Armoured Land Rovers available in Malaysia

Armored Range Rover

The black SUV you see above may look like an ordinary Range Rover to you, but it cost the British High Commission here in Malaysia a massive price tag of RM3.6 million!

It’s not a regular Range Rover – but this is instead the 2010 Armoured Range Rover, powered by a 5.0 litre V8 engine producing 375 horsepower and a good 510Nm of torque. The equipment list includes a touch screen dual-view center dash display which can show two different things to the front driver and passenger, and a instrument cluster that replaces the typical analog dials for speedo and RPM with a large TFT LCD panel that displays virtual dials and other information.

land-rover-meter-panel

There are also a few optional features that can be tacked on – tinted windows, an intercom system, an under-bonnet fire extinguisher, tamper-proof exhaust, self-sealing fuel tank, an independent oxygen supply to ensure a continuous flow of fresh air to the cabin, a new Surround Camera System which uses five cameras situated around the vehicle to provide an almost 360-degree view on the touch-screen and a Blind Spot Monitor system that utilises side-mounted radar sensors to survey the vehicle’s blind spots.

The Armoured Range Rover features ballistic steel armour and glazing which provides B6 level ballistic and blast protection in accordance with European standard EN1063. There is also an Armoured Discovery available, priced at RM2.1 million. The Discovery meets the EN1522 standard, which ensures resistance to a comprehensive range of hand guns and rifles, including the AK47, AK74, M16 and M60; as well as side blasts from high-explosive materials. Standard equipment includes run-flat tyres, bullet resistant glazing and under-floor Kevlar shielding for 360 degree under-skin protection.

All models have a full 3 year or 80,000km warranty. Each purchase also comes with a full driver training programme, and a dedicated technician can also provide a number of scheduled visits each year, to assist with vehicle familiarisation and servicing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JLean on Dec 18, 2009 at 11:29 pm

That's a nice ride. I can't imagine this land rover is armoured by the simple outlook. It has much techs included to it to make the car presentable. What a ride

• Mufasa on Dec 18, 2009 at 11:30 pm

this is for black water team…

• i think i'l hv discovery. cheaper than range rover.

• persona_Gen25610 on Dec 18, 2009 at 11:42 pm

wow!!

• Bruno on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:03 am

WRONG The British High Commission don't have to pay Malaysian duty taxes. We Malaysians have to. Soon the cronies, dictators and ugly politicians might need this to protect themselves. Does a police escort included in the price package?

• mystvearn on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:05 am

Don't be fooled. That car has very bad fuel consumption

• Anonymous on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:18 am

Only mafia boss need that. or, ex president bush.

• mingyuyu on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:32 am

wow…………

• cmc80 on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:33 am

WAA….

COST RM 2,100,000…

I PREFER NEW MERCEDES E GUARD… ^v^

• Rufus on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:43 am

Malaysia is a great potential market for Armored vehicles since national security will soon be an issue. May I list a few of the potentials..

1) Mahathir Mohamed

2) Abdullah Badawi

3) Khairy Jamaludin

4) Najib Tun Razak

5) Daim Zainuddin

6) Muhiyiddin Yassin

7) Samy Vellu

8) Khir Toyo, and the list goes on

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 12:59 am

list will go on below….

9)Anwar Ibrahim,special black tinted so susah kantoi dengan 'temannya'

10)Lim Guan Eng,special version with rocket sticker

11)Karpal Singh,special wheel chair version

12)Nizar the ex-menteri besar perak,special version tu cover malu.

13)etc………

• malaysia memang boleh!!! on Dec 19, 2009 at 1:27 am

Russell said,
    December 18, 2009 @ 9:41 pm

I honestly think that ‘malaysia memang boleh!!!’ person is a product of BTN. Even his English is utterly rubbish
    —————————————————————-

I in-honestly think that ‘russell’ is a product of DAP’S brainwash project

even his english is good and way better than mine,so what,he still an arse hole……

• BANJARSUGEH on Dec 19, 2009 at 2:04 am

kenapa la saling salah menyalahi…..kan tu suma satu kaum….cuba la bersatu, ni tidak asyik nak negatif jer….lawan web kereta pun nak politik..

• Jumbsuck on Dec 19, 2009 at 2:10 am

So much armour for the crooks and corrupt to hide huh.

Only those get wealth thru ill-gotten means will get this crap. If not why so scared if not merompak wang rakyat.

• skiborne on Dec 19, 2009 at 2:35 am

rufus, what a silly comment indeed, samy vellu and khairy ok la, but not mahathir of course, oh perhaps karpal singh must have one haha, btw im nt a BN guy or wht..

• littlefire on Dec 19, 2009 at 2:37 am

I think those people who purchase this is scared of one person… the C4 man… LOL~! But i think if really plant a C4 below the car also bye bye..

Anyway i think current G need more, as people anger is going up by next year… A lot of stuff will Barang Naik again… Yeah! Thanks to those who vote BN, we going to be screw until pocket empty..

Anyway if i not mistaken David Beckham did have 1 of this, or the armored BMW X5? Forget de..

