eRUF Stormster – not what people usually have in mind when you talk about EVs

eruf-stormster

The big green monster you see above is the eRUF Stormster grun (German for Green), a Porsche Cayenne powered by a Siemens electric motor and lithium ion batteries from Li-Tec. You can get it either with the “grun” body above or a standard Cayenne body.

It’s not going to be scorchingly fast though – because of the massive 2,670kg weight, the 270kW (367hp) electric motor can only take the Stormster up to 100km/h in 10 seconds. That’s just quite sad – for a car to start feeling reasonably fast it has to breach the 8 second mark. The baseline Cayenne with the 3.6 litre V6 can do the sprint in 7.5 seconds. I guess that’s the price to pay for zero emissions.

Other battery and motor related vital stats include a 200km range and a top speed of 150km/h.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jacob on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:22 pm

Looks like the battery duration and distance of travel is the main agenda for EVs vehicle. Paul, if a petrol based car FC depends on the way we are pressing the throttle, but how about EVs vehicle?? Does EVs still travelling the same distance as claimed by manufacturer? For example this green monster, let say we drive 150kmh and maintain the speed, can it get exactly 200km distance of travel??

• initial R on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Aaaa….. hunky HULK is coming…

• mingyuyu on Dec 10, 2009 at 9:37 pm

Standard Cayenne looks much better

• Gajen on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:00 pm

i prefer a cayenne gts….this one is like transformers…

• lazyf on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:24 pm

cute but fierce…grrrrrrrrr!!!!

• comarezzi on Dec 11, 2009 at 5:39 am

wonder if my car looks better in this green colour… hmmm

• the front looks like the old VW beetle

• Is this one of the Grinch car? No offense :)

• winteringtourer on Dec 14, 2009 at 1:53 pm

im quite a fan of Ruf bodykit designs..looks very oem, with quality feel….so y no one call this ah beng style or ricer, since its performance do not justify the looks?? scratch chin…neeway great initiative from Ruf and Siemens