Hyundai i30 Test Drive Review

DSC_0017

Over the past year, the Malaysian car market has been blessed with much more variety than we’re used to seeing, and some new entries have blurred the price lines that many use to categorise cars.

For instance, someone looking to purchase a Vios or City at the region of RM90,000 will have new alternatives from a class above priced within reach. The Peugeot 308 VTi is one such good value product, the others being the just launched Kia Forte and the subject of this test report – the Hyundai i30.

Unlike the Forte, which launch blast included TV ads and special inserts in local mags, the Hyundai i30 had a relatively quiet introduction with very little fanfare. I for one have not seen any on the road besides the media test cars and many people we spoke to don’t know of its existence!

DSC_0007

So let’s recap. Belonging to Hyundai’s new generation of ‘i’ badged models, the i30 is a C-segment car designed to compete in the European family hatchback market, and is benchmarked againts class leaders such as the VW Golf. Both the i30 and its smaller sibling, the i10, have garnered impressive reviews from UK and Europe – no small feat for a Korean brand in markets much more sophisticated than ours.

And now, you can have it here for the price of a Modulo kitted Honda City – the i30 family starts from the 1.6 manual at RM92,388 to the 2.0 range topper at RM112,888. We try the mid range 1.6 auto which costs RM97,888.

Showroom appeal

IMG_5499

A sure sign that Hyundai has come a long way is in the i30’s cabin. Quality is immediately apparent in the dashboard moulding’s soft padded plastic, which is not unlike that of the Peugeot 308 – the brown hue chosen for the seat fabric and upper half of the cabin is quite pleasing too, reminding us of the Mini Clubman’s ‘Hot Chocolate’ pack.

Materials and ergonomics are well sorted – all controls fall easily into place and are simple to use, except for the aftermarket Pioneer stereo, which looks flashy but is frustrating to operate. Interestingly, Hyundai took the effort to link the non-factory player to the standard steering wheel controls; the wireless connection worked fine in this car, but less so in another unit I tried previously.

DSC_0027

Everything else is familiar – the blue illumination and instrument design are typically Hyundai; not the most classy in appearance but effective. Fussy Europeans demand things like telescopic adjustment for the steering as well as comfy seats, and the i30 duly delivers.

However, the Hyundai’s equipment list is underwhelming compared to the RM93,800 top spec Kia Forte – the i30 does without the 2.0-litre Kia’s Stability Control, leather seats/steering and curtain airbags, although it has basics like a full trip computer and single-zone climate control.

i30-space2 The i30 is one of the biggest cars in its segment, if you discount the new Opel Astra which really pushes the size boundary of this class. The Hyundai’s 2650mm wheelbase is for instance 70mm longer than the VW Golf’s, which translates to good rear legroom.

There’s also space under the front seats for backbenchers to tuck their feet into. The boot volume at 340 litres isn’t great though, as the rear needs to accomodate an independent suspension and a full sized spare tyre.

The rear multi-link system is more space consuming than a torsion beam suspension and more expensive to produce, but it pays off, as we find out.

Talented on the move

DSC_0019

It doesn’t take more than a drive around the block to discover that the i30’s chassis competes well with class leaders such as the Golf and Ford Focus, and that it’s far removed from Korean cars of old. You do get a feeling of solidity, an intangible factor that distinguishes Continental cars from their Asian counterparts. The i30 rides really well on 16-inch wheels, cushioning road imperfections from the cabin instead of transferring the shock wholesale like how a Honda Civic would. The 2.0-litre variant wears 17-inch rims which introduce a harder edge to the ride quality, but it’s still far from brittle.

The i30 offers good body control, but not of the iron fisted stiff springing kind – the suspension is allowed some travel but movement is always well controlled. The result is a fluid drive over B-roads, much smoother than a Peugeot 308 in fact. We observed that the steering of the 1.6 feels more natural than the similar electric system on the 2.0-litre, which is quick and direct but has what feels like inconsistent assistance/weighting.

In truth, the Hyundai lacks the unflappable nature of the super composed Mk6 Golf or the communication of the Focus, but it’s a very good effort and probably offers a better ride/handling balance than the Civic/Sylphy/Altis trio.

Powertrain

IMG_5485

Two engine options are available for the i30: a 141bhp/186Nm 2.0-litre Beta engine and our tester’s 1.6-litre Gamma unit with 120bhp and 153Nm of torque. The smaller engine is noticably slower, but was suprisingly sweeter revving than the 2.0 and with less buzz coming into the cabin.