• skiborne on Dec 19, 2009 at 2:38 am

malaysia memang boleh!!!,

i agree with u, karpal singh must also have a built-in lift to hoist and decent him down frm the car, or simply say the car is to protect him frm some hantu to hit him so that he wont be fully paralyzed pulakk… btw im nt a BN guy or sumthin

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 3:13 am

and who else can you see in this car??

coward politicians,right.

well they dont want to have the same fate as JFK…..

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 3:15 am

so even this site is about cars

so what we can relate this car with OUR BELOVED dumbass politician(PR AND BN)

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 3:19 am

this car is very suitable to be use by all cowards politician out there…….

• nabill on Dec 19, 2009 at 3:37 am

which means the entire G…! landrover very smart , thy know the politics here so thy know its gonna sell very well….!

• bmpower on Dec 19, 2009 at 3:58 am

Anwar Ibrahim should get one.

• albagmane on Dec 19, 2009 at 4:26 am

politicians drive so good car.. we rakyat drive milo tin national cars… how good our gomen treats us…

• A discovery is already short on power and adding those armor will just slow it down like hell. no point having a tough car when you can't even escape from the danger.

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 4:59 am

tin milo cars.even milo nowadays is expensive.ok lah tin milo.whole world using it…….

• whatever on Dec 19, 2009 at 4:59 am

i don't think this car car is a fuel hunger vehicle……

• Russell on Dec 19, 2009 at 5:41 am

I honestly think that 'malaysia memang boleh!!!' person is a product of BTN. Even his English is utterly rubbish.

• just me on Dec 19, 2009 at 6:00 am

Those run-flat tyres, should be made affordable to many.

i think it is good for the consumer…

-u hv the time to go to workshop for replacement

xpyh penat2 tukar tayar spare

-dont make the car go out of control when puncture happened

this can cause accident.

• Kamal on Dec 19, 2009 at 6:16 am

Ben: of course they will upgrade the engine to suite the weight of the armor..

whatever: it must be fuel hungry.. Its heavy !

• sure, you can hide in the armor vehicle….but sooner or later you've got to come out…..

once the person is out, can still "kawtim"….

• raybrig on Dec 19, 2009 at 7:20 am

don't forget to add bung mokhtar and his wife to be, zizie ezette, hahaha

• supposedly a terrorist like Mat Top got hold on one of these range rovers, we'll need the infantry and their tanks to stop the chaos in the city.

• skiborne on Dec 19, 2009 at 8:09 am

this car is for who had lots of enemies and haters. not mahathir that is, he was seen lotsa times driven in a normal 7 series or red cayenne turbo

• skiborne on Dec 19, 2009 at 8:12 am

haha i think this is probably one of few and only time to bash our hopeless politicians be it in BN or PR, haha btw bung moktar is a joke la, cheap publicity la gonna marry an artiste la…. haihh

• Barisan Nashitnal on Dec 19, 2009 at 9:05 am

after 3 years the gearbox costs RM5mil, like the Terengganu Perdana.

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 9:30 am

PR AND BN….both the same

but i have to admit, PR is the worst….

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 10:01 am

malaysia memang boleh!!! said,

December 19, 2009 @ 1:27 am

Russell said,

December 18, 2009 @ 9:41 pm

I honestly think that ‘malaysia memang boleh!!!’ person is a product of BTN. Even his English is utterly rubbish

—————————————————————-

I in-honestly think that ‘russell’ is a product of DAP’S brainwash project

even his english is good and way better than mine,so what,he still an arse hole……

——————————————————-

may i change the 'in-honestly' to a better words such as 'frankly' if russell still think that my english is totally 'rubbish' or shit or 'rubbish and shit'…..btw he is still an ARSE HOLE……..if he has one….

• skiborne on Dec 19, 2009 at 10:44 am

i agree wit malaysia memang boleh!!!, that he said DAP is worse than BN, in fact i believe that DAPigs are more racist than UMNO,

i only vote for PR if it wasnt anwar and DAPigs. without these two no doubt i may vote for PR. currently feel like not to vote neither BN nor PR, both BN n PR teruk.

• nebula87 on Dec 19, 2009 at 10:59 am

we need this kind of car for what? i sense some war is going 2 happen..XD

• mr_3m on Dec 19, 2009 at 5:00 pm

guys, guys chilll out… u r free to comment on this site and link anything about cars to politics and whatsoever but let's not make any personal attacks on any forummers, and let's respect Paul's website by refraining ourselves. We are all well educated, otherwise we would not know how to use the internet or afford to get on the web, be it from the cybercafes or our home…

our real problem is much deeper that just how bad each BN or PR reps performs (because they're all a product from our badly implemented education, political etc systems) … one drastic solution that the coming generation can do is to RESET the whole thing, we all need to go back to basics, if such a thing is ever possible…

• Sylvester on Dec 19, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Isn't the current Government that made you pay high duty taxes for the car that you are driving now? The toll roads? The high petrol prices? The poor public transport? Or made you buy crappy national cars? Think again.

The Range Rover certainly looks good, if only it is affordable.

