Kia Forte here in Malaysia: amazing value for money

Kia Forte
This colour not available in Malaysia!

UPDATE: Kia Forte 1.6 Test Drive Review

The gorgeous new Kia Forte is now in Malaysia, or at least in the official sense after its launch at the Pavilion KL which will happen later this evening. We’ve already seen the Kia Forte on Malaysian roads as early as May this year when it was spotted in Shah Alam with JPJ plates.

The Forte is pretty much a game changer for Kia, but this ‘renaissance’ did not start with the Forte. Personally for me from a consumer point of view, the first Kia that I had a desire to consider as a daily driver was the Kia Optima. The Optima was just chock full of equipment, including a very nice Infinity surround sound system. It also had a very nice black interior with aluminium trim all over. The Optima’s 2.0 litre engine based on the GEMA platform was nice and spritely, and the car’s road behaviour didn’t fall short either. The only thing that I could complain about was the rather drab exterior looks.

Kia Forte

But the Forte has been the first Kia that had emotional appeal – it has a really good design – something that you would look forward to being parked in your driveway every morning. The Koup is even better. It has such a sporty stance and looks good even in a boring silver colour, as seen in South Korea earlier this year (read my short test drive report).

Three models will be available, the 1.6 EX, the 1.6 SX and the 2.0 SX. The cheapest variant is the EX, priced at RM75,800 OTR, while the SX goes for RM81,800 for the 1.6 litre model and RM93,800 for the 2.0 litre model. Just as a comparison, the i30 goes for a much more expensive price, between RM92,388 for the basic 1.6 manual up to RM112,888 for the 2.0 litre automatic. The Elantra/Avante (which you could consider the Hyundai equivalent to the Forte) goes for RM95,301.80 and that’s without OTR costs. So the Forte has actually got very good competitive pricing. It’s a C-segment sedan (Civic, Lancer, etc) but no doubt alot of people will be cross-shopping between Japanese B-segment cars and the Forte.

Kia Forte

Like its price indicates, the 2.0 SX is the range topping version. The 2.0 litre engine that you get is of the newer GEMA type that’s also found in the Optima. The Mitsubishi Lancer’s 2.0 litre engine is also derived from the GEMA project. Kia calls theirs the Theta engine. It is not the latest version with the 165 PS rating though, due to the fact that the engine is the version with single variable valve timing. The 165 PS engine has dual variable valve timing on both the intake and exhaust.

The 2.0 litre engine makes 156 PS at 6,200rpm and 194.2Nm of torque at 4,200rpm. The 1.6 litre engine is from the Gamma family (not to be confused with GEMA) and produces 126 PS at 6,300rpm and 157Nm of torque at 4,200rpm.

Click image for enlarged version
Kia Forte
Click image for enlarged version

The 2.0 is chock full of equipment (you can refer to the full specs table I’ve put above) but let me give you a list in one breath. You get disc brakes all-round, driver, passenger, side and curtain airbags (a total of 6), ABS brakes, a black interior, a metal-look for the dash fascia, a Supervision cluster (Kia’s version of Optitron), leather-wrapped 3-spoke steering, electric power steering (the 1.6 litre models get the hydraulic version), tilt and telescopic steering column adjustment, steering wheel audio, keyless entry and ignition (yes, a start button), full auto climate control air cond, leather seats, active headrests, 17 inch wheels wrapped with 215/45R17 tyres, a 4 sensor reverse sensor with a distance display on the multi-info trip computer display (no need to just listen to the beeps), electrically-adjustable heated wing mirrors, etc.

Even with the 1.6 SX, you still get stability control, although the airbag count has dropped to 2 for the driver and passenger. The baseline 1.6 EX model has steel wheels but it is not extremely ‘baseline’ to the fact that there are no safety features – there is still 2 airbags, and all three models have ABS anti-lock brakes.

The Forte 2.0 SX is the only sedan you can get under RM100,000 with 6 airbags and ESC stability control. It’s price versus equipment value beats even that other C-segment vehicle under the Naza stables, the Peugeot 308, but the 308 has that fantastic BMW-PSA Prince direct injection turbo engine of course.

The Forte will be available in 6 colours – Bright Silver, Metal Bronze, Ebony Black, Titanium Silver, Spicy Red, and Clear White. We will have another report coming later tonight with coverage from the Forte’s launch in Pavilion, so stay tuned.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• iamthefirst on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:49 pm

nice..dunno bout resale value though

• misha on May 30, 2010 at 6:08 pm

firts time i saw it..em..i want tht..so now i juz wait the agent to send 1.6sx forte..oh mom i had a new car..hehe so worth it to get one…

• Tutuz on Dec 07, 2011 at 2:58 am

When we think of getting a car, mostly we will think so safety first, followed by fuel consumption and maintainance wise. Resale value just comes later (probably 5 years after bore of driving the same car?) Anyway, we are talking about driving cars, not selling cars. There are many cars that have low resale value such as Mercedes, BMW where their market price drop vastly each year compare to Japanese cars.

For your info, Toyota has higer resale value. Due to the fact that happened few years ago in U.S.A (Toyota brake failure causing death in highway) plus recent tragedy (flood in Thailand), woud you consider more about resale valueor relaible of car? Plus, Japanese car manufacturers take things for granted. The release of Kia Forte really slap the C-segment cars in the face.

Toyotas, spare parts nowadays are made in Thailand. I’m not saying Toyota aren’t good, but their quality has drop increadibly.

Each car has their own strength and weakness. We can’t say which car is better. Car manufacturers designed variety of cars. Some are for comfort and safety (excluding the fuel economy), while others focus on reliability, fuel economy and etcs.

• Very nicely put bud. I totally agree with u abt the resale. I drove honda city, vios and forte and compared the specifications and other stuff as well and the obvious winner was none other than Forte.

• Noor azni bin senik on Jun 08, 2022 at 7:16 am

betul3 bila ramai beli forte yg sememang nya lebih enak ditunggang dari vios maka harga resale forte akan tinggi dan vios akan rendah org malaysia bukan cerdik mana pun kat lain ex5 dah lama mampus kat malaysia jika tiada sekatan sampai kiamat ex5 akan hidup rxz yg bernilai tiga ribu pun masih bernilai 30k

• tam25 on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:52 pm

will the second hand value obed out just like other Korean makes?

• 20v_ke35 on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Hmmm…I might buy one of this. Let see now…. 75K….hmmm

• tam25 on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:54 pm

again…will the second hand value bombed out just like other Korean makes?

• myself on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:54 pm

whoaa damn.

really nice car la.

my sister has the new honda city, and dont u think this car looks alike like the new honda city?

the front lamps and grill?

but damn, this is a really really really nice car.

where in the market can u get a 2.0 litre car less than 100k with 6AIRBAGS AND PUSH START ENGINE BUTTON?

Damn la…

I wish i had this car..

But this has to depend on our malaysian mentality also.

Some will say aiyo naza/kia not good la and all that.

But in U.S.A this KIA is damn famous especially the KIA SOUL

Haih i wish i had one of this FORTE to drive to college. hehe :)

• Eunice on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:40 pm

yaya..i agree what myself said is true….Malaysian mentality is one of the reason why the second value for kia is lowers than honda, toyota abd etc….but for me i will just depend for the quality not only the brand likes toyota…almost all malaysian like toyota just because of the brand,logo,and also second value for it…..dammm shit…!!!! Some more, people will compare kia forte with toyota vios,honda city lah……halo!!! kia forte(2.0cc) is the rank for honda civic and nissan latio and toyota altis….please don’t compare with wrong category ya^^ is very unfair to kia forte even 1.6cc also……although the price for forte is almost same as vios,city….is because of taking by naza group, we only can enjoy a kia forte with this reasonable….i support it!!!!!!!

• initial R on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:55 pm

hmmm…. look temting, but why look almost city at front & BMW at the back ?.

• pumpkin on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:56 pm

wow……:-)

• tam25 on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:56 pm

again…will the second hand value bombed out just like other Korean makes after 1 or 2 years?

• Nice…lock stock and barrel. Fully loaded with toys and cheaper than other makes but yet again, resale value la.. iam sure not everyone will want to end up driving a Kia as they get older. Btw my neighbour traded a Kia Optima for a Chery eastar. Must have lost a bit of value on the Optima. So Naza have to really do something about it….

• bobby on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:06 pm

If wanna get good 2nd hand resale value, go for BMW la.

What you expect the answer from here ? Maybe you buy one and post your answer here after 2 years, then we will have an answer.

Nice car btw.

• According to this brochure (uploaded on this paultan website), i think the Rear Parking Assist System on the instrument panel is assisted in terms of calculation of distance to rear obstruction unlike the ones in Singapore that has a reverse camera (for the 2.0 only), which the reverse camera screen is located at the centre console clock.

Then again, the Naza badge says it all. I wonder is it okay to replace the exterior's badge from Naza to Kia just like most Naza Bestari 206 did.

Korean cars in Malaysia still have the same problem; poor resale value. But, it looks good and reasonable for the price you pay and the feature you'll get.

• libralcl on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:08 pm

If it gets a really stunning respond from the customers, then the 2nd hand value I believe will be not as bad as we think. High demand car usually got good 2nd hand value.

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:10 pm

hmmm. went to the showroom last nite.. not bad just wondering if parking got problems since a bit longer and heavier than city….

as for resale, the sales agent told me to wait until next quarter to know the resale value…so those who want to buy, wait for a little while.

btw, think the first batch is CBU, the next batch will be CKDed…….

still thinking if this one or Suzuki will be the choice…….kinda fed up with the Ts and the Hs…

• Can someone tell me the car interest for this ?because plan to buy it

• zeroneight2850988com on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:16 pm

wow…loves it..

Hmmm..just asking,why always price of korean cars drop down too much when it become a 2nd hand car.

Let we see for a year for this forte value after a year:)

• kimi_ on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:19 pm

it had an advertisement on the star…look closely and noticed that it carried the

• Danny on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:19 pm

CKD or CBU? If CBU, where assembled?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:20 pm

pictures please!!!

• kimi_ on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:22 pm

But this nice car carried the SILLY, UGLY CRAP …….NAZA badge…wtf is that…

Please retain KIA badge, stupid NAZA….this will stop many buying this car….

The NAZA badge embrassed this nice car totally and this is SHAME….

• Masteroushi on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:23 pm

When the demand to this car increases. Then the resale value would jackup. Looking at the Forte package, it seems like the resale value will not go out of place just like how previous Spectra did.

• marsaila on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:24 pm

I just came back from the showroom. The 2.0 model wasn't there but i was quite impressed even with the 1.6sx model. The loan can be extended to 15 years with monthly payment of below than RM500 (if u want to keep paying the interest that long). Spicy red is a very nice colour indeed for this design but i haven't seen the blue one. The boot size is huge with the capital H and the legroom at the back seat is at least 3 times longer than that of Mazda3 sport. The keyless entry and ignition is really cool!.

Beside the brand name, i don't know what are the downsides of this car. Not sure how does it feels driving it. Maybe I have to test drive it someday… the 2.0 version of course.

Honestly, it looks really really nice.

• can i know which showroom that u have visited before that can offer loan of naza forte up to 15 years?

• wochomi on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Anybody can tell me why Korean cars 2nd hand value drops so much? I mean cars like Rio is really nice so why the drastic drop in resale value?

I don't get it. Is it a Japanese syndicate working here to pull up the price of Jap makes?

• fuel consumption @ 100km = 7liter

0-100km = 12sec

how can these be true for 1.6 and 2.0 models???

1.6 would likely take 12 sec to reach 100 but a 2.0 takes 12 secs, doesnt make any sense…

:S

• If it's good, dun sell it.. so, no issue of 2nd hand value..

Or, if concern so much on 2nd hand value, buy the Ts & Hs..

• Paul Tan on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:28 pm

dog: the 12 seconds figure is for the 1.6 liter models only. note towards the right (in the specs sheet i have included provided by naza kia on their forte website), the black dot is only for the 1.6 liter models while the 2.0 liter has a dash instead. no figure for the 2.0 as of now… will do some digging.

• atif jeelan on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:31 pm

wow. it is surely a very nice car. hope its really value for money. its is hard to find spare part for it rather then hyundai??

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:32 pm

CBU from Korea…

1.6EX should be ok,la, just worried the fancy-fancy sensors in 1.6SX might go bonkus after some time…..

think another alternative is to wait for the WAJA replcament, …any news on that , Paul?

• kodok on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:38 pm

really worth every penny…push start button???traction control??..take that u snobbish T & H!!!

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Paul, how come this Kia/Naza forte so not so expensive, any leads?

• Chris on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Hey does anybody know what is the warranty for this car? Does Kia's new 5 year warranty apply to this car?