Both CVVT engines have a decent spread of power throughout the rev range but our car could have done with more low-end urge – the Peugeot 308’s Prince engine beats it for flexibility and smoothness. We achieved fuel consumption of around 10 to 10.5km/l in our three days with the i30, according to the onboard trip computer.

The i30’s four-speed automatic worked unobtrusively, which is what a good auto should do – it was quick, smooth and smart enough although we’d gladly have an extra ratio for lower rpm highway cruising and better fuel economy. A five-speed manual is also an option for the 1.6; we’re eager to try it out when Hyundai-Sime Darby has a test unit available.

Worthy of our money?

i30-logo

The Hyundai i30 is a brilliant effort from a carmaker that has of late churned out cars that can match the best without excuses. It, the Peugeot 308 and Kia Forte should pose serious questions to those looking to buy a locally assembled Japanese B-segment sedan, as these cars from the next class up are much more sophisticated in design and quality.

As for the Hyundai, it deserves more attention for its abilities but is unlikely to get much due to the lack of design flair and desirability, which is a pity because there’s real substance beneath.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• KitKat on Dec 07, 2009 at 2:36 pm

Danny Tan? Paul's bro?

• pennstater on Dec 07, 2009 at 2:42 pm

looks really really boring for its price

• Yeah. Only saw 1 one on the road since launched.

• INOKOM CKD version at 15% lower.. yes.

CBU price, can say this is as rare as a Sumatran Rhino.

seen 1 so far as well.

• tansri on Dec 07, 2009 at 3:24 pm

I prefer forte more =)

cant wait to see the day satri neo replacement model come out, sure long way to go for proton to be on par with hyundai in European market..

• azrai on Dec 07, 2009 at 3:56 pm

The actual car inflesh really big, no wonder it got 2.0litre engine. The look quite boring though. Even the headlamp remind us to the Myvi. Korean has a long way to gay. malaysian are T and h obsessed market. They sceptical to Korean's car.

• kerelbort on Dec 07, 2009 at 4:00 pm

u made it look so tempting.. i would be in the market next year… and seriously considering a korean car(oh? is this me?) such as this i30 and Forte… or maybe a 308… the problem there not much dealer of hyundai and kia who would offer me a test drive everytime i walk into their shop… and ur benchmarking against golf does intrigue.

• Amarjie on Dec 07, 2009 at 4:07 pm

kerelbort..

may i correct your statement…

it's not paultan who benchmark the i30 against golf but it's the european car journalist… just read evo, auto car @ any europe magazine for that matter…

• Sonyman on Dec 07, 2009 at 4:34 pm

Looks nice, next year seems to be a Korean year, Forte, i30 , Peugeot 308, i think, market is turning around.

But i still prefer the Forte Against i30, Because of price point, But never the lest, both are great Korean Cars design to capture next years market.

• mystvearn on Dec 07, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Seen this car on the road, not really a looker. Must be good second hand value

• good looking car.

and this car have numerous awards from all over the world.

Car of the Year for 2007 by CARSGuide with the 1.6L CRDi model winning the Green Car of the Year award.

Hyundai's i30 Diesel Picked as Australia's Car of the Year

'Best Mid-size Car Under $28,000' by Australia's Best Cars to the Hyundai i30 SX petrol and i30 CRDi Turbo Diesel

Hyundai i30 chosen as 2008 Car of the Year in Spain.

Best Family Hatch by New Zealand news(STUFF.co.nz)

The Hyundai i30 has been judged the Supreme Winner in the 2009 AA Motoring Excellence Awards in New Zealand.

The i30 awarded the full five star safety rating by the Australasian New Car Assessment Program.

The i30 named as safest imported mid–size car in Argentina.

more..

• wolfsburg on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:21 pm

One of the most underrated car in Malaysia… People would rather spend their money on the small expensive Jazz rather than the i30…

For me i30 is a bit too expensive and people are worry that Inokom may assemble it and the price will cut down 20k then they will make a big loss. Hyundai Sime-Darby should always remember that they should price the car right at the beginning and not giving crazy discount when the car cannot be pushed. Just like how Naza do to the Forte and 308.

• Angeline on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:24 pm

issit worth it? the price of city and vios? for the korean brand?

• david on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:25 pm

Hate that when things come into malaysia, all the safety features are gone!

• alpha999 on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:25 pm

if inokom ckd , yes, price will be lower, but quality and features may not be exactly the same, worst case downgrade.. Just compared getz 1.4 CBU and inokom getz a.4 ckd, the difference is noticable. dashboard plastic for ckd build feels crude and rough.