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 19, 2009 at 10:09 pm

Sylvester said,

December 19, 2009 @ 1:40 pm

Isn’t the current Government that made you pay high duty taxes for the car that you are driving now? The toll roads? The high petrol prices? The poor public transport? Or made you buy crappy national cars? Think again.

The Range Rover certainly looks good, if only it is affordable

—————————————————————-

go try to live in UK(UNITED KINGDOM),and try to compare it with malaysia,

although UK gov asking for less taxes but their living cost is damn bloody expensive,you should be grateful to stay in malaysia……..

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 19, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Dear Malaysians,

I believe this is a prime time for Malaysia to go for a two-party system. Just like the ones they had at USA.

Who says 2-party system doesn't allow a country to flourish? We're are talking about USA. A country which invents a lot of new things. Stealth fighter, computer, IT, et-cetera.

Of course, minus the bad things they did to the world.

But more or less, our own politicians are doing terrible things as well.

If we give 2/3 majority to either of these jokers; PR or BN, Malaysia will be doomed once more or worse.

So the best setup is a 2-party system. Let PR and BN compete with each other and who will get the benefit? Of course rakyat as a whole.

• Motorist on Dec 19, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Am wondering WHY the High Commissioner needs an amoured vehicle. Does he know something about the security situation that we dont? Generally, M'sia (KL) is known to be a very safe posting for any foreign mission.

As far as I know, the only other foreign mission with armoured vehicle is the US embassy, which has 2 BMW's 7 series armoured. I've seen it with my own eyes at BMW Glenmarie workshop.

• skiborne on Dec 19, 2009 at 11:01 pm

malaysia memang boleh!!,

since when uk's taxes are low? they pay high taxes mann… thats why they have all the right to condemn their politicians even if the errors made were minor…

• Sylvester on Dec 20, 2009 at 12:24 am

I was student in the Warwick University, Coventry UK for four years. Look at how much they earn in pound in relative to the cost of their cars. We don't need to look further but our neighbors Thailand or Singapore.

I couldn't understand on why you are supporting the idea of paying high car prices when our income is so low.

• skiborne on Dec 20, 2009 at 3:27 am

sylvester,

who says we're supporting, most of us here hate the fact that the car prices are exorbitantly priced, personally i think our proton is even expensive, judging by what we get with the car and that kind of hopeless after sales service that they give. i have heard so many of dissatisfactions pertaining to after sales service given by proton, mainly frm my close friends. mind u again im nt supporting any kind of "styles" of paying high on cars. and i do think that recent review of the so-called NAP was nothing less than a rethoric.

• Sylvester on Dec 20, 2009 at 3:44 am

It is good that we are all on the same page :-)

• Sylvester on Dec 20, 2009 at 3:45 am

It is good that we are all on the same page then :-)

• mr_3m on Dec 20, 2009 at 4:30 am

sylvester, mind if i ask u frm when to when were u in UK? recently or in the 90's?… just wondering…

• Sylvester on Dec 20, 2009 at 5:01 am

Graduated in last year. I was fortunate not to experience the economic crisis we are experiencing today. It is sad that everything increase but our salary remain stagnant in Malaysia.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 20, 2009 at 5:59 am

NAP is NOT a POLICY.

It is taking a NAP. (tidur zzz~)

;)

• tokmoh on Dec 20, 2009 at 8:29 am

Sylvester : bro, at least got a job with salary. I went to London recently, got see many beggars-turn-magazine-seller. And, since UK, Thailand, and Singapore seems like a better place, why do you somewhat intentionally come back here, be 'tortured' that u have to pay high car prices here, then turn paultan.org into a sour blog?

malaysia memang boleh : UK tax less? Err…… no, I disagree. I am learning UK tax, and it made me feel like crying for the british people…

• Sylvester on Dec 20, 2009 at 10:08 am

Job market is just as bad anywhere plus you need a permit to work. The recession won't recover until 2014. But things are looking good in China, be it especially in Shanghai or Beijing which is giving me some thoughts.

I miss looking at good cars than the monopolized national cars here. Range Rovers are rarer than Porsches here. But I have to say the latest Kia Forte looks very nice and can be affordable to many too!

Hey Paul and Danny, how about a comparison test for the Forte?

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 21, 2009 at 3:30 am

tokmoh said,

December 20, 2009 @ 12:29 am

Sylvester : bro, at least got a job with salary. I went to London recently, got see many beggars-turn-magazine-seller. And, since UK, Thailand, and Singapore seems like a better place, why do you somewhat intentionally come back here, be ‘tortured’ that u have to pay high car prices here, then turn paultan.org into a sour blog?

malaysia memang boleh : UK tax less? Err…… no, I disagree. I am learning UK tax, and it made me feel like crying for the british people…

—————————–

uk people have better health plan and public services, all our tax go to the royal family parasites and the corrupted politicians

• Ronaldo on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Oh god ….. auto website also turn into politic talk…………….zzz

• Must've weighted like a gazillion tonnes or sumting. Wonder about the changes on the brakes and the effects on handling. What's the power-to-weight ratio?

• fique D on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:10 am

heheh they better opt for armored apc.

will this car resist blast from shapecharged rpg..?

even military spec humvee can't.