• Wow.. nice and cheap… !

• THIS IS THE MOST AFFORDABLE CAR OUT THERE THAT OFFERS VSC. OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG

• racerx111 on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Good looks and comes with a whole bunch of stuff. Resale value aside, feels like a good buy. The Perdana replacement model will need to lower its price-tag or come up with something spectacular in order to compete with this. That or increase its capacity to around the 2.2litre range to stay relevant.

• alpha999 on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:45 pm

que….ur rite…..no issue for 2nd hand value if this forte proves itself on the road…..spread the good news and u hav more malaysians…accept this brand

• Just_Once on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:46 pm

Now days, the weighting of buying mobiles more towards look and technolgies come with them,

Then brands…

So.. Better buy City with paddle shift + 5 speed auto than Vios TRD.

But.. Better buy Forte with Start Stop + 6 Airbags + 2L engine than 1.5L City.

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:47 pm

warranty – 2 years – manufacturer , extra get from insurance.

• paul:

it is NAZA forte with NAZA logo front n rear.

but on the steering u'll find Kia logo

1st 500 r CBU..

bootroom is spacious

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:48 pm

well, if you have spare cash, Forte 2.0L is really the best buy…

• familyman on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:48 pm

just bought my wife a grand livina 1.8 @ RM 97,300

the 2.0 is only RM93,800

lucky we needed a MPV… else would have regreted like crazy

been waiting for this damn car to launch since January… it took a whole year for it to be launched.

but those who buy this will not regret… look at the equipment list!

all the telenovela korean on KWBS Astro are featuring this car in their show…. especially the coupe version… RED HOT!!

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm

well, familyman,,can always get your wife to buy Forte for you…

• lazyf on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm

This Forte 2.0 is better purchase compare wit brand new Perdana V6…

• skywalker (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Read the review from local blog. The 1.6 SX with 17" wheels said to be a little bit sluggish. Suggested to change to a 15" wheels. About the NAZA emblem, someone is selling those original KIA emblem in bulk. Found it in Mudah website.

• Fuego66 on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Thanks Paul for the coverage. Now I got something to look forward to this coming weekend. Can't wait to see the car in real flesh!

• scottloeb on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:04 am

Gila babi!! Tgk equipment list pon dah tercekik! Kalau resale value tak jatuh, sangat berbaloi-baloi beli menatang nih. WajaLancer, Vios, City, Swift – Mati!

• Nakal on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:04 am

Kia Forte or 'Naza' Forte?

• Paul,

Sure it is not the Theta II with variable valve timing on BOTH intake and exhaust? I am fairly certain that the Forte comes with Theta II instead of Theta I.

• kimi_ on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:10 am

the BRAND name is utmost important !!!!

what the hell is this nice car has the NAZA badge om it…really shame

i will not even look at it BECAUSE of the Naza badge…..PLEASE do something to retain the KIA badge like the spectra!!!!

NAZA, if you are sincere, at least supplied to all Forte owner the Original KIA badge and Steering with KIA from Korea as an OPTION…..

This is like a Flower(Forte) stick on the shit(NAZA) !!!!!!

• david on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:11 am

Just one look, and it has to do well as it has all the ingredients to slice away a nice chunk of those B and C-segment Japanese cars that have been dominating the sales charts in Malaysia for years. Striking designs, good driving dynamics, generous equipment rosters, both comfort and safety, and last but not least, extremely competitive pricing. By the way, i truly hate those cars produced by Toyota, especially their awful Vioses and Altises, which drives like a cow, under-specced, over-priced, and not to forget, average after-sales service.

• kimi_ on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:11 am

i will not even look at it BECAUSE of the Naza badge…..PLEASE do something to retain the KIA badge like the spectra!!!!

• Cynical on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:12 am

Wow.. Impressive. The car's a real value for money. And if you're concerned with the resale value, purchase a house instead. Cars are just not meant for you.

• bobby on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:13 am

If I am going to buy this car, I will modified it for body kit, LED daylight headlamp and maybe add turbo .

Damn I love this car.

• NAJIB on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:15 am

Perdana V6..haihhh.. our high-end national's car with sad safety features..:(

• wah lau ley….. Damm kewl car guys.. hmm when will proton have its 1st push start button? zzzzzzzz

• the price is ok…

exterior not bad…

but still got ppl drive kia nowaday?

• kennyphan on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:21 am

Nice car!!!

I had booked in last month but recently know that 2.0SX no stock and only 1.6SX & EX available from the 1st batch…

Still pending from Naza to confirm when the 2.0SX out on road…

• alpha0201 on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:22 am

A good reason not to buy Hyundai i30 now.

• eddie on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:26 am

nice car !! better than proton !!!

• why compare with Proton. go ahead and compare with toyota and honda. Proton doom.

• wow! great!

love this car so much!

• If this car carry Proton badge, I will buy actually. But very unfortunate none of proton car can match this fella in terms of value for money.

I rather drive this car then civic, latio, altis, vios, city actually. One for sure, I know it value for money… full of passive and active safety, beautifully design, love the details and I don't care about resale value as I am not changing car that often… by the time I need to change to a new car which probably around 7-8 years, any car will definitely drop their value.

• lol at the resale valuers. You guys buying a car to drive it, or to sell it off? Jeez.

• roughn3ck on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:34 am

vee said,

November 25, 2009 @ 4:05 pm

Paul,

Sure it is not the Theta II with variable valve timing on BOTH intake and exhaust? I am fairly certain that the Forte comes with Theta II instead of Theta I.

it shows Theta II in the microsite.

156ps/ 6200 rpm of power

19.8/4200 rpm of torque

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:37 am

well, said, zul… not sure pple thinking of resale so much,,,

• wwl86 on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:40 am

wondering if the fuel consumption 7litre/100km is achievable.

• masami on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:41 am

read somewhere that the warranty is only for two years 50k km.I think some prospective buyer who might consider this forte will be put off by such a short warranty knowing that the spare part will definitely be more expensive than the japanese marques.Yes me included, I'm not that concern with the second hand value but if i were to keep it longer… than the cost of servicing and spare part should be reasonable..

I think one of the reason why the second hand value of kia or korean cars are bad because there is a perception that the first owner was trying to get rid of his car…. for various reasons such as spare part etc hence the current dilemma.. although the same can be said to almost every other make…

• betul tu Cynical.even aku punya toyota vios 2005 pun susah nak jual.aku nak trade in dengan forte supaya family aku selamat ada 6 airbags compare vios aku 1 airbag abs takdak ebd takdak usb port pun takdak.

• makan makan on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:46 am

Then, you know how overprice was P2 alza and myvi and viva..

• skywalker (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:48 am

FOC – Forte Owners Club. Really…they don't think about the resale value.

• marsaila on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:49 am

i'm wondering how long can this car design stay relevant. Do you think in 5 years time, you will still look cool driving it?

• barca on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:51 am

sales of h city and t vios will surely be decimated if not for the malaysian mentality of worrying about resale value.

• orage109 on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:57 am

Paul, will Naza bring in the Koup version?

• civicmd on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:57 am

hmm now i'm regret ..no patient to wait little longer..

• ericfoong81exe on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:01 am

As i said before, we will love the price for the Kia Forte. Right now just dunno how is the actual performance of the 1.6 engine….as we all know Kia and Hyundai old engine is a pertrol drinking monster.

• eisyam on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:04 am

waiting for 2nd hand forte to buy….hehehe

cannot afford to buy a new one

• shogun on Aug 05, 2010 at 11:46 pm

I have 1.6sx forte reg in may 2010, but looking at hyundai sonata i’m keen to change it. so if some one is interested to by my forte, i can offer at RM75k

• liang on Sep 02, 2010 at 12:57 am

dude can you elaborate more about your forte?colour, seats and stuffs.am interested in buying one since yours is just 4 months old it would be a good deal.contact me at [email protected] on facebook or email.thanks!

• Is your car still available? If yes please elaborate more about your forte.

Thank you.

• lolypop (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:08 am

i believe vios/city sales will badly hit…. luckily i am not buy the vios last month.. will book for the 1.6sx!!

who care 2nd value when you drive c-segment car on b-seg price?? after all this is msia market.. cannot blame peoples worry on 2nd hand value, but really suck why those people buy a T or H badge used car at such damm expensive?? Boleh land..

• Paul Tan on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:08 am

The dual VVT version produces 165 PS and 198Nm. This one makes less so I assumed its because of the single VVT. I will double check and update you guys tonight.

• mystvearn on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:20 am

Only thing left for NAZA to do is to make servicing good like Honda. Parts cheap, SC nice to go to and thats it.

The NAZA website for this car is hopeless or for all KIA cars for that matter. Nothing like Honda/Proton website.

• rickyll on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:24 am

This is it. Forget about the resale value. If it's good, it will last at least 10 years. I intend to buy one. Can't wait for Paul's detailed report. 'In Paul We Trust', right?

• for us who ride KIA car..we never think about after sales value..we buy and we used it..u have many choices..u want buy car design for Asian people..u go for honda,toyota or Nissan brand..if u want buy car design for Europe people..better choose KIA…very spacious…believe or not..test it first before buy!

• RacerX on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:25 am

a car developing 126ps and 157Nm of torque is impressive but the 0-100 accelaration is a big let down. it should do 10.5 seconds. doing 12 seconds is a big "no-no". even a small savvy with 75bhp can catch up with a forte.

• Linker on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:28 am

I agree with kimi.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

kimi_ said,

November 25, 2009 @ 3:22 pm

But this nice car carried the SILLY, UGLY CRAP …….NAZA badge…wtf is that…

Please retain KIA badge, stupid NAZA….this will stop many buying this car….

The NAZA badge embrassed this nice car totally and this is SHAME….

• lawak on Jun 12, 2010 at 11:10 pm

I asked a dealer and the badge was for the cheaper import duty. Now you can change back to Kia badge for free once you buy it.
      Imagine this silly piece of plastic save you a few ‘k’ of taxes on the car…

• Jackal on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:33 am

Rumor has it this car will come with optional 5 yr / unlimited mileage warranty from Naza Kia themselves. This should improve the resale value dramatically.

• Engdau on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:34 am

This car is amazingly worth every single penny. Everything is good, except for its outdated 4-AT gears.

If u compare Forte 2.0 with Civic 2.0 side by side by having two (2) critical tests, i.e. Kg/HP (Weight/ Horsepower) and Kg/Nm (Weight/ Torque). The results show that Forte 2.0 is clearly a big winner. The best part is its price, i.e. +-RM 36K much cheaper than Civic 2.0. In fact, Forte 2.0 is cheaper than Civic 1.8 by +-RM 21K.

Not to mention its resale value, you can actually save the money for the petrol by pumping up to 20,000 liter of RON 97 petrol at the current RM 1.80 per liter.

It may not be apple to apple for comparison. However, Forte 1.6SX is cheaper than City 1.5E by RM 8K. What a shame for the latter for lacking of VSC or ESP. The latter can somehow can only defend by having the paddle shifts and 5-AT gears. Well….well…., VSC is a must for today's cars which I concern at all times.

A big shame for Hyundai i30 (2.0) for its unreasonable price at RM 113K. Worst still, i30 does not come with any VSC at all.

Honestly, Forte is good chance for our rakyat to consider. To me, I will test try the car first.

• scottloeb on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:35 am

If Malaysian didnt concern on resale value, the streets will be littered with Proton. because of the 2nd hand value (you know, I know lah tax rate Malaysia – cannot do anything one) idiot like myself bought cars cars that can be resell with minimal damage in 5 yrs time. Consider your loan at 85%, 5 to 7 yrs, after 3-4 yrs sure you want to change due to various reasaons (upgrade to MPV/SUV, anak ramai, now have maids, buy 2nd house after buying apt/condo, need cash for renovation, high running cost after warranty) so if the value drop like shit (Gen 2 buy 55K, 4 yrs now 25K, Vios buy 77K, after 4 yrs 55 to 60K, Accent buy 75K, now 4 yrs 25K) why should we contribute more to Nazir already-highest-paid-CEO another bonus or Wahid remuneration package? My name is not Bank of America you know? Ask the Citra, Ria, Spectra owners. They are cursing better than the sailors, but thanks to Nissan, they offer higher trade in values by giving hidden discounts.

(duit tak boleh petik dari langit oo, saya bukan politician)

• lolypop (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:43 am

marsaila said,

November 25, 2009 @ 4:49 pm

i’m wondering how long can this car design stay relevant. Do you think in 5 years time, you will still look cool driving it?

=======================================

you can answer yourself for this question… frankly driving 5yrs car is not cool whtever car u drive.. an E39? perhaps but only in Bolehland..