• lchan on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:31 pm

yea..loos good for a hyundai but yet boring…

• KaiMun on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:34 pm

I prefer the Forte more than i30..

Reason? Simple, with the price of i30 1.6(M) i can get a Forte 2.0(A) both CBU..

but all these still take time to consider.. as no one can confirm the 2nd Hand value of these cars..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 07, 2009 at 5:58 pm

great car…..but change the rims

• singapore

Mitsubishi Lancer EX 1.5 MIVEC Sports (A) 2009 = SGD 70,988 (RM173,550)
    http://www.oneshift.com/
    1 MYR = 0.409034 SGD

• akupung on Dec 07, 2009 at 6:04 pm

make it rm60k, it will probably sell well

• CatmaN on Dec 07, 2009 at 6:30 pm

seen one OTR 4-5 days ago sumwhere kl town area while driving back from office.kinda big.the rims..looks kinda the same like gen2 mme spec, except that it have 5 lugs.tak cun…

• Singapore

Hyundai i30 1.6 GLS 5DR (A) 2008 SGD60,399

Hyundai i30 1.6 GLS 5DR (S/R) (S) (A) 2009 SGD63,399

Hyundai i30 CW 1.6 (A) 2009 SGD63,399

• The Who.. on Dec 07, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Very boring and dull car.. Hate at first sight.. Better choose the Naza Forte, sexy look, nice interior, well speced..

• mitlanevo on Dec 07, 2009 at 6:45 pm

2 thumbs up for this car…

• oricon666 on Dec 07, 2009 at 6:52 pm

get a city or a forte…..!!

• kimi_ on Dec 07, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Malaysian will prefer sedan than hatchback in this segment…

However, i will choose kia forte over this if not the silly NAZA badge on it…

this i30 is substance over style…

• DirkTooth on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:13 pm

prefer the peg 308 turbo..

more hp..

more torque..

better looks..

nicer interior..

tukar ream garang..

tmbh spoiler pnjng skit mmng cun ahh..

• LadyGaga on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Caught in a Bad Romance

• Accent Driver on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:37 pm

city – forte – vois all come with crappy torsion beam suspension, this one, like its brother the Avante/Elantra/X20 comes with independent suspension, like BMW – Merc etc… which one would you consider better.

• ANY NEWS REGARDING i20 COMING TO MSIA?

• odi862 on Dec 07, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Nice car………..but personally for the design and price range I prefer the 308. Then again if Inokom do CKDed the car and the price is lower, maybe it will sell pretty well. After all, it is the price that matter in this downturn period.

• rather boring plastic interior

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2009 at 8:33 pm

RM 82K for 1.6 Auto and RM 98K for 2.0 will be more competitive, esp with moonroof and 6 airbags. If RM112K, might as well go for Sonata or Tucson. Silly pricing for a not-well-accepted brand among majority Malaysian. I am minority, because I like Korean cars.

• initial R on Dec 07, 2009 at 8:48 pm

The look boring but the idea implement was good.

• nabill on Dec 07, 2009 at 8:53 pm

the moment u off ur pc now , u will forget abt this car ! and that shows how zzzzzzzz the car is….ya mite be good here and there , bt wen thr is no emotional connection , or even a remote chance of being gd looking, thn u wont see much sales…nobody will be interested…..thats where the forte wins , on proper good looking unique design and lower price , i tink those two main rivals are altis/civic ….

• barca on Dec 07, 2009 at 9:05 pm

a good attempt by Hyundai to break mundane japanese offerings by H and T.

if they can make europe take note of this wow-factor-deficient car, they're almost there. :)

• alldisc on Dec 07, 2009 at 9:51 pm

a well disguised Kia Cee'd indeed…

• senai on Dec 07, 2009 at 9:53 pm

At a glance from the back it looks like a 1series.

zman said,

December 7, 2009 @ 10:03 am

singapore

1 MYR = 0.409034 SGD

Zman don't convert their currency cos over there

their take home salary is the same amount as us in Msia.

So for a person who earns 8-10k/mth in S'pore – what is 70K ??

• david on Dec 07, 2009 at 9:54 pm

It's easy to understand why the price is amazingly high. The government. All for the sake of protecting Proton, then the price gets blown out of expectations.

• Car Import tax by malaysia goverment = 330%

Malaysican actutally can't buy CBU import car.

• ericfoong81exe on Dec 07, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Crazy price, i rather spend another 10k plus to get a Lancer 2.0.

