Mysterious clay model in Proton R&D video

proton-unidentified-clay-model-resized

The clay model you see above was captured from a Proton R&D video clip posted onto Youtube by a user. You’ll be able to see the clay model around the 41 second mark. I’ve no idea what it’s supposed to be, but anything that just might be a preview of a future Proton model is always intriguing. It could also only be some kind of old design study that’ll never see the light of day ;) But back to reality – it actually kinda looks like a GEN2/Persona, with unfinished headlamps, so it could be a half way done clay model on the way to becoming a GEN2/Persona. Anyway it’s a nice photo for those who wanna check out the facilities that Proton have for car development. You can watch the video after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• New Waja/Impian?

• sonyman on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:30 am

haha first

• sionggee on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:32 am

Hope that they are creating a very new design~

• azhar167 on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:32 am

And the golden question is, was Proton worth all the pain, suffering and financial drain. The overall cost to the economy is probably under the OSA but there is something worth pondering over this article.

http://wengerkhairy.blogspot.com/2009/11/goh.html

• The impression do not suggested a " breathrough" and bold enough for many to admire. They should emulate latest Hyundai design with some Audi, VW Teutonic design cues as well as Italian elements.

• Look like Pug 406 design. Pretty 90-ish.

• Jackoff on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:41 am

Waja/Perdana replacement model? Aka Mitsu Lancer with a new face…???

• 1st! look…kinda out dated?hmm

• Bogus on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:46 am

waa…so excited to know more about it huuuuhu

• Bruno on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:50 am

They can't even engineered a faultless power window or a door handle that actually work. Thank god I would never have to own another Proton.

• Enginerd_2009 on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:54 am

My instinct said that it is Persona new facelift.. the grills mostly like exora…

ahaa.. nice if someone can comes with others spyshot like usual =)

but the nice thing is another 'truly malaysian baby' will come out soon…

if they can come out with latest engine/pheonix project, it will be a surprise for us..

• awg1031 on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:57 am

this cool. my 1st time seeing proton clay model :)

• Please Proton; if this is Lancer based WRM DO NOT CHANGE anything but Emblem. Proton only best at made the thing worse, look at Wira. Cd figure increase by 0.02Cd when they redesigned. Just keep it same or follow anyone of Evolution X designs.

Redesign mean make thing better, more economical to produce and better than the original.

Sorry if sound a little harsh. Exora's interior best to explain Proton incapable in certain aspects of design. Exora's is too 90ish.

• awg1031 on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:01 am

this is cool~my 1st time seeing a proton clay model :D

• paparazi (Member) on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:01 am

your technology achievement too slow… can't wait to own your better quality car.

• White Jack on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:05 am

As for design, better learn from Kia or Hyundai design :)

• initial R on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:06 am

If not mistake, Gen2 under early construction.

• anonymous on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:25 am

hahaha … they even need this kinda high tech programmes to develop lousy cars …

• White Jack said,

December 9, 2009 @ 8:05 pm

As for design, better learn from Kia or Hyundai design

——————-

Why not learn from Chinese BYD, Geely, SAIC?

• lazyf on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:30 am

Persona facelift maybe???

The clay model is really looks like Sentra…

• kimi_ on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:36 am

For Your information, this is new FACELIFT PEOTON PERSONA.!!!

you can see it from the body and roofline

• I wish Proton made an FR car

• kimi_ on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:43 am

anonymous said,

hahaha … they even need this kinda high tech programmes to develop lousy cars …

——————————————————

LOL.seeing your comment…high tech?????????

no matter what technology they use, it is nothing if they has bad idea and styling…just hire someone else like KIA to become head of styling!!!!!!

• tikus on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:48 am

Wah so good the R&D department.We are proud of your Tiara , Juara and Arena model. Pride of Malaysian !!

• Awesome looking

• Muhammad on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:02 am

Maybe New Waja?????????

• freeze on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:10 am

Obviously this is a video promoting Proton. So that definitely is not a spyshot or future model. It probably was a gen 2 clay model.

• looks like the old peugeot 406..

• shawal.ali on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:23 am

even if its a new car, i dont think its good looking…

After seeing the new sonata, …nvm the sonata, at least the new city and jazz..

proton needs a new design language thats more appealing..

I wonder who came up with the idea for waja's current rounded tail lamps…

whoever you are….just kill yourself..

• guys look at this:
    http://www.kln.gov.my/perwakilan/seoul/news/24868

• santa cruz boy on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:34 am

looks like a nissan sentra front actually with a persona bumper

• santa cruz boy on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:35 am

to me it looks like a nissan sentra front with a persona bumper actually

• kalid on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:40 am

i wonder if proton got any Quality Control department…hm

• shawal.ali said,

After seeing the new sonata, …nvm the sonata, at least the new city and jazz..

proton needs a new design language thats more appealing..

———————–

leave hyundai alone.

