Tengku Djan wins Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia!

Were you there at Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia? If you made your way to MAEPS Serdang yesterday, I’m sure you’ll agree with me that the event served up great sideways action and drama – I was even hoping that the show will drag longer with few more “One More Time” runs! For those who didn’t, here’s what you missed: Malaysia’s Tengku Djan outdrifted 54 others from across Asia-Pacific to be the inaugural Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia champion!

Read the full report and view the gallery after the jump!

Held over the weekend, Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia comes just a little more than a month after Goodyear Formula Drift Thailand, which was held back in November (FD Singapore happened in July). The location in Malaysia Agro Exposition Park Serdang (MAEPS) inside UPM Serdang isn’t easy to locate if you’re not familiar with the area, but the giant car park proved to be a very good drift venue – the surface is new and smooth, its valley like surrounding is spectator friendly and there’s an adjacent big building with a bird’s eye view of the course.

Practise and qualifying on Saturday wasn’t very well attended, but that’s normal in Malaysia where even F1 doesn’t draw a crowd for qualifying. A total of 54 drivers were registered here, three more than in Thailand. The organisers revealed that they had to turn down a large number of overseas drifters as they didn’t meet strict Formula Drift regulations (for cars); even those competing in Formula Drift USA are enquiring about FD Asia, a sure sign that the series is gaining momentum.

Saturday qualifying’s aim is to trim down the 54 drivers to a top 32 group that will feature in Sunday’s showdown, and each driver is given two runs, with the best of two taken into account. The session wasn’t as straightforward as expected, though. New Zealand’s Mike Whiddet a.k.a Mad Mike, winner of FD Thailand and one of the big favourites for this event, spun out in his first run and got a zero for his efforts. The pressure was on for the flamboyant Red Bull Mazda RX-7 driver for his second run – he qualified eventually, but in a lowly 19th place.

The other favourites had less problems. FD Thailand podium finisher Tengku Djan was the top qualifier of the day with 88.7 points and runner-up to Mad Mike, Japanese Ryuji Miki qualified third. An unexpected name popped up in second: Hanizam bin Hamzah from Team GT Radial scored 81.2 points in his Nissan A31. Team Goodyear Malaysia – comprising Ariff Johanis, Azrina Jane, Michael Gan and Johan Norman – had mixed feelings as only one of them made the top 32, but Ariff was up there in fourth with a strong run.

In Formula Drift, drivers are judged on speed (faster is better), line (the car must come as close as possible to the designated front and rear clipping points; car must change direction at pre-determined transition point), angle (of rear slip, bigger is better) and overall impression, which is a subjective criteria that includes drama and excitement. Maximum score is 100 points.

On Sunday, the capacity crowd were treated to tandem battles, where rivals go head-to-head. They will take turns as the lead car, which must do a perfect run without being distracted by the following car. The follower needs to mimic the lead car’s line and stay as close as possible, overtaking is a no-no. All big names cruised through their first tandem battle, but one Malaysian called Mervyn Nakamura who is sponsored by Federal Tyre caught my eye – he then went all the way to the semi finals where he lost to Djan. Team Goodyear Malaysia’s challenge stopped here as Ariff bowed out.

The ‘Sweet 16’ stage saw a couple of compelling battles. First up was Mad Mike versus Ryuji Miki – the Japanese just “didn’t show up” and lost out to Mike in tame fashion. The Supra driver was much better in Thailand so it was quite a disappointment to see him go out this way. The other standouts were Thai Drift King “Kiki” and Bridgestone Malaysia’s Ivan Lau. The former’s beautiful S15 Silvia spews out coloured smoke from its rear tyres while Ivan’s bashed up AE86 had the look of a giant slayer.

His giant lie in the last eight, and it was Mad Mike and his insanely loud four-rotor RX-7. The Kiwi hit Ivan when the Malaysian was the lead car, denying him a chance to show full potential. Kiki (who looks like WWF’s Stone Cold Steve Austin) saw off Saturday’s surprise qualifier Hanizam to move into the semis, where he met Mad Mike. The crowd favourite showman hit Kiki in the side, and paid the penalty as the Thai moved on to the finals. I asked them later to clarify the incident and Mike owned up, saying that it was his fault and he couldn’t see Kiki with all that purple smoke in the way. The other side of the table saw Djan easily knocking off Mervyn Nakamura.

So it was Djan versus Kiki in the finals. In the picture below you’ll see two S15s, but Djan’s Nismo backed car actually started life as a 180SX – see side profile pic in gallery for the difference. Why this and not his iconic Hachi roku? Our guess is that unlike tighter local courses, international level drifting requires higher speed and more horsepower to keep up with the competition, as Team Goodyear Malaysia found out in Thailand.

