Honda Civic Type R facelift has arrived!

Honda Civic Type R Facelift

New stocks of the Honda Civic Type R is officially in Malaysia! The car is very much the same track car for the road as before, but there are a few changes here and there. There are no changes to the front end but the rear end now gets the diamond cluster design for the tail lamps. The side mirrors are now power-retractable. Finally, the 2-DIN player in the interior now gets a USB port for you to load your MP3 files from.

There are currently nearly 200 pre-facelift Honda Civic Type R on the road, sold officially by Honda and not counting the grey imports. Malaysia is the only country in the world other than Japan to get the sedan Type R via the official Honda distributor. The rest of the world especially Europe gets the hatchback version. Recently the hatch version was added to the Japanese line-up as well.

The best part is even with the high demand the price has remained at RM199,980, as with the pre-facelift model. We probably can’t say the same about the Civic Hybrid (introduced the same time as the Type R) in a year’s time, when the excise duty exemption ends :( You can find out more technical details about the Type R by visiting the link below.

Honda Civic Type R launched in Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Superb!!!

• Kevin Lee on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Cant wait to see the facelift type r on the road

• Ah Tan Workshop on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:11 pm

What is different? only the tail lamp?

• nice.. but so many "Type-R" wannabe on the road..

• AlphaBravia (Member) on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:27 pm

1st.. hehe.. theres not more that 20 unit in the stock.. must be hurry guys.. ahaks..

• cool…me want!

• klx (Member) on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:42 pm

One year late (facelift launched in Japan in Jul/Aug 08) is better than never…..

• Mufasa on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:44 pm

wan to buy,,or dont want to buy?

• kimi_ on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:47 pm

It is freaking expensive and it needs at least RON 97……not worth at all

Now better buy lower CC car as the petrol SUBSIDY plan next year may probably based on the engine cc of the car!!!

• so expensive :(

• silv3r on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:04 pm

i wish i could buy one~

• Still a nice NA inplant powerhouse, I wonder the pre-facelift second hand value would drop lower by this facelift launch..

• hafizzul on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Cantikk….lawa. Tapi harga mahal la.

• first. Somehow, although the Sedan version of the Type R is more practical, such a car drives better in a 3-door hatchback version. But seriously, how often can u rev to 8000 rpm in our city roads?

• Civic_7900 on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:14 pm

cfa – u r right

• fadzly on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:13 pm

WTF.. WHY SO EXPENSIVE????????? 200k???????

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:45 pm

My neighbor owns one of this new Honda Civic Type R. There were not much different but I found out that you have left something : The fog lamp. The old model does not have fog lamp while the new model have.

• Mufasa on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:11 am

cfa said,

November 18, 2009 @ 1:14 pm

first. Somehow, although the Sedan version of the Type R is more practical, such a car drives better in a 3-door hatchback version. But seriously, how often can u rev to 8000 rpm in our city roads?

——————–

aiyohh,,u no fun aa

• V70T5 on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:46 am

mahal? go buy exora B line lah… ehehe

This is type R we are talking about man…

same like how they position GTR above the GTT on Nissans

• droll on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:16 am

it's not how often you can rev into 8000rpm, it's that you CAN rev to 8000rpm. it's the same with a manual transmission…people debate the practicality of driving it in KL traffic but the people who buy manual cars for the love of it don't really care about that point.

• mystvearn on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:21 am

Nice, even higher Yen not affecting prices. Honda eating in its own profits now.

• paparazi (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:30 am

if afford to own HC 2.0, have enough to me!

• Looks the same.

• Master Mind on Nov 19, 2009 at 2:59 am

Buy standard enough ….better keep money more in our pocket than…suffer to settle the car loan…correct?????

Next year we dont know wht will happened so beware….better taken action before we collapse into big hole….

• shawal on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:30 am

how thirsty is it?

cuz… u do need to drive to the nearest racetrack to let its hair down..

• White Jack on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:18 am

I heard Honda will be releasing an auto version of Civic Type R. Anyone else heard the same?