• RacerX on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:44 am

The forte developin 126ps and 157Nm of torque is impressive but the accelaration from 0-100 in 12 seconds is a big let down. they should build car with good power over weight ratio and probably do 10.5 seconds.

• AD 1978 on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:44 am

damn this car is nice, can consider especially if it is a Korean CBU. you can have the price similar to B segment but better equiped than cars of C segment. it will kill T and H brand for C segments or even B segment.

• Sure it has all the fancy gizmos and add-ons, but do I really need all of it ? Save for the additional 4 airbags, I really don't see the need to risk my hard-earned 75.8k on a Korean brand which has consistently failed to deliver in terms of quality and resale value in our country (I wonder who's blame).

The 15 year loan offer put out by the dealer is really making a mockery of the 'democracy' in our country. In fact, I find that the existing 9 year car loan that is being offered is already beyond ludicrousness, what more 15 years.

I would strongly urge all buyers to hold on to their existing cars, wait for prices to drop further and then only upgrade. The competitive pricing by Kia offered here is certainly makes for healthy competition in our car industry, and it would be great to see other car makers following suit.

If your existing ride is fine, stick with it. Like they say, don't fix it if its not broken. Invest in your family's well being instead. Buy insurance for your kids, invest in your first property, bring your wife to a holiday instead.

• if u really that worry bout resale value… buy T, H, or N brand.. period..

bout the naza badge.. i think that what makes the car cheap. u can always replace the badge with kia. heck u can even slam honda badge in front, and bmw at the back if u like. why make so much noise bout this? just because its korean and naza everything has to be perfect?

• Not a KIA fan myself, but it seems to me that Mr Schreyer has accomplished what Chris Bangle did with BMW and Carlos Ghosn with Nissan. Its amazing what east-west collaboration does to a company, regardless of the industry. Something Proton should emulate..

That aside – I agree with Paul, its totally worth the RM and quite a handsome car at that!

• Exactly how big is the size of the forte..?

Well, maybe bigger than vios and city…but is it same like the space-stingy like sylphy..?

Hard to tell from these pictures. U guys that went 2 showroom, pls story sikit.

• i just went to the showroom today and i was exited when i saw the car interior all i can say is worthy cause my dad own a sylphy and the spec is way better ……than is the price my dad bought the slyphy 2L at 120k and forte is selling 2L at 98k……all i can say is no use me saying all this just go to the showroom and check it out and compare
      btw it looks sporty and young unlike the slyphy which is abit like uncle uncle u know….

• NasRule on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:57 am

Saw it with NAZA Badge in NAZA TTDI.

• dynamike on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:58 am

Will i get what i see/feel in CBU forte when CKD is out? eg. like door "THUP" sound? very nice car indeed….lotsa goodies.

• lolypop (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:58 am

masami said,

November 25, 2009 @ 4:41 pm

read somewhere that the warranty is only for two years 50k km.

======================================

checked at kia.com.sg, why kia gave 5 yrs unlimited mileage warranty at Kia Singapore?? Could someone ask for extended warranty??

• Cynical on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:04 am

scottloeb, even nissan cars sucks when they first come out. Give credit where it's due. Don't just babble without making any sensible point.

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:06 am

wait for a few more months for the next batch to come, then maybe you can get 5 years – according to the Kia sales agent…..

• Just need Naza service center to buck up… if half of the customers went in for a service (with a comparable price to H and T badge of course) and came out with a smile, this Forte sales will shoot up… and resale value will improve…

• Alfa Romeo on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:19 am

Now, this is a real car that I would be glad to trade my Alfa Romeo 156 for! I have been sticking with the 156 for more than a decade as it looks really good (to me at least) but the maintenance is like shite- Selespeed should have been developed by Japanese or Korean auto makes, then they would be useful at least!

Now this Forte looks charming enough and being a Korean, it should last better than an Alfa Romeo; so please point me to the nearest dealer.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:29 am

what colors are available

• Aku nak yg dua pintu. sekian.

• the wizard on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:32 am

walauweh… now i'm confuse which one to buy. peugeot 308 or forte? both damn so good!!

• bmpower on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:32 am

126ps = 124hp

our 'start to aging' Campro CPS won by 1hp extra

hahahaha!

Paul. Any news from p1 Phoenix engine project?

• Paul Tan on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:34 am

I've received confirmation from Naza Kia that the engine is only single variable valve timing and not double.

• davidbrchdav (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:40 am

paul, does that mean it is a petrol drinking monster like spectra?

• michael on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:40 am

christkt once said "please do not be overly bog-down/clouded with the resale value even before you made a purchase. If you like the car so much, factoring in the specs and your personal needs and it fulfilled your criteria of a desired car, just get it. Continue being fickle minded will get you nowhere. I bought my first car bcoz of resale value previously and around a year plus later, I've grown tired of it as it did not excite and fulfilled my need for a car."

• Thanks paul.

the 2.0 needs only 7liter/100km which is good imho.

so litterally saying it only needs about 24.5liters+ to go from kl to penang?

if this is the case, why bother with 1.6?

• I am not a fan of Korean cars, but this Forte 2.0 is really hot man, got look, got substance, and got good price. I am speechless.

• besides pricing though. :P

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:44 am

Got sunroof??? Picture is wrong?

• 75k not expensive bo… not bad at all… I'm sure this car will sell good

• henryee on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:58 am

Yeah~ KIA. SUddenly a pot of water splash into my head, I've never notice of the Korean kia, especially, but this car equips of beauty, sporty, elegant, and full of equipment~!!! I love

I would want an National brand to have a 6 airbags. Especially the new Perodua Alza, an "MPV" without CURTAIN AIRBAG is a dangerous things to drive, and EXORA also~ They used RM 300 mil on Alza and RM 400~mil to develop a car, that is the problem to put more equipment and safety features into the baby the "born" ??? I juz don't get it.

I'm driving a Myvi, and I'm knida dissapointed with the Alza's size which is VERY VERY VERY Dissapointed with it.

I think I'll persuade my brother to buy a Forte, but don't know the KIA SERVICE is whether good or bad?

Anyone knows how's the service fees? I don't mind to pay more for the features. In this country PLS. abolish the STUPID BASIC CAR which without airbags, ABS EBD, BA, TCS…… THE CITIZEN DESERVES A MUCH MORE BETTER/BEAUTIFUL CAR WITH FULL OF SAFETY FEATURES LIKE—–>

KIA FORTE.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 3:06 am

as much as i hate naza, they seem to be giving us proper cars(like the peugeot 308 and this forte)….until that nasty peugeot 207 made in china aka peugeot 206 overfacelift comes out

• The Reader on Nov 26, 2009 at 3:07 am

Perodua Alza killer….

• endy (Member) on Nov 26, 2009 at 3:22 am

This Forte could be cheaper if not for the G's protection scheme. I heard from a friend that worked on the Forte project at Naza, for the lowest spec, the price that they submit to the G for approval is RM 60K++ as they intend to compete with the Waja. But as you see from the released price, this is not materialized because of protection to our beloved proton of course.

• I finally know why those Toyota Vios drivers remove their Toyota badges and replace it with the Lexus badge.

It's all to do with the badge!!! Enlightened I am :)

• Cynical on Nov 26, 2009 at 3:32 am

Nice one vee. :D

• pirate on Nov 26, 2009 at 3:55 am

Alfa Romeo,

Well said. Cheers :)

• i just wonder why ppl making a noise bout the emblem… it doesn't change the fact that u need to service etc at Naza also ..

And changing the kia emblem not going to add more HP LOL

anyway this car is value for money!

• klaka seram on Nov 26, 2009 at 4:17 am

if only Naza after sales services is improved, definitely this Forte is a killer. Car ownership is not just buying a car, but also servicing & maintenance. This is where Naza need to buck up. Anyway, Forte is nice car

• I booked the 1.6 SX already . But in waiting list

• ORANG KAMPUNG on Nov 26, 2009 at 5:14 am

ok laaaa..now days korean technology almost good like japan technology..it can be trusted! i wish had this car and will recommended for my wife to buy this..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 5:16 am

Alfa Romeo said,

November 25, 2009 @ 6:19 pm

Now, this is a real car that I would be glad to trade my Alfa Romeo 156 for! I have been sticking with the 156 for more than a decade as it looks really good (to me at least) but the maintenance is like shite- Selespeed should have been developed by Japanese or Korean auto makes, then they would be useful at least!

Now this Forte looks charming enough and being a Korean, it should last better than an Alfa Romeo; so please point me to the nearest dealer.

————————–

sell me your alfa romeo….

• Tiu the Proton on Nov 26, 2009 at 5:28 am

NOW this gonna slash a portion of the cake of Vios & City ~~

I hope it gonna slash it in half tough!!

Vios & City way cannot compete with the feature & look of this baby!!!

90k++ for 6 air bags and all the gadgets… what for you get in the Vios TRD? still cannot out run the Forte!!

BTW its competing with the Civic 2.0 ~ not the B segment..hahah!!

but still.. good alrernative for those getting good deal with PUG308~~

PLs listen… honda & Toyota~~ add more stuffs to your CAR…no more empty box!!!

agree????

• reuben how on Nov 26, 2009 at 5:59 am

are u sure 1.6sx comes with Electronic stability control? That's cheap. At least the koreans are saving our lives….

• Irwan on Nov 26, 2009 at 6:41 am

At a glance, it's damn nice! You won't get such a nice deal like this from other manufacturers. Meanwhile, does anybody know the interest rate given for Forte?

• JKucing on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:03 am

Any one test drive the car? 1.6 version enough power or not?

• kennyphan on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:31 am

I had tested 1.6SX in PJ area specially uphills, rough round, traffic jam and etc. All condition look fine for me bcoz I use to drive korea car – heavy body!

I just simply press hard b4 uphill and it perform well for 2 person inside car. Besides, I can use shiftronic to change the gear manually and it really work to maintain gear 2 until rpm to 4-5K and power is remain until I increase to gear 3 later 4.

Overall, 1.6SX engine performance is acceptable but really do not know the FC performance. The test unit show 14l/100km and I believe it may coz by short distance test drive.

But still need more finding bcoz no change to test 2.0 model b4 final decision make.

• Suhaila on Dec 17, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Is 1.6SX manual really available in Malaysia???I wish to have 1.6EX manual….how much does it cost????

• HerMaN on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:44 am

the front design look like jdm honda accord euro-r. may be the honda one is slightly bigger compare to this forte. in terms of price what can i say, it reasonable enough with all the feature that they install.

• JACK HAMMER on Nov 26, 2009 at 7:53 am

endy said,

I heard from a friend that worked on the Forte project at Naza, the price that they submit to the G for approval is RM 60K++ to compete with the Waja. But this is not materialized because of protection to our beloved proton of course.

'my friend at Proton' said, the price of persona should be RM20K, but G didn't approve..

'my friend at Honda' said, the new city supposed to fly with it's 6500hp jet engine, but G didn't approve..

'your friend inside the toilet bowl' said, u stink…

• tokmoh on Nov 26, 2009 at 8:07 am

endy : how sure are you? Is it the govt or naza that wanted bigger profit margin?

Before Passat CC arrived, many rumors spread abt VW submitting the govt to sell it at a "very low price", and then kononnya the govt only approve it at RM300k. But look what happened: the Passat CC turned out to be cheaper than BMW 320i and Merc C200K.

• Alfa Romeo said,

November 25, 2009 @ 6:19 pm

well, alfa selespeed actuator was manufactured by denso – a japanese company. maybe it is a sabotage?

well said for forte, beautiful european lines. seen a lot on the road here in china.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 8:33 am

haha this cars sticks a finger in proton's anus

• xenogearz on Nov 26, 2009 at 8:58 am

kimi_ said,

November 25, 2009 @ 4:11 pm

haiz kimi…i believe Forte carries the Naza badge so that it can get some tax exemption thus enabling it to be priced cheap…if the Kia badge is maintained, I'm guessing the price of the 2.0L would probably be slightly above RM100k

• S.Roma on Nov 26, 2009 at 9:33 am

davidbrchdav said,

November 25, 2009 @ 3:40 pm

Paul, how come this Kia/Naza forte so not so expensive, any leads?

————————————————————-

Becoz its under Naza la, Naza got backup from G, is it true? I thk they wanna help their people ma…

• After reading the news from paul and all comments..this is real value for money car that will take away big market from Ts n Hs..

I am interested to test drive 2.0l forte..when it come to the showroom..and how much d interest that our bank offer?

