Facelifted Nissan Qashqai revealed!

qashqai-nissan

Nissan has just unveiled its facelifted Qashqai mid-sized crossover, a car positioned in Europe as an alternative to traditional VW Golf class hatchbacks. Since its March 2007 launch, the Qashqai has exceeded Nissan’s sales expectations, with the 500,000th customer delivery set to take place before the end of 2009. Last year saw the introduction of the Qashqai+2, a seven-seat long wheelbase version of the original. The Qashqai is called the Dualis in Japan, and a few of those can be found on our streets as grey imports.

The biggest visual change is at the front with a new bonnet, front bumper, wings, grille and headlamps. Behind, the redesigned light clusters retain the same shape but are tweaked to reduce drag, while the tail lights are now of the LED variety. Two new five-spoke rim designs are available as well. Coefficient of drag (cd) has dropped from 0.34 to 0.33.

Inside, the cabin features a new dial design for added clarity while the redesigned trip computer with white text display sits between them. Further improvements include ambient lighting around the front footwells. New cubbys have been added too. Nissan claims improved isolation against noise, vibration and harshness, achieved by adding multi-layer insulation material around the front bulkhead, plus the fitment of an ‘acoustic’ windscreen. Wind noise around the A-pillar has also been lowered. Finally, the suspension has been tuned for improved ride comfort.

Joining the two petrol (1.6 and 2.0) and two diesel (1.5 and 2.0) models is a 1.5 dCi Pure Drive variant that produces only 129g/km of CO2. This is achieved via weight reduction, aerodynamic wheel covers, blanking of the fog lamp sockets, low rolling resistance tyres and lengthening of the final drive ratio.

More pictures after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=665]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nice !!!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:29 am

looked better last time

• y malaysia nissan not got tis model?

• urgly car

• Gajen on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:48 am

boring

• BeemerFreak on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:54 am

Any plans from Tan Chong to bring it here? I saw one in Singapore bearing the name Dualis.

• pity tan chong doesn bring it here in malaysia. might sell well and replace the xtrail.

cvt gearbox, 2 liter engine tuned for efficiency. moderate space, higher riding height etc etc.

• it isn't boring at all to me .

it is a very special car, as sporty as a VW golf but u can see further on it when it is taller than the rest of the cars.

• skiborne on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:21 am

y edaran tan chong didnt bring this in? maybe this would "destroy" x-trail's sales?

• Mufasa on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:32 am

i think it have vanette engine inside

• shawal on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:56 am

hahahaha…. vanette engine…

now qashqai looks better in sum ways but it doesnt go well with is curved shoulder lines, the previous 1 its not ugly, altho it look alot like a koala bear….,

Tan Chong can't bring it ere cuz it'll be too expensive to sell….cuz its built in sunderland/england n fukuoaka , japan… (wikipedia) …, Tan chong will ony bring it in if its assembled round' Asean….

The X-trail is ageing , but…. the economic downturn doesnt encourage suvs/soft roaders much i think….

European likes… 'isi tersirat' kind of styling…somethin hidden, heck, who knows …..they're european…while.. Asian … we like 'isi tersurat'…or " HEY! LOOK AT ME!" kind of styling..,

dats y the japanese cars sold there are designed there….

but my all type fav is previous european Honda Accord…in ukraine here whr i'm studying, theres alot of them… too bad they're a lefty

• Just_Once on Dec 05, 2009 at 3:10 pm

When nissan facelifting, they really make major facelift… That is my point of view..

• fique D on Dec 05, 2009 at 3:29 pm

cash what.. heheh i can't afford this… nice meter tho..

• mystvearn on Dec 05, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Reminds of Volvo XC90

• Ariff on Dec 05, 2009 at 5:51 pm

nice!!better than the pre-facelifted version.n the rims nice too~

• altimasss on Dec 05, 2009 at 7:18 pm

nice !.. the facelift made the difference

• perkasa on Dec 05, 2009 at 7:37 pm

bukan ke model Dualis ni dah ada kat Msia? cuma kurang promosi je

still nice..its Nissan anyway..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 05, 2009 at 7:49 pm

why are our nissan look so shitty

• I like it. It doesn't look that simple than the previous design.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Tan Chong's son just died on a car accident this morning nearby Jalan Istana. He is driving a X-Trail and lost control. Will this affect people's confident on Nissan?

• littlefire on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:44 pm

Is not Tan Chong's son, is the CEO son, Datuk Ang.

He died of lost control and rumored that he is drunk.

If drink and drive.. Haiz…

Besides that if people will affect just becoz of 1 accident? How about Princess Diana S-Class Merc?!? I still see a lot of ppl buying merc still?

• squawk on Dec 05, 2009 at 9:46 pm

Hey, no yucky beige interior?

• Jimmy on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:15 pm

No telescopic steering again, Nissan??? (I don't know about this car, just ask only). Even when it is here in M'sia, better buy Tucson or Santa Fe, or Sportage; more value for money.

• brutus on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:18 pm

think if this is in Msia, sure will give the CRV a good run for its money.

• TURBOfans on Dec 05, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Again!

