Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG to cost 177,310 Euros

Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG

Wanna know how much you’ll have to fork out for a Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG if you’re in Europe? The car itself is sold at 149,000 Euros but you’ll actually have to pay an additional 19% VAT which brings the price up to 177,310 Euros. That’s about RM 892k, excluding the kind of crazy taxes you’ll have to pay to bring such a vehicle into Malaysia.

I’m not sure if Mercedes-Benz Malaysia will be bringing in and supporting this car but you can pretty much get anything at Naza Auto Mall if you have sufficient bank balance for it.

But here’s the thing, even at that astronomical price and with the SLS AMG being a single model car, you won’t be getting the best and most expensive SLS AMG out there. There is a whole list of expensive options that you can add to the car, including some ridiculously expensive ones like a carbon fiber engine cover going for over 4000 Euros, which makes it over RM20k. That’s nearly the price of a basic Perodua Viva here in Malaysia.

• AMG ceramic composite high-performance braking system: €9500 net/ €11,305 gross
  • AMG performance suspension with a stiffer setup for optimum lateral dynamics: €1200 net/€1428 gross
  • AMG light-alloy wheels in a 5-twin-spoke design, size 9.5 x 19 inches (front) and 11.0 x 20 inches (rear), tyre sizes 265/35 R 19 (front) and 295/30 R 20 (rear): €950 net/€1130.50 gross
  • AMG forged wheels in a 10-spoke design, size 9.5 x 19 inches (front) and 11.0 x 20 inches (rear), with tyre size 265/35 R 19 (front) and 295/30 R 20 (rear): €2000 net/€2380 gross
  • AMG performance steering wheel in leather/Alcantara: €400 net/€476 gross
  • AMG sports bucket seats: €3300 net/€3927 gross
  • AMG carbon-fibre engine compartment cover: €4000 net/€4760 gross
  • “AMG alubeam silver” paint finish: €10,000 net/€11,900 gross
  • “AMG monza grey magno” paint finish: €3250 net/€3867.50 gross
  • AMG carbon-fibre trim (front stowage tray and rear stowage compartment including lid, AMG DRIVE UNIT surround, surrounds for the centre console, shiftgate and rear, trim strips for centre console and door armrests): €3500 net/€4165 gross
  • AMG interior carbon package (carbon-fibre trim, trim on seat backrests and sides, door sill panels): €3500 net/€4165 gross
  • Leather nappa exclusive single-/two-tone: €2500 net/€2975 gross
  • Memory package with electric seat and steering column adjustment, as well as four-way lumbar support: €1225 net/€1457.75 gross
  • 6-disc DVD changer: €660 net/€785.40 gross
  • Bang & Olufsen BeoSound AMG surround sound system: €5900 net/ €7021 gross

The SLS AMG is an AMG car – there is no non-AMG ‘basic’ version out there and it’s supposed to be a halo flagship model. I understand if you have to pay a little more for in-car entertainment upgrades like the B&O system or the DVD changer but I’m wondering why things like an “AMG performance steering wheel” has to be a 400 Euro option.

I’m assuming its an upgrade from a standard steering but does that mean what you get as a standard steering is “non-AMG” or “non-performance”?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gila man….

• here can buy camry 2.4 only…hehe

• blo0d on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm

AMG goin crazy. haha

• Ariff on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:42 pm

dang~~!!

• freeze on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:25 pm

It doesn't look like a mercedes at all, if you remove the nasty looking grille.

• carcoon on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:47 pm

bax said,

November 14, 2009 @ 12:29 pm

here can buy camry 2.4 only…hehe

——————-

euro la wei, not rm!

• pomen F1 on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:58 pm

mercedes maaaa….everything is expensive…hahaha :p

• mu_77 on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:12 pm

Somehow this car looks ugly to me… But superb to own one!!!

• "That’s about RM 892k, excluding the kind of crazy taxes you’ll have to pay to bring such a vehicle into Malaysia"

=================================

Malaysia Boleh! :'(

• mitlanevo on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:40 pm

will be as rare as SLR McLaren?

frankly, i never see any SLR before on local roads….

Mustang yes, Carrera GT yes, Murcielago yes, but not SLR :-(

• gangully on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:47 pm

i have thought this since the first time i saw the car… and over the past few months in mags… it just looks like an RX8 with straight up lights…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:49 pm

got…in bangsar brabus and putrajaya, owned by mohkzani

• kimi_ on Nov 15, 2009 at 12:33 am

got…the SLR owned by mohkzani !!!!!

