Porsche 911 GT3 R replaces the GT3 Cup S

porsche-911-gt3-r-1

The Porsche 911 GT3 Cup S has been replaced by this new model – the Porsche 911 GT3 R, adding yet another variant to the neverending list of different 911 GT3 models. No matter what kind of 911-beating laptimes Nissan posts with its GT-R, the choice of plenty of small racing teams most of the time is the 911 GT3.

The GT3 R’s 6 cylinder boxer engine has a displacement of 4.0 litres, up from the 3.8 litres you get with the road cars or the Cup model. This same engine size is also found in the 2009 GT3 RSR. The 0.2 litres of extra displacement has been achieved by increasing the cylinder stroke to 80.4mm instead of 76.4mm.

porsche-911-gt3-r-2

The engine is mated to a 6-speed sequential dog-teeth gearbox. Dog-boxes use gears that are straight-cut instead of the helical-cut gears that we have in our normal road car manual transmissions. Because of the different way the gears engage, a dog-teeth gearbox is much more noisy (that whirring sound that we get when we travel in reverse gear – they have it all the time!), and they also don’t have synchro rings so you basically just slam it with greater force into engagement instead of having to clutch at changes. A dog box has less transmission losses compared to a helical gearbox and is more durable.

Porsche’s focus with this new model is better drivability and easier handling. The GT3 and its race-going variants have always been hardcore cars but this car has ABS, traction control and a throttle blip function built into its e-gas throttle body. These features make it more suitable for an ambitious amateur racer (with deep pockets – the car is 279,000 Euros) to drive the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I love this car!

• Nice car ! Results of the 24 hour race, Nueburgring, 2009 btw:

1st: Porsche 911 GT3 RSR

2nd: Audi R8 LMS

3rd: Porsche 911 GT3 Cup S

4th: Porsche 997 GT3 Cup

5th: Audi R8 LMS

6th: Porsche 997

7th: Porsche 911 GT3

8th: Porsche 997 Cup S

9th: Porsche 997 RSR

10th: BMW Z4-M Coupe

11th: Nissan Z 33, 11 laps behind

15th: VW Scirocco

17th: VW Scirocco GT24-CNG (compressed naturral gas)

28th: BMW 320d (Diesel)

32nd: Mitsubishi Lancer EVO X

33rd: Subaru GRB

71st: Honda Civic Type-R

81th: Lexus LX-F, 39 laps behind

Interesting to know: No Nissan GT-R in the field, the one on position 11 is a 350Z… ;)

• redline on Nov 21, 2009 at 8:08 am

I've always wondered…why the wipers on these race cars (or any "tin-top" race cars) always have their wipers at 12 o'clock? Wouldn't it obstruct the race driver's view? Just curious, that's all…

• Honestly, dog boxes are the funnest gear boxes to drive. I wish there was some road car with one, but its probably a noise issue :) One day I want to drop an XTRAC into my road car :D

• Dog-boxes…

Just like the one used in BMW M3 GTR

Veeeeery noisy!

• the rear wing is huge.

• waiora_protuner (Member) on Nov 21, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Because aerodynamics wise…

ever happened to you the wiper lift at speed?

• Mr Redline…the wipers are like that because of aerodynamic purpose..it is in t he middle..it wont obstruct their view …

• mikelol on Nov 21, 2009 at 5:50 pm

stupid vw…. plain bettle. ugliest car ever… and u all are fags for loving vw and porsche

• ariff on Nov 21, 2009 at 6:10 pm

hey, paul

p1 satria s2000 got 2nd place stage 7 & 3rd place overall at iRC scotland

• Amarjie on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:20 pm

mikelol..

are you blind or what..??

this is a race car..

it not supposed to be beautiful…

• nazri on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:21 pm

mikelol : go study for spm laaa. monday got exam or not?

• mikelol on Nov 21, 2009 at 7:39 pm

still a beetle. u FAGS

do a research on y porsche looks like beetle b4 asking ppl go to study. nazri: definitely a fag for not knowing the facts. FAG !

• Porsch Avenger on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:33 pm

Relax la, mikelol. Dah tak suka Porsche jgnla dok marah2 org lain pulak…

• Ferruccio on Nov 21, 2009 at 11:07 pm

Just to expand on the write up as I find it a bit misleading. The term 'dog-box' simply indicate the type of gear selector used. It does not indicate whether the gears are helical or straight-cut. Technically you can have a a dog box with helical gears but of course it's better to use a dog box with straight toothed gears.

Dog engagement selectors saves shifting time as it dispenses with synchro rings but is not practical to use on the road especially at slow speeds, when cruising or when feathering throttle because the selector mechanism introduces a lot of free play into the drivetrain. It also adds stress to other parts of the drivetrain.

Lastly, I would like to advise Mikelol:

Paultan.org is a Malaysian site and almost everyone posting here are Malaysian. As Malaysians we were never brought up by our parents to use the kind of language you have used.

You stick out like a sore thumb.

Either mind the language or go back to the other sites that you are used to with that lingo. Despite the many heated debates we see sometimes on this site, we are all always well mannered. This is our culture.

Having said that you are of course free to express your opinion, regardless of how childish they may sound to others.