• shawal on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:07 pm

it was designed for europe, thats y it looks boring, but better than kia cee'd ,

but the back looks very modern, the tail lights especially.. see it in the flesh,

5-star euro ncap n 100k/5 year warranty…. its really gewd value..

• opaque on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:46 pm

zman said,

singapore

are you sure? 1.5 surely not that price.

• rayzel (Member) on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:47 pm

boring design.. too bad.. all else are good

they need to hire good designer

• TURBOfans on Dec 07, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Though the feature improve for this Korean car, but being placed the price tag here …

308 & Forte is a better option here!

and soon enuf, we would not listen to any ppl talking about Vios & City~~..i hope this day come very soon… or unless honda & Toyota reduce their price!!!! Cherish our support to Jap's car many years what! right???

• syarp on Dec 08, 2009 at 12:33 am

from rear looks like bmw 1series…………..

• limwe on Dec 08, 2009 at 12:45 am

Paul,

You said "C-segment". And you also compared the i30 to Civic/Sylphy/Altis. In that case, shouldn't you compare directly to Hyundai Elantra?

If the answer is "Yes", then my question is: what is Hyundai doing selling the i30 to compete with its own Elantra???? Isn't that a marketing nightmare?

Note: I realise that one looks like a hot hatch while the other is more of a family-oriented choice. But I based my question on the facts you presented, which really paint a funny picture of Hyundai.

• waa… 10-10.5KM/L…. that's kinda bad isn't it? my Carb 1.5 Wira can do 10KM/L.

• taboogen on Dec 08, 2009 at 1:03 am

is that Gen2 R3 design rims but with 5 lugs

• senai said,

December 7, 2009 @ 1:53 pm

At a glance from the back it looks like a 1series.

zman said,

singapore

1 MYR = 0.409034 SGD

Zman don’t convert their currency cos over there

their take home salary is the same amount as us in Msia.

So for a person who earns 8-10k/mth in S’pore – what is 70K ??

—————————————————————-

Yeap…btw, kelisa selling at SGD 21k there….soo cheap…

• AD 1978 on Dec 08, 2009 at 1:13 am

Outdated exterior but acceptable interior. Being a CBU from Korea itself is not enough to be a selling point, the price must be competative. May be the car has the european feel, but certainly not my cup of tea. Must learn like Mitsubishi and Suzuki on how they bring down the price of lancer and vitara to an acceptable price level.

Besides, can Korean CBU be compatible to the Japanese counter part? I heard Hyundai sale in Japanese market is pathetic and hence they have decided to withdraw from the market.

With the same amount of money, i prefer to look for peugeot 308 turbo for a hathcback, same category at least, which has way more attractive interior and exterior; classy and sporty at the same time, not to mention the moonroof too.

p/s: i think i saw the same unit with a wider grill, has it been facelifted?

• theanswer on Dec 08, 2009 at 1:58 am

it’s not paultan who benchmark the i30 against golf but it’s the european car journalist… just read evo, auto car @ any europe magazine for that matter…

yep2..for some reason in our country we feel than korean cars kinda sucks..but in europe it's a big brand.

• Rhys Miller on Dec 08, 2009 at 2:32 am

That's due to emotionally distressed malaysians ….

• Besides, can Korean CBU be compatible to the Japanese counter part?

>>In 2003, According to Consumer Reports, Hyundai’s reliability rankings tied Hondas.
    http://www.usatoday.com/money/autos/2003-03-11-cr…
    reliability same level with honda 6 years ago.

I heard Hyundai sale in Japanese market is pathetic and hence they have decided to withdraw from the market.

>> Japanese market is most protected and closed market. Japanese xenophobic and racist culture is nothing relation with hyundai.

btw, I heard proton withdraw from every world. Hyundai doing fine except for one black spot , japan. if proton sell their car in Japanese or Chinese market, i fully accept your comment.

• Discrimination of foreigners in Japan is widespread

What can be done to stop it?
    http://www.mynippon.com/photos/photo33.htm

"JAPANESE ONLY" SIGNS IN MISAWA, JAPAN

FOREIGNERS COMPELLED TO EXCLUDE "FOREIGNERS"
    http://www.debito.org/misawaexclusions.html

A recent event making headlines worldwide was the publication of GAIJIN HANZAI URA FAIRU (The Underground Files of Gaijin Crime). This magazine, which went on sale at major Japanese bookstores and convenience stores nationwide, depicts foreigners as "dangerous" and "evil".