Proton don't need stalking hyundai and Kia.

Actually, they are not compete each other.

btw, Chinese BYD and Geely knock proton's door. they are already comming at here.

• guys see this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUzaMJGEb-E

• fuyiopo on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:48 am

Looks like a coupe to me.. Anyone has the same feeling as me?

• Banana Land on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:01 am

Start designing cars that actually works and sell instead of playing with plaster cine. For 20 years, that's all P1 have been doing, playing with clay, and the end result is a sampah of a car. Ptuii…..

• Kukuciao on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:08 am

I know I know, it'll be called "Proton Punggung"…

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:10 am

No la. That IS the gen2/persona.

• redfueler on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:13 am

hey,wat about car with white cover bhind dat 1?? wondering…???

• 1. quality suck

2. old technology

3. protect by government.

4. expensive…

NOTHING TO BE PROUD…

• sparrow on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:23 am

look at the plastic on the floor..

it is persona grill…

• Kukuciao on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:26 am

Since it's a clay model, then just name it "ClayMore C4"… normal lah for Proton to play "cut & paste" around with the available models, then announce new model launching, no wonder export sales worldwide so bad, as condemned by our DPM.

• Shiro on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:40 am

I think its just a facelift of gen2 or persona… that day i saw a gen2 with different bodykit with black taped rear lights carrying a temporary number plate on the road… the car is greenish metallic colour…

• *x_x* on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:42 am

Hire me… lol…

the clay model looks like America Ford Focus

• nebula87 on Dec 10, 2009 at 6:51 am

Ala…its just a old model of proton la..not a future model..if it still design this kind of exterior, all those proton loyal customers will run away in a nick of time ar…

• nice vids btw… :p

tq paul

• Neo.S on Dec 10, 2009 at 7:06 am

i think Proton need to work extra hard on developing & quality control with all those Hi-Tech tools they have now. so far i felt the best of all Proton was the Neo Chassis. i hope they can keep it up more. hope to see better car in the future.

• Orang Tinggi on Dec 10, 2009 at 7:28 am

Tidak mustahil proton akan berkembang maju jika staf dan pekerja di syarikat ini bekerja dengan jujur, rajin dan bertanggungjawab dan mempunyai ketelitian yang tinggi ditambah pula dengan pengurusan yang bijak dan tersusun. Semakin berkembang proton jika rakyat malaysia membeli kereta proton walaupun pada permulaan nya proton menghasilkan kereta yang kurang bermutu berbanding syarikat kereta lain. Disebabkan budaya kerja yang mementingkan kualiti maka syarikat ini semakin matang dan mengeluarkan kereta yang dipuja-puja masyarakat dunia

• Hmm still waiting any update for Waja-Lancer model

I made my own here :
    http://mibs3dart.blogspot.com/2009/11/experiment-…

• nadzri m yusof on Dec 10, 2009 at 7:36 am

Proton should press bank negara to stop 9 years loan to non national car. Then only proton can achived market control at list 40%. Why give them enjoy low interest and long tenure. I can guarantee they will ask their govt to interefere…….So looks who say they need not protection?

• Jimmy on Dec 10, 2009 at 7:39 am

Waja Lancer: better be RM 62000 baseline model – RM75000 top of the range. Or else cannot compete with Vios J and Kia Forte.

• Wah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Proton got R&D??????

Really????

Really really?????

• theanswer on Dec 10, 2009 at 8:22 am

They can’t even engineered a faultless power window or a door handle that actually work. Thank god I would never have to own another Proton.

hahaha..my gf send her blm to sc at tmn kosas..as a result she founds out that her glove box broke already. how come the glove box can easily spoilt?

• the deputy prime minister said proton shouldnt rely too much on government and should find their ways to improve. hope proton really can come up with a more challenging model.

• *x_x* on Dec 10, 2009 at 8:49 am

Proton needs better head designer

• shawal.ali on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:16 am

very likely to be a facelift or…sumthin…, they're 'workin'…'hard' rebadging the lancer, and im sure they're almost bald comin up with exora…

I doubt they're working on anything new…

Proton Saga is great, selling really well… it should receive a mild facelift… like adding airbags and other safety equipment as standard…

Proton should just concentrate on improving existing models… with better plastics and standard safety equipment , even on manual variants cuz it saves fuel! ,…then ppl will buy their car, once they're profitable, then they should invest properly in R&D… like a new engine and a new car ..to go head to head with the likes of jazz, city , civic , accord….and maybe…. Legend

capture back the national market…

• stfodude on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:20 am

Wah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Proton got R&D??????

Really????

Really really?????

————————————————————

nah perodua better just rebadge and ready to sell

• Gajen on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:31 am

paul did u notice the satria neo convertible in the video? at 0.35…

i wonder if proton is really going to make a convertible version of the neo….hmm…

• Wah.. those engineers at Proton can build a full size clay model liau!! Bravo!!

