 2008 in Hyundai's home market of South Korea[citation needed]. Notably, the Korean market Genesis does not carry a Hyundai badge, only the 'Genesis' emblem.

The Korean model is available with a 3.3L V6 producing 264 horsepower (197 kW), and a 3.8L V6 producing 306 horsepower (228 kW).

Hyundai has come under criticism from Korean consumers over the price discrepancy between the US and Korean markets. Yonhap reports the Genesis costs "58.3 million won (US$57,000) in Korea, whereas in the U.S. it sells for $32,000." This has led to a growing market in reimported Genesises by gray market dealers. Korean regulators are currently investigating whether Hyundai has abused its 75% domestic market share.

• hyundai alone control 75%..like proton way back….80% control now emm…

• theking on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:16 am

Elvis,

Keep on dreaming!

• Tiadaid on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:29 am

??? said,

November 10, 2009 @ 9:01 pm

i hav interesting new when browsing wiki

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Genesis

South Korea

A full production version went on sale on January 8, 2008 in Hyundai’s home market of South Korea[citation needed]. Notably, the Korean market Genesis does not carry a Hyundai badge, only the ‘Genesis’ emblem.

The Korean model is available with a 3.3L V6 producing 264 horsepower (197 kW), and a 3.8L V6 producing 306 horsepower (228 kW).

Hyundai has come under criticism from Korean consumers over the price discrepancy between the US and Korean markets. Yonhap reports the Genesis costs “58.3 million won (US$57,000) in Korea, whereas in the U.S. it sells for $32,000.” This has led to a growing market in reimported Genesises by gray market dealers. Korean regulators are currently investigating whether Hyundai has abused its 75% domestic market share.

———–

That'll dispel the argument about Proton car being cheaper overseas…

• Elvis on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:16 am

Hahahaha…Bro ??? maybe you are confuse. Yupp, i know what NAP is and WHEN it is created. During 2005, our Dr M so angry wit Rafidah Aziz coz giving so many APs to her best friends(Naza become big because of her). So NAP was set to control Rafidah AP frenzy. Because of Rafidah Aziz, Proton almost when bankrupt. If you think i am stupid, i affect your idiot opinion, but do remember that RAFIDAH AZIZ single handedly brought Proton to Chapter 11. So my friend, i know the history, i think you should do research before bashing me…you are shallow in knowledge compare to almighty ME…hahahaha…

• tansri on Nov 11, 2009 at 7:50 am

proton still need to merge!!

• tokmoh on Nov 11, 2009 at 8:14 am

anoneemus : First u implied the importance of having a good engine when u said campro is shitty by your standard. Then, suddenly "it's all about design n handling", then engine leh?

Speaking of engine and what-happened-to-blablabla, I really wonder what happened to Petronas engine that was sold to some Chinese car manufacturer? Last time bash proton not taking that engine, but after so many years of being used in some Chinese car, nay. Zero. Kosong. It's as if Petronas never built an engine at all. Or… I am missing something?

• I wonder what it look like..seeing in my dreams lol..

• Azlan on Nov 11, 2009 at 9:52 am

good attempt

• Eyesore on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:25 pm

Elvis… i think it's not about Malaysia not allowing Holden to sell their car here.. it's more about Holden have no plan to sell their car in Malaysia or No Malaysian Company wants to be their distributor here… maybe u should apply to be their distributor here… let see what will happen…

• Kambing Laut on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:35 pm

I guess, what Proton will achieve after 5 years from now.

They work very hard today for future.

Something amazing will happen

Dont buy a car because you pity with it, but buy when its worth for money.

• MADBOY on Nov 11, 2009 at 4:57 pm

Elvis said,
    November 10, 2009 @ 11:16 pm

….almighty ME…hahahaha…
    —————-
    this word make you lost your credibility.

• Gizm0s on Nov 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Finally… v seen light in the dark tunnel… hope to see more of the reult

• Prismo on Nov 11, 2009 at 6:06 pm

that's what i'll say… "a clever move by Proton"…

• squawk on Nov 11, 2009 at 9:34 pm

Slightly off topic but I like the Peugeot hybrid (can't remember the model) where a diesel drives the front wheels and each rear wheel has a separate attached electric motor. Imagine how efficient that is! Diesel is already giving good mileage and if both the rear motors run with the diesel, you get a fuel efficient 4WD!

But too bad our diesel standards is still below standard.

• autojohndoe on Nov 11, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Elvis, so desperate eh?

haha… Keep bashing bro…

Live in reality, man… wanna cheap car… live in Langkawi or Labuan… No need to live malaysia… or apply for BOC… :)

• Elvis on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:04 pm

Madboy…i think you dont understanding the word CREDIBILITY. You lost credibility when you promise something but you flip-flop. Example current MCA president said he will resign even with single majority on resolutions. Well, we all know the story…now that's losting credibility.

• anonymous on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:22 pm

okmoh said,

November 11, 2009 @ 12:14 am

anoneemus : First u implied the importance of having a good engine when u said campro is shitty by your standard. Then, suddenly “it’s all about design n handling”, then engine leh?