It wasn’t much of an epic battle, and to be honest, by this point most would have already “known” that our Prince of Drift is going to win. Kiki was pretty close to Djan when he was following, but Djan stuck to the Thai like a leech when when the latter was leading. This victory should be very sweet for Tengku Djan, as he fought all out in difficult conditions in Thailand, only to go out in highly debatable circumstance. With this triumph, Djan has been on the podium in all three FD Asia events this year, winning two of them.

“Malaysia Boleh” is not always applicable in the world of sports, but drifting is one arena where our flag can be proudly flown high – Tengku Djan is among the best in the business.

Champion: Tengku Djan / Malaysia / Bridgestone Malaysia
Runner up: Sak Nana Kiki / Thailand / Team PTT
Third place: Mike Whiddet / New Zealand / Goodyear

[zenphotopress number=999 album=696]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:19 am

check the comments

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 21, 2009 at 9:36 am

please laugh at this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyWbofoP2IU&fe…

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 21, 2009 at 9:37 am

and this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HaYeFZasPBI&fe…

• nesca on Dec 21, 2009 at 9:37 am

OMT!!!

hahaha luckily today's not raining, we can enjoy the drivers' full performance. looking forward for it next time!

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 21, 2009 at 9:38 am

and this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3q4Jf3GG3I&fe…

• kedai kopi on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:09 am

tahniah..!!

• rageaccel2 on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:17 am

congrats to tengku djan..

• Neo.S on Dec 21, 2009 at 11:00 am

>> JULIAN_LEE

er………??? what are you trying to tell here i dont get you ?

• nabill on Dec 21, 2009 at 11:24 am

didnt tengku djan used to have that mad waja with skyline engine and rear wheel drive??

• exJAVANESE on Dec 21, 2009 at 12:20 pm

JULIAN_LEE

What wrong with u???

• this proton man?

nuthin to do ka?

• alldisc on Dec 21, 2009 at 4:53 pm

Paul,

isnt 180SX and S15 the same Nissan Silvia model? I am a little confused.

anyway, didnt make it there on Sunday, thanks for the pics anyway.

• TDjan's car is a 180SX with S15 face. Their parts are pretty much interchangeable…

@haro… its obvious you know nuts about Djan and what he's contributed and done for motorsports both domestically and internationally. Do more research and u'll see that he's achieved more than what you'll be able to do in a couple of lifetime…

• BTW, the rear wheel drive Waja was there in action, driven by an Indonesian driver Rifat Sungkar..

• awg1031 on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:39 pm

this guy is way better than malaysian football 'stars'..hahaha

• Mysticmind on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:54 pm

I think T.Djan should make 1 Satria Neo RWD for drifting.

He should minimize using japan brand car . :D

(well.. that's just another FLIP version of = Malaysia team should use Malaysian driver)

• xatomic on Dec 21, 2009 at 6:40 pm

he should guest star in the next Fast n Furious installment and bring them to film in Malaysia..

better than those KL drift using corny CGI

• trav_da_man on Dec 21, 2009 at 6:40 pm

I was there last weekend and i enjoyed it despite it was raining and i still feeling under the weather. Tengku Djan really dominated without flaws and he really deserve the win. Looks like he has conquered his 180sx.

Also spectacular performance from other drifters including hero turned villian Mad Mike with his mad RX7 and that cute Thai bloke Kiki Nana. Not to mention our local drifters impressed as well like Hanazrin, that GT radial with cefiro, and many more. However sadly the much publicized local Goodyear drifters flopped badly.

Overall a superb well deserved win from Djan, not to mention good organizing from the event organizer. Pls bring Formula Drift to Mysia next yr!!!

Btw here my pics taken from my FB! http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=129188&…

• littlefire on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Tengku Djan have tested a lot of cars, and Toyota AE86 have proven to be light and easy to drift.. If not why AE86 secondhand value suddenly so expensive.. Coz even oversea are using it to drift! This is one of the best Toyota Levin/Truno during 80's!

This proved even 80's or 90's Japanese technology is even better than some even claim very 'pro' technology & what superior handling & cornering in the new century..

Remember that during AE86 already have fuel injection system & T-VIS (Toyota Variable Intake System) in the mid-80s..

• littlefire on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Opps sorry, Djan is driving 180sx.. Previosly he did drived a AE86.. But nvm, is still a japanese car..

• rally_fan on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:15 pm

"Remember that during AE86 already have fuel injection system & T-VIS (Toyota Variable Intake System) in the mid-80s.."

dun forget that YS Khong also won 5 malaysian rally championships in the 80's driving an AE86 (not sure if it was all 5, but it was mainly in an AE)

• yeahaa on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Please laugh at julian lee. lol

• I seriously do not get what Julian Lee is trying to show us. Clearly if YOU are a motor head and you stay in Malaysia, YOU should know that Evora and Exora is 2 diff cars. The so called "Persona video(but it is a satria)" has nothing funny about it.