I think it will be a good move to have auto gearbox. Thesedays automatic can be as good as manual action oreli.

• KCivic on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:11 am

Earlier today evening around 5.00pm saw one very nice Type R lost its front bumper just before the turning to Sunway Damansara and it just stopped there behind a Gen2. I thought it knocked on the Gen2 but looking closer, the Gen2 driver was actually a tow truck operator using walkie talkie trying to speak to the driver of the Type R sitting inside his Type R dont know what he is doing because his Type R all tinted very black and I later found out that due to the Surian Tunnel ouside Curve being flooded because of heavy rain and thus I was also stucked in front of Curve for 40 minutes listening to my own Civic falling asleep stuck in the heavy traffic jam but luckily got Pulp Fiction Original Sountrack to keep me company and I was badly trying to get to the nearest toilet to pee (can I use the word pee here?) you know that kind of feeling when weather is cold, stuck in the jam, raining outside and you turn on and off the air-cond but still you had too much water to drink earlier and not anticipating any possible hearvy traffic jam, that kind of feeling. Back to the Type R, very sad to see it lost its bumper when it tried to go through the road divider or something but I could not see its bumper anywhere, brand new Type R, very sad :(

• klx (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:44 am

White Jack said,
    November 18, 2009 @ 8:18 pm

I heard Honda will be releasing an auto version of Civic Type R. Anyone else heard the same?

• klx (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:45 am

shawal said,
    November 18, 2009 @ 7:30 pm

how thirsty is it?
    cuz… u do need to drive to the nearest racetrack to let its hair down..

From F to E (excluding the reserves), its about 500km. Combination of expressway + city (with traffic jam) driving.

• willpower on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:52 am

Awesome, exquisite and charming FD2 Tyre R.

• lanpapalan on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:04 am

I think it will be a good move to have auto gearbox. Thesedays automatic can be as good as manual action oreli.

i suggest u gtfo .

myb u r those auntie uncle

• auto will be much pricier.. with twin-dsg (at least)… maybe 25K more… but beats the fun of driving sports car….

M is still best.

• prometheus (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:41 am

And again I say, FD2R. At 200K, compared to a BMW 3 series, it is much cheaper. Maintenance is virtually just changing the oil. No doubt, some crap would go wrong occassionally. Its cheap in Singapore as insurance for a race car is considerably higher, but in Malaysia, there's no diff, as our insurance schemes are crappy. Doesn't make a diff if its a race car or a family car. 2 litre cars still enjoy pretty decent road tax prices. 3.5 litre cars such as the Z have inflated road tax making them cheap to buy and difficult as hell to cough up for the road tax. Whats more, I would suppose FD2Rs could use body parts from the rest of the FDs, ( i hope) making parts less of a problem. VTEC.. I kind of Tough Ass Engine.. If the car breaks down, call the Honda Guys in Japan. Someone there who assembled you car will commit Hara- Kiri :)

• seen in star ads full page! Superbly crafted! really d power of dreams car..
    if its price around 150k..sure lain2 kereta tak boleh cari makan oredi..

• the power of my dream…

• droll on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:37 am

White Jack – doubt it. it's against Honda's philosophy of the type-r – to keep it pure. that's one of the reasons they haven't gone with a turbo.

• PAS forever on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:24 am

the power of my dream… superb!!!!

• azrai on Nov 19, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Wah! Expensive and this May sure cannot get fuel subsidy. Paul's word "The best part is even with the high demand the price has remained at RM199,980, as with the pre-facelift model." It is not 'best' actually, still not within reach.

• alpha999 on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:05 pm

persona type R…where r u?

• something bothering me..

HONDA CIVIC 2.0S I-VTEC
    indo http://www.autocarprices.com/honda_car_price.php
    price
    Rp398,000,000.00=RM143,500.00

bolehland http://www.star-motoring.com/cars/results.asp?mak…
    price
    RM128,800.00

indo http://www.autocarprices.com/proton_car_price.php
    Proton Neo A/T Rp195,000,000.00=RM70,300.00

http://www.star-motoring.com/cars/results.asp?mak…
    PROTON SATRIA NEO 1.6 H-LINE (A) RM54,800.00

• sayapdewa on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:04 pm

Phewwhiittttt….even the hottest girl crossing me, i would prefer this Type R…

• AlphaBravia (Member) on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:25 pm

fadzly said,

November 18, 2009 @ 3:13 pm

WTF.. WHY SO EXPENSIVE????????? 200k???????