"EVIL FOREIGNER! (gokuaku gaijin!), followed by, "WE CANNOT ALLOW THIS TO HAPPEN!"(yurusu maji!)
    http://www.japanfocus.org/-Arudou-Debito/2386

• blaze on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:59 am

….because of emotionaly unstable politicians..

• comarezzi on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:13 am

it's a very nice car.. but after forte came I feel i30 quite expensive…anyway it seems better than T & H cars…

• fique D on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:14 am

nice cars but quite pricey..

• did not mention it come wit cooler box at arm rest..

izzit?

salesman told me..

prefer kia c'eed..lagi cantek

pricing tak cantek..

naza forte 2.0L with theta I (not theta II, silap print in the brochure)

yummy!

• squawk on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:47 am

Why does Sime wanna outprice their brands (Ford, Hyundai)? This market still belongs to T & H. For now.

• mu_77 on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:39 am

For a 1.6 i30, I rather go for a Neo CPS, can overwhelm it in terms of raw power and handling…. But i think Hyundai better QC…. Neways not a fan of Hyundai..Hehe..

• anonymous on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:51 am

hideous but at least its design is original

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:38 pm

limwe said,

December 7, 2009 @ 4:45 pm

Paul,

You said “C-segment”. And you also compared the i30 to Civic/Sylphy/Altis. In that case, shouldn’t you compare directly to Hyundai Elantra?

If the answer is “Yes”, then my question is: what is Hyundai doing selling the i30 to compete with its own Elantra???? Isn’t that a marketing nightmare?

What we have here are 2 cars from 2 different global regions. THe Elantra is from the North America design, while the i30 is Euro centric.

The i30 goes after the Fords, Pugs, While the Elantra battles the more traditional grounds with the Civic/Altis/Forte/North American Sentra

In North America they both have the Elantra and the i30 (the i30 being marketed as the Elantra touring (ie. station"wagon")

To Hyundai its not a problem, since the I30 is CBU, they don't incur manufacturing costs so they can bring in whatever limited quantities the market can absorb. If I were to buy a Hyundai, it would be the i30 and not the Elantra. I do like the practicality of a hatch.

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Paul,

I got a question, you mentioned that : The i30’s four-speed automatic worked unobtrusively, which is what a good auto should do – it was quick, smooth and smart enough although we’d gladly have an extra ratio for lower rpm highway cruising and better fuel economy.

is it mean that i30 got five speed auto?

my current wira also have a fifth slightly lower rpm gear, but i think it not consider as 5-speed auto, can you explain this more?

thanks.

• rivocation on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:47 pm

i got to test the i30 2.0litre for a week and at first i had the normal stereotype perception of Hyundai cars, but the i30 proved me wrong. nice interior, great handling which makes you feel that its not a asian car. the fuel is alright for a 2litre car, but i just think that Hyundai tried to mash in few design, vw golf, bmw 1 series, and it looks like a small caldina even. and another thing, the price. i just think its abit expensive.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:59 pm

will kia c'eed come?

• Rizal on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Exterior design is ok but look a bit old fashioned.

• Good car but very unlikely to sell well here.

This market belongs to budget conscious yet practical group of people and would go for a Vios G or City and keep the balance for Home Improvement or a Holiday.

Price not convincing becos brand value has not arrived yet. On the way, maybe? but not today.

• kelvin on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:21 am

Those bodykits.. yucks!

• limwe on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:46 am

4G63tDSM said,

December 8, 2009 @ 10:38 am

What we have here are 2 cars from 2 different global regions. THe Elantra is from the North America design, while the i30 is Euro centric.

//////////

Good explanation. But from a sales and marketing point of view, isn't it still very silly of Hyundai to try selling two different cars in the same segment to compete in the same country? The costs for advertising, distribution, stock-holding, etc will be almost double, wouldn't it? The right business strategy would be to choose the model they most likely will succeed and put their energy behind it. As you mentioned, you would have selected the i30 itself.

• is wondering how hyundai being handle by new distributorship in msia..since Hy got big name already in US market..

• Paul Tan on Dec 09, 2009 at 5:06 pm

We'd gladly have means we would like it even more if it was a five speed, it doesn't imply the car has 5 speeds

• City top anyway..far better than those koreans,local's and vios (shame). Very good body control, better space and powerful engine. imagine you are driving 160km/h with only 4000 rpm, phew… dont be fooled just because you wanted something different

• Honda city is a subcompact car.

Hyndai i30 is a compact car.

