Kia Cadenza/K7’s long but awesome TVC

Before I move on further, I must admit that Kia has definitely upped its ante recently with some impressive looking vehicles such as the Kia Forte and this, the Cadenza “luxury sports sedan” which is known as the K7 back in Korea.

Along with the recent reveal, the automaker has a released a pretty cool commercial video of the new Kia. If you think the Cadenza / K7 is good looking in photos, wait till you watch this video! Its quite long, 3 minutes and 38 seconds to be precise, but rather entertaining as it looks more of a short film with some chase scenes rather than a commercial.

The video showcases some features on the Cadenza / K7 including a welcome note on the instrument panel, a lane departure warning system, a reverse camera system with guide lines, heated steering, a floor-mounted accelerator pedal and more. I really hope it drives as well as it looks! Anyway, I shall let the video do all the talking.

Continue reading to enjoy the footage.

Watch on Youtube

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• sharkfish on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:41 pm

very nice design but the design..i hope proton can do better than this

• Stewart ST on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:50 pm

Impressive!

• seliparjamban on Nov 27, 2009 at 8:53 pm

whoaa

• l29qnlag on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:00 pm

"welcome to the furute"

• wow. nice car. wish tht it would be here now.

but Paul, i don't think that kia/naza is a good car. after bout 2-3 years, the car starts to break down and mostly will need some heavy maintenance, right? and it's 3.5L V6, so this price is about 150k++?? with that price i rather go for camry 2.0G or 2.4V also better right? 3.5L V6 the road tax also exp like hell. i have a 2.4 litre car and the road tax is RM967. so you can imagine the road tax for a 3.5L V6, i bet tht i'll hit 2k.

if they have this design for audi, i would definitely buy one of if. but the A4 is kinda nice. i love the front lights. the backlights should have make it alot more 'fierce' type then they will have a very good business.

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:13 pm

Isn't he the bad ninja on G.I Joe?

• sonyman on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Yummy, this is very very nice looking car, packed with nice goodies, i think next year again kia motors and naza will bring this in, yeah go go kia

• torque (Member) on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:28 pm

A good Kia is a Korean Kia not a Naza Kia!! Hyundai/Kia seems to be in the spotlight now recently, with many good looking models, new developed engine, recently 4th in world as the biggest car maker and damn…this K7 is bloody great!! Overall looks is fantastic, heated steering wheel? And floor mounted pedals? That's like supercar stail…lucky Koreans!! With not shabby performance from 3.5 V6 producing 290 bhp…good! Thumbs up Kia!

• torque (Member) on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:37 pm

RL,

3.5 V6 is not priced at 2k…it's exactly RM 4,371.00!!! Just go to any 350Z or 350 CLS and peek at it's roadtax…it has gone up from previous price which is RM 3,700++ I think. That's why lots of 350Z owner starting to ditch their ride and why you could get it for a around RM120k only these day…

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:44 pm

Awesome!!!

• rugaxp on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:48 pm

"Harvinder Sidhu said,

November 27, 2009 @ 1:13 pm

Isn’t he the bad ninja on G.I Joe?"

Yes he is, He is Lee Byung Hun one of the most popular male actor in korea.

The relation of this clip is from Iris(which Lee Byung Hun is one of the main male lead), which is a popular drama now on KBS.

• ticket on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Naza use 40% of "made in malaysia" parts in their car.

naza kia is not same as "100% made in korea" kia

• ticket on Nov 27, 2009 at 9:52 pm

@RL

btw, This car is not a Camry/Accord fighter.

Wheel base length :

Kia Cadenza (2845 mm) > Toyota Avalon (2822 mm) > Lexus ES (2776 mm)

Lexus ES350 (US spec) : 3.5L V6 272 HP / fuel economy 9.8?/l

Toyota Avalon (US spec) : 3.5L V6 268 HP / fuel economy 9.8?/l

Kia K7 (Cadenza-Korean spec-) : 3.5L V6 290 HP / fuel economy 10.6?/l

• korekorea on Nov 27, 2009 at 10:24 pm

K7 antivirus ….

now i7m amazed

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2009 at 10:29 pm

RL,

Kia cars in malaysia usually breakdown due to problems like alignment, fittings, leakages that usually relate to assembly faults done by naza. Try looking at Kia's in other country especially china. They use spectras as taxis nd according to drivers there no other car in more durable to the harsh chinese weather condition. They also said that Kia's there has the longest service interval, 35000km for their taxis. FYI i make frequent business travel to china, so i know better.

