Wimmer RS 386bhp Mk6 Golf GTI – how much is too much?

wimmer-rs-gti

German tuner Wimmer RS has unveiled this 386bhp Mk6 Volkswagen Golf GTI, which it describes as a “weapon”. By adding a new turbo and intercooler, tweaks to the intake, exhaust and manifold, a modified fuel pump and opening up the TSI engine for major surgery (new injection valves, piston rod, ECU update), the Solingen based outfit also managed to massage 455Nm of torque from the GTI’s EA888 motor, which in stock form produces 207bhp (210PS) and 280Nm of torque.

We certainly agree with the weapon description – Wimmer RS’s innocent looking GTI could potentially wipe out not only other sports cars, but its driver as well! The standard GTI is already a very fast car with urgent acceleration and we can’t imagine how the tuner can channel those newfound horses to the tarmac, through the front wheels. Max speed is now 267km/h (from 240km/h) but amazingly there’s no mention of uprated brakes! Of lesser consequence is a height adjustable coilover suspension set and Motec Antares wheels wrapped with Dunlop Sport Maxx GT rubber.

How much is too much? When your car is harder to tame than a rodeo bull! We’re trying to get a test unit of the Mk6 Golf GTI (in standard form, of course) so stay tuned for a test drive report!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wonder how the fwd going to put all that torque to the front wheel. this is practically a form of mechanical abuse..

• mouse on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:55 am

WOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOO!! love this mk6!! is a tiger in a sheep costume for sure.

• JasJos on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:20 am

I wonder if it comes with the DSG. Cause VW only rated it to 350NM.

• oooooh yeah. always loved the GTI. really an all rounder.

standard is already more than enough for me, can't imagine the extra power in this rocket.

• jolly_idiot said,

December 9, 2009 @ 12:41 am

Why nobody tweak our Campro and make it almost double HP & Tork? At least a 220hp is sweet.

interesting idea

• torque steer !

• bpkid (Member) on Dec 09, 2009 at 7:59 am

crazy germans XD

• BeemerFreak on Dec 09, 2009 at 8:26 am

Hmm for us in Malaysia, we really need the scirocco and golf 1.4tsi not teh golf above. BTW where are the 1.4tsi?

• jolly_idiot on Dec 09, 2009 at 8:41 am

Why nobody tweak our Campro and make it almost double HP & Tork? At least a 220hp is sweet.

• JasJos on Dec 09, 2009 at 3:18 pm

jolly_idiot said,

December 9, 2009 @ 12:41 am

Cause probably it will cost too much to make sure it's reliable. Probably have to rebuild the whole thing from scratch.

• firdausasri on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:37 pm

If you managed to get a copy of Evo UK magazine couple weeks back, they did feature 414bhp Golf GTI. With all the huha about FWD can't tame excessive horsepower, that car is drivable on the street as well as on the track!

Oh yes, this is little brother 220hp on wheels
    http://www.evolve-technik.com.au/pdf/Motor Magazine Evolve VW Polo GTI Review.pdf

• Without Brembo or Porsche brake this tuned GTI will be the owner's killing machine. For us, Golf TSI at around RM140K will be enough. Paul, is it possible for vw Malaysia? Tax-wise cheaper for smaller motor; lower price than 2.0GTI. I guess many will opt for 1.4TSI if priced around Civic 2.0-Accord/Camry 2.0 region. Unless VWM itself not interested to sell more VWs.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 09, 2009 at 5:11 pm

firdausasri said,

December 9, 2009 @ 8:37 am

If you managed to get a copy of Evo UK magazine couple weeks back, they did feature 414bhp Golf GTI. With all the huha about FWD can’t tame excessive horsepower, that car is drivable on the street as well as on the track!

People define "drivable" differently.

Have you driven a 400+ hp FWD car…..? its tough as it is, throw in some rain, a few corners…I would like to see how drivable it is. :p I wonder how bad the turbo lag is now…….

I'm sure its "drivable" going down the track in a straight ahead fashion…

FWIW, 400hp/400ft lbs is enough to make a RWD/AWD car scary in the worst of weather.

• The tuned maybe best for desert test or special RWD Gol GTR. R stands for RWD format.

• firdausasri on Dec 09, 2009 at 5:24 pm

4G63T,

Although I haven't driven 400+ horses FWD, I do have some fair share driving drugged up turbo cars be it fwd or drift prepped machine. And I beg to differ about souped up fwd turbo are only going to be great on straightline, I've a mate in Brazil driving VW Polo GTI's at least 300hp on wheels still kicking Boxters and WRXes ass for breakfast in Interlagos and some other tracks there, go figure :)

• Kampung Boy on Dec 09, 2009 at 5:27 pm

455Nm of torque!

Must have special skill to drive this machine…

Just wondering what is the 0-100kph…

and wondering how fast this machine can bring me from JB to Segamat?

(Current record: 1h45min)

• R3 already tuned the campro…

• JB to Segamat? People are doing KL to JB for under 2.5 hours now… (plus 'special greeting card' from speed-trap)

• xavier lert on Dec 09, 2009 at 8:07 pm

Kampung Boy said,

December 9, 2009 @ 9:27 am

455Nm of torque!

————————————————

??? so slow?….ive done KL (sg besi) to Skudai in 2hrs …….wit P2 Myvi……

• Kampung Boy on Dec 09, 2009 at 10:24 pm

man… well said…

I think I mentioned JB – Segamat, not JB – KL.