• well guys to tell u frankly.. Forte is a gud buy… btw the prize is actually cheap coz naza group wantz to catch local market.. newayz its a gud sign for car lovers as other manufacturer would actually fit in more proper gadgets in the new line of carz including proton… Letz wait and see.. 2010 is gonna be a gud time for car lovers.. so for the moment just stick to ur former cars and wait for next year…. proton try bringin in more better specs into ur carz….. newayz korean cars never been that bad if not for their resale value and the spare parts.. i drive a kia spectra and i never had any problesm wif the car so far.. i am a fast driver and i have done 180 wif the car regularly in the highwayz and i have never had funny sounds wif the engines.. well guys its all like electronic parts.. its all based on luck.. even a merc have engines problems… so my advise is just wait till next year and see some commenets from the owners b4 booking this car.. adioz

• Alfa Romeo on Nov 26, 2009 at 11:46 am

Well, my 99 AR156 is up for grabs if you have RM30k in your bank, Madza 3. Servicing can be done at Emech, although do take note that the Selespeed has had issues from time to time. Spent RM8k on this over the years but still not to my expectation.

Well, with the stupid regulations barring used parts from 2010 onwards, this 156 would not be feasible to be maintained anymore, I supposed. Forte 2.0, here I come!

• I WISH NAZA WILL BRING BMW IN NAZA NAME.. HAHA

BTW THIS FORTE OWESOME.. BATTER THAN OTHER SEDAN CAR

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 26, 2009 at 3:05 pm

kimi_ said,

November 25, 2009 @ 4:11 pm

how many times u wanna repeat yourself? like a nagging housewife!

u must be the type of nut who looks at cindy crawford but only sees the mole.

• kia forte look nice n smart!

• HI Everyone, I am about to book vios E, but after take a look at the Forte i fall in love with it. what i am uncertaint now is

1) Fuel Consumption ( 1.6 model)

2) Spare part

3) Maintenane Fee

Any one can assist me?

• scottloeb on Nov 26, 2009 at 5:00 pm

Guys, dont get me wrong. I like the car, and I intend to get one and I'm damn sure the bang for buck that I gonna get out of it. However TOC of Korean cars – Accent, Spectra, even the C-class imitation Sonata didnt do any favour to this baby future projection. Stuck in Malaysia dont do any favour to auto lovers, be it continental (Fiat, Alfa, Citroen), Korean or coupes and cabriolets. Furthermore knowing what kind of service you might be getting from Naza is already a pain in the ass. Doesnt matter if its Naza or Kia, its the same car just like Pug 206 and Naza Bestari, what's the fuss?

And I'm not a Nissan salesman. I talk from the customer point of view when I tried to trade in my car for a City, Innova or GLivina. Nissan trade in value is the highest, as they give discounts indirectly through trade in values, not like naza which reprice the Citra like nobody business.

• wochomi on Nov 26, 2009 at 5:04 pm

If it's too good to be true…. it probably is….. eg, Mitsubishi lancer waiting list,

• cheapshot on Nov 26, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Now what I'm concerned is:

– After-sales service

– Maintenance and spare parts costs.

• xenogearz on Nov 26, 2009 at 6:13 pm

maa said,

November 26, 2009 @ 3:00 am

After reading the news from paul and all comments..this is real value for money car that will take away big market from Ts n Hs..

I am interested to test drive 2.0l forte..when it come to the showroom..and how much d interest that our bank offer?

between 3.25% – 3.50% I believe, thanks to G because before Exora was launched and before G decided to raise the HP interest rate for non-national cars, the HP rate for Kia cars was around 2.6% (salesman told me)…got the price sheet from the showroom yesterday…for 1.6L SX, the monthly installment is RM880 for 9 years while for 2.0L, the monthly installment is RM1,010 for 9 years also.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 6:32 pm

Alfa Romeo said,

November 26, 2009 @ 3:46 am

Well, my 99 AR156 is up for grabs if you have RM30k in your bank, Madza 3. Servicing can be done at Emech, although do take note that the Selespeed has had issues from time to time. Spent RM8k on this over the years but still not to my expectation.

Well, with the stupid regulations barring used parts from 2010 onwards, this 156 would not be feasible to be maintained anymore, I supposed. Forte 2.0, here I come!

————————————-

it won't be so easy…..government will receive some bashing

• why worry about the badge when u can change it anywhere.Go to ahbeng shop.sure get one.

• Nicheadison on Nov 26, 2009 at 8:22 pm

for the price of 80K++, choose this rather than those stupid overpriced dugong and city.

Luckily my frenz not yet book the dugong. Now he is gonna take the 1.6SX soon :-)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 8:33 pm

det said,

November 26, 2009 @ 11:31 am

why worry about the badge when u can change it anywhere.Go to ahbeng shop.sure get one.

———————

i want put porsche badge…

• gaban on Nov 26, 2009 at 9:41 pm

test drive the 1.6 y'day…

not bad at all…but still prefer the 2.0

• hopefully it will kill the 'dugong'..

haha….

this one 100 times better… :)

• Kia should introduce Subaru blue, the sporty colour meant for SUbaru, in the line-ups as well.

• lolypop (Member) on Nov 27, 2009 at 12:37 am

did this forte come with the eco driving option? I found this simply ECO ON button effectively reduce FC ( driving performance)..

share from china forte forum>>

http://www.autohome.com.cn/drive/200911/77318.htm…

• Just went to the showroom, the SA told me current unit is CBU. I can see the KIA logo on the demo car + the aircond has hot air which is not needed in Malaysia. It is absolutely worth with this kind of price getting CBU unit.

• WS,

Just because the air-cond system offers hot-air means it is CBU. There are many CKDed cars in Malaysia that offer heaters with their air-conds. It depends on the air-cond pack that they use in the assembly.

• first i love this blod.

second, i love this car!!

the looks of Kia forte is not so 'tranformers'-ly. so i wud feel more commfortable looking at it compared to City.

and thank god the meter console is not at the centre, unlike vios.

and the price is really cool.

why wud we care about re-sale price when we talk about buying a new car. as if we gonna sell it the day after we buy it.

but still, i also dont like the N emblem. sighhhhh…

im gonna stick it out, and put sumthing else. the N logo is such a turn off

• chrisc on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:43 am

Maybe the Naza is good..But some the Naza Service Centre service was damn bad service..Especially Butterworth JayXXXs..Always sent sms to update about new car launched this and that..Before you buy it everythings is very good..But when we talk bout their after sales service..They treat you like dog..Dint believe..Go try it..My bos driving Toyota Vios G spec..The Toyo after sales service was damn good..The smile at you everytime you enter their service centre..Not only that..The way they serve you..Better if compare with Naza or even Honda..

• stfodude on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:58 am

the waja 2010 is what i waiting for , this 2 year warranty car ,lol ,seems naza not confident bout the parts .

i m not impress witht the features ,

even vios or city will get 3 year lol.

after 2 year prepare fork hundreds to thousands la my friend.

• ghghj on Nov 27, 2009 at 10:19 am

best looking compact car, gorgeous interior, great fuel economy

• sammyB on Nov 27, 2009 at 10:43 am

At last some common sense from xenogearz,

Naza rebadges the car so that consumers like us can get the cars cheaper than T,N&H and with more specs. The G, only wants us to buy, P1 or P2 so that they(cronies) can grow rich which we get poorer.

If you dun like the brand Naza (or Inokom) original/OEM badges are available everywhere and can be easily removed like the Peugeot cars with Naza/Bestari logos. For the price and CBU some more, you cannot find anything else unless you want to buy JDM recon, used cars.

Also ppl who asked about resale value, Mazda 3, 5 & 6 how? Mitsu Lancer? Those cars are more expensive than T&H but no one sells them 2nd hand or if they do, are more than T&H 2nd hand! The new Forte will not come in large stock as they are selling like hot cakes in Europe and US, so we are actually getting them new and not old stock like previous Spectra, Rio or the last rubbish that people bought in droves…apanama… Sephia..ha!ha! That one, NAZA really conned people into buying as they bought by consignment for less than RM25K and after selling to the public at RM72k, still made a healthy profit!

However, being new, their after sales service sucks, big time! No matter what brands they are selling, be it Peugeot, Kia, MB, AMG or Brabus, still fail! Then again, they are considered an infant as compared to T,H&N, so can't blame them unless they want to invest in customer service training and hire more people with hospitality background to manage their centres, they will get more bricks than bouquets. Dun believe, Proton/P2 after service still sucks..cos they believe their cheap cars do not warrant good service..ha!

I will go look at the new Forte soon as I need to change from my manual Waja, cannot be shifting gears at my age..

• budlee on Nov 27, 2009 at 6:20 pm

tak larat nak baca lagi.. so hard to differentiate the crap commentors and the relevant commentors…

people are right, if they are thinking resale value only (since they change cars every 3 years or something or managed to pay off cars in 3 years) would just stick to honda's and toyota's..

this car is something different, its something with a european flavour, its something that you would actually use until you finish off the loan.

Naza Kia cars are not half bad, finding a good service center is bad, especially the ones that refuse to follow the manual recomendation of service intervals..

i do really like it :) and I will be a bit different from the rest…

*btw, if more people actually like then the resale value would rise, which means these people who buys car based on resale value would have nothing to crap about.. right :D

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 27, 2009 at 11:56 pm

TEC said,

November 26, 2009 @ 2:57 pm

Kia should introduce Subaru blue, the sporty colour meant for SUbaru, in the line-ups as well.

—————–

now kia prettier than subaru

• Albert on Nov 28, 2009 at 6:01 am

Here are the brochure, from Singapore though!
    http://livinginsingaporetoday.com/wp-content/uplo…

• david on Nov 28, 2009 at 10:22 am

driving the new city now, but if they give a good price for it, i am thinking of the 2.0 one. Haven't seen the car yet, but i am sad with the plastic and the under carriage of my city. My previous city which i traded in, was of better quality!

• kaizou on Nov 28, 2009 at 8:32 pm

pls put in some manual with 5 gear change. 1.6l is enuff for me

• maverick motorhead (Member) on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Hmm…either this or the Ribena.

• whitey on Nov 29, 2009 at 4:39 am

giler kencang~~!! aq suka amattt..

• Forte-ed on Nov 29, 2009 at 8:32 am

looking for a new sedan recently as the family welcomed a new member. sat in and test-driven a few cars in the past month, and this is what i have to say.

vios,

opened the door. didn't want to sit inside at all. overpriced, underpowered, unsafe, cheap feel. with the cheapo specs, it surprising that they are actually selling so well! talk about brand loyalty! moved on to next showroom.

city,

much better than the vios, but price with modulo kits abt 95K. overpriced 1.5L toy car.

forte,

got int the 1.6SX. i didn't want to get out from the car! test-drove the car for almost 1Hr! in fact, test driven it twice at 2 diff showrooms in one day because i cannot believe it!

feels good on the road even with the 17in rims. power is acceptable, could be better though. cruising is quiet at 120kph. braking is solid. door closes like a real door. push start/stop/keyless entry is awesome. seats comfortably. has european feel to it. good view from within. nice ground clearance. well balanced front, back, wheel placement, proportions pleasing to the eyes, doesn't look like a dugong or cockroach. big @$$ boot. u feel the money u spent is well utilized in each corner of the car.

already put a 2k deposit on the 2.0L model 3 days ago. name me another 2.0L car with half the features and i'll forfeit my 2k.

traction control, 6 airbags, keyless…

i wonder if the Koup will debut here…

• Sinbad on Nov 30, 2009 at 9:37 pm

why not they keep most of this specs? http://www.ultimatecarpage.com/car/3673/KIA-Koup-…

i like the lamps, engine power..

• nagflar on Nov 30, 2009 at 11:54 pm

naza services is SUX. INFAMOUS IN MSIA. stiill own me rm200 booking fee. salesman will not pickup ur call if they dont have stock. promise to refund but drag 4 month also no news . buy form naza . u need think twice

• nagflar on Dec 01, 2009 at 12:46 am

naza services is SUX. INFAMOUS IN MSIA. NAZA stiill owe me rm200 booking fee. NAZA salesman will not pickup ur call if they dont have stock. promise to refund but drag 4 month also no news . if u want to buy form naza . u need think twice

• please la… to those always ask bout resale value hmmmm… its better you all just go buy house rather than car. Cars=unprofitable…. so think twice… For me if they (manufacture) give the good spec ,performance and quality at the range of affordable price, that's a best way to encourage our people to buy a car. Improve our economy also. True Honda and Toyota get demand in our market… but what u can can with price that you pay, nothing. but in terms of "resale" those also getting price knockout… the different just 10% to 15% only… the conclusion CARS can't make profit to you… at one time u still need to top up extra money to replace the new one… so no question bout resale value anymore, if u like it go and get it. For me i really prefer to buy this car rather than City and Vios that was so so so small. Just hold in the "brand" name and dont care bout the spec given?… ask urself…..

