Perodua D46T MPV test drive units on trailer en route to Perodua showrooms?

Perodua MPV
Click for enlarged image

Trailerloads of the Perodua D46T MPV are on their way somewhere, and from the looks of the livery on the side of one of the exposed vehicles, it looks like they are promotional units, probably to be used as display units or test drive units. These shots are thanks to long-time reader KK Chen.

Perodua MPV
Click for enlarged image

The Perodua D46T MPV is based on the Toyota Passo Sette so if you absolutely need to know more about this new model to hit our local roads you can refer to my story on the Passo Sette, but for a more accurate picture of what we’ll get in our Perodua version you’ll have to wait for the full story after the launch next week on the 23rd of November 2009 at 5pm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• some showroom is offering sneak preview on sat… hope the car arrives on time!

• Same like me. Already booking for premium ver. I don’t understand why Abangs say NO MONEY FROM US? Who is US? Maybe wrong, NO MONEY FROM ABANGS…. =)

• Abangs on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:54 am

CRASH TEST PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NO CRASH TEST… NO MONEY FROM US…

• im first!!

P2 display units & test drive units huhuhhu

good luck la to P2

• Looks 'delicious'…..

• safetybear on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:58 am

Yes, good for Malaysian but price hopefully lower than Exora which is already RM 60k……..

Proton cars are quite good except reliability need to improve further and engine efficiency/transmission.

Less politics, more focus.

• Elvis on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:58 am

Sure hancur Exora…just like Savvy…

• I had a feeling this car might be a direct competition with the Proton Exora's B-line and the Perodua's MPV low specs. Anyhow, this would be a fresh new model for Perodua, lets hope this car would be selling well.

• Abangs on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:00 am

offtopic..

Paul,

I just watch Proton advertisement on TV3 just now.. it shows Persona drive by pregnant woman ..almost 120km/h… haha nice Adv..

if u dont mind, can u please add the clip into your blog, sure many Automotive fanz and proton die hard supporter will appreciate it. tq

• no need to hide la..

• Wolfsburg on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:06 am

One day before Forte…

• hvannees on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:16 am

there are full picture at one forum, go search urself. the test drive unit named alza.. kereta? juga mpv?. full bodykit. a bit cun huhu. can wait to see SE model liaw… anyway i prefer sedan. a mazda 2 sedan next year maybe. hehe..

• sensei900 on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:17 am

its coming…i heard that those test unit are the sport edition's unit which only can be sell by april next year,so nice and perfect strategy for them…wish u p2 all the best n i cant wait to sit on mine next year…

• tunomura on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:23 am

"Kereta Juga MPV" …MPV ka?? Why not wagon?? what a joke…the idea is same as "Pemanduan Seperti Kereta Sedan" Grand Livina…Better buy Grand Livina, powerful and fuel efficient engine, dual srs airbag….Ops Sikap next year will be the highest and the biggest contributor is this junk car..

Cheers..

• seat-belt on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:23 am

what a weird slogan…

"kereta juga MPV"..

of couse la MPV is a car…

u think what..

afraid that ppl will thought Mata Pelajaran Vokasional ka?

• rumplestiltskin on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:31 am

I saw their ad at one of their showroom which says something like " a car is also an MPV" which I believe is clearly stating that this MPV is more like a car perhaps in terms of the size or probably they are trying to say "please don't expect too highly of our car/mpv, and please try not to compare it with other MPVs".

• hmm... on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:33 am

it's a nice car… sadly, it ony coms in automatic transmission… hope p2 will osso manufacture a manual transmission version of dis…

• hotblood on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:43 am

sure kalah grand livina also..

• Darren on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:45 am

Any air-con blower for the back seat??? if no, Kereta Juga MPV Panas

• bolshoi booze on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:51 am

Passo Sette..

• I saw the real car in Bintulu uncovered today. It's just besides the Toyota cars storage site.

Looks good in metal.

• hotman on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:54 am

Hey!! Its start booking now!!

• Cutester on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:56 am

It's nice to have both Perodua MPV and Proton Exora. Remember when Chana Era CM8 launched earlier this year? The price was between RM 38,888 and RM 44,368 and many dislike it and condemn "kaw-kaw". Refer:

http://paultan.org/2009/01/20/chana-era-cm8-malay…

Both Perodua and Proton caters to different people with different needs and budget. Just hope that this Perodua MPV has 2nd row aircond eventhough many speculate it doesn't have. I hope Perodua will give all of us a big surprise when launch.

• I put my money already for this perodua Alza… Premium… nice~

• Tunomura, G.Livina is expensive lah. It's a good car for 1.8 but expensive…

U hav money, u can buy G.Livina…

• mitlanevo on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:19 am

kereta juga MPV…… hmmm…..

same case with Livina and Triton, totally failed…

gimme my Exora, any color, please…

• Car Too MPV on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:22 am

Kereta Juga 'M'esti 'P'anas 'W'ahaha

some basher is the best actor..

kancil launch- he book kancil

viva launch- he book viva

nautica lauch -he book nautica..

aja launch – he claim he book Aja…

actually he just surfing internet and promote da car..

• Car Too MPV on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:25 am

Senang Aja…

Ada Apa Apa Aja, naik la this Aja…

Aja memang kureng Ajar..

Aja in Bangladesh mean Shit…

• hotblood on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:26 am

betoi..betoi..betoi…if you willing to pay 30K more to get extra 0.3L engine & add 2nd row blower,then go for GL 1.8

• Littlefire on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:30 am

I gonna bet that this MPV is going to put Perodua sales up up away from Proton…

Even some ppl here claim they dont have crash test, even Proton exora haven came out official crash test result from Independence NCAP.

