Matte gold SLS AMG unveiled in Dubai

Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG "Desert-Gold"

An SLS AMG with a striking gold paint in Dubai – please don’t tell me you were surprised! The next step is probably one with a fully chromed paint and then we’ll see diamond-crusted bodywork or perhaps a body made of pure gold but for now we’re still at the gold paintjob stage for this recently unveiled flagship car.

This new paintjob is called Desert Gold and it has a matte finish with gloss black accents and black AMG wheels measuring a massive 19 inches at the front and a larger 20 inches at the rear – most of us just settle for a staggered setup but this particular car gets a full inch size up!

g55-dubai

You can’t buy an SLS AMG with this paintjob from factory just yet but Mercedes-Benz says given enough demand, they could make this paintjob available. But it’s not like the owner cannot afford to pony up some cash and have this paint done aftermarket by themselves, so why the wait? Currently there are two matte paintjobs already available for the SLS AMG from the factory – AMG Monza grey magno and AMG alubeam silver.

According to AMG, the Middle East is the division’s 4th largest market after USA, Germany and Japan. The other car featured here is the Mercedes-Benz G 55 AMG KOMPRESSOR “Edition 79” which is only available in the Middle East. Only 79 units are available and it is finished in only one colour – designo magno alanite grey.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=681]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Elvis on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:32 am

Mercedes learned something from Proton…do some SIMPLE special edition…HIKE PRICE….

• khaix19a on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:36 am

love that g class….

saw one in naza….huhu

no wonder middle east the largest market

they got mony rich people there

• oo_deanz on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:39 am

well,couldnt say more..mo money mo talk..haha

• would like to see more cars come with matte paint as standard.

• love matte paint.

• Dalam geran…warna: Gold…or…warna: Perak. No matter how much u pay to get special color

• tokmoh on Dec 16, 2009 at 8:23 am

Dubai dubai… baru dapat bailout, mercedes dah menghasut orang arab ni sume guna duit diorg dpt dari bailout utk tujuan yg tidak berfaedah =.=

arabs, don't be like western bankers. else, maybe their govt should "supertax" them.

• the rich people in dubai gonna be poor soon if the debt problem doesnt get solved. lol.

• nebula87 on Dec 16, 2009 at 9:38 am

DUBAI soon will bankrap la…the american will take over their belongings if they still cant solve their debt problem..

rich but dont want donate some to the poor, just know how 2 build n buy..

• dubai poor = malaysia poor as we rely mostly on investments from the middle east

• shawal on Dec 16, 2009 at 2:56 pm

G class still around…? well, it looks modern however old it becomes cuz nothing is quite like it…. it looks purposeful, altho in this guise its sole purpose is to promote masculinity that the owner prolly lacks…

SLS…whichever colour it comes with… it is the most exciting merc in years… since the headline-grabbing CLK-GTR…. ( SLR Mclaren was overshadowed by the ENZO i feel….)…

• shawal on Dec 16, 2009 at 3:03 pm

The SLS got "Playboy" written all over the bloody thing , it has the performance to match its looks, but im sure majority of buyers couldnt care less…

…The long bonnet & wheelbase, the tall cabin is a throwback to the original gullwing… the cool gullwing doors, for once , a car's looks prevail over function ….

You have to drive a ferrari around the track and realworld and you know its special..but this…, i feel special if i ever see 1 with my own eyes…

• yeah..i like G class too..classic but handsome looking car..look tough and solid like the famous land rover discovery.

• I hate to say it but this car is butt-ugly. The front end is a mess, and the headlights are simply hideous ! I think it looks best from the back. Very sleek stoplights i must admit.

• chew ban on Dec 16, 2009 at 4:55 pm

dood in malaysia people can afford those cars provided we dont pay tax, in dubai they dont pay tax. even with taxes, we still can see ferrari, lamborghini, hummer, ford gt, zonda, veyron, maserati. if we dont have taxes, you would see reventon in msia hehe

• nhl (Member) on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:12 pm

yeah,dubais days are numbereed,kena dengan mat salleh….our economy at not tied to middle east,its japan,usa and china.

• MyCarMyLife on Dec 16, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Soon these cars will be parked at Dubai's International airport .!

Good luck Duty Free and Owner Free.

• submitlover on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Loved the matte finish. But hate the Merc model..

look too vintage lah…Like my grandfather's Old Merc car

• alpha0201 on Dec 16, 2009 at 6:54 pm

nmh said,

December 16, 2009 @ 12:13 am

Dalam geran…warna: Gold…or…warna: Perak. No matter how much u pay to get special color

____________________________________________________________________________

What's wrong with that? Geran only texts. As long you get the colour you paid its all good.

• hmm.. it remind me the Thunder Hawk car of Mask cartoon series, hehe

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 16, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Well, good design on the SLS, poor finishing on the gold colour.

Rich man with poor sense of beauty might like it.

• X mercedes X on Dec 16, 2009 at 11:04 pm

ugly car again from mercedes

• X mercedes X on Dec 16, 2009 at 11:15 pm

looks cheap and alot Fuglier than SLR

• mystvearn on Dec 17, 2009 at 1:49 am

Both pointless and I don't think those in Dubai can afford now

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Abu Dhabi just lent Dubai $10b to help them get out of their mess. What will AD think of this extravagance? :-)

• ARAB-MAN on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:45 am

lol its funny how so many malaysians r leaving hate comment about dubai and the middle east …

btw ppl.. even if dubai bankrupts… its already achived more than KL and Putrajaya both put together… so eat ur hearts out and try to be less jealous.

• ugly sls