New Mercedes-Benz ML 350 AMG Sports Edition

ml350-amg
Click for enlarged image

The ML 350 is now available with an AMG Sports Edition package here in Malaysia, which adds AMG front and rear aprons, AMG twin oval exhaust tailpipes, aluminum running boards, and 21 inch alloy wheels to enhance the exterior looks. The last AMG Sports Edition model that we got here was specified on the W211 E 280, and you can read a test drive review of that one in our reviews section.

As expected from the 350 in its model name (though this is not always true with both Mercedes-Benz and BMW these days), the ML 350 is powered by a 3.5 litre V6 engine, producing 272 horsepower and 350Nm of torque. Peak torque is achieved at just 2,400rpm and goes up to 5,000rpm, which is pretty impressive. But the ML is a heavy car after all so 0 to 100km/h takes 8.4 seconds, which is not super fast but qualified to be called zippy at the very least.

The V6 engine is mated to a 7G-TRONIC seven-speed automatic transmission which can drop multiple gears without having to go through gears sequentially, This means 7th gear straight to 4th gear is possible if required. You can swap cogs manually with steering wheel paddle shifters. The suspension system uses AIRMATIC, which means you can set your suspension variables and ride height to whatever you like or simply leave it in automatic mode.

On the interior, you get 8 airbags, a COMAND APS in-car entertainment and telematics system which includes GPS navigation data. All data including 4GB of music can be stored on a 40GB hard drive. The system also has a DVD changer, Bluetooth hands-free connectivity and has a USB interface to connect to a USB thumb drive, USB portable media player or an iPod. You can “talk” to the COMAND APS system via LINGUATONIC, a speech recognition feature.

The ML 350 AMG Sports Package retails for RM555,888, which at that kind of price segment is a really small premium over the regular ML 350’s RM548,888 price tag.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=671]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Airul (Member) on Dec 11, 2009 at 2:21 am

1st!! more stylish

• Imran on Dec 11, 2009 at 2:41 am

AMG kit perhaps, but this is still a boring car. The BMW X5, Nissan Murano, Mazda CX-7 all look better and have more character.

• crv front headlight..and i don't fancy that flat front bumper..

• Alpha on Dec 11, 2009 at 4:33 am

is it me,or the front looks like the mother of a MyVi SE??really hav resemblance!!

• Gajen on Dec 11, 2009 at 4:49 am

the front is too complicated

• mingyuyu on Dec 11, 2009 at 4:57 am

fugly bumpers

• Mercedes ML 350 VS BMW X5 M

• sure Pak Lah will trade-in his old ml-350, haha…

• Dont Buy..

my dad have one..

its annoying car…

• Dont buy,not recommended

my dad have one..

its annoying car

• Insecticon on Dec 11, 2009 at 9:09 am

Please buy , highly recommended

My dad has two

they're pleasing cars

• skiborne on Dec 11, 2009 at 12:57 pm

front looks redundant

• Slayer on Dec 11, 2009 at 7:19 pm

Buy or not buy..its doesn't matter
    My dad do not have one
    Chill your life with or without this car,

• hahaha,nice one Insection

• How come I still fall in love with Nissan Murano? Hahaha…

• exJAVANESE on Dec 12, 2009 at 1:30 am

look alike an Exora.. side front bumper boxy!! merc-exora..

• flopsy on Dec 12, 2009 at 5:41 am

nice body..

• CocoBear on Dec 12, 2009 at 7:48 am

Let me tell u the truth behind this "special edition". MB is going to introduce a new M-class and they are currently testing a mule car. Although this AMG kit looks good, I still prefer either BMW X5 or Audi Q7 because they have "modern" turbo diesel.

• 11spy on Dec 13, 2009 at 4:33 am

exJAVANESE said,

December 11, 2009 @ 5:30 pm

look alike an Exora.. side front bumper boxy!! merc-exora..

—————————-

AGREE!!!!

PROTON BOLEHH

• i agree wat db8 said…

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

db8 said,

December 10, 2009 @ 8:28 pm

crv front headlight..and i don’t fancy that flat front bumper..

• zafedz on Dec 14, 2009 at 9:48 am

the price maybe can get cheaper if this model produce by Ssang Yong…