Why didn't TAN CHONG bring in this model?

This is a question mark same with many other nice model of NIssan which not available in here~!

Time to switch Nissan dealer in here!!!

Nissan is a good car, has many nice models~ jsut that the dealer cannot do his job..

where's the TEANA? when only SG ppl drive it ages then brought in to malaysia?? so now the Jap segment D car left only Camry & Accord… as last time still can choose the Cefiro~

and now this baby… if u have it here.. sure can beat hell out of CRV..

oh come on.. we dun need the Tan Chong manipulate the Nissan brand like family business~~ please… The Nissan HQ should come down often to see wat is happening with his brand in malaysia~

We love nissan.. just its seem like the range offer here is not complete enuf~

• the CEO's son IMHO doesn't wear a seatbelt while driving , it is kinda obvious that when a person has been thrown out from the car but the car isn't badly wrecked . i am not too sure either , but condolences to his family and nissan as well .

i do see this new qashqai is heavily influenced by the GTR from the bonet deisgn and line flow.

• skiborne on Dec 05, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Jimmy.

hey anybody knows a thing or two on suzuki grand vitara?, its its not that popular in msia, y ah? fuel consumption teruk eh?

• now that is definitely better

• shawal on Dec 06, 2009 at 12:13 am

you can go to autocar.co.uk n check it out~! they have road tests n reviews, alho d version there mite be slightly different

• c14man on Dec 06, 2009 at 12:40 am

exterior is nice. dial looks dull.

not sure bout the rest of the interior.

looks bigget than Golf.

sure it's Golf-class?

Govt has not reduced tax for SUV.

so dont think tall vehicles will sell well, at least not before the G change the policy. Thank you G!

• It adds variety to the market maybe some parallel importers will be bringing it in next year.

With the sad feeling of a lost son, where drunk or not, have to wait until mourning period is over before new launches will be seen.

The X -trail is a good n competent vehicle except lose out on looks.

• Leonardo on Dec 06, 2009 at 3:29 am

Not bad, probably styled by their European studio.

• mufasa on Dec 06, 2009 at 3:48 am

Besides that if people will affect just becoz of 1 accident? How about Princess Diana S-Class Merc?!? I still see a lot of ppl buying merc still?

—————————————————–

same goes to p1, i have no major prob with my 3 model of p1, but people keep say it a bad car? so i just wonder? oo i forgot ,,they europe and jap car!!!

• Leonardo on Dec 06, 2009 at 3:54 am

The 2 'lumps' on the bonnet/hood is similar to Merc's SLK sport.

• The Who.. on Dec 06, 2009 at 4:52 am

Now this is what i call facelift

• Ikreatif on Dec 06, 2009 at 5:51 am

Please bring in the car… do you people know how can I own one?

• i tot the son was driving a CRV?

well he wasnt wearing seatbelts so its a gone case right frrom the start.

• wiralution on Dec 06, 2009 at 8:23 am

the front grille reminds me of the subaru Imprezza.

• torque (Member) on Dec 07, 2009 at 1:27 am

Yeah…Tan Chong really should bring this to Malaysia…better looking than the VW CrossPolo!!

• the look is there,but tan chong will surely disappoint u all. that type of old man thinking.

chinese says, infront of the boat scared of thief, the rare or boat scared of ghost!

• neutral on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:38 am

hmmm not so stunning compare sketches.CX7 lagi cun!

• zhang on Dec 10, 2009 at 12:46 am

yes, i fully agreed nissan is a good car, i m a nissan fan but Tan Chong is disappointing, hope more new model is coming, we are seeing so many new model around our neigbour, what happen to Tan Chong…. maybe the nissan guy from japan got to come here…

• Nissan on Dec 17, 2009 at 12:42 am

Tan Chong, pls bring in this car!

This is a nice car to own.

• alanc (Member) on Dec 20, 2009 at 10:39 am

The most obvious change is to the front end, which has been completely redesigned, though there are some other styling tweaks around the car which help to lower its drag coefficient. There are also two new alloy wheel designs, along with two new colours, Magnetic Red and Mineral Grey.

Inside, there are new instruments, a revised trip computer, some extra storage spaces and low-level lighting for the front footwells. Extra sound deadening has been added, and new window seals reduce the wind noise around the windscreen pillars. Nissan has also retuned the suspension – which frankly did need a second look – and promises improvements in ride comfort and responsiveness.

There are four trim levels, called Visia, Acenta, n-tec and Tekna. The most interesting of the Visias is called the Puredrive: it's a front-wheel drive version using the 1.5-litre dCi turbo diesel which we reckon is the best of the range, and with lower weight, aerodynamic wheel covers, low rolling-resistance tyres and higher gearing it has the lowest CO2 emissions of any Qashqai at 129g/km (compared with 137g/km for other 1.5 dCi models).

The Puredrive costs £16,795 and is one of the few versions not to be available in +2 form. Prices for the rest of the range, including 17.5% VAT, extend from £15,395 for the 1.6 petrol front-wheel drive Visia with manual transmission to £26,845 for the 2.0 dCi Tekna 4×4 automatic +2.