The most highest Proton get official is Waja, which have 3 star for having 4 air-bags + Abs. So do you think that with our 2 air-bag + abs can get over 3 star rating?!?
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton/impian.aspx

Daihatsu Sirion (Myvi brother) even have 4 star rating.. Even they also have 4 air-bags + Abs. Do the maths, even reduce spec which still better?
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/daihatsu_sirion_200…

By the way, if proton so confidence with their safety. Just show out the official report and don't be like the federal G cover up the report on Bukit Antarabangsa.

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:49 am

Rear seat looks big enough… big enough for children and pets. Definitely too small for 40% of adults in Malysia… the 'healthier' fat ass 40%.

• alza luvers.. on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:17 am

car too mpv..
    aja??wtf ..alza duno how to spell wan to claim u so clever..
    Mest Panas Wahaha= MPW..this is MPV..multi pupose vehicle..
    don show ur dumbness laaa..

• although it is quite cheap, but i don't like the design. The rear design really looks like Myvi. For me. I choose Exora better.

• old timers on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:02 am

how to pronunciate it?

EL ZA?

ALL ZA?

AL ZEE A..

most people will pronunciate it AJA.. haha

Perodua AJA

• the sport rim's not bad..

• keteSorong on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:18 am

kereta juga MPV???haha..sah2 die xde modal nk wt mpv..tu yg jdkn kereta as mpv..haha..keep it up P2

• tokmoh on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:26 am

littlefire : u blind or what? The crash test videos not enough evidence for u?

As peyno always say, u typical P2 salesman thinking of "just refer to passo/boon crash test"

• GeramHati on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:37 am

I am sure this will beat Exora, and shut the mouth!

• What the f…….another "import" from our sO-called Malaysian auto maker

Perodua.

Sorry…whatever… :(

I wont remind you again Perodua.

Hey Julian, whaddya say about this? Hahaha…

• I like the "Awas Kenderaan Panjang" better!

• kerelbort on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:54 am

@little fire – take away the 4 airbag + abs… the rating will reduce significantly. ;) and exora independent test crash will not shown in NCAP and the reason it is not NCAPed yet, exora still not for Briton market yet. Once they planned to enter that market they will need to go for the NCAP. The relevant test crash carried out by a spanish(?) test crash company (if not mistaken) and the result can be translated to 4 star NCAP. give exora 12 airbag and redesigned the front portion of the car MIGHT give it 5 star. but there's no demand for MPV in Briton as they go for wagon.

anyhoo… the way P2 pack their car really begging anybody to take a spyshot of the trailer with the motto 'Kereta juga MPV' as their marketing strategi.. I guess they would do better to market the car as a wagon.. so it would look like they are opening a new auto-market(wagon) and not opposing other MPV already proven in the market now.

and.. i really not sure why people saying exora can tapau after alva adora launch.. exora waiting list still standing at 3 months,

1. p1 can set exora-alva gap wider by introducing the forced induce engine by midst 2010.

2. while P2 started the marketing for alva in 2010, exora already on a snowball market and p1 has started their waja replacement marketing in-which i hope they going to drop waja badge and give it the impian badge. They might not bother lots by Alva since the market rules pioneer get bigger pie slice. (case: myvi | savvy ; even if both on different segment)

Do anyone have any idea what's next for P2? Paul? Littlefire?

my opinion in the evolution of P2 model

Kancil, Kelisa -> Viva

Kembara -> Nautica

Kenari -> Myvi + Alva ( i think this should be the case since Kenari mark as mini MPV and Myvi looks like a compact MPV and Alva is an extended Myvi)

Rusa -> halted P2 model replaced by Avanza

• i saw the fully uncovered Perodua MPV on trailer here in kuching yesterday and i also saw the name of the MPV and it's purple!! But i think i better not mention the name here first :)

• fxxtheProton on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:59 am

CRASH TEST?? NAhhhh!!

u buy one can try it on ur highway urself!

• mockviper (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:13 am

it should b "Awas, kenderaan tak cukup panjang"

its not a real MPV so they dare not say its an MPV. so Kereta juga MPV it is..

5+2 seater… not a full 7 seater. (but im sure it will be 6+2 seater since the front seat is single bench type)

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:14 am

Kereta Juga MPV…?

What a theme?…funny and confusing…

• fxxtheProton on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:16 am

Littlefire said,

November 20, 2009 @ 10:30 pm

Even some ppl here claim they dont have crash test, even Proton exora haven came out official crash test result from Independence NCAP.

The most highest Proton get official is Waja, which have 3 star for having 4 air-bags + Abs. So do you think that with our 2 air-bag + abs can get over 3 star rating?!?

Daihatsu Sirion (Myvi brother) even have 4 star rating.. Even they also have 4 air-bags + Abs. Do the maths, even reduce spec which still better?

By the way, if proton so confidence with their safety. Just show out the official report and don’t be like the federal G cover up the report on Bukit Antarabangsa.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well said bro!

We here in malaysia, our people have to bear our own life ..risking our life on the road everyday.. yes..everyday!!

You all know the answer, !

our hard earn money pay for the OVERPRICE vehicle ..

if the public transport is convenient enuf …Who wanna buy a Car to suffer? we all know its not cheap! most of the time the car installment already cover major part of our salary…especially for those fresh grads~~( cos dun wanna look like old-hunk, get at least a 50k myvi ) ..

