UK market Hyundai Santa Fe facelift announced

hyundai-santa-fe-facelift-uk

Hmm, it looks like Hyundai’s new ‘angry crab’ look on the Santa Fe does not apply to all markets. This shot of a UK market Santa Fe from the UK press kit shows a much simpler-looking front grille that shares the same look with the Hyundai i series of cars. It’s basically a similiar grille but the three bars have been painted black, and a chrome edge has been added on top. Under the hood is the new ‘R’ diesel engine which is a 2.2 litre all-aluminium block. It makes a very good 194 horsepower with 436Nm of torque when mated to an automatic transmission (slightly less torque with a manual).

Santa Fe

Santa Fe

Santa Fe

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Proton… Where is ur SUV?

• azlan on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:37 pm

i want this, the new ix35 (tucson), the new sonata.

hyundai malaysia, please bring them in. then my garage will be complete.

except for the porsche cayman which i can only get after my garage of cars above is complete.

• Mufasa on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:48 pm

Sean said,

November 18, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

Proton… Where is ur SUV?

——————————

i dont think p1 target market able to spend money SUV….malaysian is only 25mill and p1 not expend their market to obersea

• RedLine on Nov 18, 2009 at 9:50 pm

I like the Sanrta Fe. But I dont understand why the locally assembled Santa Fe (under Inokom) is so expensive. The locally assembled Sorento can sell for RM113k-RM130k only. How come Inokom can't sell it for much lower cost?

• azlan on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:06 pm

RedLine,

I agree with you. They can sell it at that price. So, why dont they? I am sure at that price, Hyundai will be received by the public better.

• RedLine on Nov 18, 2009 at 10:21 pm

New engine…nice! Any changes / upgrading of the interior?

• Black Dog on Nov 18, 2009 at 11:36 pm

Redline / Azlan,

Don't you guys (or gals?) know that Kia is under Naza (Crony King!), national car status? Less tax translate into cheaper price.

I'm waiting for Sorento with the same 2.2L awesome diesel engine to launch. Hope Naza will maintain the price at RM138K if not it'll defeat it's national car status.

• squawk on Nov 19, 2009 at 4:40 am

I saw a Korean battery in the Inokom Santa Fe. I thought CKD will have local battery, no?

• Charger on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:12 am

Santa Fe isn't exactly a CKD as the whole chassis was shipped in from Korea in 1 piece, not assembled locally from ground up.

• Will the new engine be able to take our low quality diesel?

• SiputSedut on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:29 am

Hyundai needs to change it logo , the current logo is so asymmetrical …it's difficult to blend into any design , just like Volvo diagonal line ..
    All Hyundai cars are ruined by its el cheapo looking grille , front -design wise .

• wribf on Nov 19, 2009 at 9:42 am

Sorento and Santa Fe is not in the same league…. maybe the new Sorento is!

One is ladder frame chassis and the other is monocoque…

• Rakyat on Nov 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Proton… Where is ur SUV?

====================

If Proton with SUV how much tax for SUV in Malaysia will increase again…

• Sharviin Sasasey on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm

it still looks like it has been in shock!!

• neveraproton on Nov 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Interesting plate number in promo shots! FE SANTA

I thought only Malaysians were so into that…

• Rakyat said,

November 19, 2009 @ 9:16 am

Proton… Where is ur SUV?

====================

If Proton with SUV how much tax for SUV in Malaysia will increase again…

——————————————————————

P1 ..pls dun do a SUV…he3x

• alpha999 on Nov 20, 2009 at 12:52 am

well done….Hyundai….hopefully more Malaysian will accept u….

• au ha … it looks like skoda yeti now !

• acura mdx on Nov 20, 2009 at 7:21 pm

still cannot beat Honda CR-V….

• This car is not a cr-v grade.

hyundai tucson is a cr-v class.

upscale car than cr-v.

• fuel economy, power, torque, interior space, safety score, anything beat toyota highlander(Kluger).

• fgfgfdhd on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:29 am

The front grill looks like a Hyundai i-Series.

• safetybear on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:49 am

Check-out the torque for such size of engine, incredible.

Diesel engines torque beat Petrol hands down but lose out at the top end only.

Sadly, the shock absorbers are too soft.

• mancoi on May 07, 2010 at 11:08 pm

any idea if this car will be sold here?