Skudai – Yong Peng maybe not a problem but Yong Peng – Segamat is another story. With bumping road & holes here and there + lori balak kepala kasut… how fast do you think you can do? Maybe you not familiar with that road.

anyway, I just wondering how fast I can reach segamat from jb with this good handling 400bhp golf…

• initial R on Dec 09, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Normaly i do KL-Tuas just 2hour with one stop at machap… ok what..

• amirad on Dec 10, 2009 at 12:40 am

I thought the tag line for the new golf GTi is 'when you want to modify nothing'. Well, this is something.

• TURBOfans on Dec 10, 2009 at 12:41 am

I tune my 308 turbo up to 250HP TOO!!

• matador on Dec 10, 2009 at 1:07 am

heh my mini clock 2 hours from k.l to sg besi tol last monday..

haha top speed = 25km/h.. traffic like hell la..

hahahah

• barca on Dec 10, 2009 at 1:12 am

tu diaaa…..banyak gile power. well, as spidey would say it "with great power comes great responsiblities"

• sukahati on Dec 10, 2009 at 1:58 am

does this car equip with a certificate that shows this car is damn fast?

• KCivic on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:14 am

Guys, just checking what is required if i wished to tune my 2.0 engine to produce more horses say to 200 horses, what do i need to do and will this damage the engine? Also guys, I had a bad experience on Monday evening when driving home and due to heavy rain and not able to see clearly even though wiper blades going at high speed, I avoided a car when I was going around 30km/hr I accidentally went over a slanting curb not those square ones (if you know what I mean) on the road about 3 inches high, worried sick if it damaged any of the front Macpherson strut suspension system? Any opinions or advice to share? i like to drrive fast and rev the car when conditions allow but not really into beefing up the engine and modifying and replacing parts on the car. I drive a 6 month old Civic. thanks a lot.

• initial R on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:41 am

KCivic said,

December 9, 2009 @ 7:14 pm

—————————————–

Hi KCivic….. For your windscreen, u can used rainX as a screen shield so on heavy rain u no need to used high-speed wiper just used normal speed please clean your windscreen first before u apply RainX. Just minor replacing part (like Sparkplug wire, use twin head sparkplug), port & polish also a bit engine tune (fuel & air) can make your engine produce a bit more power (that just a basic)…. i like NA tune more than Turbo…. But difference people have difference taste… :)

• paparazi (Member) on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:44 am

could only perform in NS highway. in town… very hard la

• armandd on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:59 am

KCivic said,

December 9, 2009 @ 7:14 pm

Guys, just checking what is required if i wished to tune my 2.0 engine to produce more horses say to 200 horses, what do i need to do and will this damage the engine? Also guys, I had a bad experience on Monday evening when driving home and due to heavy rain and not able to see clearly even though wiper blades going at high speed, I avoided a car when I was going around 30km/hr I accidentally went over a slanting curb not those square ones (if you know what I mean) on the road about 3 inches high, worried sick if it damaged any of the front Macpherson strut suspension system? Any opinions or advice to share? i like to drrive fast and rev the car when conditions allow but not really into beefing up the engine and modifying and replacing parts on the car. I drive a 6 month old Civic. thanks a lot.

Kcivic, go to a tyre shop and do an alignment check. If the alignment is ok then you need not to worry. If not ok then correct it and drive the car for about a week. Then check the alignment again. If ok this time that means there's nothing u should be worried about. But if the 2nd alignment check shows the alignment is not correct then you may have problems with your front suspension. Hope this helps.

• Golfshop on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:46 am

I think this series will be the new generation car which high and top class can buy it and have a high luxury.

• fuyiopo on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:52 am

386 BHP engine in a front wheel drive car is absurb, you'll spend more time to control the steering than enjoying the ride.

• fuyiopo on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:54 am

386 BHP engine in an front wheel drive car is absurb, you'll spend more time controlling the steering than enjoying the ride and the power.

• what a dream car for performance!!

• chew ban on Dec 10, 2009 at 7:34 pm

xavier lert said,

December 9, 2009 @ 12:07 pm

Kampung Boy said,

December 9, 2009 @ 9:27 am

455Nm of torque!

————————————————

??? so slow?….ive done KL (sg besi) to Skudai in 2hrs …….wit P2 Myvi……

—————————-

you would go to heaven even faster bro, please drive responsibly

• Funny how most people instantly react with "so much hp in a fwd car definitely huge torque steer, cannot handle corners bla bla bla……". I wonder if they've ever driven a Golf GTI with that much power… Its all about setup and power delivery. I sometimes drive a 400hp+ Golf in KL roads and highways and never had any problems going slow or FAST.

"Karl said,

December 9, 2009 @ 9:04 am

Without Brembo or Porsche brake this tuned GTI will be the owner’s killing machine. For us, Golf TSI at around RM140K will be enough. Paul, is it possible for vw Malaysia? Tax-wise cheaper for smaller motor; lower price than 2.0GTI. I guess many will opt for 1.4TSI if priced around Civic 2.0-Accord/Camry 2.0 region. Unless VWM itself not interested to sell more VWs."

Who is "US"? Speak for yourself dude LOL… Yes, its good to have the TSIs. But bring in the monsters too!! Mk6 GOLF R!!… POWWWERRRRRR…..