Do any of u know, if you were to take a bus from Puchong to Ikea, the curve (ok..drive time maybe 20 minutes) do u know how ????

answer is. there is no direct route from puchong to One U..BU,KD.. the bus have to go to KL first then change bas !!! GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

do u believe tat????

Guys, think… and that;s one of the big issue, why we dun have much tourist compare to our neighbour coutries~~

Since we were push to drive our own car…support local made Proton..

but yet it does not give us the basic we need…

We need safety..

while the latest volvo C60 is having the latest safety system ( the car will stop by itself if it sense danger) I dun expect we have the same..

but at least dun make our life suffer..

and the strongest point is.

if you think AH1N1 is scary..kill a lot..

wait until u compare to our nation mortality in road accidents!

anyone wanna find out the real stats that how many ppl are kill on the road each year?? and how many involve proton cars..

• tttuuuutttt on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

yaaaa tepi tepi lori bwk keranda sudah laluuuuuu!!

• skiborne on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:44 am

looks good. really good. this gonna bust exora real hard if proton continues with their sandiwara n stuffs like that. alza will bust in terms of everything i guess, interior design fuel economy of course. etc etc

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:31 am

bey said,

November 20, 2009 @ 8:54 pm

im first!!

P2 display units & test drive units huhuhhu

good luck la to P2

—————————————————————-

bey, you are not first….. hahahaha……….

• Tiadaid on Nov 21, 2009 at 11:18 am

Littlefire said,

If you're expecting EuroNCAP, you should know that they have to sell the car in Europe 1st before they can be certified by EuroNCAP…wait for them to sell the car in Europe, then we'll talk. I'm sure all the other NCAP's the same.

———————————————–

That's a bunch of crock. ABS, Airbag is also accounted in the NCAP rating. Just because a full spec Daihatsu Sirion get 4 star doesn't mean MyVi also 4 star. Why don't you tell Perodua to send Myvi for EuroNCAP test? Why the double standard? Enough is enough, P2 fan-boy Littlefire

• slimershine on Nov 21, 2009 at 12:03 pm

'AWAS MYVI PANJANG' is better eh? hahahaha…

• biggiebro on Nov 21, 2009 at 3:07 pm

FYI the downgraded version of MyVi/Viva and Alza are not qualified for NCAP test as the downgraded version do not have the safety features which is mandatory for all cars taking the test.

Current crop of Proton cars has all the mandatory equipment so theoritically it can be tested.

• adrian on Nov 21, 2009 at 3:51 pm

Wahhh!!! This car will be hot selling like nautica.

• nazri on Nov 21, 2009 at 3:56 pm

i think the next p2 gonna rebadge is daihatsu materia..

"kereta juga ikan flowerhorn".. (joke only… good morning malaysia :) )

• Lankurdt on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:46 pm

I have booked mine, cant wait to be one of the first to drive it on roads of Malaysia…

• nudin on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:46 pm

sure laku punya..and japan will smile always..old model pun laku maa

but i still prefer proton and very keen to read their update for the next plan

good morning for 1 malaysia!!

• @ntiPerOdua on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:58 pm

suck mpv car !!!

• @ntiPerOdua on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:59 pm

another copy cat car from perodua !!!

• car lover on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:00 pm

Dud Littlefire..

dont airbag +abs dont really play the part n crash test evan it will effect dummy injury …the structure or car itself will show how safety aka ..how many star u get ..btw ..if u want more star ..more money u must burn laa …correct if im wrong ..try look up myvi biw ..u take 32 g pulse aka 56km/h ..u a over dud ..evan u have air bag +abs …tthat biw cannt take dud ..want to know ..as perodua engginers aka japannese eng ..peace..ps ..proton base line also hehehehe

• @ntiPerOdua on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:04 pm

is should call perodua ALTA not ALZA

• HANAFI on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:28 pm

Littlefire said,

By the way, if proton so confidence with their safety. Just show out the official report and don’t be like the federal G cover up the report on Bukit Antarabangsa.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

HEY..Myvi is NOT TOUGH AS DAIHATSU SIRION.SO P2 car still not tough as Proton.If you said DAIHATSU SIRION and MYVI same in term of its tough we also can said Proton wira taugh aS LENCER.

• mikelol on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:51 pm

ppl who buys p1 or p2 are pure fags!. grow up and buy a real car.

• keteSorong on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Wahhh!!! This car will be hot selling like nautica

haiyya…nautica hot selling ka??

kasi longgok itu nautica…n touch up sket kasi name as new model…hahaha

thats P2!!hahaha

• totot112 on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Nice to see perodua is bringing in new model.

Anyway, its still looks like extended version of myvi and its a 5 seater car with 2 additional small seat for childeren or a 5 seater Wagon car for people to carry stuff.

Price it well and it will sell. (Design + pricing + safety features = Recipe for selling)

• Eric Foong on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Saw this trailer on it's way on the north south highway somewhere around simpang pulai last night.

• neutral on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:22 pm

Yessszaaaa… Alza sudah keluar.Let the counting begins! At least P2 keluar kereta both AT and MT masa launching :) 3 more days!

• p2eng on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:25 pm

For those who are confusing with the P2 advertisment tagline "Kereta Juga MPV", please refer to the english tagline which says "Car One Moment, MPV the Next".

