Kia cars to get GDI engines from 2010 onwards

Hyundai 2.4 Theta II

The new Hyundai-Kia Motor Group Theta II GDI engine you saw earlier this week will be making its way into Kias as early as the first half of 2010 in South Korea. It will then make its way into UK models in 2011 and probably then the rest of the world.

We don’t get many normally aspirated gasoline direct injection engines here in Malaysia. So far only a handful of cars have featured non-turbo FSI engines here in Malaysia, such as the 2.2 litre JTS engines in the Alfa Romeo range here including the 159, and the Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 FSI.

BMW has stayed away from bringing in the new direct injection N53 engines and have stuck to the sweeter-sounding port injection N52 engines. Even for the 4-pots, it is the reason why our 320i still puts out only 156hp instead of the 170hp+ available overseas. Even the Lexus GS uses a conventional port injection engine instead of the D4 engine available overseas, however the LS has direct injection.

Most companies quote the issue of fuel quality when asked on why normally aspirated direct injection engines are not available here. The NAP Review says there will be a timeline formulated for the introduction of better petrol (and diesel) here in Malaysia so hopefully by that time it will be just right for GDI Hyundais and Kias to be introduced here in Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hvannees on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:18 am

improvement!!!

• WTF6767 on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:14 am

you have missed out Alfa Romeo JTS engine

• the V6 2.5L engine in IS250 is a direct injection engine as well..isnt it?..

• Jimmy on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:54 am

Hyundai-Kia please improve on the durability of parts of your cars. Get rid of the dealers who do not provide good aftersale services.

• proton realised that the Campro CPS as limited future due to Direct Injection Technology, Variable Valve Technology, Engine Shut Down technology etc, that is why they opt to have an OEM engine. which s good, just like the hyundai kia mitsu chrysler using th eGEMA engine.

• l29qnlag on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:10 am

South Korea getting world most cutting edged auto industry. Not only engine tech, but also steel tech. Korean Posco steel made world most ultra high strength steel. (more than 70% solid than normal steel plate) even toyota will use this.

—————–

POSCO has developed the world`s first 590 MPa class galvannealed steel sheets for automotive outer body panels. This steel sheet displays a significant increase in strength but is lighter in weight and more elegant in appearance than existing steel sheets.

http://www.yourindustrynews.com/posco+announces+d…

– Stronger, lighter, and more beautiful

– 590MPa class outer body panel able to withstand 60kg per 1mm2

– Strength 70% Up, Weight 20% Down

• Black Dog on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:18 pm

The Koreans have arrived…

• Littlefire on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Yup, Japanese manufacturer are now afraid that Korean will replace them…

• mystvearn on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:28 am

2.2liters, not even sure it will come to Malaysia in Saloon variant. Maybe reserved for 4×4

• Looking A Round on Nov 22, 2009 at 11:41 pm

"Most companies quote the issue of fuel quality when asked on why normally aspirated direct injection engines are not available here." do you notice this?..Our "Joy And Pride" RON95..he he

• moha774 on Nov 23, 2009 at 2:16 am

About the engine..Mitsubishi already had them years ago powering their Pajeros ,Grandis and sedans.. and for POSCO…if not mistaken Proton already using their steel product for Savvy and Saga, when Toyota still thinking of it..

• "About the engine..Mitsubishi already had them years ago powering their Pajeros ,Grandis and sedans.."

>> interesting. i first heard this. show me URL or evidences. or i can't believe your LIE.

• Paul Tan on Nov 23, 2009 at 2:52 am

It's true, for those old imported Pajeros in Malaysia, etc they had GDI V6 petrol engines.

• sorry G on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:19 am

hahaha…Paul u done well. what a poke !~

• someone on Jul 28, 2010 at 5:49 pm

according to some article that I’ve read through, fuel quality is very important in order for GDI engine to run well, and in that article it also mention how GDI works and with some part tuning, GDI should work with lower quality fuel like what we have in Malaysia (sad thing). Just wondering why car maker don’t want to do those tuning to fit malaysia market, maybe our market is too small for them (another sad case).
      Proton, thank you so much for making us buying expensive car and at the same time screw the whole automotive market. 25 years of succeess… (of screwing the market, making Mr. M richer, make people buy expensive car). Now even happier, petrol price start increasing and our beloved government still having 150%++ tax on cars… Malaysia Boleh! BN Boleh!