Japanese cars made in thailand also do not show much better structural rigidity. When u see cars being serviced my UMW or honda, the only thing that seldom breaks down is the engine because that is a japanese component(i own a 2.4 camry so yet and again i know better). So its naza to blame for kia's downfall in malaysia.

• mytouch on Nov 27, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Cool car & cool video…This guy should use it in his next "G.I.Joe 2" movie,kekeke…

• hamzaH on Nov 27, 2009 at 11:00 pm

HE IS THE "STORM SHADOW" FROM THE G.I JOE MOVIE !!! LOL

• Gajen on Nov 27, 2009 at 11:23 pm

front from saab…back from audi…the video they are trying to follow bmw…bmw normally make short movies…

however its a nice car…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 27, 2009 at 11:48 pm

dont like it

• chyan on Nov 28, 2009 at 12:06 am

Damn it's sick.

• Taufik SM on Nov 28, 2009 at 12:13 am

nice car ..dude

• purity on Nov 28, 2009 at 12:18 am

position of the front emblem kills it!

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 28, 2009 at 12:46 am

RL said,

November 27, 2009 @ 1:13 pm

wow. nice car. wish tht it would be here now.

but Paul, i don’t think that kia/naza is a good car. after bout 2-3 years, the car starts to break down and mostly will need some heavy maintenance, right?

Don't worry, I know a local car manufacturer that are poor in its workmanship, that it will only take less than a year to breakdown… guess guess guess *thehehe*

• kia/hyundai are pretty reliable. im driving a 3 yr old getz, so far no problem.

• Methink on Nov 28, 2009 at 2:11 am

headlight..kind of Gen2 evolutionised headlight …that's kind of trend and taken shape my many cars..i think so la…

• Well nice car but dam. audi rear light style.

alot of dudes keep copying audies.!

audi still the best for me :)

• shawal on Nov 28, 2009 at 3:04 am

Pretty cool advert to showcase the car's gizmo n potential, very little/almost no body roll when it cornered hard to the right in the 2nd parking lot scene , dunno if its true or video editing (fast forward) , its a nice looking car , with a good enterior , a bit fat for my taste…but , even the 3.0 V6 honda accord is close to RM300k in Malaysia….i dunno if this car has what it takes to win malaysian fans over with a hefty price tag… , A grey import might come…, but will only be on d road after heavily discounted….

• meteoraniac on Nov 28, 2009 at 3:23 am

back looks like a audi a4 .. im not complaining though .. awesome looking car ..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 28, 2009 at 3:51 am

better than merc e-class

• siamsix on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:47 am

… iris is the title of the drama tis guy currently starring…the music is from the drama .. Astro channel 303… kbs world..wed to Thursday 9pm..:)

• pakchimyvi on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:58 am

maybe you guys don't know..

got the price some where for this Cadenza/K7..

price only 18-22k USD!!!!

• Ooi..all those special sound effects when switching on the driving & main beam lights cost extra-kah? Anyway, based on my ownership of a Korean CBU vehicle for the past few years… yes, 1st 3-4 years everything ok…then 5th year onwards everything starts breaking down / wearing out… So, I can't even imagine those CKD / localised versions. Don't believe me? Then go ahead, buy one and try-lah!

• Monster2020 on Nov 28, 2009 at 6:56 am

Woh This car have a very cool advertisment….

• narrowband on Nov 28, 2009 at 7:30 am

wah lan eh the video is superb

• yes yes yes please bring in this kia, CBU ya, Naza tak boleh pakai wan.

• anoneemus on Nov 28, 2009 at 9:21 am

what a good getaway car! i reckon i could do some evil and still race away in a kia.

• Exigezero on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:04 am

Definitely cool. First time i repeat a korean car video advert. Previously, I don't even bother to watch it. This car is really something. Wonder if it is penned by Peter Schreyer, ex Audi n Volkswagen designer.

Btw, anyone know the title n singer of the song played in the movie?

• KIA R&D engineer done a good job. They keep develop new tech, new look and low price to capture more and more market share.

• potentially a Optima replacement? looks great with tonnes of wonderful features! thumbs up for Kia!