Basically what P2 trying to say here is that, Alza is not an MPV. It is rather a car at all time. However, when the need comes, it can function as an MPV. Of course with limitation as Alza is not meant for comparing with other real MPV such as Exora. Exora and Alza is not in the same segment, so it is unfair to either P2 and also Proton when these two models are compared.

It's OK to compare Alza with Grand Livina or Avanza. It is also OK to compare Exora with Unser. They are in different segment and although they are produced locally. So when it comes to local car manufacturer, people tends to compare it between P2 and Proton regardless which segment the model is in.

Anyway, Exora is already consider cheap for an MPV. Alza price is not up to the standard of MPV price. It's a compact car with a little function as MPV for those who like the dual function.

As the tagline goes "Kereta Juga MPV", it's a car but at certain needs, it may fulfilled as an MPV. Furthermore, the tagline is just rather fun and exciting.

Those who wants to understand the tagline in Malay "Kereta Juga MPV", I suggest you improve your bahasa. Please study the meaning between "Juga" and "Dan".

• waklanproton on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:28 pm

aiyaa….its good competition what? dont like exora buy alza..dont like alza buy livina…so what the poblem? bnyk yg bising2 nie tong kosong je….

• Kurang Ajar on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:29 pm

Sorry to say, Exora better…more spacious..more safety.. handling SUPERB…

Paul, when u test drive later..please take a sharp corner, let see what will happen to this P2 Ajar..

• keluangman on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Alza? damn… the name sucks!

• keluangman on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:48 pm

I wonder between Exora B-odoh Line and Alza which one the idiots will choose? Haha!

• AwAnG-Gt (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:02 pm

emmmm………….alza alza……space?performance?can beat exora or not???

• giggs on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:02 pm

You guys can say whatever you want, but this P2 MPV will serve majority of Malaysian!……

• eadgez on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:18 pm

btw, what does "kereta juga mpv" means?

on my cmn sense, MPV is of koz a vehicle thgh, not a trolley. haiya.

• Aja Aja Aljakebamboo on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:27 pm

WAITTTTTT…..

Persona Enhancement is cumming out …

Even Pregnant woman can drive it very fast… wahaha nice Adv by proton…

Paul, any news about this persona Enchancement?

• Aja Aja Aljakebamboo on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:37 pm

1st picture warning sign- AWAS KENDERAAN PANJANG..

then someone will add – AWAS KERETA JUGA MYVI PANJANG

• Kereta Juga MYVi on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:40 pm

read my new nickname… haha… NICE izzit?

Kereta Juga MPV, cannot lah… because it's wagon

• S.Roma on Nov 21, 2009 at 9:33 pm

Kereta juga MPV?

It means that it can transform to MPV from a car, that is !

Transformers maa… ^_^

• Littlefire on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Bla bla bla.. All the Proton fans still dont get it is that our cars on the road is not on par with those selling overseas.

Have Proton show us the safety spec or the crash report after & before the test crash video? Hello?!? Where is the black n white? Same as Perodua!

Besides that, is very funny that someone mention that Waja is the same as lancer. I tot is the same chassis with Volvo S40 somemore! Wow.. Volvo chassis but the safety…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Waja

• The rims are ugly!!!

The butt also….. need to redesign again….

Maybe add some bodykits and better design 16" rims…..

Price around RM65k…..

• By the way, it not need to beat Exora in term of performance, space or others…

Some ppl will still buy it…..

I wont compare this car with Exora at all….

Compare it with sedan like Vios J….

almost the same price but accessories too much different….

Brand T vs P2 offer more accessories…..

If P2 mpv come with full bodykits… I will consider it then will not buy Viva Elite at all… (too expensive for a small car)….

I want to replace my 2002 kelisa with a new car….

• Maserati on Nov 21, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Woohoo..this is so gonna pawn Exora's Arse all the way to HOLLAND…

Just cant wait for the launch!!

• othermakers on Nov 21, 2009 at 11:57 pm

mayb its time to change to other makers of car. perodua and proton, becoz of these 2 bast@rd, we have high import/excise tax that makes other car brand so expensive. p1 and p2 can rot in hell. together with anyone that support them. Yes, that includes u if u r a supporter.

• hehehe~ kelakar lah korang nih…

• Paul, don't forgot also to put da brochure for this perodua alza ya. Standard version, premium version n also advance version. thanks

• Just came back from from the sneak preview, dramatic is was as the salesman cant get hold of of the key to open the door, so I only get to peep thru a window for the 1st look and have to come back later to get into the real thing.

My opinion, it is worth the money… in bolehland anyway. If you have driven the quality of a Honda or a Toyota, this is definite not up to that standard as far as the interior goes. But this is probably the best deal for anyone looking for a mid size MPV for a mid size family, that needs a car, and at times, a MPV, as advertised!

I will have to make a third trip for test drive before I make the call, but as we speak, I think i wont as for a refund for the deposit paid to P2.

• mockviper (Member) on Nov 22, 2009 at 12:52 am

keluangman said,

I wonder between Exora B-odoh Line and Alza which one the idiots will choose? Haha!

……………….

between a real full 7 seater MPV priced at RM57K and compare it with Alza std spec (which doesnt comes with ABS+EBD and even single airbag at all) at RM55k. which one will you choose? since youre the smart one around here… ;)

Littlefire said,

Have Proton show us the safety spec or the crash report after & before the test crash video? Hello?!? Where is the black n white? Same as Perodua!

……………….
    http://paultan.org/2009/04/17/proton-exora-crash-…

• hvannees on Nov 22, 2009 at 1:03 am

found this alza brochure at one site. leather seat, gps with reverse camera, etc.. i feel this kereta mpvee wil be hot… sometimes bigger is not always a choice..

