Tata Nano based Penguin pick-up caught testing!

tata-penguin

This is the Tata Nano based 0.5-tonne pick-up truck scheduled for Indian market introduction next year. Codenamed Penguin (it looks like a penguin too, doesn’t it?), the bird’s four wheeled namesake will compete with the just launched Mahindra Gio – a simple two-seat machine powered by a 441cc direct injection two-pot diesel.

The Tata is reported to be powered by a 350cc one-cylinder diesel engine, not likely to top the Gio’s 55km/h top speed, 9.5bhp and 21Nm of torque. The Penguin uses proven simple and cost saving techniques from the Nano like a single windshield wiper, three wheel lugs, scooped out dashboard and short wheelbase. The engine is mounted at the rear axle, so it doesn’t need a propeller shaft.

There will be plenty of mocking, but I think that these low cost machines are perfect for the intended market and a logical development from three-wheel auto rickshaws and bullock carts currrently used to ferry anything from manure to gas cylinders. The modest performance is adequate in bustling Indian cities, where initial acceleration from rest is more important than an 80km/h cruise speed. You’ll know what I mean if you’ve visited Delhi or Mumbai before.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Its like they purposely made it to be laugh at~ cruel

• Broody on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:04 pm

cute..

I've never been to india, but how are their roads there? I see the cars are small and not really suited for highway use…

• Ford_GT on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:11 pm

I ain't sure for this kind of awkard design, but's cute and simple.

• WAHAHAHAHA….. This car looks silly. Just look at the tiny tyres and rims! With a top of less than 55km/h, it cannot even overtake a bullock cart. it so much underpowered. I think it is catered to poor countries like bangla, india and pakistan.

• Jumbsuck on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Much better than Proton Arena. This Nano truck is not faking itself but honestly to serve its simple purpose as truck unlike Arena faking itself for being, well, a confused Arena.

• Jumbsuck on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:23 pm

"I think it is catered to poor countries like bangla, india and pakistan."

But good enough here as mobile fast food stall selling burger, nasi lemak, air tebu, etc.

• Mysticmind on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Lol car of the year perhaps. :D

the headlamp out of the overall pickup design

• Black Dog on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:54 pm

In India you'll find cows, bullock-carts, ricksaws, beggars, bicycles, motorised tricycle, AND all types of other vehicles (jeeps, vans, cars, buses, pick-ups, SUVs) all trying to squeeze together through jam-packed and dirty roads with non-stop constant blaring of horns and a host of other noise!

And forget about red lights! It's for you to stop bcos a begger is harassing you!

• theanswer on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Arena faking itself for being, well, a confused Arena.

but Australian find it quite useful especially when they have UTE market there. if u think arena is confused..u might want to consider HSV Maloo or even Ford Falcon UTE which got V8 engine with 18" rims plus a truck bed and can perform like a sports sedan.

• mynuszero on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:04 pm

funny that LOL says this pick-up is meant for poor countries and worst LOL says india is a poor country….they are asia's superpower with 1million plus foot soldiers….for a country which tested its nuclear bomb undetected and sent hundreds of rockets to space….they were more concerned on providing the most cost saving mean of transportation to small businesses which in return provides cheaper products to the general market in the suburns and small cities….we can probably find such mode of transportation in china too….no point sending groceries to buyers in a 3.0 toyota hiace turbo diesel when the seller dumps the cost of driving and maintaining the van onto what u buy from him.

• ALa AvanZA on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Of course better than Perodua Alza..

• ford_ton on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Looks like Honda Acty from the 80's. A rather good proposition considering the purchasing power of the people there. But it will be a death trap over here.With an unladen top speed of 55 km/h, how will it fare with fully loaded truck bed. Enough of old Merc/Tata trucks struggling to reach 70 km/h on the highway. Come to an incline; tha tailback is an ugly sight on our highway. When will the operators will come to their senses to scrap their decades old lorries. Will the govt made mandatory for the trucks over 15 years old be kept to trunk roads only? The highways should be off limits to them as the are deterring all other toll paying motorists an advantage of a constant speed travel to save both fuel and time.

• mitlanevo on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:12 pm

oh my, so cute~

• droll on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:24 pm

i think this is a smart move by Tata to flil a gap that not many other manufacturers can in India.

kudos to them. this is intended to replace traditional modes of transportation powered by pure muscle.

• stephenstreets on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:24 pm

Look so cute ..like a baby panda. Will feel very sorry for it if overload it. And knowing india before you know it there will be like 3 storey of rice sack or 12 tons of hay and even an entire village on it. I feel Tata is the only brand able to make a pickup truck much more attractive than its own cheap compact car despite the fact the truck its based on the actual compact car.