• pwoton on Dec 10, 2009 at 10:20 am

take off the AP, ill take the forte any day

• henry on Dec 10, 2009 at 10:39 am

if you look at the front end design, you know it's an old clay model.

• vincent on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:25 am

"Banana Land said,

December 9, 2009 @ 10:01 pm

Start designing cars that actually works and sell instead of playing with plaster cine. For 20 years, that’s all P1 have been doing, playing with clay, and the end result is a sampah of a car. Ptuii….."

WTF???

Tell me who doesn't play with clay before they come out with a prototype?

I believe this sentence has been used too many times over, "If you don't know what you're talking about, please just shut up".

Cars that actually work and sell came from clay models. Even the mighty GTR and ultimate driving machines like BMW. I bet even Ferrari and Porsche uses clay modeling.

• vincent on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:27 am

btw, yep like many others, i think it's clay model before the gen2/persona came out… or maybe it's going to be a facelifted version of the gen2/persona?

• That is not a new clay model, it's just one of the clay model that they produce but never see the production light.

Probably better for them to outsource the design to car design house such as Pininfarina then learn from there..

• mystvearn on Dec 10, 2009 at 12:30 pm

What is the next new car coming out of proton? Which car does it replace?

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 10, 2009 at 2:49 pm

Proton styling department totally need to be revamped. Azlano being it's head is proved incapable to produce good looking cars that made huge investment gone into the drain. If he is brave to take the responsibility, he should resign by himself. boring boring boring.

• Sorry Azlano, I also like you're not up to standard, if we take EXORA (especially very dull interior design) as a benchmark. You can do better than that if you take styling cues from existing MPV (himself own a Wish and take Wish as the benchmark).

• khaix19a on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:40 pm

i dont expect much from new model…..

i hope proton can show the malaysia the new model b4 make it into production car so they dont screw up in the design….

proton must consider public opinion before releasing their new car

because the malaysian citizen buy their car

at least after some opinion from the public they can modify their design

to fulfill the public needs…

at least that what i think…

• Enginerd_2009 on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:45 pm

Automotive_Critics said,

December 10, 2009 @ 6:49 am

Proton styling department totally need to be revamped. Azlano being it’s head is proved incapable to produce good looking cars that made huge investment gone into the drain. If he is brave to take the responsibility, he should resign by himself. boring boring boring.

——

so, thats mean they should hire you, right ?

• Eyesore on Dec 10, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Lol… paultan.. congrats on making another topic for ppl to continue bash proton. That video footage of the clay model might already a few years old shown in the R&D vids just to explain that one of the stage of developing new model is clay modelling. That clay model could be one of few clay model made during concept initiation stage for one of proton older models prob, gen2 or BLM. So it make sense if it looks kinda outdated (as some commenters here said).

And you made a topic here as if it a new model's clay model…inviting ppl to bash proton… bravo… congrats again Paul….

Paul Tan says: Please have an open mind. I posted it up because I wanted people to watch the R&D video. However people decide to react, it is their choice, I cannot control it nor do not take any joy from people "bashing" Proton. There are over 300,000 unique readers of this site every month and for every person here bashing Proton, there are so many others who enjoyed watching the video but do not comment. Some of them do not even bother reading the comments. Let's not forget about that. BTW I have a Proton myself and I'm happy with it so far, it's very very trouble free, except for a quirky gearbox.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm

*YAWN*

Boring… just another gimmick by some ProtonGayboys to bluff "the rakyat" till kingdom comes.

It still doesn't change the fact that squeaking & knocking sounds coming from the suspension (read my previous comments).

Thank you for reading.

• Prismo on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:42 pm

Aku heran dgn org Malaysia ni… setakat CLAY model yg bukan lagi final design pun nak KUTUK? entah2 itu clay model sebelum gen2 ke, apa ke… kalo nak kata itu model gantian Waja, mustahil kan sebab suma org tahu yg Waja baru base on mitsu lancer 2.0GT… kalo nak kata model gantian persona pun X pasti sebab kan ada ura2 yg model gantian persona di-design oleh syarikat dari itali kan? (itupun kalo x silap aku)

Encik tikus, Tiara base on Citroen yg dimiliki sepenuhnya oleh DRB hicom dijual under badge Proton.. Juara adalah mitsu town box… Arena adalah asal design wira yg aku pasti suma org tahu ttg itu dan pastinya nampak fresh kalo kita masih di zaman 90an… inilah perangai org Malaysia.. Pride of Malaysians…. heheh…

• Mohd Nazri on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:43 pm

could it be the Persona facelift

• alpha999 on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:48 pm

interesting ? What does Proton R&D do all this while ? Design looks are subjective. However, areas such bulid and material quality can be further improved

• apexg2 on Dec 10, 2009 at 4:55 pm

i heard that there will be persona replacement model next year..