Leaked shots of new F10 5-Series?

BMW F10

BMW F10

BMW F10

We knew this was going to happen sooner or later, and it doesn’t get any later than just one day before the official unveiling of the new F10 BMW 5-Series. These low resolution photos of the new 5’s front end appeared on forum 5Post last night.

If these are real, there you have it – the front end of the new 5-Series in full glory. Kinda looks like a sharper giant 1-Series somehow from this angle, but I’ll wait until the entire body has been revealed before I decide I like it or not. I also can’t wait to see what they’ve done to the M-Sport bodykit.

Another detail that these leaked shots have revealed is the availability of the side view camera system that was available on the F01/F02 7-Series – look at the little black camera lense near the wheel arch.

The F10 5-Series will be revealed tomorrow evening, so stay tuned for the full details once the cat is out of the bag at Munich.

[polldaddy poll=2290217]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Not bad. I like the design very much.

• Ferruccio on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Seems like 'deliberate leaking' to me :)

Anyway the front doesn't look too bad.

• adrianclw on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:10 pm

As usual…. BMW is nice….

Looking forward to the rear light.

• this doesn't look like a real "leak", a sneak preview perhaps. hehe

• xavier lert on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:18 pm

long wheelbase….bigger nose……

• sudha on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:19 pm

If you compare the E34, E39 and the E60, BMW has been very progressive in providing an aggressive front design, especially with the lights on the E60 which had a signature eagle eye, which was FIERCE.

With the F10, they seem to have a taken a "softer" approach with that "droopy eyelid" look with the headlight design. Nevertheless, I'm looking forward to see the overall package as this car looks like a smaller 7 series.

And I don't think there is anything "Jamboo" about this car!

• Paul Tan on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:20 pm

What's "Jamboo" ?

• Fantastic! just love the flashing of this model. Hope to bare it all soon. Btw, i think this will make MB's E a piece of….lol

• Harvinder Singh Sidh on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Ya, whats Jamboo?

• sudha on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:23 pm

Hey Paul..

LOL!…Jamboo is a term I use to describe anything "soft"…you know..like the pink Jambu Air…LOL!

Another term i use is Guava….macho…but soft.. LOL!

• Great! Much better than E60..

• 1Msia on Nov 23, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Which BMW 5-Series design do you like the most?

I guess this vote counting is a bit premature. We should have wait until we get the whole idea of the new design.

• kimi_ on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:10 pm

I hate those big grille…..

It will looks better with smaller and curvier grille like those found on the 3 series and new Z4…..

• Asroll on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:13 pm

Yeah, I always thought that E60 was timeless, but with the emergence of F10 now it looks outdated. Can't wait for it to be fully unveiled tomorrow.

Boy F10 M5 is definitely going to be exciting!

• acura mdx on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:24 pm

yes….good design…luv very much…sure better sales and surpasses mercedes e class sales wordwide..

• jamboo or jambu is when u describe a sissy man.. even he's not acting like a girl but still got fair face still he'd be named so.. this f-10's not jambu at all i guess.. truly musculine with that big nose.. lol.. nice head lamp btw..

• sudha on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Drac… i was just trying to be "politically correct"…LOL!

• squawk on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:48 pm

The front reminds me of a butch Volvo. :-)

• ahh.. i can see that sudha.. haha.. btw, are u jambu.. lol.. jk man.. ah, bet the rear lamp would got much difference from previous E60… that's why they're hiding that butt..

• sudha on Nov 23, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Hehehe..I'm not Jamboo….I juts happen to know a few Jamboo's :)

I have a feeling that the rear tail lamp might be a cross between the new 7 and the 3 series Coupe tailights.

Something tells me that it will look much better than the present E60 rear lamp design.

• cordoba1 on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Looks much better than the new E Class which I happened to see in Frankfurt taxis during my visit last month. The rear treatment of the new E class looks like a copy of the Cefiro and I agree this new F-10 will beat it hands down. Now only for the price…can't wait for the new 3 series next year…

• Honestly this is uglier if not the ugliest. There's a reason why my 1st bm is E60 and i can speak for majority of E60 owners they won't go rushing trading their E60 for this F10.

• cordoba1 on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:03 pm

Haha..can't wait for used E60 530d to depreciate further..

• shawal on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:10 pm

'Jambu' derived from jambu air, cuz its pink , we describe some guys also if they look immasculated, very2 fair, stylo2 hair , no chest hair, that prison's b*tch kind of looks , we call them jambu, like an SLK , some cars unfortunately are targetted at mistresses , so , its a bit 'jambu' when a guy drives them…

• shawal on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Actually , car designers has a knack in this kind of thing, where a cycle of horrendus car and normal ones comes out, the old 5 series is handsome, but it wont age very well, at some angles its a bit square, the facelift gave it a very big unwelcoming grin ,

The F10 is a sign of relief , after seeing so many bangle's groundbreaking creation , bmw is off to a fresh start again , it looks very up-to-date and here to stay, The rear should look fine . I dont think the M bumper is necessary on this 5 series , unlike the current 3 series which is a necessity.

• shawal on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:18 pm

even a lil' scratch from a supermarket's pillar could damage those cameras, ouch!