• Gajen on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:27 pm

lol…looks like a toy car..not bad tho..looks simple and serves the purpose…

• wsX (Member) on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:30 pm

road in India is may not as good as here. but these type of vehicle really suited their condition. i enjoyed being on the ricksha, its like a big moble massage chair

• Akshay on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Jackasses

India is huge and has a large part where we need these type of vehicles.

And to the asshole who said we do not have roads. Come to india before judging. 25 mill and u want to compare with India ahh?

Akshay

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:52 pm

this is good….indian the best

• prolever on Dec 08, 2009 at 8:04 pm

Jumbsuck said,

December 8, 2009 @ 10:18 am

Much better than Proton Arena. This Nano truck is not faking itself but honestly to serve its simple purpose as truck unlike Arena faking itself for being, well, a confused Arena.

……………..??????

are u kidding me, don't u see at youtube how Australian people mode their arena/jumbuck……… don't u see at the Australian automotive page. they said the car is very useful.

even in malaysia they a lot of arena.. ya la not on the road..

they use as a sport lorry to carry goods to Pasar malam.

But for this penguin, a rather say is more like guinea pig with black eye shadow(celak). but still cute.

• sujak on Dec 08, 2009 at 8:16 pm

i thk, it's ok 4 India crowded road n city. don't compare w/ arena. the segment is very defference. japan also still produce funny small truck.

• they cud hv at least put a 3cylinder diesel engine!

• theanswer on Dec 08, 2009 at 8:25 pm

or at least a turbo. in japan they got kei truck.

• Jackoff on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:00 pm

Lovely!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:44 pm

best is aussie ute

• Yr Mama's Ass on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:59 pm

as UGLY as yr Mama's ass Akshay

• India is definitely big and much more technologically advanced than Malaysia. If anyone thinks we malaysians are better off … I have my doubts.

Yes we know a lot of them come to work here in Malaysia, but they are the poorer sections.

with a big and credible pharmaceutical, with own rockets and satellites, and a known nuclear power. We cant afford to call names. We Malaysians have an idea that India is dirt filled and shitty… It is a pity, some people have their fixed ideas, when even our satellite is borrowed from India.

Liew

• yippi33 on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:06 pm

looks like an alien to me..r u sure this is not one of india's gadget for moon walking program??

• hmm... on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:07 pm

it doesn't look stable…. but, its kinda cute…

• alihms on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:10 pm

You wanna know how traffic in India is? Watch this video..

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-20636678…

Compared to this, KL traffic chaos is nothing. Amazilngly, no accidents!

• squawk on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:14 pm

Looks aside, the small size is good enough for in-city deliveries. Low speed not a problem if you've seen the traffic in India.

Even if they sell this to 0.1% of the population, that's still 1,000,000 vehicles.

• honestly speaking, if you're looking to commute in india, better stick with motorbikes.

tehy have a splattering of nice bikes and the road htere isnt made for cars exactly. lots of jam and such.

• Off Topic, Paul I'm getting an E39, was wondering where did u get all those accessories for it? I have a lot of torn parts, from rubbers to panels, to screw..the leather seat was a little bit old too, any idea how to refurbish it? Besides, any replacement for the players and audio control panel?

Email me can?? [email protected]

• Buy one.. die in one.. good luck indians!!!

• Ey_3AT (Member) on Dec 09, 2009 at 1:16 am

vnoz said,

December 8, 2009 @ 3:55 pm

Buy one.. die in one.. good luck indians!!!

I think i agree with u dude.. if this ''lorry'' get involves in an accident.. i think.. both passenger & the driver are recommended to prepared their will for their loves one.. coz they surely die in that ''lorry'' laa.. haha..

• MADBOY on Dec 09, 2009 at 1:16 am

Guy, do not underestimate the Indian or the Chinese. The products developed by them for their own country are enough to grow their business, unlike Malaysia. Here, we need to export our car in order to be in the business, sadly, currently Proton export is not that good.

The pick-up is for Indian market and Indian market is huge. So, it will bring money to TATA group.

• mystvearn on Dec 09, 2009 at 1:29 am

Clarkson has a new toy to destroy now :p

• valandil on Dec 09, 2009 at 1:30 am

nobody's been to thailand? its just a modified tuk-tuk…

i like tuk-tuks.. more aero and dynamic that this..

or perhaps, they will replace the tuk-tuks?

• Dude, this tata truck helps alot of business in a developing country like India, or like us?not even they're helping SME, corporate as well..So think nicely before u talk..

• "Die Indians" just some wishful thinking by some malaysian helpless guy. Indian and Chinese are not going to die soon dude.

And it is a TATA product, not some small company. And they have Crash tests in India too and they are similar to European crash tests.

