New Honda CB Twister unveiled in India

Honda CB Twister

Honda’s Indian operations have just launched the new Honda CB Twister in India, a 110cc 4-stroke air-cooled motorcycle which will be sold at about 42,000 Rupee, which translates to about RM3,063. 110cc motorcycles account for about half of total motorcycle sales in India, and India is expectedly the world’s second largest motorcycle market behind China. Honda sells nearly a million motorcycles each year in India alone, and the new CB Twister is expected to account for 220,000 units a year.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=670]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Racing Boy on Dec 11, 2009 at 12:52 am

front = cagiva

middle = RX-Z

rear = modenas

sport rims = yamaha lc

• MADBOY on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:08 am

Nice looking bike until I saw the engine. puny.

• bring this in and bann all RX-Z which is causing so much noise !

• Gajen on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:35 am

looks sleek….kinda cool

• wat? 3k? on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:35 am

wat? 3k!? seriously? really cb…

• _xXx_ on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:37 am

4-stroke honda cub with through muffler is no quiet also what?

• mantois (Member) on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:37 am

look nice…. but sad only 110cc aje?

• *x_x* on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:39 am

lol, honda cb

• nice looking..

but 110cc only…

i wonder how much it will cost if sell in here..

if sell that price here sure it'll be no 1 bike

since most bike cost at least 3.5-4k..

• initial R on Dec 11, 2009 at 1:58 am

Bring in can line in with EX5…. hehehe… ;)

• mufasa on Dec 11, 2009 at 2:18 am

indian rider like motobike look, not kapcai,, and it a must that their horn sound loud

• i'm in india and using honda cbz.. 150cc.. only ~rm2000.. bought frm senior.. bikes here are better than in msia.. it's like heaven for mat rempit for being here.. dun even hv to wear helmet nor side mirror.. never seen kapcai here.. so for all malaysians.. dont look down on bikes in india.. yamaha fz here looks better than in msia.. yamaha r15 costs only bout >rm10k.. my seniors' planning to bring to msia.. but suppose to be costly

• sensei900 on Dec 11, 2009 at 4:20 am

this bike maybe will not come in,why?becoz it will affect our beloved govt modenas…so pity us becoz if this thing come in,it will mark up four times than it normal price…

1malaysia…ntahapahapantah

• whizac on Dec 11, 2009 at 4:52 am

small engine but wanna looks bigger..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:19 am

yes india the best

• satrian on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:28 am

Not only the bikes la even the cars over there really make people shock……there people really have buying power not like here everthing knock for 9 years with zero down payment…….some family over ther buying cars like buying underwear and g string for their men ,wives or g freind……

• tiubxray on Dec 11, 2009 at 3:07 pm

I think this bike can transform like the autobots….but transform into a lawn mower……..muahahahahahaahahahahahahaahahahaha…..seems like someone can steal the engine just by unscrew the bolts and lift it up……muaahahahahahahahahahaa……

• fique D on Dec 11, 2009 at 3:28 pm

heheh what a small block…

• fastd on Dec 11, 2009 at 4:19 pm

I just thinking to place a helmet beside the engine block ;-)

• jonny blaze on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:09 pm

When I first step foot in India in 1985, there were a few very dated Japanese models- Yamaha RX100, Suzuki AX100, Kawasaki GP100, all two-stroke models from the 70's. There was also the Rajdoot 350, which is the very first model of Yamaha's famed RD series.

At the same time, back in Malaysia, RXZ was just being introduced after years of success with RXS. Yamaha also had the famed RD 125/250YPVS. Suzuki had Panther 150 and RG 250 Gamma. Kawasaki got the AR 125 and KR 250. Honda got the MBX 125, Raider 135 and VT 250 V2.

From eastern Europe, there was the Jawa 250- 2-stroke parallel twin. Its unique feature is that the gear shifter is also the kick starter. Fuel and lubricant had to be mixed in the fuel tank. And very polluting.

Bajaj had a scooter modeled after the Vespa.

Then there was the Enfield Bullet 350 4-stroke bike, from the 60's. This bike got the gears on the right foot and rear brake on the left. Also has a unique gear disengage lever and a decompression lever before starting. Like its name sake, it was bullet proof.

Honda enter the Indian market later and introduced the first 4-stroke bike, Honda-Hero 100cc- using a cub engine from that era. Honda also introduced the first Japanese scooter- a 100cc 2-stroke model known as Honda Kinetic.

They were very outdated then. Not anymore.

• jonny blaze on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Oh.. there was also a 50cc 2-stroke moped – MOtor with PEDal.

Small, nibble and with its underbone design, make its very popular among Indian ladies wearing saree as it was easy to mount.

• sunnyspeed on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:42 pm

nice thing presented by honda with good price and at a right time in indian market.

• keretapotong on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:55 pm

This bike must be underpowed, small engine 100cc with heavy body. Indian prefer this kind of bike instead of kapcai type due to their road condition a lot of potholes ( just guessed) they have not been exposed to kapcai bike.