• well said shawal.. lol.. i see, so slk's a jambu… hahaha.. i think all porshe cars are jambu.. sudha if u want more jambuS, i can supply u some.. haha.. yeah, the big nose makes it almost like in 7 series range..

• F2xtreme on Nov 23, 2009 at 8:31 pm

The front look similiar to smiling Bulldog.. LOL!

well it's BMW… everybody love its.. hehe

• jopop on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:03 pm

bmw design always outstanding ,either this time even it only show a portion of it it still glare as always…Sweet

• hermm u know what? i hate the big nose of the new 7 series and now they incorporate the nose to the new 5 series.

It makes the car looks less agresive and more disproportionate. ssrly it looks like a pig nose with that gaping front grille. this is a bit disappointing bmw…

• Ferruccio on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:10 pm

Putting aside handling, I find the current 3 series e92 and 5 series e60 a little dissapointing when they were first released especially with their interior. Their facelifts didn't do much either. However I have no complaints on the 7 Series e65/66 and the latest 7.

Lets hope there are big improvements with this new 5.

• sutheshkumar on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:14 pm

the e60had the sidecameras too but it is placed at the wingmirrors instead. ;)

• meteoraniac on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:16 pm

i guess big grills only works on audi's car.. kinda poor attempt from f10 to have such big grilles .. cant wait for the launching!

• nighttrain on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:42 pm

organic

• Paul Tan on Nov 23, 2009 at 9:47 pm

Putting the side cameras at the front side of the car is better as you can sneak your nose out of a corner and check for oncoming traffic before turning out. If the cameras are on the wing mirrors, by the time you turn out enough for the wing mirror cameras to be able to "look", your own eyes can do the work.

• Ealanor on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:05 pm

Is it me or did anyone noticed that the hood/bonnet looks different now? It seems like if I were to open the hood the kidney grill stays in place? Sorry if I am behind the knowledge curve but thought I mention it…

• The head looks like a shrunken 7-series..

• gangully on Nov 23, 2009 at 10:43 pm

is it me or does the wheel base look rather short. like a coupe of sorts.

but beautiful front, i always thought the E60 lost the presence in your rear view mirror, but with this it should regain that presence when you see its reflection in your rear view mirror.

• somebody on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:19 pm

they could done better with the headlamp..

doesnt look fierce to me..

the front looks flat..

i might be worry to see e60 in my rear view mirror compare to f10..

but the rear is good..

• New PIG-nose grille + 3 series look less breakthrough compared to previous Bangle's. Perhaps, we need time to accept this design.

Pig maybe cute BUT to incorporated in this D/E segment is too much for the pig nose grille. BTW, given a right price with current 520d diesel engine, this new 5-series is a steal!

• Good Job on Nov 23, 2009 at 11:43 pm

great front look. very masculine type like that werewolves boy from new twilight new moon. auuwww

• tokmoh on Nov 24, 2009 at 12:19 am

Paul, tak pernah masuk sekolah asrama? hehehe… I first heard of the term 'jambu' (ie metrosexual men) when I was at sekolah asrama.

Oh God, there are THAT many people who tought the E60 is better looking than E39?!?! Or many confused between "better looking" and "better car"?

• The E39 is not a loooker man.

How can you be surprised.

F10 is somewhat shorter in height, i'm not feeling it.

• mu_77 on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:38 am

Wow… I like this… Cant wait for M-sport F10 5 series..

• transformer (Member) on Nov 24, 2009 at 4:31 am

Paul,

can u just add E34 & E39 photo beside your poll…. so everyone can vote correctly… Just any front shot are enuf…

And can add another vote, F10 vs E60 front….

Thk!

• jimsie on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:05 am

what in the world is happening, why isn't the E39 leading? HAHA. to me, E39 isn't only the best looking 5-series (in M-trim) but it's also the best looking 4-door performance sedan ever!

• No more automatics, 4wd and turbos please.

• shoon1983 on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:25 am

autoexpress uk already got the unrevealed photo. only 2 photos though…

was looking at it last night

• Mpower on Nov 24, 2009 at 6:31 am

my nick speaks for the car…lol

• sutheshkumar on Nov 24, 2009 at 8:20 am

its not exactly on the mirrors; its more like on the folding hinge something like the new RX has (which is not available as an option in our market). so i guess that equally give a good view too.

• ambush on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:04 am

when the radical e60 first came out many thought it was pig ugly until few years of seeing it on the road only then they started to appreciate its "growing on you" effect..Bmw's are always ahead of its time.

• ambush on Nov 24, 2009 at 1:53 pm

IMO the radical E60 is the most legendary among its siblings..even some of the design cues on this new f10 are derived from the e60's design language!

• jimsie on Nov 24, 2009 at 2:16 pm

@LOL, it can't and shouldn't have the 4WD. if they do, they'll just be another Audi which is boring. RWD FTW! BMW needs to use RWD because they are good in that. don't you want to see this badass BMW sliding around tracks? IMO, it's kinda sad that BMW has to use turbo to reduce carbon emissions. naturally aspirated engines sound a lot better than turbo whool.

– Jimsie

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 24, 2009 at 5:04 pm

looks pretty good

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 24, 2009 at 11:32 pm

awesome