• Mufasa on Dec 01, 2009 at 9:11 am

Forte-ed said,

November 29, 2009 @ 12:32 am

already put a 2k deposit on the 2.0L model 3 days ago. name me another 2.0L car with half the features and i’ll forfeit my 2k.

———————————————–

ok bro,,u buy first, we all keep update paultan.org

• Mufasa on Dec 01, 2009 at 9:15 am

wait for waja laaa..

then after waja launch,,,wait for new camry

then after new camry launch…wait for accord…

then after new accord launch…wait forever aa…

if u need this car,,go pay ur booking fee…dont wait…use ur car, dont leave at home

• I went for a test drive this morning (for 1.6)…….little bit of under power, the rest are 'good'…….i believe 2L should be better. i plan to order 1 (2L)….but need to wait for 2-3 months……..!!!!!

• mohdazim on Dec 01, 2009 at 10:14 am

xenogearz said,

for 1.6L SX, the monthly installment is RM880 for 9 years while for 2.0L, the monthly installment is RM1,010 for 9 years also.

——————————————

is RM880 for 9 years = zero down payment?

• The current price is for the CBU from Korea right?

Will the price drop when it's assembled in NAZA Gurun Kedah?

• aiya, just book my civic 1.8

now dunno want to cancel booking or not?

forte 2.0 only 94k with better specs , where civic 1.8 115k.

can save 21k….

• Forte in SG have windscreen cracking problem, unofficially the cause is due to windscreen supplier. 50+ cases up to yesterday.

http://www.ceratoforte.sg/general-discussion-for-…

Hopefully Kia MY don't get their windscreen from the same supplier!

• KOLo said,

The current price is for the CBU from Korea right?

Will the price drop when it’s assembled in NAZA Gurun Kedah?

——————————————

I've asked one of the naza sales person. The current batch (with only 500 units; not sure about the current status now) is CBU and after those batch would be the CKD from Gurun Kedah. Paul wrote that but don't know why the naza rep call him up and said the fact abt this was wrong. That's why he removed that info.

What i was told that the only diff between the CBU and CKD is the logo on the steering. Badges on the exterior for both units remain the same Naza badge.

Big diff btwn SG MY models for 1.6SX is that the ones in SG got reverse camera 0.0 while ours is the distance to rear obstruction.

• neverLikeKiA on Dec 02, 2009 at 2:19 am

Kimi, you are s**t damn loser. if they put the KIA badge, the price will surge > more than 120k, then you'll blame the NAP. Stupid. this forum is not for you, go to school and learn, moron.

• baPak on Dec 02, 2009 at 7:23 pm

hye,

people keep on talking about CBU and CKD…some salesman also told me about 500 units bla bla bla cbu…now can anyone tell me..how can we know the car that we get either cbu orr ckd (other than seeing kia badge on the steering and 17' sport rim with kumho tyre for spare)? going to put some cash here…

• I remembered that once the S.Korean CBU cars have little white sticker pasted on the rear window (stating the model, engine CC, Made in Korea, options, etc etc) as a proof that the car is imported but those stickers I only see on Kia and Ssangyong vehicles but not Hyundai though and now imported Kias also dun have these stickers so not sure how to tell now.

• baPak said,

now can anyone tell me..how can we know the car that we get either cbu orr ckd

==========================================

NAZA Ria CBU units come with chassis number beginning with Alphabet "K" e.g.KNAUP 1234*****. Local assembled versions bgins with Alphabet "M"

Info from:
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/asp/forum/topic.asp…

• Hei guys….after so many comments and idea…What is the conclusion?

This car is value for money or you guys will never consider buying it?

• Tengah2 on Dec 04, 2009 at 10:57 am

after reading all the post from the top…i dun kno already which one to choose.. is it forte 1.6sx or mazda 2 ( which to launch march n to be around forte's price) coz that is my max budget…

luv mazda 2…but look small from the brochure..

luv forte also..but concern bout quality n after sales n FC

guide me anyone????

• baPak on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:54 am

niceee …

thanx KOlo

Lau, its hard to agree about this things..better u try test drive 1st…then u'll know… :)..2 times already going to Kia.. peeps say about the high price for its spare parts…yup i agree…but for the maintenance?..high? 1st service cost u about rm2++.. i insistently ask them to see their schedule..and it slash most of bad influence :)

• Hi baPak, thanks for your advice.

Actually i did test drive the 1.6SX, it is bit under power….as you said, also worried about the price of the spare parts and resale value but i really LOVE this car. So I have make decision to book and buy it (for 2.0L)…..Yiipee !!!

Now i m not thinking about the resale value………because i really tertarik about this car……….paid 10% alredy yesterday, but SA told me need to wait 3 months…….what to do, right?

• The Who.. on Dec 07, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Love at first sight..

• Rondowner on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:11 am

Lau,

Gud choice with the 2lit as it comes with the same Theta engine like Rondo

but a improve of Theta1 to 2..

and if u those on the tighter budget go for the 1.6 higher spec which in terms of spec is far more features against the Japs except the 17" rims which if u reduce to 15 will sure give you more Km & won't burn ur wallet when come replacements..

I guess the 1st service would probably costs u about 250 and it's ur choice whether to go on Full synthetic or Semi..

Did mine Rondo 1st with semi and it only cost me about 130..

Really contemplate with White….

Just imagine whites with dark tinted cruising at our freeway…fuh awesome

• Hi Rondowner, thanks for your support……dreaming about my new Forte every nite…….ZZZzzzzZZZZz !!!!

2L Forte got ' sunroot '??? Anybody can help????

• Andrew on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:14 am

Hi I am considering the 2.0l

when I knocked on the body of the car at the rear/ near petrol tank and booth, I found the sound to be quite hollow and thin. in fact using my index finger I knocked on it and found it to be quite thin and softer compared to other cars of different brands but of similar segment.

Anyone has comments on whether the body is indeed thin – not as solid when you knock against it.

• Estimate Kia maintenance yearly for Forte :

1-3 years

4-7 years

7-10 years

I have a friend owns a Naza Ria. Monthly installment 1.8k. Then his car water regulator brokedown, need 7-8k to replace hold set…! Don't have budget to repair, have to leave it…

So is it Kia maintenance so high?

• Anyone can suggest?

Estimate Kia yearly maintenance for Forte :

1-3 years

4-7 years

7-10 years

• Mohan on Dec 13, 2009 at 3:20 pm

Hello,

We are driving a Kia Forte in Montreal, Canada. It is awesome…It is comfortable…It's good for winter driving too….Kia rocks!!!!!

• TheTitan on Dec 14, 2009 at 6:59 pm

wOW i was get a test drive yesterday it really a nice car,with low price we got a high quality built and nice touching,advantce technology,quite cabin,roomy and the important is comfortable and safety.

BUT..sorry to say i tested a 1.6sx the pick-up really to upgrade,Hence it's better take 2.0 for the great performence but roadtax pay are too high…

• ThunderCats on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:36 pm

I just tested two 1.6SX yesterday at different seller / dealers. The comments i can make listed below:-

1. Design: Overall is really cool.

2. The computerized devices how long will it last? Usually it's based on user how you take care of it but for those electronics devices sure will be EOL one day. Will it able to last for 5-10 years?

3. The reverse sensor (for 1.6SX) is not in good condition on both tested car. One response slow the other one gave wrong sensor's info (no objects behind and the road is in stable road but yet still give emergency alert, wondering whether the reverse sensor spoil easily or am so lucky tested two car with spoiled reverse sensor at different shop).

4. I informed the SA that i wish to take a look for all display shown from the catelog, the SA informed me that due to low petrol, i can't see at this moment. We went to a petrol station to fill up some petrol and upon complete, the SA remove the fuse on the spot at the petrol station. The SA stated that he needs to remove the fuse to prevent the high milage capture at that testing car. By the time the SA removed / unplug the car's fused that caused me unable to see the functionality of the car's electronic display that makes me felt uncomfortable and cheated. Per Seller info, they need to unplug it in order to prevent the car's meter kept growing. Why need to take in to considerations for a Test car's meter? Are you going to use it to sell again as new car? Since the meter can be easily removed, how can I ensure that the car that you give me is really drive as low distance as possible?

Is somehting goes wrong with the catelog display compare with real car?

5. Kia car services are they good / ready to support new technology car like Forte?

• thanks ThunderCats.this is what im afraid of Naza

• ThunderCats on Dec 15, 2009 at 12:57 am

I believe majority of you will be asking whether the suspension is good or not etc. Be honest, the easiest way for you to identify via surface is to check how many 'nuts' attaching to the wheel. Those consists of 5 nuts will be using MacPherson. If you notice, those better quality cars (example: Accord, Civic, Camry, Benz, BMW, Avante) consists of 5 nuts at their wheel. As a result of the test ealier from the blog above, FORTE 1.6SX consists of a great suspension than City, Vios, Accent, etc.

Upoon driving, i tried to drove over few big deep holes and found out that the suspension / vibration within the car is really stable and felt comfortable. Further more, you may try to sit inside the car and close the door and stay tune to fell the vibration in the car and the door's sound, it will bring more satisfaction than just a lousy plastic sounds than certian types of Japanese cars.

• TheTitan on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Yeah to be honestly it's really a satble and comfort car,very enjoy when driving no rasa when hit the lobang everywhere in malaysia road surface so it's really suitable for malaysia,proud to be Malaysian with Korean car! he he..

Anyhow i was read BeritaHarian in 11Dec09 which the writer was make a test drive in Forte 1.6sx,they said the pick-up very surprise but it's really disappointed for me,i donno that semi auto how.regret to forgot make a test coz i just test in fully auto..

• ThunderCats on Dec 15, 2009 at 10:59 pm

Hi Titan,

The Semi auto, upon used, whenever you change to auto will have somekind of sound upon gear changed. Not sure whether the car i tested already have some problem at first car while second car do not hear any sound at all. As for the power, i tried and seem powerful. It is good if you can drive and justify yourself. :)

• toyofan on Dec 16, 2009 at 2:54 am

i think this is the only kia's car that v can consider to buy…very high spec likes keyless entry n push start…but don know thirsty or not (coz korean cars=thirsty) if compare to japanese cars…anyhow its looks nice n has a reasonable pricing…

• ThunderCats on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Basically people are judging based on 'BRAND' insted of 'Technology'. I can see recent cars from Korea seems great / improve alot. They are using CVVT (ability to control variable valve) to prevent extra petrol consumed. As for Forte, it is using CVVT as well. You may check further on Hyundai Avante's owner justification on fuel consumption – http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic…

If you calculate on the fuel consumption, how much extra cost will it cost? I believe the car that you are affort, fuel consumption will not be call into considerations anymore.

• Type F on Dec 20, 2009 at 8:46 am

Moving fwd, I'm pretty sure that this car will receive a lot of award n wait till that time, City/Civic/Vios owners will realize that they are paying high price on those cars. Let's see what is the best midize car segment award for 2010.

Test drive Forte last week, n im so amazed with the interior & performance of this car. Don't care about the resale value, by looking at the features/design/tech; im pretty sure that you'll want to keep this car for a long time. Cheers for Forte…

• Rondowner on Dec 20, 2009 at 9:33 pm

There is still buyers who are brand concious,

Buy without studying spec and features and most importantly price and some are just hear say and if resale value are the concern then one should go buy a property or a house as i always stress car is a liability not an assets..

Seeing what Kia offer makes me feels cheated to own Japs brand comparing pricing of course..

guess i m almost certain to trade in my 04 potong with the SX keep it for at least 15 yrs till my retirement kicks in..HAHAHA

• TheTitan on Dec 21, 2009 at 4:51 pm

Hi all,

i've got an info the Forte 2.0 for test drive will come by this january2010 Hence,make sure wait this moment to get a test.

after tested 1.6 sx not saticefied,Let see how 2.0l are the best.

• calvin on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:30 pm

hi.. does anyone knows whether the 1.6EX comes with the immobilizer or not?

• TheTitan on Dec 21, 2009 at 8:44 pm

what is immobilizer actually,i want to know what the function is it.But for sure i think better get sx model coz alot of the benefit inside.

• Billy on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:02 pm

why other country kia forte only couple door and looks alot sport .malaysia kia forte not nice…

check this kia forte
    http://pictures.topspeed.com/IMG/crop/200904/kia-…

• Rhythm Lee on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Afternoon,

This model forte outlook is more nicely, but why warranty given only 2 year / 50K km?

I feel that your company no confident for your quality & your company history record no so good.

I propose why no warranty given to 6 year / 150K km, this will help your company pull back customer confident & in Malaysia, your company warranty limit is the higher one.

Tq

• Akash on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Hey Billy….u need to get your facts right or start reading more….get out of your nutshell and see the world…the link you pasted is for Kia Forte Coupe Version which will be released next year in Malaysia…currently they released Kia Forte Sedan

• Huh? err..good afternoon to you too.

