Kovalainen to drive Neo S2000 in Arctic Rally?

heikki tries proton s2000

Remember when we reported that Heikki looked really interested in the Satria Neo S2000 when he visited Proton’s Centre of Excellence? Now, Autosport says that the Lotus F1 driver has been linked to drive the Proton in the Arctic Rally!

Their sources have admitted that a Kovalainen entry in next month’s Rovaniemi-based event has been talked about.

“Heikki is here to drive in Formula 1. That’s why he was in Malaysia. But, maybe there is a chance for the rally car. He went and sat in the car and he was very excited about it. It would be a great story, but at the moment no discussions have taken place at all. He would need permission, the rally is dangerous, there is a lot of speculation on this – and that’s all it is right now. Nothing is agreed.”

If the deal materialises, we could see Heikki up against fellow Finn Kimi Raikkonen, who will make his debut in the Citroen C4 at the snow event. Kovalainen is a big fan of rallying and has in the past tested Sebastien Loeb’s Citroen C4 WRC before.

Thanks to trav_da_man for the tip.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:08 pm

He got tht look on his face like a kid just got a new toy…

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm

He's a Finn. Of course he wants to rally.

But nobody yet can compare to a French ex-gymnast. :-)

• go on on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:09 pm

bismillah,sila2

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:13 pm

lol. if the car can survive.

• Afif Hamzah on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:17 pm

this is interesthing…

• Tiadaid on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Finns are more interested in rallying rather than F1. They've only 3 F1 champions and only 4 F1 race winners, but they have 4 rally champions, including 2 4-time rally champions and several other rally winners. Understandable for Heikki to want to rally.

• trav_da_man on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:58 pm

No wonder hekki looks dam happy when his inside the seat of the satria neo s2000 during his visitation in Proton HQ.

Just like what James May mentioned in his Finland adventure on top gear " There a saying in motorsports that if you want to win races, hire a Fin"

• lepat on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:47 pm

let him join the rally, good for proton and lotus f1 in term of marketing.. if anything goes bad… still got time to find new driver and lotus still have 3rd driver…

• awg1031 on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:47 pm

wow.this is better..the car itself attracts other driver..no need to cari2 driver..cool proton~

• initial R on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:53 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

December 17, 2009 @ 12:13 pm

————————————-

Sure can…. have a prove already…… Erk… where your mazda line up ?…..

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:24 pm

1st person to wish injuries on Heikki in the S2000 will be Fairuz. So he can race. Just kidding.

• Mysticmind on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:59 pm

A great and nice looking car that no one can resist? ;)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:02 pm

initial R said,

December 17, 2009 @ 1:53 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

————————————-

——————————-

doing more meaningful things. unlike your proton still trying so hard to prove itself eventhough everyone know its a second hand mitsu lancer they are using

• initial R on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:11 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

December 17, 2009 @ 3:02 pm

———————————-

I think u read wrongly…. It's Satria Neo S2000, not Wira or Lancer GSR…. they will replace new car when time come (now Proton want to do 6 to 8 years cycle or less)…..

• nmfairus on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:20 am

seem proton s2000 got high reputation after finish podium in IRC.

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:20 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

initial R said,

Mazda 3 MPS said,

————————————-

——————————-

doing more meaningful things. unlike your proton still trying so hard to prove itself eventhough everyone know its a second hand mitsu lancer they are using

———————-

soon your zoom-zoom will become bang-bang.

• Bob Tahar on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:53 am

Dear Mazda 3 MPS

what!!!???? second hand mitsu lancer they are using???… hmmmm….you must be sleeping all this time..

• dcrook on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:07 am

^^^^

this guy still living in 1998

• Salamander on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:14 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

You are an obvious troll my friend. :D For other user please dont feed the troll.

• Jarum on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:53 am

I guess the pre-requisites for Proton to just let you drive their S2000 are:

1. Some racing experience

2. You have to be white!

Proton is beginning to pimp that car and the S2000 seems to be their whore!

• bmpower on Dec 18, 2009 at 4:38 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

I thought you're smarter than that… but not. :(

• Remedy (Member) on Dec 18, 2009 at 5:10 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

"The 's2000' chassis is probably one of the best chassis I have ever driven and the levels of grip are really good, so all together, it’s a very good car." – alister mcrae

http://www.alistermcraesport.com/news/index.php?i…

• dirtyoldmen on Dec 18, 2009 at 3:28 pm

JULIAN_LEE said,

December 17, 2009 @ 4:20 pm

AND

Mazda 3 MPS said,

You're both living proof that you can talk(type) out of your ass. Well done.

• Jamsbong on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:03 pm

@Jarum

Pre-requisite for a driver has nothing to do with skin color. Hamilton is a good example. The truth is that in places like Finland, Europe, USA and Brazil, there are many opportunities to learn to drive like a racer.

Such opportunity is very rare in Asia. Japan is the only place where you can learn to drive but unfortunately in Japan there are lots of show-offs but not many REAL talents.

There are very few true talents out there. Heikki is fast but he lacks aggression.

• roadrunner on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

initial R said,

Mazda 3 MPS said,

————————————-

——————————-

———————-

——————–

i think this is the best comment from Julian Lee! Peace =)

• tttuuuutttt on Dec 19, 2009 at 8:14 am

hahaha stupid moron mazda 3 wtf!!

• rakyat on Dec 21, 2009 at 8:18 pm

mazda 3 mps is a good car. dun cemarkan the car by continuing to use it as ur nickname la. haiyo.