Techart Cayenne aims for world’s fastest SUV tag

techart cayenne turbo

Recently we blogged about the Brabus GLK V12 claiming the fastest SUV title with a top speed of 322.3 km/h, a feat which we presume has shook the tuner world, because here comes Techart’s Porsche to challenge the Mercedes. The Cayenne fell short, but only by a whisker.

Test driver Sandro Reuter reached a top speed of 321.2 km/h at Nardo in this Techart tuned Cayenne Turbo. The Leonberg, Germany based tuner installed its TA 055/2.2 performance kit that takes power to 680 bhp, an increase of 130 bhp over the standard car. The top speed run was aided by an aerodynamics kit together with a Sport air suspension module. The Porsche wore Continental Cross Contact ultra high-performance tyres on 22-inch Techart Formula rims in the speed mission.

Techart’s big black bruiser may have failed to unseat the Brabus, but that didn’t stop them from claiming a (subsidiary) title – this Cayenne is the world’s fastest full size SUV!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• First!!!!

Hehe.

• shawal on Dec 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

why…….why……. just why…..

• who else want to claim?

• mystvearn on Dec 17, 2009 at 2:38 pm

Pointless..high speed corner, terbalik:P

• DirkTooth on Dec 17, 2009 at 3:29 pm

haha..

lwnlah korang puas2..

• mohd hafizzul on Dec 17, 2009 at 4:03 pm

Tak mampu….Mahal la

• aiyoo..no need to be the fastest..but nice car anyway..

• I thought ASIAN are kiasu, didn't know EUROPEAN are more kiasu than us hahaha…

• leaveacomment on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:04 pm

see the plate no.

BBT 4800..

whos the owner in malaysia with same plate no?..haha..

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:48 pm

What's the point?

• Alpha on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:30 pm

next,Perodua will do the same thing with Kembara~~

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:47 pm

This is a good reason for Proton to pimp out the Exora and make it the fastest MPV. :-)

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Precisely…not much point there, other than bragging rights

No matter if your Cayenne is the fastest and best handling SUV, it is nonetheless still a SUV.

I have a story to share

I had one cayenne ride my ass rudely recently, until I had it eat dust in a tight corner at speeds I rather keep to myself. Lost the cayenne after the corner, meaning the driver must have braked very hard after realising he has followed me in too hot (I was actually accelerating into the turn…so there was no brake light warning). Lucky for him he probably has ABS/VSC, had not, braking this late into a corner like that would have resulted in being very intimate with concrete barriers.

Never ever mess with lightweight hatchbacks with corner carving suspension and sticky tyres….especially in an SUV. The only hint I will give you that this isn't a regular Satria is my full racing bucket and harness. If you were 1 foot behind me as you were, you would have noticed.

Respect is due where it is due, the safety features probably saved him…but laws of physics still apply.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:14 pm

very fast. and ugly.

• wochomi on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:37 pm

Why wanna go so fast? I tot SUVs were the kinda car for FlowerPeople to smoke hay, relax and enjoy. If you wanna get somewhere fast, get a fast car. If you wanna go somewhere in a whole bunch, can't those rich bastards get their own cars instead…..

• droll on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:12 pm

this is getting really really old and boring.

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:29 pm

wochomi, that'll be a van/minibus or MPV. SUV's still mostly seat 5 and some are less spacious than sedans. They're mostly a waste of space (thank the Americans for starting the trend) and petrol.

• racerx111 on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Exceeding 300km/h is F1 territory and yeah, its not practical for a road car.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:03 pm

racerx111 said,

December 17, 2009 @ 2:34 pm

Exceeding 300km/h is F1 territory and yeah, its not practical for a road car.

———————————-

dude. you are aware people in Germany regularly drive above 300km/h right?

• BRAZBUZ on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:17 pm

hmm is it safe?

• mingyuyu on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:19 am

sure, better than those ugly and bulky looking mercedes GLKs

• whoCare on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:57 am

4G63tDSM said,

December 17, 2009 @ 12:00 pm

I have a story to share

I had one cayenne ride my ass rudely recently, until I had it eat dust in a tight corner at speeds I rather keep to myself. Lost the cayenne after the corner, meaning the driver must have braked very hard after realising he has followed me in too hot (I was actually accelerating into the turn…so there was no brake light warning). Lucky for him he probably has ABS/VSC, had not, braking this late into a corner like that would have resulted in being very intimate with concrete barriers.

Never ever mess with lightweight hatchbacks with corner carving suspension and sticky tyres….especially in an SUV. The only hint I will give you that this isn’t a regular Satria is my full racing bucket and harness. If you were 1 foot behind me as you were, you would have noticed.

Respect is due where it is due, the safety features probably saved him…but laws of physics still apply.

I think the cayenne driver can Easily catchup (after the corner) with your 4g63t satria if he wish so. Maybe he think it's pointless to waste more time with a mod satria lol…

• wochomi on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:15 am

Yo Squawk

Oh ya… that'll be the MPV thing with… got my ABCs jumbled up.

I bet this black beast will get a beating from our countries Bus Ekspress Drivers on Highway at night! Ada berani kah mai race? Come real life road race lah…. track is for sissys.

• racerx111 on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:19 am

No offence to Germans, I wouldnt categorize germany's autoban as a regular road to the true sense of the word more like tarmac track or rail if you will. The fastest ive tried once on a regular road with a regular car was 210km/h and that was palm sweaty scary enough.

• squawk on Dec 18, 2009 at 4:13 am

Hahahahahaha…. all that bus ekspres driver has to do is get in front, switch off all lights and brake….

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:39 pm

racerx111 said,

December 17, 2009 @ 5:19 pm

No offence to Germans, I wouldnt categorize germany’s autoban as a regular road to the true sense of the word more like tarmac track or rail if you will. The fastest ive tried once on a regular road with a regular car was 210km/h and that was palm sweaty scary enough.

——————————–

it is hard for beginners. but once you are used to it, you will go a lot faster.

ps : still 210km/h is really kind of pussy. i'd do that regularly on malaysian north south highway.

• CayenneRules on Dec 19, 2009 at 6:47 am

Come on, guy!! Those who has never driven a cayenne will not feel the mightiness of the vehicle. Once u've tried it, u'll addicted to its power and sheer size! Nevertheless, it still can't compare to sex.

• CayenneRules on Dec 19, 2009 at 6:56 am

4G63tDSM Satria boy, you are nobody compare to cayenne. Save some money and buy a decent car. Respect is something that you don't deserve if you only drive a satria with some mod.