• James on Dec 11, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Dear All,

Each Country has a unique requirement, based on their development and demography.Commuters in South East Asia prefer the step thru bikes, where as in India we prefer small capacity bikes and scooters, to navigate the crowded street. India has a huge population next to china, and when it comes to affordability for the masses , Check out the wide variety of models available in India:

Honda:

CD Twister – 100 CC:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/twister/index….
    CBF Stunner – 125 CC:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/cbf_stunner_pg…
    Shine 125 CC:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/shine/index.ht…
    Unicorn 150 CC:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/unicorn/index….
    CB1000r :
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/cb1000r/index….
    CBR 1000RR:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/cbr1000rr/inde…
    Scooters:

Dio 110 CC:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/dio/index.html
    Activa 110 CC:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/activa/index.h…
    Aviator 110 CC:
    http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/aviator/index….
    Hero Honda (India):
    http://www.herohonda.com/products.htm
    Scooter:

Pleasure 110 CC:
    http://www.herohonda.com/Pleasure/
    Karizma R – 223 CC:
    http://www.herohonda.com/karizmazmr/index.html
    Bajaj:
    http://www.bajajauto.com/
    Kawasaki(India):
    http://www.bajajauto.com/probiking/index.html
    Yamaha (India):
    http://www.yamaha-motor-india.com/product/index.h…
    Suzuki (India):
    http://www.suzukimotorcycle.co.in/products.asp
    TVS:
    http://www.tvsmotor.in/
    Mahindra Motorcycles:

Harley Davidson (India):
    http://www.harley-davidson.in/
    Enfield(India)
    http://www.enfieldmotorcycles.com/

• ashish on Dec 11, 2009 at 11:29 pm

a commuter bike with basic styling and looks

• jonny blaze on Dec 12, 2009 at 12:27 am

Yes. The moped was TVS! :)

Wow.. so many new models now.

Stunner looks great with design borrowed from the 1000RR. And it has PGM-F1 ! :)

Is the Rajdoot 350 still available..?

• royal enfields here are not bad too.. my juniors bought 550cc bullet about rm3k-4k only.. ah ya, malaysian students here won't use bike like in the pic..all of us got modified ald with full kit or it would end up with "tempe" look with the safety rods in front..

we call local ppl tempe btw… tempe=tempatan..lol

• Nice and affordable alternative.

Nice for pothole roads…….

• jonny blaze on Dec 12, 2009 at 4:47 pm

"we call local ppl tempe btw… tempe=tempatan..lol"

hmm.. i wonder what the locals refer to you as..

Anyway, the roads with bad surface are the rural parts of the country. In the cities and suburbs, the roads are not too different from what we have here. I had been to Ooty, Mysore, Bangalore, Mangalore, Goa, Bombay(as it was known then), New Delhi and Shimla. I didn't see a badly potholed road- there were potholes here and there, but heck, it's the same here too.

I was asked by a man in Madras where I'm from. Told him I'm from Malaysia. His next question was, "you came by train?" – he thought there's no airport here.

And remember the time when the westerners thought we live in trees..?

Ignorance is bliss.. isn't it?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 12, 2009 at 9:59 pm

love this

• JapaneseCarSucks on Dec 14, 2009 at 4:04 am

Good luck riding that thing.

• Elvis on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:02 am

Thanks Bro Paul…you do read your readers comments….hopefully you also do cruiser bike…love it…

• Elvis on Dec 14, 2009 at 5:05 am

Hopefully G dont bring this bike to Malaysia, just look at kapcai…oledi can turn into MAT REMPIT…baru cc KECIL already want to break the law..if bring this one…probable turn into MAT MAWAS…

• unknown on Dec 14, 2009 at 6:39 am

design already damn good but sadly a scooter size engine with a scooter size wheels….

• Maminkila on Dec 14, 2009 at 11:23 pm

Shall buy it.But my RX-Z still unprogresed.

• very excilent, when is  available in Vietnam ?

• Ravi Jadhav on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:46 pm

Its Looking Like a Dynamite.

• krishna moorthy on Feb 28, 2010 at 5:51 am

cooooooooooooooooooooooooooool buddy.. very sexyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

• JOYDEEP MUKHERJEE on Mar 03, 2010 at 9:56 am

WHAT IS THE BHP ? AND COST . SELF START ?

• AL-Penth on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:01 am

this bike just to travel from place A to place B. so don't need bigger cc. it's can also eliminate mat rempit if this bike replace the RXZ…just pollute the air with 2T smoke.

• zainal abidin on May 30, 2010 at 10:31 pm

For the Malaysian market I think this bike should have a 200/250cc dohc single.

• kaushik on Sep 24, 2010 at 11:08 pm

i have perchage after the 60 day and conform the reat list &fuater

• saravanan on Oct 01, 2010 at 5:37 pm

i think its extream design
    it like a sportive view of an body style. i like very much

• Arvind on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Sexy bike gud looking, honda is great cb twister i love u

• Harry Nelson on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:25 am

I need your help. I’m looking for a Racing CDI for Honda CB Twister. I don’t know what type of racing cdi that will fit on CB Twister..

thanks..

• i like hoda vehicles, i and my brothers own honda vehicles. It is a thrill to drive them as their performance is very good.
    All the best.