It is not a same grade.

and this car is hatchback. it is a more practical.

and Honda city (jazz in europe) never earned euro ncap 5 star safety ratings like Hyundai i30.

check whell base length, interior spacious, safety rating.

cirty is a mini car, this car is a compact car.

• And i don't think compact hatchback car buyer consider engine hp so much.

this is not a sports car.

and mini car honda city 1.3l, 1.5l engine are really greater than this? LOL

• honda city engine is inferior than this car.

• dude, since when city categorized as subcompact or mini car?

• @SM4

Is honda city treated as "Compact car" in malaysia?

this is really funny.

In outside of malaysia, Honda city is a subcompact or mini car.

Hyundai i30 is a compact car. It is not same grade.

According to wikipedia,

"The Honda City is a subcompact car manufactured by the Japanese manufacturer Honda since 1981 for the Asian market."

It is a 'sub'compact. (lower grade than Compact)

According to Euro NCAP,

The Honda City (a.k.a Honda Jazz in europe) classified as "Super mini" car.
    http://www.euroncap.com/supermini.aspx

Honda City = Hyundai i10 ; same grade

• I30 have better space and powerful engine, better safety than Honda city.

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:42 am

my wira got 5 speed auto, i suspect la, because it have a fifth slightly lower gear ratio, so my car can cruising with 160km/h at 3,800rpm.

my wira is UK spec. but i need somebody to explain why wira can have 5 speeds auto.

thanks everybody.

• dude hggf,

you are too academic!!! maybe you are approaching late 40s and still single…ha ha ha..and that put the i30 suit with you.. ha ha ha ha

bottom line.. city is more practical, affordable and technically good (well… city got paddle shift..hahahahahaha…) who cares about safety rating when the margin is only by 1 star

• Jimmy on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:14 am

i30 is better than City, no doubt. But I think hggf is a Hyundai/Kia salesperson or speakperson. I am not. I am just a Hyundai & Kia owner who actually can afford Merc but chosed Hyundai/Kia. Can hggf suggest to Hyundai/Kia to control the price of spareparts as sold by distributors(unfair burden for a lot of OTHERS)? And also to reconsider the pricing of this i30? Sayangnya such a good car but poor marketing strategy. Is the width of the backseat short for legs like Kia Forte? I mean not the length of the seat to seat 4 persons.

• this is funny. if i preaise hyundai, this mean i am a automaically salesperson of Hyundai? LOL

Unlike proton employee Jimmy, I'm NOT work for any auto maker.

and I'm not a person who involved auto industry.

• David on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:39 am

Attention to Car Buyer

I agree Honda car is good in terms of look. Other than that, a car buyer must also pay close attention to service and warranty policy. I had shock of my life when I was told Honda cars must be serviced every 3 months or else the 3 years warranty will be void no matter you are using mineral or synthetic oil. Meaning to say, you have got to send your car for service every 3 months even though your car has traveled a short distance since the previous service.

For those who already bought a new Honda car, make sure that you get all the 3 free services promised done within 6 months no matter what your car mileage is or else it will be void.

Recently, I sent my car for the 3rd free service and was denied the privilege. My car at that time was only 8 months old, mileage at 10 100. The problem is that, I was unaware of this policy when I got the car. The sales person did not highlight this policy when delivering the car. To make things worse, it is not mentioned clearly in the service booklet. I called up to the Customer Relationship Department (CRD) but to no avail. They strictly hold on to their policy. They are not helpful at all. No leniency practiced. Customer is not given priority.

As I also own a Toyota, I can say that Toyota is way much better in the area of customer service. Customers are treated with care and concern. For Toyota, customers do not have to follow the service schedule strictly as long as they send their cars for service after the recommended distance. (10 000 Km for full synthetic oil and 5000 Km for mineral oil)

In summary, Toyota cars are cheaper to maintain even though Honda may claim that their charges per car service is lower. My next car would definitely be a TOYOTA, for sure. I regretted buying a Honda indeed. Think twice before buying a Honda!

Sincerely,

Malaysian

• kenso on Dec 30, 2009 at 7:21 am

It has been a really interesting day for me when I finally got to test the i30 …. and both variants, no less! Ever since reading Danny Tan's review of the car, I believe any potential buyer, even if they have the cash, should not discount testing the smaller capacity engine. I was very pleasantly surprised with the 1.6 … but I`m getting ahead of myself. Here's what my impression of the car(s) ….

