Exciting Renaults reaching our shores in 2010

megane renaultsport 2010

To follow up on Paul’s earlier post about the Megane RenaultSport, we can expect that it will be brought in to replace the R26. Renault distributor in Malaysia, TC Euro Cars put up a teaser ad in Autocar ASEAN showing the new hot Megane’s face along with a ‘2010’ headline. When it arrives, the 250bhp Megane will play in the same park as the Volkswagen Scirocco since both manufacturers bill their three-door hatchbacks as ‘coupes’. It should be a fine driver’s car too, if the R26 is any indication. Will we be too greedy to ask for the new Clio RenaultSport as well?

According to our sources, another possible new addition to the local lineup is the Renault Laguna Coupe. Looking like a baby Aston Martin is all well and good, but let’s hope that prices won’t stray too far from the BMW 3-Series coupe, which the Renault undercuts in Europe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• giant on Dec 02, 2009 at 12:42 am

Nice one

• wuttaheck on Dec 02, 2009 at 12:49 am

1st…

• lchan on Dec 02, 2009 at 12:56 am

whats there to tease?…TC is well known for bring cars and putting stupid price tags on them. I bet its going to go for 255k-280k, probably more towards the higher side.

• Dont blame them for putting the prices high. Do you think anyone likes to sell at a high price and get no volume? Blame our fantastic government. Cars are taxed with 30% import duty and then 80% excise duty and then another 10%. If a car is 250K then a good third of that price goes to the government for them to put more people into space, more towers to build and the rest into their goddamn greedy corrupted pockets. Whilst others like Naza underdeclare and lord knows what else freely. the rest just suffer in silence. Well actually a few rogues continue to underdeclare drastically. If you check the declared pricing on the golf GTI . It is declared to have a landed value of about RM52K….which is bloody ridiculous.

• gali lubang on Dec 02, 2009 at 1:15 am

it is so obvious but still they can get away with it…i've seen recond cars were ridiculously under declared..its crazy

• ikreatif on Dec 02, 2009 at 1:16 am

Agreed with Reza, d**n G……

I always dream for this kind of wheel???? when to get???

Please vote me for next Prime Minister, I will declare no import duty on anything except cigar and liquor, 10 % excise duty and free burial's lot too…. kah..kah..kah….

• klguy on Dec 02, 2009 at 1:22 am

paul,

wat is ther to b excited about when the price is goin to be freaking high. can only c c and that may get the poor malaysians excited :P …

• Paul Tan on Dec 02, 2009 at 1:32 am

I personally am hopeful for an affordably priced CKD Renault Fluence. European design with Japanese (Sylphy) engine.

• hardeep on Dec 02, 2009 at 2:35 am

Renault make good cars..sadly the r26.r never arrived here…but i enjoyed the r26 and the clio rs…even the megane rs (4 doors) never arrived.

• swoosh3553 on Dec 02, 2009 at 6:13 am

why is it tht almost all car makers launching their new model having "day driving light" LEDs. I bet Audi is makings tons from copyright…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 02, 2009 at 6:30 am

Paul Tan said,

December 1, 2009 @ 5:32 pm

I personally am hopeful for an affordably priced CKD Renault Fluence. European design with Japanese (Sylphy) engine.

—————————————-

yeap, that makes sense. makes me remember about the alfa romeo arna. huge disaster, japanese design, italian engine….

• problem is, few will buy because of the brand awareness here, as well as the lack of service center, resale value, your usual suspects.

really sad to see a nice car get slapped with a price that is marked up because of the letter "G"

i still hope to see the airplane handbrake in this, together with the card ignition system.

• Ariff on Dec 02, 2009 at 7:16 am

well,i dun think it'll be above 250k.maybe in the 200k-230k.they need to fight with scirocco,gti n type-r.and for the pricing,i still think it's reasonable.well,complaining won't get us anywhere.but maybe the tax is,a wee bit high.what's all the money for anyways??they claimed to be used to repair roads n watsoever.but i saw NOTHING.they repair the road with cheap tarmacs that even a compact SUV can break.haiz,g,g.i believe they have to rethink everything.

• torque (Member) on Dec 02, 2009 at 9:20 am

Agreed with Ariff on the matter of price!! Still, I won't get myself the Scirocco…great looks but old golf engine with 200 hp, really old interior and worth around 240k…no thanks! Next, the GTI MK6…hmm…talk to the sales rep already…cost lower than the Scirocco around 210k, good new engine, another 10hp extra, lovely interior but…not as handsome as the MK5, so I'll pass!

Next…aaaahhh…the CTR…I LOVED JDM…with 225hp, still retaining the old price (well done Honda!), great new K20A engine but I'll pass for 2 main reason…1: the suspension….it's a track car not a daily ride and to change the suspension will effect it's performance…2: everybody n i mean everybody driving a CTR these days even the cap ayam one!!!

So, to own this Megane Sport does come with some merit too…the most hp of these bunch, the most fresh and good looking (subjective…yeah i know), unique as u and only u could drive one (no cap ayam)…and just like the R26…it's a winner just to own one!

p/s: to those lucky few…

• xavier lert on Dec 02, 2009 at 5:10 pm

maybe its 300k

• Gummy on Dec 02, 2009 at 6:35 pm

torque said,

December 2, 2009 @ 1:20 am

Agreed with Ariff on the matter of price!! Still, I won’t get myself the Scirocco…great looks but old golf engine with 200 hp

—————————-

Correction my fren, the Roc has the NEW EA888 engine, only different power (10 HP) output.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 03, 2009 at 3:27 am

Gummy said,

December 2, 2009 @ 10:35 am

torque said,

Agreed with Ariff on the matter of price!! Still, I won’t get myself the Scirocco…great looks but old golf engine with 200 hp

—————————-

Correction my fren, the Roc has the NEW EA888 engine, only different power (10 HP) output.

———————

btw what happened to the cars by volkswagen cartrade in the showroom at petaling jaya…..is it still there? or have they taken away the cars

• torque (Member) on Dec 03, 2009 at 6:44 pm

Gummy said,

December 2, 2009 @ 10:35 am

torque said,

—————————-

Hey thanks for correcting me and the info bro! So, it does share the same engine as with the new Golf and the Passat CC huh…