• Elvis on Nov 15, 2009 at 12:47 am

Good…at least we know the rich are milking the rich too…

• unknown on Nov 15, 2009 at 12:49 am

wtf.why so expensive.to baru kat euro.belum change to malaysian currency and plus unusual tax.baru nak saving.haha

• gen2lama on Nov 15, 2009 at 12:57 am

GL3n said,

“That’s about RM 892k, excluding the kind of crazy taxes you’ll have to pay to bring such a vehicle into Malaysia”

=================================

Malaysia Boleh! :’(

even without all the crazy tax, would u buy this machine?…892k?….

just leave it to those who really dont know what to do with their money…and then G will tax this so rich people …..in this bolehland, try to avoid as many tax as u can…since u r so affraid that the tax will be 'masuk poket kroni'…

or u just wait for the next election….choose wisely..but make sure the new G will fullfill all yr 'wish'….goodluck…

• mitlanevo on Nov 15, 2009 at 1:28 am

why not?

ppl still buying cars like f430, gallardo, 911 turbo, bentley, S500 etc etc….

• stiggy on Nov 15, 2009 at 1:28 am

RM892 is cheap!! you can only buy an merc s350 here.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 15, 2009 at 1:49 am

mitlanevo said,

November 14, 2009 @ 5:28 pm

why not?

ppl still buying cars like f430, gallardo, 911 turbo, bentley, S500 etc etc….

——————

by ppl u do mean ppl like mokhzani, mahaithir, najib's son, badawi's son etc etc rite…the ppl i know who did not earn their money through dirty methods bought their cars in sinagpore

• Master Mind on Nov 15, 2009 at 1:51 am

Malaysian!!!!! we lot of money…….correct correct correct….Ferrarri Porcshe or what ever cars Malaysian can buy…even with higher tax….not for middle people but just to the best people with high ambition…..not like us who like condemn n wait governmet policy change…hahaha/…..

• mystvearn on Nov 15, 2009 at 1:58 am

Not a lot of people in Europe can afford to buy this car, and with that looks, not sure those afford want to buy it also.

• gemae on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:29 am

fuyoh…
    manyak expensive ma…

i wonder theres how many units in malaysia?

but better buy the GTR maa

• hahaha…I can only buy Malaysian products. Others cannot afford. What to do…very small scale salary…

• keluangman on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:04 am

If what I'm earning here the figure starts with Euro affix, then EU177k is not so bad, cheap in fact…. I got the budget to push all the way to EU350k for this SLS AMG, hehehe….

But unfortunately what I earn here the figure starts with RM….. Xp

• trying to milk the brand and power of the car mah.

thats why with all those options, people can customise to have their car different from the rest and let them believe that the steering wheel is not as good enough as the optional one, the seats etc etc. so people who like to aim for the best, especially the rich ones, will just put a tick to all the options.

• maybe the standard wheel is not wrap with alcantara or leather

maybe they use lousier quality material?

• shawal.ali on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:37 am

but…its a happy lookin' car aint it… I'm not suprise if it ends up in a jay-z video, or akon's , i can guarantee you that , they'll show these rappers steppin out, opening the car door in slow-mo…

• pirate on Nov 15, 2009 at 5:42 am

AMG has learnt well from Porsche AG. Very well indeed :)

• mitlanevo on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:36 am

cool down guys….

• freeze said,
    November 14, 2009 @ 1:25 pm
    'It doesn’t look like a mercedes at all, if you remove the nasty looking grille.'

Sorry ? It looks exactly like an 300SL(W198) from 1954… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_W198

gemae said,
    November 14, 2009 @ 7:29 pm
    'fuyoh…
    manyak expensive ma…
    i wonder theres how many units in malaysia?
    but better buy the GTR maa'

You really think people who have the money to buy a hand build SLS AMG will buy something like a Nissan ?

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:55 am

This car is unique because of the gullwing doors. However I could imagine this car wouldn't be accessible at all unless you have at least 2 or 3 empty parking bays to open your extravagant gullwing doors. A lamborghini scissor doors would be a more practical option

• unknown on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:57 am

hahaha.malaysian can be state as richer than european

see,european buy cheaper car in europe

but we buy more expensive car here

see the price of this car cost 892k in euro

and can be cost 1million+++ and there still people buying this in malaysia

haha

• noCar (Member) on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:59 am

if the tax is waived and the car became cheap, you will complaint about the fuel consumption pulak. nak petrol harga rendah pulak.

• milanRed (Member) on Nov 15, 2009 at 7:05 am

Is it me, or the front face resembles Sid the Sloth fr Ice Age. :)

Even some European find this beast expensive to own and probably find its way into a a/c equipped garage for die hard Merc collector. Cool design nonetheless especially with the retro looking Merc emblem on the front nose.