First of, we decided to test the 1.6 litre engine since we believe that beginning with a lesser horsepower engine would not pollute our opinion as opposed to us going ahead with the 2.0 first. I was not particularly impressed with the i30 when I first saw it because I thought it looked really boring. It's front headlamps looked like it was designed back in the 80s being so conservative and the side lines is about as plain as Jane can be. Sure, it looked …. cute and I cannot deny that the rear end looks very European with its slanting, lengthy rear lamps. Coupled with the exorbitant price, I never bothered to give it a second look. The 1.6 I managed to test today was the same white unit that has been on display for quite a few weeks. The salesperson had to drive it out of the showroom for me to test since there wasn't any other 1.6s around. Let me tell u this, there are some cars that looks gorgeous and some u learn to appreciate when it is in motion. The i30 is one of those latter. When u see one maneuvering into position and the rear lamps light up, that was when I begin to see what so many international reviewers love about its angles. Especially with white, it is very refreshing.

Having been into the cabin before, my initial impression of the car remains the same. Built quality is excellent, certainly living up to its CBU standard. I didn't really pay much attention to the soft plastic but now that I know what to look for, it does give it a nice elegant touch. Both my wife and I love the silver linings on the gear shaft as well as the side door window controls which further accentuates the luxury feeling of the cabin. Too bad the fabric seats of the 1.6 spoils this illusion but nothing a quick trip to a reputable leather upholstery shop can't solve. This was the first time I get to see how the car keys look like and how the remote functions. Nothing fanciful but I personally find the beep,beep sound a little loud and grating when I unlocked/locked the doors. As we open and close the doors, the blue LED display shows specifically which door is open. Cute, yes. Practical, somewhat. The on board trip meter shows the average fuel consumption, journey distance and distance to empty (this was pretty accurate when I tested the car)

The 1.6 Gamma engine, one generation behind the newer Theta II engine found in the Kia Forte is a much more refined engine compared to the Beta engine found in the 2.0 variant and the Avante. Even under hard acceleration, the engine didn't sound too strained and gives a pleasant revving sound (similar to what Danny Tan found in his review). Handling is superb, reminds me of the Avante only more control and poised. I suppose this is due to the i30 being a hatchback. The independent suspension absorbed road irregularities as well as the Avante, far better than most other cars we've tested. Oh, while testing I finally found what the 4th picture at the bottom of Danny Tan's review (the one with an A/C slot). That's the chiller that I keep hearing other journalist talking about and having no prior experience with any car with one, I didn't understand it until I saw it. Definitely very handy to keep drinks chilled (or delay that ice cream from melting while rushing home to put it in the fridge).

We were quite pleased with 1.6 …. now to bring out the bigger brother … the 2.0 litre. We had greater expectations …. maybe that was the problem. While it's true that the 2.0 has greater torque and horsepower, the Beta engine was noisy (far noiser than the Avante but maybe that`s because the Avante's NVH is perhaps better) and sounded (and felt) rather course. The 2.0 leather seats are also inferior quality compared to the one found in the Avante and felt a little stiff. I could probably shave off 1-2 seconds in reaching the century sprint but the noise and roughness is such a turn off that I don't enjoy putting the engine through it … it felt like rape.

In the end, my wife and I found greater enjoyment driving the 1.6 rather than the 2.0. The difference between the 2 Auto variants are leather seats (which I have said is not that fantastic), 17" sport rims (which can be upgraded on my own later) and Electronic Stability Program (ESP). Considering a RM15,000 price difference for an older (albeit higher capacity) engine, that's way too much to pay for an ESP. So in the end, it is likely that we'll consider getting the 1.6.

Now comes the paperwork. Interest rate from what is being told to me is between 3.0% and 3.1% offered by Public Bank or EON bank. The body kit will be included (although I asked how much can be deducted if I do not want the body kit to which the salesperson would have to get back to me). Also, since all i30s were brought in this year, effectively, those owners who buy and register the car next year would be getting a car manufactured the year before. There has to be some discounts to be given there and so I asked for that as well (again, the salesperson promised to check with his manager). Guess will know more tomorrow ….

• Paul Tan on Dec 30, 2009 at 7:25 am

Nice write-up kenso, hope to see more of these kinda comments! :)

• bslee on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:34 am

I was very impressed with the handling of the i30 1.6L.which i drove this pm; didnt planned to test drive actually but Hyundai car showroom just opposite Formula Venture(IHonda in Butterworth.) So i have the opportunity to compare Civic 2.0 and i30. Power & paddle shift aside, Civic lost in most aspect!