—————————————–

WTF?? WANNA CHEAPER ONE? BUY P1 OR ELSE AND GO BUY THE EMBLEM TYPE R AND THERE U HAVE.. A TYPE CHEAPER!!!!

ASK THE G.. REGARDING THE TAX! HEH

• xavier lert on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:43 pm

@Master Mind

@kimi_

@azrai

rule no 1

performance savings

If u tot this car is expensive..cannot use below ron97..wanna save some money!!!???….

go buy wira n stick wit TYPE R sticker….then u can apply all ur comment….!!!

• Mufasa on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:56 pm

manz said,

November 19, 2009 @ 11:14 am

something bothering me..

HONDA CIVIC 2.0S I-VTEC

indo price Rp398,000,000.00=RM143,500.00

bolehland

price RM128,800.00

indo

price Proton Neo A/T Rp195,000,000.00=RM70,300.00

bolehland

price PROTON SATRIA NEO 1.6 H-LINE (A) RM54,800.00

——————————————————-

kenot be mehh… how come malaysian gov tax less then indon?

how come malaysian gov so nice?

• Mufasa on Nov 19, 2009 at 8:57 pm

not fair,,,we introduce NAP, not indon…

• OKIDO on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:44 pm

200k, I'll go for VW Golf GTI. Technology far more advance, safety & more gadget to play with… its a Conti! maintenance should be on par with type R

• Prometheus on Nov 19, 2009 at 10:08 pm

Some other things I cannot understand… Why so many people can afford to buy

new BMW 3 series which is about 250K some more CKD..

So for every new BMW 3 series you see, they can afford a FD2R – but they prefer the BMW.

• Hunter on Nov 19, 2009 at 10:38 pm

Nice, want to get one for my self…

• _xXx_ on Nov 19, 2009 at 10:53 pm

U need to hire a jaga to jaga this type r wherever u go.

• jonny blaze on Nov 19, 2009 at 11:05 pm

still offered in championship white only..?

thought got red, black and blue in japan..

also got two interior shades.. black and red..

the type r legacy mandates a high revving na engine with a slick close-ratio manual box.. so guess auto is 'heaven forbid'..

if it does come in auto guise.. probably it will be coded as type-S.. inline with the accord type-S.. perhaps..

• chew ban on Nov 19, 2009 at 11:05 pm

i would take m3 anytime or m6, say no to drugs and honda

• jonny blaze on Nov 19, 2009 at 11:06 pm

i think the max hp quoted was obtained with ron 100 fuel in japan..

• jonny blaze on Nov 19, 2009 at 11:19 pm

a friend was kind enough to let me drive his fd2r, and i can say that all said about the engine and transmission are true.. just fantastic

but the suspension is just too hard for normal, daily road use.. have to change to something softer like tein superstreet

• YeouWei on Nov 19, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Wonder how it is compare to Golf GTI MK6?

• 1Dezzy on Nov 20, 2009 at 12:04 am

Why still no UK spec Two-door Type-R hatch?

• torque (Member) on Nov 20, 2009 at 2:12 am

jonny blaze said,

November 19, 2009 @ 3:19 pm

but the suspension is just too hard for normal, daily road use.. have to change to something softer like tein superstreet

Yup…but change that u'll definately losing its dynamic performance!! I c this video about a CTR that have aftermarket suspension and they change the tyres as well…still lose to the standard CTR…go figure…it's already well built!

• petrol-head on Nov 20, 2009 at 2:48 am

well I guess the price maintained is due to "respect" from Japanese to our loyal Malaysian consumer!!! hehe….. coz we really been supporting the japanese products & we regard the FD2-R as something very "precious" & special, which is why once Honda Malaysia launch the FD2-R the first 10units, snapped up overnight!!!!