• keluangman on Nov 15, 2009 at 7:53 am

dodgeviper88 said,

November 14, 2009 @ 10:55 pm

This car is unique because of the gullwing doors. However I could imagine this car wouldn’t be accessible at all unless you have at least 2 or 3 empty parking bays to open your extravagant gullwing doors. A lamborghini scissor doors would be a more practical option—–>

I would never ever dare park this car at any public carpark! Definitely have to valet park, or park in front of mall entrance complete with a jaga. Otherwise come back, car full of scratches frm ppl envy of ur wealth. Happened to my car, damn sakit hati….

• shawal.ali on Nov 15, 2009 at 9:50 am

if u cn afford d car, of coz u cn afford valet, hope to c 1 parked in front of klcc, or inside klcc for a merc roadshow or sumthin…

• Mpower on Nov 15, 2009 at 10:17 am

hope the car speaks for its price…lol

• ahmad norman on Nov 15, 2009 at 10:44 am

slr price in msia rm7 million

• kenwooi on Nov 15, 2009 at 11:25 am

expensive car.. =P

• DirkTooth on Nov 15, 2009 at 11:46 am

one of the most unique old skool+future design to me..

amazed by it..

just by looking the emblem scares u..

• _xXx_ on Nov 15, 2009 at 1:35 pm

Multiply oversea price by 4 = local price. Simple.

• keluangman on Nov 15, 2009 at 5:31 pm

_xXx_ said,

November 15, 2009 @ 5:35 am

Multiply oversea price by 4 = local price. Simple.

——————————————————————-

Dead on right mate….. our car price sucks….

• Sharviin Sasasey on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:24 pm

RX8 will do great!

• MyCarMyLife on Nov 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm

Much to do about nothing , lets corrupt corrupt together if you we want to buy this set of wheels. join politics and win win.

• Elvis on Nov 15, 2009 at 7:02 pm

I dont know if you guys notice or not, but how come most of the expensive cars owners here in Malaysia look like orang kampung? Just last nite, i was dining in hotel here in Kuching came Merc S series. The owner look like 60 year old orang Kampung from Sarikei together with maybe his daughter or mistress in her twenties. I am not complaining do, i hope i can be him also…

• If you can afford to own the car, you won't have time to read this blog.

• Kereta Laju on Nov 15, 2009 at 8:13 pm

all stupic people herem please jgn laa komen pasal gov..laa..minyak mahal laa..kolo hapus tax pun korang bukan mampu beli…bodohh..keta sendiri pun bayar kolo boleh nak 10 tahun..sudah laa jgn mimpi laa..kolo tukar kerajaan ko ingat tax nak turun? itu pendapatan negara laa bangang..ko ingat PR tuh bagus? negeri pun tak bleh nak tabir..here we discuss about car..bagus ker tak bagus ker keta tuh bukan cita pasal tax.politic..nak kutuk pandai..

• Kereta Laju

We all talk as if we can afford RM892k cars. The europeans who earn more also will not buy this car. Its super exclusive. Whys that?

• Elvis on Nov 15, 2009 at 11:07 pm

Just to remind Kereta Laju that if not for Sabah and Sarawak people, the BeeEnd would not be the current G. Seems peninsula people already reject BeeEnd. And BeeEnd never learn. Now want to implement NAP against wishes of people of Sabah and Sarawak. Just wait for next general election. All those YBs have to sell their Merc for sure.

• yon124 on Nov 16, 2009 at 12:21 am

Kereta Laju

Kenapa nak emosi sgt?if you want to buy proton, go for it..if you can afford to buy merc, bmw or lambo..then go for it..dont use harsh words laaa…semua org tak pandai sgt pun…if dah pandai..maybe now u are our PM…but unfortunately..kita serupa…just read and give a nice n good comment…hahahaha

• lan said,

November 15, 2009 @ 1:30 pm

Kereta Laju

'We all talk as if we can afford RM892k cars. The europeans who earn more also will not buy this car. Its super exclusive. Whys that?'