This is a blog dude, its not Naza's customer feedback thingy.

Heck, most of us here are not Naza customers, we're just blabbering away for whatever its worth.

Still a damn good looking car though…badges, rebadges and warranties asside.

• kereta kuda on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:45 am

test drive @ lai khim sp last week.

i have to say this

forte 1.6sx need more power

others superior than vios/city (same price range)

so, placed booking rm1k….

no ckd – cancel booking

• baywatch on Dec 29, 2009 at 2:23 am

why put NAZA logo? really no nice … :(

• Dear all,

Any freebies or further discount from sales rep for those that have booked the new forte? I am interested to book one.

• forteowner on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:57 pm

i got tinted value or rm 900. form sa subang branch

• FAUZI on Jan 04, 2010 at 8:54 pm

wow… very attractive body…like evo 10.Im consider to buy it if im not able to buy evo 10 (body comparison).i dont care about resale coz "alah membeli menang memakai". but i hate the engine.. waste petrol.. lagsuir petrol..hik2.further..very expensive spare part.My pren says KIA is "NOT" car… NEW but OLD TECHNOLOGY. think twice to buy it…huhu.

• Fauzi,

Both u & your parent need to update your knowledge.. If you like Evo.. Then, u will like KIA Forte/Rondo/Optima.. Why.. Evo & KIA/Hyundai is using the SAME ENGINE.Not believe or end of the wold for you when u heard that. It is call GEME Engine.. Pls study what is GEME engine.. And told your parent.. KIA no longer suck fuel..
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufa…

• Fauzi,

The same engine.. But, they use different code name for the engine. For 2.0 Lancer or Evo.. Mitsubishi name it 4B11 etc.. For Hyundai/KIA.. they call it Theta engine… Suprise for this information?

• king4891 (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Thinking to let go my 2005 city and get Forte 2.0. I still have 4 years installment to go for my city at RM890 a month. Now market price is around 56k. If I trade in then I will loan about 80k for this Forte.

Monthly will still repayment the same at about 900 except the loan become 9 years again.

My worry was after 5 years, if going to change a new car again. Will Forte 2nd hand value will give me 14k just like my city now?

Pls help to give comment if you are in the same situation as me.

Tks.

• king4891 (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Rate 1-10:

1) Color – 6

2) Exterior – 8

3) Interior – 5

4) Performance – 7

5) Safety – 7

6) Technology – 8

7) Features – 7

8) Maintenance – 5

Average: 53/8 = 6.625

• Rondowner on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:18 am

King,

If ur concern is on resale value then u should go buy a house or a property which will appreciate like i stress that buying a car in boleh land is never ever going to be cheap whats more with cronies protection syndrome..

But lets hope that the Korean keep on coming with fanatstic products which i m sure will in one day change the game in our auto sector and by then maybe your forte could fetch higher than the japs and i m sure when the market forces determine the price than there will be no doubt about it that the Korean are here to compete…

My neighbour whom just traded in his Civic '99 for about 28K for a Mazda M5 and thats about 10 yrs car so what is Resale Value…Practically

Gud choice on the 2.0lit as is the same engine as Rondo but with a upgraded versions and hp of 145 to 156 if im not wrong..Theta1 to 11 so is goin to be powerful whats more on a sedan comparing to Mpv..

• king4891 (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:36 am

Thanks Rondowner.

My main concern is the depreciation value over my repayment amount. When come to 5 years, I still need to pay back the bank and pour out 10% to buy new car.

Since your are Rondo owner, mind to share the depreciation is below or over your repayment for 9 years loan?

Tks in advance.

• Rondowner on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:11 am

King,

If u plan to use ur car for 5 yrs then base on current scenario i would advise u to go for a reliable japs and hoping to be able to get back the 10% d/P when u sell in 5 yrs time and forget about getting other make beside jap. as there are still who are brand concious..simple as that..

As for my rondo i m using it for at least 10 yrs and i m sure by then the value could depreciate till maybe 30 or less and is about 60% so just compare against my neighbour Civic '99..but of course if reliability is ur concern..

You can always go into any auto forum and even owners reviews from US,Canada,Australia to read more on the engine spec,GEMA engine,FC,NVH,

handling etc.

Eg: Read Paul reviews on Rondo, US using it as Taxi..

So conclusions your money u decide and worry too much u will end up buying nothing..I was in that situation and lifes take a turn when one of my good buddy suddenly diagnose of Cancer and fighting for life in 18 mths and gave up and he was only 40…so cheer up lifes short enjoy first..sorry for sharing my long reviews..hehehe

• king4891 (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 4:56 am

Rondowner,

Good comment always end up too short in my mind. :)

I love the car and I know the performance will be good enough for non F1 racer. Maybe I a bit kiasi so car after 5 years I will lost confident. lol.

That's why have to use calculator toughly to ensure have 15k after 5 years from my previous car. (I will stop talking about this)

Here it's go:

93800 depreciate 10k per year.

After 5 years, 43800.

Bank loan 80k * 3% x 9 = 101600 / 108 = 940/month.

940 * 60 (5years) = 56400.

Balance loan: 45200.

Oh oh… I still have to pay back 1400 to bank…..

But how about 7 years.

Bank loan 80k * 3% x 9 = 101600 / 108 = 940/month.

940 * 84 (5years) = 56400.

Balance loan: 22640. Car value after 7 years: 23800.

1160… hmmm… Do you think 1 year will depreciate 10k? hope 7-8k then my dream come true… :)

• Rondowner on Jan 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

King,

You are contradicting urself…

Read my 1st para. last post and again ur money u decide..

i don't base on assumption in depreciation i base on current actual scenario..

cheers

• lobaloba01 on Jan 13, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Beautiful but go and check the upcomin Hyundai i40 lar…Drop dead beautiful!!!!

• e-ju111 on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:21 pm

are this new forte has sunroof???

• ankleguy2003 on Jan 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Why Malaysians think about resale value never seems to amaze me. What do you expect when buying a car? I've never bought a Js or a Hs & have loss quite a huge sum of $$$ BUT i am happy. Life is too short, enjoy it while it lasts. ie. Rondo's story-telling. For me buying a car is not an investment. It's your day to day necessity. I have seen and know a lot of M'sians are complaining about the Credit Card Service Tax RM50 but have we noticed the amount of unnecessary sms'es that we send/receive? I would not be surprised if their mobile bills exceed >RM100-200 monthly.

Anyway it's irrelevant i know but if we look from a broader perspective, i do think we Msians think too "much". Regards

• coolxcool on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:48 am

Booked the 1.6sx in December and i heard that the car is here already..just waiting for some paper work clearance and i'm getting my new baby before Chinese new year!!! YIPPEEE!!

2.0L can certainly give more power, but come to think of it, how often do i need to drive that fast?? the stop go traffic light in KL ain't F1 starting grid (trying hard to convince myself i made the right choice in 1.6sx :P)

What attracted me was how solid the body work is, not losing to Japs built and way way cooler on the interior (check out the dash board) – Altis doesn't even look 1/2 as sophisticated to me…i like it coz it's techy

Last one, who cares bout the petrol consumption when you have such beautiful ride? want to save petrol, get a smaller c.c car pls. resale value too is least on my mind…

Can't stop dreaming bout my baby every night….

• Rondowner on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:04 am

Cool ,

The 124hp is sufficient to pull u away at traffic light whats more with the shiftronic even give you more feeling of driving a manual wif clutchless tech.

Seeing what kia offers makes me feel cheated owning japs anyway just my personal opinions..

Chk out the kiaforteclub in M.Trader , is good to hv some members sharing the same interests in the car..

had that feeling too when waiting for my rondo and dunno why don't hv that feeling for my forte which is due in april…maybe confidence assurance frm rondo..

• xenogearz on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:54 pm

rondowner,

your forte is due in april you said? wow, the waiting period is quite long huh now that it reached 3 months

i love everything about forte but the thought of it having a relatively lower resale value compared to the likes of Honda and Toyota cars in the future deterred me from having a STRONG BUY conviction on this car ;)

• gogorock on Jan 21, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Tested forte 1.6, good…..no complain. Better than vios and city.

But, the 2months warranty period, too short. And research on the Sg website, the windsreen will crack by itself??? Paul, is it true?

• baPak on Jan 22, 2010 at 2:18 am

its 2 years warranty gogocrack… and the windscreen for forte in m'sia, not a single case so far.

• Rondowner on Jan 23, 2010 at 6:26 am

Xenogearz,

The first batch of 500 CBU units had been sold and i m not in hurry for a car so decided to wait till next shipments of 500 units and was told that there might be a price increase due to overwhelming response in US thats why u can hardly see any of the 2lit in showroom..

You may be right with the current scenario bout the resale value if u r using ur car for 5 yrs but if u would to compare the features & built up quality i am very sure it is better than the japs of course comparing dollar to dollar value..

I don't think we can find a car for 93K wif 6 airbags or ESP,push starts for 81K of course some may say so what big deal with the push button..

I think for korean by far Kia's offer comparing Hyundai had been the cheapest among comparing the i30..

Hv anyone see the ad for the new Sorento during the break of Tennis Australia open..sponsor by KIA ….WAOH…awesome

• Doubts on Jan 25, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Hi, May I know roughly how long does it consume from the day of booking / make full payments until car delivered to your hand?

Do the seller request for an extra RM150 cash for Runner to gain AP approval?

The car seller (from Auto City) informed me that in order to speed up the car AP approval, it is a standard price the buyer needs to pay extra RM150 whereas the RM150 is not listed within the selling price. Meanwhile, the time before i make a booking, car seller told me 3-4 weeks will get the car, but after i make a called to Customer line, they informed me it required 3-4 months. I felt Cheated and may bring this case into court for fraudulent case. :(

• kenny_lim on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:09 am

it's a great car with great design but sadly, it was distributed by the wrong person…Naza. had bad experience with my picanto (cant fix my things during warranty and cant replace my things after…..4 yrs) and now, my sis is booking with peugeot 206 which is still in waiting list since last yr august (promised before raya, then after raya, then before deepavali, then after deepavali and now, cny already arrive, still no car) and the seller is not answering. the cars were great but the ppl who sold it…..bad bad bad

• endre on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:59 am

my salesman didnt ask for runner fee. I got it in 10 days. 1.6EX

• Suhaila on Dec 18, 2010 at 10:55 pm

Is 1.6EX manual available in malaysia???if yes.how much does it cost???lplease answering me….tq

• Doubts on Feb 18, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Hi Endre,

I'm ordering 1.6SX model. May i know from which sales office you ordered? I'm ordering from Autocity, Juru – Naza Kia.

Hi Kenny,

Yes i really agreed with you. I'm having the same issue as yours. Ordered the car at December and they confirmed that the car will deliver before CNY since stocks already available. Upon ordered they charged another RM150 extra and now still haven't get my car yet. :( I am ordering direct from NAZA not sales dealer …… sob….sob….. :(

• Ramli on Feb 22, 2010 at 7:13 am

Hi Guys,

I really love the looks of the Forte. I have two questions:

1. Did the price decrease from KIA logo to Naza Logo?

2. How is Naza's maintenance price and spare parts? I heard it is expensive, anyone could share?

Finally, I am hesitating between this car and the Honda Civic.

Any inputs would be great.

Cheers all.

RAM'

• Rondowner on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:37 am

Ramli,

1.I am sure you will not get that price if the AP holder is not NAZA..

and you will be paying at least 100K above if is badge under T or H

2.Is too early to tell as the Forte is still new and as for spare parts

why some says is expensive is because there are no

a.Imitation part for Korean makes unless the user are as much as Proton

then there will be some manufacturer using the mould for a cheaper solutions

b.All are genuine unlike our proton where u can buy a side

indicator lamp for as cheap as Rm20 comparing to Rm75 for a genuine

Just for sharing my Rondo 1st & 2nd service only cost me less than Rm150

for Semi Eng.Oil ,Oil filter, etc

Doubts,

The next batch should be coming by End March guess urs and mine will be in the same shipment as i order from Duaria Kristal point..

Cheers

• Ramli on Feb 23, 2010 at 7:50 am

Thanks Rondowner,

Just a thought. It is like buying a printer, never look at the price of the printer itself, but the one of the cartridges.

I will wait a bit and perhaps test it out first.

Cheers.

RAM'

• mizn_sri on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Hi guys,

I went for the test drive today.I just streched the car to the maximum untill the sales guy who was sitting behind got scared and angry with me but i did not care about it. The driving experience was awesome……..very smooth gear shifting,…handling is really really not bad……keyless entry is kinda cool….the sound system is nice…….minimum engine sound(really smooth)…….Decided to go for 1.6 SX……. Cheers!!!!!