• jonny blaze on Nov 20, 2009 at 3:22 am

now that the fn2r has been officially exported to japan.. perhaps it'll find its way here through a gray importer soon..

• Jimbet on Nov 20, 2009 at 4:12 am

Yeah keep badmouthing this car just because you can't afford to own one. Your myvi auto is the best.

• mu_77 on Nov 20, 2009 at 4:52 am

Very bez car!!! And i think the price is right…Too bad i'm just a student at the moment… no chance buy.. see only..

• jonny blaze on Nov 20, 2009 at 5:26 am

the fd2r is a track car with a number plate. so if it's going to be driven all out, 10/10, on a smooth track like sepang, then the suspension is fine as it is..

but more often than not.. it'll be driven on normal roads- highways and byways of the nation.. and these aren't as smooth as it should be.. and there is when you will feel every jolt up up your spine and loosening your dental fillings..

even if you can tolerate it.. the other passengers of this sedan won't.. especially those in the rear seat.. i sat in both the front as well as rear.. front is okay for diehards.. but the rear is like being thrown in an air turbulence..

if the suspension is not to be disturbed.. then it's wise to downgrade to 17 inch wheel/tyre combo.. those low profile, run flat bridgestones are just too hard for normal use.. but again they are fine to reduce track time

the reason i suggested tein superstreet is because it's adjustable for high/low as well as soft/hard.. and it's compatible with tein edfc- electronic damping force controller.. which means you can set the suspension on-the-fly from the dashboard- no need to get hands dirty.. so you can set it soft for road use and hard for track use..

• acura mdx on Nov 20, 2009 at 7:11 pm

So for every new BMW 3 series you see, they can afford a FD2R – but they prefer the BMW.

————————-

its bcoz status…bmw relate to the luxury car…FD2R relate to the race boy and perfomance car…

• acura mdx on Nov 20, 2009 at 7:13 pm

besides white colour, type r also nice in black colour..if honda produce black colour sure i buy one….I see Type S Sgp registered in silver colour..nice also

• torque (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 1:01 am

jonny blaze said,

November 19, 2009 @ 9:26 pm

if the suspension is not to be disturbed.. then it’s wise to downgrade to 17 inch wheel/tyre combo.. those low profile, run flat bridgestones are just too hard for normal use.. but again they are fine to reduce track time

the reason i suggested tein superstreet is because it’s adjustable for high/low as well as soft/hard.. and it’s compatible with tein edfc- electronic damping force controller.. which means you can set the suspension on-the-fly from the dashboard- no need to get hands dirty.. so you can set it soft for road use and hard for track use..

Well said Blaze!! No argument on that matter…this is ACTUALLY a track car with a plate number. So anyone who's lucky enuff to had one it is wise to switch the suspension for the aftermarket ones for the normal roads but pls prepare for it less dynamic performance. It ain't wrong doing that…

And those who could churn out 200k to spend, loved attacking corners and don't want the fuss of going to all the aftermarket shops…there's other choices…such as the Renault F1 R26…if of coz u could put another extra 30k.

Just like the type R, this car is built for abuse and the track with the comfort of everyday drives too…well…except for the practicality of the type R sedan body that is…

p/s: Having the R26 won't have anyone trying to imitate ur ride like what the Civic Type R facing with its siblings!

• _xXx_ on Nov 21, 2009 at 2:51 am

I was wondering why this J's racing guy keep advertising his typeR since months ago and the car's still not sold

• "Prometheus said,

November 19, 2009 @ 2:08 pm

So for every new BMW 3 series you see, they can afford a FD2R – but they prefer the BMW."

Why buy Tag Heuer when you can buy Casio G-Shock for less money?

• jonny blaze on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:42 am

is this J's racing car red in colour..was featured in mag last year..?

if we're referring to the same car.. then it'll be wise to avoid purchasing it

the engine had been stroked.. bore enlarged to accommodate larger pistons

this will void any warranty by honda.. and with thinner cylinder wall.. reliability is compromised

most know this.. probably that's why it's unsold

• fuyiopo on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:38 am

-ak

Cant agree with you more! You just cant compare BMW and honda, they are two seperate brands.