• mengQ on Nov 22, 2009 at 1:31 am

"Proton claims that the Impian is the first of a new generation of cars that are designed to Euro NCAP standards and is the first Proton car evaluated by Euro NCAP. It scored 3 stars for adult occupant safety but only 1 star for pedestrian safety. This was a disappointing performance but Proton says it intends to improve future designs. But it has not yet been done till now.

The car's body was damaged so badly by the impact that it became unstable. The driver and front passenger risked serious injury. The child restraints performed poorly and it became apparent that, in development, too little thought had been given to their use."

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton_impian_2002/…

Whoops! Did i just saw someone commented that Exora meets Euroncap standard?

• mu_77 on Nov 22, 2009 at 2:34 am

Isit sharing the same engine as maiwi??? If yes, crap performance… i heard the interior looks good btw.

• izit the P2 MPV call Alza?

• Littlefire on Nov 22, 2009 at 2:54 am

Is 1.5L DVVT engine, which is shared with Vios (VVT-i) if not mistaken. Same engine different tuning.

• Elvis on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:57 am

It may not be everyone taste i think. With 3 rows of bench arrangement, will be a turnoff for some. But for those with naughty hands, heemmm, i leave it to your imagination. Definately a target for those 'tangkap basah' officials..

• Tiu the Proton on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:22 am

WELL SAID fxxktheproton!!!

Love you… I hate proton also Perodua..

Get a life with real car.

• Solaris on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:24 am

I booked this car for my wife expect to get it in Dec09. I do not need MPV, but it is kind of good it can be function as MPV when sometime need to carry more than 5 passengers. I support Kerata Juga MPV.

• LeongWK on Nov 22, 2009 at 5:07 am

Saw the Alza at a showroom (hidden in the store). Just right after unloaded from the trailer. Lucky i know the boss of the showroom and he let me have a look. A manual standard spec and auto premium spec available. See and felt inside. No test drive. No brocheure but ve pricelist. Overall the size is not really that big and not really solid compare to Vios and City but much better than Avanza. Interior is a bit more spacious than Vios and City(maybe because the seats are not that bulky and door abit thinner)but less spacious than Exora. 3rd row is really for kids or small size people. The interior is made of cheap plastic comparing to Vios and City. The door trim is much better than Myvi as they have rubber insulation lining around the door and front door opening. But door closure isn’t that solid (don have the “Kumph” sound, maybe due the door lighter weight). Engine compartment is small compare to Vios due to a differrent type of 1.5cc Toyota engine. Engine is more quiet than Myvi. Interior is simple and practical. 2nd row seat has only 2 headrest compare to 3 headrest Toyota Passo Sette. The aircon compressor is Denso which is good. It comes with a Silverstone tyre 185/55/R15. The spare tyre is located below the MPV(Outside). Headlamp is a projector type and looks stunning.

Premium spec has different seat fabric, airbags, spoiler, volume control steering wheel, seat height adjustable, blue/red speed meter, front fog light, PVC leather wrapped steering, USB/Bluetooth cd player and abs. All this cost RM5K more. The standard

Personally I feel its abit expensive to price the premuim Alza at RM64K but this is subjective to individual. I will decide after the test drive.

• mockviper (Member) on Nov 22, 2009 at 5:10 am

hvannees said,

found this alza brochure at one site. leather seat, gps with reverse camera, etc.. i feel this kereta mpvee wil be hot… sometimes bigger is not always a choice..

…………………….

with all that gadgets, the price will rise up to RM70k and its called ALZA SE.

—————

lee said,

izit the P2 MPV call Alza?

…………………….

Yes, it is called P2 ALZA.

—————

Littlefire said,

Is 1.5L DVVT engine, which is shared with Vios (VVT-i) if not mistaken. Same engine different tuning.

…………………….

Toyota Vios engine type is 1NZ-FE while ALZA is sourced from Daihatsu's 3SZ-VE, same as Avanza.

• catchcart on Nov 22, 2009 at 6:55 am

Littlefire,

U are a fan of this blog. U always give a comment to a lot of topic. Many forumer have explained about NCAP crash test ratings, but u still have not realize it.

NCAP test are conducted by NCAP which NCAP will actually bought the car from the market and crash it at their facility. Nobody can ever have a chance to ask them to test any car. They will choose any car as they like. A car which is not sold in Europe will not have a NCAP crash ratings (official result from NCAP itself) because NCAP could not buy the car in Europe and it is not in their list.

What Proton did is sent Exora to an independent crash test facility (in Spain) which have the same standard of NCAP and perform crash safety test. The result is equivalent to the NCAP ratings. If Proton just suka-suka tell the whole world that Exora is 4-star crash test equivalent to NCAP ratings without actually test it according to NCAP standard, don't you think NCAP can sue Proton in Europe?

Proton did publish the video of the crash test. Why are you still complaining?

• Tiu the Proton said,

WELL SAID fxxktheproton!!!

Love you… I hate proton also Perodua..

Get a life with real car.

Bro

it is easy for you to say… try live a life like the other everyday Malaysian who wasn't born with a silver spoon, or grow up with enfalac, hence a bright brain to excel, or the connection to get FOC goodies like AP from the G and becomes filthy loaded… it's difficult to even pay bills on time, not to mention getting a real car.

Having said that, here's my 2 cents.

It is not P1 not P2's fault.