• coolxcool on Feb 26, 2010 at 12:39 am

Well Ramli,

Except printer catridge have to change every now and often, even if it's not damage.

Car engine or spareparts don't need to change that often.. XD

It's a good car, good package. Sporty and value for money. Try getting a T or H now, are you still confident they are as good quality as before?? Times change, cars too..:P

• Wilson on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:51 am

I wondering the pricing of services of this Kia Forte car is that high? Same standard if compare with T Service?

• Rondowner on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:30 pm

This was the data findings from one of the owner which is very useful

for future and current owner well at least a baseline comparisons..

Cheers,

1k 10k 20k 30k 40k 50k 60k 70k 80k 90k 100k Total

city 0 0 360 291 829 215 544 215 829 291 1235 4809

Vios 0 0 303 204 361 204 303 204 361 204 303 2447

Forte 1.6 0 0 210 350 440 150 590 150 440 340 265 2935

Civic 1.8 0 0 641 215 956 215 749 215 956 215 1316 5478

Altis 1.8 0 0 342 227 405 227 342 227 405 227 342 2744

Civic 2.0 0 0 641 215 956 215 749 215 956 215 1316 5478

Forte 2.0 0 0 210 350 440 150 590 150 440 340 265 2935

civic hybrid 0 0 680 215 1184 215 680 215 1184 215 2102 6690

————————————————————-

Wilson said,

March 11, 2010 @ 12:51 am

I wondering the pricing of services of this Kia Forte car is that high? Same standard if compare with T Service?

• nazmin on Mar 19, 2010 at 12:36 am

guys, just wanna ask here, is there any promotion now for extending loan to 15 years? i want to trade in my car…

• Thundercats on Mar 19, 2010 at 1:08 am

Hi Wilson,

You can go through the website for details. The official website for the service price is given ( (http://www.nazakia.com.my/sedans/forte/maintenance ). [NOTE: The price may diverse a bit from branches to branches. Still ok as long as the price is not a huge diverse.]

I just serviced mine (1k KM), the price is cheaper than listed from their official website. (~.~)

Hi Nazmin,

I did request this with my SA for FORTE, based on the info given, NAZA still figuring out with Insurance companies on the Extended Warranty for FORTE. It's good if you can makes a call to their customer service directly and update us via 1800-888-542. Thanks in advance.

• nazmin on Mar 19, 2010 at 1:58 am

hi thundercats,

Err, did you purchase your car with 15 years loan? i follow this post a couple of weeks before and someone up there said that he/she just pop out from car dealer shop and said that they offer 15 years loan for forte, and I've got my fren who buy spectra with 15 years loan, my concern is to get lower monthly installment and get much "cooler" car and didn't bother by the warranty matter. I'll try to call the given number and see what can I get from there.

• Thundercats on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:46 am

Aiks??? Sorry i though you refers to warranty instead of loan durations. My car's settlements in 3 years time. The Hire Purchase Officer tendered 3,5,7,9 years for me. Maximum is 9 years only.

• parthiban on Mar 28, 2010 at 11:09 pm

i plan to buy this car.. do the car can spare parts easily n is there any change to the price get to fall in he future b4 october

• Thundercats on Mar 29, 2010 at 8:23 am

Hi Parthiban,

Some experience before and after i bought this car. Be summary to you….

BEFORE:-

1. Kia or Korea car's very fuel consumption. (Conservative Thinking)

2. No resale value.

3. Spare parts hard to find…(Conservative Thinking)

AFTER :-

1. The fule consumption can even hit until 5.7L per 100KM. If you count (5.7/100) X 1.8 (Ron95) = RM0.10 per KM. (Please check MYFORTE from Facebook).

2. Nowadays i can see lots of Forte on road. The demand for this car is alot, will you think whether the resale value will increase if the demand is high? If you wish to use for long durations (lets say 10 yrs), the resale value for you is no longer a concern anymore. How about those spare parts available in Malaysia if the demand is high?

3. Selling Price:-

3.1 The selling price will not fall due to Government Tax. Gain alot from the tax.

3.2 Incase the selling price low, the interest fees or other fees will be high. Example: The time when i bought this car, the interest is 2.XX. Now you can read from the news paper, it grows until 3.5% or minimum 3.2X% or above.

• Farveen on Nov 21, 2011 at 10:50 am

Hi,

I am in middle of planning to get a forte… I test drive the car . It was so cool. But unfortunately when i came back home and found that we could get a 2010 year forte for only 70k (sx spec) isn’t it a loss of 15k in year. Do you think it is better to get the 2nd hand or get a new one. Please help me guys.. I need a reply asap. I am plaaning to trade in my City 2005 and get a forte.

I have ford fiesta, Inspira, city and vios in my mind.

But thought of going for Korean car for the first time. Any feedback?

• ah beng on Mar 30, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Hi everyone, i'm seeking for advice~ currentlly i'm using honda city vtec 2005 ,i'm planning to buy a car ,but not honda or toyota(just to look for something diffrent)

few models in my list: mazda 2 sedan RM 79k, FORTE 2.O RM 94K , HYUNDAI AVANTE 2.0 RM 86K( after cash rebate), and peu 308VTI RM 9xK ( my budget not more than RM 100K)

I know nothing about car,pls advise~~ thanks in advance!

• Thundercats on Mar 30, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Hi Ah Beng,

The best advice is you need to test drive yourself due to different attitude driver different needs. In lieu with the car's technology, you can spend time to browse through their official website and compare, then check through forums.

• AH BENG on Mar 30, 2010 at 11:43 pm

thanks Thundercats ,

just visited kia showroom during lunch hour,was impressed by the safety spec: 6 airbangs and others , most probably will go for forte 2.0 ,

the only worry is the resale value and spare parts,

IN fact ,between safety(quality) and resale value, safety is something that i cant' compromise,

Visited hyundai showroom last sat, avante 2.0 seems a good deal, with only 84K ,but only dual airbags.

I have visited(and test drive) mazda, kia and hyundai ,i think i will make decision after test drive peu 308vti tis weekend.

I like mazda 2 exterior and peu308 vti very much, but forte2.0 overall(power,space,exterior,safety) is above average at its price……..

• Thundercats on Mar 31, 2010 at 1:49 am

Hi Ah Beng,

Yea, based on my past experience, if there is no Forte in this world, I am driving Avante d. Haha…. As for the resale value and spare parts, please read the response i wrote to Partiban. Oh ya, add on for the spare parts, I read some forums few days ago and seems like Naza is yet to open up it's 'real assembly' factory. Upon complete, don worry much about the car's spare parts anymore.

As for your case, you really need to have a test drive yourself. I need to be neutral for you else ppl might think that i am driving Forte that's why said Forte is good. As for the car's suspension, those good quality suspension is using 5 nuts instead of 4 nuts. You can compare your current city (4 nuts) with Civic or Accord (5 nuts). Those famouse 5 nuts nowadays are using MacPherson.

• AH BENG on Mar 31, 2010 at 10:05 pm

thanks a lot ~ thundercats,learned a lot from u,

visited peugeot bangsar showroom yesterday late evening,

i was told that the 308 vti are sold out of stock, the next batch price will be increase a bit,

308 very tempting ~

Rationnally will want a forte but emotionally will go for 308 VTI ~

hard to make decision, both are good car at its price

• Thundercats on Mar 31, 2010 at 10:16 pm

That's great. At least from now i can see that you are decreasing the numbers of cars become two choices now. Based on the info you gave, i can see that you are going into the showroom without test drive rite? (Correct me if i am wrong).

Schedule some time with the SA to have a real test drive. If you still cannot makeup your mind, then…. time to compare the technology within both.

1. Years of car's model?

Forte (End of 2009 or 2010)

• Thundercats on Mar 31, 2010 at 10:32 pm

That's great. At least from now i can see that you are decreasing the numbers of cars become two choices now. Based on the info you gave, i can see that you are going into the showroom without test drive rite? (Correct me if i am wrong). IF yes, it is time for you to test both cars.

While testing, please turn off the radio and listen to the engine sound. Best time for test drive is at noon (Shinny Day).

• nazmin on Apr 01, 2010 at 1:15 am

yeahh, aggree with thundercats, i can see that the only diff between these two choices is the price, if I were you Ah Beng I will choose Forte because my spending is bad, I presume you have much more to spend at the end of month so that money is not a problem, eventually you have to choose which one is suitable and comfort for your riding if in your case.

i really like forte but dont know when to buy it, have to calculate spending and all, plus my current car only age 2 year ++, so that i have to pump in some more money thou, and the problem is my current car is accent rxs 1.5gl and I didn't really findout what is her current value… *sigh*

• AH BENG on Apr 01, 2010 at 2:21 am

thundercats,thanks for your suggestion ~ i test drove the forte but not 308VTI ,yesterday late evening ,when i reached the PEUG showroom, is going to close.

i was told by the sales rep of KIA , forte 2.0 will be 2010 model, CBU,

2.0 forte out of stock now, if order, the car will be here at end of APRIL. ( any different between 09 /10 model?)

• Thundercats on Apr 01, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Oh ya, the reason why the KIA SA inform you FORTE 2.0 is out of stock due to the first batch shipment already fully sold. So….goes back to your initial though (round figure), the demand is high for this car and will it impact your re-sale value??? Justify yourself. :)

End of April will be second shipment for Forte 2.0. Still CBU units. Hope this release your relief. With regards of your concerns, do fell free to to discuss or ask us if you have any concerns. We shall try our best to answer and alleviate them accordingly. :)

• AH BENG on Apr 02, 2010 at 11:04 am

tHANKS again~ thundercats ,nazmin,

share some info~ according to motor trader ISSUE 476, FORTE ranked 14 of the top 20 models ,its FEB sales is 458 , follow by nissan sylphy ,avanza,innova …….

• AH BENG on Apr 02, 2010 at 11:39 am

share a link, just got it, NCAP crash test for KIA FORTE 2010 5stars,(not sure any different between US forte and malaysia cbu forte)

so sad , my lovely honda city is not in the crash test list~~~~,

http://www.safercar.gov/portal/site/safercar/menuitem.94b0130be143aeb342252f0835a67789/?vgnextoid=68adf2905bf54110VgnVCM1000002fd17898RCRD&vgnextrefresh=1&vehicleClass=Passenger%20Car&year=2010&make=Kia&model=Forte&page=1

• any one bought this car, can any one, tell abt the performance of the engine.

• rondowner on Apr 11, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Go test drive and feel urself the “Power To Surprise”

• Hi guys,
    ReSell value really so important now a days…….????
    Can any1 tell me WHICH BRAND resale value is HIGH after 1 year or more? i want to buy for invest then.
    I bought my 1.8 civic 2006 now only worth 80k or less (from 113k), i thought going to trade in buy 2.0 forte under waiting list , also if cant get off my car to 2nd hand dealer within this 2 weeks, the VALUE will DROP another 5k later. U SEE…. HONDA le….ADA RESELL VALUE? All depend the MARKET ok.
    This is CAR not HOUSE ok, u used DAILY on the road. A lot of people said 2 B (benz & bmw) got resell value, how many of us can affort? Buddies, some of benz 2-3 years later 50% price dropppppp…

• Rondowner on Apr 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Absolutely right..

Second Value = Demand & Supply

If want resale value go buy a house or property NOT liabilities..

Enjoying my experience,comfortable and satisfaction now..

Cheers,

Want to find out more go test drive yourself than input..

• King4891 on Apr 26, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Seem like a lot trap in the psycho of addicted to change a new car. When talk about resale value means how much can save when resale not saying how much can appreciate.

I crack my head why somebody ask me better to buy house….. wrong channel….. :)

• nazmin on Apr 27, 2010 at 10:49 am

King,

I tot dat there is explanation up there from CKW, i think dat its not the resale value does matter, its about how’s ur car market out there, i tell u 1 story, i have old saga made in 1994, i’ve just publish it in mudah within 2 hours there’s 2 3 people call me, within a week there’s about 20 people call me and used car personnel is among them, y? i also donno, maybe its a hot rod, so from there you can raise the price and reject right away who ever offer you less than you’ve expected…wakakaka…my old saga has a rusted body work and messed up interior, still got people to buy? funny isn’t it…i guess that there is some factor like saga club or hmm i donno…

just my experience…

• Rondowner on Apr 27, 2010 at 5:47 pm

As i hv said before…
      “Worry to much u will end up buying nothing” and i don’ base on
      “Assumptions in depreciation value i base on actual scenario”

Seems like u r still undecided what to buy since ur last post on Jan

Cheers,

• AhTan on Apr 28, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Went to plaza TTDI this morning to view the Naza Forte. Looks good for the price. Thinking of trading in my wife’s 2004 City for the 1.6SX – the higher spec seems worth the extra RM6K. The sale person said the car is actually CBU from Korea and waiting period is only 2-3 weeks. Anyone can verify that the current stock are CBU and not CKD? Any way to check / verify?
    Appreciate any one’s advise. Thanks in advance.