• SiputSedutTurbo 9.5 on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:21 pm

Errrr…impractical boyracer car on Malaysia roads !

• Prometheus on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:35 am

@ all

I agree about BMW being in a class of their own..

Then I suppose Price here is not that much of a matter. I suppose people who have 200K to spend won't spend it on a Honda anyway due to class issues.

@siput

For people who drive cars like the S2K, technically, the FD2R is a step up in practicality for them. :)

• power of dreams on Nov 22, 2009 at 9:38 am

Nice ride but knowing Honda , a new Type R-S will

come out in 6 months time. Same as the facelift Stream

recently. So enjoy your new ride while it lasts.

• zaeidos on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:42 pm

this is the TYPE-R we're talking about,wth u ppl want red,blue color?

other than championship white,it loses its type-r signature..

automatic gearbox? the only obvious different with the i-vtech is the manual gearbox lol~

• jonny blaze on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:53 pm

In Europe, the FN2R is officially offered in four colours. They are;

1. milano red

2. nighthawk black pearl

3. alabaster silver metallic

4. deep bronze pearl

With regard to the local CTR, keen eyes will notice, among other things;

1. red brembo calipers

2. 18 inch alloy

3. black rear top spoiler

4. absence of keyhole to open the boot

5. rectangle rear number plate

6. engine start-stop button

• petrol-head on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:45 am

guys…guys… some ppl might think worth it RM200K for a Japanese performance car while others might think German makes more "class", at the bottom of the line is: is your money, u can spend what u prefer ^_^ cheers everybody.

• KCivic on Nov 28, 2009 at 10:24 pm

Guys just checking if anyone of you had driven in your Civic 2.0 at 200km/hr and felt that the car became lighter and as if it was a bit floating. I spoke to some Integra fans who told me that putting a spoiler behind will help stabilise the rear and slipstream. Is this true? I did 185km /hr for a mere 5 seconds and felt the car floated and not sure if this was normal. Any opinions or advice?

• jonny blaze on Nov 30, 2009 at 4:36 pm

About the same speed my balls float to my throat.

You need a set of sportier aftermarket spring and absorber. And lower the car by 1- 1.5 inches.

• zaeidos on Dec 02, 2009 at 7:03 am

i thought only malaysia got the civic type-R..other than japan itself of course

• jonny blaze on Dec 02, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Yes, for the present 8th generation Civic type R, coded FD2R, is officially available in Japan and Malaysia only. Other countries have it too, but through parallel importers.

In Europe, there are different versions of the Civic, and they have the type R since one generation before, and the car is coded EP3R.

The present Euro CTR is coded FN2R. (not FD2R- scroll up and note the different codes used)

Since Europeans love hatchback cars, both EP3R and FN2R are in hatch form. FD2R is a sedan.

FN2R is now being officially exported to Japan. And if it manage to find its way to our shore, you will soon see the CTR in colours other than white.

For your reading pleasure;

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civic_Type_R

http://www.honda.co.uk/cars/civictyper/

• zaeidos on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:11 pm

http://www.honda.co.uk/cars/civictyper/

walaweih…£20k equals to about MYR120k right??
    where can i get AP so i can bring this babe to malaysian shores???

• zaeidos on Dec 04, 2009 at 6:16 pm

thanks for the info bro!

• Wow… Superb type r.. I prefer this one than BMW or VW golf…high reselling value..great performance..who says 200k 4 type r is not worth it? It is better than 2005 evo 9 with the price ranging from 180k to 190k.. Come on guys..180k for 5 yrs old machine? It is ridiculously expensive!

• walao..honda always get it right..
    follow this p1..change your font on your old waja emblem and call it facelift…tadaa!
    or more precise, ‘buttlift’..

type-R eh??
    should be the fastest folding non-servoed side mirror…
    get it halfway..and..when the vtec open… :-p