• K7, korea answers to the BMW 7-series…?

malaysian are still skeptical.

but in another 3-5 years.

i think ppl will accept the kia brand.

• l29qnlag on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:51 pm

it is a amanti/opirus replacement.

It is a Kia version of Toyota Avalon/Nissan Maxima.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Korean Kia is different from Malaysian Naza Kia.

As someone from "across the pond" I can say that the quality, fit and finish is much different from our NAZA Kia.

I always maintained malaysians still have a way to go to learn about job quality and putting things together correctly the first time out. Its an attitude problem. This doens't inflict only KIA. Honda is just as bad. I don;t say this jsut to spite our local CKD plants, but the results speak for themselves. You hire with peanuts, you get monkeys.

Overseas, they can afford to give 10 year bumper to bumper warranties. Same goes to Hyundai as well.

You can tell from the design language and the marketing that Hyundai is targeting Toyota/Lexus and Mercedes Benz and KIA is going after Honda and Audi.

Puts things into perspective what these 2 companies are doing. You would expect more and more new products to mirror if not attempt to surpass its targets.

• Jacky Yong on Nov 28, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Impressive car with impressive features! KIA has matured!

• boylosong on Nov 28, 2009 at 5:43 pm

with dis k7, i am already accepted kia!!!

Come on proton, learn more n quick k.

• Georgie on Nov 28, 2009 at 6:47 pm

What a class… I think nor the upcoming Waja or Perdana could beat this car. Well proton, you guys better catch up quick..

• slumber on Nov 28, 2009 at 10:03 pm

CTR said,

November 27, 2009 @ 9:41 pm

Ooi..all those special sound effects when switching on the driving & main beam lights cost extra-kah? Anyway, based on my ownership of a Korean CBU vehicle for the past few years… yes, 1st 3-4 years everything ok…then 5th year onwards everything starts breaking down / wearing out… So, I can’t even imagine those CKD / localised versions. Don’t believe me? Then go ahead, buy one and try-lah!

==========================================

CTR,

Parts won't breakdown on the 5th year & onwards…. breakdown & wearing out are matters of care & maintenance.

Same as you, I also own & driving a Korean CBU, Getz 1.3 to be exact. My wife also drives a same car as me.

Both of our cars are maintained according to the service interval (10k), so far after 5 years what was noticed was the fabric inserts on the door started to come off and some jitters of loose fittings around the door panel (partly because I've opened & fitter a pairs of components speakers). This portion is still the weak point of our car but that doesn't much to daily use of car. FC wise it depends on my right foot, on average city & jam traffic drive I still can get around 400km/38lit. I did once 600km/37km on highway from Penang to Johor (surprises me!) cruising at 110km/h with my wife & 4 days of luggage.

Mechanically, engine still works wonderfully, suspension still provided ample absorbtion after 96k of mileage, brakes still works wonderfully strong, power windows has never fail, a/c compressor unit still strong….. Try to find these criteria in our national car of recent models & you'll know what results you get.

I'm sorry your car doesn't meet your expectation, for me my next car will still be a kimchi car; tom yam car – no thanks; nasi lemak car – no thanks; sushi car – yes but the price no thank you.

• jolly_idiot on Nov 28, 2009 at 10:13 pm

The front like camry. the buttock like audi. Kia really like to copy?

• waimak on Nov 28, 2009 at 11:49 pm

This is a bloody good advertising-movie! caven design reminds me of citroen+audi.. impressive…

• KIA User on Nov 29, 2009 at 2:57 am

Go KIA CBU ONLY !~ NO NAZA PLS..every NA~ then ZA~..die lah. KIA will not sell cheap in 5 years time. compete with japanese automaker. while proton still competing with china automaker ( dont u remember new Gen 2 replacement would be use china make)…Oopss..

• tolan on Nov 29, 2009 at 3:09 am

Despite some hiccups, naza have contributed a lot to the automotive industry in msia. Ppl who hate naza are just bloody racist..

• UStilDunGetIt on Nov 29, 2009 at 5:50 am

Sure, Naza had brought some changes to the auto industry in Msia… But come to think of it, developing inferior quality cars, then selling them cheap in the name of other well-known international names is one seriously unethical move. Those who'd experience in owning a NazaKia and KoreanCBU Kia definitely know the difference…

• squawk on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:57 am

I've met Naza HQ staff before and I can say 95% of them are clueless.