• redline on Nov 22, 2009 at 8:20 am

Aman: good point about the wiper being at 12 o'clock to reduce wind drag. Every bit counts I suppose. But I still reckon the wiper will obstruct the driver's view. Assuming this is right-hand drive version (we're Malaysians mah!), taking a left hand corner will mean looking straight at that wiper as you barrel through at 160 km/h. Even when viewing a race through the on-board camera, that wiper seems to get in the way! Can someone with some insider knowledge provide some enlightenment?

• Ferruccio on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:02 pm

can u afford it even after we enlighten u ? dumb@ss !

i would politely say this car sucks big time. and yea… it somehow does looks like a beetle.

• Ariff on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:03 pm

satria neo will trash this 911 anytime dude…. haha…

with ma big stickers.. definitely got more hp than this trash looking car

• Ferruccio on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:05 pm

enlightening u wont help u get this car right ?. such a d%mbA55 !

this car somehow does looks abit like beetle ..

• Ferruccio said,

November 22, 2009 @ 8:05 am

'this car somehow does looks abit like beetle ..'

Yes you're right. Porsche aready tried to replace the 911in the past with more modern designs like the 928, 944 or 968.

Cars like the 928 or 968 were much easier to manufacture than the rear-engine 911. Porsche made more money with each 928 than with a 911.

But all failed, the buyers worldwide wanted to have the 'beetle design'. .. ;)

• Ferruccio on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:56 am

Obviously the 2 posts below was from a 'fan'. You guys know my vocabulory isn't that colourful. I'm sure Mikelol can guess who it is.. ;)

Ferruccio said,

November 22, 2009 @ 8:02 am

can u afford it even after we enlighten u ? dumb@ss !

i would politely say this car sucks big time. and yea… it somehow does looks like a beetle.

Ferruccio said,

November 22, 2009 @ 8:05 am

enlightening u wont help u get this car right ?. such a d%mbA55 !

this car somehow does looks abit like beetle ..

• Ferruccio on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:41 am

I have a lot of respect for Porsche.

Everyone knows Ferdinand Porsche created the VW Beetle before WW2 and then used the philosophy behind it to create the 911.

What is admirable about Porsche is their engineering. They have engineered advanced solutions in such a compact package like the 911 and have applied the same pursuit for perfection in all their other models.

That is why Porsche dominated sports car racing for decades including Le Mans, the pinnacle of sports car racing with cars like the 917K, 956, 962, GT1 etc

No other marque in my view has been so successful in sports car racing globally.

• Ferruccio said,

November 22, 2009 @ 10:56 pm

'Obviously the 2 posts below was from a ‘fan’. You guys know my vocabulory isn’t that colourful. I’m sure Mikelol can guess who it is.. ;)'

I'm just wondering what Meklol want to tell us ?

And how can somebody so angry about a CAR and call all people who like it […] ?

If I would attack my neighbour because I don't like his Toyota, the police would bring me to mental hospital immediately… ;)

• Jaybond on Nov 23, 2009 at 4:58 pm

The noisy whining sound you heard from in-car fooatge of racecars , are because of the straight cut gears used in racecars.

While the latest version GT3 Cup S is definitely a superb machine, always wonder why Porsche (or maybe privateers) did'nt create a racing version of the Porsche 911 GT2/Turbo? Perhaps turning it into GT1 contender to take on the likes of Maseratis, Corvettes & Aston DBRS9? The larger part of Porsche racing sucesses & heritage was dominated by turbocharged cars…

• Ferruccio on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:29 pm

Jaybond, good question. but I believe there have been turbos raced in some events around the world in recent years including in Le Mans. Could have been in GT2 class I think

• Ditman on Dec 07, 2009 at 3:14 am

firstly, i want one of these!

secondly, the cup car, and furthermore cup s, are insanely good racecars.

they have tiny(in racing terms) 6 cylinder engines which are mounted in a position most engineers will cringe at seeing. yet, porsches still beat their much lighther, more expensive and more powerful competitors.

main reason why i love porsches.

just to add to a few points made:

– wipers: they are at their position to reduce drag, and so they only wipe the windscreen area infront of the driver. all cars are left hand drive.

ive been in a cup car, cup s, gt3 rsr ectt… and the wiper position doesnt interfere with vision, because as a driver, your focus is far ahead you dont notice the wiper. its like how on a F1 car, there are ariels infront of the driver, but they cant see it.

– gearbox: pretty well summed up. however, imo i wish porsche didnt have the "auto-blip" function, as it takes some of the skill away. ABS was a good idea to bring back(996 has abs, 997's didnt). and i love the sequential box. it sounds sweet when changing gears, however from inside the car, it requires a fair pull/push to get it into gear.

i was really hoping porsche would bring out their double clutch system for racing use, but i guess thats going to be for the 998(not to far away).

price: its cheap. very cheap, considering what your getting as a racecar. im taking a guess not many of you on here has bought a porsche racecar. its very affordable, and parts/service support from the factory is second to none.

consider this. the gt3 R is E280000, and its a much nicer car to drive and have as a team or personal owner, than say its main competitor, the f430 racecar which is stupidely expensive(sorry cant find exact cost, but ive heard they are around the E350000-400000 mark), yet just as good in some areas.

Bang for your buck, go for the porsche :)