Your concept of contradiction is wrong, contradiction in this example means if i said the whole car was shit but then i said its a good car after all engine,design and handling wise. its two separate topics, design and handling is topic number 1 engines is topic number 2. please learn how to categorise the arguments. like i said before design and handling has nothing to do with the engine, does the engine go faster with a better design? does the handling improve with the engine? you'll know the answer to that. chassis, suspensions, curves of the car and all that has no connection at all to the engine. conjunction words my friend learn it, "the design and handling is good BUT the engines are shit" BUT is what separates those two sentences (conjunction) making these two topics differ from each other. therefore read and understand the point at hand and learn to separate sentences before posting a comment on contradiction

• Elvis on Nov 11, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Hahaha…another idiot…autojohndoe…did i say i want cheap car? I said Proton is a crap…sell expensive pun still crap….and another bro said that NAP exist long time oledi and i didnt do research….well..turn out he is another idiot…and another idiot think that just because i use the word almighty, lose credibility…tell u what guys, if you want to bash me, backup with facts…i respect those really champion bashers not some idiot trying to simply bash. Nanti malu besar only….

• tokmoh on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:34 am

anonymous : Yes, yes valid points. Then perhaps you also need to use the word "all" more carefully. "If it's all about…" can be understood as "everything else doesn't matter. Fullstop". You perhaps can learn "mainly attributed to…", "mostly thanks to…", "credited to its…" et cetera.

• MADBOY on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Elvis said,
    November 11, 2009 @ 3:04 pm

Madboy…i think you dont understanding the word CREDIBILITY. You lost credibility when you promise something but you flip-flop. Example current MCA president said he will resign even with single majority on resolutions. Well, we all know the story…now that’s losting credibility.
    ————
    have you ever meet a person that trying to convince you using some big words. You will then question all the facts that he give. This is another way you lost your credibility.

• So they take our money to pay someone else from another country to do the job instead of themselves doing it. Clever.

• autojohndoe on Nov 13, 2009 at 1:23 am

Elvis, so desperate eh?

Call me idiot… but, it never change how desperate you are to see that crap vanish from your eyes…

Haha…

Ppl will not curse for nothing… there must be always something… share with us… need attention like the LATE Elvis?

Haha…

• autojohndoe on Nov 13, 2009 at 1:35 am

Mr Ad,

When Proton do something by themselves, ppl asked them to get the pro/others to do it… so… they go for it…

where is the statement that saying proton pay the italian with taxpayer money? anywhere for me to refer?

Thanks in advance if you can provide the document.

regards.

• fique D on Nov 13, 2009 at 8:17 am

Nice…
    that's the way Proton…
    even ferrari do the same…
    hope the outcome wont be 2 euro..

• waimak on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:30 pm

chianti said,

November 10, 2009 @ 2:49 am

waimak said,

November 9, 2009 @ 10:36 pm

Great news Paul! I have a lot to say but I’ll try to simplify it..

1. I think Proton got it right this time, congrats. But it doesn’t stop here.. Like old proverb, try to shoot for the star, in all aspects, and the rest gets right, mostly if not all..

————————————————————

Don’t jump the gun !! All still at drawing board stages.

Secondly this all translate to cost. At the end of the day

are we prepared to pay more for it?

What kinda proverb is this? It displays the short sightedness and

with no contingency plans. The “rest gets right”, is like saying god willing/keep your fingers crossed/touch wood -all will be ok.

————————————————————

Bro,

Chill. Looks like you never made any planning in your life. My proverb might be wrong. When I said shoot the star it means aim high. When you aim high chances are you will most likely achieve your goal. The "rest will be ok" means chain of action. The planning? (and what not) That goes without saying la bro!

• Dingo on Nov 15, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Proton's priority should be

(1) Build quality

(2) Reliability

(3) Looks

Let's face it, current generation of Protons don't look bad at all, it's the build quality and reliability that earn the irk of the consumers.

• razlan on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Its obvious that many comments are from people who know little about car manufacuring, be it in designing and engineering.Italdesign is teh foremost designer in designing and engineering of mass production cars unlike Pinifarina or Bertone which basically designing for low production sport cars such as Ferrari.Just visit Italdesign website would tell how successful they have been in designing mass production cars from Hyundai Pony, VW Golf, Daewoo/Chrsyler cars to latest such as FIAT Grande Punto.Please also note that the best selling cars in Malaysia such as Myvi and Viva was also designed by Italdesign.And as to misconception of Malaysia Boleh, even Toyota go to Italdesign for all their Lexus cars and also Camry. Need more be said of whether PROTON making good decision to go to Italdesign for their new models?

• linear_system on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:11 pm

stupid elvis..hahaha..he only knows thing after searched in goole.haha

• CicitDato' Baha on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:09 pm

Sounds good………! But the cost very high….

Come lah Tuan Syed….low down ur cost first before think to heading Italy Design. Don't follow ur x- mamat…. siWak Kisai & Wak Kzaman

Those 2 fellow ….Ngabeh kan boreh ajo……!!!!

• orengen2 on Feb 06, 2010 at 7:00 am

Masalah P1 bukan pd design, tapi pada kualiti…tp ini satu usaha yang baik.