Imagine your parents spoiled you from the day u r born, continue to give in to your tantrums growing up. Today, u r a fully grown adult, but still cant live without your parents' protection.

Who do u think has bigger problem?

You can continue to hate P1 or P2, which is politically incorrect, or you can get enough people to teach their parents a lesson, once every few years.

So for once, may u pls gather your forces, and move them to a political forum to generate another tsunami, and leave room for the rest of lower life everyday Malaysian to share more constructive opinion related to the intend and content of this blog.

After all, even if these people cant afford a life or a real car, they can use some advise to stretch their ringgit and get a milo tin they can drive to work.

• mazdaspeed v6 on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:04 am

heheeheh

yesss we want crash test

• Bla bla bla.. All the Proton fans still dont get it is that our cars on the road is not on par with those selling overseas.

Besides that, is very funny that someone mention that Waja is the same as lancer. I tot is the same chassis with Volvo S40 somemore! Wow.. Volvo chassis but the safety…

dear little fire,

have toyota, honda, bmw,merc,and etc show us the safety spec or the crash report after and before the test crash video???where is the black n white???

somebody didnot mention waja use the same chasis as lancer, he just pointed out if alza=passo sette, so wira=lancer lol.

and one more thing, waja is the first car that p1 try to produce and with getting 3 stars, it is commendable. please check the first toyota and daihatsu, how many stars that they get??? waja was produce around year 2000-2002, why not compare sirion during that era. it is not fair to compare sirion 2005 with waja which is around year 2000-2002.and is that the first car daihatsu produce???

one more thing, yes, vios n avanza has a different code of engine but basically its sharing some of its design. the biggest different is that avanza use aluminium and avanza/sette use diecast iron cylinder block.

that is not important because both engines are good. but im a little bit confius because alza engine output is 104ps and 136nm oppose to avanza/sette/luminas 109ps and 141nm. is it been DOWNGRADED???and another thing is that passo sette lowest spec manual 2 wd kerb weight is about 1170kg and alza full spec advance(that will be released next year with full bodykit and leather seat) kerb weight is around 1168kg. it supposed to weigh more than passo sette lowest spec manual because alza advanced is auto version and futher more it comes with full bodykit)so is it been downgraded from the inside(something that u cannot see with ur naked eyes)????

CAN SOMEBODY HELP ME OUT TO INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER!

• mystvearn on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:32 am

I still am quite sceptical at having 7 people squeezed into what can only be described as an elongated Myvi.

• Littlefire on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:43 am

mockviper said:

Toyota Vios engine type is 1NZ-FE while ALZA is sourced from Daihatsu’s 3SZ-VE, same as Avanza.

I think the engine is almost the same, if i not mistaken 3sz engine exhaust facing front, while Vios 1NZ exhaust facing behind. Maybe the material use in the engine head or block different.. Hmm.. But both also using the same VVT technology & timing chain.

• william on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:54 am

saw the car behind the showroom…….bit like small size "toyota Wish"

it seem abit over price on the car. 7 sit? i jz seem like only 6 belt

• Alexander The Great on Nov 22, 2009 at 8:02 am

Why NAUTICA not sell well even it is so called SUV + 7 seater????

And do this AvanZA sisters sell well later? it is so called 7 seater also..

My INSTINCT say that this ALZA will become failure project.. because P2 famous with compact car, not 7 seater… at the same time RM55k-RM70k, mid class people will not choose this 7 seater.

-to malaysian, consider SAFETY first before you decide to buy this downgrade material.

• eddie on Nov 22, 2009 at 8:10 am

smart people buy alza, idiot ppl choose exra

• dear little fire,

have toyota, honda, bmw,merc,and etc show us the safety spec or the crash report after and before the test crash video???where is the black n white???

somebody didnot mention waja use the same chasis as lancer, he just pointed out if alza=passo sette, so wira=lancer lol.

and one more thing, waja is the first car that p1 try to produce and with getting 3 stars, it is commendable. please check the first toyota and daihatsu, how many stars that they get??? waja was produce around year 2000-2002, why not compare sirion during that era. it is not fair to compare sirion 2005 with waja which is around year 2000-2002.and is that the first car daihatsu produce???

one more thing, yes, vios n avanza has a different code of engine but basically its sharing some of its design. the biggest different is that avanza use aluminium and avanza/sette use diecast iron cylinder block.

that is not important because both engines are good. but im a little bit confius because alza engine output is 104ps and 136nm oppose to avanza/sette/luminas 109ps and 141nm. is it been DOWNGRADED???and another thing is that passo sette lowest spec manual 2 wd kerb weight is about 1170kg and alza full spec advance(that will be released next year with full bodykit and leather seat) kerb weight is around 1168kg. it supposed to weigh more than passo sette lowest spec manual because alza advanced is auto version and futher more it comes with full bodykit)so is it been downgraded from the inside(something that u cannot see with ur naked eyes)????

CAN SOMEBODY HELP ME OUT TO INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER!

• MAT,

interesting inputs… so is it lighter material used on the body?

Paul

look fwd to your test drive report, would be great if u can also shed some lights on these doubts. what exactly is the difference between the Malaysia vs Japan version? we need to know what we spent our ringgit on.

• ariff on Nov 22, 2009 at 8:57 am

EXORA sales is going up soon coz ppl who anticipate ALZA will be disappointed & with the money they've been saving for ALZA downpayment, they'll buy EXORA instead.

p2 is never better than p1

• Seeing is believing..please do test drive for those against the p2 new model..tq

• tunomura on Nov 22, 2009 at 11:53 am

Mat,

Avanza -> RWD

Alza -> FWD

Different power output to meet different drive condition..