Yes, the European earn more, but life there is much more expensive too. Income tax is 50% of your salary. Dinner with your wife is RM250, a simple dish like Nasi Goreng is RM55. Petrol is RM6,8/liter, a packet of cigarettes is RM40. Rent for a very small flat is RM2500 plus the heavy cost for heating (remember: there's winter over there). If you want to own a house in Europe: Let's go, it starts at RM1.250.000 for a small one…

That's why you only see small cars like Ford Focus or Fiesta, VW Golf or Polo or Renault Megane in private Hand over there. Take the VW Passat for example: Over 80% of the Passat in Germany are actually company cars ! The Audi's, BMW's or Mercedes' you see on Europe's roads are nearly entirely company cars…

Having the salary like in Europe and the prices for living like in Malaysia is unfortunately impossible. Conclusion: Life in Malaysia is not that bad, even with expensive luxury cars… ;)

• scottloeb on Nov 16, 2009 at 5:57 am

Mohd,

Thats why in Europe they only have 1-2 kids or no kids at all. Back home in Malaysia, selagi tak cukup satu team 7 a side dgn reserve player + keeper dia tak stop beranak..

I remember I have an argument with my Australian friend who could not believe the price of a plate of chicken meal in Indonesia that did not exceed USD 50 cent (Rp 5000 per plate) – the restaurant is next to Batam Golf Course – Balinese theme. He swears that the cost of chicken must be more than USD 1, esp when his father is a farmer himself. For us, we might have to fork our more than MYR 3 Mil for an exotic car like Paul post here but thank god my nasi lemak is still RM 3 with chicken and timun. I wonder what happen if we need few million to bu a loaf of bread (like Zimbabwe)

• Elvis on Nov 16, 2009 at 6:45 am

Wait till G start no subsidy for our oil next year. See you nasi lemak price at RM5.00. With oil fast depleting, the price of oil will be around USD200 pbrl by 2011. Thank goodness i keep note on oil reserve in Malaysia which we will be a net importer by 2012 and oil production to peak in Malaysia by 2020. I pity those who having children like no tomorrow, things will change very rapidly in coming years especially cost of living. Country like Japan with very limited naturual resources where cost of living is super high is a good example how Malaysia will be in coming years. But at least we can be thankfull at this junction of life…

• Mohd,Yes, the European earn more, but life there is much more expensive too. Income tax is 50% of your salary. Dinner with your wife is RM250, a simple dish like Nasi Goreng is RM55. Petrol is RM6,8/liter, a packet of cigarettes is RM40. Rent for a very small flat is RM2500 plus the heavy cost for heating (remember: there’s winter over there). If you want to own a house in Europe: Let’s go, it starts at RM1.250.000 for a small one…

That’s why you only see small cars like Ford Focus or Fiesta, VW Golf or Polo or Renault Megane in private Hand over there. Take the VW Passat for example: Over 80% of the Passat in Germany are actually company cars ! The Audi’s, BMW’s or Mercedes’ you see on Europe’s roads are nearly entirely company cars…

Having the salary like in Europe and the prices for living like in Malaysia is unfortunately impossible. Conclusion: Life in Malaysia is not that bad, even with expensive luxury cars… ;)

——————————————————

huhuhu…They are not earning RM in their country la……Why alway like to convert into RM like those politician? They salary is not 1/5. Driving small car doesn't mean they are not afford. They got very good public transport compare to us(where the higher tax gone, but we?). Driving big car in Malaysia doesn't mean they are super rich. Sometime those people buying those big car with 0 deposit. With 9 years loan.

• Elvis on Nov 16, 2009 at 8:11 am

"but thank god my nasi lemak is still RM 3 with chicken and timun". Dear bro Mohd, firstly, nasik lemak is specificly for orang Malaysia. You give nasi lemak to orang putih, next time you know, your white friend land in ICU coz too much bacteria(yupp, those ikan billis is a bacteria home ground). In fact, i seen so many white tourists landed themselves in hospital after eating our local food(my doctor told me that orang putih stomach cant stand the bacteria contained in local food). So if want to compare cost of living, especially food, you need to compare food like McDonald since this is found globally. And also compare prices of Merc since you can find Merc all over the world…but not nasi lemak bro…

• Hermes Man on Nov 16, 2009 at 1:12 pm

bax – obviously you have no idea what you are talking about.

define big car?

is 1xxk cars consider as big car to you?

those who are complaining about the high tax imposed by government on our cars

bare in mind government taxed high on car in order to subsidize the petrol , with lower petrol price all good and living cost is alot lower , this will help poor people like you to live better . if you cant afford to buy those car deem expensive to you , obviously you still cant afford to buy them even if the government remove the tax unless you would like to dwell in a worse shithole you are in right now.

• scottloeb on Nov 16, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Elvis (who has left the building),

It is not bro Mohd, its me who is saying the nasi lemak thingy. The Economist use Big Mac index to compare the currency comparison or purchasing power but why not we use a nasi lemak/chicken rice as almost everyone in this country regards this as our staple food? Alah, the mat salleh have better stomach than us. They eat almost everything under the sun, just that they cant stand the chillies and spices in the sambal, masak lemak or curries/dhal. In the region, only Indonesia and Phillipines hawker food should be avoided, the ones in Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand are generally safe to consume. Mengada2 je lebih nak makan TGIF/Chili's during lunch everyday. Food court kat KLCC still reasonable apa?