• Rondowner on Apr 30, 2010 at 12:35 am

From the info that i manage to dig is more like a DkD
      whereby only few items are assemble in Gurun
      Hood,Trunk,Dash,WS and the seats and the engine and body are intact
      prior to delivery here..

So ur call whether is CKD or CBU and full fledge CKD will only probably
      after 1 year whereby the volumn justified and by that time we may not certain on
      the price (may increase or may add in some accessories here and there )
      then remain the price or maybe increase and worse are some feature may be reduce
      or remove for cost cutting measures..NxZx are quite cheap with this kind of strategies

So if ur negotiations skills are good and offer right Grab it if u hv decide on ur choice..
      Just my 2 cents.. :-)

Cheers,

• Nizam on Apr 29, 2010 at 4:27 pm

If i’m not mistaken Kia and Hyundai now had merged. Theta II engine is produced by Hyundai. I think Hyundai engine quite reliable. Imagine Civic 2.0 cost you around RM130K compare to Forte 2.0 RM93K. Different around RM37K!!!! Please do not compare this Forte with old Sephia / Spectra which is crap…..

• interested me.. on May 24, 2010 at 10:08 pm

nice..nice nice.. holy shit.. it is a very good deal.. i’m only worry bout the maintenance.. will the maintenance price drop as what has happened to H? H has already launch campaign to reduce price for parts..huhu..

• ETA rear suspension : (
    Had experience once. Easily bent and cost a bomb to replace.
    Definitely not taking it after seeing this.

• geduak boyz on May 15, 2010 at 10:00 pm

enuff la helping the naza family. they arae daman rich now, yet little they contribute to us. i admire T or H brand, their quality control is more strigent compared to others for the same type of car

• interested me.. on May 24, 2010 at 10:15 pm

what about maintainence? I was considering on buying C-segment either form Hs or Ts… well.. Ts has establish strong market value plus the maintainence is getting lower and lower in term of price… but forte is just a very tempting baby to own..

• linggam on Jun 05, 2010 at 12:06 am

Should go for the Forte.
      Full spec.
      Features – Smart key system + ETC is enough , value for money

• karipulai on May 31, 2010 at 11:27 am

very nice car, i saw at giant batu caves yesterday. x think about resale value, but the design n technology behind, the seat not so sure either it is par to original KIA Forte standard since this is from a local vendor maa. feel like audi…

• Zuridan on Jun 08, 2010 at 12:07 pm

For your information, i consider 2 car (honda city and forte). I already test both of the car. My summary is

Honda city :
    1. Very2 cool exterior design and engine (I-vtec low fc). My wife love it!!
    2. Interior is suck. Same as my Myvi. not special at all. just add usb if you compared it. So boring….
    3. Small cabin….I think 2 eldest was enough to sit in back.
    4. High down payment RM 9200 with monthly installment RM970.00
    5. 3 Years or 100k Km, service around RM160.00

Forte :
    1. Exterior cool….nice, pretty and engine (dohc CVVT – my SA told me 0.13sen per km)
    2. Interior was awesome!!!. Not same at all with my Myvi. Many gadget inside!!
    3. Huge cabin….2 time more big from city.
    4. Low down payment RM8200 with monthly installment RM860.00 (wave RM100 from city)
    5. After sales – 2 years extended 3 years if <50km, service around RM200.00

lastly I argue with my wife which one……??? city, people look at you and said…wow…drive honda…
    forte….people look at you… forte…korean car… but nice……..

aiyoo……….make my heart and mind two parts lor…..

• kevin on Sep 12, 2010 at 12:47 pm

i beg to differ…nowadays i see people drive forte…my air liu meleleh…. see the car so damn nice…with bodykit…ooooo….

• cttan456 on Jun 10, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Hi, I am from Singapore. Just to let you guys know, the Forte is the best selling car here for the 1st quarter of 2010. I drive a previous gen 2006 Cerato and I have ZERO problems and am still driving it. Some of my relatives own Kia cars too and they were very reliable too. I hate the way Toyota and Honda rip us off and I just want you guys to know that Kia is just reliable than Honda and Toyota, that is if you ignore Toyota’s recall excercise. Kia really rock and I am looking forward to the new K5, which may be my next car. Way to go Kia! Better looks and features at a lower price. That’s unbeatable!

• seksek on Jun 12, 2010 at 4:05 pm

The car had a good value now and i like it.but i had vy bad experience in Kia Spectra ‘s ABS cant be repair after 3 yearas warranty expired….Nearly goto Death… cant expect their after sales service in KL

• cttan456 on Jun 16, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Spectra was 2 generations before Forte. We should put the past behind as things have completely changed a lot since then. They have made a massive jump in terms of quality and design. If you are up to date with the car industry, you would know that many of their cars have won awards. The Kia C’eed has ranked 4th in JD Power. Kia Soul and Forte was highly rated in Edmunds.com. They are selling like hot cakes everywhere. Some people have outdated mentality because they haven’t been keeping in touch with things and are still stuck with the thinking that Korean cars are bad because of their older models. Well, that is in the past and history.

• stephh on Jul 27, 2010 at 9:19 am

Does anyone know if naza is bring in Forte Koup??

• Thundercats on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Hi Stephh,

SO SAD! What i can say is…. really bad to stay in Malaysia due to stupid TAX!
      Naza will not import Kia Koup (include Forte Koup) family unless you buy at Singapore. Some fans of Malaysians prefer koup, they even changed Forte bumper as Koup’s bumper. But again…. Forte still Forte, Koup still Koup.
      Remember…via surface Koup is using two doors and have top-windows whereas Forte is like normal Sedan.

• vincent on Jul 28, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Hi Guys,
    Have learnt so much reading your comments.
    But I am still troubled by value and specifications and after sales service.
    My heart goes for Forte, my wife thinks the City will stay in better shape. My daughter asked me to follow my heart. My heart is tied to my pockets.
    My present car which is a Waja has been with me for 9 years and only registering 63,000 km. My next would probably be kept that long too.
    Do you think I shd follow my heart? I may sound silly but appreciate constructive comments and suggestions
    Thanks alot

• eunice on Jul 29, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Hi,vincent….of course u need to follow ur heart lah….!!!!V earn money is to buy what we like and wants….Please always follow the what you think in the deep in your heart…..support!!!!!!

• vincent on Jul 30, 2010 at 11:30 am

Thanks Eunice! Made up my mind already. IT’s FOOOOOORTE for me

• The Titan on Jul 28, 2010 at 4:24 pm

hi all whos didn’t like kia forte i’m sure you will fall in love forte koup model,if still not,yeah i’m sure and everybody will agree with me that Kia K5 we all will fall in love…try to surf through youtube about Kia K5.it really leave you speechless

• eunice on Jul 31, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Hi, titan….yaya..the k5 veri nice….but it will going to launch in malaysia soon?

• The Titan on Aug 02, 2010 at 11:21 am

i’m not sure,but i really hope these machine will launch here one day.Oh NAZA company please take this model here…i’m waiting..

• shogun on Aug 05, 2010 at 11:47 pm

may 2010 1.6sx selling at RM75K

• nazmin on Aug 06, 2010 at 1:25 am

how about 70k?

• shogun on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Got to think and discuss with my partner coz this is a CBU forte. we plan to get sonata hyundai…

• bapak on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:35 pm

bro..go post elsewhere for better bargain…eg mudah.my etc

• nazmin on Aug 06, 2010 at 3:44 pm

i’m own a hyndai accent rxs 1.5 now and plan to sell it, she is 2.5++ years old, i bought it at 2007, if you know someone who wants to buy this car please let me know, and we can discuss further.

• shogun on Aug 06, 2010 at 4:50 pm

what is your expected price?

• nazmin on Aug 06, 2010 at 5:15 pm

i would say 28 – 31K, if you see at mudah they sell far more higher with year buy less than 2007…

• The Titan on Aug 09, 2010 at 8:44 am

hi thundercats,yeah if me also change the bumper to koup at accesories shop.the model of kia koup look more sporties then kia forte saloon.

last sunday i go to the showroom with my friend who is bmw’s mechanic,and he said this car have something special which couldn’t get at bmw car.the price really resonable,the car key/remote when you put inside the car,so the door will unlock.it’s for safety

• hasan on Sep 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Reaaally2 interested in dis Forte, but still doing my survey n waiting for da money also, huhu

• mickey on Sep 26, 2010 at 8:21 pm

damm this car is dead gorgeous!!!2nd value!!hmm dont even think abouts cars 2nd value..just got and get this!!!i have yet to walk in or test drive but im sure getting this baby in a month or so…i just need some details on the d/p,anyone knows?and what about the 15 years loan thingy?

• nazmin on Sep 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

I oso want this baby and also thought of buying with some loan supplement up to 15 years in several month ago, but no one is pretty sure about this, I read the comment up above that mention bout this and guess that it’s only issued by some branch, plus not sure if they can accept trade-ins…

• Road Thunder on Oct 17, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Buy a Proton, please. If ur asking for a 15 year loan, then you totally lost it!
      do you seriously think your Kia (or any Jap car nowadays) can last you 15 years? And if u let go after 7 years, get ready a box of tissue paper to dry your tears.

• Tutuz on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:08 am

Proton Sux. Dun have QC at all. If u think Kia can’t last 15years, then how well can your Proton perform?

Probably you should be wearing pampers plus thousands of kotak tissue due to no QC, fragile body and pasar malam spare parts.
        Good luck with your Proton.

• vincent on Sep 27, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Hi guys,
    I am getting my Forte soon.
    I have first got to sell off my 2002 WAJA which is manual and only register 63,000 km so far. I plan to sell at about RM 25,000. Any takers here?

• chew kw on Nov 03, 2010 at 11:17 pm

any one complains about cushion (driver n passenger)???? urgent!!!

• online shopping malaysia on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:04 pm

Do there have some call Forte 2.0 limited edition with sun roof/moon roof sell in the market?

• kevin on Nov 12, 2011 at 11:28 pm

very…very lousy car..i just get the car few months only,now the gear box give problem,now at kia workshop.
    already coming 2weeks,still not rectify.
    very disappointed.

• i dont wanna think about resale value or else, but all i know korean car maker like kia already beat toyota and honda before in few car of the year. they are par now. btw, im going to xchange my proton saga fl 30000km, 1 year used only with this second 2011 forte 2.0 sx. still new 2011 car, 15000km used only. its only cost for me 78K. i think that im a lucky guy!!!

• Adrian on Nov 14, 2012 at 3:38 pm

I think kia forte has been improved a lot in term of safety feature, handling and quality. I test drive one reluctantlsy yesterday( my sister drive me there and asked me to try first before decide to buy Almera or Vios, as she received good comment from his friends who use this car. I was amazed by the jumped of technology and improvement they made for this car as compared to previous spectra. The door is as heavy as many european car and you dont feel anything when your meter hit 130 km/hour like those Jap car due to heavier body and smooth handling of this car. For me safety is a most concern as life has not take two. They comes with dual airbag and NCAP 5 star safety rating which has outrun most of the T and H maker. price off course, is a bargain for those who want to go for c segment car. I am going to place a order tomorrow. You guys should really test drive this car to verify my statement.
    The younger generations are more open minded and they are the one who will lead the trend, so I am not worry at all about the resell value after 6 to7 years I drove this car. There is one more sporty model coming up which shows by the salesman to me, truly sporty sedan i ever see, told me price around 110k. should be a hot cake also when time to come……

• Adrian on Nov 14, 2012 at 3:39 pm

I think kia forte has been improved a lot in term of safety feature, handling and quality. I test drive one reluctantlsy yesterday( my sister drive me there and asked me to try first before decide to buy Almera or Vios, as she received good comment from his friends who use this car. I was amazed by the jumped of technology and improvement they made for this car as compared to previous spectra. The door is as heavy as many european car and you dont feel anything when your meter hit 130 km/hour like those Jap car due to heavier body and smooth handling of this car. For me safety is a most concern as life has no take two. They comes with dual airbag and NCAP 5 star safety rating which has outrun most of the T and H maker. price off course, is a bargain for those who want to go for c segment car. I am going to place a order tomorrow. You guys should really test drive this car to verify my statement.
    The younger generations are more open minded and they are the one who will lead the trend, so I am not worry at all about the resell value after 6 to7 years I drove this car. There is one more sporty model coming up which shows by the salesman to me, truly sporty sedan i ever see, told me price around 110k. should be a hot cake also when time to come……