Alza is totally downgraded version, sketched from elongated Myvi underbody add up with Daihatsu Boon Luminas upperbody. It was downgraded by:

1) using common parts with myvi such as Myvi's room lamp, Myvi's glove box, Myvi's assist grip, Myvi's door handle and many more.

2) disused some reinforcement parts or change it to thinner thickness or other cheapo material type.

Fyi, at current condition of Myvi, it is only a "tin kosong" (to be compare with Boon is "macam langit dan bumi") and you can imagine how Perodua can downgraded their cars to gain better profits for this junk Alza. I think Exora price is more transparent than Alza.

• You guys can say watever you like! but nvm, wait and see…

* Alza is not an MPV. It is rather a car at all time. However, when the need comes, it can function as an MPV.

• leon123 on Nov 22, 2009 at 1:18 pm

I have the privilage to see the car yesterday evening because I have booked one. The model I saw was Alza premium version with Classic Purple metallic color.

The full body-kit is of Alza advance version but It will only be delivered later after march 2010. It will come with a ready-installed GPS and rear cameras at the back for easy parking purpose.

For Non-advance model buyer, I advise you to get a Carmin(GPS)…instead.

You buy a car which suit your own needs and budget, after all you are the one who will PAY for it.

I am driving a Waja and my wife is driving a Myvi. I like the Waja very much, but for all the Waja owners, they knew that the power window mechanism and door handles in the Waja are lousy. They are prompt to easy broken.

So far, the Myvi did not give any problem. This prompt me to consider buying a 2nd P2 car.

• opaque on Nov 22, 2009 at 2:11 pm

Littlefire said,

November 21, 2009 @ 11:43 pm

I think the engine is almost the same, if i not mistaken 3sz engine exhaust facing front, while Vios 1NZ exhaust facing behind. Maybe the material use in the engine head or block different.. Hmm.. But both also using the same VVT technology & timing chain.

Are you sure that vios uses the timing chain. Just asking

• To leon123,

U sure kah?

Alza come with full bodykits + reverse camera +GPS + leather seats?

Thats all the accessories I want!!!! ^_^…..

If confirm, I will save my money & wait for it….

• waimak on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:48 pm

This Proton-Perodua model tug of war is getting ridiculous and no where. I sense it's salesman's/ marketing/ staff/ employee war. Its good in one sense not good in many. Going thru the whole comments tell us something. If you cant see it, too bad, I dont know. We are not grown up enough. And that shows the state we are in, the company, industry, becos they are the company and the industry.

Paul, appreciate if you could screen P1/ P2 post/ news where necessary.. I think its best if you could concentrate more on other makes….

Just a comment.

• rickyll on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:25 pm

mikelol said

ppl who buys p1 or p2 are pure fags!. grow up and buy a real car.

========

The thing is we are grown up but we have to accept the fact that we can't AFFORD a real car, how many of us can? All we can say is that we are being short-changed by the G. I am 56 years old with a monthly salary of slightly more than 10K, still I am driving a 25 year old well maintained Nissan Sunny, leaving two newer models of NATIONAL CARS to my children. I told myself not to waste my hard earned money to buy any more National Car. Someday I hope to get a real car and enjoy my retirement.

• leon123 - the buyer on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:29 pm

To:K.C,

Yes, the leather seat, skirting, GPS, reverse camera and tinted film will be included for the Advance Model, namely

otr (RM)

P5GHP(NANUAL) 66490 solid

66990 metallic

P5ZHP(AUTO) 69490 solid

69990 metallic

One of salesman told me that with those skirting, it will look a Honda Streamx

• leon123-will be owne on Nov 22, 2009 at 6:39 pm

To; K.C,

Yes, the Advance Model will come with Leather Seat, ABS, Air Bag, USB, Bluethooth, GPS, Reverse Camera and tinted film.

The OTR price(RM) for advance model are as below:

A) Model P5GHP(Manual)

Solid -RM66490

Metallic-RM66990

B) Model: P5ZHP(Auto)

Solid-RM69490

Metallic-RM69990

• Pagi ni masuk ofis tersermpak Produa ALZA park di belakang opis.(ni kes nak sembunyi lah ni)huhuhu dikawal oleh sorang pengawal.Nasib baik pengawal tu kawan..hehehe boleh la bukak selimut dia..tgk.Nampak cantik tapi agak mengecewakan bagi kualiti plastik yang digunakan.harga pulak lebih kurang RM70k bagi model sport 1.5 auto.mahal..mahal..bestnya model auto handbrake(parking brake) terletak kat brake kaki..yang lain tak de apa yang menarik pun..ada kawan cina di opis sebelah termenung kejap tengok kualiti MPV yang bakal dimikinya..Haiiiya ini macam wa beli Ezora lagi baik maaaa..lagi murah………(katanya)….huhuhu….

Apa pun aku ada post gambo kat paul..tak tau la dia nak uploupkan ke tidak…

• peroempat on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:12 pm

As compact MPV as sedan, ezora eat the dust liao and sent back to recycle bin.

• blo0d on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:37 pm

leon123 said,

November 22, 2009 @ 5:18 am

I have the privilage to see the car yesterday evening because I have booked one. The model I saw was Alza premium version with Classic Purple metallic color.

The full body-kit is of Alza advance version but It will only be delivered later after march 2010. It will come with a ready-installed GPS and rear cameras at the back for easy parking purpose.