• MoveJJE on Dec 21, 2009 at 8:43 pm

its a 'panadol' actifast ingrediant..hehe..

and bridgestone conquer the Goodyear event… not really 'good year' for Goodyear!!

• initial R on Dec 21, 2009 at 8:54 pm

The King Of Malaysian Driff…..

• azmir on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Guys,

I have more pictures in my blog. Please do check them out here:

http://azmir1.blogspot.com/2009/12/goodyear-formu…

Thanks!!!

• Motorist on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:37 pm

Djan has come a long way. Congrat on his latest win.

But can anyone name me his guru when he 1st started out?

• polk_goh on Dec 21, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Congrats Tengku,

Heard hes top 5 drift drivers in the world

• tttuuuutttt on Dec 22, 2009 at 1:49 am

julian lee tunjukkan link tu sbb dia nak korg tahu kebodohan org yg create video youtube tu…e.g video proton persona tp yg kuar proton satria, pastu samakan exora gan evora etc…satu lagi sbb kebodohan org yg bagi komen tu…

• aksMs on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:16 am

I was there and it was a great fun apart from the weather. It may had rain a bit and cloudy but too humid.

Hope to see bigger event next year and bigger crowd (and bigger grandstand too). ;)

• dickybird on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:14 am

congrats! very seldom that a msian wins anything! so congrats! anyway he cant be held responsible for the expensive sheet metal we are forced to buy from p1 and p2.

• azmir on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:01 am

I've got more pics up on my latest post. Check them out here:

http://azmir1.blogspot.com/2009/12/goodyear-formu…

Thanks!!! :)

• peYno on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:02 am

littlefire said,

December 21, 2009 @ 11:11 am

Opps sorry, Djan is driving 180sx.. Previosly he did drived a AE86.. But nvm, is still a japanese car..

=============

yeahh but some ah beng japs wanabbe said… driving 2nd class ASEAN made myvi,vios oso like driving JDM…yeaHHH i drive japanese car oredi prrrfthhhhh

• Alfa whisky on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:18 am

Congrates to malaysian team..I've been there for support.

Even the weather wasn't so cool but the sounds of engine really freakin' superb!

well done to tengku djan!

• peYno on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:21 am

littlefire said,

December 21, 2009 @ 11:11 am

=======

yes they r stilll japs car because both are JDM… but ah beng in malaysia think.. 2nd class japs car AEAN made like myi,vios oso same like JDM ..

prrrthh

pity ah beng japs wannabe

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:58 pm

congrats. but who the fuk is he

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:29 am

KS said,

December 21, 2009 @ 12:15 pm

I seriously do not get what Julian Lee is trying to show us. Clearly if YOU are a motor head and you stay in Malaysia, YOU should know that Evora and Exora is 2 diff cars. The so called “Persona video(but it is a satria)” has nothing funny about it.

———————-

obviously you didn't read it all you idiot, typical innit?

• Rrrrr on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:51 am

Congrats. Anak Bapak.. hu hu

• crazyman on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:40 am

julian is from goodyear i think!fking loser!talks like goodyear!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:11 pm

i wonder what this guy high score on Initial D

• Julian Lee,

Making people to guess what you want to say is a childish act. Calling people "Idiot" and being aggressive in public forum strongly proves it. Grow up please.

• CikguR on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:57 pm

Congratulation to Tg. Djan,,,u are de bes drifter,,,cayalah..Malaysia Boleh…!!!!!!bangga siot jd rakyat msia..tgu masa Tg Djan jd drift king in the world..

• TOMITA nizzmo on Dec 25, 2009 at 10:06 pm

Congratulation to our Prince Of Drift KING DJANZ Malaysia Boleh!

• peminat on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:01 am

CONGRATE Tgku Djan

• peminat on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:13 am

tp kabar yg menyedihkan bila ade pemandu expert di REJECT penganjur dan pemandu Novice layak hanya kerana sponser pemandu Expert x cukup [email protected] ker semangat sukan permotoran dalam malaysia.. nampak sangat hanya kerana DUIT..semangat,bakat,kesungguhan &kelayakan memang X Perlu..beli jer kete buat abis2 pastu smpn dlm garaj,xya abiskan tayar g training,daftar jer klu ade event confirm layak nye,janji sponser besar@grand ade (M) blakang nye…ade ker pemandu malaysia yg di sponser penganjur naik podium……

• KMXSD on Mar 07, 2010 at 8:14 pm

GO 4 GOOD LUCK !

• wira angkasa on May 31, 2010 at 4:50 pm

get a real job la..

• chun yee on Nov 02, 2011 at 7:05 pm

I want learn drift how cAn i start?