World’s first BMW M showroom in Singapore

BMW X6 M and X5 M

Singapore will be the first country in the world to get its very own BMW M showroom. I believe this is something necessary in Singapore as there a high interest in high-performance cars there. Just look at the amount of Audi R8 and Maserati Granturismos going up and down Orchard road.

A dedicated M showroom is probably necessary to pull the rich dude that has a Granturismo kind of price tag in his car buying consideration and doesn’t want to rub shoulders with ‘lowly’ 320i and 520i buyers.

The BMW M showroom will be located at the Teban Gardens Crescent in Jurong East New Town. Alfa Romeo also has a showroom there. The showroom will be set up by Munich Automobiles Pte Ltd, a JV between Prestige Cars and Sime Darby. Sime Darby also owns Performance Motors Ltd, the company which distributes BMW cars and motorcycles in Singapore. Interestingly MINI is not distributed by PML, but falls under Trans-Eurokars who distributes Saab, Opel and Rolls-Royce.

The M showroom will sell the full range of M cars including the BMW M3, BMW M5, BMW M6, BMW X5M, and BMW X6M. It will also sell M accessories.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Vince on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:01 pm

Over here, we only get more and more proton showrooms.

• Ariff on Nov 21, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Wow,that is cool!!will people be able to buy M-accessories for their mild Beemer there??

• seat-belt on Nov 21, 2009 at 11:00 pm

i was thinking, where it will be for the high performance car owners will test up their car on top speed while in there is no any road in singapore allowed for high speed as there is only city road?…

• taboogen on Nov 22, 2009 at 12:23 am

if we have M showrooms also not everoyone can go in and buy one.. look at Merceded Brabus at Bangsar, I think the guard can sleep all day

• TopGear on Nov 22, 2009 at 1:22 am

saw a X6 M classs along federal highway

• Having a button that makes the car goes faster than it already stupidly is, is stupendously cool.

the 700k-1m price tag is ……………

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:52 am

i wonder if they would serve a customer who turns up to the showroom in a hyundai

• Tiu the Proton on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:18 am

Good! i love dat!!

• mystvearn on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:22 am

Sure they can buy, but don't forget.

1. Singapore has strict 90 KM/h speed limit.

2. City, so jams.

3. Lastly they will bring their "toy" to Malaysia and floor it on the Plus highway

• haha, even if there are strict rules in SG, people just wanna show off their rides.

unlike in malaysia, where cars are a necessity. in sg, its a symbol of achievement and status. thats why naturally people wanna go for the best of the best.

• Kelantanese on Nov 22, 2009 at 3:31 pm

seat-belt said,

November 21, 2009 @ 3:00 pm

i was thinking, where it will be for the high performance car owners will test up their car on top speed while in there is no any road in singapore allowed for high speed as there is only city road?…

———

malaysia…

• BenX5 on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:14 pm

Yeah.. at last M-Power!! :P

I think KL should also have one as there is so many SHOW OFF MALAYSIAN's who drive stupid CYGNUS Landcruiser PETROL 4.7L in a big city like KL.. DaTUK and DATINS Tan SRi and all.. People who really need to buy these cars are people in SARAWAK and sabah..

People in singapore is just like ppl in malaysia, they just want to enjoy their car when they archieve something, when u earn SGD6000 a month.. u cant even afford a 530i, the tax, the parking, the erp, and especially if you have a family and house and loan and tax and water and electricity..

as if when u earn that much u won't buy one urself.. haha.. (of course u need to be a car-fan)

if u drive a PROTON go there they will also serve you because they see ur money not ur car.. i have a friend who owns 3 ferrari 2 lamboghini 1 RollRoyce 4 audi 3 BMW 1 aston martin 5 mercedes.. but he drives a old Renault everywhere.. How?

Surely M-cars are expensive.. the quality the power the looks..

I VOTE for M-cars showroom for Glenmarie AutoBavaria!! :P

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Singapore = KIASU

Time for these rich @$$holes to saunter into these showrooms with their nose even higher up in the air. Careful guys, don't walk into a wall or a pillar yah ?

• mu_77 on Nov 22, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Sg can enjoy better cars at more affordable price thn us… so too bad for us… During my previous visit recently, i was amazed with the amount of Nissan GT-R's there…. so sad la m'sians…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 23, 2009 at 4:26 am

we provide the roads, they got the cars

• darn it.. these luxurious cars would be sneak like snail in singapore (u know why), but then would turn to leopard as they cross johor.. so the highways in malaysia are their playground.. ironic huh… or pathetic.. lol.. no offence all..

• As an M6 owner, I wouldn't want to rub shoulders with any lowely X5M/X6M buyers. M is for Marketing now.

• my state still black on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:01 am

i think we all know well as malaysian rite? so dont compare. everywhere has rich & poor. they r marketing the highest market in Sg while M is controlled to market. theres no national car in Sg. M does. Sg at least drive Japanese car, korean make they rather walk in style. anyway, so different in the society so nothing to compare. we have full of resources & population unfortunately din proper / wisely use even in the wrong way – thats M (tak boleh)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:59 am

thank you mahathir for screwing this country up. and how they reward him, giving him a show on the History Channel