For Non-advance model buyer, I advise you to get a Carmin(GPS)…instead.

You buy a car which suit your own needs and budget, after all you are the one who will PAY for it.

I am driving a Waja and my wife is driving a Myvi. I like the Waja very much, but for all the Waja owners, they knew that the power window mechanism and door handles in the Waja are lousy. They are prompt to easy broken.

So far, the Myvi did not give any problem. This prompt me to consider buying a 2nd P2 car.

yeah? sure meh? my 2008 myvi had power window problem and the suspension is too soft. i sold it now and i stick to my second car 2001 proton waja that give me less problem compared to the NEW car.

• Kereta Juga SAVvy on Nov 22, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Savvy MPV will coming out… to beat Kereta Juga MYVi

http://funtastickodesign.files.wordpress.com/2009…

• Kereta Juga SAVvy on Nov 22, 2009 at 8:55 pm

kejayaan sesuatu project

negara bergantung kepada sokongan dari rakyat sendiri. The more people

buy, the cheaper things can be. Economic of scale lah tu.

PERODUA ni..more people buy.. lagi tinggi harga dia…..

• waklanproton on Nov 22, 2009 at 9:12 pm

eddie said,

November 22, 2009 @ 12:10 am

smart people buy alza, idiot ppl choose exra

———————————————————-

dont say like that….

are you too smart?

see your commen know how a person u are.

• Aku baca forum Exora, ada kedai yg boleh pasangkan blower aftermarket kt belakang utk exora B-line. So, maybe kalo ada tak puas hati dgn blower alza, blh tambah 8 blower kat belakang. hehehehe~ Biar kasi beku semua…just joking…hehehe

• Eddie, dont said like that. who ever buy alza and exora is a smart ppl. Who buy T wish is not smart…hehehe~

• monfere.blogspot.com on Nov 22, 2009 at 10:32 pm

I saw 8 perodua alza yesterday. 4 was covered on NSE while another 4 was uncovered : 2 in perak and 2 in penang

• H1N1 said,

November 22, 2009 @ 10:57 am

Pagi ni masuk ofis tersermpak Produa ALZA park di belakang opis.(ni kes nak sembunyi lah ni)huhuhu dikawal oleh sorang pengawal.Nasib baik pengawal tu kawan..hehehe boleh la bukak selimut dia..tgk.Nampak cantik tapi agak mengecewakan bagi kualiti plastik yang digunakan.harga pulak lebih kurang RM70k bagi model sport 1.5 auto.mahal..mahal..bestnya model auto handbrake(parking brake) terletak kat brake kaki..yang lain tak de apa yang menarik pun..ada kawan cina di opis sebelah termenung kejap tengok kualiti MPV yang bakal dimikinya..Haiiiya ini macam wa beli Ezora lagi baik maaaa..lagi murah………(katanya)….huhuhu….

Apa pun aku ada post gambo kat paul..tak tau la dia nak uploupkan ke tidak…

—————————————————————- awak upload ke photobucket dan bagi kami link lebih baik … paul tak boleh publish gambar yang di tangkap di permis peribadi … PERodua boleh dakwa paul jika dia buat demikian

• tokmoh on Nov 22, 2009 at 11:13 pm

leon123 : my 2002 waja's door handle hv never broken. Thing is, I handle it with care. Most other waja owners don't. It's usually more about the people who use it that causes it to break.

So ur myvi has no problem. Want me to show u how I can break its door handle? Simple, just treat it like how most ppl treat waja door handle: very, very ganas.

• mengQ on Nov 22, 2009 at 11:23 pm

blo0d said,

yeah? sure meh? my 2008 myvi had power window problem and the suspension is too soft. i sold it now and i stick to my second car 2001 proton waja that give me less problem compared to the NEW car.

—————————————-

Errr… my 28/2/208 Myvi got no problem eh… So far 40090km/h on the ODO. Love it so much coz it never gave me real headache before, only minor minor problems which was fixed at CS. Installed front strut bar and back anti-roll bar to solve the problem of car being not stable when cornering and high speed. Power window? nah, the switch spoiled once but was replaced for free since it's under warranty.

Many of my friends drives Myvi too, only 2 or 3 person faced REAL problems, thats also because they do modification Kaw-kaw on their car, especially engine.

Other then that, no one really complains. =)

Anyway, sometimes it depends on luck when getting a new car.

Just my 2cents.

• mengQ on Nov 23, 2009 at 12:33 am

Going to my nearest Perodua showroom to have a look sekarang jugak! Dunno got onot leh…

• scwhat on Nov 23, 2009 at 1:58 am

wot?

Perodua Auta?

*matila*

haha!

===============

so, that means this car is not MPV huh?

just like Perodua Rusa?

gitu?

*konpius ketam aku*

• tenakol on Nov 23, 2009 at 2:26 am

To me, Alza suits to whom need a daily commuter to and fro office….which can expand a little bit function to carry children at the back. Mostly it will meet buyer from mid 20's-30's which still single and small family…hometown in city. Exora is full MPV which really suits to 30's and above family…..suits to Malaysian culture which always balik kampung during holiday(need to carry more luggage and passenger)….which hometown far away from the city. Buy car for the function and capabilities…not buy to show off or follow the trend. Unless you have too much money….can buy more car for specialized purpose. But most of us dont right? I do have both Savvy and Nissan…both complement each functionalities……buy what you need….dont get mad here….here is an open forum/blog…..for us to SHARE KNOWLEDGE and OPINION.