BTW tata nano has cleared the tests and will easily pass for its other vehicles too. And do you know the Export demand that the tata nano can generate. Whereas look at the dismal performance by Malaysian car companies … laughable

• The Reader on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:00 am

how many things you can carry in this cute lorry ? I think it will need more trips to bring the same amount of stuffs compare to a normal lorry ?

• Master Mind on Dec 09, 2009 at 2:13 am

Malaysian has to buy this pickup ….that is imported product kikiki

• taboogen on Dec 09, 2009 at 3:51 am

design like this also Malaysian ppl can say cute but when Malaysia design their own car say fugly.. Dont understand. Malaysian still in 3rd world thinking

• Elvis on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:48 am

If Proton make .5 tan lorry i got respectlah…this one…hhhmmmnnn…no comment…better mate a jaguh motorcycle wit those cargo side, lagi cun…

• racerx111 on Dec 09, 2009 at 5:01 am

This thing would look awesome in 17-40-225. hehe

• Elvis on Dec 09, 2009 at 5:48 am

Honestly, India is a country NOT in my list of country to go holiday….my friend bought electric guitar while he is in India and didnt test it…when he got back, his electric guitar sounds like sitar….

• this is one of the most miserable thing i have ever seen in my whole life . hahaha . anyway, it is a very good attempt by tata . the thing about tata is that their market is big enough for them to push something that suits to their market.

• Elvis on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:15 am

What are made in India should STAY in India…period….

• wise man on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:58 am

Why not if the price say..is RM10k?? should be a good mean of transport for petty traders..pasar malam hawkers……etc…

sounds practical….some pple don require muscle car or a car doing 0-100kmh under 10seconds..as long it meet the purpose..

• Delio on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:03 am

Hodohnye. Dahlah top speed 55kmh je. Motor ex5 lg laju.

• Delio on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:07 am

Kalu ada brg tak taulah brp speed ye

• nadzri m yusof on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:31 am

This is rubbish, not a vehicle. Shame on india so many it experts but the results sucks… lorry. Poor country but behave like power house. Yes a number of billions air but the the rest still urine at roadside.

• plANETAUTOMATIC on Dec 09, 2009 at 8:36 am

FAKE !

Thats not a TATA product.

• nazri on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:05 pm

some say better than mazda 3.. because it serve the purpose to cary thing..

• JasJos on Dec 09, 2009 at 3:35 pm

With this, 10 families in India can have a road trip together. Jokes aside, ppl who thinks India is on par with China, you've probably haven't been to India, or China. 30 years ago India and China looked similar, look at the diference now. India will never improve with the corruption in the government. And if u think malaysia is much much better than India, then u've probably never been out of Malaysia too. But fatal accidents are on the rise in India because more highways and roads are being built but they still drive the same way.

Things that is a must have when u drive in india:

Horn, High beam, auto flip mirrors. If any of them fail, better stay off the road.

• azrai on Dec 09, 2009 at 3:48 pm

The face look more like panda than penguin actually.

• dirtyoldmen on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Elvis said,

December 8, 2009 @ 9:48 pm

Honestly, India is a country NOT in my list of country to go holiday….my friend bought electric guitar while he is in India and didnt test it…when he got back, his electric guitar sounds like sitar….

Clearly, your friend is an idiot and judging from your comments, you are too!

• mb3300 on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:28 pm

" I think it is catered to poor countries like bangla, india and pakistan."….

India is no where near poor, its a nuclear super power.

Mind you, Jaguar, MG Rover, Land Rover and Range Rover are all owned by the very same TATA Motors.

Think before you talk! Idiot.

• mb3300 on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:32 pm

"nadzri m yusof"

You try running a country with a billion people. And tell me if you can solve those problems. Corruption is everywhere, even Malaysia.

Stupid Malay Malaysian.

• wuttaheck on Dec 09, 2009 at 9:25 pm

mb3300 said,

December 9, 2009 @ 10:32 am

“nadzri m yusof”

You try running a country with a billion people. And tell me if you can solve those problems. Corruption is everywhere, even Malaysia.

Stupid Malay Malaysian.

———-

no need for racial remarks here.

• Leonardo on Dec 09, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Yes, i have been to Mumbai and Delhi and yes it suits the road and the target users there. BTW people, the 55km/h is for the Mahindra Gio not for this Penguin. With one cyclinder it will probably do 30-40km/h tops, but torque is more important than speed for its purpose

And yes, not too many of us can drive on the seemingly chaotic city roads, despite our advance driving skills and whatnots.

• Elvis on Dec 10, 2009 at 1:48 am

Hahahaaa…clearly you dont have a sense of humour dirtyoldmen….but India suit you well i think coz been dirty and old is exactly how India cities look like since you are dirty and old….or maybe u are an indian tat why you tat my comment personally….

• nudin on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:18 pm

so different when watching biliwod film