• tolan on Nov 29, 2009 at 8:11 am

Dont aspect naza to be at par with established manufacturer. Even the crappy proton n produa have more experience than them. They r new n yet they r moving to the right direction. and just because the name is 'naza' instead of some foreign name ppl r looking down at them. These ppl r just plain jealous unpatriotic racist who dont even deserve to live in this country. Btw, u will get what u r paying for n perhaps even more now. Unlike other bloodsucking companies which are selling overrated piece of japanese crap…

• 308T-BOY on Nov 29, 2009 at 10:06 am

GOOD! When would NAZA bring in this baby and sell it at 160k??

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

squawk said,

November 28, 2009 @ 10:57 pm

I’ve met Naza HQ staff before and I can say 95% of them are clueless.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Agree!!! Typical Bumi style.. malaysia boleh!!

• chyan on Nov 29, 2009 at 6:28 pm

Oh btw.. The scenes is from Korea's newest hit drama IRIS. :D

• squawk on Nov 29, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Iris…. watched a couple of episodes. Cool spy action drama. Pretty actress too. :-)

• squawk on Nov 29, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Naza seriously needs to change the way they do things internally if they wanna make it.

• nice front grille. but duno how the engine performance of this car…

• tolan on Nov 30, 2009 at 12:56 am

308T-BOY said,

November 29, 2009 @ 2:06 am

GOOD! When would NAZA bring in this baby and sell it at 160k??

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

squawk said,

November 28, 2009 @ 10:57 pm

I’ve met Naza HQ staff before and I can say 95% of them are clueless.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Agree!!! Typical Bumi style.. malaysia boleh!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wow.. typical case of racism.. from a retarded immigrant.. poor u.. hehe

• squawk on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:07 am

I saw a 2-door Kia which looks very much like this K7 on a Korean program. Looks long and wide.

• torque (Member) on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:32 am

Paku dulang paku serpih….

• Ikreatif on Nov 30, 2009 at 7:56 am

Proton…….. established in 1983 as auto car maker

KIA ……….. established in 1940's as manufacturer of steel tubing and bicycles.

Now,

Proton….. ???????????

KIA…….. World Brand.

• azrai on Nov 30, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Awesome progress KIA has made now. Peter appointment is the best ever decision by them. We all the Malaysian really hope Proton can be on par like KIA did rigt. Hopefully.

• fdsdf on Dec 01, 2009 at 1:53 am

@Ikreatif

Proton established in 1983.

But, BYD established in 2003.

Geely established in 1986.

Chery established in 1997.

It is possibly proton will crushed by Young Chinese brand.

• looks so similar to new bmw 5 series. both front and back

• Kia the next generation to beat japanase cars in msia..

• tolan said,

November 29, 2009 @ <a title="Permanent link to this comment" href="#comment-278452" rel="nofollow">4:56 pm

Wow.. typical case of racism.. from a retarded immigrant.. poor u.. hehe

————————————————————————————–

Result speak for themselves dude,

If NAZA is good then it's good, if it's not NAZA have to accept it and find the way to resolve it. Think positively will bring you a bright future. Flaming will not bring you anything.

• koolowez on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:43 pm

The new chief of design of KIA= ex-Audi designer

thus, lots of audi design elements got implemented in new 2010 KIA cars

• sooby on Feb 03, 2010 at 10:56 am

KIA's reputation in Korea is just as good as Hyundai. Just based on the reliability + durability of the car, KIA is known to be better than Hyundai (although they are essentially merged now).

Design looks like AUDI because they hired former AUDI chief designer to improve their look, which works like charm.

I will buy this car when it is released in US.

• ReKoup on Feb 10, 2010 at 3:56 pm

@biz

Wonder WHY it looks like an Audi?

THE SAME DESIGNER MADE IT ! :) :) :)

Audi TT and many other popular cars.

And also the 2010 Kia Koup SX, impressive enough to make me, a 40 year old, buy his first NEW car. First non-American car, too. Hondas are fugly.

• Precious Obioha on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:57 am

Is the $22k+ for real?

• Precious Obioha on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:59 am

I hope the K7 is not the video/photogenic type. Is the 22k+ vat inclusive?

• Emeka on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:04 am

Is the 22k+ vat inclusive?

• Kuzumi-sama on Jul 16, 2010 at 12:32 am

what..trailer pickup from IRIS drama show by KBS and TBS Japan