• Edmund on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:21 am

You buy you die. Simple and straight to the point.

• Edmund on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:22 am

You all here still never learn your lesson on Hyundai, but I cannot blame you, there is always first time. The most is just lost some of your hard earn money thats all.

• speedracer on Jan 28, 2010 at 6:29 am

Korean car are making their way up…Japanese car is over price…here…always…CBU thailand? indonesia?…hmmm…Who said Toyota is top in realibility? Yes they were…during grandparent time…thing has change…stereotype = not cool…sikit2 Honda…sikit2 Toyota….boring…if harga ok takpe lah jugak…dah la mahal…barang tak best mana pun…kecoh jer lebih…by far Forte seem to be a good buy…

• zattyfassa on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:46 am

i30 mahallah. saya nak tunggu proton waja baru nih. baru berselera. kalo harga dan design ok kan.. kan

• Mustang Jeo on Feb 26, 2010 at 8:59 pm

limwe said,December 7, 2009 @ 4:45 pm

Paul,

You said “C-segment”. And you also compared the i30 to Civic/Sylphy/Altis. In that case, shouldn’t you compare directly to Hyundai Elantra?

If the answer is “Yes”, then my question is: what is Hyundai doing selling the i30 to compete with its own Elantra???? Isn’t that a marketing nightmare?

Dear limwe, marketing approach can be read off 'off-shelf books' and put into practice, but of you;ve been following, just about by Sime abt 8 months ago, there was an acquisition of Oriental Hyundai's operation in distributing the sedans which includes the Elantra now known as the Avante (so i was told). your marketing approach is without assumption over the numbers of the vehicles that they've of the remaining at hand or perhaps they're moving twds discontinuing the model.

Now, bringing in i30 is much needed in injecting the market as part of a fleet refreshing exercise moreover it's a CBU, so numbers can be controlled and they don’t incur manufacturing costs so they can bring in whatever limited quantities the market can absorb. Afterall it's a hatch-sedan (niche market). The fact that we're now heavy engagement in blogging on the i30 proves another milestone in market exposure for this unknown model.

I test-drove this vehicle over at Hyundai s/room last week. find it impressive (though low profile) over the likes of Latio, Civic,.

It's a European under the hood of a Korean face. Moreover, s/rep told me it was designed in Europe for the Euro-Atlantic consumption. Some commented design of lamps look rather outdated, c'mon it;s an international model and has been launched in other countries over 2 years bagging awards in Australia and Spain and yet, we Malaysians subdues to the 'lordship' of T & H clearly blinder for lot's of ridiculous reason call blind branding.

Even comparing to Forte, it's sister brand though launch with miraculous price but still oferring torsion beam rear suspensions but with impressive gadgets so to speak.

• TESTDRIVER on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:48 am

Walau apa apa pun sekali , proto masih jauh dari segi quality. Kalau ikut semua problem dlm proton reports semua model kene pull back. I punya new persona punyalah problem tak henti henti… menyesal sungguh !!

• arulkay on Mar 16, 2010 at 5:16 am

i like dis car very much…….but hopefully sime darby will give some discount for dis car…….asia car wif a fill of european…..that what i like….hope one day proton also can follow hyundai-kia foot step…….asian car wif european quality…..i really hope proton will come out wif some "anak kacukan" car as a lotus already in their control…..

• sime darby have very bad mkt sense, price always rocket high.

wonder what they will do to sonata and tucson, if the price Again can't compete much, then we arent able to enjoy a pretty car with nice price.

• i also like this car so much,,,,um,,but the price is impossible! i thought that the price is 50K,,

• I test drove the i30 1.6 auto over the weekend.
    It was clearly a driver’s car with nice driving position and good handling. Comfortable on our Msian bumpy roads too – better than my Sentra.
    Pity about the engine, it had to be revved hard to get the most out of it. Less responsive compared to the QG16DE in my 2002 Nissan N16 Sentra.
    I asked for a quote on the 1.6 Manual – sales guy offered discount of 2k only, but waiting time would be around 2-months. Considering to buy this (1.6 Manual), but the engine is making me think twice.

On a side note, Toyota should have brought in the 1.6litre 6-speed Manual at this price point. Would loved to have tried that. Other than the Persona/Gen-2/Sentra, don’t think there are any other C-segment cars available with a manual box in Msia which is a pity. Not everyone wants an auto-box for their ride, especially if they enjoy some spirited weekend driving. Damn this Malaysian mentality – because of the Klang valley jams – the rest of us Msians suffer from a lack of choice.