I agree that when the gomen remove the fuel subsidies, the price of a plate of nasi lemak/ayam can goes as high as RM 5 or maybe higher (we dont talk about extravaganza kopitiam here). But should our Ringgit value appreciate, that price theoratically can still be contained. We dont know yet how its going to be but I rather have cheap nasi lemak rather than a cheap mercedes. I can live with proton (p2 too small and unconfortable – sakit badan gua pergi balik kerja) as a means of transportation and spend some reasonable amount on 2nd hand coupe's Honda/Toyota for fun (albeit not the latest model). When the fuel price increase we will see the price of an RX or Murano will drop, just like what happen 1 year ago.
    Countries like Japan and Singapore relies heavily on external trade, but for countries like Indonesia/China, their domestic consumption is strong enough to shield them from the slowdown of EU/US consumer spending. Us? Always in between.

• Hermes Man said

Sounds like our country got no petrol at all…all imported from other country. Yeah..100k++ is not a big car at here… but 100k++ in other country is BIG enough…and please…don't convert it into RM again ya…they earn more than us…POOR ? SHITHOLE? hehe…..sounds like another 'u don't like it u get out'

• Those who think that our tax is low and the Europeans are high, please also look at the quality of life that ppl are paying. What are u actually getting for your tax money.

1. Are u getting a good education?

2. Are u getting a good public transport system?

3. Are u getting good public healthcare?

4. Are u getting good public infrastructure and ammenities?

So, in living in Malaysia is more expensive although taxes in Malaysia although only everage 10% and in the UK or Australia where the tax can be as high as 50% cos you end up paying much more for other things.

Anyway back to the car, you can be sure some Tan Sri or Tengku has already booked the car.

• NCB_7900 on Nov 16, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Mohd, I second u on that.

• nighttrain on Nov 16, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Should come to RM3.2 mil including crazy tax. Without crazy tax RM892k.. fuh.

• nighttrain on Nov 16, 2009 at 11:22 pm

Same price as Veyron ke?

• Civic_7900 on Nov 16, 2009 at 11:59 pm

biarlah kereta ni mahal.sapa yg kaya dia beli gasak dia la kena tax.

• Elvis on Nov 17, 2009 at 2:37 am

Hehehe…i totally agree with you, bro scottloeb on using nasi lemak or nasi ayam as a comparison especially in Malaysia. Wah, you so genius can think of this. So if nasi ayam is the benchmark of cost of living in Malaysia, we can actually really see the difference in every state in Malaysia. Or we can use KFC price list also. So far, we can use Proton or Perodua price list as comparison for different state. I read your long explanantion, really good this time. Thanks bro for the enlightment…learn something new today…cheers…

• bax said,

November 16, 2009 @ 10:57 am

Hermes Man said

'Sounds like our country got no petrol at all…all imported from other country. Yeah..100k++ is not a big car at here… but 100k++ in other country is BIG enough…and please…don’t convert it into RM again ya…they earn more than us…POOR ? SHITHOLE? hehe…..sounds like another ‘u don’t like it u get out’'

I don't know why your so angry ? Okay, again without conversion EURO>RM:

A VW worker in Germany, who assembles the VW Touran, has a salary of EURO2500 (the workers union agreed on that, VW threaten that otherwise the Touran would be produced in Spain or Slowakia).

A small house is starting from EURO250.000 without land. Because of 50% income tax, the worker would have to spend 200 net monthly salaries for a small house, land goes extra (approx. EURO35.000 in European Kampung area). But because of the high costs of living there, they have to take loans with 7,5% interest, running up to 35years.

What is more important ? A big car or a house ?

I agreee that Europeans earn more, but we can't compare European salaries with Malaysian costs of living. The average age of a German car is 8,6 years currently btw.

BTW: In places like London you would get a car park for EURO250.000, not more… ;)

• atieus on Nov 17, 2009 at 7:38 am

stiggy said,

November 14, 2009 @ 5:28 pm

RM892 is cheap!! you can only buy an merc s350 here.

================================

pengsan bace statement kat atas! hahaha!

RM 892 katanyer. adoi~

• koya man on Nov 17, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Dunia mau mampui on 2012 ini harga mau naik lagi.. boleh terbang pi planet lain ka for 200k euro… kereta boleh terbang ok la.. ini 200k Euro apara oi…